Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 229 reviews
#3 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (36)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

, Regina, SK
2020-02-21
Totally perfect vacation - from the first day to the last! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional experience - reception was perfect; meals were delicious; rooms were clean and well maintained; staff was exceptional; grounds, pool area, and beach area were well maintained. Just a totally wonderful holiday.
The weak points
If there was any minus, to us it would have to be the lack of balconies for most of the rooms; however, in the scheme of things, we would have to admit that that was a minor inconvience!
Certified

Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-14
We stayed at this hotel for the first time since there renovations and found it to be delightful. It was very clean, had good food, and exceptional staff. Nice beach and pool area, the food was very good with lots of selection . Mini bar stocked daily with soft drinks, beer, and snacks. It is very accessible, only about ten minutes from the airport. One draw back was the charge for internet $12 u.s daily [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly and attentive staff
The weak points
no free wi fii on the premises
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-30
Dear Jimbob, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel for your holidays and for the time you took out of your day to share your experience among us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your visit, thank you for mentioning the aspects that aspects that were to your liking as our beach, pools, the quality and variety of our cuisine, and the attentiveness of our staff. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit at this your home Occidental Nuevo Vallarta. Best Regards, Rodolfo Pacheco Gerente General / General Manager Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Hotel review

, Burnaby, HA
2019-03-28
The hotel was nice and very clean. The hotel was in a great location with a small mall near by. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the 3 different restaurants was excellent. The buffet food was average. I did not like having to pay for WiFi. The charge was $45 US per 2 user for 7 days. A 4 star hotel should provide this service for the guests for free. It would be nice if the hotel provided a free taxi or shuttle service to the adventure companies near the hotel. I enjoyed my time at the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-10-21
Dear Gilbert, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Occidental Nuevo Vallarta hotel as your host for your holidays and for taking the time to share your experience among us. Thank you for mentioning the aspects that were to your liking as the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff, and the quality of our cuisine. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Nelly Sanchez Gerente General / General Manager Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

Royal Level vaut la peine

, Gatineau, QC
2018-05-02
C'était notre 3ième voyage à Puerto/Nuevo Vallarta et nous retournerions à cet Hôtel. La plage est superbe et longue pour y marcher des heures. Le sable a parfois des reflets d'or et était très fin à cet endroit. Les vagues parfaites pour le boogie board.
Les chambres n'ont presque pas de balcons mais les fenêtres ouvrent et la vue est belle partout. Il y a beaucoup de rangement pour le linge, les chambres sont bien insonorisées et bien rénovées.
Nous avons opté pour le ROYAL LEVEL et on a pas été déçus.Celà comprend tous les soupers à la carte, une section de plage privée, avec lits et serveur (Julio et Manuel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ROYAL LEVEL,plage, piscine privée, nourriture, vue de la chambre et du resto Royal Level, propreté, gentillesse du personnel, prés de l'aéroport (15-20 min), meilleur vin mousseux à date!
The weak points
Pas de balcon(mais les fenêtres qui ouvrent compensent), vin au buffets et restos réguliers
Certified

Most of these reviews are outdated

, Vanderhoof, BC
2018-04-10
I've gone through some of the reviews of this resort on this site and they are outdated. Wifi cost but it is good. Rooms are great. Beach is great. Plenty of shade. Front desk attendants are fast, informative, not over the top friendly but get your to your room fast and the services explained well. Servers go out of their way. Bartenders know your drink and have it ready before you sit down. Rooms are clean and updated. I'd go to this resort every year until I die. Love it. Food alone is worth the trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything except cost of wifi
The weak points
Cost of wifi
Certified

Gone down hill

, Brandon, MB
2018-01-26
Lack of staff and the ones at reception could use a lesson on how not to be rude. Food was bad and so repetitive.Food wascold a lot of the time. Rooms not bad but could hear every cough from next door. Beach was dirty dogs running loose doing their thing, cigarette butts everywhere and loungers were filthy and could use an update. Family atmosphere gone to make way for the bigger companies. All about the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Perla who worked in the lounge. Absolute gem. Fernando who delivered drinks on the beach. Great guy.
The weak points
Beach areas, loungers, food, rude staff, paper thin walls, club customers treated better than the rest. No free wi fi. Aggressive beach vendors
Certified

All inclusive 7 days.

, Kingston, ON
2017-03-08
All rooms (except ground floor)are fully enclosed with NO balconies. Beach has NO shade, NO umbrellas, No individual chairs (only chaise lounges). Otherwise, the hotel is barely acceptable, compared to the many others in the area. Wi-Fi is an additional charge per day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, service, cleanliness, and entertainment.
The weak points
Beach and enclosed rooms. Hotel photo of beach in the brochure is taken at an angle which shows the adjoining resort's thatched umbrellas. Deceptive!
Certified

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

, Olds, AB
2016-04-12
Hotel was wonderful! Very clean, organized and always someone there to answer any questions we had. service staff very friendly and showed they cared about our satisfaction. Lots of pool chairs and plenty of room at adult area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We found the restaurant staff were amazing and the service was outstanding, especially Esther & Lupe at the morning buffet and Juan in the evening. The pool side service was also great with Juliett. We found that everything was top notch at this resort.
The weak points
We didn't have one bad experience ..
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Prince George , BC
2016-03-06
Had wonderful time. The staff at this hotel is just excellent, friendly, attentive and went out of their way to look after our every need. Just to mention a few of the many great staff members, there was Eric at the buffet, Julietta delivering drinks at the adult pool, Manuel at the lunch snack area and Eduardo at the lounge bar. Food was wonderful and visiting the two a la cartes is a must. Only complaint is the lack of shade at the beach and pool areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff and food.
The weak points
Lack of shade at pools and beach. Better Wifi
Certified

Occidental Grand Neuvo

, Spruce Grove, AB
2016-02-04
Excellent experience, definitely recommend, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Setting and grounds were excellent, beach was fantastic, food excellent and good variety. Pools clean, chairs always available, staff friendly and very quick to serve
The weak points
Only 2 a la cartes, difficult to access, need to have another one or allow more guests, tables were not full but couldn't get in, Public areas & rooms sprayed with fragrances but for those of us allergic to smells it was a problem, drink quality varied
Certified

Nice place to stay

, Calgary, AB
2015-12-15
This is the second time we have stayed at this resort. The beach is really good, the food is really good and the staff is very good . The rooms are adequate we dont spend that much time inside so they are more than adequate for us. They are nice and clean. Would recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and staff are both excellent
The weak points
my husband didnt like the beer no wifi thru-out the resort just lobby area.
Certified

Simply Amazing

, Peterborough, ON
2015-11-29
This was our fourth time back to this property. Its not a large hotel only 240 rooms I think. What they lack in size they make up for in service. The staff is so friendly and eager to please. The rooms are large and very clean. We tried many different things on the menu and it was all delicious. Absolutely no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, hotel size, food, close to airport, amazing beach
The weak points
not loving the new reception area. They took away the counter and put three desks. No one sure where they are supposed to line up.
Certified

Great hotel, beautiful beach!

, Port Moody, BC
2015-05-11
Occidental Grand is just the right size -- big enough to have good food and facilities, not too huge. The rooms are upgraded, not having a balcony not an issue. Staff were great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, beach.
The weak points
Front desk, poor internet
Certified

Good Value

2015-04-29
With 7 people/3 rooms, this was a nice size/manageable property. Large, clean rooms - no balconies. Smaller buffet than I am used to but always a good variety of food. Friendly, efficient service. Huge beach and it goes on for miles! Small shopping centre across the street with McDonald's and Starbucks should you feel a craving! Very quiet in the evenings with no disco. Nice Gym. Minibar was not stocked on arrival and was only refilled once-managed but wasn't expected. The internet connection was terrible and I probably wouldn't stay again based on that factor alone (some of us still need to work while traveling). Overall a good value and pleasant stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Beach - Excellent Location - Large clean rooms
The weak points
Very quiet - Terrible internet connection - Mini bar not filled daily
Certified

Fantastic holiday

, Brooks, AB
2015-01-13
the staff were exceptionally friendly. the rooms were in excellent shape and no disruptive noises after hours. we enjoyed the beach here as we could go on walks for miles on sandy beaches. the ocean was warm for swimming and had had plenty of beach activities to partake in from wake boarding, surf boarding, beach volleyball, kayaking as well as being able to purchase excursions, para sailing or skydiving plus much more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
exceptional staff. safe/clean environment. close to all amenities. excellent beach.
The weak points
rooms do not have a balcony although windows do open.
Certified

The best place to visit !!

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-23
Simply Amazing !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff!!
The weak points
Pushy sales staff for Club membership.. but again they are doing there job.. so no worries..!!!
Certified

Nice Vacation!!

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-11
We have been there 6 times love this place, but was different this last visit still beautiful great staff but a few changes overall one of our favs!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, friendly staff, great food and location. This was our 6th time to this hotel, lots of changes going on some good some things should just have been left alone!
The weak points
More bartenders and waiters around pool and beach. Other than the shows which once you have gone to mexico a few times you don't need to see theres no bar with music at night, they closed the beach bar at 8pm which is where they used to play music till 1
Certified

Lovely Getaway

, Westerose, AB
2014-11-29
This hotel is top notch. We upgraded to Royal statice and that was for sure nice.
Buffet was really good as were all of the restaurants. There are two pools, one which is adult only. Both were great. The beach was beautiful and that is where we spent much of our time. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Staff are all amazing and very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, great staff, lovely beach.
The weak points
Wifi didn't always work.
Certified

Occidental grand neuvo

2014-11-10
i went for some rest and down time i got what i wanted check in was fast the airport was fast staff was great clean and friendly good resort not really for singles but i went for sun sand surf it was all good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good staff wasnt crowded clean resort good elevator service no line ups for anything nice quiet evenings good beach warm ocean could play in the water a bit pricy really nice resort not for singles
The weak points
had to pay for wi fi in your room food was good but pretty much the same every day not much for a fitness room need to post activity sign some where they were under construction in some areas of the resort ocean water brown color beach vendors
Certified

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-08-30
We spend 7 days at this resort was more than we expected ,food was very good,staff was very polite and they will help you with anything your ask,rooms very clean,very quiet except one night when some people i think they have few to many and they will just talk loud in the hallway ,but that was like for few minutes till they enter the room,hotel is 20 minutes from the airport and town,we couldnt ask for a better hotel all was ammazing,thank you all very much for trying to make our vacation a memorable one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel is very close with airport and town
The weak points
No weak poin,nothing i can think about
Certified

Really good vacation

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2014-06-30
Great value!! Lovely hotel, beach, pools and incredible staff. Food - good, a huge amount of variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, cleanliness
The weak points
Fee for WiFi, no swim up bar
Certified

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Review

2014-06-26
We had an amazing family vacation. Loved the smaller size of this resort. With 6 of us it was always easy to find each other and quick to go back to our rooms if we needed something. The staff are outstanding here. The food was superb for an all inclusive experience. So nice to have the beach and the pool so close. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing. Especially the activities staff!! The food was very good in the buffet and the ala carts..We had no problem getting loungers by pool or ocean. Very nice beach area.
The weak points
I wish the internet was included for free.
Certified

March get-away to Mexico

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-05
we have been to this hotel many times, and are remembered by many staff, who are like old friends. The hotel rooms, grounds, beach, restaurants and food are all terrific, and the staff are friendly and do everything they can to make your stay memorable. We have stayed elsewhere in this area, but now would only go to the OCCIDENtAL GRAND! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, and going out of their way to make guests feel welcome. There was a BBQ on the beach, with dancing performances and fireworks, which was magical
The weak points
We were given a room on the ground floor with a walk-out area. The only one available was the "Handicapped" one. The showere was a little difficult. This is not really a complaint, as they went out of their way to give us a room near our frieds.
Certified

Beyond Expectations!

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-31
Hotel was beautiful, clean and just the right size that you could walk around and see the entire complex very quickly. Nice, intimate change from those resorts where you need to get on a shuttle just to get to the restaurant and have breakfast.

They could have used a few more "umbrellas" or shaded spots but there was always plenty of chairs. The food was good, but my wife is a picky eater so she found the variety not as great as we had seen in other places but I found plenty to eat! The Italian restaurant was FABULOUS!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly and excellent customer service. Rooms were clean.
The weak points
Jack/Jacques "Manager" from the "presentation". Extremely aggressive, rude and disrespectful to staff . Comments were very inappropriate in general.
Certified

Great stay

, Richmond, BC
2014-03-19
Had a great stay at the Occidental, staff, room, food all good. Enjoyed the Managers cocktail meet and greet party, where he introduced fellow management staff, I guess the idea came from cruise ship traditions.
Ask for champagne, they do have it. Would go back in a flash !
Only one bad point they make you pay for Wifi [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, nice staff
The weak points
Make you pay for Wi Fi
Certified

Occidental Grand Nuevo

, Beaumont, AB
2014-03-19
It was a wonderfully relaxing and friendly atmosphere. Small resort, excellent food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly, clean, relaxing and beautiful beach
The weak points
No wifi
Certified

Occidental Grand

, Delta , BC
2014-03-10
Well organized, easy to get around, not too big, excellent service, great food,staff more than willing to help and assist. Excellent service warrants tips and I gave them willingly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Courteous service, excellent food. Everything was handy and close
The weak points
should have more alacarte restaurants
Certified

Great Beach plus Turtles!

, Victoria, BC
2014-03-05
The beach at nuevo vallarta is really excellent. Soft sand, no rocks and miles of it. There isn't any snorkeling but the boogie boarding is fun. There is a turtle preservation organization that does hatchling releases at sunset most nights (in season). The site is about a 10min walk along the beach from the occidental (towards hard rock). The food was good. The hotel was clean and the weather was perfect. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the marina where you can get a starbucks and sunscreen for $10 less than at the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport. Great beach. Lots of shade.
The weak points
Rooms are small, no balconies. The bathroom was in disrepair.
Certified

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

, Pickering, ON
2014-03-01
This hotel is a nice clean hotel with friendly and attentive staff. The room we were assigned was not huge and had no balcony but was clean. Not a great variety of food but plenty of it. We spent our time on the beech but there were lots of activities by the pools. If I were to vacation in Puerto Vallarta I would certainly consider staying at this hotel again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean hotel with very good and friendly staff. Lots of activities, good food and decent entertainment.
The weak points
Only 2 A La Carte restaurants, two bars but they seemed adequate. and 1 buffet. Time share sales pitches.
Certified

Occidental Grand Nuevo

, Victoria, BC
2014-02-17
with the exception of being pressured into joining the Occidental club - additional fees, the hotel was great the food good - good entertainment good options for tours outside the complex absolutely wonderful beach and friendly servers in restaurants [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location most staff wonderful good food very clean good entertainment
The weak points
upon arrival instantly pressured into joining the Occidental club
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Riviera Nayarit's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Families Couples Beaches Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021