Viva Wyndham Maya

Viva Wyndham Maya
3.783.783.783.783.78
3.78 based on 403 reviews
#39 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (139)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Very good, perfect value for money

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-14
we like the hotel overall. it is old and needs updates, but we knew it in advance from the reviews. we like that everything is close to you and no need to go far for the beach, buffet and activities. it is also in 45 min of walk from Playa del Carmen, which gives you another opportunity to spend you time there. it is a very cozy hotel. staff was very helpful, they changed our room by request and helped us to move quickly. all our needs were met. we like the entertainment very much, for kids and adults as well. thank you Viva Wyndham Maya, we had a great time there and think to return next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff is very helpful, entertainment was very good, beach is fantastic!
The weak points
food has less variety compared to 5 stars:-), the facility needs some renovations, rooms are small, with additional kid's bed there was no space at all.
Certified

Pretty good stay at the Viva Maya

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-07
We stayed from Feb 24, 2020 to March 2,2020.
Check in process went on smoothly. We were greeted with a nice fruit drink and was explained about the enviro tax which worked out to be around $12 US for the week and the $2 US per day for the secure safe, which we paid at checkout. Checkout was done pretty smoothly as well. You need to get your bracelet removed to get a ticket for the bus ride back to the airport.
The room was nice and clean. It smelt like chlorine when we got in, but not overpowering. The beds were comfy, the pillows were a bit hard and we needed the fleeced blanket at night....got cool at night. "Loco" weather in Feb. The shower worked well, got plenty of hot water. There was a flat screen TV which we didn't use. Wifi in the room was adequate. We ended up on the main floor on the B side of the resort, which worked out fine for us as it was pretty quiet and we didn't hear the night time entertainment in our room, plus we were so close to everything, the a la cart restaurants. The beach wasn't far, so nice when the resort isn't so big.
There was the trapeze where both adults and kids can try out and they have good nightly entertainment.
There were plenty of lounge chair, didn't have to worry about reserving one ahead of time. The weather wasn't so nice and the waves were huge, the flag warning was red the whole week we were there, so we didn't get to try the kayak or the cataraman, however my husband and son tried the parasailing near by, cost $65 US per person. They take you to the boat by jet skis and take your pictures for an extra cost. We didn't try the snorkelling nor the massage either...maybe next time. We also liked the archery part. My son and I painted potteries and the price depended on the size. Once you finished paining the guy "beautify" the piece for you, add glaze and I guess put in the oven and it's ready for pick up the next day. They had many things we didn't try, like bocce ball, volleyball, beach soccer, dance lesson, Spanish lesson and Zumba.
Plenty of interesting birds around... a lot of seagulls and blackbirds, but I particularly like t he wood pecker. There's also the agouti, a type of big rodent...kinda look like tail less squirrel quasi rabbit.
You can tell the resort was well cared for, you see the housekeeper sweeping even at night and the gardeners keeping the place clean. Everyone works so hard....the bartenders and the waiters.
We didn't like the food at the buffet that much, but there are plenty of choices for everyone. We loved the a la cart restaurants. Our favourite was the Mexican, followed by the Mediterranean and then the Viva Cafe. We couldn't get into the Italian restaurant so can't say much about that. The Mexican restaurant had some amazing mango margarita, so delicious and the steak was awesome!
Outside the resort there is a nearby mall with Starbucks and pharmacy, jewelry stores and the lot, but I found everything to be pricey....we didn't get a chance to venture out to Playa del Carmen this time around. We did take the Tulum/Cenote/Coba tour and that was interesting, but a full tiring day though.
Oh and I forgot to mention they have a 24 hour snack bar right where the pools are and they serve pizza, hamburgers, taco's and other variety of food......good when you come in late and still be able to find something to eat.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. It looks like they have a well organized place for the kid's club too. Friendly staff too!
We didn't try the pool during our stay, we just stayed at the beach. The pool was pretty small and is often crowded.
Would suggest bringing your own Kleenex box as they don't have it in the room. The fridge is there, but empty......best bring your own water bottle where you can fill up from the water station....it was steps away from our room. I suggested to the hotel to have a place to hang wet towels/bathing suit in the balcony since there isn't any place to hang them.
There were a lot different nationalities there, a lot of French Canadians, Italians, Polish. I think we were a minority English speaking guests. I also like to mention that we had a problem with our safe and they had a guy fix it within 1/2 hour...I thought we had to wait for him for hours! ...so that was great service right there. Thanks Viva Maya for everything! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean affordable resort with friendly staff. Loved that there is a 24 hour snack bar.
The weak points
The buffet dinner selection could be improved. The Asian theme dinner was underwhelming. The pool was small, but still OK since we came for the beach!
Certified

Wonderful hotel and vacation!

, Surrey, BC
2020-01-07
We absolutely loved our time at the hotel and will definitely come back. We have stayed in various hotel chains in Mexico and Caribbean, and this is one of our favourites for sure. Details:

- hotel grounds: perfect size, easy to walk around but not too small, very clean and well kept, almost no mosquitoes, lots of animals, lots of shade when waking around the hotel.
- beach: absolutely gorgeous, white sand, clear water, warm, great for swimming, ton of beach chairs and shade available, no need to reserve chairs in the morning.
- pool: lots of shallow parts, clean, no swim-up bar which is good for people with kids. There's also an adult-only pool and a kids pool near the main one.
- food: delicious, lots of variety at the buffet, Mexican and Mediterranean restaurants were great, didn't get to try the Italian. You can make 3 restaurant reservations if you're staying for a week, and you can book them all in one go. Victor at the Mexican one and Juan at the Mediterranean one went out of their way to accommodate us, thank you!
- rooms: clean, comfortable, ac not noisy, good showers and bathroom. Could use better amenities (shampoo, conditioner, bar soap).
- connectivity: this is the first hotel I've stayed in Mexico that offers free wifi in the grounds! Not super great but enough to stay connected to the world. However, you have to pay to use your room safe, so evens out in the end.
- staff: wonderful and friendly, very accommodating. Entertainment and trapeze crew were great. Shout out to Laura who had lunch with us often and was a wonderful human being.
- kids club: so caring, good space with playground and shallow pool, a different fun activity at 3pm everyday and mini disco at 9pm. My daughter was very happy participating in the activities, including cooking classes, piñata party, face painting, dancing games, circus classes, etc. Huge thank you to the whole crew!
- activities: trapeze classes, sailing tours, kayaks, beach sports, archery, bikes, ping pong, stand up paddling... no lack of fun things to do, all included already!
- nearby: there's a mall area right outside the hotel for cheap souvenirs, and you can walk to 5th Avenida in Playa del Carmen in 20-30 minutes (through the road or beach). From Playa del Carmen you can also take a 30 min ferry to Cozumel (Ultramar) and spend a day in Cozumel which is awesome (Rent a car for the day and drive around the island stopping for snorkeling, beaches, restaurants, parks). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, hotel grounds, shade everywhere, family oriented, kids club, food, comfort, friendly staff.
The weak points
Better amenities, softer pillows, smaller bikes for children. In-room safes should be free. Would be nice to have a water slide in the kids pool.
Certified

Mexico

, Pictou, NS
2019-05-01
Very very good Lovely staff all the way around
Rooms were a bit small but that was ok
A la cartes were very good
All the food was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great bar tenders
The weak points
Some seaweed at times
Certified

Vacation

, Chilliwack, BC
2019-04-17
This was our 11th year in a row on this stretch of beach. 3rd year in a row at Wyndham Maya. We always look for price because all hotels in area share same beach. This hotel is good for price. Food and drinks as well as rooms at all 4 resorts we stayed at are good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price. Small resort. Always room on beach. Very pleasant wait staff. Activities.
The weak points
Incorporate safe charge in price instead of paying at checkout.
Certified

Good stay at Viva Maya

, East St Paul, MB
2019-01-01
Good overall impression. Stayed Dec 17 to 24th, 2018. I am a picky customer and I would recommend this resort to anyone, maybe except people who want to play tennis there as their rooftop tennis courts are unusable.All aspects: the room, food, entertainment, beach, activities, water equipment, etc were to my satisfaction. Note: this is an all inclusive resort for a good value, and if you expecting to drink good wines or perfect drinks prepared with good quality alcohol, you have to settle for what is a norm in such resorts, which is mediocre wines, mediocre beer, and low quality spirits. But there are FREE. You are welcome to walk 150 meters to a shopping mall in Playa Car and buy your own bottle of good rum or wine. Be reasonable in your expectations.
The rooms are clean and well maintained, air conditioning is quiet and working, grounds are well kept, the beach is perfect and raked/cleaned daily, the beach loungers are washed daily, the entertainment is good. They have a trapeze acrobatics open to public, and very helpful instructors.
The nightly entertainment is good, particularly the acrobatic team. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good overall resort.Tasty, freshly prepared food. Well staffed, used plates and glasses are right away. Well kept grounds. Clean facilities and rooms. Bars, buffets, pools, beach, entert areas well laid out and in convenient distance. Perfect beach
The weak points
The roof top tennis courts are totally unusable due to unsuitable type of surface. No water bottle refill restrictions are completely unreasonable. Hard pillows. Mediocre wines , beer, and domestic drinks (but they are free!! )
Certified

5th time here

, Stony Plain, AB
2018-12-29
Tried a la carts, viva cafe could have been better. Portofino was awesome. Pools were freezing. Loved Christmas there. Kids club is total highlight of the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the activities the kids club put together. Excited that wifi was offered in more places this time.
The weak points
Pools were freezing. Food was bland and repeated lots.
Certified

Lack of seafood.

, Burnaby, BC
2018-11-08
Adequate for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great week away

, Washago, ON
2018-03-26
Absolutely had a great time. The room was beautifully kept clean and as very comfortable. There was however a lot of noise from the hallway. Also the sound of the entertainment at night was heard clearly in the room. The beach was kept clean and the chairs were comfortable. Staff was constantly making sure glasses were cleared away and always friendly and helpful. The food was great and lots of it. As were the drinks. Great time away Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Holiday and hospitable resort

, London, ON
2018-02-20
From the front Lobby to The beautiful beach this resort is staffed with well trained hospitable staff.
My room was well maintained and very clean. The shower which you read bad reviews about all the time at other resorts was excellent I'd switch mine from home in a heartbeat.My maid was great and kept things ship shape.
I found the food to be good with enough selection to change it up on a daily basis. The restaurants that needed a reservation were very nice serving well prepared foods that took some of the repetition away from the Buffet.
We met a couple of fellow Canadian travelers that were staying next door at the Wyndham Azteca and they prefered the food at our resort as they had dining privileges at both resorts.
The pools were great and kept spotless. There were a lot of families there during my stay so I opted to hangout at the Ocean to avoid the very excited children that seemed to be everywhere.
The Beach is stunning and the water is refreshing having all the post card colours of The Gulf with constant waves and breeze but not too rough and with very little undertow and no rocks.There is a lifeguard on duty all day!
I really enjoyed the Pool Bar the bartenders are some of the best I have had and I work in the hospitality industry in Canada.
A big shout out to my favourite bartenders Fidencio and Luis Pedro.
As you can tell I really enjoyed this resort and its staff a very dedicated group of what appear to be happy employees. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and cleanliness with a great beach and ocean.
The weak points
This has nothing to do with the resort but customs took over an hour to process us on arrival.The resort has few if any weak points.
Certified

Excellent Experience

, Ottawa, ON
2017-12-28
Our stay at Viva Riviera Maya was very enjoyable. The cleaning, serving, activities, and reception staff were all friendly, professional and went out
of their way to make our entire experience fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The trapeze activity staff were awesome. They made me feel welcome, safe and encouraged to do my best. The watersports staff located on the beach were very professional and helpful. Serving staff made sure you never ran out of food and drinks at each meal
The weak points
The rooms were very white. I had expected more warm or fun colours.
Certified

Definitely not for non smokers

, Calgary, AB
2017-01-26
Resort was nice, service staff were excellent, so is the beach. Not a lot of adult activities and smoking was unfortunately everywhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great, so were a la carte restaurants. Serving staff are excellent
The weak points
Catered to Europeans-smoking everywhere. Activities more geared to kids, not a lot for adults.
Certified

Fourteen

, Quispamsis, NB
2016-04-12
everything was very good - we had 7 couples traveling we all had a great time but myself and one other couple had something taken from our rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice!!

, Scarborough, ON
2015-09-22
Better than alot of reviews say....they are probably just too picky..service and hospitality is great. Food is more than decent with variety but the same every day. Rooms good,just try and stay away from the construction side...can be noisy early morning. Beach is nice. Drinks are a little watered down but lots to choose from. Close to city....over all worth the buck.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness.. Customer service...variety of drinks..
The weak points
Some construction.. Same food every day but still not bad..
Certified

Great 3 star hotel good value for the money

, North York, ON
2015-05-02
This is an extremely clean resort with a great beach and no rocks or weeds in the water. One of the best locations on the beach for sure. Lots of seating at the beach and pool, pool is warm. Over 100 Palapas on the beach, great coffee and cappuccino from the pool bar, you can enjoy it on the beach. Food is good, could use more variety and the dining room buffet needs to be air conditioned its sweltering hot in there for patrons, cooks and wait staff. This is a good clean 3 star hotel not a 4. Hard working friendly staff, Good value for the money, I would recommend this hotel and would come here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanest hotel, good value for money
The weak points
Smokers everywhere throwing their cigarette butts on the beach...yuck!!! Need to air condition the dining room, sweltering hot for patrons, cooks and wait staff... everybody sweating profusely
Certified

GOOD VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY

, Brampton, ON
2014-06-15
PROS

1.LOVELY BEACH
2.GOOD LOCATION
3.RESORTS A GOOD SIZE
4.NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT IS GOOD
5.LOTS OF DAY TIME ACTIVITIES
6.BARTENDERS AND STAFF ARE VERY NICE : )
7.PLENTY OF BEACH CHAIRS
8.LOTS OF THINGS FOR YOUNG CHILDREN

CONS
1.DISCO AT NIGHT ISNT VERY GOOD.
2.FOOD IS OFTEN THE SAME EVERYDAY
3.ROOMS NEED TO BE UPDATED.
4.AFTER THE NIGHT TIME ENTERTAINMENT AND SHOW THERE ISNT MUCH ELSE TO DO [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN AND WOULD RECOMMENDED IT TO ANYONE ELSE. GREAT FOR SINGLES, COUPLES, FAMILIES WITH OR WITHOUT YOUNG CHILDREN
The weak points
DON'T EXPECT AMAZING MEALS
Certified

M

, Vancouver, BC
2014-03-24
We had a nice time, but since we are not smokers, there were to many people smoking in the NON SMOKING AREAS, which made our stay less pleasant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
people were smoking in the NOT SMOKING AREAS
Certified

March break

, Scarborough, ON
2014-03-19
It is a decent place for a family. Beach is great. The rooms need updating. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is very clean. Food is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, very clean and kids have a lot of activities. Buffet food is fine. Restaurents are great.
The weak points
Rooms need update. Bed is not comfortable. They need to make the fornt lobby more attractive. The first impression you get, when you go is not great. It feels liks a motel.
Certified

Viva Wyndham Maya

, Lloydminster, SK
2014-03-14
Nice hotel that looked just as it was advertised. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location,awesome beach,friendly helpful staff and looked as good as advertised.
The weak points
The nightly entertainment could be better.
Certified

Beautiful Beaches - Not so beautiful food

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-03-13
Read the reviews! I brought my own water bottles and kleenex and was glad that I did. The hotel only supplies you with one water bottle but you can refill in any restaurant. The staff was very nice;the hotel could use some work - especially the plumbing. We had a toilet that ran unless you jiggled the handle after every use. The cleaning staff was good. The food was below average. We didn't starve but did not enjoy the buffet like we have in other resorts. The shows were excellent-very good production quality. The beach was incredible. If you plan on taking the trip to Coba, bring school supplies and/or candies for the kids you will see in the Mayan village. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, cleanliness, evening shows
The weak points
The food was flavourless and boring, bathroom issues - running toilet and toilet lid that wouldn't stay up
Certified

Had a great time

, St Catherines, ON
2014-02-12
We found the staff, grounds, rooms and restaurants very welcoming and clean. The beach and oceanfront are fantastic and there is lots of beach chairs. They offer trapeze which we have never seen at another resort - my husband enjoyed it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach; friendly and hardworking staff; very clean
The weak points
No fridge in our room unless we upgraded, so no cold water, beer, etc. But there was always cold fresh water at the bars and restaurant to refill your bottles. Sunwing representatives - uninformative briefing, and got no gift as promised unless u book
Certified

Viva Wyndham dec 27 to jan3 14

, Mission, BC
2014-01-05
Well laid out good for families because it is not very big, it is easy to find your way around and is close to the beach.
unfortunately people do NOT pay attention to the DO NOT reserve beach chairs so if you do follow the beach rules you will not get a chair. Very disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very well laid out resort, everything is easily accessible. Is good for families.
The weak points
In room 1277it was very noisy due to the constant staff traffic from the Riu Playacar walkway as well as the staff walkway from the Viva Maya.
Certified

Disappointing

, Calgary, AB
2013-12-31
Not much to say. Average in general, nothing to stand out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location (Playacar) and beach.
The weak points
No fridge in room. Restaurant personnel too eager to clean up tables (often with unfinished meals).Bottled water need to be purchased.Other.
Certified

Great time@Viva Wyndham Maya

, Winnpeg, MB
2013-12-25
great location,food,activities,staff and beach. Building A and B hear noisy music late at night, no elevator, no clock in rooms.Would love to go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach,staff,location,food,activities
The weak points
no clock in room,no elevator, AC not working well,noisy at night
Certified

Great hotel!

, Montreal, QC
2013-11-16
Booked last minute and loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Food
Certified

Great Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2013-11-08
Great hotel! Well kept with a lot of activities including stage shows every night, games for bad weather and lots of sport activities in the good weather. The beach and swimming in the ocean were perfect. Food was standard and the room was a little dissapointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is exactly what we wanted and the staff was very pleasant and helpful.
The weak points
The bathroom was very cramped and awkward. The toilet lid had to be held open during use because the toilet was placed under the only shelf so it couldn't be opened all the way.
Certified

Great!

, Oshawa, ON
2013-11-03
I enjoyed the resort. The food was great, but the Mexican restaurant was not very good. The staff was excellent, shows were good, beach is fantastic and great drinks. Overall we had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food, staff, location the Mayan ruins(coba)
The weak points
Mexican restaurant. This has nothing to do with the resort, but Mexico has become very expensive. When you pay $8.00 for a bag of lays chips you know the prices are out of hand.
Certified

Great location and resort

, Oakville, ON
2013-10-31
We just returned from the Maya and had a great time. The employees were friendly and very helpful when needed. The food was very good with lots of options including healthy ones. The beach is beautiful and there were lots of chairs available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and price
The weak points
Bathrooms
Certified

Disappointing for first vacation

, Brampton, ON
2013-10-29
Food - Restaurants were very nice, good food, good service, very enjoyable. The buffet was the problem! It was supposed to be a different theme every night, Mexican, Italian, International, Mediterranean, etc. except it was Mexican Corner for four days... gross. Too much of the same food and we were only allowed to go to the restaurants three times max. So our only options were the buffet and the snack bar (which consisted of the exact same food as the buffet!).

Front desk - very unhelpful. Inconsistent with answers among staff members, they're not knowledgeable. It's frustrating.

Beach - Clean, lovely, enjoyable. Lots of sport activities, para sailing, sea doo! etc. Most things are at an extra cost. Other resorts to the left and to the right, looking up and down the beach lots of other people.

Security - Solid. well done. I felt very safe. Considering how many other resorts are around and the few security guards you see, it feels safe.

Servers/Bartenders - Lovely people, especially if you tip. They're very quick if you tip. friendly. fun.

Room - Even with the air conditioning on, it felt sticky. had a bit of a strange smell. Clean overall. I did not like the shower head... it was just a wand, no way to really have the water coming directly over your head like a classic shower head. - Maids were good at cleaning the room everyday.

Night shows! - Fun, enjoyable, and very different every night, kept your attention.

Disappointing for my first vacation, I will not go back to this resort. Bit to stressed out from the front desk "help" and minimal information given until it was too late. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bartenders but not all of them
The weak points
front desk and food
Certified

Great!

, Hamilton, ON
2013-10-11
Great hotel,Great location,Great staff,Great entertainment and Good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything, really enjoyed the adult only Relax Pool.
The weak points
Only one 610ml. of bottled water supplied for our two week stay.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021