Paradisus Playa Del Carmen

Paradisus Playa Del Carmen
4.604.604.604.604.60
4.60 based on 43 reviews
#43 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (13)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Paradisus La Esmeralda

, Kelowna, HA
2020-02-07
Had a great experience. The resort is beautiful and the rooms are great. Service is top notch. Great dinners and bars. Beach was also very nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good dinners, great bars and service
The weak points
Breakfast buffet was not the best
Certified

Paradisus La Esmeralda

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-13
The Hotel was very nice. It is apparent that it is an older hotel and much of the exterior is in need of a fresh coat of paint. Our family went in January and found the pools to be quite cold. The waterpark was heated, but the little kiddies pool beside it was not. The pool with the Pirate Ship was fun for the kids, but again quite cold. There is also no hot tub (other than the Spa), which would have been nice to have. The kids club was spectacular and the staff were fantastic with the children. We paid for family conceirge and I am still not entirely sure it was worth it for the money. There are some nice perks such as access to the private pool (heated), an eating area for breakfast and lunch and the personal butler. We did not see the butler often. The butler did book our dinner reservations, golf and a few other small tasks...but again not sure it was worth the money. The food was tremendous and we enjoyed nearly all of our el a carte meals. This is a very large resort, taking into consideration the family and adult side that are attached, just forewarning. It is busy and I believe while we were staying it was only at 70 percent occupancy. We were lucky with the weather and only had rain affect our day once out of seven days. The gym was nice and did not seem to be very busy. It did always seem like the resort and its staff were trying to make money. The pressure for the time share presentation was not nearly as bad as the other reviews had mentioned though. Overall, our family enjoyed our stay immensely. I am not sure that we would go back, but it is now a very fond memory. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Perfect Resort For Families

, Westlock, AB
2019-12-23
Our family of five stayed at this resort from Dec 13, 2019, to Dec 21st. We had an amazing time, the staff was so friendly! Irving at guest services was awesome! Our kids, ages 4, 9, and 10, even enjoyed going to the kid zone. Their were shows for the family every evening. The Coco party was so good, Lion King show, magic show, and Mexican party just to name a few. The food was great, we loved the buffet at Naos, their were a lot of choices that always changed. My favourite was the tepenyaki show at Bana. La Palapa on La Perla side was a great date night without the kids. The beach was beautiful! The whole family loved seeing the turtles and the fish in the eco hall! We are hoping to return to this resort next december! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, so many activities for the kids, our room was great, private balcony with a jacuzzi tub!
The weak points
If you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the Gabi club as it is very loud at night.
Certified

Great Family Vacation

, Surrey, AB
2019-11-23
We just returned back from from this resort! we had a great time and I strongly recommend the family concierge. the staff are amazing and helpful. We felt safe and were taken care of our whole stay. food was great and high quality. I have been to mexico 8 times and this resort was the best I've stayed at. between the specialty coffees and treasure hunt for my kids, we felt spoiled! we will be back. this is also a great resort for those with food allergies, they are very aware and careful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, pools, staff, coffee, beach, safe
The weak points
furniture needs a refresh, wooden bridges need some maintenance
Certified

Paradise at Paradisus

, Huntsville, ON
2016-07-20
The private transfer was wonderful. We stayed in the family section, but could go over to the adults only side. It was nice to have reservations made for the a la cartes upon arrival. Service in all areas was superb! Rooms spacious. Beach nice. Was a 45minute walk into Playa del Carmen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Pro

Best hotel for guests with complicated diets

, Toronto, ON
2016-02-05
This hotel doesn't only offer great service, comfortable rooms and a relaxing atmosphere, it also has one of the most dedicated culinary staff in regards to food safety I've ever encountered at an all-inclusive. Diego, the head sous chef checked in with me regularly on a daily basis and altered his schedule significantly to make sure he would be on-site in whichever restaurant I had planned to dine at. My allergies are such that I've come to expect any chef who is seriously about food safety to spend a little time with me so they can better understand what I can eat and what I can't. Diego and the head chef's of each restaurant went over and beyond what I experienced in the past. As a result it was literally the safest culinary experience I have ever had at an all-inclusive resort.
Chef Max from Passions restaurant redesigned his entire 7 course menu on the night I ate there to make sure there would be nothing I was allergic to in the dishes and provided a special salt tasting menu since salt is one of the few seasonings I can safely enjoy. His creativity in regards to creating 7 perfect dishes without dairy, grains of any kind, spices, nightshades, legumes, processed sugars, additives, fillers, or any of the other things on the obnoxiously long list of things my body reacts to was astounding. For someone who is literally allergic to everything this resort is a g-dsend. The fact it's also a great resort is just icing on the cake. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for complicated diets, clean rooms, soothing spa music played in the common areas is completely relaxing, friendly and attentive staff, it's nice to be able to go over to the adults only section at LaPerla.
The weak points
To many people selling time-shares
Pro

Paradisus Esmeralda

, Woodbridge, ON
2014-07-25
Hotel was great food and family amenities were good. Highly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great access to Playa Del Carmen's Fifth Ave.
The weak points
None
Certified

First time all incl.

, Uxbridge, ON
2014-03-20
from the moment we checked in to the last second before check out was a very calm and enjoyable stay with a big surprise for us, as first time all incl. travelers fairmont& four seasons have been great but the service watch out as this hotel is running as if it was a contender for the top in class service...cheers to all the pool staff,cleaning staff...all with smile and a true need to satisfy...i enjoyed over tipping these wonderful people...get youeself the butler deal...they make the trip feel as if you under paid and they over delivered...rand that don't happen much! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff with a four seasons attitude but without the price...our one bedroom master suite was better than expected and the web site does not do justice to the hotel our suite overlooked the ocean and was equipped with a bathroom you could live in...
The weak points
the MOLE was the miss poor food and even less sevice...alittle to many little ones crying in the small number of places you can eat with your under 18 child...forced your 16 year old to deal with 6 year old rules shame they do not have a teen family vers
Certified

Fabulous

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-18
Fantastic resort. I almost don't want to tell you how good it is because you will all book it and it will be more expensive for me next time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent for families. Really know how to make a special vacation. Great 1 BR suites. Excellent food.
The weak points
Only complaint is dinner doesn't start until after 6pm - little ones are tired after so much fun during the day. Dinner ends in tears.
Certified

Family friendly

, Kitimat, BC
2014-02-04
Hotel was Great.Everything we read about the restaurants was accurate.they out do themselves on every meal.Family Concierge worked hard to make my Grandkids time memorable.The kids absolutely loved the kids room and it was nice for the parents to know the kids were happy and well cared for there.We did not like the set up for the entertainment.The Gabi Club area was great for the fire show and the dance shows.But in the Bar inside they set up a stage and some chairs for some other shows which was really uncomfortable and very limited viewing.The bar has a huge decorative feature running floor to ceiling which was right in the middle of the entertainment.not a good set up at all.for a resort that size a nice theatre would have been greatly enjoyed.The beach was great.even better off the resort.just past the resort is a public beach and that seemed even better.no rocks and a small pool that had fresh water and salt water in it..so the kids loved it and called it their kiddy pool.lots of locals swimming there on the weekend so that was fun as well.Easy to get into playa del carmen if you want to see the city.the resort was perfect for what we needed it for.time with the grandkids.watching them play and enjoy the sand.older kids i think would have been bored.not much action around the pools.music was repetitive and geared toward the really young kids.would i recommend it...YES!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants were Fabulous.Beach was calm most days so all could swim safely.Next to the resort was a public Beach and Sanote area that had a small pool with part salt/part fresh water the kids loved as it was shallow and sand was great.Staff was friendly/
The weak points
area for viewing Entertainment in the evening was poorly designed.Entertainers worked hard to put on a good show but very few could enjoy it.Little pool activities.not a good place for an active young adult
Certified

Wonderful

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-25
This was our second year in a row at this resort and not to any surprise we had a amazing time again.

The staff are all very welcoming and super friendly. They go out of their way to assist you.

This resort is very kids friendly with variety of programs to keep them entertained.

We enjoyed the food at all the venues, from the pool side grill to restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff
The weak points
$1,000 coupons, we couldn't event use a $1. It was very restrictive.
Certified

World class in every way

, Aurora, ON
2013-11-27
Beautiful resort, outstanding service and food even foodies will love.

The family concierge experience just blew us away and I highly recomend it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Cleanliness, Facilities
The weak points
None that I can think of
Certified

Amazing

, Thornhill, ON
2013-06-01
Melia as always the best of the best [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Perfect vacation
The weak points
Can't think of any
Certified

Great time at the La Esmaralda

, Stittsville, ON
2013-04-16
We had a great time at PARADISUS PLAYA DEL CARMEN LA ESMERALDA. Being two adults traveling, we were happy that we could take advantage of the "adult only" restaurants. The food was wonderful and the drinks plentiful. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. We will be returning! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is very helpful and friendly; the pool area offers quiet areas as well as more action areas, the food is great.
The weak points
None
Certified

Stay at Esmeralda Playa Del Carmen

, Courtney , BC
2013-03-06
Easy trip to Resort from airport, easy check-in, upgraded, restaurants easily booked. All personnel extremely friendly and efficient. Food excellent. Easy to walk around to any part of resort. Everything extremely clean and well maintained. Big clean comfortable rooms. Beach and pool seating easy to access. Beautiful beach with bar and food outlets handy. We are a couple in our late 70's and enjoyed everything about the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Total class, cleanliness, all staff friendly and efficient. Super ambiance with gardens, facilities, pools and buildings spectacular.
The weak points
None
Certified

Great place...great beach, great food.

, Courtney , BC
2013-03-03
We got an upgrade to one bedroom suite with Jacuzzi on the deck and large soak-er tub. Beach was fantastic, could walk safely in either direction for miles...security personal and yes....blue, clear water. Good entry to swim either side of the resort beach, like 2 minutes walk to either side of the mangroves (natural growth in water to protect erosion). No big deal. Food was delicious,did four coarse restaurants every evening..yum, yum. Entertainment was of smaller crowds and very fun. We danced in secluded areas to the music. Everyone had a great seven days and would return in a heart beat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Immaculate resort, new modern design, kept spotless, staff incredible. Food delicious in every aspect.
The weak points
Resort front beach has the natural mangroves, so water not so clear, but head either way and it becomes as nice as any beach on the Riviera Maya.
Certified

Paradisus Best Hotel In Playa Del Carmen

, Cote St Luc, QC
2013-02-26
no complaints definitely all positives. must stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- food - service - location - clean
The weak points
- no internet on beach - visitor guest passes too expensive
Certified

Excellent, Truly 5 Star All Around

, Kingston, ON
2013-02-18
Excellent hotel and vacation package. 5 star resort from all aspects - food, accommodations, amenities, service. I have already recommended this resort to my family and friends.

The only down side was the up-front sales pitch to join the Melia vacation club. They essentially asked for $40,000 commitment on the first morning of our arrival - this was done before we had even seen the beach or experienced the resort. The sales pitch would have been more appropriate on day 4 or 5 of our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, amenities, service.
The weak points
Melia vacation club sales pitch
Certified

True Paradise

, Toronto, ON
2012-12-26
My best experience within the last 10 year. Great resort and even better staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
10 of 10 on every aspect.
The weak points
Why did I book only one week :(
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021