Marival Emotions Resorts And Suites

Marival Emotions Resorts And Suites
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 73 reviews
#11 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (27)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Review of our trip

, Regina, SK
2020-02-16
We had a great week at the Marival. The food was great the service was exceptional and the staff was incredible. We would definitely return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food and the beaches.
The weak points
The internet was a little difficult at times but we didn't go to Mexico to use our devices.
Certified

Disappointing

, Rimbey, AB
2019-11-30
Right from check in the experience was very disappointing. First off our room wasn't ready until 6:30 PM (after arriving at the resort at 3 PM). Then once we got to the room our luggage was never delivered, I ended up having to go back to the lobby and get the bags myself and was very rudely confronted by the bell hop for doing so after waiting an additional 3 hrs. The workers at the resort spoke very little English making it difficult the whole way through the trip. The package we purchased at the resort was for the Marival Family Emotions and was supposed to include welcome sand toys for the kids a stocked mini bar for kids and adults, the toy package was never received and the mini bar was never fully stocked and the small amount of pop that was put in was never restocked once emptied. The food was ok , but never changed. The lunch and breakfast options were exactly the same over and over. They were doing tile work on the swim up bar at the family pool each morning before the pool opened, but would not clean up as they worked, a member of our party ended up stepping on old broken tile left in the pool that gave him a long cut in the bottom of his foot that required medical attention. We had a large family suite that included an upstairs section for the parents with a separate bathroom. The plumbing in this room never worked ( toilet would not flush and no hot water) we notified the concierge and nothing was done for the week we were there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room lay out
The weak points
Everything else about the resort
Certified

2 Stars is Generous

, Calgary, AB
2019-05-08
For context to this review, we were a pair of mid-twenty-year-olds celebrating the end of a university semester with what we hoped to be a relaxing vacation. We have also stayed at a wide variety of resorts to compare this experience to. **CAUTION - an hour after I arrived home I became violently ill due to food poisoning from the resort. Others reported getting food poisoning during their stay at the resort, so carefully consider this risk when thinking about staying here.

Location of the resort: PROS - 20 minute drive from the airport, 10 minute drive from the premier company for excursions, felt safe and comfortable CONS - a 30-40 minute drive to downtown, on the side of the bay with rougher water (if you like to go in the ocean)

Check-in experience: PROS - they bring you a drink right away, no line up CONS - they did not provide us with the lock to the safe at first, they also did not provide us with the wifi information until after we asked, minimal information about the resort, the male explaining the resort was sexist as he never looked at me, provided conflicting information about restaurant bookings to what the bookings person said (front staff said book in the morning for that evening while the bookings person said she could book for our entire stay)

Room: PROS - "club" section means the lowest rooms you can get but we were lucky enough to look out directly at the ocean, the beds were relatively comfortable with a topper having been added for comfort, air conditioning worked great, shower produced a nice amount of pressure and never ran out of hot water, a variety of English tv channels, good room darkening curtains CONS - there is a gap under the door to let in bugs, no fan in the bathroom so it gets very steamy, very minimal bathroom supplies provided (shampoo & soap), no robes provided, the safe is just a key lock so it does not feel very safe, the room was very tight feeling, the grout is disgusting and overall cleanliness is lacking, no water bottles/snacks/beer provided in the mini fridge, had to hold the lever to get the toilet to flush, tv so tiny you could easily fit it in your suitcase, plastic patio furniture, the wifi was inconsistent, the tv was glitchy

The resort amenities: PROS - adult only pool (regulated relatively well), botchy ball pits were a unique option, waterpark for kids looked fun, arcade for teens seemed busy all the time, water sport options available (although the ocean is far too rough to use any of them), some of the spa options seem somewhat reasonably priced, the club lobby was very comfy with tvs that you could request various sports to be played, shops allowed for purchasing snacks CONS - no sports bar, no lazy river, no side tables next to loungers to put your belongings on, the loungers do not lay completely flat for sun tanning purposes, the tiling around the pool is not even so it is a tripping hazard, mini golf/shuffle board/tennis courts/a club exist but we did not check them out

Entertainment: PROS - variety of shows (Moana, Michael Jackson, Mexican Show) CONS - primarily lip syncing, dancing is not coordinated, location is obscure, bar is really small

Food/drinks: PROS - La Perola (Mediterranean restaurant) was delicious, La Perola is also a sit down breakfast every day and was amazing (compared to the buffet), fresh crepes made in the evening by the buffet, they have drink menus above the bars to give you ideas for drinks you might like to try (although they are often too heavy on the alcohol and have ice chunks in the blended drinks) CONS - the buffet is pretty small so there is not a lot of selection despite the themed nights, the snack bar gets invaded by aggressive black birds who actually go in to the food in the buffet portion - I believe the snack bar is what led to my food poisoning, the Italian restaurant was good but the service was so slow, in the 8 days we were there we were only allowed to frequent 3 restaurants and due to a lack of communication it is still unclear whether you book the morning of for that evening or if you see the booking person at the beginning of your trip and book all the nights you wish to eat at a restaurant at once

Staff: The staff who stock the mini fridges in the rooms as well as the maids do the absolute bare minimum, even when you leave a tip. There were a handful of servers/bartenders who truly wanted to get to know you and honestly made my day. Namely, Eduardo who serves breakfast at La Perola, Francisco a bartender at the bar next to the snack bar, and a very kind team of ladies who served drinks in the club lobby in the evenings. Most staff noticeably provided better service to people who spoke fluent Spanish as well as better service for men. There were moments at the resort where I thought I did not even exist as a human being because I was ignored while my counterpart was given priority. The staff also walk through the property to get to where they work, so you can be sun tanning and they are carrying table clothes just behind you for dinner - very unprofessional and awkward.

Beach: PROS - wide and long for walking, waves are great for bogie boarding, the beach is clean in terms of algae CONS - lots of locals crowd right next to the resort on the beach due to a public access point, there are wasps that dig holes in the sand and are easy to step on (bring water shoes)

Overall experience: I would never stay at this resort ever again. Period. We never got bombarded by people trying to sell us a time share, but when we asked if we could be taken to the nicer resort a little ways down the beach to see if we would be interested in staying there, they told us they wouldn't take us unless we were able/prepared to potentially buy a time share. As a result, we will actively warn people to stay away from this resort because it will result in you wanting to go home at the end of the trip instead of dreading to leave such a beautiful place. Not to mention there is a high risk you will experience food poisoning from their food. Importantly, there are no elevators on the property so it is not accessible for people with disabilities - had to watch a father carry his daughter down the stairs as the mother carried her other child and the wheel chair down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach; weather; proximity to airport; great air conditioning; adult only pool; La Perola restaurant (breakfast & dinner); fresh made crepes in the evening
The weak points
Food poisoning; limited restaurants; small buffet; rough ocean; sexist staff; dirty room; not accessible for people with disabilities; low quality entertainment
Certified

Vacation for relaxation

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-01-23
I have never stayed at a cleaner or more beautiful resort My first vacation in 40 plus years staff and food is outstanding
I highly recommend this resort perfect [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very very clean resort. The many pools are impeccably clean. Drinking water and food are 10 out of 10 safe
The weak points
I really do not have a negative response to anything at the Marival resort and suites
Certified

Experience at club Marival

, Delta , BC
2018-11-25
Overall it was a great place for a family vacation but too noisy and busy if you didn't have kids .Something for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, lots of chairs around pool and beach. Beds are comfortable. Entertainment was first class. Kids loved the arcade
The weak points
Beds were double not queen. Food was ok. No elevators so lots of stairs. Staff not overly friendly
Certified

Can't wait to go back!

, St. Albert, AB
2018-07-11
My family and I love everything about Marival. The food in the buffet and la a crates were excellent and the service was great. The waiters and bartenders were always very friendly with fast service. The pool and beach areas were beautiful and very clean. The shows at night were excellent and very professional.
My kids (4 and 7) loved going to the Kids Club. The kid's pool was super cool and there were plenty of different activities for them to partake in throughout the resort. The staff at the kids club was also exceptional. Stephany, Adriana and especially Ricardo made my kids feel welcome and safe. My kids enjoyed seeing them every day and they will be truly missed! ❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great experience

, Calgary, AB
2018-04-25
This was our first family vacation to Mexico and this resort was great. Very friendly staff and good food. Will definitely come again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Club Marival resort and suites

, Brampton, ON
2018-04-22
We had a great time at Club Marival! It was the perfect size for us. Pool, food and beach are less than 5 min walk from rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not a huge resort so getting from pool/ beach to snack bars was no problem. Clean rooms. Good variety of food. Italian and Mexican a la carte were great!
The weak points
Drink service at pool bars was kind of slow. Too many little kids hanging around pool bars splashing water everywhere.
Certified

Marival resort

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2017-10-22
When we first got there, we were given over to time share presentations before we were given our wristbands. They outright lied to us about working with our travel rep, and we missed our travel meeting. When they gave us our room, it had 2 single beds in it, and a safe so small my purse wouldn't even fit in it. No fridge, no hair dryer. 3rd floor walk up, no elevators. When we asked for a room where we could at least sleep in the same bed, they charged an additional 200.00 on top of the 3700.00 we had already paid! Not impressed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
2 pools with swim up bars in the family section. Turn down service in the upgraded room. Very friendly staff
The weak points
No bar at the adults only pool. Same food every day, very poor variety. Pricey wifi.
Certified

Club

, Surrey, BC
2017-02-27
the kids club was great as well as the staff. the evening entertainment was awesome. I really enjoyed the beach area as well as the kids pool. the staff were very friendly. the club side where we stayed was rather noisy and now as nice as the newer grand side as far as rooms go. I wish there was an a la carte lunch. I got tired of buffet. Also if you want to get the most out of the hotel you need to be part of the timeshare, also the Residence is gorgeous if you want more luxury and you can still use the facilities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the kids club was great as well as the staff. the evening entertainment was awesome. I really enjoyed the beach area as well as the kids pool. the staff were very friendly.
The weak points
the club side where we stayed was rather noisy and now as nice as the newer grand side as far as rooms go. I wish there was an a la carte lunch. I got tired of buffet. Also if you want to get the most out of the hotel you need to be part of the timeshare.
Certified

First time at an all-inclusive

, Vancouver, BC
2016-12-30
This was not our typical vacation, but we were looking for a quick getaway before Xmas and this worked. We were not expecting the hard sell to buy a timeshare. But once we got passed that we enjoyed our stay.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Kudos to the staff. The bathroom was a little tired and the bed a little hard. I think our biggest problem was the fan, which was noisy. We ended up turning it off at night and opening the patio doors. The view was fantastic!!

Some friends have mentioned that you can't swim at the beaches in Puerto Vallarta. We had no problems here. The waves were big enough to boogie board, but small enough to swim in. The beach was sandy and we had plenty of space and deck chairs. Even saw a few fish while snorkeling. We spent most mornings at the beach.

There are a number of pools to choose from, depending on how much activity and noise you're comfortable with. The gym has the standard selection of equipment. There are bikes to borrow if you want to cycle to the shops. Beach volleyball, tennis and non-motorized water activities are also available. We were planning to kayak and paddleboard, but didn't get around to it. Did take a bike tour of the town, as part of the hotel activities. If you haven't been to the area before, do this before just hopping on a bike. I would not have recognized the bike routes and rules of the road otherwise.

The restaurants that require a reservation are quite good. If possible, make a reservation before departing. This was a quieter time for the resort, so some restaurants were closed on specific days. The buffets were average, with fast food style at the Pizza buffet.

We took an excursion out to Marietas Island for some whale watching and snorkeling. Definitely the highlight of the trip. We saw humpback whales breaching, spy hopping, etc. The snorkeling was good, with plenty of angelfish, parrotfish, eels, etc. Recommended to wear a sunscreen shirt instead of putting on sunscreen as the sunscreen will harm the coral. The boat crew was attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. Not to mention an excellent chef making fresh salsa, guacamole, rice, etc for lunch.

For what we paid, this resort was excellent value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the pools, the variety of things to do, the reservation restaurants.
The weak points
The buffet restaurants are so-so. Definitely make reservations.
Certified

Front desk

, Courtenay, BC
2016-02-11
checking into the hotel was not a great experience. we had requested a ground floor room or one with an elevator close by as i have a heart and lung condition and i should avoid stairs. we were told our room had and i counted from bottom to our floor had 34 stairs and we were not eligable to get a room close to elevator. When we had finally checked in we asked the clerk where our room was and he pointed to the outside door and said left. No porter with our baggage in sight we started to look for our room and an hour and half were still looking for room and our baggage.
we did not know until near the end of our stay that airline only has a specific area and if we wanted an elevator we would have to upgrade at $10 per night.
the front desk people were not of any help to us to try to solve our problem.
as a matter of interest on Mexican night we met a couple from Whistler and they had requested a third floor room and got a ground floor room and when they complained they were immediatly moved to a third floor room with an elevator handy. What is with that?
If these problems can be solved we would certainly go back to this resort as we loved the people ,food,and everything else (except the front desk) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of the staff were beyond friendly ad always happy and smiling. room and food also was great.
The weak points
as i pointed out in my opening paragraph the front desk reception.
Certified

Wonderful week in the sun and surf

2016-01-20
Comfortable room with a great view overlooking large pools and sandy beach. Good choice of on-site a'la carte restaurants, each with extensive menu items, friendly service and presentation eg. fresh guacamole prepared at table at Mexican restaurant. Outside seating at most. Bicycles and cycling tour guides included. Very good, safe bike trails adjacent to resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice room, despite being in part of complex that hasn't yet been renovated. Staff very friendly and efficient, including front desk, restaurant and bar wait staff, and maids. Good selection of complimentary water sports eg. boogey boards, sailboats
The weak points
No elevator. Lots of lounge and beach chairs, but almost all reserved with towels, even though not used for long periods. Loud party well into night one night made sleep difficult
Certified

Amazing experience

2015-12-28
It was our first time going to Puerto Vallarta and we were a little worried cuz we didn't know what to expect but once we arrived at the resort were blown away. Club Marival is definitely for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and everyone whom works there is very friendly.
The weak points
I would say the only week point is the wifi. The wifi comes in and out.
Certified

Marival experience

, Victoria, BC
2015-11-25
Other than having to take two flights of stairs to get to our room (which kept me in shape) our two weeks were enjoyable. There are many nice pools and the staff tried hard to please. I thought the food was very good with lots of choices although my partner was somewhat dissatisfied. Our room was very basic and showed signs of wear and tear...I would say that you get what you paid for and perhaps it would be worth upgrading to a more updated package. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pools, lots of dining areas, good entertainment, they try hard to please.
The weak points
We stayed in the Club Marival which has no elevator...two flights of stairs is no fun...especially for two seniors.
Certified

Club Marival and Suites

, Edmonton, AB
2015-03-15
the room was wonderful, always kept clean and well stocked by cleaners. Very nice beach, one of the best I have seen in Mexico and certainly the safest for children.Food at Casa Bella was repetitious but plentiful, more Canadian than Mexican. The entrance looked like a fine place for younger children. Best meal by far was at Las Palomas!Really like the little Pizzaria--also a fine dining place for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Always friendly, courteous and helpful.
The weak points
Segregation of non "Club Members"! Food was a little boring, was hoping for more Mexican
Certified

Family Vacation!

, Leduc, AB
2014-03-24
We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which is the way to go with a family. We have two kids so the room size is perfect. Our room was in a quiet location which was really nice (RM# 10-103). If you would like a spot on the beach, I would suggest having someone go down early in the morning (6:00 am) and place your towels on the chairs. The a la carte restaurants are great, do not really like La Bamba (steakhouse), steak is really salty there. However, the Italian restaurant is really good! Ask for a Spanish coffee at the Mexican Restaurant - it is quite the show! It is also nice to go to the M&M Lounge for drinks before supper and watch the sunset. The server there is Guadalupe - she is really nice. Have a Chocolate Martini or a Mango Martini, they are both very good, maybe too good! If your flight doesn't leave until later in the day but you need to check out, there are showers at the tennis courts that you can use to clean-up after a day at the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Italian restaurant is fabulous, and the staff are super friendly. The hotel is very clean
The weak points
Too many beach chairs reserved for Platinum or Resident Members that are not used.
Certified

Don't Go Here: Waste of your money & Vacation tim

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-03-01
I have been to this area 5 times and mainly stayed at one of the 3 RIUs. This hotel was by far the worse hotel in the area. The rooms are outdated, unsanitary, and disgusting. The rooms on the first floor are all full of black flies. Sofa, curtains and bed covers are all dirty and seem like they have not been washed in years. We changed rooms 3 rimes. Buffett food was so bad with selection that during every meal someone was complaining. It was all by-products and leftovers from previous days. YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO TAKE FOOD BY THE POOL not EVEN SNACK.
Please don't ruin your vacation and pay a little extra and go somewhere else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff & the Beach
The weak points
Food at Buffet & only 3 ala carte allowance for a week, no food or snack by the pool
Certified

FAMILY VACATION

, Lethbridge, AB
2014-01-30
GOOD ALL AROUND VALUE FOR FAMILIES WITH
YOUNGER CHILDREN. WOULD GO BACK! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
HARD WORKING STAFF, ROOMS THAT ACCOMMODATE FAMILIES OF 5 OR MORE, BEACH
The weak points
OUR ROOM WAS NEAR THE WOOD FIRED PIZZA OVENS, AND IT WAS VERY SMOKEY AT TIMES.
Certified

Family fun at Marival

2013-12-31
We had a fabulous time at Club Marival. We are a family of 4 with kids aged 7 and 4 - the pools and beach were perfect for lots of water time fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and their english was very good
The weak points
would have liked better circulation/posting of daily activities - there where and when
Certified

Awesome resort!

, Vancouver, BC
2012-12-28
My boyfriend and I had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff
The weak points
Book a la carte very early becuase they fill up fast
Certified

Timeshare Crap

, Victoria, BC
2012-05-31
The Club Marival Hotel was fine. What we did not like was the time share pressure at check in. The staff would not let us have our wristbands and room keys until we had agreed to go to a time share presentaion.I have been to this hotel before and many others in Mexico and have never had to put up with this before.Our room was clean and comfy but the location of the room was awful!!!! The room was above the lobby bar and most nights the noise was deafening. The loud singing and whatever else they were doing was almost unbearable.Some nights the noise went until 2:30 in the morning.For those two reasons I will never return to that hotel.
The food and bars were excellent. All of the staff were awesome. The hotel was very well taken care of,but I still won't go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is clean. Food is good.Beach is nice. Staff was great
The weak points
Location of room #102.Timeshare pressure at check in!!!!!!
Certified

Marival

, Calgary, AB
2012-04-25
The room we got was right above the noisiest bar at the resort so we ended up paying to upgrade to the Grand. There was no beer in the fridge and we were told they haven't supplied it for three years, we were there 1 1/2 years ago and there was beer in the fridge. We ordered Corona from room service (extra charge) and got a beer we had never heard of, they only have Corona on tap!! Why didn't they tell us this when we ordered! But all in all we had a great time and would definately go back to the Marival, although we'd make sure it was the Grand side. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and animision crew are the strongest points. The cleanliness of the hotel was very good.
The weak points
No beer in the fridges!First trip there was.Had to pay for beer and didn't get the kind we ordered!
Certified

A great trip.

, Glen Ewen, SK
2012-04-23
This was my third stay there it was great!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pizza is the best.
The weak points
The cost of the internet was very costly.
Certified

Marvelous Marival

, West Kelowna, BC
2012-03-06
5th stay at this resort and have enjoyed another vacation there. So many familiar friendly staff that make it such a great place to stay. Service was exceptional, resort is kept so clean and fresh and the beach is always the same....fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food selection at restaurants, cleanliness, size and layout of resort.
The weak points
Poor internet and wifi service. Rip off pricing. Entertainment shows a little weak, room for improvement.
Certified

Marival resort comments

, Rosemere, QC
2012-03-04
2nd time at this resort hotel and only good things to say about it, great friendly staff, excellent food and facilities [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great service , nice staff
The weak points
wifii service should be provided with package
Certified

Recent Encounter

, Armstrong, BC
2012-03-01
Had a lovely time with friends at the Marival Club & Suites. Had to pay extra to upgrade to newer part of hotel (Grand side)$10 USD per person in the room per night. There were 3 of us. Upgraded only based on recommendations on traveladvisor. Not sure if it was worth it as we didn't get to see where they had us originally booked us into. We had a late arrival. Tipping is not expected but greatly appreciated by the staff. A walk around the resort with a guide other than a timeshare shark would have been nice even if it was at an added nominal cost. Towels on chairs is a problem. Watched one day where no one came to their chair for nearly 5 hours. Common practice. People go on a morning adventure and want a pool side deck chair when they get back. Maybe chairs could be assigned to the guest like the towels are with a card. Would need more deck chairs. Food was typically good at most of the venues accept for the Sirloin steak, it was overly chewy. Smiles by most of the staff is the norm. Alcohol seemed watered down but that wasn't a bad thing. Morning walks on the beach were fantastic as well as the sunsets. Better communication of daily events could have been better. Didn't know there was a 5:00 p.m. tea until the last day we were there. Was expecting more pressure from timeshare people but that wasn't the case here, if you weren't interested they didn't make you feel bad about it. Our Transat rep did a good presentation but as I had mentioned, a optional tour would have been appreciated. Cab to Puerto Vallarta was only about 20 minutes $20 flat rate one way. There is a municipal bus for $1 but wee didn't try it. Best part of our stay was the day tour on the sail boat. About 35 people go out to the island, whale watch, snorkle, light lunch ad all you can drink. 8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Make sure you take sunscreen. Need to make bookings for the special restaurants. The Italian was the best. Pizza bar was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, mostly Canadian tourists, entertainment crew worked hard. On site disco/dance club was nice but needs to be non-smoking. Plenty to do if that's what you are looking for. Kids section.
The weak points
Lack of deck chairs, kids in hot tub, not enough ice cream, mini fridge not stocked with water & pop, actually unplugged when we got there. Could use a TV upgrade with more English channels. Internet is expensive with bad reception zones.
Certified

Marival Club is like coming home!

, Prince George , BC
2012-02-24
The hotel is wonderful, very clean and well kept. Beach is great! Really happening!! Lots of activity. I love the atmosphere at the resort. Feels like a happy, friendly community. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent, friendly, happy, long-term employees. I love it there!
The weak points
Bathroom mirrors showing age due to humidity and could be replaced.
Certified

A good time was had by all!

, Calgary, AB
2012-02-21
This was only othe second all-inclusive our family has done,(first time in Mexico) and we really enjoyed it. The pools were lovely,the staff attentive and friendly, the restaurants were great. I did not enjoy the buffet, but learned what to eat,as the week went on.The key for the buffet is to only eat what is freshly prepared.My 13 year old daughter was not considered an adult when booking and that was a great cost saver. This is not the case with all all-inclusives. Went on the city tour, won't do it again as had little time to shop, and went to a silver shop that was too overpriced, with limited selection. Got some earrings at less that 1/2 original price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely people,clean rooms, beautiful grounds, nice pools, beautiful sunsets
The weak points
Didn't expect the timeshare sales pitch, and was too tired to form a defense!Buffet food.No queen sized beds.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation at Marival Clubs & Suites

, Yellowhead County, AB
2012-02-16
Thoroughly enjoyed out vacation at Marival Clubs & Suites January 2012. The best ever! Loved the Outdoor Adventure and Sunset Sail Excursions!! Food was great and they even catered to Celiacs... my sister and I being Celiac. One discouragement: The staff that were selling "Time Share" opportunities for Marival Residences made us believe that their orientation was actually the orientation you get for information about your resort and activities available, because of this we missed our actual Resort orientation, not a good way to start our vacation, but we figured things out along the way. We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary, and our room was a little disappointing in that we had two double beds instead of one queen or king and front desk couldn't help us unless we paid more, but having a view of the ocean made up for it. We pushed our beds together. Waves were too big for swimming, but that's nature, but beach was beautiful for long walks and suntanning. My husband and I were rescuing newly hatched baby turtles by helping them out past the heavy breakers. Saw a beautiful wedding on the beach in the Sunset. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the food, A la Cartes, excursions, ocean view,
The weak points
The two double beds, Marival "Time Share" representatives,
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021