St Lucian By Rex

St Lucian By Rex
3.433.433.433.433.43
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (52)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Pretty good overall...don't have high expectations

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-17
You will enjoy this hotel if you really want to go to St lucia for a reasonable price and you are not expecting luxury. The rooms are not great, the beach loungers are not comfortable but the food and beach are fantastic! so there is a tradeoff. go in knowing that, and it will help!
Also - there is no animation staff so there are no daytime activities and therefore no music. this is different from other resorts, and it was quite nice! evening entertainment wasn't all that great - though we got a treat from the dance group from Martinique. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food! consistently great buffet (better than most AIs). Beach is great for a lengthy walk
The weak points
The room - it is old. so marks on the bathroom floor that just can't be scrubbed out over years. So it is clean, but looks dirty. but you don't spend too many waking hours in the room so it gets the job done as a place to sleep at night.
Certified

A beautiful island

2015-04-05
The hotel is old and needs updating.However the rooms are clean and the staff friendly and helpful.All the rooms have sea view.The food is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location.Friendly staff.
The weak points
The rooms need updating.
Certified

Wonderful place

, Mississauga, ON
2014-03-11
Beautiful, beautiful place, the island is incredibly beautiful. The beach was nice and cozy and the ocean water warm. Hotel was a standard 3 stars, clean, with hot water, wi-fi in the room and on the beach. Food was very carribean but with very few fruits, drinks were the best I ever had, coffee not so good. No animation or even music during the day but a place where you can relax and enjoy the view, hence tourists were mostly older people. The best of all, people over there are the nicest I ever met. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Coffee if any.
Certified

Rex St. Lucian - Heaven on Earth

, Guelph, ON
2011-04-06
Wow! The best vacation I've ever had. I was given an upgrade to an ocean view room on the ground floor. The patio door walked out onto a private patio and fenced courtyard. Everything was excellent. A special thank you to Christel, Rochelle and Helen at Reception. They were amazing and went above and beyond. I will definitely be returning to Rex St. Lucian. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is incredible. All staff were extremely friendly and treated me like a queen. The food at the buffet was excellent.
The weak points
The room has a lot of furniture, but no dresser to put clothing in (just single drawers on night tables and vanity.
Certified

Great Beach

, Newmarket, ON
2011-01-26
Super beach, great swimming. Our hotel room was right on the beach on the second floor. Could not ask for a better location. Excellent value for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous beach, great swimming. Hotel located in a town so walking to stores and restaurants is easy.
The weak points
Food could have been better. Italian night wes a disaster. Stick to local food. Chineese restaurant was not even worth going to, there were 4 of us and we all hated our meal.
Certified

Rex St. Lucian

, Madoc, ON
2010-02-25
Our trip was less than satisfting. We paid for an upgrade to an upper level with satalite tv and were told that we had to take a ground floor, and the tv had 5 - 6 channels. The biggest beef we had was that there was a water shortage (didn t know about this when booked) that ment that if you didn t have a showere before 9:00am, you didn t get one until5:30pm, yes you heard me right. The water was again turned off at arouont 10:00pm, until 7:30am. This also ment there was no toilet, this made for a horrible sewage smell all the time for the whole trip. We got there late, around 9:30pm and by the time we got to our room around 10:30pm there was no water to get cleaned up after an entire day of travel. People shoving and yelling at check-in time was something to be desired. You would think that they would know that we were coming and everything (our room reservation) would be ready. We asked to have a late check-out as well but at noon on the day of departure, we were harassed by hotel staff about leaving the hotel room immediately. Our flight didn t leave until 8:45pm. The girl at the front desk told us that "why do we need the roon, there is no water anyway?" [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach was nice, food, edible, price, fair
The weak points
poor service, no lounge chairs on beach(you had to pay per day, per chair) staff not very friendly, pools dirty, grounds poorly maintained, smell of sewer in our room and NO WATER?????
Certified

Holiday

, Eldorado, ON
2010-02-24
water restrictions,hotel very ooutdated,not the best entertainment [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful weather,great beach
The weak points
water restriction, poor entertainment,
Certified

Location! Location! Location!

, Barrie, ON
2010-02-17
Overall, the resorts atmosphere is very mellow allowing for ample opportunity for sun and relaxation. The location is absolutely beautiful and the mountainous backdrop is just breathtaking. Exotic flowers and natural beauty are abound on this island - great for the avid photographer!

First, the negative aspects of our stay:

The resort itself is clean, but somewhat dated. Our room in the papillon was basic and the lack of a bathtub was disappointing. Also, the fact that we had two doubles in our room and not a single king was disappointing - We were told that the resort was at capacity when we requested a single bed (though it did not seem as though it were overrun with fellow vacationer s). Also disappointing was both jacuzzi s were not in working order, the gym facility was closed permenantly, and the swim-up pool/bar opened late and closed rather early. The staff (with exception of reception and housekeeping) were not overly friendly and reluctant to assist you without seeing some moolah ($) first. Many locals frequent Reduit Beach offering their goods and services - it becomes somewhat tiring to politely say no when you have to do it every 15 minutes (and they aren t afraid to approach you even when you are trying to soak up the rays and/or catch some zzz s!) Good news is that it only takes one no and they will continue on their way. Nightly entertainment will not thrill those who are expecting extravagant shows and/or music. The entertainment that was provided would much rather suit elderly couples who like to turn in early (expect nothing past 12am!)...One must visit the bar (Tequilla Joe s) across the street to party well into the night...We were lucky enough to catch the resorts one show (which happens only every other Tues) showcasing limbo dancers; fire breathers; and a snake charmer - very entertaining! Lastly, everything on this island is driven by tourism...Do not expect fantastic deals as the locals are not much for bartering - Nothing is free (not even a handshake!) and getting around the island from this resort can be costly. Lastly, the water shortage - we were told that this was an island wide issue and beyond the control of the resort. However, when talking to other couples from other resorts, we seemed to be the only resort with such problems...If you are one who has no problems with not being able to bathe or toliet between the hours of 10:30am and 5:30pm then this will be a non-issue for you!

The positive aspects of our stay:

It was peaceful and falling asleep to the crash of the ocean s waves was blissful. The food was absolutely amazing and, even though the all inclusive only included the buffet, offered a variety of choices to satisfy even the pickiest eater. As said before, the island s natural beauty was simply amazing and the warm weather a much appreciated break from Canada s blistering cold winters! Also, much to our delight, we were not confined to our resort - we were able to venture off and explore without worry - it was nice to get a sense of the real St. Lucia and appreciate the local culture and customs.

All in all, our stay at the St. Lucian by Rex Resorts was peaceful and relaxing. All it lacked was a nightlife suitable for young couples and those young at heart wanting to let go of it all! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Alot of different excursion options if you have extra money to spend; the food was delicious; resort/room clean; weather beautiful!; location beautiful!; scenery is breathtaking throughout this mountainous island!; one can leave the resort with no worries
The weak points
Resorts water was shut off during certain times of the day; the service was slow and staff were only helpful/couteous when tipping; we were constantly bombarded with locals offering services/goods; no night life on resort; bar(s) opened late, closed early
Certified

Not even a 2 star.

, Toronto, ON
2010-01-31
Our first impression of the Rex St. Lucian came the first night. No one was allowed more than one key for their room and we were told that our class of room only had double beds despite Sunwings description of the Papillion room that says either 1 king or 2 doubles is available. When we asked for a bottle of water we were charged EC$10 for a 500ml bottle. The best Restaurants in St. Lucia only charged EC$10 for 1.5 litres. The next day we were switched to a room with a king-size bed after we insisted with the duty manager. The rooms were quite run down and in need of a major overhaul. Our room had no dresser drawers, only closet hangers, the basin stopper did not work and the bathtub would take over an hour to drain (this was reported but nothing was done) and there was no toilet paper holder.
The property was very run down overall with loose floor tiles, some rusted fixtures, exposed garbage areas, a volleyball net whose netting section was but a distant memory . You get the picture.
The beach itself was very nice but the lounge chairs were scarce and dirty with no umbrellas. There were, however, people on the beach willing to rent us clean chairs and umbrellas for EC$10/day. Yet none of this was happening further up the beach at the Royal St. Lucian or The Bay Gardens Beach Resort.
The food was for the most part quite bad with limited selection, at least at the buffet. We did not try The Oriental restaurant. The coffee we made with the in-room coffee maker was better than at the buffet. And, to top it off, there was not a cup of espresso or cappuccino to be had on the resort.
The staff was a mixed bag. Some were rude or indifferent at best, especially the bar staff. Others were pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately even a few rude staff members can spoil it for everyone.
There was however one time when I think the hotel actually excelled in expectations. A few days after arrival my wife was hit by a "rogue wave" (TIC) at the beach. She hurt her knee and right away the staff came to her aid. As we waited for the taxi to take her to the hospital the manager came out to see her and explain what would be done. Then he had one of the staff accompany us to the hospital where it was determined that she had strained ligaments. Upon our return they changed our room to a ground floor unit to make it easier for my wife and provided her with a wheelchair for the duration our stay. The next day the duty manager came to see how she was doing. That was truly well done.
Now, if the same attitude would be taken to the rest of the services, then they would truly have something. And if you think this was only our experience, others we talked to at the resort had even worse stories to tell. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach. Great in emergencies.
The weak points
Everything else.
Certified

Rex St. Lucia

, Toronto, ON
2009-08-19
Experience was terrible - hotel was falling down, staff were mean and rude and food was inedible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the location
The weak points
see above
Certified

Auto worker

, Keene, ON
2009-06-13
Great trip for money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach
The weak points
To far from air port
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021