Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Casino And Spa

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Casino And Spa
3.603.603.603.603.60
3.60 based on 30 reviews
#2 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in St Maarten
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (38)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great resort – we will go back again!

, Kirkland, QC
2022-10-01
Just stayed a week and we found the experience a very good one. The resort compares very favorably to many of the all-inclusive resorts we have stayed at in the Caribbean. It has a great location right on Maho beach where you can watch all the planes landing or taking off. Its just a short walk to the end of the runway. We spent most of our time at the beach where we had no trouble finding the perfect loungers.

The room was spacious and kept very clean at all times. Our room was classified as an island view, but we had a great view of the ocean as we were high (8th floor). I would not recommend the pool view as it would be very noisy.

The food was good, but we felt the menus and variety could have been larger. Shout out to Jane at the buffet who gave us great service as well as Anthony (the manager of the restaurants) who made sure all our dining needs were met. Drinks at the bars were always well made and consistent from one bar to another. Bar service at the beach was very much appreciated.

We found the evening entertainment to be lacking a bit (that may have been due to it being low season).

All in all, a very good value. We enjoyed our stay a lot and we would definitely return in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great location, well kept and clean, great value
The weak points
Entertainment could have been better; restaurant menus could be larger to accommodate repeat visits
Certified

NOT a 4* Hotel

, Laval, QC
2022-08-11
As this was our 2nd time back at this hotel, we were disappointed in the decline of customer service and satisfaction. Unfortunately, some of
the front desk employees were not interested in helping guests resolve issues such as sewage/dumpster smell in room and air conditioning not working. I would not recommend this hotel unless upper management fixes their problematic rooms
and offers more customer service training to some staff members. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food at the Italian restaurant was very good and the manager Anthony was amazing.He knows how to make guests feel welcomed and provides an excellent service. The smoothie station was great at the breakfast buffet.The beach is beautiful but very small.
The weak points
Front desk customer service is lacking, options at the buffet can be repetitive (ie: fruit selection is limited to cantaloup, honeydew, watermelon, apples, sometimes pineapple), little to no entertainment, limited restaurant options,pool water isn't clear
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff served guests at the buffet, hand sanitizer stations around
Certified

Decent hotel, friendly staff, excellent island

, Toronto, ON
2022-08-04
Overall decent hotel, but lots of improvements needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Location, staff, decent and clean hotel room
The weak points
Noise, too many people, very low quality beach towels, small beach area, not enough beach sunbeds. Strange bathroom design with glass wall insert and sliding door (no privacy).
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Weak Covid-19 measures especially with a lot of people in the hotel
Certified

Enjoyed my holiday

, London, ON
2022-04-03
Clean, friendly and Enjoyable. After two years of not traveling it was a great place to travel to and felt very safe. Met some great people staff and travellers. Recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Easy to get around clean, safe & friendly.
The weak points
Food was good would be nice to have some seafood & fish choices
Certified

Great Food, Relaxing Environment

, Prescott, ON
2022-03-19
A great experience. A perfect resort for seniors, older couples, honeymooners. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food was fantastic. Friendly staff. Very clean resort. Great pool. Water slides for kids a bonus. Great alcoholic drink selection.
The weak points
Not overly Teen friendly. Teen Zone was closed. Kids weren't allowed to go up and get their own drinks. We always had to for them. A lot of entertainment was for adults only. Beds were very small and uncomfortable (surprising for the price).
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean resort. Staff served food at the buffet. Never worried for a second.
Certified

Awesome Time

, London, ON
2021-10-10
We traveled with 12 people and the service and food were excellent. Eddie the bartender was fantastic. Overall we had a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food was great
The weak points
1 the shows could be bette.
Certified

2 star resort at best!

, Etobicoke, ON
2020-02-28
This resort was a major disappointment! There is no beach to speak of. You have to walk 10 mins. to Mullet Beach and yes pay 20.00 US. for 2 loungechairs and an umbrella. They said there was a norovirus going around ,when we and almost all we talked to had gastrointestinal problems . Sunwing and Sonesta knew of a problem for a long time! After witnessing some food preparation habits ,I think it was food related, and not something ' we northerners brought down' as they keep saying! We ve travelled to many resorts over the years mainly in February and never gotten sick! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Shamin Benjamin in the lobby Cafe. Tiffany , Marie , Nicole in the restaurants and Delroy at the egg station.
The weak points
Not even close to what we paid for! It s 2 star at most . Shame on Sunwing and Sonesta!

Sick

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-04
stomach virus was bad over 40 people got the virus and it has been going on for a long time no beach but 1 next door The hotel should have a good activities director it is a large enough resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
buffet food good top shelf booze Mrs Benjamin at coffee sop was great RESORT IS NEW
The weak points
activities director very bad no sports only bingo and trivia worst I have seen in 16 different all inclusives. nightly entertainment was a couple of bands and music from a couple of weddings . They tried to keep clean but over 40 people got the virus
Certified

Hotel & Area

, Pierrefonds, QC
2020-01-25
Hotel staff, location and premises were excellent. Food was good, but after a few days, same old same old was wearing thin. Recommend Jax Steakhouse for a change of pace. A bit pricey, but change is always good. Room with a view of pool & ocean is recommended. Always nice to sit on the balcony with a coffee after a day at the pool or beach before preparing for dinner. Pool can be noisy at the pool bar area with music blaring and patrons drinking way too much - lol! Other area of pool is quieter and servers are always there to get you a drink if need arises. Pic shows large beach area that no longer exists. Beach area is quite small and rocky bottom when in the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and helpful staff, always with a smile for you and any help you may need. Pool is well kept and easily accessible. Grounds are very nice.
The weak points
Beach area is very small and with limited amount of chairs. If not there really early, your out of luck for chairs/umbrella. Pool is somewhat better for chairs but still need to get there early. Excursions very pricey and not worth it for the most part.
Certified

Great hotel reasonable price

, Mississauga, ON
2020-01-25
Loved it again. Beautifully done after hurricane.
Close to marigot and Phillipsburg.
We will b back next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff esp Cheryl at point. Food good even ascot ribs delicious
Certified

Sick at Sonesta

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-19
All 4 of my family members were extremely sick, along with others at this resort. The last couple of days they put up hand sanitizer in front of the buffet but this was after over half of the guest has become sick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Soonest 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-18
Great location, great hotel, rooms updated since the storm, pillows need some help [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good staff, helpful, friendly,
The weak points
Food needs to be better, also housekeeping needs to change the way the clean the floors, damp mopping left grit on our floor every day.
Certified

Room was nice, food was not great.

, Bracebridge , ON
2020-01-16
Would not return To this resort .
The buffet was not exciting. The restaurants were not easy to get into, only got two reservations. The Point was ok.
The service by housekeeping, front desk and bell man was great. Service in the buffet left much to be desired.

Beach was nice but not long enough to walk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Never got tired of watching the planes come in to land.
The weak points
The food. There was no speciality coffees liked iced coffee and mocha chinos. No ice cream for the kids.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

St Maarten's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Singles Families Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022