Viva Wyndham Azteca

Viva Wyndham Azteca
3.883.883.883.883.88
3.88 based on 292 reviews
#84 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (55)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Viva Wyndham Azteca

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-09
The hotel is in a nice, safe gated community with lots of RIU hotels. This hotel is old and dated. It functions well with hard working staff and is trying hard but is underwhelming compared to what else is available at this price point. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff work hard. The property is well cared for and clean. The beach is big with lots of palm trees providing shade. Hotel provides free bicycle use which we enjoyed. The housekeeping was excellent.
The weak points
The hotel is very dated with what looks like the original furniture and fittings from when it was built. The pool is small and people put their towels out early to reserve sunbeds. We were never able to use the pool because of this.
Certified

Terrific place

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-20
From the moment of check in at arrival to the check out time , everything was top notch at the resort .. staff super friendly and hard working keeping this hotel and beach area amazingly clean and running smoothly .. have been on beach vacations about 10 times and this has to be the most relaxing and comfortable one so far ... and yes the food was great with too many choices and the pool bar had a huge selection of food thru the day that we did not even go once to the lunch buffet restaurant even once in seven days !!! This resort and its sister one which was 4 notes over were completely sold out when we were there .. that says something about the quality and all around popularity of the Viva Resorts in Riviera Maya ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food , beach , amenities ... etc
The weak points
None ..
Certified

EXCELLENT TIME AT VIVA WYNDHAM AZTECA

, Ottawa, ON
2017-08-29
I spent 2 wonderful weeks at this resort and would give it a 5 star review. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small resort. Every aspect was excellent. Short distance from Playa del Carmen's downtown with a Catholic Church in the center (Capilla de Nuestra Senora del Carmen).
Certified

Wyndham Azteca

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2017-01-03
I needed a week alone to relax and not use up any brain cells. Pre-requisites were a clean room with a good shower, a nice beach, decent food, a gym,....
What I got was a nicely renovated room with a great shower, a big beautiful beach with soft sand and plenty of distance to walk, and a good enough gym (would be better with some air conditioning). The food was good enough although you need to be a bit choosy if you like to eat reasonably healthy. Staff was very nice and accommodating.
It really was exactly what I was looking for. I'm not the best source if you are looking to be up all night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, room
The weak points
wi fi (but I was there to NOT be connected
Certified

Definitely not a 4 star...maybe 2.5-3

, Sherwood Park , AB
2016-11-17
Did not have a very glowing welcome to the hotel and had lots of questions upon check in. First room we received was nasty. The bed was beyond lumpy and room only had a shower which was no good for me. As I was walking to check out the layout of the grounds I was following a gent with a stroller and two infants and a HUGE (almost full sheet) chunk of drywall fell from the ceiling overhead, just missing his stroller. Right then and there I was ready to leave. Four days later another huge chunk dropped above an area where my girls had been taking photos.

We were 'upgraded' to the newer section of the hotel day two only to have the same nasty beds. DID get a bathtub but bottom had been all broken and cracked and they attempted to silicone layers to it rather than replace the tub. Parts of the walls in the room were spongy and the entire suite reeked of mold. There was a large area behind the door that I literally could have put my finger through.

'All inclusive' apparently does NOT mean extra water in your room fridge. When we checked in fridge had a small water bottle, a small pepsi, a small diet pepsi and a club soda...to cover all four of us. We tipped the attendant for extra water and she took back the pop! After day one we got nothing else and fridge was never refilled.

Moving on to staff, most were excellent. The main bar by the courtyard was amazing and we found we almost lived there but we also tipped well for the over the top service. They had no issues going off the bar drink menu and accommodating any changes and even made me steamed milk with side of espresso as the coffee was too strong for me. Dining room staff were decent. Small bar towards the pool was okay...they do NOT rinse blender between drink mixes though I discovered and stopped going there.

Typical buffet experience. Lots of stuff I couldn't eat though so I stuck with cheeses, tomato, steamed veg (when they had it) and desserts. I lived on oatmeal for breakfast.

Be sure to return your pool cards as you will need them to check out ($20 each if you don't) plus they WILL try to ding you for a safe which we did not use.

Our package included a shopping excursion which was a nightmare. We were picked up from the hotel with the two kids and driven to a VERY expensive high end silver company and went through an hour of over the top pressure selling. We then were driven to a coffee/tequila place (same property) and went through the same thing then had to sit almost 45 minutes waiting for our shuttle to come back...no seating just standing in the store entrance. Very frustrating. Be cautious in town as there were tons of peddlers waiting to jump out and try to force you to buy their stuff. Do NOT be fooled by the ones who claim to have one of a kind signed stuff (the stores in the gated hotel area did this)...they had the same stuff in town much cheaper plus the actual hotel gift shop was almost the same price.

In our booking we were allowed three meals at the onsite restaurants so we booked Il Circo Italian (excellent food!); Portofino was 5 star all the way but AVOID Bamboo at all costs....we were all so sick after eating there and barely touched anything.

I would not recommend this resort to anyone and many there felt the same way. This was our first visit to Mexico and something we had saved years for and it was a huge let down. I said to my husband I would never go back but by day 7 realized I would possibly go back at a diff time of year (we had 30c all week and 95% humidity) but would hand pick our next hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, two of the restaurants, some of the staff
The weak points
Too many to list but mentioned above. Room was awful, moldy, uncomfortable beds
Certified

Mediocre

, St Thomas, ON
2016-06-16
Resort is okay not the greatest. Beach area is the
best , beautiful white sandy beach. Restaraunt area is a SAUNA . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food
Certified

Amazing

, Douglas, NB
2016-04-27
This place was amazing. Never been to a resort that was so clean! The food was delicious, the beach amazing, weather...wow!!!! We will be coming back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super clean, and food was delicious. Small resort which was perfect - no loud music. A truly relaxing experience.
The weak points
Sounds silly but no face clothes and Kleenex box. Staff a bit pushy about joining in activities. Otherwise - best place we ever stayed at.

Great vacation

, Oak Bay, NB
2016-04-26
What a wonderful vacation. Couldn't have asked for better. We've been to Cuba many times but this is the first time in Mexico. We'll be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location.
The weak points
Watered down drinks
Certified

Can't wait to go back!

, Laval, QC
2016-02-07
Loved the Azteca because it's a smaller resort compared to the others in the area. No need to reserve the beach chairs and palapas, there are more than enough for everyone. Also enjoyed the fact that we were able to benefit from the Maya's amenities. Will most definitely be going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful clean beach, smaller resort, friendly staff
Certified

Mexico trip

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-12-31
it was generally good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu yucatan

, Sydney, BC
2015-07-13
very white in color, the lots of neon pink in the lobby, pool by the beach split in two, lots of lounge chairs, room bathrooms, shower only - very small, separate toilet facility - very small as well, restaurants a'la carte mostly buffet [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to Playa del Carmen, buffet - plenty of food, room cleaned everyday and bar fridge restocked, hotel facilities kept very clean, lots of lounge chairs
The weak points
no pool side or beach waiteresswaiter service, room bathroom - toilet and shower stalls very small
Certified

Inaccurate Web description

, Richmond, BC
2014-12-05
I didn't stay at this hotel long enough to give an accurate description because I was promised a disco and in turn a decent night life but the disco was at the sister resort a 15 minute hike away. So of you're expecting a party and entertainment go to the viva Windham Maya not the viva Windham azteca. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
From what I saw the hotel was very quiet quaint and classy.
The weak points
Unfortunately it was not as it appeared in the description. I was told there was a disco at the resort, not at the sister resort a 15 minute walk away. With that being the case I spent most of my time over there.
Certified

November break at the Azteca

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2014-11-22
sixth trip to this gem of a resort, there will be a seventh. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small and friendly, feel at home
The weak points
beds are hard, but that is my ONLY complaint
Certified

Beautiful resort - highly recommended

, Bowmanville, ON
2014-10-08
I have nothing but good things to say about this resort. Beautiful grounds and beach, great food, wonderful staff. I would not hesitate in recommending it to others - we are already making plans to return for another week! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Landscaping, beach, food, staff
The weak points
None
Certified

Very satisfied

, Montreal, QC
2014-09-16
Hotel was clean, staff was courteous and service was excellent. Will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent customer sevice
The weak points
internet connection
Certified

Not worth the Extra Money

, Vancouver, BC
2014-02-17
The extra money paid for the VIP Service is a waste of money. Starting from the peronel greeting advertisted, VIP only check in, Special gift in room etc did not happen. The only VIP Areas in the hotel are 6 tables in roped off area in restruant(had good wine glasses on the table vs by drink table) and 25 or so beach loungers of a better style roped off on the beach. Sun Wing Rep at the hotel could not help remedy any of the shortfalls.The was no priorty booking for the La a carte dinning rooms as quests can book a week inadvance so only the lousy times were left(usually 6pm or 930 pm). Late check out could only be cinfirmed on the day your left but for $25.00 US you could arrange a late checked. I managed to get 2 hours but still had 3 hours before the bus showed up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleaniness of resort and quality of food
The weak points
The drinks were weak, dealing with front desk especially Brisa who was rude and arragant to quests and forfilling the extras for VIPS
Certified

Great Time

, Maple Ridge, Br
2014-01-16
We chose this resort because of its size and its location in Playacar.My wife and I prefer the smaller more intimate hotels and this was perfect.The service was outstanding and the food and drinks were all very good.We also took advantage of the Maya(their larger sister resort) just 5 min away for dinners and for something different every now and then.
My only complaint was the amount of smokers that were there during our stay.They seem to cater to Europeans(and don't get me wrong,we met some phenomenal people from Europe)who can't seem to enjoy themselves unless they're smoking.It's sad really.
Don't let this dissuade you from booking however.It's a great little resort with a beautiful beach,close proximity to Playa del Carmen and wonderful service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,Service,Proximity to Playa del Carmen,food,drinks
The weak points
Idiot smokers
Certified

Viva wyndham azteca

, Vancouver, BC
2013-11-17
hotel was as expected clean the staff very friendly and helpful we had no view but we spent only little time in room, we really liked it and it was exactly what we wanted [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hotel was situated on the beautiful beach and close to centre 5th avenue was walking distance
The weak points
representative was pushy not really nice when we went for trip without an agency
Certified

Great place

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-24
Amazing drinks. Food. beach. Pool. Ppl just perfect thank you I travel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food amazing beach what else can ukak for
The weak points
None
Certified

Fantastic

, London, ON
2013-05-22
Food was very good with a lot of variety every day. Staff was friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Hotel activities were scheduled daily and well organized. Would definately return and tell all my friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small and friendly resort with lots to do
The weak points
only draft beer
Certified

Good staff but food was too repetitive

, St Pascal Baylon, ON
2013-05-21
The servers, animation team, the concierge, sports and activity teams were great. The bartenders were dull, definitaly not the kind of place you sit down to chat with the bartender.

The rooms were clean and large. The place is well kept and looks good. The beach is super nice for playa del carmen.

The food at the sit down restaurant are good. The buffet was below par are way to repetitive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-animation / activity team -beach -bathrooms -italian restaurants
The weak points
-bartenders -buffet food
Certified

Azteca overbooked stayed at Barcelo Maya Beach

, Queensville, ON
2013-05-02
The Barcelo Maya Beach Resort was great.
Very friendly staff and good food.
We would recomend this Hotel to our friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Clean.
The weak points
WiFi should be available in rooms.
Certified

Playacar Mexico

, Valcaron, ON
2013-04-22
Not enough beach chairs.If you show up at the beach in the afternoon you can't find a beach lounger chair.People leave their beach towels on the chairs from the day before and most of them are already claimed from the previos day.they should make a rule at the end of the day all towels should be removed from chairs. then the next day it is first come first serve. Two days in a row could not get a chair on the beach because of this practice.some people had the same chairs claimed for their entire stay .While my wife and I had to scavenge for a chair.Not enough tables and chairs in the courtyard for smokers in the evening good luck finding a table.other than that everything was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good lcation .good food.not to long of a line up at the bar.had a room close to pool and the beach not like the previous year where we where as far as you could possibly get from the beach.
The weak points
Finding a beach chair was a chore because of people claiming them from the previos day by leaving the towels on them.Not enough tables in open air courtyard for smokers.
Certified

Simply amazing

, Marshall, SK
2013-03-18
Counldn`t be more pleased, will be returning in Novemeber [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I love the location of this resort, everything is super clean, can not ask for better service. This resort is close to PDC, $7 taxi ride there. The Playa Car is a 5 minute walk, which has shopping and Starbucks :).
The weak points
Would have been nice to have music at the pool bar til even 10pm, but it is close to the rooms so I understand, you can go to lobby bar and music plays later, not really a weak point just a comment
Certified

Good

, St Catharines, ON
2013-03-11
great location and staff, the 24hr pool restaurant was good for a late night snack or drink. the main buffet was ok some days but the a la carte restaurant was a lot better.the beach was clean and beautiful. it's about a 25 minute walk into 5th ave [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, staff,location,cleanliness
The weak points
I payed 2 bucks a day for my in room safe i thought it should have been included???
Certified

Hotel review

, Carp, ON
2013-03-06
This was a repeat visit to this hotel. Location makes this hotel very attractive. Food and drink is plentiful and good, overall service friendly and courteous. However, request for suitable room seems to be an issue. Like the previous year it took us 3 days to finally move into the room we had requested through our travel agent. This hotel offers many activities throughout the day which includes very loud music all day long. If you are looking for relaxing moments you will not find this at this hotel. Their activity group is over enthusiastic at times forgetting that visitors escape from their busy lives back home to get some well deserved rest and quiet. The hotel may reconsider this by reducing the length of time and loud volume of music throughout the day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location
The weak points
music too loud
Certified

Great spot for families

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-12
Very good vacation, very quiet. Great spot for families. I will miss the speciality coffees, loved they have food and drink available 24/7. We had to request a room in the main floor since they do not have elevators, the front desk got us a room the next day and it was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good food, staff very friendly and helpful, lovely beach.
The weak points
The entertainers were very good dancers but the direction of the show was very poor, painful to watch. Wanted to see Mexican shows, did not feel like I was in Mexico in regards to entertainment. If you don't care about the entertainment it's great!
Certified

Great vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-12
the hotel room was very quiet. you could not hear any noise from outside during the night. A lot of families with young kids but we did not hear anything from inside our room. We had only one bottle of water in the room the night we arrived but free cold water was available at the snack bar 24/7 from a drink dispenser. you just needed a glass or container and you could take as much as you want which was great! the snack bar was open all the time and you could get a drink or a bite any time day or night. nice walk to Playa Del Carmen market on 5th avenue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
access to free drinking water 24/7. great beach. clean room. great staff. quiet. close to some great excursions. gated community so felt very safe walking around at night.
The weak points
many chairs at beach saved but no one on them.
Certified

Excellent hotel, exceptional staff

, Kingston, ON
2012-06-23
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Viva Azteca. The food, entertainment, location, staff and service were all extraordinary.

We highly recommend this resort and intend to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, food, service, staff, entertainment.
The weak points
Decor
Certified

Amazing

, Mississauga, ON
2012-06-13
Super clean amazing beach amazing food great selection of drinks will go there again for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
The town the residents hassles you too much it anoying
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021