Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta
3.683.683.683.683.68
3.68 based on 38 reviews
#14 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great Resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-03-04
We were completely satisfied and very pleased with this resort. The grounds, pools and beach were pristine and beautiful. The food at the buffet & a la carte's were some of the best we've experienced at a resort. The pool side snack buffets had both hot and cold finger type foods which was great to snack on during the day. Another real treat was the deli and coffee shop (Coco Cafe) which had great lattes and cappuccinos and again the staff was excellent. The Sky Bar was a great place to view some beautiful sunsets. All of the resort staff were very professional and quick to respond to any requests. We always enjoy our walks into Bucerias, and this resort is very close so only takes 20 - 30 minutes. We would definitely return to to the Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was very good. The staff whether front desk, concierge, maintenance, housekeeping and restaurant and bar servers were excellent.
The weak points
5 out of the 7 days a large portion of the beach was blocked off for private events (ie: weddings, conferences). Hard then to find loungers around the pools, especially when people reserve chairs and hardly use them. There are rules but not enforced.
Certified

GREAT HOLIDAY

, West Vancouver, NL
2020-03-01
This hotel is very nice in general. We enjoyed the new building on the 6th floor (out of 10 floors). They first tried to put us in the old building in a very dark room with no view - despite our having paid for an upgraded room. Locks on front door and balcony were both broken, chairs on balcony had no seats and there was sand on the floor. However, once ensconced in the new building we were happy but to save the extra $1000 cost we had to participate in a time share sales session which was not fun. At an extra $1100 one could probably have stayed at Dreams or Secrets. Having said all this, this hotel is very nice. The three pools are great (huge infinity pool looking onto the beach and the beach is comfortable (lots of beds but could use more palapas). Our only criticism of the beach is the hotel does not rope off the swim area from boats so seados were sometimes coming into the swim area going fast with thoughtless drivers - eventually someone is going to get hurt. The food was very good (perhaps the best food we have ever had in our 10 or so stays in all inclusive spots to Mexico) and one does not have to make reservations for dinner in the four specialized restaurants - wonderful! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room in the new building was a good size, was clean and well maintained. The evening entertainment is good, but it is on a very small stage with poor seating (difficult to see). We felt sorry for the entertainers but they did their best with what they had. Overall, we were very pleased with this 12 day stay and would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Customer Service Second to None

, Red Deer, AB
2020-02-24
Our two week stay at Reflect Krystal was excellent. The staff- Alesia- front desk, Alberto and Fabiosa- pool bar servers, Carlos, Erick and Arturo- bartenders, Abraham and Joaquin- entertainment team, Fernanda, Alexandro, Victor and Ramon- buffet servers and Martin- Tapanaka chef- just to name a few outstanding ones- all went above and beyond. Their customer service skills are second to none and definitely made our experience excellent.
The food at the buffet was good to great depending on time of day. The a la carte restaurants were all very good. I would definitely recommend The Grill and the cooking experience at the Japanese restaurant. Risotto was OK but service was bad the night we were there. Mordero was also very good.
Entertainment team did good job of offering a wide variety of things to do. Only comment would be is don't have kids as part of adult shows so shows start on time and those who don't want to watch kids can enjoy show as planned.
The pools were excellent especially the heated adult pool. Staff need to enforce chair reservation policies as timeshare people save chairs but don't show up until noon or later to use- remove unattended stuff after an hour because there aren't enough chairs.
Hotel itself was good and staff were very eager to help with any issues. Beds and pillows were comfortable.
Although website mentioned sports bar it was under renovation while we there so website should have been updated.
Skybar offers some great views and is a quiet place for an evening drink.
Hotel location is great for walk into Bucerias either on sidewalk path or along beach.
Was able to see some whales and dolphins from room, beach and buffet location! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most outstanding thing about this resort is the staff and the excellent food at the a la carte restaurants. Also great was smaller size of resort made it easy for anyone with mobility issues to access everything.
The weak points
Some issues with hot water in showers however it was intermittent. Also enforcement of pool chair reservation is not done. Limited bar access in evenings- would be nice to have pool bar open later.
Certified

Great value

, Sudbury, ON
2020-01-31
For the price we payed it was really good. Clean rooms good food and polite staff. Would stay here again although if they didn't have so many events at the resort for companies it would have made my experience better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel was clean and the food was great. Staff was helpful and bartenders were pretty quick.
The weak points
Shower was cold and the events held took away from the amenities such as the infinity pool area and seating (by the pool or at the restaurants). Stop having so many events, there was two events within a one week stay
Certified

So so resort 3 star

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-12-08
On the positive side the pool and grounds were beautiful; staff generally friendly . They had limited activities inc yoga , pool exercise class . However they definitely need more umbrellas. Biggest issue was food ! Buffet was ok; poolside snacks were terrible . Not once in our 7 day trip could I get salsa, guacamole and chips which are usually staples. You also never knew what restaurants were going to be open . Finally they started bringing the daily sheet to our room and we realized that their one restaurant rotates it's menu: Grill , Italian, Mexican nights. Sadly the Asian restaurant which looked like it had good menu never opened . So food choices quite limited which was biggest issue . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool areas Friendly staff Updated rooms in building 4
The weak points
Very limited food choices Limited restaurant hours and limited menus with just 3 or 4 items No sports bar as advertised Entertainment was pretty low budget ( but they were trying )
Certified

Disappointing Vacation-Krystal Resort, PV, Mexico

, Castlegar, BC
2019-06-18
Disappointing Vacation-Krystal Resort, PV, Mexico

My spouse and I booked a two-week vacation to this resort.
I upgraded our booking to a deluxe ocean view and looked forward to a two-week all-inclusive vacation at the Krystal Resort, PV.
Upon arrival, we were sent to the new tower. After spending a sleepless first night (continuous noise from adjoining paper-thin walled rooms and hallway), cold water in shower, no furniture on balcony, no coffee pot, no dressers, etc...I contacted a West Jet team member. After consultation, the next day I was offered, by a front desk staff person, a room in the old building and as it was the only option given, I accepted it. Old, mouldy, cracked bathroom fixtures, disintegrating balcony railings, main door broken handles, etc. This was not at all what I expected!
The two buffets and two reservation-only restaurants offered sub-par food. The outdoor buffet had birds flying and landing in the food every day. Mystery meats and seafoods, no bacon...servers piled dirty dishes throughout the restaurants.
Several days after arrival, I woke up with a fever, sore throat and swollen glands. I went to the Krystal front desk for assistance in obtaining medical care. As I waited in line for ten or more minutes, I became increasingly ill and moved to the front, asking for help. A staff person told me to wait and when I asked again, she phoned a nearby clinic. She handed me the phone and the nurse only spoke Spanish (which I do not). Finally, a doctor's visit to my room was arranged. After receiving excellent care and medication, I recovered within a few days. At no time did the Krystal staff contact me to ensure that I was recovering or whether I needed anything.
My spouse and I spent most of our time on the beach and at the pools. The independent vendors that sell their fares on the beach constantly interrupted beach-goers.
Theme nights and entertainment are advertised on a large display board at the main entrance of the Krystal Resort. There was no entertainment during the two weeks we were there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Warm, sunny days.
The weak points
Buffets, sub-par foods, hazardous balcony railings and main doors, old and mouldy rooms, noisy and incomplete rooms in new tower.

Nice place

, St Marys, ON
2019-02-10
hotel was very nice - food at the buffet was the best I have ever had at a buffet. italian restaurant was excellent, but was only one 1 night of the 7.

not hard to get a drink at any of the bars. They use top shelf liquor too - absolut vodka, ron barcardi rum etc.

internet was ok for the first 4 days but went down on day 5 and never came back. hard to check into your flights without internet.
have to get up at 6am to reserve a chair or you will be out of luck.

can be noisy - and they pick and choose the rules they enforce.
- noisy people on balcony at 2am - no one shuts them down.
- walk into the buffet with nice sandles (not flip flops) and they reject you because you need close toed shoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, weather, drinks, pools and food
The weak points
lack of chairs - can be noisy. lack of food after 9pm - room service is a nice feature but food is not great. had to get up at 6am to reserve a chair or out of luck
Certified

Just Ok

, Garden Bay, BC
2019-01-29
The staff was very welcoming and mostly accommodating . We upgraded our room. We were given a nice room with a king size bed with a view of the pool. We had several problems with the room. No hot water in the sink, The room door wouldn't lock. We experienced a major leak from the ceiling above us in the bathroom. The showerhead was shooting into the ceiling. The hotel did step up and make most of the repairs. I did have to go several times to get them to do it. The housekeeper did a fantastic job of our room cleaning. The food was absolutely terrible. Our service at the à la cart restaurants and the buffet was very inconsistent. The Japanese à la cart was very good the rest were not very good. It seems that the appetizers were the best part of every meal we had. Some of the main dishes were hardly edible. The buffet was horrible.
The bartenders were very accommodating and very quick to turnaround service with good portions.
The front desk hotel staff were very accommodating and welcoming.
It was very difficult to get any space around the pool as people put their personal belongings on the chairs early in the day and left them there all day. The hotel did not enforce their policy of 30 minutes removing personal items left on chairs if not occupied.
Overall we would rate our experience there as OK based on our previous experience at all-inclusive in Mexico. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff mostly friendly and accommodating . Grounds and facilities were clean and presentable .
The weak points
Some of the service in the restaurants was poor other nights it was good. The room had many problems. Food was terrible.
Certified

Needs reorganizing

, Sherwwod Park, AB
2019-01-26
We found our stay @ Reflect to be adequate , but lacking in several ares.The main one being not enough chairs around the infinity pool and beach area. The space occupied by 3 hot tubs is wasted and could be used for chairs.
The boardwalk in the grounds is too narrow , because its bordered in both sides by water.
The decorative water display should be removed and replaced with a wider walkway, and bar and large seating area for gathering at night , as there is only the lobby and rooftop bars with limited seating available.
The stairways in tower 7 are in bad need of maintenance, with lighting fixtures falling off and paint peeling.Our room on the other hand in tower 7 was very nice with a terrific balcony view of the ocean.
As well , the see thru roof in the buffet is pretty dirty , along with the badly stained tile floor.( switch to granite)
The staff tried their best , but the evening entertainment was easy to miss.
Overall , the place was quiet and peaceful , very friendly staff , but needing reorganizing and upgrading. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly , courteous staff , good buffet food.
The weak points
not enough pool and beach chairs, food in Asian and Mexican restaurant , layout of the grounds.
Certified

Good Stay

, White Rock, BC
2019-01-20
Nice resort but be aware that if you request an "ocean view" room, you won't necessarily get what you want. Most of the rooms in the older part of the buildings don't have an ocean view. Also, the resort doesn't have enough pool and beach chairs. You need to get up pretty early to secure your chair(s) for the day. I witnessed many people putting towels on chairs at the pool and on the beach so they have options to move between the beach and pool throughout the day. Ridiculous how the resort allows this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant staff, great pools, good food.
The weak points
Lack of pool and beach chairs. Many tripping and tow stubbing hazards. Lack of hand rails.
Certified

Honeymoon gone wrong

, Calgary, AB
2018-11-19
My husband and I are not ones to complain, we generally stay at 3 star resorts in Mexico and are always satisfied, however this wasn't the case with the Reflect Krystal. When we booked months before our trip for our honeymoon we were assured by the rep that the renovations would be over by September and all of the restaurants would be open with the possibility of one closure per night. This was not the case. There are only 2 restaurants open out of the 4 and on some days only the Mexican restaurant is open. The buffet is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and it says that it rotates daily but it is obvious that it doesnt. This isn't usually an issue and we are used to seeing repeat food at other resorts but it was exceptionally gross here. The food at the buffet is almost inedible and the meals at the restaurants are sub par at best, with zero presentation. We left one meal on the table and my husband got food positioning our third day from the Grill, which is the second restaurant that was only open 2 days out of the 7 we were there. Our last evening we decided to brave the buffet because our experiences at the restaurants had been horrible and I got food poisoning. This made our travel home day very interesting to say the least.

The resort is small with one bar open after 10pm. It is a “sports” bar on top of the buffet that I didn't see a single person in the couple of times we tried to visit. Sound carries very easily and their nightly entertainment is lack luster and more annoying than entertaining. Their “Mexican” night turned into club music blaring into our hotel room until 1am. The swimout bar that is supposed to be finished, located in their infinity pool was far from finished and still under construction.

We have never experienced such a language barrier on a resort in Mexico. With the exception of the concierge, 1 bellboy and the manager it was almost impossible to communicate, order room service or request housekeeping.

Room service was included in our package and the food was decent but you can only eat hamburgers and nachos so many times in a week. The bars are stocked with brand name liquor and the spa does give a great massage.

Although the food, the noise, the language barrier and the entertainment weren't great they weren't the biggest issue. Our 3rd night my husband wasn't feeling well after the dinner, we decided to head back to our swimout room for a quiet night in. We decided to sit out our patio and relax. Our swimout room has a 12” high little wall that separates the pool from the patio that I often sat on while we were out there. Well, thank gosh I wasn't sitting there this night. The glass balcony 2 stories above us came crashing down, shattering a 5 foot sheet of glass in every direction. Bracing ourselves for what was coming next, we were terrified to look into the shallow pool in fear we would see a body come down with the glass. We had shards of glass all over our swimout, pool and patio and thankfully no body to follow. We sat there for 5 minutes before anyone came to investigate. We sat there for another 10 until we finally decided to call housekeeping ourselves. They swept up the mess and left. We sat there wondering what to do next. Our pool was completely unusable, we didn't feel safe on our patio, if someone had been in that pool they would definitely been on a trip to the hospital or worse. We never received a phone call from management and it took us going to the manager for them to even put up caution tape in front of the other swimout rooms for safety. Once we finally met with the manager on site we were offered another room down the hall simply because “they couldn't guarantee that even after it was cleaned that it would be safe” what about all the other rooms that weren't moved!!! Our new room had mold growing on the ceiling.

I was completely appauled by their response and lack of action regarding this. We inquired the next morning with management to find out exactly what happened and they couldn't provide an answer. They said that it could have been the “vibration from the music” or the “hot day and cooler evening” might have caused the cracking. Either way I sense a serious safety issue here! The next morning we requested to be moved to another one of their resorts at the recommendation of our travel agent. They informed us that there were no available rooms at any of their surrounding resorts (there are 3 very close by) we then found out there was an equivalent room at more than one of those resorts. This resort company advertises a “sip savor and see experience” where you can visit a sister resort for dinner at one of their restaurants and in an attempt to get off this resort I inquired about that, and they denied us that as well.

The only over positive thing we experienced at this resort was the generosity of their conceirrge Moses. He did really try to arrange things and take care of us within his power (which isn't much power) but he had excellent customer service and was a pleasure to deal with.

In summary we were more than disappointed with the safety, the quality and the food. We had higher hopes for a high end resort, owned by a high end company and it definitely did not measure up. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone and I hope that when construction is complete that they are functioning at a level we would expect from this resort company. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

My stay at the Krystal Grand Nuevo

, Steinbach, MB
2018-04-23
I arrived at 100PM and was told I couldn't ck in till 400pm. I was the only one on my bus. I waited till then for another bus to show up with a ton of people and then had to wait for all of them. Initial impression was not good. Then I was given a room in the old hotel and I only picked this resort because of the new building. It was extremely small. When I went back to try and change rooms they said they had none, and yet other staff said they were only 50% full. They said maybe the next day after 400PM. I went back the next day and they would change my room but I would have to pay $50.00 US per night. I had already paid over $1800.00 for my stay so didn't want to do that. I was not impressed with the food either. There was not as much America/Canadian food as I usually get in an all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool areas and grounds are beautiful. The new hotel is gorgeous however they wouldn't let me change rooms unless I paid an extra $50.00 US per night. The staff are friendly.
The weak points
Front desk staff were not great,
Certified

Fantastic Holiday - We will be back

, Calgary, AB
2018-04-20
Just back from a fantastic weeks stay on a mother/daughter trip. We had a wonderful time at the Krystal Grand. The bellman greeted us and took our bags directly to our room. Our first room was one of the original condos thst are now hotel rooms. We asked if we could be moved and we were the next day to a beautiful ocean view room in the new tower. The resort was originally a condo complex and is now operating as an all/inclusive resort. It has most things up and completed other than a couple of la carte restaurants. We like to go try the local resrurants as well so no big deal. It caters to weddings and concerences. They are still undergoing renovations so the gym, and spa are just temporary. We walked the beach for exercise and they still offered massages on the beach. The grounds and pools are fabulous. The snack bar food is great for lunch. We received great service. The staff work very hard and were always helpful and friendly. We don't need to be waited on hand and foot. It doesn't hurt us to get off our butts and go get a drink. We paid $1200 per person. It was a great deal for the price. Dig deeper and pay $500 per person and stay next door at the RUI. I layed at the beach and didn't have to cook. There were two resturants at the resort and we enjoyed both. Tbe buffet was set up outdide which was why we left the snow in the first place. People complained there wasn't enough food selection. We felt there was more than enough and it was always very good. We look forward to coming back when all the restaurants are completed. It will be a fab resort. I have been to over a dozen resorts throughout Mexico, and this was a great middle sized resort on a great beach snd a low price.. fYI complainers..please complain to management not to other guests. It's a downer. You are on vacation...enjoy it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and pool. Gorgeous ocean view rooms in tower. Wonder staff.
The weak points
Needs new beach chairs on the palapa side of the beach.
Certified

Mexico getaway

, Burlington, ON
2018-03-10
we were treated like Royalty. The staff catered to us from morning until night. Food was amazing, rooms, property, pools were very well kept. Quiet resort for people looking to relax. wifi very good for those who need to work. 2 weddings on the beach at our resort in 1 weekend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Lovely small resort

, Surrey, BC
2014-04-15
Enjoyed the fact that it was a smaller resort which made it more personable. But we travelled at a very quiet time? It was almost too quiet. Because there weren't many people there, the evening events such as casino night never happened so there was very little to do in the evenings.
The beach was beautiful. Were always able to get our best spot on the beach or at the pool (also very beautiful).
Even though we were all inclusive we always had to sign a bill for everything we ordered. The only thing we missed was a buffet which we would have preferred for breakfast or lunch. I enjoyed the food but my husband not so much.
The staff went above and beyond. They were so friendly and helpful. They really tried to make your stay enjoyable.
They kept the grounds very clean and neat. The room we had was also very clean. We had a studio room so it was a good size with two double beds. We also had a very nice balcony with a lovely view of the ocean which was a bonus. Our room had only a shower(which was really nice) but no bathtub.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for rest and relaxation. If you want some more action, this might not be the place for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, perfect for a very relaxing vacation
The weak points
Not enough entertainment in the evening and a buffet would be nice.
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-03-15
My husband and I stayed at the Bel Air Collection Vallarta at the beginning of March and had a fabulous time. It is a smaller hotel than the usual all-inclusive resorts we have visited in the past and we quite liked the fact that it was smaller. We didn't have wristbands and had to sign for our meals and drinks, but it wasn't a big deal. Because it wasn't a large hotel filled with all-inclusive guests, it meant there were no huge buffets or line-ups at every meal. Instead we ordered off the menu and were pleased with the variety and quality of the food. Everything was fresh! They did have some buffet meals on the weekend and the food was good, but you could still order off the menu if you preferred.
There was one main restaurant that overlooked the ocean and we ate most of our meals on the terrace of that restaurant. There was also a sushi/martini bar that was only open in the evenings and we ate there twice. It was very good. And lastly there was a restaurant at the pool bar which served sandwiches, burgers, fries, nacho plates, etc. I believe it was open from 12 – 5 pm. We ordered food from there twice to eat poolside and it was quite good. BTW, we have been to Mexico seven times in the past seven years and this is the first time that we didn't experience any kind of stomach issues. We have never been sick in the past, but have always noticed a disruption to our digestive system. This time we did not and were very pleasantly surprised.
The service at this hotel was incredible – especially in the main restaurant and at the pool. The dining room staff were fun and attentive to our needs. It was always a pleasure going for a meal. We ate all of our breakfasts and lunches in the main restaurant so got to know that crew the best.
We also received excellent service at the pool.
The pool at this hotel is amazing. I am not normally a pool person as I usually prefer the beach. However the pool was an infinity pool and had an incredible view of the beach. In addition the beach chairs at the pool were very comfortable so we ended up hanging out at the end of the pool closest to the beach and had the best of both worlds. We had the view of the beach and ocean as well as the sound of the waves crashing in and also had the comfort and service of the pool area. It was heaven!

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well taken care of. Our room did not have a view and was quite small but we didn't mind because we spend very little time in our room. The most important thing was that it had a very comfortable king size bed, it was clean, it didn't smell musty and it was quiet. There are safes in the room s that are large enough to hold a computer and that lock with a number code rather than a key, which is nice.
We really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was about a 30 minute walk along the beach to the lovely town of Bucerias. We walked in a few times and cabbed if it was evening. The cab ride is 85 pesos (about $7.50) and is the same returning to the hotel.

I wasn't expecting to have Wi-Fi as other guests mentioned that it was expensive or wasn't available. I brought my iPod just in case and was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel had free Wi-Fi. It was available in the lobby, at the pool and in our room. There must be a time limit on it as it would always disconnect when I wasn't using it, but no big deal. I would just reconnect and it was fine.
One other plus to this hotel is that there were no time-share people. Or if there were, we never met one. That is the first time we have experienced that in Mexico and it was a nice bonus.
In summary I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering it – especially as an all-inclusive. It was a lovely hotel and resort and had just the right ambiance for us. I hope that we will be able to return one year. Thank you Bel Air! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful resort, great location, excellent service!
The weak points
Small rooms
Certified

A Relaxing Vacation

, Comox, BC
2012-04-09
Overall, we very much enjoyed our vacation. We upgraded from a deluxe room (one bed - no balcony) to a studio (one bed - pullout couch - balcony). There were three of us, and we would have liked the option of a room with two beds without having to move up one more level to a two bedroom - living room suite.

Food was good (not excellent). Descriptions of the resort need to be updated. There is one main restaurant. A sushi bar and snack bar by the pool. One pub.

Beach and view was lovely. Not crowded. Lots of activities (not organized by the resort) you can pay for and participate in.

Staff was excellent; friendly and efficient.

We would definitely consider staying at the Bel Air again. Good value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is excellent. The nicest beach we have seen in Puerto Vallarta. Quiet and small (not crowded).
The weak points
Rooms better suited for couples. Unless you book a two bedroom, only one bed is available (and a pull-out couch). You have to pay for internet in room. Free wireless in the lobby would be nice. Computers are available in the business center (for free).
Certified

Would return

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-14
We were pleasantly surprised at this small resort. The staff were friendly and the room albeit very small was clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy to get around, grounds well manicured and cared for, infinity pool was beautiful;
The weak points
Did not like having to sign for everything even though an all inclusive plan, definitely felt obligation to tip and staff clearly reviewed the receipt to check it out, even when you were getting a coffee to go or a drink a the bar
Certified

Exeptional Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2012-03-07
Staff was great, food was really good with lots of selection. The resort was very clean and well kept. Our room was a bit smaller than typical rooms but it was a very nice room otherwise and the hotel did warn us when we booked. There is also a water sports rental center near the resort witch makes activities easy to book. It is also only a 15 minute walk to Bucerias, where you can experience genuine mexican culture. I would highly reccomend this resort. It has a small ersort feel with all the amenities of a big resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Food -Activities -Beach -Staff
The weak points
-Room a bit small (larger kitchinettes were available on request)
Certified

Nice place

, Meadowlake, SK
2012-02-29
The hotel was great,they didn't have wrist bands so you had to sign every bill. The store at the hotel wouldn't let you use larger dollars to buy anything because they had no change for you,but they would gladley charge anything to your room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice and quiet, not overcrowded
The weak points
only one restaurant
Certified

Wonderful Resort

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-23
The Bel Air resort and it's staff were incredible. The hotel was quiet, clean and the grounds were well kept and very beautiful. The room we had was quite small - European style but we didn't plan to spend much time in the room. The food was the best - only one main restaurant in the evening but lots to choose from. We didn't even make it to the sushi bar but heard it was very good. The quality was top notch. We were never asked for tips by the staff as some reviewers had commented on, but also ensured we tipped the staff accordingly for the great service and passion they put into doing their jobs.

On Valentine's Evening, Gamma prepared our Spanish coffee using flames and put on quite the show. It was an incredible presentation and you could feel the passion the staff had to please their guests.

We were able to see dolphins from our table at breakfast playing in the ocean.

It is a smaller and quiet hotel but we were looking for rest and relaxation. There is no nightlife and everything closes at 10:30 PM so it depends what you are looking for on your vacation. We were very satisfied with the resort and staff. We have no complaints except that the weather was overcast for most of our week. You can't control the weather so you just have to make the best of it. I like walking the beach and found it a little rocky to walk along - just something to keep in mind if that's what you like to do.

One hour massage on the beach were very good - we went twice.

Overall a great place and a great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very accomodating and it was important to them that the guests were having a good time.
The weak points
Size of room very small and Nolitours does not provide much information ahead of time to allow you to upgrade. It causes the hotel staff unneccessary conflict with some guests that require additional space. Beach was nice but rocky to walk along.
Certified

Disapointed

, Gibbons, AB
2012-02-23
Very small rooms reserved for Nolitours,this was totally misrepresented(the room was 12ftX12ft)There were no wristbands and you had to sign for everything,this got a little tiring.There is no buffet, you have to order from the same small menu everyday.Two people in our group got sick from the food , and talking with others at the resort we were not the only ones.One couple in our group did not have a room due to overbooking and had to stay in a neighboring hotel for one night.The staff was good and very friendly and tried to accomadate a steady line of unsatisfied guests.I have stayed at many places all over Mexico, and I am not a fussy traveler but a room that is smaller than my bedroom at home,plus getting sick was not a enjoyable vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort,clean, very friendly staff
The weak points
Very small rooms reserved for Nolitours,this was totally misrepresented(the room was 12ftX12ft)There were no wristbands and you had to sign for everything,this got a little tiring.There is no buffet, you have to order from the same small menu everyday.
Certified

Never Again

, Redcliff, AB
2012-02-14
1. I had questions and concerns with my booking and left messages and sent emails to the booking agent at ITravel and not even the decency to respond
2. Sent detailed request to ITravel "Customer care" again, not one word of response.
3. Airtransat flight delayed 12 hours due to weather in south of England? Apparently they have no way of re-routing another plane or chartering from anyhwere else.
4. It took almost 2 hours for them to agree to put us up in hotels until next day.
4. Bel Air is NOT an all-inclusive. AirTransat/Nolitours have made some deal that they get all the rooms that no-one at the condominium resort wants.
5. It took over an hour to check-in four couples.
6. I travelled with my teenage son. We had requested a balcony, ocean view if possible but as a minimum, 2 double beds. What we ended up with was a view of the industrial air conditioners, kitchens and staff entrance of the Riu Palace (we ended up paying to eat there as the food was awful at Bel-Air), no balcony (inside room) and one king bed in a room smaller than my own bathroom.
7. The majority of the staff were either unable to speak English, beligerent or just plain unwilling to help (Trinidad at the concierge station being the excepetion)
8. There is only one restaraunt with one menu and the buffet was only available on the first night we arrived (Sunday)Regardless, both the menu and the buffet were mediocre and that is being generous. The "sushi/martini" bar was not bad depending on when you got there. If there was more than 5 tables your wait time was anywhere from 15 minutes upward and that was just to get any recognition that you were actually there!
9. Entertainment consisted of Karioke on two nights and a movie on another. However the music and sounds from the Riu Palace drowned out the air conditioners up to 11pm
10. Bar service could only be guarenteed dependant on how much you were willing to tip. Just out of interest and persistance, we waited at one time for over 40 minutes to get a hamburger and drink from the poolside snack bar (the hamburgers was as red as China!)
11. On day three I began to get very sick and inquired at the front desk if any other guests had been ill and was assured that no-one else had said anything. It became clear pretty fast that I was one of about 15 other people suffering in varying degrees (2 people in hospital as they were so dehydrated) from food poisoning. We hadn't eaten anything off resort up until that time.
12. They have no money exchange and if you need cash you are forced to put your credit card into an ATM that only gives 3000 pesos at a time at a cost of 70 pesos each use. I went to the front desk were the gal explained that I could get a cab to the "Mega" a Costco type plaza and use the bank there. We did this only to find that it was a holiday and all the banks were closed. Upon return I asked the same gal why she had sent us to the bank when they were all closed and she said "go tomorrow"
13. I am a health and safety professional and also have spent some time in business in the service industry. If you have any background in this area ( or abasic understanding of food hygeine) sit and watch how they handled and prepare food and beverages it it is very clear how gastro-intestinal pathogens are passed on. My son and I joked that all the food was "prepared by hand....bare hand". They handle raw meat, wipe their hands on their apron, put fries on the plates with the same hand, wipe their on the apron again, handled someone elses food, wipe their hands again and so on an so on. I even watched that gal take a plate that I assume was either dirty or wet and wipe that on the same apron then put the food on it. A waiter in the restaurant came to our table and noticed that we hadn't eaten all the buns...he recoverd them and took them to a table of two that had just sat down!
Summary: NEVER AGAIN!!
Under " Reccomended for" I had to make a choice so I picked "cultural activities"....I mean bacterial cultures! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Trinidad at concierge helping me
The weak points
Bel Air
Certified

Nice but a few misleading features

, Sherwood Park , AB
2012-02-11
There is only 1 restaurant and a lousy buffet( breakfast and weekends)....Eat off the 2 menus every meal and you will enjoy your vacation at its best....Food was delicious. I really enjoyed the Bel Air but would have preferred to wear a wrist band then have to sign for every drink and meal. Upgrade you room if you don't want to stay in a closet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff, pretty surroundings, small and quiet, food was delicious
The weak points
Buffet was poor, prices were high in restaurants, for time share and guests, cheap alcohol brands.Need more cofee in lobby in the morning rather than done when the pot is empty
Certified

ALL INCLUSIVE DISAPPOINTMENT

, Kitchener, ON
2012-02-08
When booking our trip, I called concerning the room selection as it was listed as run of the house, I was informed that this was an all suites resort. We were given a very small dark damp room at the back of the resort looking over the air conditioning units of the next resort.We asked to change our location at the front desk. I was told a fee would be charged, but every day I inquired I was told no other rooms were available. We were also told there were 3 a la carte restuarants and there is only 1 restuarant and 2 snack bars. Breakfast was a small buffet and lunch and dinner were off limited menus. We would not return to this resort again, we have been going to PV for the last 10 years and this resort was a disappointment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach, nice pool and grounds, friendly waiters
The weak points
small damp,poorly located room, lack of amenities, petty annoyances (can't get change at front desk, signing for everything you eat or drink, charges for simple activites such as bingo, cooking class) no theme nights or entertainment, limited food items
Certified

Bel Air

, Innisfree, AB
2012-02-07
When we booked we thought it was a new hotel. It was Los Palmas redone. The room was small...had a juccuzi...ours worked - others did not. had elevators. Had to sign all bills. Had a great reception desk. If you had a problem they dealt with it. Thats a first for us. Was a timeshare - but only got hassled on the first day. Maids great. Rooms clean. I might go again for a good price. Great bus service too [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Walk to Bucerias - they don't tell you about the path! Food was good.
The weak points
Not enough chairs around pool. The timeshare guests get different towels and are allowed to save chairs. We were not. Not enough menu selection. Should have a pasta and desert bar. No entertainment at night after 9
Certified

Beautiful and Relaxed

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-16
This was the perfect place to swim in the pool or ocean, relax on the beach or by the pool, and basically not be crowded by other vacationers. However, outside of eating, swimming, relaxing, and the occasional volleyball, we had to leave the resort for adventure. If this place had more night life (entertainment or activities), and less pressure to tip on each and every thing regardless of service quality, then it would have been perfect! Big shout out to Roberto, a waiter, his humour and commitment to our service was great! A shout DOWN to "Teo" who demanded a tip on two drinks that we went to the bar for (he was NOT the bartender) and later would not let us write down a tip for a meal on the bill but demanded cash even though we only had 200 peso bills (His quality of service for the WEEK would not have warranted a tip that high). Overall, this resort was great for eating, drinking, swimming, and relaxing. It was like our home. We just had to go out often. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Food and Drink Quality, Beach, Pool, Resort Scenery (very natural and intimate)
The weak points
No night life (Bar would close at 10:30), Tips not included, Had to sign for everything ordered (paper pressure to tip), "Teo" a waiter gave strong pressure to tip certain amounts and certain ways (he didn't want you to write it one the bill, only cash).
Certified

Great Value

, Abbotsford, BC
2012-01-14
If you find a good deal on this resort it is well worth it. We stayed for a week in January and really enjoyed the resort. The location is great, the beach was nice (you could walk for hours if you wanted to), and the food was really good. I would deffinetly stay at the Bel Air again.

It was ALMOST perfect...three negatives in my opinion. Service in restaraunts was so slow. Poolside drink/food service was awful unless you tipped really well (in cash). Rather than a wrist band you have to sign for every single thing you order right down to a bottle of water.

Of the 4 all-inclusive resorts I have stayed at, the Bel Air would be my favorite. Everyone I talked to at the resort loved it. The only people I heard complaining were the people who owned time shares there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, nice location, clean and comfortable rooms.
The weak points
Slow service in restaraunts. Poolside waiters were average at best...very pushy regarding tips.
Certified

Bel Air 2012

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2012-01-11
Overall the experience was positive,because we booked many excursions and spent a day and half in Peurto Vallarta. Staying solely on the resort would have been boring. There was only 1 restaurant, contrary to what the website indicates and although the food quality was good, the choices were limited and became boring. No buffet except breakfast, and that one was quite small. Definately not what we expected from a 5 star hotel.
No entertainment, and nothing nearby to do in the evenings, in bed by 10:30 every night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were all very friendly, food quality was good but far too limited for 7 days stay.
The weak points
Have to sign a bill for all drinks and food, rather than have wristbands. Waiters quite pushy for tips. Food far too limited only 1 restaurant. No entertainment at all, the place dies at about 8:30pm.
Certified

I'd go back for sure!

, vancouver, Br
2011-12-14
Great Stay! We didn't plan to do to much, just relax poolside...and this was the perfect resort for that. It's not close to anything, so not great for day trips, unless you have a good taxi budget, or don't mind long bus rides (45 min to PV).
- Infinity pool and bar (Awesome!)
- Great relaxed feel, wonderful landscaping
- Kids welcome, but never had a problem, or had to endure screaming (not a kid fan here)
- Customer Service was good, but not amazing.
- Wireless was down for 1 day, and he business centre had 3 computers/1 of them broken. The wireless, once repaired after teh weekend was consistent and fast. (for surfing anyway) They had 3-4 wireless routers working together, so coverage was great.
- Spa services were adaquate, but I'd go to a differnt spa next time, other hotels offer them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Pool and lounging area was perfect, and close the beach too. - Meal/Food Quality was top notch.
The weak points
- Front desk was inconsistent, you hoped you'd get certain people. - Sushi "restaurant" wasn't what I'd call great, but that's coming from the Sushi-Capital of Canada.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021