Riu Vallarta

Riu Vallarta
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 475 reviews
#2 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (72)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Riu Vallarta

, Regina, SK
2020-03-03
Resort was good, clean, staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed Abad one of the bartenders at resort his friendly attitude and nice guy. Recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, all staff were very good and friendly
The weak points
The only thing the buffet could maybe change up menu a bit more from day to day
Certified

Large and impersonal

, Regina, SK
2020-02-11
This is the noisiest hotel! All the surfaces are hard and sound bounces around. It is impossible to have a conversation in the public areas including restaurants because of this, and if your room faces the pool and theatre area, you will have to tolerate loud music every night until 11pm or later.
Drinks here are not very good - the wine and the coffee are mostly undrinkable. If you want a Caesar, make sure you specify to the bartender to make it with clamato juice, or else they will use V8.
The hotel has rules, and they will not bend them. Check in is at 3pm, no earlier, and if you want to switch rooms due to the aforementioned noise issue, you will have to check out of your room by 11 am, then wait until 3 pm to check into your new room.
Dinner in the specialty restaurants is at two seatings: 6:30 and 8:00. They will not seat you in between those times, even if the place is half empty. They will not take reservations, even for large groups.
Entertainment is not very good - there is a large indoor/outdoor theatre, but the sound is terribly distorted.
It is difficult to feel like a valued guest at this hotel - I would recommend a smaller place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is newly renovated, and the rooms and public spaces are quite nice. The pool and beach areas are very nice. The food is quite good, but tiresomely repetitive. It is the same food every single day.
The weak points
Three flights of stairs between the hotel lobby and the pools/restaurants. There is an elevator but it is far out of the way and hard to find. Constant noise everywhere. No exhaust system for the outdoor grill, so the pool area is smoky.
Certified

PeterPanaro & Luigi Micelli

, Woodbridge, ON
2020-02-09
Our stay at Riu Vallarta started from Jan.24/2020 - Feb.07/2020 The basic overall stay at the Riu Vallarta for us was a 5 out of 10.We give such a low mark for the fact that basically the cleaning of the room was good the first 3 days but then we were told that you need to tip the ladies everyday & u will get better service.The quality of the buffet was always the same morning,afternoon & night.Very salty food,badicallly we were having breakfast,I was eating cereal everyday & my friend Luigi was eating French Toast everyday.The variety of fruit was good & always fresh which was great.I had fish a few times & that as good as well but we ate at the steak house one night & it was good & then 2 nights later the steaks were cold.The Japanese food was the same thing,we ate there one night & the food was good but then the next time we went there,the pork ribs were cold & not cooked week enough,most of the buffet was cold & we left after 5 min.the waitress was astonished we were leaving.We didn't bother eating at the Italian restaurant cuz I'm from Italian parents & basically we went in & looked at the very small menu & decided not to even eat there.Every1 we asked said it was not good at all.Basically,we felt the hotel is for an older demographic or married couple with kids but it's definitely not for single people.Although the pool areas,beach area is very nice & always clean.The activities are good during the day & at night some of the music acts were very good.Once again though the bar closes at 12 pm & then we were basically stuck going to the sports bar which was small & then it would get so lowed with people being heavily intoxicated & you 2 bar pool tables that are off balance,pool cues with no tips on them & it took 2 days to get chalk for your pool cue.Overall cleanliness was 8 out of 10 which was good.Also when renting a vehicle we feel that the people renting the cars should explain some of the rules of how to drive in Puerta Vallarta,for example : how can a person from Canada or USA know that a left turn is made from the right side curb lane once u have a green arrow.In Canada we make a left turn from the left lane.Also,the beach area is nice but once u start walking on the beach all the guys that sell cigars are really drug dealers because they will ask you if u want marijuana,cocaine or methamphatamine/crystal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness,pool area,very helpful front desk in main lobby area.
The weak points
The food,no night activities for single people.older crowd or married people with kids.It should be billed as such type of hotel
Certified

Vacation at Rui Vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-31
Very enjoyable stay. The rooms were recently renovated and in very good condition. The resort is clean and well kept with very Friendly staff. The beach is beautiful soft sand and the ocean is also nice soft sand. Lots of beach lounge chairs. Very good selection of food in the buffett area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful beach, clean facility, friendly staff
The weak points
Cleaning staff should have replaced the coffee, water and pop that we used. The small lunch buffet by the beach had poor quality food. The elevators did not work most of the time.
Certified

Very enjoyable

, Red Deer, AB
2020-01-21
All was well except access to the lower unit was limited for mobility people to only one elevator and a long way from our room. Stairs were not possible for limited mobility [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Elevator access for south tower to restaurants
Certified

Fantastic time

, White City, SK
2020-01-12
Holiday was wonderful.Hotel goodThey met our expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

May 2019

, Surrey, AB
2019-05-26
This is our 2nd time to Puerto Vallarta and 1st time at this resort.
We liked the choice of being able to eat where we wanted without reservations but after trying all 3 specialty restaurants, only went back to the French. Beds were not comfortable and heard many people complaining about them. There are no designated non smoking areas outside which left it unpleasant at times. We would probably not go back to this resort again in Puerto Vallarta due to the beds and smoking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were good. Pools and beach were nice.
The weak points
Bed was terrible to sleep on. We got a foamy but it only made the bed tolerable not good. Shortage of bathrooms outside by the pools. No designated non smoking outside which made it uncomfortable around the pools.
Certified

Love it

, Fort Vermilion, AB
2019-05-12
I couldn't believe the price and we Love everything about our stay, people are friendly, food was great , the shows were awesome and love the pools and ocean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Food fantastic, lots of variety

, St Zotique, QC
2019-04-12
Love rui hotels (our 4th one) food is delicious, rooms are nice, staff work very hard to provide best service with a smile. Great choice of shrimps [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Because of the quality of food, will continue enjoying rui hotels, Maria (sports bar) is fast & efficient and very happy to see her customers daily, also David (dining room) is a great waiter and quick to serve us.
The weak points
Bathrooms need renovations but clean, extra staff needed in dining room during spring break, coffee in dining room is TERRIBLE
Certified

Great experience

, Saanichton, BC
2019-03-25
Great resort. Staff very friendly and hard worker. We really like our waiter Gustavo from the main restaurant, he was very attentive.

Just FYI only drink bottle water cause all of us got stomach upset but not sure if it's from the water from the restaurant or food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Views. And staff very friendly and hard worker. Wifi has a strong signal.
The weak points
We all got stomach upset. If someone approach for professional photo by the beach don't go for it. The prints did not have good quality and I paid $20 US for 1.
Certified

Riu Vallarta

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-06
We stayed in a junior suite on the 3rd floor with an ocean and plaza view. Overall the experience was good. The hotel has a refurbishment scheduled for August and it it really is needed. The pool and rooms are really showing signs of wear and tear. The staff and service was excellent, especially the bar staff at every bar you go to. The food was okay...the buffet was a little disapointing but the a la cartes (Flamingo Steakhouse and Sir George's) were pretty decent. Pool and beach chairs are reserved by people starting at 6am and are full by 8am...I think this is ridiculous. As well, the theatre and plaza seating fill up really quickly at night so unless you eat really early or really late, you miss the entertainment and shows. The only food available after 10:30 is in the sports bar and it was disgusting. Cold chips with cold cheese and leftover hotdogs and hamburgers....yuck. I liked the layout of the resort, really good for people watching and very central. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and service Cleanliness Room view
The weak points
Pool tiles are falling off everywhere Rooms are really in need of refurbishment (tubs are stained and couches are covered in mildew) Rooms overlooking plaza can be a bit loud Beds are hard, pillows lumpy, sheets pilled and stained
Certified

Great Stay at Riu Vallarta

, Glencoe, ON
2019-02-22
My husband and I and another couple stayed at Riu Vallarta from Feb 4 -18. We had a great vacation. The room was clean, bed was firm and had no problem with hot water or water pressure in shower. Resort was very clean, they were always cleaning and trimming bushes.

Food was excellent at buffet and steakhouse restaurants.

To get a chair in shade by the pool had to be down to save a chair by 7 - 7:30. No palapas on beach just palm trees, so not alot of shade on beach.

Wait staff and bartenders were excellent.

We would definitely be back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff. Clean resort.
Certified

2 week Winter Break

, Aldergrove, BC
2019-02-04
We had a great time at the riu Vallarta. The hotel is lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful and the beach was absolutely beautiful. After two weeks the food was a little repetitive but always abundant and fresh and good. This shows were interesting, some a lot better than others. Really enjoyed the Michael Jackson show, And the fiesta night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The view, the room was spacious and great staff everywhere. The pool iguanas were cool
The weak points
A little noisy due to large groups. A few yahoos. If you don't like cats and birds stay away from out side dining.
Certified

Great place very accommodating gorgeous senery

, Saskatoon, HA
2019-01-22
They treated like King and Queen we found our bed hard so we asked for a sponge not only did they give us one they kept phoning to make sure we were satisfied
I also was surprised with a bottle for my Birthday on January 17th [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
So much beauty also the waves were huge
The weak points
No complaints at all
Certified

Terrible, Terrible, Terrible

, Hull, QC
2019-01-15
I think it would be faster to enumerate the positive things! Look at the strong point section.

Never again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cold beer, nice beach.
The weak points
Everything else you could think of.

Riu Vallarta

, White City, SK
2018-12-14
Was A excellent place too stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time to this Riu property

, Devon, AB
2018-12-10
Been to PV numerous times, to Riu Jalisco 3 times and decided on the Riu Vallarta based on a walk through last spring. Great beach area, decent proximity to bars and restaurant. Good buffet offering (2 available) with wide variety of meats, great fruit and vegetable choices, a deli section with freshly made sandwiches as well as very accommodating pasta station. Very broad offering at breakfast as well.
Ample selection of services n site (tour company reps) to book tours or activities. We would go back again for sure.

Check in was fairly quick and easy, same with check out considering the number of people being handled at the time. Rooms was very spacious, nice layout. Wi-fi coverage decent ion room and throughout the property.....be aware only 2 devices per room ID can use the access at one time.
Hotel has only a single a la carte, a heads-up that it requires men to wear long pants...good food and service. Approximately 5 minute walk on beach to Bucerius, or can cut to the street just past the public each area and walk into town into the back end of the marketplace. Cabs from the hotel to Bucerius are 105 Peso for 3 passengers.
Rooms: 4th floor and higher will view over the tree tops. We were on 2000 series rooms, end suites with great view of ocean / pools. Recommend to book these rooms ending 17 thru 20. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, nice rooms...consider end room for the view of the ocean or across the pools / courtyard. Beds may be hard, consider to order in toppers from the front desk....might make a difference.
Certified

Nice beach, friendly staff but food quality lacks.

, Richmond, BC
2018-11-27
Our second visit to this hotel, first one was same time last year. Hotel is getting a bit tired but is going to close down and update next year. Beautiful setting in quiet area, out of town with nice beach with palm trees for shade.
Room was decent but beds very hard. We found the quality of food not great and many people had stomach aliments including us.The buffet outdoor seating area is poor, wasps and birds all over while you are eating and the smoking area is just next to it so one ends up hopping tables to get away from the smoke.
We had an embarrassing incident with being given the wrong room key and the situation was handled poorly by staff.
Room internet access a problem if there are 2 of you. Only 2 devices per room so if you each has a phone and a another device you can only use one of them.
Overall I think we will choose a different resort next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, nice beach.
The weak points
Food and a lack of a variety of specialty restaurants.A number of people were sick from food and/ or water including us.
Certified

Money worth and don't high on expectation

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-07
Hotel has lots of local Mexican family with children. They were kind and polite. The hotel has 3 la carte - the best was the Italian restaurant (Sir George), Flamingo was okay and worst on the beef steak (Can't chew in), the other was the buffet sushi, curry food and Chinese food which was horrible.
I don't understand the hotel lobby didn't have public washroom and only two locations have public washroom which some of the man stand-up area was not working. This hotel was old and has a lot of places need to repair. The buffet lounge was okay with lots of variety but repeat almost every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The services was good.
The weak points
Evening show was okay and not impressed. Most of the daytime program was cancelled and quite boring.
Certified

Riu Vallarta

, Langley, BC
2018-10-16
Nice room good food good entertainment and awesome staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome staff
The weak points
None
Certified

Riu Valarta

, Burnaby, BC
2018-10-01
Had a great time Room not made up 1 night
Fridge not refilled with pop or bottled water Small
Very friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
steak house & Buffet very good
The weak points
none
Certified

Mexican get away!

, Pitt Meadows, BC
2018-04-16
Amazing hotel. No complaints. Beautiful all around! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice resort

, Richmond Hill, ON
2018-03-19
Overall we enjoyed our vacation.

This hotel and the two sister hotels near by were all located on a long white sandy beach. For people who enjoy taking long walks on the beach this was a great location. The sister hotels are also very nice, we enjoyed drinks at both places without any problems with just showing our band from our hotel.

We have previously stayed at Mazatlan Riu hotel which we liked more strictly because all the rooms were facing the ocean, while in this hotel some rooms had ocean view but it is partially blocked by other buildings.

Hotel and rooms are very clean and well maintained. We did not see 1 single bug inside or outside through out our 1 week stay.

Staff is great, friendly and helpful.

Food in the buffet restaurant is as expected. Selection is good, most of the dishes are prepared reasonably well. Many salads , fruits and dessert in addition to meat, fish and pasta choices. You can definitely find every day something you will enjoy to eat. Our only disappointment was the "steak restaurant" the steaks were awful. We did stay and tried to eat the steak but could not , the couples at the two tables next to us just got up and left. Not sure if it was just a bad night but I would definitely not recommend it.

Entertainment is better than in most vacation resorts. They also added sampling of different drinks each night - my favorite were the chocolate martinis.

Beach was beautiful, white sand. Water was bit of a disappointment as it had lot of sediments so it appeared dirty (it was not dirty if just had that appearance). If you do not enjoy swimming in the ocean the pools were large and the water was pleasantly warm.

We did use the local transit to get to town, it was easy to use and inexpensive (18 pesos which is about $1.50 Can). The city boardwalk and churches are a must see. To rest you can grab a beer or margarita in one of the many see side restaurants. Happy hour starts at noon or 1 pm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel and rooms. No bugs. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful long white sandy beach.
The weak points
Some rooms had partially blocked view of the ocean. Ocean water appeared dirty because of sediments. Steak restaurant was bad.
Certified

Beautiful Location

, Saskatoon, SK
2018-02-28
We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel although it appears due for an upgrade however we heard that was planned for 2018. Saying that there is still nothing wrong with the hotel. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is meticulous about keeping everything clean. The two sit down restaurants - beach steak restaurant and gourmet restaurants are superb! Food cooked exactly as you ask and extremely tasty. Staff in restaurants awesome and very professional. Wish the Asian restaurant was also sit down as the food and atmosphere just not that great. The buffet restaurant was great..wide variety of ethnic and other foods to choose from. A great fit for everyone even the pickiest eaters. Access to beach easy and the beach is wonderful and you can walk forever. Safe hotel and beach area for tourists!! Would definitely return. No WIFI in rooms just lobby. There is entertainment nightly we just did not go. Nor did we do activities at pool as very crowded. Issue would be not getting a beach chair on the beach or anywhere else unless you put towel on chair BEFORE you went for breakfast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEACH!!! staff restaurants cleanliness
The weak points
no chairs available near pool or on beach unless "reserved" in AM before breakfast Noisy at night due to excessive alcohol from a few guests and entertainment right below guest rooms.
Certified

Sunwing

, Woodbridge, ON
2018-02-16
Clean, very friendly will definitely go back next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice vacation

, Smiths Falls, ON
2018-02-14
We were able to stay for a week at this hotel.
The room was very nice. We were on the 7th floor facing the ocean. Jeni our housekeeper kept to room very clean and always left a decoration on the bed.
Our only problem was that I got stung on the foot by a stingray my fist time in the ocean.Boy did it hurt!!! I was able to get to the beach and my husband helped me to a chair in-front of the lobby. Carlos was a very helpful lifeguard who told us right away that it was a stingray bit. He had a wheelchair and go me to our room and called Erizbeth from Public relations, who called the doctor. The doctor was at a medical station at the next hotel over, Riu Jaliso. She was really good to freeze the foot and take away the pain. Antibiotics and pain meds were supplied. That was the end of water fun for the remainder of my stay.
Fabian, at the front desk was very helpful getting us in touch with our Medical insurance company, when the given phone number didn't work.
We thank everyone for their help and hope to return again.
Food was good. No problem getting chair at pool or ocean( sometimes you had to look and move them).
If we go again we will take and wear our beach shoes and shuffle in the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice room, good food, good service.
The weak points
No warning about stingrays!!

A very pleasant vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-04
most evening shows mediocre, but circus show was excellent, bull riding was entertaining, all staff were excellent -friendly and helpful,nice lobby, hotel is older, but well kept and clean, check in and out was great. Limìted lounges around the pool, but lots on the beach - lots of shaded areas available at both the pool and beach.
A lot of Canadians- probably 50%, 30%from UK, 20% Americans
About 400 pesos and 30 min to PV. At no time did we feel unsafe, even walking around the town.
Whales and dolphins in the Bay
I would say St George's French Gourmet was the best food on the resort, buffet was always good, and well stocked (some of the food was not very hot on the buffets)
Asian specialty restaurant was really good, but never very busy - this was the only place we saw chicken wings.
Did have my favourite coconut ice cream a few times.
We went with a couple who had been there before - and agree we would return again some day. There was not an extensive amount of walking.
It was a good vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people ,nice pools , food was really good
The weak points
Line ups for women's washroom
Certified

Excellent fabulous holiday

, Port Moody, BC
2018-01-21
Highly recommend .. Beautiful hotel and grounds ... staff wonderful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness , staff , gardens , entertainment
The weak points
If anything ,,, one extra restaurant would be nice
Certified

The good and the bad

, Ottawa, ON
2018-01-06
A once in a lifetime trip with our extended family of 11 ages 7 to 81 was a memorable occasion and for the most part successful. However, as the matriarch, planner and payee contributor of our trip I feel the weak points worth mentioning to help others; disappointing and not acceptable to be told both dining sittings were booked after standing in line for 20 minutes. Only 4 choices for dining and no guarantees except for the buffets which became mundane: sunbathing loungers always picked over and reserved with towels early mornings so not easily available. The most disappointing experience was to discover a strong musty mouldy smell in our suite!! I complained and after 2 efforts, cleaning the drapes and replacing fabrics helped; unfortunately I found out later most of my family experienced the mould and some were stuffed up with allergy like symptoms. Overall I found the bedding, linens, decor dated but clean and staff exceptional, friendly, courteous. The entertainment very enjoyable, pools, ocean beach and weather made our trip. The overflow of fancy tasty drinks always available was appealing to our young adults and abundance of food anytime although repititious was appreciated. We were surprised that wifi was only available in main areas but more access could be purchased for rooms and other areas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Riu Vallarta

, Langley, BC
2018-01-05
Myself and 2 daughters stayed at the RIU for a week. It was a great choice, rooms clean, hallways, elevators and rest of hotel very clean. We had a balcony with partial ocean view which was perfect, 7th floor, safe in room was large, AC working great, stocked bar (free booze), 4 large bottles of water a day, coffee, toiletries etc comp. Our bed was pretty hard so we asked for padding and it was put on immediately. One day our key didn't work and it was immediately fixed by maintenance staff. These people are right on top of everything and were very respectful and so helpful. Food: buffet was preferable for all meals, we did Sir George one night but actually walked out after one bite of steak, and the appie was ONE ravioli in a weird sauce, not happy with the food in that one. Did the sushi restaurant, it was meh okay. We loved the huge buffet, a ton of choices, breakfasts were superb, always great meat choices at dinner, tons of fresh produce and fruit. Capuchino and lattes ( Baileys) excellent at Sports bar. Service overall was EXCELLENT, we ALWAYS TIPPED, don't be cheap, 50 pesos per meal. Spent $100 Cdn in the week on tips. These people work 11 hour shifts 6days a week, they deserve it! We wanted them to know Canadians care and appreciate their excellent service.
There was one guy that really stood out that was Arie, he was amazing, so entertaining every day and entertainer at night. There were bands, singers, enterainers multiple shows during every night, kids entertainment, karaoke, fire shows, magic shows, Circ de Sol type shows, amazing multiple shows. Most staff spoke really good English. Did one excursion snorkeling which was amazing. Went to Flea Market on west end of beach, lots of stuff, it was great. Did the Boardwalk. Taxi's were called immediately from the hotel for anything and the RIU staff let us know how much to pay for each trip. The beaches in front of RIU are super clean, tons of chairs, fresh towel service daily, clean pools, yummy drinks, trees, sun, paragliding, jet skis, vendors, it's got it all! We loved it there and 100% would go back there again or do another RIU hotel anywhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Riviera Nayarit's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Families Couples Beaches Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021