Royal Decameron Complex

Royal Decameron Complex
3.913.913.913.913.91
3.91 based on 1142 reviews
#4 of 23 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (232)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

No peace and quiet, unpredictable food

, Calgary, AB
2022-11-17
The benefits of staying in Block 1, the ocean view and in-room internet (that must constantly be re-activated), are reduced by the high level of noise coming from the adjoining activity area. The room itself, while shabby, was clean with a very comfortable bed. Hard to control the air conditioning - too cold.

Grounds were lovely. Beach is sandy.

Food was a major disappointment. Lots of fried food, and the rest was either watery or overcooked. Unpredictable offerings of staples from day-to-day, such as margarine, jam or peanut butter. Specialty restaurants marginally better.

Evening entertainment was high quality for content and costumes, but was so loud, even with earplugs (over 90 db), that we were unable to attend after the second night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
-beautiful sunsets each night -lovely grounds and beach
The weak points
-food was poor -noise throughout the resort was excessively loud
Certified

This is the place to stay in Bucerias

, Calgary, AB
2022-10-30
We have been staying at the Decameron for years. People are excellent, and always happy to see you. Service is great, amenities are plentiful, you can always find a seat at the pool or beach. Lots of activities if you choose. Just a short walk or taxi to Bucerias. We highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Royal DeCameron, Bucerias

, Parksville, BC
2022-10-22
We have stayed at this resort quite a few times and this time was the same ambience and vacation experience. We were here for two weeks and glad of it. The staff are so welcoming and polite and anticipate your every need. In September and October it is not busy, which adds to our enjoyment! The water sports aren't available at this time which might be an issue for the more adventurous. They are still recovering from Covid but the staff are truly amazing here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Value for money, beautiful grounds Quiet adult pool
The weak points
Pool maintenance was not great during our stay
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff were cleaning tables often.
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Selkirk, MB
2022-04-18
All in all my first response was I'm not staying here! Then we had no choice, we decided to make the best of it! Turned out ok! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, clean rooms,won't go hungry grounds
The weak points
Old,no bar fridge in room, front desk staff need better training too far from Puerto Vallarta ($50 taxi ride round trip)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good covid cleaning
Certified

Great Holiday Place

, Edmonton, AB
2022-03-13
Been here over 15 times. Rooms nothing fancy but the only time we are in them is to sleep. Food isn't 5 star but there is always a good variety for everyone. Big complex so people are spread out over the 5 pools. Fantastic beach to walk on. Staff very helpful and friendly. Close to all kinds of shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Food disappointed

, St Catharines, ON
2022-02-05
Food was not good for Canada taste Came to Mexico for the great staff and weather not to eat Mexicano food could go to a restaurant here for that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

The travel agent next door

, Olds, AB
2020-03-26
The hotel was great very clean and friendly staff. It was small enough that it was very easy to get around and yet very very quiet. The nightly shows were very professional . Our only disappointment was with the city tour it was not a city tour but a sales pitch for expensive jewellery and tequila , our guide left 2elderly ladies behind that had trouble keeping up and left the tour Before we arrived back at the hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet cleanliness friendly
The weak points
Fourth floor no elevators lol
Certified

Fabulous time despite Covid-19

, Burnaby, BC
2020-03-24
We had a fabulous time despite the threat of the covid19 virus. The hotel is clean and the food is good. The entertainment team are extraordinary and shows are the best I have seen at any resort in Mexico. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hidden Mexican Gem

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-14
First time at this resort and we were pleasantly surprised! Clean rooms and the entire resort was well maintained! Awesome staff, great entertainment and we LOVED there were mainly Canadians here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GORGEOUS Beach, that we walked to Bucerias!
The weak points
A la carte reservation system wasn't the best, personally I think people should show up, if no room, then no room but this is minor. Fridges in the room would be nice too.
Certified

Relaxing week

, Abbotsford, BC
2020-02-20
the property is spacious, beautiful, and well maintained, thanks to hard work by the staff. they are courteous and helpful. food was very good--we enjoyed choosing different restaurants for supper each night. swimming pools are lovely, and iguanas provide entertainment! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
tidiness, sense of safety, variety of types of food, weather was perfect
The weak points
getting up to book suppers, difficulty get money exchanged
Certified

Not what we expected

, Stony Plain, AB
2020-02-17
Overall the resort was not what we expected. The grounds and the exterior of the building are well maintained and look very nice. The room and bathroom were not very nice, they are very much in need of an upgrade. There are no shelves, hooks or anyplace to put your clothes, etc you either have to put them on the toilet tank or on the floor. The sink is separate from the bathroom and the area around the sink is way too small to put your shaving kit and other toiletries. The doors on the sink cupboard were also ready to fall off. The bedroom area is large enough but again the is nowhere to put your suitcases other than on the floor. We used a plastic table off the balcony for one siutcase and balanced the other one on top of a chair. The tv took up the majority of the top of the dresser so again no place to put anything. The room was also in need of new paint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The exterior of the buildings and grounds are well maintained. The food is on average pretty good and the restaurants are clean.
The weak points
Room and bathroom are badly in need of an upgrade. Our first room, building 4, was full of bugs so we were moved to building 2. As mentioned earlier the room was not good at all. We will not be returning to this resort.
Certified

Great place

, Kleefeld, MB
2020-01-23
This is a great place to stay! It is our second time going there and it was just as great as the first time. The staff are friendly and helpful. Everything was clean. There was a great variety of food. We enjoyed the boogie boards, volleyball, pools and ocean. It also has the added feature of pottery painting (for a cost, of course). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Royal Decameron Complex

, Dapp, AB
2020-01-14
This was a very average hotel. The beach location was absolutely fabulous, but the hotel itself left us feeling "meh". We asked for face clothes upon arrival, as our room did not have any, and none were ever provided. The housekeeping left much to be desired as we often did not have towels replaced (solely taken away) and did not have water bottles replaced daily. The food was okay. It was mostly bland, however that staff was fabulous! Always friendly! While we enjoyed our getaway as a whole, we will not be heading back to this property. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- beach location - friendly servers at restaurants and bars
The weak points
- housekeeping - food
Certified

Survey

, Agassiz, BC
2019-12-17
We enjoy this resort very much.We have been going to this resort from December 2001. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms,basic but very clean and comfortable.
The weak points
Music two loud in theatre.Lights should maybe put on in theatre when people are entering and leaving.Food not bad but buffet could be a little hotter.
Certified

My home away from home.

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-08
Our third time at this hotel, We love it here, the staff are absolutely top notch.
Any complaints I have are minor inconveniences. I would definitely stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing, the food was magnificent. Views of the beach are gorgeous.
The weak points
Hotel could use some updating ie: coffee maker and fridge in rooms. Swim up bar in the adult pool would be nice and beach drink service.
Certified

Another great holiday

, Burnaby, BC
2019-12-06
We have stayed here many times and always enjoy our visits.
I have noticed a need for supervision at the buffets-people are eating from buffets, using their hands and generally not practicing good hygiene. Hand sanitizers would help [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is always excellent and work very hard
The weak points
there are always mixed feelings about dinner reservations system..guests must line up very early to secure a table.
Certified

Good Bang for your buck!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-11-18
Overall experience was good. Would recommend it to others. Not a 5 start but decent for the price. The staff make the place great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly welcoming staff! Everyone looked like they were working their butt off all the time. Appreciated the cleanliness of the grounds/pool area and loved the bright colors of the buildings. Great location. Also enjoyed the entertainment.
The weak points
Rooms could be nicer. We stayed in block 2 and found it very noisy at night. Do not recommend this block if you have younger kids. Beds uncomfortable, lighting was poor. Didn't find the food great.
Certified

Royal Decameron Bucerias

, St Albert, AB
2019-11-14
I spent one week 'solo' at the resort in Bucerias. I felt totally comfortable and safe. The staff were very accommodating; the buffet food very plentiful and the bar service very fast. The evening shows were top notch and the gourmet restaurants were 5 star. I ate fantastic lamb and super excellent burgers. The outstanding server MURTADO in the Rodizio snack bar really gave me comfort and great care. I will return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff...gourmet restaurants...feeling safe ...excellent showers
The weak points
sparse english at front desk
Certified

Disappointed

, Vancouver, BC
2019-09-10
The first few days were good but went down hill from there,we got ripped off on our tour in more ways then one . From the tour guide to the tour organizer. .. the hotel itself ripped us off ...everyone got sick from food .the alcohol was so watered down.I could go on .my count out o f a hundred 03,,,it was truly a bad experience. Some nice people. .not very meny. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful grounds

, Edmonton, AB
2019-08-22
First impression pulling driving downhill on an old road was not attractive to start with, nor was the room. Clean but could use a bit of updating. However, the grounds are gorgeous. Wifi only in one building that we knew of. Not necessarily a bad thing, but nice to have in the room.
Palm trees with coconuts, flowers, green green grass, cool iguanas of all shapes and sizes wandering the ground was impressive. The service is great. Staff is super nice. Food at buffet and Brazillian a la cart was excellent. All good, except the adult pool should be open later than 7:00pm. Maybe its just a seasonal thing. But we Would go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are gorgeous
The weak points
Adult Pool closes too early
Certified

Dream vacation

, Richmond, BC
2019-07-22
My experience with Royal Decameron was excellent. The hotel was beautiful,the staff amazing, specially Ruth at the bar,Miguel and Humberto at Radizzio restaurant and all the staff that work at the buffet specially Ms Castro who prepared our eggs every morning. The only thing that I will suggest is a little bit of TLC needed for the rooms. Our ocean view room had incredible views, however for the price , should have a mini fridge at least,the sink was not draining properly and air conditioner not cool enough. But we had the best vacation ever . The activities were fun and well organized,the buffed food was delicious and always something new,the restaurants a la carte were excellent.We felt surrounded by family, and will definitely go back and recommend this hotel to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-07-08
We stayed at the Royal Decameron from June 29th to July 6th and had a fantastic time. The check in was very quick and the staff, friendly. We stayed in block 5 ( by the adult pool) which was very quiet. Air conditioning worked great. Room was clean every day. Beach was very nice and super sandy. We enjoyed the food and always found delicious things to eat. The shows were good...some better than others. Overall a fantastic week in paradise. Will be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, very friendly staff, nice location, clean and well kept grounds, nice beach and pool areas.
The weak points
The pools could be a few degrees cooler to be more refreshing, information should be posted on where to obtain the sports equipment.
Certified

Just what we needed, Once again

, Kamloops, BC
2019-05-22
We have been going to the Decameron for 9 years now simply because it is exactly what we are looking for. Clean rooms, good food, great beach, courteous staff. Nothing fancy but just a great place to relax [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Consistent service over 9 nine years. Good food, friendly staff, very clean, nice beach. It is a great spot to relax and enjoy time.
The weak points
Limited internet, but that may not be a bad thing. It is a holiday
Certified

Remarks

, Hinton, AB
2019-05-20
Was good had my kids this time, they had fun , only thing was the breakfest not serving in locations ckised some days , if Bacon was done didn't bring anymore out , but overall excellent . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Burnaby, BC
2019-03-25
The hotel rooms are clean and spacious. The activities team are fabulous. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Holiday

, Waldhof, ON
2019-03-15
This is the first time we have been to Mexico and the hotel and the experience was fantastic. The hotel is very clean and the staff is so friendly and accommodating. We would go back. There's so much to do if you want to or as little as you want. There's entertainment every evening at the resort and also off the resort. There's 6 buildings and every building has its own pool and bar. There are 7 restaurants. There's also a Doctor on site if needed. We would recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is very good. It is only a 30 minute bus ride to the hotel from Puerto Vallarta airport.
Certified

Quality of hotel

, Sechelt , BC
2019-03-08
the only true Mexican hotel left in Mexico.
staff, grounds, service etc, all beyond reproach.
the only downside, if you can call it that, is not being able to pre-book the block of your choice, there are six blocks, all unique [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
only Mexican hotel left
The weak points
no pre- booking of block choice
Certified

Still not bad

, Kelowna, BC
2019-02-07
We have stayed at the Royal Decameron in Bucerias six times now. And this time changes were quite noticeable.
The Tropical restaurant was renovated: new tiles on the floor and (very) bright lights overhead.
The changes in the offering were not good, however: a much smaller salad bar, no butter (only that horrible margarine), and a so-called seafood paella with bits and pieces of crawfish in its shells that nobody could open.
Some of the old staff seems to have gone, not necessarily a bad thing.
And practically all the drinks available at the bar(s) contain no alcohol whatsoever. Which is actually good, nobody was passing out on the lawn as we have witnessed several times in the past.
If you can overlook these deficiencies you can enjoy a good holiday there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, beach, accessibility
The weak points
food, food, food
Certified

Good for one and good for all

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-01-28
5th time since 1998 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Older resort. Well kept. Wonderful staff from the front desk to the gardeners and all in between
The weak points
Not a good selection of Spirits. Need some Flor-De Cana Rum or Appleton's
Certified

Royal decameron bucerius

, Gueloh, ON
2019-01-20
Clean rooms staff very nice !food was horrendous!stew pork everyday .breakfast lunch and dinner always the same alacart was just as bad Brazilian bbq was by far the only good meal I had on the resort!and it was nothing to write home about! Drinks very hard to get really messed up hrs!I'm a cigar smoker and it bothers lotsa people so I enjoy a cigar on the balcony! But because of no mini fridge in the room very difficult to enjoy a drink with the cigar!espresso machine wasn't available to anyone til 10 am !I was up and out of my room at 6 am! The town has a tonne of food options which made it bearable. Would not return or recomend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Town is great and right there
The weak points
Old !crusty old people that are there years and years think they own the place
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022