Riu Yucatan

Riu Yucatan
4.034.034.034.034.03
4.03 based on 220 reviews
#28 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (76)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Riu yucatan

, Ottawa, ON
2020-03-13
screeching wild monkeys at 7am ferile cats in dining area while eating sea gulls attacking food on beach many other rodents throughout the resort including large cockroaches in room definitely not a 5 star as listed it is a 20 year old resort with a little bit of lipstick on it and absolutely not worth the money I spent WILL DEFINITELY NOT GO BACK [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food decent
The weak points
screeching wild monkeys at 7am ferile cats in dining area while eating sea gulls attacking food on beach many other rodents throughout the resort including large cockroaches in room definitely not a 5 star as listed
Certified

Riu Yucatan

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-11
Beautiful location, excellent room, has a small jungle area where the monkeys eat and travel back and forth from the neighboring Iberostar. Large beach area, never an issue to get a lounge chair. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strongest point is probably the food, everything was great especially the steakhouse.
Certified

Very Good Experiense

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-01
Amazing Food, a very responsive staff, very clean, good entertainment. Overall very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Entertainment and cleanliness
The weak points
Noise at night
Certified

In total everything was perfect

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-29
in total everything was perfect [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Consistent Riu Hotel

, Yorkton, SK
2017-03-17
This hotel meets all the expectations of the Riu Club Hotel brand.
Good food, great service and clean property. It will not have beach/pool service or room service; but that is not what this class of hotel is for.
You can have Wifi in the lobby and for a small fee of $45, you can have it everywhere for the week.

This is a great place to getaway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, food and beach. Close to Playa del Carmen. Access to 2 other Riu's.
The weak points
Nothing. This is not a luxury resort but it is a great alternative.

I love this Resort

, Trenton, ON
2017-03-12
This resort has it all! (Except room service and clocks in the rooms) There is a beautiful beach, there are great pools, the food was outstanding and our room was comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff was the best I've ever encountered.
The weak points
I would have liked comfortable seats in our room and a clock.
Certified

As expected

, Vaughan, ON
2017-02-27
Good selection of food, no service at the pool restaurant or by the pool. Otherwise nice hotel. No Wifi in the room, which is very inconvenient. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not a Five Star

, Saskatoon, SK
2017-01-23
good vacation but not a five star resort.went to book the mexican restaurant at about 8:00 am,the concierge said it was all booked up.That night we were at steak house right next door,could see in mexican restaurant and there are only three tables occupied at any time.not sure what to think.Never did get to try mexican. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach,location
The weak points
dated room,restaurant reservations
Certified

Excellent hotel and staff

, Brampton, ON
2017-01-17
very nice hotel
excellent location
good food
great staff
good overall [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach pools food location friendly staff
The weak points
none

Location

, Blainville, QC
2016-08-15
Great Location,Playacar [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Staff , very Clean place
The weak points
its a 20 years old building fresh paint will not change that, the main Pools need to be refresh, and our room was very far .
Certified

Riu Yucatan

, Goodwood, NS
2016-04-27
This resort is spectacular. Food was amazing, rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff went above and beyond. It's a large resort so a lot of walking. We suggested golf carts for elderly who might need a lift from A to B. The beach was clean and even though we were told there might be a sea weed problem,we didn't experience any of that. It's also super close to 5th Avenue and a shopping Plaza. Had a wonderful week at Riu Yucatan. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Yucatan ,wonderful all inclusive

, Fredericton, NB
2016-03-27
Our vacation was wonderful from start to finish.Check was easy and our room on the first floor was small but was all we needed ,and was was nice and private.The grounds were well kept and staff worked hard to keep them that way. We enjoyed interacting with the howler monkeys. The agouti's were so entertaining as well. The food was exceptionally good. There were three pools and we tended to stay near the fun pool as it was handiest to the gorgeous beach. All in all a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I feel the food here compared with other hotels we have stayed at .far exceeds our expectations . Everything is close and would appeal to anyone with mobility issues. We loved interaction with the animals.
The weak points
The rooms were small.A curtain between bathroom and bedroom would give more privacy. Also shower door should not be clear but opaque.
Certified

RIUYucatan visit two weeks

, Unit 207 Bedford, NS
2016-03-13
The front desk staff were very polite, professional and client service oriented. All other staff(housekeeping, restaurant staff,chefs and entertainment staff) were very friendly and professional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good customer service orientation of front desk staff, housekeeping staff and food service staff. Overall very good value for the price.
Certified

Pleasantly surprised!

, Gravenhurst, ON
2016-02-06
This hotel had all the things we were looking for in a hotel stay. Cleanliness, good food, beautiful beach and friendly, accommodating staff, in that order. The things we didn't like were out of the control of the hotel. Too many uncontrolled kids. Too many self-serving, inconsiderate guests that really is just a sign of the times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, king bed and plenty of room, good food and great variety, great accommodating staff, good entertainment and activities
Certified

Riu Yucatan hotel

, London, ON
2014-03-05
The rooms were very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Did not like the Wi-Fi service with 90 consecutive minutes every day and you were not able to sign in again until the following day after the time you signed in. Why make it 90 consecutive minutes? If you did not use 90 minutes you were unable to sign in again that day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff excellent, room clean, beach clean and wonderful. Great for kite sailing away from busy beach.
The weak points
The beach chairs were mostly taken by 7:30 a.m. and was disappointed that there seemed to be fewer chairs than patrons in hotel.
Certified

Amazing Vacation

, Odessa, ON
2014-03-02
We've travelled for many years now and this resort is by far our favorite. The food was very good, with a great variety, wonderful staff and overall wonderful accommodations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Convenient layout, easy to find your way around.
The weak points
I can't think of any!
Certified

Great Time

, Stittsville, ON
2014-02-19
Only issue was 90 minute free internet every 24 hours, you could only log in once per day regardless of time used. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Internet
Certified

3.5 Star ONLY

, Keswick, ON
2014-01-05
The rooms are horrible, the restaurants are usual all inclusive restaurants, nothing special. The pools and beach are fine, the staff are great. Not sure why on earth this is a 5 star...I would of never booked this place if I knew the truth. We left and stayed at a boutique hotel instead. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Terribly disappointed
The weak points
I wouldn't go back
Certified

Good holiday, not great !

, Brandon, MB
2013-12-26
Very nice hotel on an even better beach. My wife and I differed on the food. I am a bit of a fussy eater and did not enjoy the food. My wife on the other hand enjoyed most of the food. The biggest thing we did agree as being bad was the extreme humidity and musty smell in the room. I understand it is a tropical climate and I have traveled to a lot of humid locations however I do not believe the A/C was doing a proper job of removing humidity from the room. The beaches, pools and property around the resort is beautiful and the staff is very good. The location is a $7 cab ride to 5th avenue is another nice option for when you have had enough sun on the beach. Overall I would call it a very good stay not necessarily a 5 star accomidation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, location and staff.
The weak points
The room , beds and food.
Certified

Great hotel except the free wifi.

, Lethbridge, AB
2013-12-16
it was a great time.the staff was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
loved it cant wait to go back.
The weak points
the wifi was the worst I have ever seen.idnt like the price after other people got the same for cheaper.but live and learn.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation!

, Victoria, BC
2013-12-13
The Riu Yucatan was a beautiful hotel and resort. The bar in the hotel lobby was a nice touch. The beach was stunning and the rooms were cozy.

I had a few personal setbacks, like my cell phone getting stolen while we were checking in. Didn't see it happen, but it was when my back was turned to my bag.

I also noticed our room was damp, so my sheets were damp at night and it was a little uncomfortable.

Our room was conveniently located very close to everything! The bars, the restaurants, the beach, etc.

We didn't make much use of the free water sports like the catamaran, kayak, etc. But, we went parasailing which was incredible. They'll try and charge you $85USD per person, but we went with $55CAD each and they had a stack full of tickets with different dollar amounts on them, so even if they show you on the ticket that it's $85, don't fall for it, just walk away...they'll call you back and say okay they'll do this favour for you.

We also went to Xel-Ha. That was incredible!!! It was really expensive because we went swimming with the dolphins, but just for the all inclusive day it's $99 per person. Totally worth it. Highly recommended!

We also went to Rio Secreto, the Mayan Caves. I was a bit disappointed because I thought it was a cenote we were going to, but it was still pretty cool and only a 15 min drive from Riu Yucatan.

I would definitely recommend going to Riu Yucatan! I loved the buffets, moreso than the a la cartes. Which at most resorts it's usually the other way around! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Bartenders, Location, Xel Ha
The weak points
Dampness of room, Long drive from airport/speed bumps, Entertainment was really hit or miss
Certified

Good basic 4 star. Def not a 5 star

, Cambridge, ON
2013-11-23
Great layout, fun resort. Great new Decor. Smokers haven (cough cough) terrible juices for drinks, Buffet much better than a la cartes which is unusual. Lots of mosquitos. lots of Crowds and busy place all year round. Good for a fun vacation, not so much for an unwinding relaxing type. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beaches, hotel layout
The weak points
a la cartes, mosquitos, no waiter service by pool or beach
Certified

Our 3rd visit

, Mississauga, ON
2013-11-10
Great Hotel. The new renovations are lovely. The lobby abit too pink.Miss the authentic mexican decor. The new pool area is a great place to relax or swim laps. The food was excellent and all the amazing staff make your stay enjoyable. The reason we return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
You can walk the sandy beach for miles All staff excellent. Good Food lots of choices.
The weak points
Smoking area as you exit the buffet it should be on the other side.
Certified

We loved the Riu Yucatan

, St Laurent, QC
2013-10-02
Our 11 nights at Riu Yucatan were superb. We chose the suite and we're very happy we did. It was so clean and spacious with a huge balcony. We had requested close to restaurants and beach and that is what they gave us at check in. Staff and reception desk were excellent and very kind. The whole resort was super clean: bathrooms, restaurants, grounds, gym, etc. As for the beach, what could we say: magnificent! We will go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything,
The weak points
Entertainment needs improvement
Certified

Great resort, would stay again!

, Edmonton, AB
2013-07-17
We stayed last week of April and this was last week before renovations. Resort was excellent and would for sure consider coming back for another trip to the same resort. We stayed in 4 different Riu's before in Mexico and the Riu's are excellent resorts to choose from. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice resort, nice location
The weak points
internet connection (wifi) End of usage of Wifi you have to wait 24 hours to use again
Certified

Nice Vacation

, Kitchener, ON
2013-04-29
We stayed for a week and had a nice relaxing time. Traveled with my husband and one other couple. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Beautiful beach.
The weak points
only 1 true a la carte restaurant (Steakhouse) the asian and mexican both buffet style
Certified

Amazing Vacation!!!

, Cambridge, ON
2013-04-29
Our family of 5 just came back from the Riu Yucatan and we loved it. When we read some of the reviews after booking our trip we were a bit concerned about what to expect. I am not sure what hotel they were at because this one was amazing. The staff was always so friendly and helpful. We asked for a ground level room close to the pool area as my husband isn't able to get around very well. When we arrived our room was in one of the back units. We asked if we could get something closer and because of the hotel being booked solid they said they would move us in the morning and that they did. All we had to do was leave our luggage in the room and they moved it to the new one for us. We ended up in the 5th unit which in our opinion was the best. It was close to everything yet not noisy. The food was fantastic. We didn't do any of the a la carts as the buffet in the main dining was always different and a large variety to choose from. We looked forward to the different theme nights. Our favourite was the seafood night with lobster, shrimp, clams, mussels and octopus!! The waiters and waitresses got to know us quickly and were ready with our drinks when we sat down. We loved the little towel critters that the housekeeping staff made each day. Our rooms were clean and well decorated. The Riu Yucatan was closing for a couple of months after we left for renovations and updating, but I'm not sure where they needed it other than a little paint here and there. We loved the old Mexican charm and decor that it offered. We hope it doesn't change too much and loose it's charm. The beach was BEAUTIFUL and clean. The staff were always on the move and ready to help you with your lounges. There was a lot of room and we were never without a sun bed on the beach even with the hotel so packed. The pools were so clean and well maintained. The entertainment staff were great. My teenage kids loved the sports and activities and participated daily. The night shows were great. We loved the authentic Myan show and the fire show!! Great talent. We can not say enough about this wonderful place. We will definitely be going back. We have been to a lot of different places down South and by far this was the best trip yet. We would defintely recommend this place to anyone. We enjoyed the different wildlife living on the resort especially the monkeys. My kids loved feeding the local critters that came up to our patio every day looking for a treat. We did a day trip into Playa de Carmen and took a cab in although you could walk if you wanted. The cab was a bit of a rip off as we are a family of 5 and needed a van instead of a car so instead of costing the $7 one way it cost us $14 so the transportation was a bit much. It was a nice experience to see the culture and walk to the pier where the ferry boats come in. It was a Sunday morning so the little church on 5th street was broadcasting in english the mass onto the street. What a cute little church. The locals weren't as pushy as we expected, although a few were, we just kept walking on. Go after 4pm and you get better deals as during the day the ferries come in and they up the prices! We also did a day trip to one of their national parks Xel-Ha. Definitely worth going to. The snorkeling was great and safe for all ages. The kids loved the zip lining into the water and the other activities. They did the dolphin swim, which was extra and a bit expensive, but the kids loved it and the experience. All the food and drinks were included in the price. All in all this was definitely a great family vacation and great for couples too. Loved it!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service and friendly, helpful staff. The whole resort was clean and well maintained. Great pool area and lots of places to lounge.
The weak points
Internet was limited to the lobby and you had to pay if you wanted it in your room. The signal was great in the lobby and had no problem getting on or with the speed.
Certified

Canadian traveller

, Pierrefonds, QC
2013-04-02
The resort was clean food was good the monkeys were a little loud but our experience was unforgettable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great atmosphere
The weak points
animals on the resort
Certified

A lovely resort

, London, ON
2013-02-25
All the negative comments that I read before we left were not warranted. Our expectations of a resort are fairly high and we were not disappointed at the Riu. The food is plentiful as is the variety. It is very tasty and not repetitive. Staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Grounds are well maintained and very tropical. There are plenty of beach chairs around the pool and at the beach. Beach is lovely and compares well with Bavaro in Punts Cana. If you like waves, you will not be disappointed. Some days they were a little too rough. Entertainment could have been a little better with most geared to a lot of dancing. All in all, we were very pleased with the resort and all it had to offer....would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food, staff, cleanliness, grounds.
The weak points
big waves
Certified

Great holiday

, Manitoba, MB
2013-01-29
Very nice resort. Needs some upgrading to the rooms but they are very clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Anything you needed all you have to do is ask. Bars were great and the bartenders were friendly and did not ignore you like at some other resorts. The beach was wonderful, always lounge chairs available. Just ask the beach staff to help you find a chair and they will carry it over for you. Nice white sand and water gorgeous. The evening entertainment was not that great but the entertainment staff were a busy bunch keeping people busy doing things during the day. Food in the buffet was so so but the a la carts were excellent. Love the location being close to Playa - long walk to town or a short taxi ride, just 7 bucks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, friendly hard working staff, a la carte restaurants,
The weak points
Buffet does not change much from day to day. Entertainment was not very good.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021