Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
3.833.833.833.833.83
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (93)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach

, Sherwood Park , AB
2019-04-21
Excellent service,very friendly people,good variety of food. Buffet became monotonous after a few days but overall a good selection of food! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-23
Dear Tony Parsons, First of all, we are so grateful that you took your time to write us this opinion. For Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa our job finish until our guests make us a feedback like you did. We are very thankful to you that you decided to choose our Resort. We really appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. For us, our principal mission is that all our guests have the most amazing experience. We really hope see you again here with us to have another amazing vacation. Kind regards, Monica Garcia Assistant Manager

This place is so so

, Surrey, BC
2019-03-13
The food:
Was okay the desserts could have been a lot better.
The staff: The shops inside only accept peso's and they ate EXTREMELY rude making shopping not fun at all..
The rooms: I enjoyed the rooms it was very clean except for the mini bar they only give you 2 beers ONLY each day and I've never seen that before.
The drinks: the drinks seem to be extremely watered down I'm not sure why... and I'm not even a big drinker...
The shows: they were only but I wish there was more entertainment at the resort
Would I go back.. : NO.
Would i reccomend this place. : Maybe
Best parts: the lazy river, the cafe and the rooms and room service.
The restaurants: I hated all of them out of all the resorts I've ever been to the restaurants at this one was the worst.
Spa: the spa was very nice
The kid pool: always had an extremely weird smell... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cafe, lazy river, clean rooms, spa
The weak points
The restaurants, the desserts, the entertainment, the watered down drinks, the rude staff in the shops
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-05
Dear Nigel Cavasundar, First of all, we are so grateful that you took your time to write us this opinion. We are very thankful to you that you decided to choose our Resort. We really appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay. All your comments and suggestions will be taken in consideration and I will pass the information to the corresponding areas. I am glad to read that in general you had a great experience with us. I hope it is not the last time we see you at the resort, and with great joy we are waiting for you very soon. Kind Regards, Monica Garcia Assistant Manager

Loved our family vacation here!

, Ottawa, ON
2018-11-26
We loved staying here and would recommend to anyone looking for a tropical getaway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful place with lots to do on and off resort. Friendly helpful staff all around. Rooms were great. Lots of critters. Evening shows great. Lazy river!!!
The weak points
Food was decent but not rave worthy. Labels were very often mixed up at the buffet which made choosing safe dishes iffy for my son who has seafood allergies. Beach was nice but not ideal for swimming and too wavy for snorkelling.
Certified

A good place to visit

, Rocky Rapids, AB
2018-10-23
We had some good times here, the people for the most part were great, our concierge Marlene and Harry were awesome treated us amazing, the bellhop/shuttle driver Alam, was great he kept us in stitches throughout our stay, we will truly miss these people.
Over at the Brazilian steakhouse, Raphael was our server and did a amazing job, also a huge shout out to the Head waiter at the regular steak house, he looked after us at the Mayan Experience and invited us to the steak house, for the life of me I can't remember his name but he did a amazing job as well.
Carolina at front desk was very helpful and pleasant as well
It is a wonderful place, just a few improvements needed

Now to the bad points
Ok, the buffets for breakfast was a joke in my opinion, for breakfast they both close at 10 am, only other option is to go to the steak house for their buffet, we also found that the service in the main buffet was horrible at times, the waiters or waitresses wouldn't come and remove plates from the tables, also wouldn't refill water or coffee, and sometimes they wouldn't even acknowledge we were even there, I have never seen this before at any resort, and was quite disappointing to say the least, we tip well for good service, but when they would even come to help us, or refill our drinks, we talked to our tour rep. and I am not sure if she talked to the people there, but it seemed a little better after that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mayan Experience, awesome, Dolphins, amazing, pools great, rooms are great, Harry and Marlene Alam, Raphael, (head waiter at regular Steakhouse) amazing ambassadors to resort
The weak points
Beach was terrible, not what I expected from the photos, also rocky, and smaller than I expected
Certified

Very Nice!

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-04
I liked the Grand Sirenis, everything was a very good experience. Food, drinks, Entertainment. People are very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the ambiance.
The weak points
The beach (weeds on the beach). Also, can't swim without wearing shoes, walking on rocks....Pool in renovation.
Certified

Mexican vacation

, Halifax, NS
2018-04-24
We stayed at the renovated Mayan Beach side - our check in was a breeze and we stayed in Luum. Liz and Rubi were our concierges and went above and beyond to make our stay great!! Thanks so much to them both!! Food was great, snorkelling was fab, everyone was so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are beautiful! Snorkelling great, spa experience is luxurious, staff is amazing!! Liz, Rubi (concierges), Clara and Karen (beach bar staff) were awesome!!!, Miguel in lobby buffet was fabulous!!! Will highly recommend and be back!!! :)
The weak points
The only weak point I can think of is that our fridge wasn't restocked daily.
Certified

Our family vacation for Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach

, Cochrane, AB
2018-04-16
Great hotel. Lots for our kids to do and the food was great. Customer service driven for sure as we were treated very well from the start. We will be back for sure. Our family enjoyed the entire visit and the location was great, close to shopping in Playa and tours everywhere. My kids were never bored and didn't ask for their phones once which was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great service, great amenities and friendly staff.
The weak points
Internet service is weak. Charge too much for the weak wifi signal provided. Should be free with great signal as it is important. The beach needs to be a bit cleaner as well with softer sand and less weeds.
Certified

Family vacation

, Strathmore, AB
2018-03-02
Our trip to Grand Sirenis was great. Resort has a nice layout, nice amenities, pools and la carte restaurants. Beach is great. Great snorkeling. Everything is in the walking distance. Overall great experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Below Expectations

, Calgary, AB
2017-05-19
Our review should be followed by e-mail [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
lots, most -very rude, horrible manager and staff at the front desk, very undeserving 5 stars category
Certified

Great family vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2017-04-21
From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and well taken care of.
The only disappointing points were garbage on the south beach and Japanese restaurant we booked for the last night. The cook focused more on putting up a show than on food and server was the only person in the entire resort who was not polite and if felt like he did not care at all that night. It was the first time I actually left a restaurant right after my "meal" was served. Since the cook was busy throwing his spatulas up in the air, he burned pretty much everything, including my salmon. I am sorry, but putting tons of butter and soy sauce on everything does not qualify as a Japanese meal and burning food does not give it flavour. But the worst part of that night was when the cook started throwing food at guests asking them to catch it with their mouth. I simply had enough and I left. The manager came out right after me asking if I'd be returning. I said I would definitely not and provided him with my feedback for the service. Big disappointment especially after reading great reviews of that restaurant.
Other than that experience I have to say it was the best vacation we've ever taken as a family. There was just enough space at the 3 beaches, which were clean and had just enough shade to enjoy hot days. Little ruin, rocks, hermit crabs and fish right at the shore made it all very pleasant and entertaining for the kids. The beach on the south side of the property unfortunately had garbage left on it but it was a nice place to hang out for some quiet time. Generally speaking, it was surprising for me to see so much garbage everywhere outside of the resort.
Food was good with many choices at the buffet and some dishes cooked to order. As for restaurants we tried Brazilian (good service and great tasting food), Steakhouse (good service, but food just ok) and Japanese (as per above). The best tasting dishes were actually served during Mexican night at the buffet. I highly recommend it.
We also enjoyed Mayan experience dinner offered at the resort (for a fee). It was well organized and entertaining. Service was exceptional (gracias, Leo :) ). As my kids were getting cold (there was a cool breeze from the sea that night, as dinner was served on the beach), we were provided with warm blankets for them right away and generally our server was very attentive and polite. Meal was tasty and focused on featuring local ingredients, which I liked.
Our room cleaner was sometimes late with tidying up the room, but overall she did a good job.
Generally room was ok, just could use more privacy for the bathroom. Our concierge was polite and despite trying to sell a timeshare tour to us, quite helpful.
I took a trip to see Ek'Balam ruins, the Maya villages and a cenote and it was very well organized with a very nice and knowledgeable guide assisting us through the trip.
Overall, I can definitely recommend this resort to families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and very helpful staff, good food choices, many entertainment options, clean main beach
The weak points
Japanese restaurant and garbage on the south beach
Certified

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel

, Okotoks, AB
2017-03-09
Overall negative experience, sorry to say.

On arrival, poor organization, unclear for all finding their buses for transfer from airport.

Paid extra for the Distinction package which did not reap benefits advertised.

Room below par. Mattress very saggy with no support Linens discolored and grey. Bed skirt stained. Spoke with 3 other guests who also upgraded due to room conditions. Requested room change and was offered a "renovated" room. Cost to writer for upgrade; additional $328.42 for six nights Room was the same with the exception of new beds, clean linens and some decorating. Bathroom unchanged. I felt exploited

Lack of communication by reception. Writer informed upon check out that there was a $40 fee for using a 3rd wifi device in the room No wifi connection for 2 of those days. No verbal or written information given with regards to wifi use. Staff unable to provide any documentation

Food was good but my friend and 5 others reported being ill during their visit. This was not alcohol related. Buffet could use more hygienic serving utensils to avoid contamination. For example, use of ladles for sauces/syrup rather than tablespoons. Suggest mandatory hand sanitizer prior to entering buffet as practised at other resorts.
There was no bottled water for portability, unless purchased.

First evening of entertainment were guests performing karaoke Same 3 singers for duration of stay on main stage shows. Would love to see more cultural entertainment.

On the positive. staff were helpful, friendly and approachable Grounds/ beach kept clean and
beautiful. Food tasted good. Excursions and guides were very good. Good for couples and families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above review
The weak points
See above review
Certified

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach / Riviera Maya

, Rockwood, ON
2017-02-02
Whether you stay at the Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach or Riviera Maya side, both are very nice and share all amenities. The staff are very friendly and service is very good. The whole resort is clean - always see staff cleaning all parts of the resort. Beautiful vegetation and many beautiful birds and cute animals around he resort. Fun activities - archery, air gun shooting, pool games, snorkelling with the turtles, pictures with animals, and more. Lazy river is fun, pools are nice - not heated but were warmer after a couple days of hot sun. Food was pretty good - lots of variety, different theme nights at the buffet. Great bbq by the beach. We could only book 3 a la carte dinners - wish it was more or unlimited even. Great tasting ice cream at the little parlour by the pool - my kids loved it! Beach was nice. Lots of great snorkelling, a little rocky in areas - water shoes are best. Dolphin swim is located on site - my kids loved it! Price to swim with the dolphins is reasonable but be prepared to pay a lot if you want photos. Rooms are nicely decorated (we had a renovated room though), I found the beds comfortable, shower is nice, kids loved he jetted tub. Air conditioning is strong. I found it too cold and the thermostat could only be turned up to 25 degrees. We kept the patio door open when we were in the room which turns the a/c off. It's just over an hour bus ride from the airport - a little far but worth the drive! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, pools, food, snorkelling, activities.
The weak points
Distance from airport, only 3 a la carte dinners
Certified

Awesome Family Destination - Our 2nd Visit!

, Peterborough, ON
2017-01-28
We visited for the second year in a row and had another fabulous week. We both enjoy scuba diving and love that there is a dive shop right on the beach with quick and easy boat out to the reef. The staff there are fantastic, very friendly and super helpful.
The Kid's Club is FANTASTIC. You can send your kids between 10am-4pm and they have outings, take them to lunch, do the lazy river, and have an indoor area with movies and video games. Our son (who is a total home-body and generally prefers to be with us) loved going and would ask to go even when we didn't need him to be there. And for us, we can go diving and know he's safe and having fun.
The snorkeling at the beach is amazing, as good as what you can see diving at the reef (we saw a giant stingray at the rope line!). BUT, for us, between last year's week and this year's week we've only had a total of 3 days the water wasn't red-flag and too rough for snorkeling. Not sure if we've just had bad luck or if that's standard for the area.
The food is good, lots of variety at the main buffets, and something different at the beach BBQ for lunch each day which is nice. We've tried the Brazilian, Steak House, Mediterranean, Japanese (twice), and Thai restaurants - and I would only recommend the Japanese and Thai. The Japanese has good food and a good show watching the chef prepare everything on the grill.
This most recent week we had looong line ups at the beach bar which was annoying (I don't remember that being a problem last year). I think they needed an extra staff - one bartender would be filling orders for the beach servers, leaving just one bartender to handle the entire line up.
The resort grounds are absolutely beautiful, there is a bit of walking necessary but we never minded. The lazy river is a favourite of ours. The pool areas are great. There is a bit of a shortage of chairs at the beach area and pool 2. Many chairs 'reserved' with towels all day and nobody ever seeming to actually be sitting on them (especially at the beach). We were never able to find chairs at the beach but many people were just laying on their towels on the sand, which was ok. We like to move around throughout the day so reserving chairs in one location wasn't what we wanted.
Evening entertainment is ok (not really our thing, but well attended). We enjoyed hanging out in the lobby for a drink and people-watching. And the new sky bar is very beautiful and relaxing. Last year there was an amazing beach party, with a Mayan dance and fire show. But we asked this year and they said they didn't do it anymore, which is too bad because that was a highlight of the trip last year!
Last thing to comment on is the rooms, they are pretty good, we requested a ground floor close to the beach and got what we wanted. Rooms are clean and housekeeping is fantastic (different towel animal each day which my son loved). The bathroom shower needs updates, it was a bit run-down looking.. Also, the bathroom is not well closed off. The family rooms (2-doubles) have the opening partially glassed, but there are still openings. Beds were ok, not super comfy and very small pillows. But overall ok, we only use the room for sleeping and storing all our stuff!
Overall we're happy with this location and all the amenities and will visit again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous beach, lots of things to do without leaving the resort, kid's club, very friendly and helpful staff
The weak points
In the room - bathroom shower and small pillows. Line ups at the beach bar. And, rough water (but that's not the resort's fault)
Certified

Grand Sirenis

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-20
Excellent. Rooms are large, clean and service is fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms - large and clean. Service - excellent.
The weak points
Could have better instructions/maps.
Certified

Great resort and facilities, Beach is rocky

, Cambridge, ON
2016-07-29
Great service and facilities at the resort. Shuttle service could be better. The party pool was rocking all week long. Resort has some quiet pools too to get some sun and reading done , if that is your desire. Evening entertainment shows were very well done. Kudos to the event staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, events, Pools, swim up bars
The weak points
Rocky beach, poor wifi
Certified

Great Family Vacation!!!!!!

, Angus, ON
2016-02-28
We just got back, and had an excellent time!
The resort is clean, the food is great, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.
We always tip anyway, but we liked the fact that this was not one of the resorts where everyone has their hand out for a tip.
There is also a concierge desk for each block of rooms which was very convenient. They really look after everything you could possibly need.
We travel a lot, and were very happy with this choice of resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Concierge for each building
The weak points
Highly over priced boutiques and shops on the resort
Certified

Met expectations!

, Renfrew, ON
2016-02-08
Although it is evident concierges push for cross sales and good service ratings, staff in general is very pleasant and courteous. Resort is safe and kid friendly. Buffet food was good and A la carte restaurants (in particular Thai and Japanese) were very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe, lazy river, good snorkeling at resort's beach, beautiful pools, resort big enough to find quiet corners and discover new things every day. Staff was friendly and did not seem to play favorites based on tips.
The weak points
Tipping is not mandatory but expected. Rooms are starting to show signs of age but still acceptable. Several concierge per building, ours mixed up a few things like restaurant reservation times and booked at wrong restaurant. No biggee.
Certified

Great Family Vacation

2016-01-27
Highly recommend Grand Sirenis for families. Lots to do for the kids; lazy river, pool, snorkeling, dolphins, ice cream parlor......did not use the kids club as our kids are a little older. Evening shows - the Circus show was the best we have seen at any resort visited. Service was excellent in all areas of the resort. Grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Recommend Mayan Beach section with Transat Distinction collection, the extras are worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The amenities, activities, kids loved the lazy river, pool and snorkeling in the beach. Resort is beautiful.
The weak points
Buffets were typical, prefer a la cartes.
Certified

Grand Sirenis

, Westlock, AB
2015-01-30
The staff were all amazing and we had a wonderful time. Food was plentiful, drinks were strong. It was my first trip and I am already excited to plan a second! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pools - a party pool if you want or a quiet pool if you don't. Staff was amazing and did extra for my aunts birthday.Lots of food and drinks were strong and tasty.
The weak points
They offer a shuttle tour of the hotel but its a time share shpeal. Avoid that and you will have a great time!
Certified

Lovely resort, great service

, Ottawa, ON
2014-12-16
I had a great week with friends at this place. Architecture is Mayan style and really attractive. Close to Akumal (just a few kilometres south of the resort). Very good buffet selections (better than most of the a la carte restos), and great service from all staff (particularly Floriberto Reyes Torres in the main dining hall). A quiet pool is available for folks that don't want to listen to entertainers and loud music all day. Ask for a room in the southern building for peace and quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of food options for picky eaters, and range of pools for tourists looking for quiet.
The weak points
Rock hard bed and old bed linens. Mediocre food at Cajun a la carte resto.
Certified

Great Snorkeling & Sea Turtles!

, Lacombe, AB
2014-12-15
We loved this resort because of the fantastic reefs and sea turtles right at the beach.
The resort itself is very nice, exactly what you'd expect. No complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great snorkeling
The weak points
Evening shows weren't as good as expected
Certified

Enormous resort

, Toronto, ON
2014-12-07
Nice resort but very big. Very clean and well kept. Careful with membership sales and promise of chance to win "free" trip. Much longer than 1.5 hours as promised. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, spa and beaches.
The weak points
Check in, buffet, pressure membership sales, size of resort (difficult to manage if any physical limitations).
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Vancouver, BC
2014-12-04
We had the best time ever out of many years of trying various resorts. We are definitely going to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, grounds, food, beach, snorkeling, Service.
The weak points
The bed became a little uncomfortabal by the end of the week.
Certified

Good resort - useless crew

, Kirkland, US
2014-12-02
Nice and modern design. But crew say HOLA every minute but whenever you need their help, you get nothing. I prefer Cuba...crew in Cuba are more helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and modern design
The weak points
a lot of fluff. Crews say HOLA every minute but whenever you need their help, you get nothing. I prefer Cuba...crew in Cuba are more helpful.
Certified

La creme de la creme

, Pickering, ON
2014-09-23
Whereas I had the worst experience at the Bahia Principe Cayacoa (Samana - JUne 2014), our stay at the Gd Sirenis Riviera Maya has been definitely the best in a resort.
Gorgeous pools, excellent food at the buffet and specialty restaurants. The Brazilian was one of the best out of Rio, the Japanese A1, the French Bistro with Piaf, Aznavour in the background...
Five sandy beaches with coral reefs and maya ruins... Excellent service throughout... efficient shuttle service...friendly staff... generous bars....hundreds of chairs and palapas...no need to reserve or to fight for one. All in all, highly recommended. Already planning my next trip at the GSRM. Truly a 5* resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
too many to mention
The weak points
none worth mentioning
Certified

Grand sirenies Mayan Rivera

, Okotoks, AB
2014-09-16
Would not go back. Food was always cold and not tasty. Moved rooms even after we paid for upgrade cause no king bed available. Reception is so unprofessional looking. This hotel should not be classed as 5 star. I would have a tough time giving it a 3. Room leaked from roof when raining needs real updates. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Food was mostly cold and not good. Upgraded to ocean view not worth it no beach view. Would not stay here again. Lazy river was short had to get out after 5 minutes and walk to start again and not enough tire tubes so people waiting for them.
Certified

NO watersports there

2014-09-15
The service was excellent.
The snorkelling off the beach was better than average. BUT be aware - contrary to the hotel info on the internet - THERE IS NO WATERSPORTS - no catamarans, no windsurfing. THere is only something that vaguely resembles a kayak. Dive from the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and food
The weak points
no watersports except for snorkelling and seedoo ($70/hour) and diving ($170/two tank)
Certified

My time at the Grand

, Surrey, BC
2014-09-10
had a really good time at the Grand. Food so ok and the service was awesome. i would not buy any packages for tours at the hotel its way to much, just to town its cheaper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and crew was super nice.
The weak points
the food
Certified

Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Epicness!!

, Langley, BC
2014-09-09
It was huge, bigger than I expected. Shuttles to get you around. Everything from a gym, pool bar, lazy river, room service, towel animals, building concierge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge place, pool bar, and lots of activities.
The weak points
Wi-fi was awfully slow, no free wi-fi in lobby.
Certified

Below Expectations

, Kitchener, ON
2014-08-21
While we made the best of our family vacation the resort most definitely fell below our expectations. Most definitely not a 5-star as advertised.

Good points:
The beaches and snorkeling on the resort were incredible and beyond our expectations. It was one of the best beaches I've ever been to. Absolutely beautiful. Great for adults and children. We had a lot of fun exploring.
The food was good overall. The Mexican A La Carte restaurant was incredible.
The resort was kept very clean.
There was a concierge located at every building which was a great idea and they were incredibly helpful and friendly.
Nightly shows were great!

Room for improvement:
While we loved our concierge workers, for some reason on the first 3 days of our stay they called us at 7:30 am just to see how things were going. This woke up our entire family...way too early on vacation!!!
Other than the concierge we did not find the staff friendly at all. No one seemed to enjoy their job and they even seemed miserable at times (especially one of the workers in the Ice Cream Parlour). They did not make us feel welcome. The resort felt very understaffed which could attribute to staff demeanor.
Waitresses would come to take drink orders at pool/beach and often would never return.
Unfortunately, we had to make a trip to the hospital in Playa Del Carmen for our son. The hospital staff were absolutely amazing. They were so friendly and upbeat and helpful. It was very disappointing that we did not get the same level of enthusiasm at the resort! This seems very backwards!
We were allowed 3 A La Carte dinners for the week. We booked our meals as soon as we arrived and were not able to get into the Japanese restaurant on any of the 7 days we were there. This is the one our family was most excited for. They did offer us a 4th dinner at another restaurant to compensate for this, but the only time available was at 9pm the night before we were leaving. With 2 children, this was simply not feasible. It seems odd to me that this would have happened since the resort controls the amount of A La Carte dinners you can have. One would think that by controlling this it would allow for equal opportunity for all guests to enjoy the restaurants of their choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches and snorkeling on the resort were incredible. Beyond our expectations. Food was good The resort was kept very clean
The weak points
We did not find the staff friendly at all. No one seemed to enjoy their job and they seemed miserable at times. Resort felt very understaffed. Waitresses would come to take drink orders at pool/beach and often would never return.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021