El Dorado Royale

El Dorado Royale
4.304.304.304.304.30
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (25)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

El Dorado Royal

, Buffalo, NY
2019-05-13
Not sure if I can mention this but I am comparing this all Inclusive to Sandals South Pacific (basic room) Jamaica, Sandals Halyson (club level room) St Lucia, Sandals The Grand (club level room) Antigua, Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya (basic room) Mexico, Ocean Maya Rivera (cheapest place of all) Mexico, and Excellence Punta Cana (Basic room) Dominican Republic.

After experiencing Sandals we were wondering what other less expensive would we like.
Now I try and go to the cheapest room at the place and write my reviews from that.
The Place is very large, beautiful and clean. We were upgraded to bldg 54, one up from the ocean bldg 55 (bldg 55,54,53,52, & 51 are at the farthest side of the resort and is the exotica section). The swim out room in these bldg are all connected and you can actually swim to two different pools from your room. Not sure how these room different from Std rooms (we had requested rooms in bldg 15-right in the middle of everything).
The room was big, with a large Jacuzzi bathtub. Glass separated the bathroom from the other room. Both shower and toilet were separate from the sink area of the bathroom. So traveling with a friend could be weird. The TV had a massive amount to watch including Netflix. We didn't use.
Our AM. room cleaning was great. Evening turn down service was OK but inconsistent. Beverage people were inconsistent. Which is weird because we tipped and only wanted bottle water. Some days they just didn't come (we heard from other guests that they experienced the same thing). The coffee pot was in a shallow shelf. In order to fill with water, you had to take it off the self. Since it's cord is so short it was hard to do. Another odd thing was you could not unlock your sliding glass door to your balcony (I wasn't the only one to lock myself out on the balcony). There are no ice machines in any of the buildings. You have to order it from room service. There aren't bottles/dispensers of alcohol in the room. They supply beer, water, soft drink and juice. A bottle of wine to your room costs $25.00. No elevators in any of the buildings. So keep that in mind when you are checking in.
The pool towels were plentiful but only located in two areas. The main pool was crowded (loungers were literally touching). Other pools could use more loungers. Pools either had a swim up bar or a bar very close to pool (as well as wait staff to bring you drinks and snacks). One pool was in the ocean with rock walls and had little fish in it. It is very unusual and we liked it. No seaweed.

Speaking of seaweed, it was a huge problem. It wasn't just laying on the beach… it was feet high in different areas. They used pitch forks, wheel barrels, back hoe, bob cat and trucks. By the end of the week they were trying to pump the seaweed into trucks. So the noise level on our end was loud with trucks going back and forth behind our buildings. One day we were able to step over the sea weed into the ocean, it was very rocky. Even with out the sea weed I don't think you could play in the ocean. If a wave knocked you over it would hurt.

We enjoyed taking the bikes for rides around the resort, the archery (k-team were wonderful), and the
Bonanza tour (on sight animal rescue) was nice. Another nice perk is you can pay for horse back riding and ride on the property.

When we checked in, I showed them a copy of our marriage license, they told us to see the concierge for something special on our anniversary. We did, concierge assured us something would be done to make our anniversary special. They also wanted to sell us massages, spa treatments, dinner on the beach, as well as having us meet with the club people to sell us memberships in the exotica club (like a time share). We declined, repeatedly throughout out stay.

About dinner on the beach. The area looked like an out door restaurant with a row of table on the beach in little wall less huts (a few feet between huts) All other all inclusive mention before, dinners on the beach had very large separation of tables so you feel like you are alone on the beach with your loved one, no piped in music, or electric light over head.

They also talked up Fuentes (dinner show, with the chef talking about each dish he creates for you). We decided to go on our anniversary. The day of it, I called to maybe cancel and was told we would be charged for it if we didn't show up. The Concierge should of shown us the menu (it is fixed) and tell us about the fee if cancel after 3 pm when we made reservations. Which he didn't.

We did go to Fuentes. The place was beautiful. Immediately try to up grade the experience with wine pairing for an addition $49.00 each (US). First course was crevice (don't eat raw fish), 2nd course had grasshoppers, corn and a cream sauce (couldn't get the taste of butter off my lips). Then the third course the chef put cooked worms in the soup, we walked out. At the door we were stopped, to inquire why we were leaving. Didn't like the food. So they called one of the Italian restaurants and we walked over there. It was fantastic. In fact the only other restaurant we didn't care for was Jo Jo's. It was average at best. However D'Italia Villas, Cocotal, and La Isla and Kampai for lunch was fantastic. At Generations (sister resort you can use) we found that the Wine Kitchen was the best food we ever had at an all inclusive. Unbelievably good. Only buffet was breakfast (you could order al la cart ) was at Cocotals until 11:30 am or Chef Market (at Generations...not as good).
You only need reservations at Fuentes, and the D'Italia Casitas.
If you went to the other restaurants before 7:00 pm, no wait.

Our big anniversary celebration was one mint by a pillow. It was the same night of the fuente fiasco. I was very disappointed. The next day I called our concierge and was told I have a new one. She assured me something special would be done that night. Again tired to sell me massages, dinner on the beach and please see the club presentation. That night we found a beautiful floral arrangement on our bed. Very nice.

The one negative thing is communication and not because of a language problem (most spoke very good English) The only time we minded was when we were leaving. We Called for a pick up at 11:30 (check out at noon, our transport pick up was for 12:45). At 12;00 I called again, they assured me someone was on there way, stay in your room. At 12:15 I called concierge and at 12:30 we were picked up. Just as we were signing out of the hotel we heard our name called for transport to the airport.

They had a great band called Al A Cart as a warm up for the circus show.. I would of loved it they played all night. Not only were they good, they played requests and music that is recent. Very dance-able. We are so tired of old music like The Jersey Boys or a guy who lip syncs and dances to Michael Jackson. The theater has ceiling fans and is open to the outside. Seats are wooden.

The resort had mostly British, Scottish, Irish and Canadians guests. The only Americans we met were members of the exotica club and vacation only at El Dorado resorts.

All in all it was a great vacation. We were overwhelmed at first because of its shear size. I think the upgrade made things bad because we found out we had a butler???? the day before we left. The golf cart drivers were great (always checking if you wanted a ride). You could call an ext. and request a ride anywhere on the resort. There was also places you could sit and wait for a ride, so getting around was no problem. However I do not think this resort is handicap friendly. You need to be able to climb a lot of stairs. All the employees I came in contact with were very nice. Big shout out to Irene (am housekeeping), Jossie (who taught us archery and made us all laugh),and the k team in general. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is fantastic! Restaurants if you get to them before 7 pm, no wait...only 2 needed reservations. No wrist bands. Very clean and beautiful resort, with friendly staff. K team are really fun.
The weak points
The beach was awful. Loosing battle fighting the seaweed. They tried so hard to keep up with it but it just kept on coming and not just inches....feet of seaweed. For price point with other resorts we went to no alcohol in room.
Certified

El Dorado Royale, Mayan Riviera

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-25
This is a large, beautiful resort with many exceptional restaurants however, the resort has a few flaws. Constant upselling by staff: front desk: for an extra $275 US per night (!!!) we can move you to Casitas, waiters pushing $55 US bottles of wine when the house red wine is delicious, concierge pushing time shares when we just want dinner reservations. Also, despite non-smoking rooms, people are allowed to smoke anywhere on the grounds so because our neighbours smoked (from 7 AM to past midnight!), we could not use our outdoor patio. Also, on check-in we asked for a quiet room and got rm 707, right beside the "party pool" and jo-jos outdoor nightclub. Concierge was very nice to decorate our room with a door banner and free bottle of wine for our 25th anniversary but they did it on our 8th (last!) night. Could not enjoy as we had an early morning departure so we left the wine for the chambermaid :( [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful gardens. Exceptional restaurants, especially D'Italia Casitas, D'Italia Villas, Palms and Kampai. LOTS of walking to burn off those calories. Several great pools (party loud pool, quiet pool, etc). MANY snacking or coffee spots or bars to stop a
The weak points
Upselling by staff, lack of non-smoking areas, waiters in restaurants with lack of or poor english. The map of the resort needs larger print as even the young concierge could not decipher the numbers...completely useless.
Certified

The perfect introduction to an “All inclusive” exp

, London, HA
2019-03-31
The El Dorado Royale delivered on its promise of service, meals, entertainment and settings. In fact the quality of the meals, and the level of service we encountered, far exceeded our expectations of our first all inclusive experience. The El Dorado Royale is a beautiful sprawling resort that encourages discovery of its many swimming pools, restaurants, bars and most of all the property itself. Perfect for evening strolls or after dinner walks along its many paths, the resort with its palm trees and tropical vegetation provides a soothing, visually appealing appearance, that belies the number of guests in residence at any given time. Our favourite meeting spot was JoJo's bar, a magnet for most guests. As a MasterChef fan, the “Fuentes Culinary Theatre” is a enjoyable gastronomic experience that closely mirrored some of the shows on the food network. A special mention has to be made of our two concierges Ivan and Jonas who truly epitomized the meaning of service. All in all, the stay at the El Dorado Royale was pleasurable, memorable and is highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
In all areas, the level of service provided by the staff was exceptional. The quality of all the meals served was worthy of many dinner conversations. The ambience of the property and its contribution to the overall experience.
The weak points
The limited beach area, although not a primary concern for us, may prove to be an unattractive proposition for sun seekers.
Certified

Family Week @ El Dorado Royale

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-30
Overall it was a good week. Hotel wifi was strong and it's only a 30-min shuttle ride from the Cancun airport. While there is a beach, there's only a few spots where you can wade into the ocean to get wet otherwise you're on top of rock. The rooms were nice but could use some TLC (ie: missing trim on the door to the toilet). Frequently saw room service dishes left outside for the better part of the day. The Fuentes Culinary Theatre and Mexico Party evening entertainment packages were entertaining and well done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well kept grounds, very friendly staff and flavour and quality of food good overall
The weak points
Pushy concierge constantly trying to sell, very small food portions, room fridge not restocked daily as advertised, no buffet for lunches or dinners and constantly having to move out of the way of staff driven golf carts on paths.
Certified

Excellente 4.5 Stars

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-16
Wonderfully friendly staff
Beautiful grounds
Excellent restaurant choices
Great bar choices
Nice sand beaches beach beds and lounge chairs
Lots of pools choices for everyone, noisy or quiet [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Food quality was down compared to when we were last here. House wines were all horrid but lot of upgrade options No towel swans on the bed, even once
Certified

As expected

, Kingston, ON
2018-04-02
Not a glowing review...the resort did what I expected. The beach is awful but everything else was great. Food could have been a bit better. Staff was friendly, accommodations were nice. It's a resort in Cancún.. upper end. You basically get that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The beach is under constant seaweed maintenance...with a tractor involved.
Certified

Excellent stay

, Ottawa, ON
2018-04-01
great time, lovely location and amazing food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and service
Certified

Bad Coffee and Tang

, West Vancouver, BC
2018-02-28
It starts at breakfast with a mediocre coffee and juice that has only seen a picture of an orange on its label. If you want a real coffee you have to go to one of the two in-house Starbucks and pay $7 for a latte (not sure where you can find real juice). The food was pedestrian except for one restaurant (D'Italia Casitas) and the Culinary theatre was just another way to try and separate you from US$55 for the hard sell wine pairings. Did you want to watch the Super Bowl in your room instead of paying US$70 to go to the Ballroom? Too bad, they cut off the US cable feed during the game (oops, I watched in Spanish until 1/2 time when they cut that feed too). The coconut drinks were US$6 extra and if you wanted a lobster dinner it was a whopping US$242 per person (not kidding). Then let's talk about your personal concierge, who essentially told us that they were only there to 'sell' the extras (including the much pushed Membership/Time Share) not for us.

I have stayed in at least 20 other resorts and would recommend them all before this one. I paid a premium price and was consistently underwhelmed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely grounds and pools; nice rooms (if you get one of the newly renovated buildings). Beaches are great with lots of shade and chairs.
The weak points
This is not gourmet by any stretch of the imagination, nor is it all inclusive. No beach or pool service, as the bars are understaffed. Everything you want is extra; gourmet all inclusive experience, this is not!
Certified

Eldorado Royal

, Calgary, AB
2018-02-11
From the time you arrive the staff is looking to make your trip an enjoyable experience! Staff seem to truly seem to want to make sure every thing is going well for you. Resort is well taken care of, rooms are clean and nice. Pools always seem to have enough cabanas, loungers for everyone without you having to get up early to stake out your claim on one. Lots of activities if you wanted to do them.Food is excellent,everything was close enough o walk if you so choose. Beach was clean and not crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great customer care, staff always friendly and willing to gon the extra mile
The weak points
Could use a few more front desk staff
Certified

Nice place

, Fort Erie, ON
2017-04-04
great time at the Royale . Good food and the staff was very friendly and helpful . Pool attendant (Horhay)was a great touch with ice cream by the pool after lunch , drinks and the occational shot of tequila !lol been there 2 times now . Love they grow there own veggies and fruit ! Very cool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
A little late with the room getting cleaned some days
Certified

Not as good as expected

, Milton, ON
2016-08-28
We were told that we would get one hour of massage free, What we got was only 30 min,

Jacuzzi was dented and scratched.
Food was below par

Most of the time our drinks were flat.
We were lied too multiple times as to what we were offered and what was really delivered to us.

Next time I would avoid this place at all costs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Building and structure of resort is impressive.
The weak points
1-Front desk people are not appreciative of your needs 2- They try to swindle away money from you whenever possible. - They play with words and try to create false impressions of being accomodative
Certified

50th Birthday Celebration

, Hamburg, NY
2016-05-24
A wonderful place. Lovely beach. Pristine living arrangements. Clean public use bathrooms. A charming & most attentive staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and food were top notch!
The weak points
Spa
Certified

El Dorado Royale

, West Kelowna, BC
2016-01-04
Excellent hotel. To many superlatives to mention. Will go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nine restaurants
The weak points
None
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Peterborough, ON
2014-05-29
This by far has been the best resort we have stayed at, and all travelers we talked to at the resort said the same thing - most of them it was there 3 - 5 trip back to the resort.
We stay in the Casitas section of the resort - highly recommend that upgrade. We traveled with 2 other couples. The staff were amazing, the grounds were well maintained and clean. Very sustainable property, and eco friendly as well.
For those with allergies - they handle allergies extremely well - we were very impressed
Amazing food!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, accommodations, available activities, staff
The weak points
Beach is still recovering from past storms, but we are not beach people. Still heard the ocean waves in our room though, so that is all we needed :)
Certified

Will definitely go back again

, Chestermere, AB
2014-01-09
When we first arrived in our room we turned on the light and it blew a breaker to the room.My immediate thought was whats next. We went for dinner and left the issue to the staff. Back from dinner and we only had the best experiences. I am sure all staff has been educated to give the guests the same experience every time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were all friendly and I believe the management did a very good job with the staff giving guests the same experience consistently.The food would be hard to beat
The weak points
Internet access was poor in room and you can get it for 3 days or a week and priced a little high.
Certified

Oasis in the Mayan Riviera

2014-01-06
From the moment that we entered the resort we knew it was something special. Everything that we experienced at the resort met and exceeded our expectations. It was great to have our own access to the lazy river in the resort. Great sun, sand and surf were complemented by the amazing meals at 10 different restaurants. It was fine dining for every meal of our stay. Highly recommend this resort for adults looking for a high quality vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful friendly staff that met every request with a smile.
The weak points
When it rained one night some of the walkways had 3-4 inches of water on them.
Certified

El Dorado Royal

, Glendon, AB
2013-12-30
A gorgeous resort in the heart of everything. If you're a honeymooner or trying to get away-from-it all, this is the place for you. We found it a bit too quiet for us, and were disappointed with the "ocean view". We were in building #2 and the only thing you saw was the luncheon hut. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A very relaxing atmosphere. The gourmet meals were to die for.
The weak points
The front desk didn't include a map of the resort so we were quite lost at first. Also, one of the room keys didn't work, so I was locked out and had a long walk back to the lobby in the pouring rain (no shuttle to be found when it was raining).
Certified

Riviera Maya

, Brampton, ON
2013-10-29
The Hotel as a whole is magnificent starting from the design and decor of the front lobby and ending with the rooms. We could not find a single thing to complain about. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Total paradise experience.
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Advertise 17bars and 13 pools Not The Case BEWARE

, Kirkland Lake, ON
2013-09-24
Apparently as of 2months ago 8of the pools and pool bars are only available to people in the CASITA section yet they advertise 17 bars and 13 pools are available, this is misinformation from the resort information as now there are 9bars and 5 pools available for El Dorado Royale visitors which is a big let down if you expected to have access to what they advertise, huge disappointment there so be warned and beware to avoid disappointment from this deception or new changes as they called them! I guess they forgot to chane this on their website and to inform the travel agents who are bringing thousands of people to this resort. Food is great, service is great and rooms are very pleasant, we have been to this resort 3times and were sad to see such changes happen limiting the pools and bars to Casita guest access only, very sad to see this as we always enjoyed being able to find a quiet pool or bar for romance with the variety they offered, this is no longer an option with such limitations it is just a resort with a lot of people crammed into limited space now, no romance to be found, we most likely will not return due to the decrease in value and privacy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, beautiful rooms and good service
The weak points
Only 5pools and 9barsavailable to Royale suites with new changes to the resort, not 17 bars and 13 pools as they are still advertising on all web sites, they only tell you when you check in, this is deceiving on their part leading to disappointment
Certified

El Dorado Royale

, Maple, ON
2013-05-27
An excellent property. The beach is huge. Five star dining and service. Spectacular! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall an excellent resort.
The weak points
The older section is somewhat dated. Regardless, still an excellent resort.
Certified

Highly reccomend this resort.

, Cbs, NL
2013-05-13
If your a couple looking to get away for a romantic trip, El Dorado Royale is an excellent choice. Totally relaxing and worth every penny. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and cleanliness of this resort is out of this world. The staff is 5 star all the way. Pools are great. Very clean grounds. Service is also 5 star .
The weak points
The only weak point would be the beach. If you are a beach person it is a little dissapointing. Not a long walking beach. No bar close to the beach area. Swimming area was OK. On a positive note, the beach area was very clean.
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Cbs, NL
2013-05-12
Beyond Expectations. Hotel extremely clean, food exceptional and staff awesome (very friendly and helpful).
Had gluten free menu which was surprising but welcomed.
Overall comparable to Sandals resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness and food
The weak points
Beach ok (bar would be an asset on beach). No access to bars unless getting in pools.
Certified

Paradise

, Bright, ON
2013-04-14
This resort was amazing. from the start to the end. this is our first 5 star and first adults only . we have been travelling for years and this one i would gladly return to. When first arrived we were welcomed with a champagne cocktail although we arrived at 8am we did not get our room until 2:30. We had junior suite with jacuzzi and it was very spacious and clean. Maid was good all week, turned down bed service every night, always hot water for showers. A la cartes, no reservations needed first come first serve,food was to die for, lots of variety, never went hungry. Staff at restaurants were always friendly, always had a smile, and overall staff was attentive. The grounds were beautiful, landscapers were always busy at work. If you are a beach lover not the best place, beach had plently of rocks. Though lots of canopy-type beds to sit on. Only went twice to nightly entertainment and it was good. Animation team got people involved around the pool. Big resort so shuttle services come every 15 minutes.. So overall wonderful trip, would go back.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, service, and room
The weak points
Beach
Certified

I'll be back

, Beaumont, AB
2013-02-10
The first resort I would consider booking for another vacation. Greeted with champagne. Food is awesome, people the most friendly. Internet is not free, though, and you need to pay for every device. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly people and beautiful resort
The weak points
have to pay for internet access
Certified

EL DORADO ROYALE

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-24
Great resort,good to excellent food,
excellent service.
Not a resort to enjoy long walk on the beach or to enjoy swimming in the Ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kapai restaurant is excellent,other average.Excellent Spa services.
The weak points
Poor beach and very few spots in the ocean where you can swim without rocks.
Certified

A good getaway, though short of 'gourmet'

, Toronto, ON
2012-11-30
A great getaway resort, suited to couples looking for a comfortable and secluded vacation spot on a private beach. The activities, entertainment, and general hospitality were all quite solid, with the exception of the waitstaff.
If you're in search of an interaction with local culture and an 'authentic' cultural experience, this is likely not a resort suited to you. This destination is an oasis and a break from the outside world and less of a genuine experience with local culture and natural attractions. For example, the main place on the resort to purchase 'local' Mexican goods is the commercialized gift shop.

For a five star resort, the food quality and service was quite disappointing, despite the wide selection of a la carte restaurants. Food was often delivered at room temperature and drinks orders often arrived late (and occasionally forgotten).

The rooms were overall very comfortable and lovely. Our only complaints were cold morning showers (with overall difficulties controlling water temperature), a singing fridge (in two different rooms), and a toilet with limited flushing abilities.

Overall, the resort matched expectations and provided a comfortable, and community-oriented experience for guests in a friendly environment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- great getaway spot, with nice villa set-up and private beach - friendly atmosphere and overall good service, with exception of waitstaff
The weak points
- food quality and service were disappointing for a five-star resort - food often arrived at room temperature and drink orders often arrived late - less cultural activities and interaction with local culture
Certified

Not the room i asked to book

, Victoria, BC
2012-11-24
It is a very good Hotel but the room was not the room i asked to book, we got a garden view not a ocean view that i asked for when i booked so they moved us a couple days later so it upset my traveling partner (the person who paid for the trip) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
room location
Certified

2nd visit

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2012-11-16
We travel quite often and really enjoy this resort. The food is very good and the staff are amazing. The 2 best bartenders ever are Victor and Pedro! Can't wait for the next trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are excellent, no reservations needed at resturants
The weak points
Pools are very cold
Certified

Still a great place but more room for improvement.

, Toronto, ON
2012-05-10
Our seventh trip here. Fantastic food. Gorgeous property. The staff are friendly and helpful. But, there are some things that bother us. see "weak points". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food (gourmet, not buffet) Gorgeous property. Beach area is huge. The staff is very well trained, helpful and friendly. Good price point(basic suites)
The weak points
Your room # dictates whether or not you are seated for dinner immediately or asked to wait. It's gotten blatant. Asked to wait 40 mins when 6 tables are empty. Then another couple gets seated after you due to better room #. No free WiFi.
Certified

Second Visit Satisfaction

, Kanata, ON
2012-03-28
We stayed at this resort in 2005 and always wanted to return. We were not disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff in restaurants and bars were excellent.
The weak points
Electronic room keys often failed to work. Went three times to the front desk for replacement keys.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021