Real Playa Del Carmen Resort

Real Playa Del Carmen Resort
3.333.333.333.333.33
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

First trip on the East Coast of Mexico

, Victoria, BC
2014-03-04
As expected. Although not on the beach.very good location and nearby beach access. Food choices limited but very good. Staff outstanding. Will definitely return after the renovations are completed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and services outstanding. Food basic but good. Very good location considering that it is not on the beach. Access to awesome beach nearby. Very quiet.
The weak points
Very dated. Aware it is closing for renovations in April.
Certified

Nice place

, Kelowna, BC
2014-02-21
We got what we were expecting. It isn't a 5 star and we were not expecting that. The staff was what made the vacation, they were all excellent. What impressed us at this hotel, was the international clientele. We met people from all over the world and English was not the prevalent language spoken. We did have to upgrade our rooms at the extra cost to get a more convenient location. I was a bit apprehensive about being right on 5th Ave but once we entered the lobby, we were in our own little oasis. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was great.
The weak points
the weak points are not enough chairs around the pool, not enough umbrellas at the beach, the buffett was very repetitive and the restaurant food was not worth booking in for.
Certified

Great Value for the money

, Jacksons Point, ON
2014-02-14
My husband and I stayed here for a week in Febuary. Food is really good. The staff was very friendly. They try really hard to look after you. Very close to shopping. The only thing we had a problem with was the gentleman selling time shares in the front lobby.. all travellers should avoid getting caught up in this.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to shopping and restaurants
The weak points
Not enough activities included other then the ones u pay for
Certified

Real playa del carmen

, Windsor, ON
2014-02-05
we went to real playa del Carmen from 23 January to 31 January.
Super location,right on the fifth avenue,everything was very good ,food,room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
none
Certified

So so

, Hebbville, NS
2013-12-16
the people are very nice and friendley.Very busy location, lots to do.buffet was small.beach is a 10 minute walk.the shuttle only runs a few times a day. Nice big bar on the beach, so you can drink, but no food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice people.food was ok, we did not starve.
The weak points
no food at beach, can not get any sun on the resort..pool was small and dirty.
Certified

Good Economical Vacation Spot

, Hinton, AB
2012-12-28
This hotel was situated on the 5th avenue strip which is an excellent location if you want to shop alot. I however prefer to be on the beach. The hotel was very well looked after. However, there was a terrible stench that came from the bathroom which made our stay unpleasent. The food was okay, as in, I would eat it if I had to. However, there are many places to eat on the strip that were delicious! The grounds of the hotel were very well looked after and the staff was all very pleasent. We Would stay here again if there were no other options. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location for shopping is good
The weak points
The nasty smell in the bathroom. Not on the beach, but a short walk to it.
Certified

Real Playa Del Carmen

, Surewoodpark, ON
2012-10-09
Got a super cheap deal so did not expect much. Pretty much what we expected but have stayed at much nicer all inclusives and were only there for 5 days. they did not try to sell us on any upgrade but when I asked on day two we decided to pay the $28.00/extra per day/ person for a bigger room and to have access to some additional restaurants and it was more that worth it as we likely would have eaten out for dinner because there is so much available on fifth ave so the upgrade paid for itself. So if you don't mind a bit of a walk you have access to a closer beach bar, and a really nice restaurant where the food was superb. Bathrooms clean but minimally equipped with one bath and hand towel. no face cloths. Service very friendly and they aim to please. Reception bar the best. Entertainment at night nothing to write home about but really enjoyed Daniel, the main guy of the ensemble. Corny stuff but had a great time anyway and enjoyed it.You make your own good time. Pool small but the grounds mature trees for shade and well maintained. Food not the greatest but always something there to eat. Al a carte over cooked the steak and lobster and I wouldn't recommend it. Fish fillet very good though as was the tortilla soup. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, entertainment ensemble, location on fifth ave.
The weak points
Bathrooms shower only and floor always got wet. Food though plentiful not the greatest variety.
Certified

Would not go back

, Belle Plaine, SK
2012-06-20
Although the staff were absolutely amazing, I must rate the resort much lower than advertized! The first night in the buffet was 1/8th inch thick preformed burgers with liquid cheeze sauce and all the fixins. This may work for a mid afternoon snack but not for supper. My diet is gluten restricted so we ate probably 25 meals away from the hotel. This is my 3rd 2 week to Playa this winter and I have never experienced a problem finding something to eat at any of the other buffets. I was offered an upgrade to the Grand Porto Real for $60 per person which would have pushed my cost above most 5* resorts and was out of the question. The breakfasts we much better with the option of fresh omeletes Crystabel made these mornings worth getting up for - amazing service! The bar drinks were 2nd rate liquor - not too unusual - and drinkable, again the staff madeup for the lowere quality drinks, especially Christian at the lobby bar. Wifi was hit and miss some days but overall about normal for PDC area. Room had mosquito and small ant problem because of windows not closing tightly. Room was clean and cared for except one day we were misses - a mistake I believe. TV did not work in room but didnt mater to me [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff
The weak points
Food was subpar, mosquitos and ants in room
Certified

Great low key vacation

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-04
location and staff are great, grounds and rooms are well maintained. Breakfast and Lunch are good, dinner choices not as good but plenty of good places to eat in area that are not expensive. Had a great relaxing time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and location
The weak points
dinner choices
Certified

Upgraded to its 5 diamond bigger sister resort

, Cornwall, ON
2012-01-10
Very pleasant staff... however the resort was not our cup of tea... so we upgraded to the ROYAL (the best resort in the Playa Del Carmen region) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff.
The weak points
Need to take a shuttle bus to the beach...small pool area... older buildings & rooms... it would need a facelift.
Certified

Awesome Staff and Service

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-09
The hotel property is a 3 star in my opinion, but the staff and service are 5 allstars! Friendly, very fast service, used English as much as possible, and quick to respond to any needs. After just one comment, snacks at the beach bar were increased and much more available. Service and drinks there were fabulous. Hotel is on 5th Ave, but secluded enough that you do not have noise, but are right in town in 5 minutes.Thank you, Alberto, Jesus, the General Manager and so many others. We were 12 people, but were all treated really well.
Ale Carte Restaurant is really just an extention of the buffet area, some nights I almost preferred the variety of the buffet over the restaurant. But it had its own special touches.
Animation team worked very had. New Years presentation was great and "clean" so we could enjoy it with our kids. Thanks.
I love live music, and would have enjoyed some live music on some nights.
Thanks, it was a wonderful holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snack bar and service great. Access to chairs great.Rooms very clean. Internet average, but it was free WIFI! Hotel staff amazing!
The weak points
Not the best beach front. Most days the buffet was very good, on 2 days the selection of meat dishes (other than fish) was not so good.
Certified

My experience

, St Thomas, ON
2011-12-31
I got sick from the food twice, my husband got sick once, other than getting sick every thing was good, the place is clean and beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful and clean place.
The weak points
Food not so good.
Certified

Real Playa Del Carmen

, Burlington, ON
2011-12-19
This hotel is a gem! The food was good, the bar and Animation Shows were good. The best thing about this hotel is the pleasant staff, eager to assist and very friendly. The atmosphere was cozy. We had use of the beach club, which we enjoyed every day. Omar is the bartender at the beach club and he is a great guy. The other bartenders we befriended were Cristian and Freddy. Our waitress, Maria, helped make the experience perfect and we highly recommend this hotel. The hotel is a short walk or shuttle to the beach, otherwise it is steps from the 5th Ave action. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We just loved this place! Staff, atmosphere, food, conversation - great for practising Spanish. Location to nightlife. Easy to arrange tours.
The weak points
The beach at the hotel club is rocky but you can walk two minutes to the other side of the pier and enjoy the sand. No elevator, may not be suitable for accessibility. Internet works intermittently. Bicycles are available but they all need to be repaired.
Certified

Okay...

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-12-12
if you are looking for a resort get away, this is not the place to stay. The rooms leave a lot to be desired. The beds are comfortable but you will not want to be spending much time in the rooms as they are not comfortable for relaxing. If you are planning a busy touring schedule, this facility will save you money that can be invested in activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The facilities were clean but if a small investment was made in the maintenance of the rooms, it would make a world of difference. Baseboards missing, insecure electrical outlets, leaky shower, etc.
The weak points
Condition of rooms. Beach was too far away and not the greatest facility. Internet only worked 1 day out of 7.
Certified

Great times in Playa del Carmen

, Calgary, AB
2011-10-26
Very pleasant hotel staff. Quaint and charming little hotel. Located on 5th avenue ( great shopping mall). Only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Perfect hotel if budget is an issue [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service , beautiful hotel. Nice rooms, good food.
The weak points
water pressure in the showers is low and a/c is. A bit noisy
Certified

Great for the Value ....great Service!!

, Saskatoon, SK
2011-02-12
This hotel was in a great location. Service was awesome. The grounds were lovely! I was glad I upgraded to have access to the sister resort on the beach. It was a great walk everyday on the beach to get there...and the food was definitely worth the upgrade ...as there is a big difference between 3* and 5* resorts in regards to food services! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, service and cleanliness, friendliness of the staff. Great people staying there.
The weak points
The food was OK for breakfast ..but otherwise not great! I wasn't crazy about the hard beds, awful pillows and the showers were very weak!
Certified

Not a bad little hotel

, Moose Jaw, SK
2011-02-06
It is an older Hotel, but clean,service was good, noisy street traffic on the street sides. Staff was friendly & helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff and clean. They try hard to please with what they have.
The weak points
Room was a tight fit for 2 women. Pool was small.
Certified

Value for money

, Ottawa, ON
2011-02-05
Our vacation package included access to all amenities at the Gran Porto Real. This upgrade made all the difference in terms of dining experience, due to the outstanding quality of both ale chart restaurants. This upgrade also provided us with the best of both worlds, accommodations on the beach and 5th avenue action!

A few key strong points of the Real Playa Del Carmen are service, cleanliness and peaceful surroundings.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Real Playa Del Carmen, however, ensure you include one of the many upgrades available which will provide you with the best value for your money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is definitely their number one strong point. The staff was always friendly, helpful and extremely diligent.
The weak points
Food!
Certified

Real Playa Del Carmen Resort

, Prince Albert, SK
2011-01-29
It was pretty much what we expected with the exception of the size of the standard room which was the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in. The food was not too bad but could have had a better variety of fruit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Friendly staff
The weak points
Food selection
Certified

The worst holiday/hotel

, Calgary, AB
2011-01-28
I asked for a room on main floor facing the pool( i had back surgery),and got a room on 2nd floor facing 2 trees.The room did not have a fridge.I did not complain.The night we arrived ,i asked for a botlle of water to take my medication the next morning ,and i was told that they had only 20 litres jugs. I accepted that and i took water in a glass.The next evening ,I saw a canadian couple with bottled water and they told me it was from the bar.After couple of days i asked for a bit of cream to take with my cofee ,and i was told they dad only milk and cofee mate.Again we are having drinks with 2 men from Toronto,and they were asking for brandy and cofee with cream and they got it.I even tasted the cream to make sure it was cream and not milk. That upset me very much ,I paid for my all inclusive,I asked for normal things ,bottled water and cream.We asked at the reception if we can move to Gran Porto Real ,and while there the genaral manager Alexandro Awago asked us why we wanted to move.We told him ,he asked if he could do something for us ,and we told him surprise us.He did not give us a letter of applogy and that reflects his pozition. We moved to Gran Porto Real on jan.21st 2011. at a charge of $ 60.00 per day.The day before we left ,I left a blouse on the chair at lunch ,never found the blouse.I should mention that the food was terrible,most days the same ,in 9 days there we had the same soup 6 times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location.Th eentertainment team Danijel,Vyaney,Daniela and Gabriel,charming ,allays pleasing everyone and getting guests involved in activities.We visited them every day at the beach after we moved to Gran Porto Real
The weak points
Hotel needs renovations,the smell of sewer is overwelming at times.Every room should have a fridge.The staff,unless you tip them all the time they ignore you with out shame.The food should have variety .
Certified

Real Playa Carmen

, Calgary, AB
2010-04-27
Average hotel, don't expect much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
More like a 2-3 star hotel
Certified

DON'T GO!!

, Mississauga, ON
2010-04-20
This is the second and last time I will stay at this hotel! It has become run-down and worse than a 2* hotel! The staff are excellent however the state of the rooms and food are awful! There is no entertainment and DON'T GO TO THE TIMESHARE PRESENTATION! They were rude and very pushy! I tried to get an upgrade at the Royal or the Gran Porto Real--I was told that it was over-booked. However at the timeshare presentation they said if the timeshare was purchased then they would move me over to the Royal right away! Listen to the reviews and DON'T GO!!! Great location at 5th Avenue--but that is all!! Even if you just need a place to stay still do not go! The room also smelled really funky at all times! The linens and beds were dirty and stained! The snack bar was closed at the beach and the beach was rocky and dirty! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location
The weak points
Rooms, everything wwas rundown and just bare minimum!!!
Certified

As expected

, Brampton, ON
2010-02-15
The hotel was clean and food was good. Rather noisy at night because of location. Only one pool (not deep). I would recommend it if you don t plan to spend your day at the resort.Short walk (7 mins) to the beach or you can take the shuttle bus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness and staff were great
The weak points
Noisy at night
Certified

Hotel real playa del carmen

, Calgary, AB
2010-01-04
it was enjoyable and fun and the weather was great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location and staff
The weak points
coffee
Certified

Service excellence

, Edmonton, AB
2009-12-13
Although a 3 and half star resort. The service was 5 star!!! Marcus and Bersain were just 2 of the many exceptional waiters and servers they had on staff at the hotel. It was close to the beach but right on 5th ave.

We loved every minute of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It offered everything they said they would.
The weak points
Toilets could use a lil maintenance. ha
Certified

Marg's review

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-26
The hotel was just as we expected. I was pleased that it was a relatively small, no-frills kind of hotel and we were able to meet and talk with several other interesting travellers from other parts of the world. The food was very good and there was lots of choice. The hotel is a short walk from the beach, which was fine with us. Being right in the town was nice because we enjoyed walking along the streets. I also liked that the hotel has a Mexican ambiance rather than an American feeling. All the staff were very friendly and it was great to be able to speak in Spanish with them. One problem was that the water was off on two mornings during our vacation, so that was a little inconvenient. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small, Mexican owned, very pleasant staff, excellent food, close to beach but also in a busy but pleasant town. There were families in some of the rooms and that was very nice to see children around.
The weak points
There was no entertainment but we were happy that there was no entertainment because we went there for a rest, not a lot of noise. The water was off, due to mechanical problems somewhere, on two mornings and that was a little inconvenient.
Certified

Real Playa Carmen

, Westbank, BC
2009-06-12
A nice, quiet property with a beautiful garden courtyard far enough away from the busy section of 5th Ave, but only steps away if you want to be in the action of 5th Ave, nice pool, great outdoor/open air restaurant which makes it feel like a true tropical vacation, close to the beach, friendly staff, very clean kitchen with tasty dishes, nothing overly fancy or 5*, but simply delicious. If you want to have a Carribean vacation and cannot afford a beachfront hotel, this is definately the place to stay. Stayed more than once, will go again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location, beautiful property, tropical feeling, home cooked foods, friendly staff
The weak points
poor beach club area for swimming, juices were package like mix (tang?), room fridges not cold, property spa not in operation, evening entertainment too loud and annoying while still eating in buffet dinning area. IE loud bingo. Dinner music was rocknroll
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021