Bahia Principe Grand Coba

Bahia Principe Grand Coba
4.144.144.144.144.14
4.14 based on 1364 reviews
#14 of 131 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (373)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Bahia Principe Grand Coba

, Calgary, AB
2022-11-29
I travelled solo, so for me it was actually paradise that I didn't need to cook or take care of anything. I felt safe in the resort, all staff were very nice, friendly, kind and hard working.
I do not have bad experience with anything, I felt comfortable in the big room, which was clean and supplied with water every day. The bed was hard and comfy for me, the bathroom was big, clean and nice. The resort is huge, so you could run around, they have cycling, aqua aerobic, volleyball, evening programs etc.
FOOD! For me, who is cooking every day, I appreciate the variety of food and I really enjoyed it, salads, seafood, pastas, sushi, burgers, guacamole, variety of eggs, donuts, desserts, wine, beer, cocktails etc. - fantastic!
Swimming pools have bars around, clean towels and stalls where the staff offer trips to snorkeling etc. There is swimming pool also for kids with safeguard on duty, but parents still have to look after their kids.
Resort cars will bring you to the other hotels or to beach.
The beach is maintained every day, safeguards are on duty and bars are open based on season, but mostly 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
My overall experience is great, and I would definitely stay here next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food, cleanness, very polite staff, program, ala carte menu, clean beach
Certified

Wonderful holiday

, North Saanich, BC
2022-11-28
Our travel agent set us up on this trip last minute and we were quite happy with the choice. The resort was a little far from the cancan airport but worth the trip once we got there. Resort is well run and staff very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean well run great entertainment and nice beach what more do you want. Food was also good .
The weak points
Didn't like the privilege wrist bands
Certified

Grand Coba is mostly grand

, Calgary, AB
2022-08-14
Great for the price point. Enjoyable for the whole family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Evening shows, plenty of beverages and food. Knowledgeable staff
The weak points
Pool closes early (7pm), Beach is average - rocky, seagrass, narrow
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
No concerns
Certified

Amazing!!

, Oshawa, ON
2022-08-06
Everything was beautiful. Friendly Staffs and help are always ready. Clean Room. Excellent Services. Good Price for all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Le Gourmet Restaurant was our number one. We would suggest you to go there. Meal is a champ! Excellent Huge Pool.
The weak points
No weak points for us so far.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
It was cleaned.. We were not worried at all when we were there and came back home.
Certified

Highly Recommend

, Stjohns, NL
2022-07-26
If I had to give our stay at this resort an overall number, I would give it 9 out of 10. We've stayed at another Bahia Principe in the past and this one surpassed the expectation (which was not low). If you're 'beach people', maybe not the place for you as we thought the beach was quite cramped compared to other vacation spots we've visited. But everything else about this place is amazing, from the cleanliness, the food to the customer service. We will happily return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great customer service, clean, entertainment crew and shows were great, food was delicious. Excursions that were offered were interesting (the Tulum/Cenote/Snorkeling/Lunch tour we took was amazing).
The weak points
Air conditioning was either not present or not working in 2 of the A la Cartes and the buffet a couple times. Coba's "section" of the beach was very small, busy and was not that appealing to us (we're more pool people anyway so that wasn't a big deal)
Certified

Great hotel but don't fall for the Bahia privilege

, Westmount, QC
2022-06-30
We had a great experience with the hotel, its staff, the food, and the entertainment. No complaints at all with the tour and hotel itself.
However, we did not have a good experience with the Bahia Privilege club at all. They are basically a travel agent inside the hotel that tries to lure the travellers booked by other agencies to book their next vacation with them. They made a lot of false offers to us to grab our attention (the agent said free dolphin show, free snorkelling session and VIP breakfast) for a next-day tour. However, the next day we were given a 90-minute presentation that contained TALK TALK and TALK and nothing else! So beware, if they gave you the same offer, don't waste your vacation time as it's just a pure lie. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
hotel structure itself, its staff, the food, and the entertainment
The weak points
Bahia Privilege club false offers
Certified

Bahai Principe Grand Coba

, Calgary, AB
2022-05-11
I have to say this was one of the most incredible vacations I every had in Mexico thus far. The service was impeccable the staff were absolutely amazing. The hotel was clean offered plenty of amenities, restaurants and activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, North Bay, ON
2022-03-23
We had originally wanted to book Bahia Principe Grand Tulum because it underwent a redo in 2020 but the price went up and we picked the Coba instead. I am glad we did. We loved the Coba location. It is set on a smaller piece of property so everything you want is close by. The staff work so hard and are so friendly from the serving staff in the buffet, to the waiters in the a la cartes, and the entertainment crew. If you cannot find something you like at the buffet then there is something wrong because there is such a variety; hot food station with carved meats, pasta bar, mexican section, salad bar, sushi, bread section, and dessert bar, etc...
The shows are amazing, not mickey mouse and you can go to the a la cartes at Tulum as well. If you want a beach nearby then Tulum would be your better choice as you need to catch a shuttle to the beach. We didn't mind as we prefer sitting by the pool. Swim up bars are nice as well. Try their traditional colourful drink the 'Riviera Maya' or my favorite 'the mud slide'. I would recommend the Coba to family and friends, we really enjoyed our holiday. Thank you to all the staff at the Coba !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
We really enjoyed the world pools. The food at the Food Truck is awesome. Our favourite a la carte was Le Gourmet nice steak, great soups, and the dessert - baked Alaska Wow a show and delicious, if you like black licorice liqueur!!!
The weak points
We enjoy relaxing at the end of the night by watching some TV. Unfortunately our TV reception was not good. It was pixelated and they tried several times to fix it, but it was never corrected.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The rooms and grounds were very clean. Staff wore masked at all times and guests wore them into the restaurants.
Certified

Great Resort!

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-23
We had a great stay at Coba! The resort was huge so it did not feel cramped during a busy time. Plenty of things to do at the resort so you will never be bored. Facilities are amazing! We will be going back as soon as we can! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Entertainment staff was great! Lots of sports and games on the beach and at pools. Food was great and had many options, and al la carts were great too! Rooms were very spacious and provided everything we needed. All staff are very friendly!
The weak points
It is a bit far from the airport, roughly an hour and a half. The beach is a bit rocky but this did not deter us from going into the water.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks to be worn in food/buffet areas.
Certified

Good experience, but don't expect perfection.

, Vancouver, BC
2021-12-20
Overall everything was okay, but not wow or perfect. Almost every day we had to ask for more towels as the housekeeping kept leaving different amounts of towels every day. We booked a room for 4 (since we have 2 small kids) and we got the same room as everyone else, but the beds instead of being put together as a big bed (which is what everyone else got), we got the beds separated, which made it very hard to sleep on. Within the first couple of days we put the 2 beds together, but they were easily pulling away from each other. Not the most comfortable sleep for sure. The food was good, but I would have preferred more fruits. All drinks seemed too sweet for my taste but I would recommend you try the Iceberg. Staff did not have the most amazing customer service, but nice. Internet did not work all the time. Their app was a bit messed up and kept showing someone else's name on our reservation. Internet was okay but needed their help to be able to connect; and also they have very limited devices per room. One last thing, my 6 year old came back with COVID. I only point out the negatives but there were lots of good things too, but I want you to make your decision based on what could go wrong and if you are okay with that, then you will enjoy this stay for sure. Overall we enjoyed it, but it is up to you what you are willing to accept and what not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
clean, fun, nice shows, nice pools, kids club, good entertainment, easy access.
The weak points
no consistency, limited with the internet devices, long line ups at reception.
Certified

Great resort

, Toronto, ON
2021-11-24
I had a stroke in june/july, so this trip is due. The atmosphere was amazing. Although my husband wanted to go on adventures I just wanted to sit around and do nothing. The beach isnt that great but the pools are amazing. The food, omg, the food. Amazing. Overall I had an amazing time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great family vacation

, Montreal, HA
2020-04-04
We had a great time at Bahia Coba with a 18month old and 3 year old. We asked for a connecting room with grandma but they didnt have any available but they made sure our rooms were next to each other and on the ground floor to make it easier with our stroller.
The resort is big but we walked everywhere, even to the beach. We prefered walking with our big double stroller than folding it each time we had to take the shuttle. Lots of choice at the buffet. Food was great. Beach was amazing and cleaned by staff all the time. The pools are amazing, there were many different ones and we quickly found our favorite one, a bit quieter where we could play with the kids. Maybe they had many cancellations because of covid-19, but it still looked busy and we never had to wait long for a kid highchair. Entertainement outside the lobby was great every night. We never made it for the 9pm show inside because of the kids. It was also one 1hour from Cancun airport, and not 2h as seen on other reviews. we would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids friendly, grounds, clean, food, beach
The weak points
musty smell in bedroom eventhough it was clean
Certified

Escapes

, Coldwater, ON
2020-03-02
Great facility, staff and experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Marcel vouriot

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-01-09
in the first 4 hour i slipped on the back stairs of the main lobby due to rain, and broke my ribs, after reporting the incident to the manger, his comment was, i can't control the whether. another gentleman said he reported 3 incidents where someone slipped, as i was talking to the manger a gentleman slipped and feel and hurt his back badly, the manager went and got him ice for the bruising on his back. nothing was done to compensate me or anyone else, so i gave up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the labor staff was great.
The weak points
any complaints to the management fell on def ears. did not like the setup of the trams and the distance to the beach.
Certified

Wonderful resort

, Brampton, ON
2019-11-22
We went to Grand Bahia for our anniversary. It was a great experience. The staff were welcoming and accommodated our needs with our mother who couldn't walk too much. The hotel was immaculate and kept clean everyday. Entertainment was a great selection every night. The staff always went around to invite people for programming and activities. We enjoyed our stay and will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and entertainment staff. Hotel was immaculate
The weak points
Long drive in from can cun airport
Certified

Our week long family vacation at G.B.P COBA

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-10
Overall we had an enjoyable time - however rhere are a few key factors that would keep me from coming back to this resort. Food - food was a major disappointment. Buffet menu was more or less the same with slight variations each day, it was a struggle to find anything that tasted fresh or flavourful. Even the A la carte restaurants we ate at (Mediterranean/Brazilian/don Pablo) we sub par at best. Was only able to eat the fresh made pastas and breakfast omelette, had to drink to fill my belly most days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent hospitality and service, friendly staff and concierge, lots of activities for everyone to enjoy, nice clean pools with stunning landscapes and architecture.
The weak points
Food - food was a major disappointment. Beach - very far from our resort to the beach. Having to take a shuttle everywhere was extremely tiresome. No drink service on the beach, nor were we allowed to drink/eat/sit on a chair at the Akumal beach (cobas)
Certified

Excellent trip

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-10
been to 4 other bahias and this was the best, for such a big resort it keeps the feeling of a small personable resort, food great especially at the restaurants, staff were great will def go back hopefully soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

4.5 stars Grand Bahia Principe Coba

, Edmonton, AB
2019-09-19
An amazing place to stay in Mexico for families. They are very organize with transportation to the beach and all lobbies on the resort. Overall the resort is lovely and well organized. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is amazing for 4.5 star resort. Buffet restaurant has a great selection and loads to choose from. Beach is not wide but always clean with plenty chairs. Lots of beautiful wild animals around the complex including lizards, iguanas and raccoons.
The weak points
Should be more activities on the beach. Weekends are so crowded with Mexican loud families. Lines to buffet for breakfast are so long and they don't care about others, just themselves :(
Certified

The grand bahia principe coba

, Brampton, ON
2019-08-19
I had a wonderful times at the bhia along with my family the foods is delicious and lots of varieties of food and options the staffs was very nice room service was excellent snack bar 24hrs always have fresh food wifi is a little bit slow when you at the grand bahia principe you have access to the next resort tulmuim the buffet there is huge and more foods options [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
He had a great time will definitely want to go back
The weak points
The only thing that happen to us we went to the Festival show we purchased two kids tickets which was supposed to be $9,00 they charge me $18,00 for each ticket when we was checking out the staff was very rude he didn't tried to assist us
Certified

Good Resort

, Vancouver, BC
2019-06-24
Lots of fun at the pool. Sports bar was great and lets kids go in. but they need at least 2 extra xbox controllers . (one was missing so only 3 where in use for 2 xbox) . Japanese Rest was very good. the others were good--too hot at the mexican restaurant (air condition was not on but windows open) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful Place but watch your possessions!

, Whitby, ON
2019-04-16
Great food, beautiful pools, great service and very friendly staff. Rooms are very large and clean. We did hear of people having things stolen out of their rooms and even out of their locked safes. Clearly an inside job! That's unfortunate! Beach is not great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds. Great service. Friendly staff. Great food and beverages.
The weak points
Not a great beach. Theft is definitely a problem.
Certified

General review

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-12
Nice area sournded by beautiful nature with the beach in close proximity. The food was great and people were very friendly. Nonetheless, the resort need serious renovation and the beach is full of seaweed to the extent that it's almost impossible to swim in it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful area, friendly environment and very welcoming and helpful staff in general. A lot of swimming pools to chill and relax. A lot of things to do around.
The weak points
Rooms are old, full of bugs and not as clean as expected. The rooms need serious renovation and some rooms leaks inside when it rains. The beach is disappointing with a lot of seaweed all over the place. Wifi is only available in lobby
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Coba

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-02
My two daughters and I had a wonderful and relaxing time at the Coba resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very helpful and always a pleasure to interact with. The resort is very well managed, and very clean. The food was excellent. Room was nice and clean. We were happy.
The weak points
Daughter became very ill with a food-borne illness: birds constantly flying in restaurant, touching uncovered food, defecating may be the cause. Check-in confusing& too long. Villa stairwells unsafe - no handrails. Beach lacked umbrellas & chairs.
Certified

Third time a charm

, Portage La Prairie, MB
2019-03-30
Needless to say Coba is our favorite resort however they somehow found a way to improve since our last visit. The grounds are kept immaculately, the animation teem fantastic, pools, Porter's, check-in/out, reception, maid service, golf cart drivers, morning coffee ladies, concierge and all the others who keep Coba moving flawlessly are all five star. We just experience 14 days of pure luxurious relaxation, excitement & pleasure.
Our favorite A la carte's Don Pablo's...6 out of 5 stars! Brazilian (Rodizio's)... 5 of 5 stars, all other A la carte's 3.5 - 4.5 stars, Buffet's a solid 4 stars.
Bar's... Fast friendly service considering how busy they are ( just a WOW factor a lineup for service was enforced when busy)
Julian at the Royal lounge is the most friendly and personal barman (has been for the 12 years that we've known him) in the entire resort. Marco at the Coba beach is a very close second.
24 hour food service is available, I purposely sneak out around 4am for a hamburger/fries a few times each vacation (delicious and fresh).
Congratulations to each and everyone at Coba, Tulum you made my wife's birthday vacation absolutely fantastic you are a perfect 10 in our books, I applaud you all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I have more than 20 Southern vacations of experience and for the first time honestly say the Food, bar service, animation, grounds, pools, entire staff and managers all worked together to give us a near perfect vacation. Thank you Grant & Sandy
Certified

Very good and relaxing time

, Oakville, ON
2019-02-14
The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were beautiful and the staff were very nice. The grounds were kept up. The pools were kept up. You could tell that everyone took pride in their work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent with a lot of choice.
The weak points
Hotel is a sales engine, constantly trying to up sell you in one way or another. It becomes very annoying after a while. This hotel is NOT on the beach, so you are taking a tram to go to and from the beach.
Certified

Amazing honeymoon

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-17
We had an amzing time at the grand bahia principe Coba! We stayed jan 8 to jan 15. We loved the whole experience from rhe time we arrived to the time we left, actually wish we were still there!! The service was amazing and we would definitely be back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service staff were so helpful, food was great!
The weak points
Big resort, but there are trolleys that take you around so no crazy amount of walikng required!!
Certified

It was ok!

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-14
We stayed for a week here after a sale came up. Over the hotel was very nice itself, we booked the royal golden section, so when we got there and realized we couldn't get served at the Premier bar which was dissapointing. I was never once seated at breakfast buffet, and finding a table was difficult, sometimes getting cutlery was even more of a challenge. Our bartender was missing at our pool most of the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel, friendly staff. Pools were clean and there were lots of activities.
The weak points
Wifi is only in the main lobby. The golf carts going to different parts of the resort can be confusing, I wish they would have been labelled. The food would have been better if it changed daily, the buffet was basically the same everyday.
Certified

Amazing, we love this place!

, Edmonton, AB
2018-11-22
We have been to this resort 3 times now, and love it every time! We took our kids twice so far, and they always want to go back, they have so much fun there as well! Friendly staff, great facilities, fun pool activities, awesome food. We booked our a la cartes at Mikado (our waiter Marcos went above and beyond!) we weren't able to get a cooking table, but could see some of the show from our table, La Grand Tortuga (Brazilian BBQ, so great!), and Cozumel (Mexican). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

DO NOT GO HERE

, Kamloops, BC
2018-10-22
I just spent a week at this resort and I am baffled at how this place has a 4.5 star rating. I have been to Mexico a number of times, and this is by far the worst place that my family has been to. With all of our visits to Mexico, we have never encountered rude staff, but at this resort we encountered this problem multiple times with the bartenders. The pool area was a mess, with garbage being left for days sitting on the ground. There is NO poolside service, so if you would like a beverage or food, you have to get it yourself. There is only 3, or better to say only 1 buffet restaurant, because after having lunch at the pool area buffet, it was decided to go to the main buffet due to the food quality. The food was OK, but pretty much the same thing everyday.We spent the whole week trying to find a drink that was worth drinking, but the low alcohol quality, and the bartenders inconsistency to make a quality drink made that next to impossible. The seaweed at the beach was piled up. I get that it s an ongoing process for the resort to deal with, but having a 3' windrow of weed on the beach for days in unacceptable. They could help this problem with more cleanup crews, but I doubt they care too much. Our Villa had no ice machine, and our room had a mini fridge that didn't work. After trying a few times to get it working, we just gave up. They would stock it sometimes, and sometimes they wouldn't. Our king bed was so old that it had large "dents" in it where previous guests had slept. We maybe slept for 1-2 hours at a time before waking up and having to change positions because some part of our bodies were numb. The bathroom had mold growing in the corners and on some edges. Shower toiletries consisted of shampoo, and conditioner, but no shower gel and hand soap, except for the last day that we were there. Our room had a dehumidifier, but no other rooms in our party had this luxury. They have work vehicles that are in disrepair driving around at 5 am. Kind of a problem when some of these vehicles don't seem to have functional mufflers. The day of our departure, a waitress in the lobby bar dropped and broke a glass in the main walkway. She seemed to not care as a young Mexican girl with bare feet walked right through it. Then the cleanup lady missed a bunch of broken glass. But that was typical in this resort with cleanliness. I am confused as to all of the good reviews that I read on this resort. Maybe these people have never been to a nice resort before. Keep in mind, you get what you pay for with this place. The only good thing was that it was fairly cheap to go to. I would rather pay more money to go to a quality resort than go to this place. I would highly recommend against going to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I can't think of any strong points due to all of the negative points!
The weak points
all in my review

Family Mexico Holiday

, Clyde, AB
2018-10-15
We took this family holiday cause my mom had just passed. It was a.time to relax with my girls. We arrived late in the afternoon waiting in a lineup to check in. The heat and humidity was amazing and difficult all at the same time. The was multiple people checking people in this one lady was serving a couple and then decided to take us on as well, they didn't seem happy about that either (I get multiple tasking but she was NOT good at it) we didn't receive our complimentary drink (which we just drove 2 hr to get there and hot) she wanted to book us in a king size bed with cot. I explained to her no we booked two beds as we are a family of 3. She told me they had no other rooms. Tomorrow more rooms would be available and we could change them, I refused to be hoping rooms as we booked a 2 bed room. The lady then told me to give her 10 mins. So we went and sat in a hot lobby still in our airport clothes, sweating everywhere, and nothing to drink. Over 10 mins I went to find her. "We lucky found a room for us" ok great happy to be in a room. Second floor great. Had a shower went to eat, came back to bugs all over the walls, counter, in our purses, in our suitcases. So gross called the front desk. Then sent a man, he started spray everything down, walls, furniture and wiping. So as he goes the whole room is being sprayed with a chemical. We pack our bags.
Fun starts, back to the front desk, I refuse to stay I a big room and no has been sprayed with a chemical. They have mother else but king room and can more tomorrow if something comes available, I said NO. I asked to talk to a Manager, no manager. We waited till midnight fighting with the front desk about a clean, No bug, no chemical, 2 bed room till midnight. My oldest daughter tried, we both got laughed at, talked about ( in their language) treated horrible, unprofessional. Honestly at this point I would have taken a plane ride home. My 8 year was crying she was tired and wanted to go to sleep. We had been up sence 3:30 am that morning and trying to get a clean room for hours.
Finally they found a room, a handicap room, great as long as we don't have to more and 2 beds and no bugs. Yes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool nice The customer service guy tried to be somewhat help full but totally didn't read us right, mom with 2 kids. He sent champagne over to our room....? Well still there... not appropriately.. but good try, I guess. Had kids pool, kids club
The weak points
No beach area close to hotel. Hotel huge, but limited rooms..? Bugs in room Front staff NOT friendly. No internet in room, extra cost. Repeatedly had to call to get room cleaned. Had to ask for pads on bed.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022