Ocean Maya Royale

Ocean Maya Royale
4.034.034.034.034.03
4.03 based on 215 reviews
#29 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (86)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Fun resort vacation!

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-28
Came for our friends' wedding for one week. It was beautiful, went smoothly, and there was a gorgeous reception on the beach with our own little bar and food setup. Very classy! The resort itself is Mexican style. There is a great variety of food including a hot pepper bar!! Plenty of vegetables were eaten. Lots of healthy options and delicious treats. Midnight snack bar was awesome. 100% guacamole. Rooms very clean but not open concept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Activities and service are top notch. Grounds are beautifully manicured but with some nice natural areas and wildlife as well. Perfect size resort to get to know other travellers without being too small.
The weak points
Strong smell of mould in room, lack of ventilation and light in room. Beach volleyball court had hard concrete under a thin layer of sand in spots (no diving for the ball)! For the price I could have stayed somewhere more modern.
Certified

Excellent stay.

, Alliston, ON
2020-02-10
Fantastic seven day stay. The staff was friendly and quick to act on requests. Grounds were in good condition and well maintained. The food was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, lots of animals. Great staff. Nice grounds.
The weak points
Beach front could of been nicer. But in no way negatively affected our stay. A two minute walk down the beach to beautiful swimming.
Certified

First time on a resort

, Winkler, MB
2019-11-11
Overall, Ocean Maya Royale came as advertised. For me, I don't swim so I need Excursions to help fill my day. The entertainment staff does in awesome job of having activities scheduled throughout the day. My favorite would be volleyball at 10 am and 4 pm everyday.

Another important feature of a great resort is food. For the most part, I would say the food was adequate but I missed my options I have at home. The restaurant menus lacked any salads of any kind. Halfway through the week, my stomach started hating me and lighter options on the menu would of been helpful. I asked several people what they thought of the desert and nobody liked them. They all had a strange texture to them.

Overall I enjoyed the Italian and Japanese restaurants the most. The Italian place was just off the ocean which help create the perfect ambience. The Japanese had the most delicious food. The "Fancy" Restaurant lacked ambience. Just a boring small rectangle room that has the feeling of a meeting room converted into a makeshift restaurant. Their food display was impressive.

I wasn't prepared to have to say no to massages and excursions from random people on the resort everyday. The most aggressive of them would be the H10 premium staff, They try to lock you into a 90 minute sales pitch where they will give you $100 dollars voucher or free message even if you turn them down after the 90 minute meeting. Please google H10 premium review to learn more.

If you want a spot on the beach. You need to do this early in the morning by leaving your towel their. Hotel rules forbid it but nothing is done about it.

The average age on the resort is 45 plus. This works in your favor with getting a goods nights sleep. My neighbors were excellent. It also helps that not everyone is sleeping under one roof but 30 smaller buildings each containing 6 suites.

overall, resorts are a dime a dozen over there. 3 and half stars wasn't an option. I wouldn't be recommended to any of my friends. I'm sure other resorts offer similar luxury and maybe more restaurant options [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-The Japanese restaurant was a definite highlight and I'm not that adventurous with food. First time I've had my meal prepared before my eyes. -The fire show on the beach -beach volleyball
The weak points
-google "H10 premium" -Mexican desert -À la carte menus lacked Salads options. -all spots takin constantly on beach and around pool with towels -Everyday you have to say no thank you
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Calgary, AB
2019-08-05
We had a lovely visit July/August 2019. It's really hot in Mexico at this time of year but the ocean breeze helped a lot. Lots of activities going on daily. We didn't find the seaweed that bad, the staff worked tirelessly to clean it up every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, wildlife, entertainment, hard working staff
The weak points
Food was hit and miss, seaweed smell( but can't control nature )
Certified

Excellent!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-05-11
We were very impressed!
Our room was beautiful, the food was great and the overall service was outstanding throughout the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fine resort, 4 stars

, Montréal, QC
2019-03-05
We were at the Ocean Maya Royale for a week at the beginning of February. The resort is simply beautiful with lots of trees and plants of all kinds. There is also a lot of wildlife around which we found just great. You truly feel surrounded by nature.
The grounds and the buildings are kept in excellent condition. There is people working constantly at it.
Housekeeping also did a superb job all through the week.
There are 2 pools. One for activities and entertainment including 2 foam parties during the week and a quieter one for relaxing.
Unfortunately, there was a major seaweed problem at the time of our stay and it seems is was like that all along the Riviera Maya. We enjoyed the beach but not the sea. There are vendors on the beach but they were not a problem at all.
Our room was on the ground floor, something we usually try to avoid as much as we can. In this case though we really did appreciate it as our terrace was facing a small wooded area with animals and birds coming in and out. The buildings are arranged in such a way that you always have a nice and quiet balcony or terrace to sit. The room itself was very nice and in excellent condition and, as I said, housekeeping kept it that way.
The staff and I mean everyone we had to deal with was great. They were always smiling and eager to help. We had a problem with our shower door one night and they immediately saw to it that it was fixed on the same day.
Our «concierge» tried to get us to join their privilege/preferred club or something of the sort but we were not interested and after a while he left us alone.
There was different entertainment outside in the main plaza every evening and the shows we saw were surprisingly good.
We went to lobby bar for a couple of drinks every evening before dinner and whatever drinks we ordered were good and not watered down. The wine (house wine) they served at dinner was also quite good.
The food varied from good to very good specially at the a la carte restaurants. The buffet was good at breakfast, lunch and dinner but it lacked in variety. We also thought some dishes were not warm enough.
We went to the italian restaurant (Dolce Vita), the japanese (Yookoso) and the romantic (Blue Moon). We liked the Blue Moon best; we went twice.
We travel regularly in the Carribeans and in Mexico giving us a good basis with which to compare this resort. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we certainly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great food, very relaxing

, Calgary, AB
2018-12-27
This resort is very clean and the staff are friendly and caring. We enjoyed massages at the spa and I highly recommend Berta!! The food in the buffet is fresh and high quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you enjoy a nice glass of wine (or a cocktail with real fruit juice) I highly recommend upgrading your “all-inclusive” to include the premium brands.....
Certified

Ocean Maya Royale

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-22
A very nice hotel, lovely grounds. This is not a large resort and therefore you feel more inclusive. The rooms were decorated in a stylish manner...cream walls with royal blue accents giving the room a very light and airy feel. The cleanliness was outstanding. Staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We stayed in the Privileges Royale Building, which had a working elevator which was much appreciated. The food in the buffet and the a la carte restaurants was extremely good. Lots of choice. This is an 'over 18' years resort so nice and quiet at night. Entertainment was suited to all ages and was very enjoyable. There are two pools...one very much an activities pool with lots of activities and entertainment going on during the day. The other pool was more for just chilling out. The beach was a huge disappointment for us. It was very small and quite ugly. The water was a dirty puddle brown and we didn't go in at all. I wouldn't recommend this resort for folks who love to be in the ocean and lounge on the beach. However, to be fair, I am not sure if the water is like this most of the time and it was very difficult to get a straight answer from the staff as to whether or not this was 'normal'. Other than the ocean and beach, the resort is a beautiful place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautifully maintained. Good evening entertainment. Good food. Extremely clean rooms. Friendly staff.
The weak points
The beach and ocean were horrible. We were extremely disappointed in the sandbags, dirty coloured water and methane smell from the seaweed. Personally, we will not return but only because of the water.
Certified

Ocean Maya Royale

, Mayo, YT
2017-03-30
The hotel was perfect and our holiday was amazing. The food at the Ocean Maya was outstanding. There were many choices for excursions and the beach was an easy place to spend the day. The bartenders know how to pour a drink too. I would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, the beach, the drinks, the food, the staff.... all perfect.
The weak points
The other tourists who fed the animals but there is not much the resort can do about that. There are many signs asking people not to do this.
Certified

A great resort!

, Moose Jaw, SK
2017-02-03
The Ocean Maya is a beautiful resort. The staff was awsome, the food was wonderful and the entertainment was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, and the food.
The weak points
The beach is nice, but doesn't have a very big swimming area.
Certified

A Great Resort

, Hamilton, ON
2015-06-01
A Great resort. the staff were fantastic! Very Friendly, nicely maintained, food was excellent (lots of variety) lots of fun, many activities, or just relax and have a great drink!
The Beach was okay, currently have seaweed issues, they tried to clean up as much as possible. The pools were great 1 was relaxing, the other the party, swim up bar pool. Overall great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff. Great Food. Amazing Drinks. Fun friendly, Clean, beautiful grounds, wild life (Iguanas, deer, birds, etc
The weak points
Beach was okay A little far from town (Playa Del Carmen) have to go by taxi or shuttle
Certified

Ocean Maya Royale

, Richardson, SK
2015-02-22
Not the best we've stayed at, but not the worst either. We asked for two rooms near each othr, and one couple was from Canada, one from the USA. They simply looked at us, and said, "Sorry!" The food was mediocre, but the Ala Cartes, you don't have to book in advance and they are unlimited, which is great! The Mexican was the best, then the Japanese & Italian, the Romantic was the worst! Daily poolside BarBQ was excellant, but long HOT line ups. It is very annoying that Premiums brand alcohol is on display, but you can only have it if you buy the Priviledge wrist band. Staff is pretty good, those that speak English are very friendly, the rest just don't make eye contact. Grounds are very clean and well kept. Iguanas and Coati's roaming everywhere. Pools are big and very clean. Beach is pretty good, but most days cloudy, due to wind. Rooms are OK, nothing special, but clean....we tip the maid daily, and got OK service, she forgot to replace alot of things, and never once a swan towel :( The photo people are a touch annoying, day & night. Entertainment is pretty good, they need a bigger stage. Coffee in room is nice, if the maid remembers to replace it. Pop, beer & water supplied in mini fridge, hard liqour if your priviledged. Overall, we'd give it 3.5 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and well kept grounds, nice to walk around, everything fairly easy to get to.
The weak points
Food
Certified

Awesome vacay at Ocean Maya Royale!

, Cambridge, ON
2014-10-22
Beautiful grounds and pools. Awesome food. Very clean. Great wildlife (especially the Coatis). Loved the coffee bar. Friendly staff. Would recommend and return to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and pools. Awesome food. Very clean. Great wildlife (especially the Coatis). Loved the coffee bar. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Internet in lobby is slow. They try to get you to buy into the privilege club which is like a time share.
Certified

Westjet

, Georgetown, ON
2014-09-30
Very nice. Great staff, and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing.
The weak points
The beach isn't so great.
Certified

Ocean Maya Royal, Riviera Maya

, Waverley, NS
2014-04-26
We have been at this resort three times and we just love it. Grounds are lovely and not too big. The staff are all very nice and always helpful. The beach is not great, but we like the pool better anyway,since we are not swimmers. I hope we will be going back again next spring, we may one for one week at a time next year, found 2 weeks quite long for us 10 days would be wonderful. We look forward to seeing everyone next spring. Thanks for everything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We like the size and the fact that there are only 2 floors
The weak points
Beach, but as I said before that does not concern us, I only walk it.
Certified

Relaxing vacation

, Hawkesbury, ON
2014-04-02
Found this on the internet, and were thoroughly pleased. Most guests were from Europe/Britain, a nice change from Canada, lots of different languages around. Welcoming and smiling, friendly staff. Incredible variety of buffet salads, fresh fruit, main meals. No waiting to enter specialty restaurants which were very good in general, but the Japanese was just average. Retaining wall at the beach gave the hotel a much larger sandy beach area for chairs and huts compared with neighboring hotels which had lost most of their beach due to erosion. Easy to swim by the sides of the retaining wall. Easy access for long walks (1-2 hours) on the beach, go until you want to turn back. Suggest 2nd floor room for a balcony for more privacy as 1st floor patios often looked out on main walkways. We are beach people and didn`t use the pools that much. But 2 pools: one for the bar/water jets which were much more crowded and noisy, but the adjacent pool for quiet lounging was quiety. Not a hotel for the nightlife/drinking crowd: we attended the variety of shows (good for a small hotel) and were in bed afterwards. 45 min. from the airport, recommend the Rio Secreto (underwater river-caves) excursion about 30 min. away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge variety of fruit, salads, main meals at the buffet. Excellent "international" and Italian restaurants. Able to take long walks on the beach.
The weak points
Our 2nd floor room had 2 double beds instead of the expected 2 queen beds, but it really didn`t bother us. Japanese restaurant was just ordinary compared to the other specialty restaurants.
Certified

Had a great time.

, Dartmouth, NS
2014-03-24
Great value for the money. It is a lovely resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Grounds
The weak points
Beach access but there is lots of sandy areas and beach chairs.
Certified

Very nice vacation!

, Ajax, ON
2014-02-09
Hotel was always clean, the rooms were very nice. Food was great! Service was excellent. We did not have a problem with getting a seat by the pool but we were always up early to reserve them. It was very quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness, staff were excellent. Food was very good. The rooms were great! If you are looking to relax and have some peace and quiet this is the place to be.
The weak points
If you are looking for a beach this is not the place
Certified

Very Good

, Russell, ON
2014-02-09
Very good resort, well maintained, good food, good service.
Nice not to have to reserve the restautants.
Even thoughthe resort was full it never really seemd busy or crowed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, Good food. Great service.
The weak points
None really
Certified

Ocean Maya

, Musquodoboit Harbour, NS
2014-02-05
A relaxing, compact, adults only and lovely resort for our getaway. Close to Playa del Carmen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality, adults only resort, easy to get around.
The weak points
The beach is great for walking but not very good in this area if you like to dip in and out to get cooled off.
Certified

Ocean Maya Royale

, Okotoks, AB
2014-02-03
More than met our expectations . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Only 40 mins from airport.
The weak points
Oudoor lobby area was where the smokers were meaning you couldn't really sit out there if the smoke bothered you.
Certified

Overall nice resort

, Pickering, ON
2014-01-23
Nice, clean, we'll kept, food was good, staff was friendly and professional. No complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I would go again.
The weak points
Had a blackout for a few hours.
Certified

Relaxing Vacation

, Regina, SK
2013-12-23
We had a relaxing time at Ocean Maya Royale. Food was great. We especially liked the layout of the hotel with the individual villas. All the staff were friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, liked the individual villa layout of hotel, excellent pool area, quiet, relaxing atmosphere
The weak points
Bed was a bit harder than we like.
Certified

Nov 1 - 8, 2013

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-11
The hotel was lovely. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I would have loved a second week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort location and size were perfect.
The weak points
The staff were big on having us fill out a survey card every single day, it was too much.
Certified

Would return

, Oakville, ON
2013-11-08
45 Min. from airport
This resort is older but has been updated. Rooms are comfortable except when the cleaning staff turn up the air conditioning to the extent that condensation forms on the outside of the balcony window!
Management and staff committed to customer satisfaction. They circulated a comprehensive survey.
Food: Well presented but the meat is a bit tough. Different theme every night however the main ingredients stay the same. Good variety of deserts. At a-la-carte restaurants portions are quite large, order one main course and share.
Nightly saxophonist before supper is relaxing. Much better than a mariachi band.
Beach: not that large but better and cleaner than neighbouring resorts. You can paddle with the fishes. I saw a turtle.
There are two categories: Privileges and 'underprivileged'. Both eat at the same restaurants.
The popularity of this resort is evident by the number of repeat visitors and apparent unavailability of Toronto departures until March 2014 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for money. Wildlife. Attentive staff. Customer loyalty.
The weak points
Beach, but its clean and the best has been made of what is available.
Certified

Loved this place

, Guelph, ON
2013-11-03
Just returned from our trip and this is one of the few places I would return because it offered everything we were looking for. We were looking for a quiet place, smaller resort that offered everything. Staff were very attentive and you could see them always working hard - no standing around ever. Italian restaurant food to die for (never tried the others). Lovely resort overall - close proximity to Cancun airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No restaurant reservations required; small quiet resort; adults only so no children distractions (not children that bother me - it's the parents who leave them unattended so they can have a relaxing time, to the detriment of other guests.
The weak points
Not faulting hotel but despite signs many guests felt the need to feed the animals and felt offended when I spoke up. Many guests were very disrespectful of others and put towels on their chairs to save seats at the pool/beach again regardless of signs
Certified

Ocean Maya Royale

, Mississauga, ON
2013-10-16
The hotel was ok.
the beach and swimming pool ambrellas
were always takenn, not enough people
just put towels on them and leave. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The bar. drinks were excellent
The weak points
The beach, not eneough ambrellas
Certified

Grrreeeeeeeeeeeeat

, Toronto, ON
2013-08-26
It was an amazing resort and really exceeded expectations, highly recommended for any first-timers to Mexico. Only thing to improve would be to add free wi-fi in the rooms (although you can get it in the lobby) and location was far from some of the Mayan temples, other than that, amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything else, no detail is missed in this place.
The weak points
location, wi-fi, prices of excursions
Certified

OCEAN MAYA ROYALE

, Edmonton, Al
2013-06-17
the staff was always helpful, didn't care for the two tier hotel system. As well I was surprised at how few staff could speak English compared to other resorts we have been to. The selection of food and activities was good. The rooms were great except it was almost impossible to get more than two bottles of water in our mini-bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The front reception were extremely well organized
The weak points
The two tier guest system it is absolutely ridiculous.
Certified

Requires some work.

, Toronto, ON
2013-06-06
The staff at this resort are wonderful, the rooms are quite nice, the grounds are beautiful and well kept, the three restaurants need some décor updating, the main/buffet dining room & theatre require air condition repairs. Overall I feel this is really a 3.5 star resort.
Special kudos to the entertainment group a young & lively bunch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing Staff, Not too large a resort easy to get around.
The weak points
Bad Air Conditioning in certain spaces on several days, Lack of shuttle to Playa Del Carmen, Requested Ocean View but not received. No Disco or Club Atmosphere.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021