Tropicana Las Vegas

Tropicana Las Vegas
3.543.543.543.543.54
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Tropicana Las Vegas

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-20
Great Hotel. Room was nice & clean. Staffs were friendly & helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointing service

, Winnipeg, HA
2018-04-16
My girlfriend and I each had separate rooms at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were decent but not very clean. Although the hotel was billed as having recently received major upgrades, it didn't really show. The room décor was dated and the lobby was tiny and unimpressive. The pool was small and its hours were much too short. The customer service was very disappointing. After I checked in, another couple was sent to the same room I was in and walked in while I was unpacking. The front desk was seriously understaffed and the concierge was not very knowledgeable. You received absolutely nothing for your resort fee; even the Internet at customer service was extremely slow. My girlfriend received even worse customer service than I did. I would definitely not recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, especially because it was close to the bus service.
The weak points
The facilities and the service.
Certified

Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

, Aurora, ON
2017-08-28
One check in clerk only on a busy friday night. Waited 1.5hrs in line to check in hotel. When I let the check in clerk know that I wasn't happy I had to wait that long in the line, he gave me attitude and said to me "What do you expect, it's Friday and a flight just came in." I would expect more front desk clerks if that was the issue. I had a strip view on the 17th floor and the traffic noise was awful. I've stayed in other LV hotels with strip view and never heard the traffic noise that badly. I could here everything happening in the room next door as well, including all conversations. They sent me up a mini fridge free of charge, but it didn't work. Almost every time I tried to use my card to get into my room, the card was deactivated and I had to go back down from the 17th floor and wait in line at the front desk each time to get it reactivated. They told me I must be keeping it too close to my cell phone, but I was not. The casino was the smokiest on the strip, I know this for a fact as I walked the strip and went into the strip casinos. Very poor ventilation. The food in the little cafeteria was nasty. Not enough restaurants in this hotel. I know they just did a major renovation to this hotel, they had painted over the shower tiles and all the paint was peeling off of these tiles. Just very disappointed with this hotel. Would definitely not stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Laugh Factory show in the Tropicana hotel was great. Enjoyed breakfast at the Oakville Restaurant in this hotel. Bed was comfortable.
The weak points
Terrible front desk service. Poor ventilation in casino. Could hear what was happening in next room. Could here all traffic noise from 17th floor, very loud. No sound proofing at all. Room card kept deactivating.
Certified

Tropicana pool is tropical but the Hotel a dungeon

, Surrey, BC
2016-03-26
I have stayed in Vegas many times before but this was the first time at Tropicana. I will not return. Front desk staff took forever and they only had one staff member on. They promised my kid free cookies daily and he has yet to receive one as they were out ( it seems like there were no hot baked cookies as promised- perhaps the front desk guy ate them all!!)
The rooms are plain and smell of musty old mildew.
WE stayed at the Club Tower . The windows are falling apart and need to be replaced in my opinion. Even from the outside they look like an eye sore.
Place could use some paint and TLC
On a positive note we liked the pool. Service there was great. The pool layout is very nice and clean.
we also asked for a quiet floor which was honoured. Very quiet up on the 14th floor. Nice view of the strip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pool
The weak points
No more then a 3 star at max. WE stayed at the Club tower and we believe it can be improved. Very plain for Vegas and some musty smelling the room and hallways.The windows are horrible. Some windows are falling apart
Certified

It's not same as advertised

, Surrey, BC
2015-06-15
It says it's renovated but when you get there in order to be in those renovated rooms, to avoid funny smell in room, you have to upgrade it and pay extra. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
It's not same as advertised. Swimming pool with blue sofas was not in use. Rooms smell like mold.
Certified

Wonderful Escape

2014-12-14
This is a beautiful hotel; with lots of amenities and some lovely restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Restaurants, great staff and most importantly Excellent beds. Don't miss the Laugh Factory.
The weak points
Very pricey drinks, too much smoke.
Certified

Great deal

, Wynyard, SK
2014-08-06
The Tropicana was a great place to stay while in Vegas. It was closely located to many activities and attractions/shows at neighboring hotels.
It is at one end of the Strip so there it is a long walk to explore the entire strip, or get to Freemont St. However the Monorail is quite close by at the MGM though which is great.
All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The concierge helped us book a tour of Hoover Dam and recommended a better tour.
We didn't eat at The Tropicana, opting instead to go over to the food court at Excalibur. I'm sure the food is great there, McDonald's is just a cheaper breakfast option.
The pool was very nice. We didn't get to use it as much as I would have liked as we managed to get lucky with it being some of the few rainy days Vegas gets, and we were busy exploring.
Overall I was very happy with The Tropicana. The rooms were spacious, clean and relatively quiet (you could at times hear people in the halls or sirens on the strip but that isn't unusual) only down side of the room was that the tub could use replacing or reglazing as it was a bit chipped around the drain. Not a vacation ruiner by any means as the bathroom/room was sparkling clean.
Were I to visit again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, quiet, close to many activities
The weak points
At one end of the strip so getting to the other end is a long walk or public transit ride, food is quite expensive in my opinion.
Certified

Great Service

, Brantford, ON
2014-03-10
Located on the strip. Large, Clean. All staff gave great service & answered all our questions. Would stay here next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lobby staff were helpful
The weak points
No weak points
Certified

The New Tropicana Las Vegas

, Kamloops, BC
2014-03-05
Very charming, older hotel, nicely renovated. Gives off a classy vibe. Very clean, friendly staff. Casino is bright, not dark and gloomy like some. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent value for money.
The weak points
Location is off the strip a bit but doable.
Certified

Good hotel on the strip

, Lindsay, ON
2014-02-25
I liked the hotel. The staff were very polite and helpful. Any problems they tried to address as best they could. The location was very convenient. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very courteous and prompt. I had trouble with a light in my bathroom and they fixed it right away.
The weak points
When I arrived there were no non-smoking rooms available.
Certified

Tropical but no pool or sunchair access

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-24
Great location for the strip and getting to the concert at the MGM. However they had all the pool areas closed so we hardy Canadian's looking to enjoy the 25C weather had to jockey for 10 lounge chairs set out on one small patio. The one reason that I chose this hotel for, the recent renos and large pools with lots of seating was for naught. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, excellent front desk staff for both check in and check out.
The weak points
If you stayed in the garden towers you are required to walk through the entire hotel complex to get to this tower. This is likely on purpose to get you into the gambling area but was an annoyance when you wanted to get in and out quickly.
Certified

Below expections

, Kelowna, BC
2013-12-28
The staff was friendly, however there is not much in the Hotel as far as entertainment goes. The hot tub was shut down for the winter when it should be open. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly reception staff.
The weak points
Hot tub was shut down. No coffee maker in the room. Room dusty. Floor dirty.
Certified

Great!

, Edmonton, AB
2013-10-20
this hotel was wonderful, we enjoyed our stay, would recommend it to everyone!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
smaller, bright, clean friendly, helpful
The weak points
really didn't find any weak points
Certified

Tropicana Hotel & Casino

, Chestermere, AB
2013-04-19
Nice Hotel, huge pool (hard to find a deck chair on nice days), bright-clean casino that was recently remodelled, variety of higher end restaurants, great front desk staff. If you are put in the South Tower prepare for a long walk to your room as there is no access to the S.tower from outside. You have to go through the Casino, up a flight to the walkway, and then walk about a city block to the S.tower elevators. A long haul after a day on the strip! If you get the North Paradise Tower you get to your elevator soon as you come in the main entrance. Lots of conventions too! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
On the strip, close to the Airport
The weak points
Our room was in the South Tower, nice room but there is no entrance open so the South tower from the outside so you have to enter at the main entrance at the north tower, walk through the casino,up a flight to walkway, and walk a city block to your room.
Certified

Not the greatest experience.

, Edmonton, AB
2012-10-13
Tropicana hotel does not pride themselves on good service. In most areas of the hotel it was the pits. The maids were probably the nicest there. Although beds are fantastic the rest of the room was mediocre. Bathroom was old, dated and had mould around the tub and on the tiles. The shower nozzle was barely 5ft high which was a difficult shower for my husband. There was hair on the ceiling. Don't have a clue how it would get there, but gross. The beach cafe, although had good food, the service was horrible. We would not choose this hotel to stay at if we ever travel to Vegas again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pay a little more to get something better.
The weak points
Poor service
Certified

Great Stay at the Tropicana

, Sherwood Park , AB
2012-10-11
We really liked staying at the Tropicana. It certainly wasn't as big and flashy as some of the other hotels but it felt like coming home after a long day. The front desk / bell staff were great. My only complaint is that is was hard to get a drink from the servers at the pool. Fantastic vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, clean hotel, good food, small but nice casino
The weak points
hard to get a drink at the pool
Certified

First Vegas Experience

, Denbigh, ON
2011-09-24
This was our first trip to Vegas and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Very clean and welcoming, all staff was very helpful and accomadating.
Perfect location for getting around Vegas and the Strip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I thought this was a fantastic place to stay. Great Location and easy access to all of Vegas.
The weak points
The hotel was very large and so there was lots of walking to get around.
Certified

Awesome trip to Vegas on May 10

, Sherwood Park , AB
2011-05-22
The hotel is very nice and is getting better everyday. Although it is located at the end of the strip the local bus is easy to take and a cheap way to get around. The hotel is located close to New York and MGM which are nice places to check out. The rooms were spacious and clean though we didn't spend much time in them. The one tip I would offer is to stay at the paradise tower as the extra walk to the other tower is a bit of an inconvience. All and all a good place to stay and we would book the Tropicana again if the price is right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great budget hotel that is continually improving.
The weak points
Hotel is still under construction, will be better when everything is complete.
Certified

LAS VEGAS

, Heidelberg, ON
2011-05-07
VERY GOOD OVERALL [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
LOCATION
The weak points
INTERNET ACCESS
Certified

Tropicana Hotel

, St Laurent, MB
2011-04-10
We were very impressed with the Tropicana Hotel. It had a very good atmosphere and was very clean. The lighting in the casino part is bright which I liked. It smelled very good inside not like some of the other hotels that smelled like air freshener trying to mask the smoke smell. The rooms were clean and tidy and the pool area is beautiful. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the MGM and NYNY which is very close. I was very impressed for the price and would definately recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean. Tidy. Bright lighting. Smelled good.Close to the MGM. Friendly Staff. Beautiful pool.
The weak points
Long wait in line for Nikki's Cafe(thats about it)
Certified

Tropicana Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2011-04-03
The price for this hotel was great and we were pleased with the choice. The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel has wisely moved away from bedspreads and makes use of duvets with sheet covers. The bathroom was basic but clean. I was not impressed with the shampoo and soap products- they didn't smell all that great. The staff were friendly and professional. The place had a nice feel to it. I slept great while on the strip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is a bright hotel in the middle of a renovation. It is brighter than most hotels in Vegas and has a more intimate feel. We were very happy with our choice.
The weak points
The products in the room
Certified

Good

, Richmond, ON
2011-03-29
It was good. Not the best not the worst I would class it lower then a 4 tho but the price was decent bang for buck [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reasonable price
The weak points
wouldnt say the cleanest. You can tell it's old needs new bathroom tile and carpets throughout entire hotel
Certified

I will stay here again.

, Cambridge, ON
2011-03-18
I was very impressed with the Tropicana. It is a modern, clean, bright hotel with very comfortable beds. I loved coming back to it after visiting all the other busy hotels on the strip. It was a little quieter and I really enjoyed that about it. II will definitely stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, modern rooms. I liked where it was on the strip, not right in the middle of the hustle and bustle, but still close enough. Easy access to bus and monorail.
The weak points
More selection of restaurants would be nice but the ones they have are good.
Certified

Was ok food too expensive

, Beaconia, MB
2011-03-17
found clean but food was way overpriced [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean and good service
The weak points
resturants overprized and coffee too much money for what you got
Certified

Alright if you like nosie and smoke!

, Killarney, MB
2011-03-17
Room was good, but airport right outside and noisy at times. Room service hit and miss. Long walk from entrance to rooms in Island Tower. Had to walk through smokey casino to get anywhere. Food at restaurants pricey as are all restaurants in Vegas! Would not stay there again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mob people were very nice!
The weak points
You have to walk through smokey casino to get to Island Tower Rooms. Long walk from entrance! Nothing is cheap in this hotel, pricey everything. Asked for coffee pot, arrived with only coffee, no condiments. Had to ask again,only received condiments 1x
Certified

Mold around the tub...

, Victoria, BC
2011-01-24
Hotel was fine...except for the mold in the silicone around the tub in our room...rather unappealing to say the least...Also, the desk clerk checked us in for our return flight...but didn't pay attention to seat selection...so we ended up with boarding passes for seats four rows apart...not that impressed...we were able to adjust at the airport because we arrived extra early... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bell Captain services
The weak points
Broken luggage (airport handling), mold around the tub, desk clerk who assisted return flight check-in without selecting adjacent seats...
Certified

Meh... decent at best

, Calgary, AB
2011-01-04
We traveled to the Tropicana during renos so we did not have a very enjoyable experience. We chose Tropicana because we loved gambling in it's bright and lively casino. However we soon learned that, that was all that the Tropicana had to offer. Our room was in the furthest tower which was a hike and a half!! The restaurants were not open during the week except for the buffet. The buffet is tiny and decent at best and even if the other restaurants were open we would have not dined there. There is very little selection at the Tropicana. For about an extra 30 bucks a night we could have stayed across the street at the MGM for a far better experience. We will continue to gamble at the Tropicana but are very unlikely to stay at the Tropicana again even after the renos are finished. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The most fun casino ambiance on the strip. The hotel was nice and bright
The weak points
There was absolutely no selection for restaurants. Two out of the three were only open on the weekend and the other was a buffet. The hotel is also not connected to any others.
Certified

Tropicana pros and cons

, Campbellford , ON
2011-01-01
Great hotel to stay at...expensive to eat there but accomodations were good..Hotel room was considerably far from the front desk. Staff friendly for the most part. Only buffet available while staying at this hotel.Price and accomodations GREAT for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and cleaniness of room were great. Nice 42 inch TV.(not much on TV) Check in helpful,as well as check out. Tropicanas surroundings were very impressive.
The weak points
Resturants were expensive and not accomodating eg coffee 2.95 USD. Distance to get to the room was extremely far from the front desk. If walking is a problem..do not stay at this hotel.
Certified

Tropicana

, Morinville, AB
2010-12-27
The rooms were really nice, the location was pretty good though we would have liked it more central on the strip. The entertainment and architecture was not up to par with the other main casino/hotels on the strip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
price, room.
The weak points
stuff to do.
Certified

Below Expectations

, Regina, SK
2010-10-17
At the last moment we changed our minds and booked at the Tropicana based on its low price and positive reviews from others. The room had been renovated, but we actually had to phone the desk to confirm it was new. It still looks old and outdated. They used wicker furniture which immediately makes it look old. The bathroom has an old tub that was refinished and new tiles. The bed was ok, but there are no curtains, only shutters which allow lots of light from the spot lights that light up the hotel to come through. There are only 2 supper restaurants and 1 small deli. You will need to go elsewhere to eat. One positive note is that it really does have a nice pool compared to many others that only have a rectangular pad of concrete. When we checked in we got a first floor wheelchair room facing the rear air-conditioner units. We asked to move and the next day got the same bad view on the fifth floor. The hotel was not full, so I don't know why we could not get a nicer room. They also pump coconut smell in the hotel. After a couple days we got headaches from the smell. If you only care about price, this may be the place for you, but it is NOT a 4 star hotel but a 3. We have been to Vegas many times and thought we would try someplace different. We call the Tropicana lipstick on a pig. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pool area. The hotel was fairly quiet.
The weak points
Rooms not that nice, far end of the strip
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021