Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
4.244.244.244.244.24
4.24 based on 116 reviews
#67 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (33)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Awesome Service

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-05
Can't say enough about the service. Ivan was awesome. The kids club is always fun for the kids and the people there care for them as their own. Enrique and the boys in the lobby bar always had us laughing. Second time there and we will be going again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderful Explorers Club

, Halifax, NS
2019-01-01
Loved the resort! Best of all was the kids club/explorers club.....amazing staff kept kids occupied all day...allowing the adults to rest/relax.

Good value and great clean rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Explorers club
The weak points
Evening shows are average
Certified

Family vacation

, Altona, MB
2018-12-06
We had a wonderful time at this resort. It's beautiful and the very clean everywhere. Food was good. Not exceptional but still tasty. It was very windy when we were there so we didn't spend a lot of time on the beach. The pools were great. Loved that they were heated, could spend all day in them without getting cold. We had our 2 boys there and they enjoyed the pools and some of the activities. Lunch at the bbq grill by the pool was excellent....pizza, burgers,hot dogs and the best French fries. Lots of chips, salsa and guacamole...yum!!
Our only complaint is we had a room with a door going into the next room which made it very noisy when others were up partying on 2 different nights. Both times our boys woke up. It was pretty infuriating to deal with that in the middle of the night. The 2nd night it happened front desk answered the first time I called and the group quieted down immediately...that was nice. Overall we had a great time and the staff is great there. Willing to help you however they can. The last 3 nights of entertainment were great. The first few nights were kinda boring. Fire show and light show were my favorites! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great resort, would recommend.

, Oakville, ON
2017-04-13
The resort was really very nice. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Only 20 mins from the airport, so quick travel time. There is a dress code for a few restaurants, so pack appropriately. Even teh basic rooms are very nice. Resort is not too large, so easy to get from rooms to beach to restaurants. Nice beach! The spa is amazing.

We had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dreams Riviera Cancun

, Toronto, ON
2017-01-19
Very nice hotel. All my family liked it a lot. The staff was great. Room was spacious and clean. Pools very good. Entertainment program very good. Food excellent.

Very good for families as they have explorer's club for kids. Our kids loved it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dreams

, Sudbury, ON
2016-12-03
Not far from the airport. Didn't Take long to registerate. Everything is close by. Felt safe. The staff was always smiling. Very efficient. The wine selection is very poor. The gym is great. Not for couples. Lots and lots of children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great choice of restaurant à la carte.
The weak points
Thé wine choice. Could not bring bottle of wine in room.
Certified

Dreams Cancun

, Waverley, NS
2015-03-24
Overall very pleased. Small facility that worked well for our family. Easy to get around and everything we needed was close. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, size of resort(nice and small)
The weak points
Didn't use beach much because of the amount of seaweed.
Certified

Great trip at dreams

, Mount Pearl, NL
2014-11-17
This was the best trip we have had. The resort was fantastic and more than we expected. The entire stay was perfect,the food in all restaurants was above average. The plunge pool for the room was great as well the other pools. We can't wait to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, pools, food , rooms, spa, everything was great
The weak points
I do not think there were any
Certified

Dreams Riviera Cancun Vacation

, Exeter, ON
2014-04-08
We enjoyed our stay & the hotel. Very busy but with the size of the resort you didn't feel crowded. Loved the heated pools!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools were heated & clean. Al la carte restaurants were very good. Bordeaux excellent!
The weak points
Limited Buffet choices compared to other resorts we have been too. Internet very weak or none.
Certified

Great boutique style resort...

, Halifax, NS
2014-04-01
This is a great boutique style resort. Easy and comfortable walking everywhere, a nice change from the huge resorts most all inclusives are, where you need golf carts to get around because of the distances. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great friendly staff.
The weak points
Main dinner buffet selection lacking variety.
Certified

Dreams Riviera Cancun

, Mississauga, ON
2014-03-25
Had a wonderful and relaxing time. Resort was clean, food was good and staff was friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was delicious, Resort was clean, Staff was friendly.
The weak points
Internet access only in the lobby which was fine for me the whole point of vacation is to relax and unwind not be plugged in to technology.
Certified

Dreams Riviera Cancun

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-06
The hotel is placed in a gorgeous location. The beach is clean and beautiful. The hotel personnel is very nice. The rooms are clean and very nice designed. It is awesome there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, the good food and the diversity of drinks, of the restaurants and activities at the pools.
The weak points
In the infinity pool the kids are allowed to swim, but there is a bar for adults in the pool and the kids are swimming around the adults who drink alcohol. This is not so pleasant for adults.
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Embrun, ON
2014-01-27
This Hotel was everything we had expected and more. 20 minutes from the Cancun Airport. Greeting upon arrival, rooms, grounds, pools, staff, beach, bars, restaurants,lobby, check out; all were excellent. We would not hesitate to return or to recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the staff, the restaurants and the food, the lobby bar.
The weak points
Need more lighting in the room's bathroom area. Roads leading to resort are in pitiful condition, but not the Resort's fault.
Certified

Fantastic holiday

, Embrun, ON
2014-01-25
My trip was excellent. Dreams Riviera Cancun was a fabulous resort and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to travel to the Mayan Riviera. The rooms are lovely, the food was good, the service was great and the beach was even better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, food, service and beach
The weak points
None
Certified

Dreams?

, Fort St John, BC
2013-10-15
ok not what was expected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food
The weak points
beach ,internet
Certified

Rainy season vacation

, Oakville, ON
2013-09-19
This hotel is built in the middle of mangroves (swamp) so expect lots of mosquitos. It was cloudy most of the week and rained (poured) frequently. The staff worked hard to be pleasant and upbeat in spite of the weather. The evening entertainment was enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. No wrist bands.
The weak points
Plunge pool needed extra cleaning & was cold! Patio door very difficult to operate. HUGE spiders in room twice & one laid eggs in floor mat! Ocean water is full of sea grass & weeds so unappealing to swim in. Sand is nice.
Certified

Not amazing

, Ottawa, ON
2013-06-09
Nothing bad but nothing great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room size turndown service
The weak points
Food Internet helpfulness of concierge (language - non existent English)
Certified

Very nice hotel

, Aurora, ON
2013-05-08
This was my very first time in Mexico. I was there for a friend's destination wedding. I really enjoyed this destination in comparison to Cuba. Mexico was a whole lot nicer and friendlier.

As for this hotel, the location was great in comparison to the other Cancun hotels, it wasnt in a highly congested area like the other Cancun hotels are.

The no-wristband policy is very nice, unlike other resorts, you dont need to wear a wristband everyone is presumed to be a guest of the resort, so this was nice for a change.

The food was good, though not Gluten-free or gluten-friendly options for those with Celiac Disease or Wheat Allergies.

WIFI was Terrible, absolutely no solid connection. Intermittent connectivity problems.

Room service menu is not expansive and will take minimum 50-120 minutes for your room service to arrive.

Also, the tuck shop in the lobby is a big rip-off, they overcharge for everything (Things that are typically $2 at your local Walmart is literally $28 USD. There is no 24 hour bar service anywhere on the resort.

Bar service shuts down entirely at 1am and there is no more alcohol served anywhere on the entire resort after that time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, nice staff, nice weather, decent beach, nice swimming pools, very nice gym facilities
The weak points
Internet connection, beachfront rooms are scarce, no 24 hour bar (bar closes at 1am), lots of weddings (not recomended for single people or those who want to bring a group of friends and party; more family-focused)
Certified

Dreams Riviera Cancun

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-19
Great experience all around [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club and food quality
The weak points
internet access
Certified

Fully Adequate

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-19
Dreams RC was a good option for our family though we would try another resort for our next visit to the Mayan Riviera. Rooms are clean, food is fairly good and resort staff work hard to make each client's experience a good one. Notwithstanding that, it doesn't quite achieve "luxury" status; it is very adequate but there are better (and worse) options in the area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Polite and helpful staff
The weak points
Not as luxurious as other resorts
Certified

Over the top SPOILED

, London, ON
2013-02-17
Our second visit to dreams riviera cancun and we were not disappointed...The resort has definitely become more family oriented but the staff and service continue to be top shelf...We were treated like welcomed guests from the moment we arrived...Our room was upgraded without even asking to a beautiful King suite with oceanview and champagne and fruit awaited us in our room even though we arrived at 1:30 in the morning...They continued to surprise us throughout our stay with a "Honeymoon" banner on our door and rose petals and candles in our room..(we had mentioned we were celbrating our 25th)...Great resort...very clean...service imcomparable...beautiful grounds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SERVICE!!!!..It's always their pleasure to do anything for you..
The weak points
Wi-Fi...Leave your devices at home..wasn't an issue for us and the concierge was more than willing to check us in on our return flights and print our boarding passes...
Certified

Very Impressive!

, Ajax, ON
2013-02-11
The food quality is exceptional. Loved the warm pools. Service in almost every experience was competent and friendly without being overbearing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was exceptional! Loved not having to make reservations at restaurants.
The weak points
Disappointed that you couldn't "take-out" food from the buffet. A few times in the afternoon my kids wanted a small snack but we didn't want to have to sit at a table in the buffet.
Certified

A quiet lovely vacation.

, Montreal, QC
2013-02-06
Nice hotel, very close to airport, Cancun and Playa del Carmen.
Too quiet, rather boring. Lacking pool entertainment. Half of the week didn't even have music at the pool.
Service staff was awesome! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice hotel. Great service.
The weak points
Too quiet, rather boring. Lacking pool entertainment. Half of the week didn't even have music at the pool.
Certified

Great family vacation!

, Nobleton, ON
2013-02-04
We are picky travellers and our son is a picky eater. We are usually hit with some disappointment in the first hour of arriving. It was day seven and the only thing we could complain about was the bacon at breakfast. They have bacon but you have to ask the omelet cook for it. We never intended to use kids club but our son begged us to go. Resort and accommodations are 5 star. Food for an all inclusive trip was great alway something to eat. Those who complain of this resorts food are crazy! The service was great as well. The staff were always on the ball and would go out of their way to please. Around the pool and at the beach had service but my observation was people preferred to go up to the bars to get their drinks. Overall it was a great family vacation. The best to date! Will defiantly consider this resort for future trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, accommodations, children's activities, and facilities where fantastic. Spa is amazing and as well as fitness facilities. Kids club and nightly entertainment were in parallel to any resort I have been.
The weak points
Internet not accessible everywhere especially not in room. Not a good time of the year for calm beach waters. Beach still swimable and days with yellow flag. Watch for the birds that fly down and snatch your food.
Certified

You can do much better for the money.

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-30
If I was to describe this resort in one word, it would be, loud. I am not talking loud in a happy party, sort of way, rather, an obnoxious, screaming child, ill maintained machinery and paper thin walls way.

I got an e.coli infection from the food that has taken 5 days to clear. Just listening to other guests talking, I was not the only person to enjoy it.

Internet was outrageously expensive, $60USD for a week of low grade WI-FI. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best part of the resort is the staff excluding the front desk and the timeshare vultures.
The weak points
Food, sand fleas, mosquitos and a suck every penny you can from the tourista attitude from management.
Certified

Great resort!

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-22
We just finished an amazing week at Dreams. What set this hotel apart in our view was the unbelievable service. There were people constantly offerring to fill a drink. The restaurants were great! The french one in particular was superb. The location was very close to the airport and we were the first off the shuttle on the way to and the last on the way home. The grounds were spectacular and immaculate. The rooms a bit compact but well laid out. I would advise oceanview. The heated pool with the swim up bar our favorite. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service. Food. Amenities. Spa.
The weak points
Slow internet. The music by the pool a bit dancey cheesy.
Certified

Went on our Honeymoon!

, Ottawa, ON
2012-09-18
Overall we had a great time at this resort. They had a wonderful honeymoon package that included dinner on the beach, breakfast in bed and champagne upon arrival in your room. They missed the fresh flowers that were suppose to be in our room though. The room we had was awesome. It was the preferred suite. The beach was really nice, but the pools were small. They have 3 in total but one is for the kids, the other for activities (arobics) and the other one the only one adults can actually swim in, and that was quite small. I would have liked the pools to be bigger. The biggest down side we had at this resort was the drinks and food. All the drinks were really sweet/sugary, they tasted awful and the food was hit or miss. Sometimes it was really good and other times awful. All the chicken I had was way too salty and completely unateable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent room Great honeymoon package
The weak points
Food Drinks You can hear everything in the next room. Screaming baby in the next room
Certified

Not exactly worth the money.

, Milton, ON
2012-05-29
We were impressed with the rooms, very clean and modern.
The water from the taps really smells though, and would never dare use it to brush my teeth or drink.
The food at the buffet was decent, but still usually cold and the salt shakers were always plugged up from the humidity, not a big deal, but when you see several staff standing around joking and not serving up coffee or attending to our well-being, its a little frustrating.
We ate all our breakfasts at the buffet as we are early risers and it opens at 7am, i can remember the selection was very good, but again, you always got the feeling you were gonna be sick after eating.The whole week i was afraid to try anything new as my stomach was getting this cramping, periodically, very painful, and annoying, im sure it had something to do with the food.My stomach is usually pretty good, i can eat anything and usually feel fine, but that week, i was in pain.
we really enjoyed the al a carte restaurants, very nice decor, nice menu selection, but again, the food was pre-made and processed, then heated up by the "world class chefs" which made me feel a little sick after eating, but not as bad as the buffet food.
The drinks were offered frequently and the servers were very friendly at portofino and el patio, bordeaux was not as expected and the food was cold. We went to Portofino twice and el patio twice,the seabass was good, just needed to be cooked a little more, it was luke-warm, and the shrimp and scallops were also good, they were cooked well and probably the best food i had all week.
i would like to add that im very easy going, and hardly ever complain about small things, but for the money we paid and the vacation we got, i was very dissapointed! I talked to other guest and they paid even less than us and were expressing similar views as us.
The hotel is beautiful, no doubt, but at night its noisy and filled with alot of inconsiderate people that go for the masses of alcohol and the average entertainment, waking most of us up at 1 - 3am.
we bared with it and enjoyed our vacation, the best we could, but i can tell you , we couldnt wait to get home, we will never return to this resort, sadly, and more than likely, not to mexico in general. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location to the airport is great, classy feel to the hotel, very modern, quality liquors, nice spa.
The weak points
food quality is very average, buffet food was usually cold and not cooked enough, very noisy at night, beware the front desk, they try to send you off to "activate " your 200 dollar resort credits, its a salespitch!! very angry about that part.
Certified

Best Dream Ever

, Westbank, BC
2012-04-23
Do not have one bad thing to say about this place. Very clean, beautiful rooms, fantastic staff, great food with lots of variety and the most beautiful beach ever. It definetly was a dream come true. We can't wait to go back there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, great food, very clean, beautiful beach
The weak points
The coupon package and the meeting they tell you you need to go too, but it is for a time share. Would of wasted 2 hours of our time if I did not start asking questions.
Certified

Very Nice Holiday

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-20
This hotel is very well maintained. There are alot of families with children and a lot of weddings are performed. The weddings take up space in the evenings for dinners and dancing which can be a little noisy. But our main concern was the lower part of the beach and ocean. If an ocean experience is what you are going for, this area is not where you want to be.

The pools, the spa and the restaurants were very good. The spa holds a small gym with good quailty equipment and they have a little studio that they hold yoga and spin classes during the week. There are 3 pools, 2 for the children and a larger pool that is great for the adults which over looks the ocean and also has a swim up bar. The service can be spotty in the restaurants but over all, the service was good, no issues with housekeeping and the 24 hour room service comes in handy if you are going on any excursions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort - buildings and common areas are exceptionally clean and well maintained.
The weak points
The beach and ocean are disgusting. The ocean itself was extremely littered with papers and plastics as well as seaweed. The beaches had alot of seaweed and garbage washed up. Although they used a smelly tractor to remove the excess seaweed daily.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021