Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta
3.693.693.693.693.69
3.69 based on 55 reviews
#7 of 23 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (38)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Disappointment

, Calgary, AB
2022-11-24
In comparison to other Krystal hotels it was below standards. Wifi only works in public places, clean towels were not changed in room, food in Japanese restaurant was more Chinese and not that great, and for a quick lunch they only ever had one person working so line-ups were long. What was fantastic was the coffee shop. Management does not allow the bars to have tip jars - so crazy as the good employees will leave as soon as they can get new jobs! Activities were okay but who plays Bingo at 9:30 pm? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Disorganized Chaos

, Caledonia, ON
2022-11-24
I stayed at the Krystal Grand for a week. There's a couple of things that need improvement at this hotel. 1. They do not offer any sort of room service for anything let alone water. They did not properly restock our fridge everyday. We called down for water and the front desk lady said “the bar is closed”. 2. No buses pick you up from the hotel for excursions so you will need to take a cab. - this actually ruined one day for us as the hotel staff told the cab driver where we needed to go and they dropped us off at the wrong pick up point and we had to go to a different hotel in the area to get a cab driver to pick us up and drop us back at the hotel. This experience was very frustrating as no one from my group had service on their phones. The hotel did not offer any sort of compensation for this inconvenience. 3. If you are looking for any sort of night life this hotel is not it - no “disco” which is what was in the description in fact the only 1 bar stayed open till 1:00am. 4. NO WIFI. Nobody from our group got wifi in our rooms or anywhere around the resort. We ended up paying 15$ a day to get service due to this issue.
Lastly, I do feel like this hotel was very much a “locals” hotel as not many people spoke English. Just a heads up if you are looking to go to Kyrstal Grand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort was beautiful looking from the lobby. I really enjoyed the Holiday at this resort.
The weak points
Poor communication, no wifi, rude front desk, disgusting public bathrooms.
Certified

Nice but boring

, Fairview, AB
2022-11-22
I usually don't write reviews, but this hotel needs one. On arrival it took so long to get registered (about an hour). The hotel itself is ok but the entertainment was lacking should I say the least. Our room was good, needs a shelf in the shower for your stuff, needs somewhere to hang things towels, wet suites etc. There is nowhere to get together to socialize in the evening (we were a group of 9). They have a lobby bar with about 5 chairs overlooking the pool area, there are also about 6 cushion waiting chairs. When we were coming down for supper there was nowhere for us to meet up and wait for each other, we had to stand in a walkway and wait while others that were still in their wet swimwear walked by us. The food and drinks were good, and the staff were amazing. This hotel has a big building on the right side of the hotel that was a waste of space, the 10 days we were on holidays there was nothing going on at the hotel. We spoke to a couple of the staff, and they said go up to the sky bar. It was nice up there but sat about 20 so needless to say a group of 9 couldn't get seats. If you're not out before 7:30 you won't get a chair. The adult pool has about 16 chairs. The bar pool is a family pool so if your relaxing reading a book be aware you may get splashed or hit by a water gun. The entertainment crew would rate 3-10 not much recruiting or letting people know what is happening out at the pool. One morning we were going out to get chairs at the beach and the pool guy was "cleaning" the pool, he proceeded to stand on the pool bar with his net and cleaned off the pool bar table pulling 30ish half empty drinks that were left out there from the day before all into the pool then scooped up all the cups. We did not go in that pool again. If you already booked this resort, you will enjoy it but will probably like us and others we talked to will not go back. We go a couple times a year and this is the first resort we had nothing to do in the evenings at it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
-room was nice and big, great view -staff at the beach, buffet and restaurants were great -food was good both at buffet and restaurants -the ladies that were on cleaning duty the pool washrooms were great, always cleaning them
The weak points
-no area to socialize in the evening -no entertainment in the evening unless you like trivia or bingo -not enough chairs at pool for people at resort -drinks were not consistent (order same drink 3 times and all would taste different)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
-they had sanitizers here and there, but half didn't work.
Certified

Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta

, Ferndale, WA
2022-11-14
A large, busy resort with two large, nice pools situated on the ocean. The hotel was clean and in good repair and the staff pleasant and courteous. All rooms have beachfront views. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pleasant staff, walking distance to large "Walmart" type store, taxis easy to get, food good, clean spacious rooms.
The weak points
Too noisy for us. First room was right under the top floor bar; we moved to another room and it was better, but there is nightly entertainment that can be noisy. Communication was a bit sketchy for us. ATM always out of money.
Certified

Fantastic Vacation

, Brantford, ON
2022-04-19
This is a beautiful resort with great food and wonderful attentive staff. When we arrived we were surprised that we got and entire suite. It was so clean and our fridge was stocked with water, beer and pop each day. Would highly recommend this resort !!! Thank you to all the staff Ulises, Gilberts Jorge, Maggy, Sarahi, Cecilia, Lizzy Adrian, and Enrique [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Krystal Grand Novita Vallarta

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-04-18
Very nice hotel, restaurants and pools. The view of the ocean, sunsets and sunrise were incredible. The hotel was clean and included a stocked fridge in the room with drinks at no extra charge. Only drawback was the coffee shop did not have ice to make iced coffee most days until around noon. Taxi service available with no waiting. Would recommend this hotel to stay in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
View of the mountains, ocean and sunsets. Staff friendly.
The weak points
No ice to make iced coffee until noon most days.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Room was very clean.
Certified

Beautiful but Boring

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-13
My family of 4 stayed at this resort, and although it looks like it would've been an amazing fun place to be, we were disappointed by the lack of things to do/see. There was little to no entertainment during the day or at night. And what there was, catered more to the locals spoken only in Spanish. We could only sit around from one setting to the next. There wasn't even really any music to help you enjoy that vacation mood. The food was good, but selection was limited, especially for young children. The resort was nicely designed and very very clean! The rooms were fairly large and nicer than I expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort was beautifully designed and very clean. Rooms were a good size.
The weak points
There was no entertainment and no music. At night, after dinner there was nothing to do on the resort. Very boring! The food was good, but selection was limited and didn't really cater to children.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The place was very clean and well maintained. Made me feel safe.
Certified

Not as expected

, Medicine Hat, AB
2022-04-11
We rate this hotel at a weak 7.
Our bathroom had the creakiest toilet seat, the entire faucet wobbled when we used it & was afraid it would pull right out, the mini fridge was not stocked every second day so we had to call the desk each time. Not enough room towels ever & had to ask for them. The coffee was not replaced daily & had to ask also.
The daily room clean was very rushed & lots missed.
The buffet was very small for the size of the resort. The best food was at the Grill ala carte. One day at the snack bar I witnessed a worker dumping a tray of cheese sauce in a pot to be heated. She didn't have anything to scrape the pan so she used her bare hand as a spatula, I almost threw up.
The nice part of the hotel is the heated family pool.
If you aren't going down by 7 am to save chairs you may not get one.
The resort allows smoking everywhere outside & its sickening. Most resorts have a designated area .
Very disappointed & its apparent the managers are not doing their job.
We will not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Stay at Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta

, Peterborough, ON
2022-04-10
We just returned from the Krystal Grand on April 5, 2022. Overall staff were very friendly and hotel was clean. Our room was a swim-up which we really enjoyed. The pool outside our room was very clean. Buffet is small but always a variety of options so no problem finding something we liked to eat. Food was good at the Ala carte restaurants and servers were very friendly. Activities during the day looked fun. We like to try new hotels all the time so that's the only reason we probably wouldn't return. I would recommend this hotel though, without hesitation. It's a 4 star for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Cleanliness of the hotel. We had a swim-up room so automatically upgrade to the Altitude Club. Check-in is in a different area so was fast and easy. Missed the lines in the main lobby which was nice.
The weak points
Water in shower was hot the first day but only warm the rest of the week. I love hot showers so this was a negative for me. Didn't bother my husband though.
Certified

Less than 50% of staff spoke English, unhelpful

, Calgary, AB
2022-03-28
Very few of the staff spoke English and I felt like a burden each time I ordered a meal or asked a question. Even the front desk was irritated all the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Asian restaurant was good food. Some staff were helpful and nice. Building 4 rooms were nice.
The weak points
My room phone didn't work. My safe didn't work. Staff not accommodating. Buffet and Asian only places to eat. Wi-fi very unreliable No night activities made it boring.
Certified

Loved it

, Surrey, BC
2022-03-03
I was very skeptic because of the Google reviews but the second we stepped into Krystal Grand I totally loved it. Customer service was great, loved the food and the room was comfortable and clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Customer service Food Atmosphere
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Windsor, ON
2022-03-01
Resort is gorgeous, pools clean beach area clean and well maintained.
the food is delicious , did not have a bad meal even once, the rooms are very nice beds very comfortable, lots of pillows to get a great night sleep.
View from our room was great 10th floor over looking the pools and ocean washed whales from our balcony,Resort in need of fine tuning repairs to hotel services EXAMPLE: hot water in showers phone in rooms and door keys and Tv service.Front Desk Staff could be more helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
resort is Beautiful, rooms clean and pretty, food awesome serving staff very nice.
The weak points
Room keys need to re programmed often they just stop working The 6th floor of the hotel had no TV service at all or hot water in the shower, seems hot water was an issue scaling hot to cold pressure would stop go cold and then come back burning hot.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Out standing
Certified

Good

, Calgary, Al
2022-01-18
Food was good, it's a nice hotel but no entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
No entertainment so very boring if u want to drink after dinner!! Need more staff at the bar on wkds. If u r at the beach not enough parasols
Certified

Great Vacation at the Krystal Palace

, Medicine Hat, AB
2021-11-26
Our 10 days here was a great vacation. They work very hard to prevent the spread of Covid. Dining rooms, Lobbies, washrooms, and other public areas are constantly being cleaned. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Check in was flawless and the people were very polite, cheerful and inviting. The buffet meals were very good and a great selection of veggies, meat and fish. Rooms were kept clean and refreshments restocked every
The weak points
Pool chairs were reserved by guest with a towel or hat and not used. Should be controlled by the Resort. My shower hand held was never repaired. Wasn't informed that the pool swim up bar required your own container with a lid. Should be available.
Certified

Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta vacations

, Calgary, AB
2021-08-26
Really nice view from the 10 floor (our room). Cleanliness room is fine but
bedding clothes are not good. Bathroom towels very old. Front desk & Reception's: furniture look dirty and old.
Staff is good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great Resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-03-04
We were completely satisfied and very pleased with this resort. The grounds, pools and beach were pristine and beautiful. The food at the buffet & a la carte's were some of the best we've experienced at a resort. The pool side snack buffets had both hot and cold finger type foods which was great to snack on during the day. Another real treat was the deli and coffee shop (Coco Cafe) which had great lattes and cappuccinos and again the staff was excellent. The Sky Bar was a great place to view some beautiful sunsets. All of the resort staff were very professional and quick to respond to any requests. We always enjoy our walks into Bucerias, and this resort is very close so only takes 20 - 30 minutes. We would definitely return to to the Reflect Krystal Grand Nuevo Vallarta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was very good. The staff whether front desk, concierge, maintenance, housekeeping and restaurant and bar servers were excellent.
The weak points
5 out of the 7 days a large portion of the beach was blocked off for private events (ie: weddings, conferences). Hard then to find loungers around the pools, especially when people reserve chairs and hardly use them. There are rules but not enforced.
Certified

GREAT HOLIDAY

, West Vancouver, NL
2020-03-01
This hotel is very nice in general. We enjoyed the new building on the 6th floor (out of 10 floors). They first tried to put us in the old building in a very dark room with no view - despite our having paid for an upgraded room. Locks on front door and balcony were both broken, chairs on balcony had no seats and there was sand on the floor. However, once ensconced in the new building we were happy but to save the extra $1000 cost we had to participate in a time share sales session which was not fun. At an extra $1100 one could probably have stayed at Dreams or Secrets. Having said all this, this hotel is very nice. The three pools are great (huge infinity pool looking onto the beach and the beach is comfortable (lots of beds but could use more palapas). Our only criticism of the beach is the hotel does not rope off the swim area from boats so seados were sometimes coming into the swim area going fast with thoughtless drivers - eventually someone is going to get hurt. The food was very good (perhaps the best food we have ever had in our 10 or so stays in all inclusive spots to Mexico) and one does not have to make reservations for dinner in the four specialized restaurants - wonderful! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room in the new building was a good size, was clean and well maintained. The evening entertainment is good, but it is on a very small stage with poor seating (difficult to see). We felt sorry for the entertainers but they did their best with what they had. Overall, we were very pleased with this 12 day stay and would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Customer Service Second to None

, Red Deer, AB
2020-02-24
Our two week stay at Reflect Krystal was excellent. The staff- Alesia- front desk, Alberto and Fabiosa- pool bar servers, Carlos, Erick and Arturo- bartenders, Abraham and Joaquin- entertainment team, Fernanda, Alexandro, Victor and Ramon- buffet servers and Martin- Tapanaka chef- just to name a few outstanding ones- all went above and beyond. Their customer service skills are second to none and definitely made our experience excellent.
The food at the buffet was good to great depending on time of day. The a la carte restaurants were all very good. I would definitely recommend The Grill and the cooking experience at the Japanese restaurant. Risotto was OK but service was bad the night we were there. Mordero was also very good.
Entertainment team did good job of offering a wide variety of things to do. Only comment would be is don't have kids as part of adult shows so shows start on time and those who don't want to watch kids can enjoy show as planned.
The pools were excellent especially the heated adult pool. Staff need to enforce chair reservation policies as timeshare people save chairs but don't show up until noon or later to use- remove unattended stuff after an hour because there aren't enough chairs.
Hotel itself was good and staff were very eager to help with any issues. Beds and pillows were comfortable.
Although website mentioned sports bar it was under renovation while we there so website should have been updated.
Skybar offers some great views and is a quiet place for an evening drink.
Hotel location is great for walk into Bucerias either on sidewalk path or along beach.
Was able to see some whales and dolphins from room, beach and buffet location! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most outstanding thing about this resort is the staff and the excellent food at the a la carte restaurants. Also great was smaller size of resort made it easy for anyone with mobility issues to access everything.
The weak points
Some issues with hot water in showers however it was intermittent. Also enforcement of pool chair reservation is not done. Limited bar access in evenings- would be nice to have pool bar open later.
Certified

Great value

, Sudbury, ON
2020-01-31
For the price we payed it was really good. Clean rooms good food and polite staff. Would stay here again although if they didn't have so many events at the resort for companies it would have made my experience better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel was clean and the food was great. Staff was helpful and bartenders were pretty quick.
The weak points
Shower was cold and the events held took away from the amenities such as the infinity pool area and seating (by the pool or at the restaurants). Stop having so many events, there was two events within a one week stay
Certified

So so resort 3 star

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-12-08
On the positive side the pool and grounds were beautiful; staff generally friendly . They had limited activities inc yoga , pool exercise class . However they definitely need more umbrellas. Biggest issue was food ! Buffet was ok; poolside snacks were terrible . Not once in our 7 day trip could I get salsa, guacamole and chips which are usually staples. You also never knew what restaurants were going to be open . Finally they started bringing the daily sheet to our room and we realized that their one restaurant rotates it's menu: Grill , Italian, Mexican nights. Sadly the Asian restaurant which looked like it had good menu never opened . So food choices quite limited which was biggest issue . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool areas Friendly staff Updated rooms in building 4
The weak points
Very limited food choices Limited restaurant hours and limited menus with just 3 or 4 items No sports bar as advertised Entertainment was pretty low budget ( but they were trying )
Certified

Disappointing Vacation-Krystal Resort, PV, Mexico

, Castlegar, BC
2019-06-18
Disappointing Vacation-Krystal Resort, PV, Mexico

My spouse and I booked a two-week vacation to this resort.
I upgraded our booking to a deluxe ocean view and looked forward to a two-week all-inclusive vacation at the Krystal Resort, PV.
Upon arrival, we were sent to the new tower. After spending a sleepless first night (continuous noise from adjoining paper-thin walled rooms and hallway), cold water in shower, no furniture on balcony, no coffee pot, no dressers, etc...I contacted a West Jet team member. After consultation, the next day I was offered, by a front desk staff person, a room in the old building and as it was the only option given, I accepted it. Old, mouldy, cracked bathroom fixtures, disintegrating balcony railings, main door broken handles, etc. This was not at all what I expected!
The two buffets and two reservation-only restaurants offered sub-par food. The outdoor buffet had birds flying and landing in the food every day. Mystery meats and seafoods, no bacon...servers piled dirty dishes throughout the restaurants.
Several days after arrival, I woke up with a fever, sore throat and swollen glands. I went to the Krystal front desk for assistance in obtaining medical care. As I waited in line for ten or more minutes, I became increasingly ill and moved to the front, asking for help. A staff person told me to wait and when I asked again, she phoned a nearby clinic. She handed me the phone and the nurse only spoke Spanish (which I do not). Finally, a doctor's visit to my room was arranged. After receiving excellent care and medication, I recovered within a few days. At no time did the Krystal staff contact me to ensure that I was recovering or whether I needed anything.
My spouse and I spent most of our time on the beach and at the pools. The independent vendors that sell their fares on the beach constantly interrupted beach-goers.
Theme nights and entertainment are advertised on a large display board at the main entrance of the Krystal Resort. There was no entertainment during the two weeks we were there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Warm, sunny days.
The weak points
Buffets, sub-par foods, hazardous balcony railings and main doors, old and mouldy rooms, noisy and incomplete rooms in new tower.

Nice place

, St Marys, ON
2019-02-10
hotel was very nice - food at the buffet was the best I have ever had at a buffet. italian restaurant was excellent, but was only one 1 night of the 7.

not hard to get a drink at any of the bars. They use top shelf liquor too - absolut vodka, ron barcardi rum etc.

internet was ok for the first 4 days but went down on day 5 and never came back. hard to check into your flights without internet.
have to get up at 6am to reserve a chair or you will be out of luck.

can be noisy - and they pick and choose the rules they enforce.
- noisy people on balcony at 2am - no one shuts them down.
- walk into the buffet with nice sandles (not flip flops) and they reject you because you need close toed shoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, weather, drinks, pools and food
The weak points
lack of chairs - can be noisy. lack of food after 9pm - room service is a nice feature but food is not great. had to get up at 6am to reserve a chair or out of luck
Certified

Just Ok

, Garden Bay, BC
2019-01-29
The staff was very welcoming and mostly accommodating . We upgraded our room. We were given a nice room with a king size bed with a view of the pool. We had several problems with the room. No hot water in the sink, The room door wouldn't lock. We experienced a major leak from the ceiling above us in the bathroom. The showerhead was shooting into the ceiling. The hotel did step up and make most of the repairs. I did have to go several times to get them to do it. The housekeeper did a fantastic job of our room cleaning. The food was absolutely terrible. Our service at the à la cart restaurants and the buffet was very inconsistent. The Japanese à la cart was very good the rest were not very good. It seems that the appetizers were the best part of every meal we had. Some of the main dishes were hardly edible. The buffet was horrible.
The bartenders were very accommodating and very quick to turnaround service with good portions.
The front desk hotel staff were very accommodating and welcoming.
It was very difficult to get any space around the pool as people put their personal belongings on the chairs early in the day and left them there all day. The hotel did not enforce their policy of 30 minutes removing personal items left on chairs if not occupied.
Overall we would rate our experience there as OK based on our previous experience at all-inclusive in Mexico. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff mostly friendly and accommodating . Grounds and facilities were clean and presentable .
The weak points
Some of the service in the restaurants was poor other nights it was good. The room had many problems. Food was terrible.
Certified

Needs reorganizing

, Sherwwod Park, AB
2019-01-26
We found our stay @ Reflect to be adequate , but lacking in several ares.The main one being not enough chairs around the infinity pool and beach area. The space occupied by 3 hot tubs is wasted and could be used for chairs.
The boardwalk in the grounds is too narrow , because its bordered in both sides by water.
The decorative water display should be removed and replaced with a wider walkway, and bar and large seating area for gathering at night , as there is only the lobby and rooftop bars with limited seating available.
The stairways in tower 7 are in bad need of maintenance, with lighting fixtures falling off and paint peeling.Our room on the other hand in tower 7 was very nice with a terrific balcony view of the ocean.
As well , the see thru roof in the buffet is pretty dirty , along with the badly stained tile floor.( switch to granite)
The staff tried their best , but the evening entertainment was easy to miss.
Overall , the place was quiet and peaceful , very friendly staff , but needing reorganizing and upgrading. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly , courteous staff , good buffet food.
The weak points
not enough pool and beach chairs, food in Asian and Mexican restaurant , layout of the grounds.
Certified

Good Stay

, White Rock, BC
2019-01-20
Nice resort but be aware that if you request an "ocean view" room, you won't necessarily get what you want. Most of the rooms in the older part of the buildings don't have an ocean view. Also, the resort doesn't have enough pool and beach chairs. You need to get up pretty early to secure your chair(s) for the day. I witnessed many people putting towels on chairs at the pool and on the beach so they have options to move between the beach and pool throughout the day. Ridiculous how the resort allows this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant staff, great pools, good food.
The weak points
Lack of pool and beach chairs. Many tripping and tow stubbing hazards. Lack of hand rails.
Certified

Honeymoon gone wrong

, Calgary, AB
2018-11-19
My husband and I are not ones to complain, we generally stay at 3 star resorts in Mexico and are always satisfied, however this wasn't the case with the Reflect Krystal. When we booked months before our trip for our honeymoon we were assured by the rep that the renovations would be over by September and all of the restaurants would be open with the possibility of one closure per night. This was not the case. There are only 2 restaurants open out of the 4 and on some days only the Mexican restaurant is open. The buffet is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and it says that it rotates daily but it is obvious that it doesnt. This isn't usually an issue and we are used to seeing repeat food at other resorts but it was exceptionally gross here. The food at the buffet is almost inedible and the meals at the restaurants are sub par at best, with zero presentation. We left one meal on the table and my husband got food positioning our third day from the Grill, which is the second restaurant that was only open 2 days out of the 7 we were there. Our last evening we decided to brave the buffet because our experiences at the restaurants had been horrible and I got food poisoning. This made our travel home day very interesting to say the least.

The resort is small with one bar open after 10pm. It is a “sports” bar on top of the buffet that I didn't see a single person in the couple of times we tried to visit. Sound carries very easily and their nightly entertainment is lack luster and more annoying than entertaining. Their “Mexican” night turned into club music blaring into our hotel room until 1am. The swimout bar that is supposed to be finished, located in their infinity pool was far from finished and still under construction.

We have never experienced such a language barrier on a resort in Mexico. With the exception of the concierge, 1 bellboy and the manager it was almost impossible to communicate, order room service or request housekeeping.

Room service was included in our package and the food was decent but you can only eat hamburgers and nachos so many times in a week. The bars are stocked with brand name liquor and the spa does give a great massage.

Although the food, the noise, the language barrier and the entertainment weren't great they weren't the biggest issue. Our 3rd night my husband wasn't feeling well after the dinner, we decided to head back to our swimout room for a quiet night in. We decided to sit out our patio and relax. Our swimout room has a 12” high little wall that separates the pool from the patio that I often sat on while we were out there. Well, thank gosh I wasn't sitting there this night. The glass balcony 2 stories above us came crashing down, shattering a 5 foot sheet of glass in every direction. Bracing ourselves for what was coming next, we were terrified to look into the shallow pool in fear we would see a body come down with the glass. We had shards of glass all over our swimout, pool and patio and thankfully no body to follow. We sat there for 5 minutes before anyone came to investigate. We sat there for another 10 until we finally decided to call housekeeping ourselves. They swept up the mess and left. We sat there wondering what to do next. Our pool was completely unusable, we didn't feel safe on our patio, if someone had been in that pool they would definitely been on a trip to the hospital or worse. We never received a phone call from management and it took us going to the manager for them to even put up caution tape in front of the other swimout rooms for safety. Once we finally met with the manager on site we were offered another room down the hall simply because “they couldn't guarantee that even after it was cleaned that it would be safe” what about all the other rooms that weren't moved!!! Our new room had mold growing on the ceiling.

I was completely appauled by their response and lack of action regarding this. We inquired the next morning with management to find out exactly what happened and they couldn't provide an answer. They said that it could have been the “vibration from the music” or the “hot day and cooler evening” might have caused the cracking. Either way I sense a serious safety issue here! The next morning we requested to be moved to another one of their resorts at the recommendation of our travel agent. They informed us that there were no available rooms at any of their surrounding resorts (there are 3 very close by) we then found out there was an equivalent room at more than one of those resorts. This resort company advertises a “sip savor and see experience” where you can visit a sister resort for dinner at one of their restaurants and in an attempt to get off this resort I inquired about that, and they denied us that as well.

The only over positive thing we experienced at this resort was the generosity of their conceirrge Moses. He did really try to arrange things and take care of us within his power (which isn't much power) but he had excellent customer service and was a pleasure to deal with.

In summary we were more than disappointed with the safety, the quality and the food. We had higher hopes for a high end resort, owned by a high end company and it definitely did not measure up. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone and I hope that when construction is complete that they are functioning at a level we would expect from this resort company. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

My stay at the Krystal Grand Nuevo

, Steinbach, MB
2018-04-23
I arrived at 100PM and was told I couldn't ck in till 400pm. I was the only one on my bus. I waited till then for another bus to show up with a ton of people and then had to wait for all of them. Initial impression was not good. Then I was given a room in the old hotel and I only picked this resort because of the new building. It was extremely small. When I went back to try and change rooms they said they had none, and yet other staff said they were only 50% full. They said maybe the next day after 400PM. I went back the next day and they would change my room but I would have to pay $50.00 US per night. I had already paid over $1800.00 for my stay so didn't want to do that. I was not impressed with the food either. There was not as much America/Canadian food as I usually get in an all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool areas and grounds are beautiful. The new hotel is gorgeous however they wouldn't let me change rooms unless I paid an extra $50.00 US per night. The staff are friendly.
The weak points
Front desk staff were not great,
Certified

Fantastic Holiday - We will be back

, Calgary, AB
2018-04-20
Just back from a fantastic weeks stay on a mother/daughter trip. We had a wonderful time at the Krystal Grand. The bellman greeted us and took our bags directly to our room. Our first room was one of the original condos thst are now hotel rooms. We asked if we could be moved and we were the next day to a beautiful ocean view room in the new tower. The resort was originally a condo complex and is now operating as an all/inclusive resort. It has most things up and completed other than a couple of la carte restaurants. We like to go try the local resrurants as well so no big deal. It caters to weddings and concerences. They are still undergoing renovations so the gym, and spa are just temporary. We walked the beach for exercise and they still offered massages on the beach. The grounds and pools are fabulous. The snack bar food is great for lunch. We received great service. The staff work very hard and were always helpful and friendly. We don't need to be waited on hand and foot. It doesn't hurt us to get off our butts and go get a drink. We paid $1200 per person. It was a great deal for the price. Dig deeper and pay $500 per person and stay next door at the RUI. I layed at the beach and didn't have to cook. There were two resturants at the resort and we enjoyed both. Tbe buffet was set up outdide which was why we left the snow in the first place. People complained there wasn't enough food selection. We felt there was more than enough and it was always very good. We look forward to coming back when all the restaurants are completed. It will be a fab resort. I have been to over a dozen resorts throughout Mexico, and this was a great middle sized resort on a great beach snd a low price.. fYI complainers..please complain to management not to other guests. It's a downer. You are on vacation...enjoy it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and pool. Gorgeous ocean view rooms in tower. Wonder staff.
The weak points
Needs new beach chairs on the palapa side of the beach.
Certified

Mexico getaway

, Burlington, ON
2018-03-10
we were treated like Royalty. The staff catered to us from morning until night. Food was amazing, rooms, property, pools were very well kept. Quiet resort for people looking to relax. wifi very good for those who need to work. 2 weddings on the beach at our resort in 1 weekend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Lovely small resort

, Surrey, BC
2014-04-15
Enjoyed the fact that it was a smaller resort which made it more personable. But we travelled at a very quiet time? It was almost too quiet. Because there weren't many people there, the evening events such as casino night never happened so there was very little to do in the evenings.
The beach was beautiful. Were always able to get our best spot on the beach or at the pool (also very beautiful).
Even though we were all inclusive we always had to sign a bill for everything we ordered. The only thing we missed was a buffet which we would have preferred for breakfast or lunch. I enjoyed the food but my husband not so much.
The staff went above and beyond. They were so friendly and helpful. They really tried to make your stay enjoyable.
They kept the grounds very clean and neat. The room we had was also very clean. We had a studio room so it was a good size with two double beds. We also had a very nice balcony with a lovely view of the ocean which was a bonus. Our room had only a shower(which was really nice) but no bathtub.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for rest and relaxation. If you want some more action, this might not be the place for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, perfect for a very relaxing vacation
The weak points
Not enough entertainment in the evening and a buffet would be nice.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022