Dreams Aventuras Riviera Maya

Dreams Aventuras Riviera Maya
3.993.993.993.993.99
3.99 based on 70 reviews
#83 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (16)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Small but mighty

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-03
We really enjoyed our stay it was nice and friendly resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff where all friendly and willing to assists with anything
The weak points
I found their buffet to be weak I wasn't impressed with the food selection.and when it was closed you could still walk in which some of the staff would get angry but it is hard to tell when it is open or closed.
Certified

Nice Stay but....

, Brampton, ON
2019-10-01
Everything was great specially the attention of the staff. From reception staff, entertainment crew, bars and restaurants employees, room service. Just everyone. Very happy about that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Beach
Certified

AVOID RESORT - Our Wedding Guest was held hostage

, Dieppe, NB
2019-06-28
We trusted them with our Family & Friends to celebrate our wedding – one of the most important days of our lives. What a mistake that was.

We had 28 guests, went with the top (“Ultimate”) wedding package, and also went with a few upgrades. We had an unbelievable wedding day, and a phenomenal week.

Until we went to check-out.

The morning of our departure, all of our guests except one family member, were catching a 7am bus to the airport. This one remaining guest (who was seriously traumatized by this situation, and we are respecting their request to be left out of being mentioned in our correspondences) was due to be picked up later that morning. This guest decided to check-out early and wait for the van in the lobby. While our family member waited in the lobby, they saw Brenda the Wedding Coordinator, who passed by and even said hello a few times. However, when the van arrived, Brenda suddenly DETAINED our guest, put herself physically in the way and would not allow them to get into the vehicle, until they paid a $1000USD hold! Why? To supposedly cover the 20% balance of our wedding that THEY HAD FORGOTTEN TO CHARGE MY HUSBAND AND I BEFORE WE LEFT! Brenda continuously justified her actions, saying that since this guest was family, that they had just as much responsibility to this bill. Also while the incident was transpiring, Brenda continuously used intimidation on our family member, insisting on only speaking in Spanish, and proceeded to laugh and roll her eyes in the direction of our guest, while she explained to the van driver what was going on.

My husband and I had our first meeting with the Wedding Department and Brenda on the day we arrived (Saturday January 26th, 2019), where we reviewed the remaining 20% balance to be paid. Through our Travel Agent, we had already previously paid a deposit to book our wedding date 18 months prior, then another deposit to book our wedding package 6 months prior, and then 80% of the wedding package 30days prior to arrival. We confirmed with Brenda that she still had our credit card on file from these three previous transactions, and that this remainder could be charged to it. We also checked in with her several times leading up to, and following the wedding. Finally, at the end of the week, we did a preliminary check-out the night before we were scheduled to leave, where we confirmed that our account was settled. When we officially checked out the next morning (Saturday February 2nd), again we verified that we were good to go. Not once was it brought to our attention that the 20% balance was not paid.

We only found out about this incident when we arrived to Toronto for our connection flight, and saw an extremely upsetting text message from our family member. We immediately got in touch with our Travel Agent while there, but unfortunately she was at an exhibition show for the weekend. We only arrived back home at 2am Sunday but did not want to wait until Monday to rectify this issue, so we got on the phone with the resort later Sunday afternoon to deal with this situation. We immediately wanted the hold charge cancelled on our family member's credit card, and settle our bill.

But when it came to then dealing with how this matter was handled, the Wedding Department would not issue an apology for the actions of Brenda - they simply blamed the Front Desk for not seeing the charges attached to our room upon our check-out. When we spoke to the Head Concierge, and later the Manager of the resort, they simply blamed the Wedding Department for not putting the charges through, to be attached to our room number.
We did not care which department was to blame; what we wanted was for Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort&Spa to take responsibility of how poorly this situation was handled by their employees, and admit how holding our last remaining guest HOSTAGE for their clerical error is simply unacceptable. Disappointingly enough, once the resort got their money, they saw nothing further that needed to be rectified with this horrific situation.

When we eventually got a hold of our Travel Agent, we confirmed with her that, upon discovering their mistake, they could have absolutely reached out to her to get the remaining 20% payment. There had been a professional manner of handling their mistake, which may have taken a few more days, or there was an unethical way of handling things, which is unfortunately the route that Brenda chose to take, and Dreams Puerto Aventuras chose to support.

We truly believe that this was all organized by Brenda and/or the resort, to take advantage of our guest since (s)he were all alone. This family member had been a paid guest at the resort for the week, had travelled alone to a foreign country, all to celebrate our wedding. They should never have been terrorized by Brenda or any other staff member, due to a clerical error on the part of the resort. None of our guests should have ever been put into that predicament, family or not.

Unfortunately, this situation has also affected my husband and I, as well as the other members of our family. This was not just a family trip; this was our wedding day. The events that occurred on our departure day have forever tarnished the memories of this once-in-a-lifetime event for us. When my husband&I and our family reflect on the trip or reminisce about the wedding, there is and will always be a shadow that hangs over that irreplaceable moment.

We had hopes of returning to celebrate our honeymoon and anniversaries over the years, however due to these outrageous actions and how they were so poorly and unprofessionally handled, we will NEVER return to Dreams Puerto Aventuras again.

To any future wedding couples – be VERY CLEAR in settling your bill. Demand receipts and proof of payment. And do not let any of your guests be alone upon check-out; try your best to arrive and depart all together. We wish you the best of luck and truly hope that no one else has to experience the trauma that our family/guest went through. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Week with Spouse

, North Vancouver, BC
2019-06-03
Electrical on lamp cord "zapped" me. Called maintenance and they repaired it. Only single socket plugs available as well. Restaurants close because of weddings and events so access is limited by this. World Café food is poor and the balance of amenities I would describe as mediocre at best. This is NOT 4.5 STAR resort in my opinion. FYI: Smokers beware!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good for kids
The weak points
See my review comments.
Certified

Amazing !!!

, Oro Medonte, ON
2019-04-14
I came to this resort with my best friend! And our travel agent Heather Kearns helped us pick it. Heather contact the staff and told them it was our 20 year friendaversary and they spoiled ya rotten !!! Everyday there was a new surprise for us ! Spa, soeacil dinners, free excursions ! It was the best trip we were ever on!!! We felt like queens ! Everyone there was amazing !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff !!!! Amazing ! All of them !!
The weak points
The water pressure in the shower was a little weak.
Certified

Holiday

, Hinton, AB
2018-03-10
I had a wonderful week at your lovely resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love the location and all the wonderful staff
The weak points
Unfortunately the beach was full of seaweed daily but of course not the resorts fault the tried daily to remove it
Certified

Beyond all expectations

, Mississauga, ON
2016-05-02
Amazing English speaking staff, wonderful kids club and elegant adults only section. No reservations on a large Cartes and they were never busy. Serve is very friendly and fast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Surpassed Expectations!

, Calgary, AB
2016-04-17
We were immediately impressed with the front desk reception staff. They were extremely friendly and welcoming! We upgraded for a very reasonable rate to a room on the 7th floor and were shocked to realize it was one of the corner 2 room suites with a wrap around balcony! It was beautiful! Well worth the upgrade! The amenities on the 7th floor (self serve champagne and OJ, fully stocked bar with bartender and food at all times of the day, scented cool face cloths and a private concierge) were amazing! We loved that we could eat outside for every meal if we wanted, and loved having lunch right on the beach - and amazing lunches they were! Our spa treatments were high quality too. We would definitely return to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely friendly staff and fun entertainment crew. The room was outstanding, very comfortable beds and gorgeous views!
The weak points
There needs to be more chairs around the pool. It would make more sense to make the lawn area in front of the ground floor rooms shorter and put a second row of pool chairs behind the existing ones.
Certified

EXELLENT SERVICE!

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2015-09-15
WE WERE UP GRADED TO PREFERED STATUS AND IT WAS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! I RECOMMEND THIS! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
VERY NICE STAYING IN THE PREFERRED 7TH FLOOR.LOVED THE PRIVITE CONCIERE
The weak points
BEACH IS SMALL
Certified

Perfect 25th Anniversary

, Russell, MB
2015-02-20
We have just returned from Puerto Aventuras. This is the 7th resort we have stayed @ and it is certainly in the top 2. The service and the food were perfect!!!!! will go back. Also as a travel agent I will recommend this location to several of my clients. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and food
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Fantastic getaway

, St Albert, AB
2014-03-25
This hotel had wonderful, friendly staff. Great food choices. Fantastic evening entertainment. All around a great trip. Only suggestion would be that the beach could use a clean up. But overall it was lovely [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food in the buffet and seaside grill were great. The Oceania was a bit disappointing for service, but the food was good. Really enjoyed the nightly entertainment. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The beach needed a bit better raking. We found some garbage on the shore and in the water. It was disappointing to swim and see plastic spoons n wrappers floating beside you.
Certified

Wondeful Time

, Surgeon Falls, ON
2014-03-03
It was by far the best hotel we've ever being to. Very good service & very clean hotel. Small beach but nice area. Workers were very welcoming & happy. Would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Every restaurant were very welcoming & friendly. Food was marvellous & delicious at every one of them. They make you feel at home.
The weak points
The only thing that bothered us were the time sharing people. It seem that they would find you wherever you were. So it made us nervous when we met one of them cause we didn't know if they would try to stop us and tell us the same story again & again.
Certified

Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

, Verner, ON
2014-02-18
Beautiful resort and excellent service! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful room and bathroom. Excellent food! Friendly and efficient staff.
The weak points
Would rather not have time- share staff or vendors of souvenirs on resort property.
Certified

Not worth the price we paid

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-15
Not a 4 star! We have stayed at Dreams Cancun in Sept. And this one although only one star less it's worts 3 stars maybe. Hotel needs TLC and food choices poor, rooms not cleaned properly. Beach good for kids because it's just a little bay but too many rocks in the water, forget it if you're counting on long walks on the beach or jumping in the waves. Old beach chairs, back rests broken. The list goes on. We're never going back and would not recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Beach, food, poor entertainment
Certified

Wonderful Vacation!

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-14
We had a great time. We loved the hotel and the staff were all very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful hotel and staff.
The weak points
The beach was a little small and crowded.
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Stittsville, ON
2013-11-30
Great family vacation. Nice to be able to get away from noise and go to adult section once in awhile.
Italian restaurant was fabulous (went 3 times).
Staff in sports bar were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food in most restaurants.
The weak points
Nothing for our group
Certified

Awesome Place

, Georgetown, ON
2013-07-18
Very good. Staff was friendly, hotel was very clean, restaurants were very nicely decorated. Room was clean and bed was very comfy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, friendly, good quality food
The weak points
Room was not cleaned until after 5 one day
Certified

Will return

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-02-17
This was my 4th trip to this resort.I am never let down or disappointed by the service I receive. As an older lady travelling alone,I feel quite safe here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All restaurant staff are amazing,drink and food orders as expected.
The weak points
sometimes it rains
Certified

Two single ladies

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-10
It was a beautiful hotel and we had an amazing time. This hotel is more geared towards couples and families, but other than that it was a wonderful trip and I would definitely recommend it to other (couples or families with children) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
wonderful beautiful clean hotel, staff was very friendly and at your service at all times, wonderful entertainment, beautiful grounds, very worth-while! :) Gracias
The weak points
definitely not for singles looking to party, however downtown Playa del Carmen is amazing and worth the trip at night time!
Certified

Super Nice Resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-04-07
We were welcomed with a nice cool wet hand towel, escorted to the front service desk for check-in and given a champagne welcome drink. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Very well organized. Concierge staff really helpful with airline web check-in and printing of boarding passes for our return home. Telephone didn't work but was replaced/fixed immediately. Rooms were as pictured, clean, super comfy bed!! Food was great and large variety in the buffet. Service was overall really good. Activities for everyone. Beach area was clean, lots of space, no fight for chairs. Pools were good. Virtually no line ups at the bars. Very relaxing vacation spot for couples or family. There was a pool just for adults on one side and another for kids/families on the beach side. Internet was available at a price. Should be free wifi at this quality of resort. Resort seemed very modern and not authentically Mexican. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super comfy beds. Nice decor. Good security for the grounds. Helpful and friendly staff. Good food. Good service. Good beach. Most staff very good with speaking a variety of languages, particularly English. Swimming area was really nice, not rough water
The weak points
No free wifi. Hallways really echo the noise.
Certified

Dreams Puerto Aventuras

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-16
Always a great vacation at Dreams - this was our fourth or fifth time back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dreams Puerto Aventuras remains as my favorite all-inclusive resort. Great food, beverages, service, beds, rooms - it is a great resort.
The weak points
I have no weak points to mention.
Certified

Avoid if possible

, Edmonton, AB
2012-03-15
Unfortunately we had a bad experience at this hotel. I would definitely not go back to any Dreams in the Riviera Maya district. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather was good.
The weak points
This resort is very Micromanaged. Also service was unpredictable...sometimes good other time very poor.
Certified

Great trip

, Brantford, ON
2012-02-13
The start of our trip was amazing. Not very busy but as the week went on more and more people were arriving and by our last day the place was packed.
Because the hotel is not too big it was very difficult to get away from the noise during the day if you were looking for some quiet nap time.
The food selections were very good as well as the drinks
The beach area had plenty of small fish to feed just steps fromt the beach but were not a bother if that wasn't your thing.
The Natural pool area is a must visit for all visitors. It is not identified on the map but is just to the right of the beach bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small hotel so everything was close by. Protected beach area so not a lot of current in water.
The weak points
Not all staff could speak or understand english so ordering and receiving drinks/food was sometimes a hassle.
Certified

Not Happy

, Campbell River, BC
2012-01-25
we had a problem with our room and did not get it settled until next day. my daughter was married here and was charged extra for almost everything. service was hit and miss. food was okay. beach was good with lots of fish. good for families lots of small kids. pools with people drinking and smoking in them. small hotel over booked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach is good with lots of fish
The weak points
front desk not helpful unless you speak spanish. other tourist can easily access hotel and use facilities at YOUR expense-could also be security issue.
Certified

Dreams Puerto Adventuras

, Grande Pointe, MB
2012-01-09
Hotel very full, food below average, loud noisy neighbors, but nice location. Doesn't compare to the Dreams Puerto Vallarta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No wristbands, no reservations for a la carte, nice hotel with nice beach area, some food very good, bed very comfortable, part of a nice compound and marina - great for running.
The weak points
Far from airport, calling for services unanswered, very noisy late partying, many large groups, lots of very young children - noisy. Food was below average, hardly anything healthy and little whole grain products, variety below average
Certified

Average , for 3

, Vaughan, ON
2011-12-11
hotel is nicely settled .Beach is small and shallow with rocks.Stupid coupons have no value and should not even mentioned. People very nice and attention is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good to go with kids
The weak points
rooms not cozy and badly serviced.
Certified

Great for Families

, Markham, ON
2011-08-31
We were very happy with our recent trip to Dreams Puerto Aventuras.. this is especially great for families with young kids.. we would consider going back their in the future! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family oriented
The weak points
More variety of foods
Certified

Dreams - Puerto Aventuras

, Cote St Luc, QC
2011-06-30
We had a great time at this Dreams Resort. The food was great. The grounds were beautiful and the staff very friendly. It was only a short drive to Playa del Carmen. There were a ton of activities to choose from and there was a Dolphinarium and marina within walking distance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was great. Food was great. Entertainment was good.
The weak points
Smelly pillows! Lack of fruit! Beach was a little small.
Certified

Dream - Puerto Aventuras

, Calgary, AB
2011-04-02
A great resort. Beds, decor, food, restaurants (ambience, quality, service), Kids Club (for 6 year old), drinks, professional and friendly service from employees, weight/exercise room were all excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The front side of the hotel is great for families and folks that love the beach. The back side (Marina side) is great for Adults seeking solace or adult-fun.
The weak points
Only negative was that there is no printer in the business office. However, the front desk and the concierge were available to help if printing was required. Also internet service is a bit pricey.
Certified

Great experience

, Victoria, BC
2011-03-14
Staff work so hard!
Lovely hotel. Spacious rooms. VERY clean.
Apart from the constant music, loved it.
Would go back. Ideal for families. Had to visit the in-house doctor while staying here and was a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spotlessly clean. Spacious. Lots to do. Great beach access for kids as bay is sheltered so no big waves
The weak points
Constant music from 8am-10pm. Would be nice to hear the waves from our room instead of the music
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021