Riu Jalisco

Riu Jalisco
3.903.903.903.903.90
3.90 based on 638 reviews
#6 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Nayarit
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (116)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Riu Jalisco

, Regina, SK
2020-03-08
This was our 3rd stay at Riu Jalisco the hotel is still one of our favourites. The staff is top notch. The cleanness of the facility is second to none. The quality and quantity of the food is still great.
The evening entertainment was great especially in the lobby bar. The best show on the main stage was the Micheal Jackson show the others where good as well. The beach is the best in Nayarit.
The rooms are beginning to show their age but they are very comfortable and spotless.. The beach !! the food!!and drinks !!and the staff !!!I'll be back.!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above
The weak points
The hollow design of the building makes the room area quite nosy when people are coming to their rooms for the night.
Certified

Vacation at Riu Jalisco

, Regina, SK
2020-03-03
A nice relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are the strong points. Always willing to help or answer any questions.
Certified

Great Stay

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-10
For my first 3 nights, my room had a strong unpleasant chemical smell. I went through the trouble of moving to a different one and I was very happy with it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Free boogie boards were available most of the time but there should be more so you could have one whenever you wanted. Get more boards.
The weak points
The food was great except that some dishes were loaded with too much salt. If the cooks used minimal salt, diners could easily add more from the shakers on the tables.
Certified

Great Resort

, Calgary, AB
2020-02-04
this was our third time here and it did not disappoint. they changed our room to court yard view when we asked them to as repeat guests. we want to mention Barbara and Salvador (waiteress and waiter ) in the buffet .they treated us very well and were always very attentive to our needs. the buffet had a different theme every night so you didn't,t have to go to the al-lacartes.we did do the steak house and it was great.also like to mention Armando at the pool bar as he is such a hard worker and great bar tender.we will definitely recommend this resort to our friends and can't wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food ,good beach, great staff, entertainment was alright.small resort so it was easy to get around.
The weak points
rooms need some upgrading ,smelled moldy at times.
Certified

Traveler

, Medicine Hat, HA
2020-02-02
Was a wonderful time but to short as usual very happy to have had the privilege to have stayed at your hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and drinks the staff was excellent
The weak points
No coffee pot in rooms. The only thing that can be better is the Mc at entertainment mouth is held to close to mouth was muffled
Certified

A Solid 4 Star Resort

, Chilliwack, BC
2020-01-29
Friendly staff, well manicured grounds
Room a little small, but adequate with large bathroom with lots of storage
Speciality restaurant selections not much different than Buffett with self serve appetizers and desserts. Good value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
*excellent food and selection at main buffet *great massage *Beautiful beach, water is warm *entertainment good
The weak points
*seemed short staffed at times *no coffee in rooms, would be great to have coffee station set up in lobby in AM *could do with another outside bar to avoid long lineups
Certified

2019 Family Christmas

, Vancouver, BC
2020-01-01
This was a chance for my immediate family to escape the daily grind & disconnect for 7 days. It did not disappoint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Follow our own schedule, eat when we want, drink when we want, have fun, smile, hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly, felt very safe, theft wasn't an issue
The weak points
Better sleeping arrangements for 2 adults, (1) 18 yr old boy & (1) 15 yr old girl. Having our own beds would have been better. Only once, was a foreign object (fly) found in the food.
Certified

Good for young children

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-17
Over all this is a good family resort but is smaller than what we are used to. While the staff did an excellent job of cleaning, the resort is like a poor family member. The buildings are older and becoming run down, with elevator doors not closing properly, loose tiles etc.The beach and pool are excellent with lots of shade and good quality lounge chairs. The entertainment is great everywhere. We had a group of 11 with kids aged 7-14 and all had a great time. The younger ones really enjoyed the Riu Land at night on stage. The food and alcohol quality was good except for vegetarians in the group and there was no kids section in the buffet other than at lunch.The only problems we ran into was our 3 rooms were not together at check in but the front desk helped to get us in the same wing and floor at least. The other problem was that since our flight out wasn't till evening I enquired the day before we left about a late check out at the front desk. I was told there would not be a problem as long as I did it before 7 pm. I returned within the time but was told by Noemi Montes that there was nothing she could do and did not offer any other options and that she was in charge that evening. I returned the next morning and Armando restored my faith in the Riu chain. He was very professional and offered an hour extention and a room to shower if we wanted one before our flight. While we did not take him up on the offer of a room to shower, Armando show a high level of customer service skill that should be acknowledged. He is definitely a plus for the company! Hats off to all of the rest of staff in all areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach!! Staff!! A la carte restaurants!!
The weak points
Buildings need not only a refresh but lots of improvements. Need better vegetarian food that is not cooked with meats on the grill and always with cheese. Need kids section for dinner buffet. Not enough for Teens. Sports Bar poor-must pay to play
Certified

Great Place!

, Surrey, BC
2019-12-08
Overall nice property. Lots of variety for food. Rooms are nice. Bathroom is quite large and spacious. Would return here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Never had to wait for anything other than at the swim-up bar but never too long of a wait.
The weak points
I thought the main pool would have been a bit bigger due to the size of the resort but it was still a decent size.
Certified

Disaster Honeymoon/Wedding Trip

, Beaumont, AB
2019-12-02
Trust me and stay elsewhere!!! This place isn't worth it unless you like to be treated awful, unless you like poop daily in your pool and unless you like to be treated like your money and your experience there doesn't matter.
I cannot begin to tell you how awful this experience was for us. We booked our Wedding and Honeymoon here. We brought 16 guests (2 stayed at the Palace for cheaper) and half of us stayed for two weeks. We were treated so poorly, we were not welcomed as VIP guests and we were given a room with two beds pushed together when a king bed was requested. My poor husband fell in between the crack in the middle of the night. And although they had a kids pool and splash park they still allowed children to swim in the main pool. They were jumping and splashing pool water in everyone's drinks which is gross as is but then they had kids pooping in the pool and adults puking. This happened at least 5 times making it close down for 2-4 hours each time and when brought up to the General Manager his response was "Oh well, locals first and this is how they want it". I did cancel the wedding portion there as they wanted to charge a lot more than what it was worth so we had the wedding off site at an amazing restaurant but we were still honeymooners there and still did bring all these guests. There was no thank you, there was no special treatment and with all the awful things happening, there was no compensation. I would NEVER go back and I am hesitant to ever go to another Riu.
2 Double Beds pushed together for wedding/honeymoon couple
No VIP treatment when bringing group and when there as honeymooners
Kids pooping in pools daily
GM rude, racist and prejudice
No room service
No change in food options
Cockroaches Everywhere
Limited Wi-Fi Service
Bartenders only paid attention to the locals and if we were not tipping larger than 200 pesos every time they didn't care. In fact when tipping 20 to get attention for a SINGLE drink they said "not for that little"
AC was not very cold at all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Housekeepers were amazing
The weak points
Wifi is awful Food is constantly the same No Room Service and cant take food from restaurants Poop in pools daily No VIP or Welcome Amenities 2 Beds for Honeymooners (just push together) Management is racist

RIU JALISCO

, Edmonton, AB
2019-11-23
Excellent hotel and resort!
Thank you “Sandra” for taking care of us every morning for breakfast...you always greeted us with a beautiful smile and provided excellent service!!!
Also, thank you to “Pillo” my pool bartender...I love you Pillo!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and safe resort. The entire staff at the RIU JALISCO made this trip very memorable for my family.
The weak points
No weak points...everything was excellent!
Certified

Riu jalisco

, Stony Plain, AB
2019-11-19
Overall a lovely resort. I think that the Riu jalisco is due for a room update. We were surprised at how dated the rooms were. Quite disappointed in the hotel. Would be nice if the hotel would make an area for handi cap seating in the restaurants. A sign placed on a table with access would be great. The outdoor washrooms need to have a handicap button so they can access the facilities themselves.
There was splintering paint on the waterslide that someone ended up getting cut with. They did tape it off. The pool with the slide was the reason we chose this Riu.
The food was plentiful and good variety. Enjoy that they really are all inclusive. That includes alcohol.
Would be nice if the lounge chairs around the pool would be wiped down daily to remove the bird droppings.
A beautiful resort and well kept surrounds. Overall a very pleasant experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A great beach front. Plenty of choice to sit around the pool or lounge around the beach. Loved the surroundings.
The weak points
The room air conditioning was not working. We spent 3 days in a room that was 28.5c for our sleep. Noisy ceiling fan that squeaked constantly. The temperature never was cooler than 26.5c even after they repaired the issue.
Certified

Riu Jalisco - First time stay at a Riu

, Okotoks, AB
2019-05-16
Nice hotel, the "family room" is not a junior suite, just a room with 2 doubles pushed together and an old pull out couch. Other resorts actually have way nicer Junior Suites.
Food was awesome, although even the "al a cartes" are all still buffet except for the Steakhouse, which I would skip as the quality of the steak was not great. Buffets sure get old after 2 or 3 days.
Staff were amazing, the rooms were spotless, the hallways and common areas were constantly being swept and mopped. Bar staff was good, but the walk up pool bar had a continuous lineup, needed an extra bartender or two, considering the resort was full full.
As mentioned by another patron, the day the resort was full to almost over capacity with 7 buses arriving from inland, a pipe burst and there was NO water to the resort from 11 pm to 3 pm the next day. It was almost a Bio Hazard situation. The disappointing thing was we got no word or explanation or apology from the resort management. It would have been nice to have heard something from the hotel, but instead were told it will be fixed in two hours and then 4 hours and then 6 hours. The front desk staff actually stopped answering the phones. It was disgusting, BUT once the water pipe was fixed, the staff worked very hard to get everything cleaned up and smelling better again.
I would recommend, considering it is Mexico, there was nothing wrong with the resort, just lower your expectations a WEE bit on the room size and bed and then have a blast. Good value for the money you spend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
So clean, the staff worked so hard to keep everything tidy and shiny. The Foam Party was SO FUN!
The weak points
Lineups at walkup pool bar and luncheon barbeque outside the Steakhouse.
Certified

A Big Waste of money

, Brampton, ON
2019-05-09
waiters and waitresses very friendly, rooms smaller than most Riu resorts.
Beds are old and worn two double beds put together to make a kingsize bed.
we had NO water anywhere in the resort for 12hours one day that was fixed then the elevators were down. Security at the resort was a joke locales staying at the resort had one set of rules, tourists had another. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and restaurants, beach, wi fi
The weak points
entertainment (night) Animation team at pool and beach

Riu Jalisco

, Calgary, AB
2019-04-16
Great food ,upgraded to very good room ,they keep the grounds so nice ,always working hard, weather was perfect, beach was good , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
bartender at the bar near kids pool works so hard, great guy ,food excellent, weather was perfect
The weak points
need better entertainment at night, need coffee maker in rooms
Certified

Excellent resort!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-04-14
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this fantastic all-inclusive resort. It is a beautiful place where the hotel and grounds are immaculately maintained. The staff are exceptional and the food is nothing short of amazing! There is a very long, clean beach where you can take wonderful, leisurely walks.
Winds pick up in the afternoon making waves that are great for fun body surfing/ boogie boarding.
This should be a 5 star resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel and grounds, great staff and fantastic food.
The weak points
The only thing I can think of is that snorkeling was not good at the beach due to poor underwater visibilty.
Certified

Riu Jalisco

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-26
Friendly staff, helpful, pleasant atmosphere. Clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent buffets
The weak points
Seemed to be an echo with a lot of people talking, partying at times
Certified

5 stars - no way

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-12
This is not a 5 stars Resort!! Riu Palace is much better just few blocks away (visit 4 years ago) :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pools and good pool entertainment (GIL!!).
The weak points
Our room was not cleaned and the towels were not changed one time during our stay, even though we indicated it and ask for lotion and soup few times at reception. Seems like nobody care about that.
Certified

Not what i expected

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-03-11
smoking is absolutely terrible butts all over no designated smoking only areas . it was terrible people smoking and throwing their butts all over the ch and resort children inhaling this as well , hard to understand the commentators or singers,the hotel was clean and beach is decent but the entertainment was pretty lack luster and low budget, the food was mediocre at best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
smoking is absolutely terrible butts all over no designated smoking only areas . it was terrible people smoking and throwing their butts all over the ch and resort children inhaling this as well , hard to understand the commentators or singers
Certified

Riu Jalisco

, Beausejour, MB
2019-02-12
Had a fairly decent experience. I usually stay at smaller resorts so this was a little less frlendly as I experience at the smaller ones. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Lots variety and delicious food Very good entertainment during day and evening for families and adults
The weak points
Not enough serving staff at restaurants. Most of time I had to get my own drinks when sitting down for breakfast and lunch. And because I was by myself I found the servers to be more attentive to the groups of people and couples at the tables.
Certified

Riu Jalisco Feb 1-8 2019

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-10
A good week at this hotel.
Clean room serviced daily.
Prompt and friendly service by the kitchen staff
Nicest beach I have seen on the Pacific side.
Two thumbs up!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Jalisco 2019

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-02-06
This is our 4rth stay at the Riu Jalisco (out of 21 trips to Mexico), We chose this property this year because we wanted to have our Mothers join us this year and didn't want a surprise disappointment. This was our second 2 week stay and we very much enjoyed it, (as did our mothers). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good pools, good beach, good food, great hospitality. Great staff.
The weak points
This year was the first year that we experienced cockroaches in our room. (This really freaked the ladies out). I think they were getting in when the maids cleaned the rooms. Other than that, all was good.
Certified

Riu Jalisco

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-03
We have never been disappointed with our stay at the Jalisco and have been several times. Staff are great. Beach is wonderful. Our bed and room were comfortable. Weather is consistent, warm, no rain. We recommend to try the Jalisco. Food will not disappoint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness. Food always displayed beautifully and very tasty. Something for everyones tastes. Staff friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The nightly entertainment could be refreshed. I did enjoy the musicians that were brought in to play before the entertainment on the stage.
Certified

GOOD VACATION

, St Marys, ON
2019-01-31
Had avery good vacation ..food was good ..rooms were very well cleaned ..grounds were well kept ..always workers on site busy keeping things in order ..our room was a bit musty at times ,,our fan did not work even though we inquired about fixing it several times ..our room safe was out of order for a couple of days ? hallways kept clean but stairways not ..need to have chairs at pool and beach for those not able to sit in loungers for long periods of time ..need more staffing at busy times in restaurants as some of the workers were run off their feet trying to keep up ..drinks were great but also lack of staff at busy times ,we ate at the Italian a la carte but not great ..food was cold ..so just continued with the main buffet as food was always hot ..and well cooked ..or the beach buffet as food was ok here also ..beach needs a really good clean up of cigarette butts ..there was one person we saw trying to do a clean up but as fast as he was picking up ..people were putting butts in the sand again ..ocean was great ,,abit windy and wavy but their were parents in the water with kids ..sooo ...pool was very clean ..lots of loungers ..all in all a good vacation . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
buffet was good ..rooms immaculate ..resort workers very curtious .
The weak points
is older hotel ..need upgrades ..lots of places here and there that need repair ..white washing ..etc..

RIU Jalisco

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-29
first time at this resort, food was very good ,need more staff at beach restaurant,need chairs at pools and beaches ,loungers were uncomfortable, pool bars were good, need more entertainment in the lobby at night, entertainment at theatre was alright but you have to go early to get a table, need upgrading on the rooms ,some rooms smelled musty, moldy, they kept the grounds ,pool area very clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff work very hard to please, beach was good, pool area was good, food very good ,lots of variety
The weak points
very loud at pools, not enough staff at beach buffet, need more activities at night in lobby, rooms need upgrading
Certified

Riu Jalisco

, Chilliwack, BC
2019-01-27
The hotel and grounds are as beautiful as the picture. The beach is great though the water can be a bit rough for those who have mobility issues. If you like long walks along the beach this is the place for you. The food was okay with a lot of variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds. Hotel is very clean. The beach is large and you can go on long walks. The food is okay
The weak points
I was a bit disappointed in the service at meal times. It was very much seat yourself/make your own way. Even had to clean tables a couple of times. Very slow at providing beverages. It appeared to be understaffed.
Certified

Couple first trip away

, Edmonton, HA
2018-12-27
We were so excited to get away. Our first impression of our hotel wasn't great. Our room wasn't ready nor did they explain well when it would be ready. When we finally got the keys we didn't have our suitcases yet either. We were hot and tried by this point. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We enjoyed the customer service
The weak points
Food was okay if not weak Also we had cockroaches in our room twice Night life was too loud
Certified

Jalisco

, Vancouver, BC
2018-12-26
Nice location, nice beach, big waves and strong currents.. No life guard at the beach. They always had a red flag posted during our one week stay. Good food at the buffet. We did not try any restaurants. Lots of beach chairs and no problems with the beach towels. You get cards for the towels. Nice pools and good pool entertainment. Room and bathroom were run down quite badly and need a major overhaul. Our room was not cleaned and the towels were not changed one time during our stay, eventhough we indicated it needed cleaning. I went to the reception and was given towels. Not a big deal, but not a 5 stars either. Over all, 3.5 stars hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Food Location
The weak points
Run down rooms
Certified

Great place

, Richmond, BC
2018-12-04
Had an amazing time. I went by myself since it was last minute vacation and man does the Riu make you feel like home. Great facilities always something to do. Will definitely go back in the future . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and facilities
The weak points
Gym. A lot of equipment was out of order
Certified

Riu Jalisco

, Coquitlam, BC
2018-12-04
Good vacation with my two kids. We got a room with 3 beds (not pre-ordered) that was great, as my kids didn't have to share a bed. Food was OK. The good thing that you don't have to make the reservation for dinner at the restaurants. We liked the Italian and the steakhouse restaurants. The resort is very clean. People are very friendly and supportive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
You can always find a lounger in the pool or on the beach.
The weak points
Kids club is open only until 4:30 pm.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021