Coconut Bay Beach Resort And Spa

Coconut Bay Beach Resort And Spa
3.923.923.923.923.92
3.92 based on 65 reviews
#4 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in St Lucia
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (13)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

The Friendly Resort

, Port Perry, ON
2020-01-31
I was impressed with the kindness and friendliness of the staff. The St. Lucian people have this happiness in them that bubbles out. Smiles and offers to help us enjoy ourselves was a constant with the staff. The evening entertainment was a lot of work and the staff truly enjoyed entertaining us. I noticed the long days many of the workers put in. You would see these faces from morning into the night. The nurses were caring and helpful. The cleaning staff always saying hello, the service staff kept us fed and full of drinks. The resort is great for kids. The kids club ladies were awesome. I would go back in a heartbeat.. my daughter and I ended up with bad colds and so many workers checked in with us to see how we were doing. Thank you to the Coconut Bay Staff for making a holiday I will always remember. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Had a great time!

, Lancaster, NY
2019-05-02
Thanks for the great trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing. Resort was beautiful.
The weak points
I was eaten alive by the bugs. Beach was awful.
Certified

Coconut Bay Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-21
The hotel was very nice, staff was excellent, the rooms are a little dated and the bathrooms could use a really good cleaning. All the staff in the entire resort were friendly, and very hospitable.
Very poor water pressure in shower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, pools very clean, staff were very attentive.
The weak points
bathroom in room quite dirty with mould along the floor where it met tile and along sink area Poor water pressure, long time for hot water Unfortunately, my sunglasses disappeared from my room on the 1st or 2nd day went unnoticed until packing to go home
Certified

Coconut bay family vacatione

, Fort Erie, ON
2018-12-01
Very nice resort overall, staff is great, bartenders are great, slightly overpriced however in terms of what you get in the room & for food options [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and waterslides are great, our 10 and 7 yr olds loved them
The weak points
Food options are limited especially when buffet isnt open, restauraunts have small menu choices and very little selection for children
Certified

Incrediable

, Cambridge, ON
2018-07-30
True paradise from start to finish. Duane, Natasha, Princess, Delbert. Ernesto, Kenny, Natalie wow so many staff and every single staff member went out of there way to accommodate in every way they could. They would go to another bar if they were short on specific booze at one bar. They greeted us every day with a smile and call us by name remembered what we drank, Stanza our room attendant went above and beyond including a note to my husband and I every single day and was in tears on our last day. Give Coconut Bay Beach Resort and Spa in St. Lucia a visit and the bonus is its 4min from the airport. This was true HEAVEN [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every thing was amazing. Food, so clean you could eat off the floors in resort bathrooms as I counted one day the cleaning crew was in cleaning six times and that's just what I counted. Food was excellent Top brand names booze. Truly HEAVEN
The weak points
There is massive issue with sea grass coming across from Africa. The resort staff work endlessly to rid the beaches of this. Not the fault of the resort but keep in mind they will every 20min shuttle back and forth 5 min down the road to Paradise beach.
Certified

Coconut Bay Beach Resort

, Desert Blume, AB
2018-04-03
Overall a very positive experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service and staff were excellent
The weak points
The resort is a bit older, very clean but smaller than current standards and you can tell it has been renovated to improve it
Certified

Great Resort!

, Cambridge, ON
2017-12-11
Check in was quick, room was ready right away. We stayed on the splash side. Room was clean and kept cold at all times even with air conditioning off. Room was small but comfortable. Had nice view of resort, palm trees and pool. Room was cleaned every day before noon which was great.

Food was amazing. Buffet always had a variety of options for lunch and dinner. Jerk house was good service was efficient. La grille had good foor but wait times for both lunch and dinner some days were 30 minutes. Pizza was really good. A la carte we tried italian and chinese which were both awesome. Bars were all good and service was quick at all of them .

Pools were nice , they had quite a few and they were never crowded adult side and kid side were both ok. Hot tubs were nice at night good view of beach as well.

Beach was terrible. Not resorts fault as they did try to clean it all the time, but way too much seaweed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, accomodation, service
The weak points
Beach
Certified

The Best

, Toronto, ON
2017-11-21
Outstanding service and the most amazing resort ..def going back soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wow!!! Coconut Bay Beach Resort has it ALL ❤

, Toronto, ON
2016-05-30
Let me start off by saying what a terrific place the Coconut Bay Beach Resort is and that we would to go back in a heartbeat. The staff, service, food, amenities and entertainment are all fantastic, we were really impressed by everything!

Families and Couples will love it here. This resort really has everything you would ever want or need. Water-park equipped with slides and a lazy river, petting zoo, a daycare center for the wee ones if you need it, paintball, a terrific spa and for those looking to tie-the-knot, the wedding gazebo is just lovely!

This place offers terrific value for your money without having to go off resort.

We traveled as a couple and stayed on the Harmony side, our concierge went above and beyond the call of service, he even helped when we ran into an emergency back home.... Thank you Webster, your kindness will never be forgotten!

I have visited many all inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean & Mexico and can tell you that the Coconut Bay Beach Resort really does go out of it's way to service their guests. There is no shortage of food or variety in any of the restaurants, they were all beyond our expectations, and to my surprise lobster was served on Friday at dinner time. You must try the crepes for breakfast.. yum, yum. Oh and I must say that we never did have a sit down lunch, but we did indulge in their very large and tasty chicken wings... OMG to die for!!

If you're looking for top shelf liquor, you will find that here too! The evening entertainment at this resort is fabulous, top notch in my books, lots of fun and the costumes and talent is fantastic. Pools are open 24/7 and the grounds are well taken care of. The resort is located on the Atlantic side so the beaches are a little rougher than on the Caribbean side. With that said, the beach is still very nice and the resort does a terrific job of clearing away any seaweed that washes up on shore.

The resort was also refreshing various exterior areas with sanding and paint so they are always maintaining the resort. Through my conversation with the general manage, the Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa has plans to expand on the Harmony side which is adults only. I won't spoil the surprise so keep watching for their big announcement in the future ;)

All I can say is... looking good Coconut Bay Beach Resort and Thank You all very much for a wonderful time, we'll be back :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
5 minutes to the airport. Fabulous service. Friendly staff. Food is excellent and so is the entertainment. Great place for families, Couples, Honeymooners, Weddings, the list goes on!
The weak points
The only weak point would have to be that the main buffet restaurant is very warm/hot, but you can fill your plate and take it to the lobby where you can sit on couches and enjoy the views and a nice breeze :)
Pro

Great Stay

, Innisfil, ON
2014-03-12
We had one of our best vacations ever at Coconut Bay, and I will be back. St. Lucia is an amazing island, and her people are warm and genuine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, distance from the airport and the staff could not have been better. Gift store well stocked, jewelry store amazing. Vendors were not aggressive at all.No time share talks!!
The weak points
I booked 2 beds and got one, and was unable to downgrade. 4th floor is entirely rooms with 1 king bed, and that wasn't clear when I booked.They need an elevator to the upstairs restaurants and gift shops.
Certified

Perfect spot!

2014-02-19
Excellent hotel, wonderful staff and a truely fantastic experience. Those worried about being on the Atlantic side should not be - yes it is true it is much windier but honestly I needed the breeze. This resort has palm trees all over it and right up to the edge of the beach making it much more natural and beautiful than the resorts on the north end of the island. It is also much more private as there are no resorts on either side of it. Great activities - nightly entertainment and music was AMAZING. Lots of things for kids to do. Adults only section was very calm and not as busy and had sun worshiper beds that you could rotate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, private secluded beach, excellent food (a la cart restaurants were good too), great nightly entertainment!
The weak points
Seriously the only weak points were that they didn't have ceasars or mojitos!
Certified

Coconut bay

, King City, ON
2014-01-23
fantastic vacation and amazing hotel. Very warm and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, room, hotel, beach, pools
The weak points
needs more entertainment
Certified

Coconut bay St. Lucia

, Mississauga, ON
2013-07-07
fun, descent hotel for families with young kids. the staff are very nice, especially in the kids club, but the club needs to be better lit at night with better security. we had a nice relaxing vacation but it did not meet my expectations for the price we paid.Also, the beach was awful and the resort needs a facelift. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous staff at the kids club. decent food. fun watermark and lazy river
The weak points
awful ,rough beach with tons of seaweed. Only 2 slides at the water park. buffet restaurant is hot and cafeteria -like. resort needs a bit of a facelift and the entertainment is lacking.
Certified

Would definetely go back

, Wainfleet, ON
2013-06-28
Typical 4 star resort with better food then I have had at 5 star resorts. Proximity to airport was fantastic. Staff was very fiendly but the entertainment was lacking. Only one day did they come around and ask us to join in on an activity. The island is absolutely beautiful. I have never been interested in going to a resort twice, but I would go to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, close to the airport, clean, great kids club, helpful friendly staff, -
The weak points
Entertainment staff did not go out of their way to get people involved. Cups could have been cleaned up more regularly. Lots of small things that can be fixed with a little paint
Certified

Excellent

, Woodstock, ON
2013-03-25
The resort is small compared to others i have visited. What really sets this resort apart from others is the staff. They are always friendly, accomodating and have a smile. The people working here are by far a great asset. The entire week was amazing, and i would recommend to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, close to airport, layout and resort size.
The weak points
Windward side of island.
Certified

Needs some improvements

, Renfrew, ON
2013-02-13
The hotel is not a 4 or 4 1/2 star the rooms and hotel are showing their wear, yes everything is clean, we stayed on the third floor with two kids...they have two water slides and a lazy river large pool with swim up bar and another pool for the activities, the beach has seaweed that comes in from the ocean and it does make the beach dirty and the water dirty with seaweed floating, they clean the beach several times a day which is a little much listening to a tractor going up and down the beach..sometimes the kids were playing in the sand and would have to move, the drinks were good the beer not that cold and sometimes the wine wasn't cold and not that great, waiter/waitress were slow bringing you drinks back during dinner most of the times you weren't offered a second drink or you had to chase them down to get a second drink with your meal...yes the staff were friendly sometimes the front desk were okay...
the buffet the food was not up to the standards, we are not picky eaters but very little selection on items and stuff was not hot...entertainment was so..so...they could have had more music playing during the day around the pool and more entertainment (shows) in the evenings..no seafood, the one night they did it was fake crabmeat in the salad and the soup was made with the leftovers of sea creatures, they had clams, no shrimp no lobster which was sort of disappointment when you are in the carribean...they also did a mexican night and that was really bad, the weather was great very hot and there is always a breeze (windy) which was nice as it was hot, otherwise could have been too breezy...a lot of the activities that they said they had for the kids are not in function paintball was not running and hasn't been for awhile, one of the other activities was 1 1/2 away from the hotel one way..they had some activities in the pool that you had to sign up for, ..I know they are fixing up some rooms doing upgrades but we did not see any of them so we could see what was done..The beach grill had good food, pizza, fries, hot dogs, chicken and beef sandwiches, the washrooms on the poolside need some attention...I just felt that it wasn't worth the money that we paid...yes the place is close to the airport you do hear the planes going over but it was later in the day not anything that would be annoying...Yes we made the best of it and had a great vacation I would say the food quality was something like Cuba...They did do theme nights for dinner and had it all outside which was very nice...and the food was again so..so.
they need to set up the buffet a little different so that you don't have to stand in long lines to go for soup or salad or if you want to skip all of that and go to the main meal..desserts were not that great, I will say that they did have homemade buns and pastries...The ice cream for the kids was too soft it was melting as it came out of the machine (the machine was broken lots)...they had popcorn when the machine got fixed the cotton candy machine was never fixed when you asked they would just say its broke..we always seem to be having to ask for something missing from our room, face cloths,towels, coffee (instant) coffee whitner water never received pop in our fridge allow we asked several times (these are just little things) coffee was not good...The staff at the bars would always make what you wanted..the girls at the pool bar were amazing...we checked out the adult side I would have been upset to say the least if I had booked as a couple and then seen the size of the pool for the adults..this is really a family resort...I think this could be a really good resort if they get their stuff together make it the 4 or 41/2 star that they claim to be..The ocean is a beautiful colour... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice to be able to sit at the pool and be close to the beach nice view, weather was great, the distance from the airport after long flight was great, waterslides and lazy river nice to have to break up the week..
The weak points
the coffee and the food, need to have the beer colder and better wine (white) and serve it cold not warm the hotel needs some improvements for the price you pay..not sure why all rooms couldn't be offered the beer in your fridge
Certified

Great Value

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-07
The resort is overall a great value; for families with smaller kids and also for couples (seperate section). Staff are genuinely happy. Food is as expected but the pool restaurant has some awesome chicken wings and pizza! The beach is a little rough due to ongoing winds. The Volcano trip and the mud bath is a must. If you've never been to the island, we highly recommend; well worth your money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff.
The weak points
island too windy and rainy.
Certified

Satifafactory I guess

, Georgetown, ON
2013-01-28
Friendly staff
Disappointing rooms and beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff
The weak points
Dirty moldy bathroom air conditioner didn't work properly, food was average
Certified

Coconut bay

, Burlington, ON
2013-01-17
we expected much better. The food was a major dissapointment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice country
The weak points
food, beach, resort
Certified

Liked it but could have been better

, Mississauga, ON
2012-11-06
I read many reviews before booking and even with the issues I experienced (not getting the room selection the first time and no crib for my ten month old until halfway through the vacation, filling out an allergy form for the chefs that seemed to have been sent only to the nurse and not the restaurants), I made the most of the holiday. The resort was beautiful though flawed, some of the staff was phenomenal, while others seemed uninterested in their jobs, and my special dietary needs (no wheat or dairy) proved difficult for the kitchen staff to manage easily.
Would I return to St. Lucia? In a heartbeat. Would I return to this resort, probably not.
I appreciated the previous reviews and took the good with the bad when making my selection. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Guest services was always open to hearing how they could improve the client experience.
The weak points
Some issues (dietary needs) required several trips to speak with guest services and the restaurant staff and the chefs and in the end, though some staff tried, they were unable to resolve the issue to my satisfaction.
Certified

Coconut Bay

, Ajax, ON
2012-10-12
Hotel is great, loaction is very close that we love,St.Lucia is a great place to Visit, only price is to high. but we love the hotel and people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
love the water.
The weak points
was the weed on the beach
Certified

Not St. Lucia's finest

, Thornhill, ON
2012-07-31
This is not a 4 star hotel, 21/2 at best. Under new management for the past several years has led to a decline in cleanliness in all areas of the resort. The beach is not what is shown in the picture and as it is on the Atlantic side you cannot use the beach or ocean. It is too rough for swimming. There are no watersports available. The only selling point to this hotel is its water slide. If you wsant a beach vacation this is not the redsort to go to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Waterslides
The weak points
Lack of cleanliness
Certified

Coconut bay - wedding stay

, Mississauga, ON
2012-06-19
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel - the view was beautiful. However, the bathrooms in the rooms needs heavy improvement, especially the toilet and the basin. I travelled with a group of people and we all found that the bathrooms were quite disgusting.

Also, the passageway that leads to the lobby needs thorough cleaning as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very beautiful island, the day trip was excellent and the tourguide was amazing.
The weak points
The lack of cleanliness, the lack of diversity in regards to food options. (A lot of pork) To be honest, I wouldn't really recommend the resort to anyone.
Certified

Great place to relax

, Calgary, AB
2012-06-11
This place is exactly what we were looking for when 3 friends and myself were looking for a vacation. It was clean, relatively well kept, the food was decent and the drinks flowed.
Yes it is beside the airport so it is literally a 5 minute drive from the terminal. There are about 5 planes that leave per day so you only hear them for a couple hours in the afternoon.
It is on the Atlantic side so it does get more of the wind and therefore the water is a little rougher. They do have some breakers out in the water so there are some calmer areas.

It is a little further to go on excursions from this reort as most of the launch points are on the other side of the island. You can drive around the whole island in just over 2 hours so you don't have to go far to get to your diving/shopping/zip lining etc.

They have a little market they set up in the hotel 2 times a week for all the little trinkets you want to buy.

There is a nice beach on the north side of the resort with beach volleyball. They rake the sand every morning.

Every night is a theme night for the main buffet restaraunt but they don't tell you which ones are out on the pool deck ahead of time. We missed out on them as we just happened to book our a la cartes the same nights. The food was good, nothing special but good. It seemed as though they toned down the seasoning on it for the masses.

All in all we were really happy with our choice and would definitely consider going back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
proximity to the air port food was good lots of chairs etc. never a problem finding one. Good for families but there is a good space for adults as well.
The weak points
A La Carte dinners could have been a little better... the Carrabean one was the best.
Certified

Great time!

, Etobicoke, ON
2012-04-25
This hotel was conveniently located close to the airport in Vieux Fort which was great. Check-in was smooth and quick, rooms were clean and simple. Food at the buffet was really good, vegetarians would be pleased if you are not too picky. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is always some form of entertainment at night, and there is a great selection of tours to choose from. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great food, clean rooms, beautiful beach, fun atmosphere for couples and families.
The weak points
Gift shop - too expensive.
Certified

Excellent week of Relaxation!

, Swastika, ON
2012-04-03
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. It was a shock to arrive at the hotel only after a one minute drive from the airport! Stayed mostly on the Harmony side, but walked the rest of the property occasionally. The $250 room credit is a very nice touch especially when you can use it for tours! The staff is awsome and especially enjoyed Maclee and Aikon (aka Ryan). The rooms are older but well kept and they are constantly updating areas. It's a good location to see the southern attractions such as the Pitons, volcano, botanical gardens. Will definately be back to St. Lucia to explore more northerly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent customer service; all staff very friendly and are there to please; food was excellent in the buffet - didn't make it to the a-la-cartes.
The weak points
Only negative was that we had a 3 hour wait to get into our room as we were early arrivers; would be nice to get in right away after a lengthy flight.
Certified

Coconut Bay Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2012-04-01
Very pleasant and relaxing experience. Emjoyed it very much. Quiet but enough going on to keep from getting bored. A vacation in my opinion is what you make it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the entertainment at night.
The weak points
I didn't have anything to complain about that I can think of.
Certified

Review

, Kingston, ON
2012-03-13
The resort is good, the staff are gracious and courteous. Slides and pools fun for young kids. However this is not somewhere to go is you wish to swim in the sea or snorkel. The beach is unprotected from the Atlantic ocean and wind which blows constantly. No-one braved the ocean. Evening entertainment is poor but the island is a delight and one can travel to the Caribbean sea to snorkel and swim. There is adventure with the excursions and much to see. The major attraction is that the travel time to and from the airport is minutes compared with the stomach churning transfer to the caribbean sea resorts. My advice is have deep pockets, pay for a helicopter transfer and stay on the Caribbean sea side of this gorgeous Island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is good, the staff are gracious and courteous. Slides and pools fun for young kids
The weak points
However this is not somewhere to go is you wish to swim in the sea or snorkel. The beach is unprotected from the atlantic ocean and wind which blows constantly. No-one braved the ocean. Evening entertainment is poor.
Certified

Without high expectations - not the best place...

, Cold Water, ON
2012-03-06
First off, when reading this review, know that we are seasoned travellers who usually travel to 4-5 star hotels. This one rated as a four is really more like a 3.5. There are some real issues to consider prior to booking this resort. Some staff - very nice, some could care less if you enjoy your stay. This resort is a bit of a circus atmosphere, unless you stay at the adult side. The adult side is nice, but very tiny pool. If you want to do any real swimming where you are not in a VERY tiny pool, you are forced to hang out in "wonderland" set up for kids. The resort has fairly poor food and selection (not everything - but in general. We are professional people who dress very well. One of the members of our party was turned away at a restaurant as he only had dress shorts. He was clean cut, tucked and immaculate looking. His pants were wet from the 3 days of rain that we had. This was the only resort I had ever been to that treated well dressed patrons like this. I'm all for keeping things formal over dinner, but this was extreme. There should always be some room for exceptions. A comment made in passing by one of our party members resulted in her being harassed by an employee to write a letter to correct herself. We didn't want anything to do with it and it resulted in us having to leave that area of the resort feeling a little under fire. In my opinion if someone makes a comment about something to staff about an issue, that issue should be taken up with management, and not harrass the innocent guests for clairity, for two days. After traveling to many countries and staying at many resorts, I can honestly say that this is the first that I have been to where the following happened. Every single time anyone from our party had a drink that was syrup based, we ended up with chest pain for exactly 20-30 minutes each time. This resulted in us staying with Piton beer (which was quite good) or spirits and pop without any flavours added. We mentioned this to them, hopefully they will change whatever it was they were serving to guests. If you weren't there with a group, you might not realise what it was. We had the bennift of seeing several people go through it, and therefore could peg down the problem. The wind is constant at this resort, so be prepared. Sometimes it offered relief, sometimes it kept people away from the beach. (sand in eyes - can't hold book or papers - or just made it cold - and normally I am not someone who gets cold easily) Three a la carte restaurants - Itallian (Not good - honestly - It is the beach bar and grill turned into Itallian at night) Creole - OK food - servers were very nice - but minimal portions and needs more variety. - Silks - Aisan - Just OK - mostly breaded supermarket style foods) Buffett - is a buffett. The upstairs lounge and disco is two things. 1 - great bar service from "the Joker" - bartender. He does a good job a keeping people happy, but the Disco itself is a little dull. There was really no one there but us every night. Some - not all, but some of the staff seem to behave in an unprofessional way when it comes to dancing with the guests. I witnessed a few of them hip grinding up against married men and women. Not really appropriate. The main lunch grill and the two main larger pools were ALWAYS subject to REALLY loud music. I'm youngish, and like music, but I felt like I couldn't get away from it. I would also imagine that if you were staying on the splash side the music being so close and loud would keep napping children awake. We spoke to a few people who had reserved the adult side and were put on the children's side. They have donkeys at this resort that are tied to palm trees. They are constantly getting tangles between trees leaving them on a short rope, not long enough to get to the "empty" water dishes left randomly. It took 4 days to get something that we were requesting each day to our room. Each day was 1-2 calls. The beach grill ladies were very nice and happy to see their guests. No pool is over 4 feet in depth. The lazy river is about 3 fee max. Over all, St. Lucia is a pretty island, but I would not be back to this resort for the above reasons - even for a good price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The colour of the water is better here than the other parts of the island due to the constant wash up of shell pieces due to the wind.
The weak points
See above
Certified

Windy Resort

, Aurora, ON
2012-02-01
Loved the hotel, food and drinks. The resort is very windy being on the East side of the island and because of that I wouldn't go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Hotel, Drinks, Slides, Lazy River
The weak points
Very Windy.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021