Decameron Salinitas

Decameron Salinitas
4.044.044.044.044.04
4.04 based on 327 reviews
#1 of 1 hotel The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in San Salvador
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (115)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Hidden Gem

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-25
The people were warm and friendly. I will return. The facilities were good, i commend the Decameron group for the upkeep of the resort. I have no complaints. I met great people Quebec, Ontario and the host country of El Salvador. I went on the canopy excursion (zip line) it was amazing. I'm only sorry i did not go on more excursion.
It was a fantastic trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service was excellent. The alternate beach location is a must vist it is beautiful (all sand, no rocks or sea shells)clean and safe.
The weak points
The return set up at the air port.
Certified

Very nice !

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-03-22
We have vacationed at Decameron Salinitas many times...this is one of our favourite destinations. Once again we had a super time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Warm weather...good food...great drinks..friendly people
The weak points
We are aware that at low tide you can not swim in the ocean...but we are aware that Decameron can not control the tides,
Certified

Our 2nd Visit and Loved it Yet Again!

, St Catharines, ON
2014-03-22
This resort is absolutely beautiful.....The grounds, the staff, the food, and the pools. We just returned and we are actually thinking about going back again next week :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and food.
The weak points
Beach and tennis courts.
Certified

Relaxing

, Midland, ON
2014-03-15
Overall had a great time. People are wonderful! Hotel is clean and all staff is efficient. Food is as expected for a 4 star. We don't speak Spanish so it was sometimes hard to communicate but everyone tried hard to do so. The downside for was no beach. The open ala carts made it easy for the bats to soil in the food(really). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sun,people
The weak points
Literature is all in Spanish which makes it hard to sell to Canadians. No snorkelling. Open restaurants
Certified

A Peaceful vacations

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-22
Second time at this location and to be honest the hotel improved a lot since my last visit 5 years ago. My wife and my self are impressed with some very peaceful areas along the beach. We had a very nice week at Salinitas. We'll come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safety, cleanliness, room, beaches, restaurants
The weak points
Most of the staff doesn't speak English and or French. Bars offer a very limited selection of alcohol brands. Food is good but could be better ( a little bit salty for our taste)
Certified

Decameron Salinitis

, Kitchener, ON
2014-02-22
We enjoyed our holiday here very much, we wish we would've booked for 2 weeks, not 1. The food was amazing, as were the grounds & the staff. Will definitely return!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was amazing. Resort was very clean. Staff were very friendly.
The weak points
The beach, but we knew that before we went. Booked a king size bed, never got it. Balconies too small.
Certified

Decameron Salinitas

, New Market, ON
2014-02-22
Very nice hotel, kept very clean. Lawn and pool maintenance staff do not stop. The front line workers (bar staff, Restaurant Staff should know a little more english than they do - not able to answer basic question like where are the washrooms. Bar Variety is poor, need more Bklender style drinks to get the away on a tropical holiday feeling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness of the whole resort
The weak points
Bar quality/variety
Certified

Decameron Salinitas El Salvador

, Burlington, ON
2014-02-15
4th time and will go next year. the weather is perfect... grounds amazing, restaurant food is 4 star and flirts with 5 star. Wine poor,cafeteria could be better, 2h bus ride a pain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather, grounds,restaurants,staff
The weak points
beach,buffet, bus ride long,
Certified

Good vacation

, London, ON
2014-02-11
The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, the weather at this time of year is great and very consistent with warm temperatures, no humidity and no or little rain. This time the food was a lot better than when we were there 2 years ago [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good weather, friendly people and staff, beautiful sunsets, many pools to choose from
The weak points
beach at the hotel is not the best, salt water pool has sharp edges that can cut hands and feet, shows cater more to the Spanish audience
Certified

A Real Gem

, North York, ON
2014-02-10
One review I read regarding this hotel resort was titled "A jewel in the rough". I couldn't agree more as with just a little more polishing and buffing this jewel will become a brilliant diamond!

Althought the ride to the resort was approximately 2 hours that time was not wasted as all the check in procedures were done. All you had to do when you arrived in the resort was take your key unlock the door and relax in your room. Your luggage showed up about 20 minutes later outside your door. Check out procedures was just as efficient.

The resort itself was huge and it took us the whole week to discover everything on the resort. Bar service, food service and variety,and the a-la-cart were especially good. All pools were well maintained and the salt water pool was a nice touch to the place.

We went on two excursions and I found them to be very good. Nighly entertainment was also very good.

One thing that stood out the most was the attention to detail, timing and exteme organization not to mention how friendly the staff were. The only thing that they could improve upon was the music at the bars and disco. Little bit more North American music mixed with a little less Spanish music would be ideal.

Great job Decameron, keep up the good work!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very efficient and organized. Staff great and food well above average.
The weak points
Too much Spanish music at the bars and disco. A better mix of American and Spanish music would be more ideal. Souvenier gift shop lack varienty. A better selection of hats and T-shirts would improve sales.
Certified

Great Resort

, Coboconk, ON
2014-02-10
Hotel was very large and was very clean. Although not many staff spoke english. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Food, Hotel very clean
The weak points
Very little english speaking staff.
Certified

Decameron

, Ingersoll, ON
2014-02-08
good value for the price, love the salt water warm pools & cleanliness, could offer a little more drink variety and the desk staff need to learn a little more english. Also i like latino music but a little overdone should play a few more North American songs at bar & disco. Otherwise had a good experienece. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good value swimming pool is nice salt water & warm clean food & drinks are good, grounds are well maitained rooms have nice ocean view
The weak points
not enough english spoken or understood by the staff, a la cares should not be hotdog stands by day and fine dining at night, rooms should include a safe & fridge in the price even if added upfront should have a bathtub in bathrooms
Certified

Wonderful Holiday

, Milverton, ON
2014-02-02
The Weather was perfect - Hotel great - rooms always clean- food was so so - got repetive (2 wk stay) - Favorite alacarte was pastafari - Felt for a 4 star, safety boxes should have been included - and also the drinks at the bars could have been better ie: blender drinks instead of slushies. Grounds and pools beautiful. Would go back in a heart beat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful grounds, clean rooms & pools
The weak points
Extra charges for safety deposit box and frig. (s/b included re:4 star) drinks @ bars
Certified

Third Time at Salinitas

, Niagara Falls, ON
2014-02-01
Good Time was had by all. Third time here. Our understanding that ownership (still Decameron)and management changed last year.

Check in on bus now, but now have to line up for safety deposit box.

Sand gone from one side of the beach which created congestion, lack of chairs and slow bar service at the food court side of the complex.

The activities are now at the pool by the food court as well, and because of that, we found the volume the music was being played, drove people away rather than adding to their pleasure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Efficient Check in - Clean - Friendly Staff - Good Food with plenty of variety
The weak points
Slow Bar and food services - TOO loud music at activity pool
Certified

Decameron Salinitas

, St Catharines, ON
2014-02-01
This is my second trip to this resort and not a drop of rain again this year. Weather was hot everyday and night.
Fantastic saltwater pool when the tide is out and you still want the saltwater experience. Evening shows were fantastic. I would definitely visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, Pools, Bars.
The weak points
I booked ground or second floor and received the third floor. Difficult to climb as a senior. This took 2 days to correct. The safe was broken in our new room and was not rectified by Guest Services. More servers needed in Buffet.
Certified

Really great place to visit!

, Wasage Beach, ON
2014-02-01
Don't let the bad reputation of El Salvador keep you from experiencing this beautiful country! As with all cities around the world, they all have their crime rates. Stick with the resort tours and you'll be fine!
I found the resort to be really well kept, clean, massive expanses of pools, great food (don't listen to the reviews of those snotty travelers expecting Canadian grade food. You're in a different country, not home, so chill and enjoy all the different foods they offer you!!!) And friendly staff. You will want to brush up on some basic Spanish though.....quite a few of the waiters speak very little to no English. I got by just fine knowing how to order my drinks, please and thank you, and when The going got tough, pointing and making funny faces got me what I was n looking for! Haha!!
The culture, history and scenery are awesome! As impoverished as the people are here, they are extremely friendly and always excited to see you, especially in the small villages. Vendors are always willing to bargain with you on prices. I never mind paying closer to what they are asking in these villages just seeing their living conditions. We are very lucky in Canada, and its only right to share the little I do have with people who visibly haven't got the proverbial "pot to pee in nor window to throw it out of".
Overall, my experience in El Salvador was great and would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful country, super people, amazing sunsets!
The weak points
The only negative I can think of is not being there longer!
Certified

Beautiful vacation!

, Metcalfe, ON
2014-01-27
I'm planning on writing a much longer review on tripadvisor when I have some free time... But I'd like to start off by saying that this vacation was absolutely wonderful. Sure there were a few hiccups as there usually is with travelling to a foreign country, but I found the service wonderful and the pools even better! The drinks were cold and there wasn't a long wait time to get one. The only thing I didn't like were the tiny little ants crawling all over the bathroom counter... Other than that the rooms were superbly clean! Food was good... I would say it was good for the first few days but eventually it got repetitive... Though I think that is pretty much the same as anywhere to be honest! The Pastafari a la carte was my favourite by far! If you want a good steak, order it there! I have to admit, McDonalds tasted amazing on the way home from the airport! Another thing I wouldn't do again is fly out of Montreal... Unfortunately the planes only fly out of Montreal and Toronto, and as I live close to Ottawa obviously Montreal was closest for me. It's not so much the language barrier- it's more the inconsideration of the French people. Other than those few things, it was a wonderful vacation, and I would recommend it to anyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-staff and other guests very friendly -amazing pools -beer tasted amazing! -grounds were wonderful -so clean!
The weak points
-ants on the bathroom counter -food became repetitive -too far from the airport -uncomfortable beds
Certified

Little known gem

, St Catharines, ON
2014-01-25
Spent two weeks with 34-38° temperatures in January, perfect. Good excursions, Honduras, Guatemala, and volcano climbs. Some Canadian guests are embarrassing but I guess that is just part of our shameful culture slide. Long bus ride, but it lets you get a small picture of the country. Great food, half the resort is reserved for central american guests so there is a good selection of local food to compliment the standard resort buffet chow. No pool bar, and some wait times make it a priority to take a "bubba". Definitely worth a return visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Perfect weather, great staff, beautiful location, good buffet.
The weak points
Too many rude french Canadians, no fridge in room, bars "only" open 10am-2am
Certified

Decameron Salinitas

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-18
The only drawback is that there is an hour and a half to two-hour drive from the airport to the hotel. It is too bad there isn't a closer airport to the Hotel. They do use comfortable buses to transport you back-and-forth to the facility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sunsets are beautiful
The weak points
Looking a restaurant is not very easy you must get up early and bookings are only taken for the same day
Certified

El Salvador

, Laval, QC
2014-01-12
This place is wonderfull, You'll find it all in this tiny gem of a country – a beautiful coastline, breathtaking volcanoes, Mayan culture and a wide variety of flora and fauna. El Salvador is also a surfer's paradise! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people is very kind.
The weak points
Transport from airport to hotel is two hours trip.
Certified

A great place to spend New Year's Eve

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-10
The grounds are lovely. The pools are gorgeous. All of them are long meandering things rather that a big circle so there are always peaceful spots as well as play spots in them. The rooms were very nice, the bathrooms are a bit dated but everything is spotlessly clean. They could use some hooks on doors in bathrooms so you could hang things up. There was a great spa. Extremely good prices for very good massages and the "temazcali" a traditional sauna/sweat lodge was great. the only blemish is the food. Breakfast was good but aside from that the food was mediocre to bad, even on nights when the country's own food was being showcased. Generally there was very little variety. This also extended to the restaurants.
NOTE: there are no elevators if you have trouble with stairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are lovely. The pools are gorgeous. The rooms were very nice and everything is spotlessly clean.
The weak points
The food is mediocre at best. The restaurants bear no relation to the food of the countries they are supposed to be serving. Absolutely none.
Certified

Beyond Expectations

2013-12-15
Absolutely a wonderful vacation. The grounds were manicured, the staff were helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean. It was a good time for me to brush up on my spanish because not many could speak english. The place was full but yet there seemed to be alot of space. Only the beach bar service was slow because that was where everyone seemed to hang out.They have free Wifi services that work sometimes. Be prepared to walk. The resort is very big and is a bout one mile from one end to the other. The tide goes away out so you can walk the beach and the sunsets are amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing sunsets, good food
The weak points
Beach is rocky when the tide is out. It is hard to find your friends because the resort is so big
Certified

Perfect weather

, Ajax, ON
2013-12-14
Great time, interesting bus ride. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pre-registrations of rooms
The weak points
English speaking, staff and guests Organized actives
Certified

El Salvador

, Orillia, ON
2013-11-30
The hotel is a large resort with 552 rooms. There is always 2 buffets, 3 pools, 5 bars, 4 al carts, 2 snack bars. It's a super clean and safe destination. There is so many staff working there, that's why u will never go hungry or thirsty. HOT Weather!!!! Bring your own US Money, CND money is useless here. Don't want to pay $100CND for $80US. They only use US dollars for Everything there. Tips, Excursions, shopping, ect... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of Food options, Super Clean Resort, Great Place, Safe and Fun
The weak points
They are charging $100CND for $80US
Certified

Royal Decarmon El Salvador

, Uxbridge, ON
2013-04-15
We have been to this resort twice now. We went three years ago took our adult children in 2013 the food has gotten better the weather is perfectNov to AprilThe bartenders dont make a great drink but for some it wouldn't matter .In the hotel store they have bottle beer and coolers at a reasonable price .If you are smart take some beer at duty free .We really enjoyed the zip lining it is one of the best trips they offer if you are into fun .If you think El Salvador might be dangerous its not.The hotel provides toursim police from the time you get there and on any day trips and the return to airport We felt very safe and i would say it is safer there than most third world countries .If you go Jan /Feb are great months to go because they are harvesting the coffee bean crop You will have a great trip and there is lots to do for all ages One last thing you will never get a nicer weather as it does not rain from Nov/To April [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was better than it was 3 years ago The weather was outstanding .Staff has really improved with keeping resort clean .We really enjoyed the transfer back to the airport as it raveled along coast line,way nicer than going through San Salvador
The weak points
Drinks at the Bar still suck bought my booze at the hotel store.Transfer from airport was 3 hours not 2 Buses should have a bathroom on such a long transfer .Safety deposit box should in encluded as this is 4 star and fridge .
Certified

ABSOLUTELY A HIDDEN GEM

, Pickering, ON
2013-04-06
Lovely place.Beautiful weather,delicious food,clean rooms,friendly staff and organized activities.Check in was a breeze. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolutely loved everything, one of our best vacations yet
The weak points
Beef and pork may be a little chewy. Water shoes for the beach is a must (sharp rocks) Disco is a little loud but just turn on the a/c and you'll be fine.
Certified

Would go again

, Gatineau, QC
2013-04-04
Beware of promoters of "multivacaciones Decameron". They are always lurking near the restos. They will steal all your money if you let them talk. Just say no or you will regret it the rest of your life.

Pros: Nice, clean, no mosquitoes or bugs, food ok.

Cons: repetitive menu on buffette, almost impossible to get reservations for the "a la carte" restos and food there not worth the effort. Wine is horrible and bars could be cleanner.

all in all is a nice place and I would go again if it wasn't for the salespeople who stole my vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
always sunny and warm, pools are great.
The weak points
shows suck, staff helpful but supervisors won't care if you have a complaint.
Certified

Wonderful place

, Welland, ON
2013-03-26
staff was friendly and very willing to please. resort was impecablly clean food was great and the grounds were beautiful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools
The weak points
2 hour bus ride
Certified

Super destination !

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-03-23
This was our 8th vacation at Decameron Salinitas and this past trip was every bit as wonderful as our 1st trip. This is my favourtite vacation destination. Once again we had a great holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff...good food...great drinks.
The weak points
Too far from the airport.
Certified

Royal Decameron - El Salvador

, Windsor, ON
2013-03-16
This hotel is a hidden gem in Central America. The hotel goes all out to make sure that your stay is one to remember. This is a Spanish country,so English is not always understood, but this is not a real problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches are beautiful and there are many swinning pools on the grounds to choose from. The food is also quite good for an all inclusive. Lots of excursions to choose from.
The weak points
Long distance from the airport - 2.5 hrs.A few more English tv channels would have have nice to choose from.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

San Salvador's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021