Trs Yucatan Hotel

Trs Yucatan Hotel
4.314.314.314.314.31
4.31 based on 32 reviews
#61 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

TRS Review

, Hamilton, ON
2020-03-10
Rooms are nice and clean. Staff was always attentive. We had requested a jacuzzi tub on the balcony, and got it after the second day, They said they didn't get request, but I verified with the travel agent, that a request was placed. This was very unsettling, but they did acomidate our request, after some persistence. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Having the key for your room on your wrist /hotel identifition is the great. Nice pool, and waiters asking if you want drinks.
The weak points
l didn't like the lighting in the room, too dim. Having mirrors in the bathroom , watching yourself sit, is quite strange. Having a jason the balcony was nice, but you had a light over your head,that you could not turn off. But it did go off at 11:15.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-13
Dear Richard T, Thank you for choosing TRS Yucatan Hotel as your vacation destination and for the time you have taken in sharing your opinion. We are delighted to know that you appreciated the cleanliness of your room, the attention provided by our friendly staff. Likewise, we thank you for mentioning some aspects where we can improve. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

Nice resort

, Kelowna, BC
2020-01-19
We did extensive research before choosing this hotel, and even joined the facebook fan club. From all this research, this hotel sounded amazing, and given the price we paid, we went in with pretty high expectations. We had stayed at another high end resort last year, which had the most amazing food and in room services, so that also made the bar very high for us.

The one very commendable aspect of this resort was the staff. They were always friendly, polite and would help you in any way they could. This was not just front desk staff, but any staff member you came across on the grounds, even gardeners or maintenance people. The people are definitely the #1 commodity Palladium has and were outstanding.

One of the key reasons we chose the resort was for the unlimited a la carte dining. Online, people raved about the food. My husband was very excited, as when we booked, unlimited lobster (even by room service) was advertised. However, 1 week before arrival, Palladium cut back the lobster to only 1 restaurant, so it wasn't quite what we were expecting.
Overall, the food was pretty solid, but not as good as where we stayed last year. We had watched youtube videos on the breakfast buffet, and found it wasn't as exciting as we'd hoped. We'd seen macaroons in the videos, and did not see them the entire trip, so they were likely another cutback. The room service was actually down right disgusting- it looked like it came from a central depot that also served the other family oriented resorts on the complex, perhaps explaining why the quality was not good.

Palladium also cut back the amount of in room alcohol bottles provided, but this didn't really bother us.

We were lucky to book when the Chic show was still included in the price, so got to see that at least. It was really well done and a nice experience.

Unfortunately, despite having a large beach, it was all very rocky and not swimmable when we were there. There was a bit of sargassum, but wasn't a big deal. The beach was probably the biggest disappointment as we love swimming in the sea. The TRS area for the beach was very far away from our building, and wasn't actually that close to the water as it was set back quite far, so we never used it.

The grounds for the resort were pretty but VERY spread out. We stayed in building 62, near the Las Rocas pool. If I wanted to get a coffee in the morning, I had to walk 15 minutes to the lobby bar through a dark path going through a mangrove forest. There was an option to call a little golf cart, but unless it was really hot or one happened to be going by, I couldn't be bothered to do this. We were constantly walking long distances to get from place to place, so I usually had 20000 to 30000 steps per day. I don't mind walking, but this did get a bit tiresome after a while.

If you are someone who enjoys shade, TRS is not for you. The Infinity pool and Las Rocas pool have very little shade. There are some bali beds, but the roof isn't confluent so even those didn't fully protect you. We went to the pool at the adjacent White Sands resort a few times as they had palapas which did provide some shade, but this wasn't adults only unfortunately.

The spa was very nice and peaceful. We were able to use the spa infinity pool, hydrotherapy circuit and juice bar as part of our TRS privileges. We also used the gym a number of times. We did some of the fitness classes by the pool, and found the staff really great who instructed these.

Overall, it was a nice resort, but we likely wouldn't go back since it's quite far from the airport, the beach was disappointing and the food didn't quite live up to our expectations. However, the staff were amazing and really made a great impression on us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at the resort were amazing and the most professional staff we have come across and we travel extensively.
The weak points
Unfortunately Palladium had made a ton of cutbacks in the month leading up to our trip, stripping down the luxuries of the stay. This was a bit frustrating, as we had already paid for the trip, and likely would have chosen a different resort had we known.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-23
Dear Amanda W, Thank you for choosing TRS Yucatan Hotel as your vacation destination and for sharing a detailed review about your experience. We are glad to know you had overall a great time enjoying our facilities and the friendliness of all our staff members. On the other hand, we regret to know that your expectations were not fully met regarding some of our services. We are saddened to know you do not intend to return, but we do hope that if your travel plans point again the beautiful Riviera Maya you give us another opportunity. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

It's OK.

, Mississauga, ON
2019-10-27
The staff are nice but the reservations required for dinner is annoying. Who wants to plan things at an all inclusive resort? The food didn't slap in my opinion. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice pools Bars are everywhere CHIC Cabaret is included and is a must see
The weak points
Reservations required for dinner restaurants Mainly for couples
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2019-10-31
Dear Mrs. Ana, Thank you for sharing your experience at TRS Yucatan Hotel with the readers. We deeply regret your stay was not up to your expectations regarding the dinner reservations. Our services and attentions are focused on satisfying our guests' needs, and we regret not having achieved it with you. We offer you our sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations on this trip, and cordially remind you that, our doors will always be open, if your travel plans point again the beautiful Riviera Maya and decide to give us another opportunity. Kind regards, Kenia Rodriguez Hospitality Manager

Beautiful!

, Kelowna, BC
2019-02-25
We loved our 2 weeks at TRS. It's quiet and classy just as we wanted. Amazing staff and kept so clean everywhere. We had a ground floor with pool. Such a great place to enjoy our privacy. Butlers were very helpful. Pools were also wonderful and lots of longe chairs and cabanas. Serving staff there, great!!
Some surprise entertainment there on occasion. Grounds are beautiful and so cared for. Checkin and out were lovely. Definitely 5 stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful lobbies and grounds! Spa area was also wonderful! Fantastic staff!
The weak points
The Chic Cabaret show was great, meal was disappointing! Lots of servers working very hard and presentation was great but food was not. Valentines for a special dinner. Beautiful room, set menu,don't eat lamb.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2019-07-12
Dear Dianne, Thank you for choosing TRS Yucatan Hotel as your holiday destination and for sharing your impressions about your experience. It is great to know you enjoyed our resort and that you especially appreciated the friendliness of our staff, pools and gastronomy. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff

, Calgary, AB
2018-10-02
We were fortunate enough to stay here for a week in September. It was absolute paradise! From the second we walked through the door until the moment we left we were blown away by the cleanliness, the food, the hospitality, the constant hard work and smiles from the staff. The grounds were breathtaking, the room was incredible with our own private pool, the common areas were filled with people enjoying their vacations. It was everything we were looking for and then some. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF! Absolutely remarkable service. Always friendly, always smiling, always there to help. Romeo is amazing!
The weak points
Could have had a better night life for those who are after that. We We weren't so it didn't affect us much. Also if you're looking for a long stretch of sandy beach, it's not for you. There is however a 3 level infinity pool that looks out onto the sea.
Certified

My new 2nd home!!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-15
So impressed- from the staff to the room to the overall vibe of the resort. So impressed I 'bought in' on my 2nd day lol. We had the JR suite with small pool in the back (ground level) I LOVED this room, it was very cozy and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms, the staff, the overall vibe and energy. The bar Staff (Alfredo & crew) were amazing in the main lobby bar! The pool servers were kind and attentive.
The weak points
It would be great to have a 'grill' by the pool- quick eats - the bar menu wasn't that great- fresh burgers or pizzas etc. A bit more entertainment- Like Trivia or even Karaoke in the main lobby bar- was a bit quiet at night BUT wasn't a deal breaker.
Certified

Great service.. wonderful food.

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-11-03
great hotel. Staff are extremely helpful and professional. Love the food and the Royal Service is well worth it. Like the internet service and can access it pretty much anywhere.
Love the bali-beds for Royal Service! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is great. Love the "Royal" service. Staff are outstanding. Love the wildlife nearby
The weak points
None really... only thing is that some people 'saved' their poolside seats in the morning ( i hate when people do this)
Certified

Mayan Suites March 2013

, Durdan, MB
2013-04-09
We found this resort to be very natural and beautiful to walk throughout the paths and trails. Our room was exactly as it is pictured with a very comfortable bed. Most of the staff were amazing, and genuinely friendly and helpful. Buffets were average, with much better foods at the a-la-cartes especially El Jardins dinner and buffet breakfasts. The vegetation and wildlife gave us the feeling of living in a tropical forest. We enjoyed wandering around so much, we hardly left the resort. Thanks to everyone there who made this a memorable holiday. We would highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The scenery, the rooms, the staff, layout of the resort, the wildlife, El Jardins (Royal Service Restaurant).
The weak points
Loud speakers at family pools, Royal Reception Staff, larger buffets.
Certified

Awesome Holiday!!!

, Stratford, ON
2013-02-08
This hotel is part of a group of 5 hotels in the same complex. We had access to the amenities in all of them. The hotels were well laid out and their was plenty of well lit walking paths as well as internal transport for those not wanting to walk. Lots of restaurants to choos e from, lots of swimming to choose from, and wonderful beach area. Our hotel had it's own seperate, adult only pool, and it's own restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, well organised,well run, attentive staff, lots to see and do while on resort, lots of options for excursions.
The weak points
lack of "smaller" more intimate entertainments.
Certified

Nice week at Royal Suites

, Hamilton, ON
2013-01-21
The extra benefits of the Royal Suites are worth it. The food at the exclusive El Jardin restaurant is better than the rest of the resort, and the Club Car service to drive you around the massive property is very handy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Club Cars, El Jardin Restaurant, room service, lobby, unlimited towels, in-room Internet.
The weak points
Beach is far from rooms, especially Royal Suites beach. In Jr. Suite, toilet and shower open directly into room. A little odd!
Certified

Nice rooms, poor food.

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-01-04
We have been to this resort several times, but found that the food quality has certainly gone downhill. The resort also seemed to be working with skeleton staff. The al a carte restaurants were awful so most of the time we picked the buffets to eat, but they were not much better. The rooms, staff, etc. were very nice, but we were happy to come home after a week. Not sure if we will return to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, location and weather were great.
The weak points
Food quality.
Certified

Beautiful, Clean, Friendly

, Edmonton, AB
2012-03-17
Our stay was amazing, the staff was friendly, the scenery was beautiful, this was our 3rd visit to the Mayan, the food was excellent. The a la carte breakfast was a great perk of the Royal Suites. The bartenders in the area of the Royal Suites were very nice. Grounds were beautiful, we would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful surroundings, beautiful buildings, nice walkways, and boat rides. Super clean, food was great.
The weak points
The shuttle ride back was 2.5 hours with no bathroom on the bus. WAY too many stops. The shows were ok but not fantastic.
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Kanata, ON
2012-02-15
We felt like royalty
The facility and staff were amazing
We have no complaints
Felt very safe [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I have nothing wrong to say about the resort, I would go back in a heart beat. We also felt very safe!
The weak points
No weak points, other than a better explanation what our "perks" were. We found out about a few more the day we were leaving.
Certified

One of the best

, Shaunavon, SK
2011-12-17
Very clean,nice beaches,helpful staff and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is our second visit to this resort. We came back again because we enjoyed everything about it from our first visit. The Rooms, service, staff, and the food.
The weak points
If there is anything that should be noted is the saftey of some of the lobbies. There is small steps that elderly people have trouble with. I have now witnessed 2 falls. The lighting sould be improved.
Certified

Good Holiday

, Sherwood Park , AB
2011-07-20
A nice hotel,but alittle too large for my taste.I like to be closer to the ocean and not have to take carts everywhere.
Also the food was not as good as some resorts we have been to.
Overall though,good value for the dollar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds,great service,
The weak points
Food was not hot enough ever. Beach far away
Certified

Royal Suites Yucatan

, Kitchener, ON
2011-05-16
This hotel and staff were definitely 5 star all the way. The food, the beverages, the service was all A-1. The resort met all of our expectations and some. We will definitely return to a Palladium Resort in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and Service
The weak points
Distance to the airport
Certified

Raccoon suites yucatan

, Stoney Creek, ON
2011-03-24
If you stay in a mayan villa, expect to get woken every night by the raccoons living in your roof. Other than that not a bad vacation, very nice staff and service at the royal suites. we had access to the other four resorts by palladium and did try two of the a la cartes there but ended up eating at the royal suites exclusive restuarant as it seemed to be the best there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good restuarant at the royal suites. El Jardin
The weak points
Being woken every night by the animals in the roof of our villa
Certified

Royal Suites Yucatan

, Toronto, ON
2011-03-09
The Palladium is a large area - the beach for Royal Suites guests was a long way from the rooms and other facilities for guests paying more.
Service was promised but not always delivered.
Food was very good.

We paid for the Mayan Suite which was not what we expected and downgraded to Jr. suite - decor was tired - location not what we wanted. Changing was not a problem and Jr. suite was much better to our liking - more private than Mayan Suite.

Other guests told us that they were upgraded at no charge. Not great to hear when you pay full price!

Salt water pool was great and grounds were beautifully kept.
The Spa was very nice - lots of amenities and Royal guests could use facilities at no charge. Massages, etc. were extra but reasonable.

Resort was just larger than what we are used to and you were "bused" in small carts - convenient as it was too hot to walk that far.
Wildlife was great - interesting to see. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Salt water pool was lovely and not crowed. Able to swim without surf. Good choice of restaurants
The weak points
Rooms need updating. Cleaning staff not consistent with cleaning or turn down service - cleaning could have been alot more thorough. Hot tub on balcony not cleaned. Resort too large for us
Certified

Excellent Choice!

, Edmonton, AB
2011-01-21
We stayed at the Royal Suites for a week and had a wonderful time. We had stayed at the Grand Palladium before but never in the Royal Suites. It was money well spent for all the extra perks that come with the Royal Suites (especially the Royal Suites shuttle service which takes you anywhere you want to go in the resort, any time). The food was great, as was the room (and it was made up perfectly everyday). It was also great having free wi-fi right in our room. The staff are wonderful, we felt like royalty. Highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, clean room, exceptional service.
The weak points
No weak points to report.
Certified

Second time better than the first

, Calgary, AB
2010-12-10
This was our second visit to the Royal Suites Yucatan and I have to say they sure know how to treat you like a king. The staff from Filiberto in the bar to Vianely at the pool bar to Damien at El Jardin(who kept saying welcome home)you don't feel like a stranger but a true guest. The food and drink are pleantiful and awesome. I can't say enough about the staff but thank you. We are already planning for 2011. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and emenitites
The weak points
the wifi
Certified

Honeymoon

, Pemberton, BC
2010-06-07
Fantastic hotel. Really nice staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort. Great food, lots of choice. Private shuttle for the Royal Suites.
The weak points
We were on our honeymoon and we were given a room with 2 double beds at first. This mistake was fixed on the third day.
Certified

Excellent

, Barrie, ON
2010-03-14
It was one of the best trips we have ever had.I think the only fault of the resort was the fact that the private beach was on the far side of the entire Palladium complex.Would I use the Palladium complex again.. Yes in a heart beat. Would I use the Royal Suites part maybe not so much.The extra services were great but because we were not used to the having all the extra services we didnt use them as much as we could have. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people, food,room,
The weak points
Beach, Pools were cold
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021