Excellence Riviera Cancun

Excellence Riviera Cancun
4.494.494.494.494.49
4.49 based on 178 reviews
#5 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (52)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Better Then Ever!

, Northern Bruce Peninsula, ON
2020-02-21
This is our third trip to Excellence Riviera Cancun and it was our best stay yet! I wish I was still there. We have stayed in a few different room types...I don't think there is a bad room at this resort. This resort has the perfect balance of excellent service, food and location (25 minutes from the airport). We have stayed at many all inclusive resorts including Sandals but we keep coming back to this one. I cannot stress the excellent service enough. Many days while lazing by the pool, staff would bring hot pizza or fresh cut fruit and you weren't at a pool long before someone was there to offer you a drink. Housekeeping was spot on as usual even catering to us leaving extra water once realizing how much water we drink. I always put a water on my night stand and after the first night the turn down service noticed this and would put a cold bottle of water on my night stand and a glass. It's the small details like this that make this resort so special. I should mention the Excellence Club pool is heated and there is a non-club pool that is heated as well. Although the weather was so hot during our stay that we swam the non-heated pools more. Overall, we swam and enjoyed all pools. We also swam the ocean and it was warm...there was only one day the seaweed came up on shore and staff worked tirelessly to clean it up. Thank you to all the Staff at Excellence Riviera Cancun...you are what make this resort so special!!! We can't wait to return back to our second home! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

ERC will not disappoint you.

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-13
Great experience. Beautiful resort with great staff that go out of their way to accommodate you. The food is outstanding and the selection is unbelievable. You won't get tired of the food after several days which is typical at most resorts. There is also 24 hr room service with a great menu to choose from. It's nice to be able to have a pot of coffee delivered to the room in the morning or have dinner delivered to the room if you are a late check in. Have them deliver a bottle of champagne with the dinner too. The a la carte restaurants are excellent and we did not need reservations to get in. Max wait for us was about 10 minutes. For anyone that may be a vegetarian or gluten free-they have you covered.
The pools are nice but most are a little cool, although there is also a heated pool too. There are tons of palapas around the pools so you shouldn't have a problem finding one. Many of them do get reserved in the morning but they are very plentiful. The spa, while a little expensive, is very good. My wife said the massage was the best one she has had.
Lots of activities happening at the pool closest to the beach, sort of like the party pool but nothing crazy and never too loud.
There are plenty of quiet pools around the resort for those that just want to chill. Several hot tubs scattered around the property but they are more like a warming tub than a hot tub.
Many servers walking around taking drink or food orders and delivering to your palapa. Beach is very nice and the resort tries to stay on top of any seaweed washing ashore.
There are numerous bars around the property and they will make you pretty well any drink you want. The main lobby has an unbelievable cafe with all kinds of coffee/lattes/tea/pastries etc. On checkout day I grabbed a sandwich/snacks/water to take with me to the airport. It's like the resort has anticipated your every need.
Rooms are very nice and very clean. Fully stocked fridge with water/wine/beer and snacks. Full bottles of liquor on the bar.
Bathrooms are an open concept design which is fine for couples but maybe not ideal for friends sharing a room.
There are USB ports in the room.
If you happen to get a rain day, there is plenty to do. Pool tables/ping pong/ shuffleboard, etc.
It seems like there are many guests that return year after year which speaks volumes about how good this resort is. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are so many strong points about this resort but for me it was the food. There is so much to choose from including an abundance of seafood. The a la cartes are so good and it's like they have top chefs from different countries.
The weak points
While the resort is still beautiful, certain pools/hot tubs and a few other areas of the resort are starting to show it's age.
Certified

Definitely going back.

, Calgary, AB
2019-06-05
- Stayed 8 nights in the Excellence Club Junior Swim-up Suite
- Excellence Club pool was way calmer than the main pool (which was good for us, but may be bad for others)
- Excellence Club lounge was a nice perk that we found worth it
- Our favourite activities included kayaking, bike tour, tennis, and cooking lessons
- Our favourite entertainment included Claudia Treviño, fire show, circus show, magic show, and mexican party
- Make sure you line up for coconuts slightly before 11
- We almost exclusively went to Barcelona for breakfast and lunch
- Would also recommend getting lunch from Sol (pizza), Las Olas (fresh burgers), or room service
- Our favourite dinner spot was Spice, though we'd also recommend Toscana and Chez Isabelle
- Every breakfast was followed by a trip to Aroma for coffee
- We enjoyed the resort so much that we didn't do any excursions
- Wifi was consistently good (I was able to do some work by the pool)
- Absolutely no fault of the resort, but seaweed was an issue. They have tractors and crews working to clear it up every morning, but the overnight volume is substantial and results in a strong odour. This meant we didn't swim in the ocean, but we still kayaked [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food (our favourites were Barcelona and Spice) | Great service (including room service, turndown, dining, and pool service) | Solid selection of activities and entertainment | Clean room and resort | Close to Cancun airport (~20 min drive)
The weak points
Seaweed (no fault of the resort!) | EC swim-up day bed had no shade in the mornings | Room service food was consistently late | Some may find this resort expensive, especially for the Excellence Club
Certified

Excellence cancun

, Kirkland, QC
2019-03-14
Great resort
AWSOME restaurants
Too much seaweed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great resort great staff
The weak points
Mega seaweed
Certified

Amazing Week!

, Fredericton, NB
2019-03-09
My husband and I went to Excellence Riviera Cancun from Feb. 28-Mar. 7, 2019. It was the most amazing week. Beautiful resort, incredible food, the friendliest staff, and daily/nightly activities and entertainment. The time and effort put into making this resort beautiful is unreal. I loved every second of my trip and I can't wait to go back! This place does not disappoint! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food! Not only was every single meal delicious, but the presentation was gorgeous too. Plus, there are so many options. Staff was also a strong point, as they were so incredibly hard-working and extremely friendly.
The weak points
My only suggestion would be to relax the dinner dress code for men when wanting to eat indoors.
Certified

Best Service Ever

, Kitchener, ON
2019-03-07
This was our 2nd time at this resort - Excellence Club Ocean Front.
We saw a few changes from last year - Las Olas was a better set up but still not the easiest to self serve
Rooms as before were welcoming with fruit and sparkling wine - full bar and an extremely well stocked fridge - robes and slippers available and lots of bathroom amenities - would have preferred body wash to bar soap though
Service was impeccable - a few minor problems - locked ourselves out of the safe, door cards had to be re-programed a couple of times but everything was handled very quickly - within minutes - and then followed up by phone to ensure all was to our expectations - always asked if there was anything else they could do for us.
Private beach for Excellence Club - attendants very helpful - bar service quick and often - pool clean and warm but looks like some repair work had been done
We witnessed a couple of weddings and they all seemed to be handled very well
No reservations required for dining except Tap'n Yaki. Food was good and variety was considerable.
Entertainment was very good and enjoyable by all.
We enjoyed our stay as we did last year and everyone said they would be happy to return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff - friendly, caring, quick to correct any little problem and make your stay the best it can be
The weak points
Las Olas - very difficult to serve since everything was closed to prevent birds from eating - buns were dry and fries not ready for the number of people
Certified

Awesome Vacation!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-23
This hotel is one of the best I have stayed at. From the staff to the food to the amenities, room etc. There was not one single "No" given the entire week so whatever we asked for, if they had it, we got it. Premium alcohol, non-cheesy entertainment and beautiful weather topped it off.
I have to give props to the workers on the beach tirelessly and endlessly working on cleaning up the seaweed...it is a never ending battle but have to say we had the cleanest beach around!! And it does not smell like what other people might have indicated in their reviews. We went in the water every day despite the seaweed and still enjoyed the beach!

Highly recommend if you are looking for a superior experience at an adults only resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Food Drinks Amenities Beach Entertainment All Suite Rooms!! Majority with a sea view even if you didn't pay for a sea view room
The weak points
None that the resort could actually be responsible for.
Certified

Excellence is Excellent

, Ottawa, ON
2018-03-26
The hotel is smaller, very high quality, adult only resort I highly recommend.
I am a repeat 4 time guest, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and food are the best I have experienced.
The weak points
Very minor issues always dealt with quickly.
Certified

Excellent at The Excellence Riviera Cancun

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-19
We would like to say what an "Excellent" vacation we had again this year.
We have been home in Canada only for one week and are already talking about when to book for next time (2019)

Your resort is amazing in every way.
Your staff is the best, everyone !
The food is delicious at buffets and restaurants.
Love the martini bar, it was our meeting place every night.
The grounds are spectacular, clean and well maintained.
We were at all the theme nights except one, and had a great time....
Weather was perfect.

Love the Aroma Coffee House.Super nice girls, always friendly and smiling.
Room service coffee each morning was punctual with super staff.
Veronica remembered us from a few years ago and provided us with a cheese plate. That was very nice of her !!
Alfredo remembered us as well- super nice guy.

Although all the staff is fantastic we tend to have a few favorites ....
As waiters we love Edy who is usually at the Barcelona for buffets, but this year at Lobster House or The Grill for breakfast and lunch.
Ricardo too at the Barcelona is super nice.
Then Alejandro at the Grill, we loved him too.
Edgar we saw at many events and always got a hug and laugh.
The staff at the bars are terrific with great personalities. Geraro at the theatre bar this year is one of our favorite guys.
Although we don't participate in the activities, we know that Carlos and Alfonso work very hard to see guests are entertained. Super Job !!
Also, Luis ,who is very observant to details, and all who greeted us upon arrival certainly make you feel "you're home".

Our room this year was 7056 and tended to by Cecilia. Lovely Lady, and we had a super clean room every day.
We love the services of the Club especially for our ocean view swim up room. Beautiful.

Loved meeting Sara this year too, she's great, friendly and pretty too.

So Rogelio, you can see why we love the resort.
It's always a pleasure to see you from year to year. You are very good in your position of Chief Concierge.
We enjoyed our visit with you and thank you for sharing your family pictures with us. We love our "Vacation Family"
Thank You again. We look forward to our next trip. Will keep in touch and let you know when we are booked.
Cheers,
Ron & Corrie [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing resort with out of the world service!

, Brampton, ON
2017-11-24
As soon as you enter, you will be treated royally and as long as you're there! Service is outstanding! Choices of food from 11 restaurants and drinks were awesome! I'm a lifelong vegetarian and I was never out of food choices. They keep every minute details to serve you better and go out of their way to make you happy! Words are not enough to rate their services. Just pack and go! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, amenities!
The weak points
Wifi, pools
Certified

The name says it all!

, Smiths Falls, ON
2017-05-25
This was our 2nd stay at ERC and it was perfect from start to finish. We arrived on my husband's birthday and the room was decorated with balloons, streamers, chilled champagne and cake. We had a beautiful oceanfront room overlooking the Excellence Club pool. The staff are so friendly, always greeting us with a smile and asking if we need anything. The grounds are kept beautifully, the spa is incredible with a free 1 hour hydrotherapy session with the Excellence Club upgrade. Loved that there are no reservations for dinner, no wrist bands and no towel cards like other resorts we've been to. Plenty of floaties and sun loungers,and several lazy river pools. We've already booked our 10day trip for next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food, no time share pitches
The weak points
Spotty wifi

Amazing Week

, Whitby, ON
2017-05-11
Amazing trip. Resort was great. Food and service were awesome. I would go back to this resort for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facilities, service and food were great... top notch.
The weak points
Wifi was inconsistent.
Certified

Excellence is 'Excellente'!

, London, ON
2017-03-17
The wonderful staff, high quality food, and top notch service made everything about our stay at Excellemce Riviera Cancun an unforgettable experience. The attitude of this hotel is, "What can we do to make your visit even better?" [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff and service. Great food.
Certified

Best Ever Resort

, Arnprior , ON
2017-02-16
My wife and I just returned home from spending 10 days at this fantastic resort in which I celebrated my 75th birthday. Four cakes (individual pieces), and room decorated and I was completely pampered. The restaurants are outstanding and the food delicious. The maintenance, cleaning, and bar staff were very competent and knowledgeable. Entertainment ever night was well orchestrated and provided a relaxing end of a beautiful day. The Hotel Manager - Andy - was very distinguished and made sure that your stay was very enjoyable. The Pool Concierge headed up by Lisbeth with her staff of Axel, Luis and Enrique were always making sure that we had everything and we were enjoying the day. Highly recommended for a getaway winter holiday. We upgraded to the premium club which gave you everything your heart desired. This resort offers ocean front, pool area rooms, etc.. Look it up and book. Definitely a go back resort. Excellence is the word to describe it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Highly recommend it.

, London, ON
2017-02-07
We have stayed at several all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean & Mexico & this was one of the best. Good for adults of all ages although on the quiet side which we prefer. Definitely not a party resort. Some of the restaurants menu options could be improved upon. French & Italian restaurants very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice sandy beach. Resort layout well thought out. Everything close to rooms. Beautiful grounds & very clean. Loved the lazy river. Rooms well appointed & no problems with maid service or housekeeping. Concierges very helpful. Close to airport.
The weak points
Would like to have buffet option for dinner. Some of the restaurants.
Certified

A Private Oasis

, Toronto, ON
2017-01-07
This hotel has not let us down for the last 5 years we have visited.

The service is unendingly excellent. The cuisine is exceptional. The grounds are so well manicured it is beyond story book perfect. The pools are immaculate and interesting in size, shape and privacy level.
Our last visit was on a 2 storey roof top and we are confirming this is now our room of choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cuisine, grounds, pools, rooms, gym.
The weak points
Sewer smell.
Certified

Excellent

, Tavistock, ON
2016-11-24
Very impressed with the resort overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellence at Excellence

, Oakville, ON
2016-07-04
Would recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff. Clean and well kept property and beach area. Plenty of beach beds and palapas. Good food, managed food allergies well.
The weak points
Murky beach. Noisy construction above our suite for 2 days. Spa overly expensive and priced in USD. Very limited selection of wine and spirits in the room.
Certified

So happy with the Excellence Riviera Cancun

, Orangeville, ON
2016-03-30
Our first trip to the Excellence - by referral. Very clean, friendly and beautiful! We almost could not believe how good the food was (compared to other top resorts we have been to). So nice not to have to make reservations. Loads of seating around all the pools. Rooms were lovely and modern. Anything we requested was taken care of immediately with a genuine smile by staff. Lots of gluten free & healthy options. Restaurants were extremely accommodating with food allergies - they actually asked! Premium drinks & filtered water/ice was appreciated. We never stayed awake for the shows, but all the day & early evening entertainment was great. The beach was kept lovely and clean of the seaweed due to the high winds. Can't really find a negative - except for the strong fragrance used in the main lobby (waaayyy too strong). We spoke to loads of repeat travelers... we will return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great resort layout. Close to everything. Lots of food & bar choices. NO reservations needed! Very good food
The weak points
Strong fragrance in main lobby. One restaurant per evening will close without notice - a sign would be nice to alert newbies.
Certified

Hotel Review

, Calgary, AB
2016-01-01
Overall great, however the front desk experience was disappointing. The men who work there need to sharpen their skills when dealing with a well travelled/professional woman. Heard the word "no" without appropriate reasons. Walked away frustrated & appreciated that these gentlemen do not work for me! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Maid who serviced room 4301 during my stay was outstanding! Juice barman by the river/pool Roberto outstanding! The ladies who work in the coffee shop are outstanding! Your organization is very fortunate to have these wonderful hard working employees!!
The weak points
Front desk interaction/frustration. Baggage not picked up for departure.
Certified

This place is unbelievable!!!!!

, St Lambert, QC
2015-11-01
I have never stayed in a nicer hotel in my life. This place is incredible. What makes it so incredible is the staff, they aim to please. They are the most serviable, enjoyable, loveable people that I have ever met. Please don't forget to tip them, it's a service and even thought they are not serving you to be tipped when you do their smile is even bigger. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food is the best that I have ever tasted in my life. I cannot wait to go back next year.
The weak points
There are no weak points at this Hotel NONE
Certified

Restful getaway

2015-04-16
Very nice. And need to be assertive to get what you want. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent! Staff was accommodating.
The weak points
Weeds on the beach; Not enough vegetables; Sit down meal portions were small had to know and not be shy to ask for more. Not enough staff to deliver services pool side. the entertainment was disappointing most nights.
Certified

Excellent Resort!

, Regina, SK
2015-03-27
We just returned from a 2 week stay at this resort and it was fantastic. We loved the room, the food, the service, the entertainment and the various pools to choose from. Our favorite was the lazy river pool. There were so many food options that we didn't tire of the food over the 2 week period. The sand on the beach is very nice. They do have seaweed issues that are beyond their control but they try hard to keep it as clean as they can. We would highly recommend this resort if you're looking for an adult only environment that is very clean and very hospitable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The lazy river pool was our favorite!
The weak points
The seaweed at the beach.
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Orillia, ON
2015-01-01
Our first time at this resort and first time at an adult only. Stayed over Christmas. We would highly recommend the Excellence Riviera Cancun!
We found the room to be perfect for our needs (jr suite in bldg 3) We did not get a swim up and felt no loss there as most of our day was spent poolside or beachside. Room location perfect as far enough away from main pool/bar and evening entertainment. The "lazy river" area surrounding the Spa was the place to enjoy quiet relaxation. So far the best laid out resort we have been to.
The hotel was at full occupancy but never a worry getting a chair or feeling crowded. We are not party people (age late 40s) so enjoyed mornings in the spa/lazy river area and afternoons on the beach. Main pool area was also spacious but more populated with those that like to drink/partake in activities.
Beach area of the Excellence was abundant with chairs and again no feeling of being crowded. We walked the beach south to Puerto Morales -approx 3.5kms one way and could walk north about 2kms. Only a couple of resorts along this stretch and the beach area at Excellence was definitely kept in best condition. It was quite windy during the week and a lot of waves/seaweed -never deters us from swimming in the ocean but again our beachfront seemed to have the least churning.
Food at the Barcelona Buffet (breakfast and lunch only) was superb! Quality of food (not quantity) is the top priority for us. No buffet at dinner which is really the only complaint we have about the Excellence. This is simply due to the fact that the only restaurant we thought excellent was Basmati (Indian)- hello to Marco!! We had 2 dinners there. To be fair we did not try the Lobster House or the French, Chez Isabelle. Agave -Mexican- was o.k. but a letdown given you are in Mexico. The Grill - again o.k. but if you are only doing meat, it should be perfected. Spice was the biggest dissappointment - we love asian but both our meals were tasteless. Same with Toscana (Italian) should be all kinds of flavours - very bland - no garlic?? This was also the first resort where the house wine was completely satisfactory to us. We had no need to purchse a bottle at dinner.
Only other complaint was wishing there was a coffee bar-particulary early am 5:30-6. There was a coffee urn at the martini bar and pastries but coffee was weak.
Staff very friendly and always a smile on everyone's faces. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. Lanscaping and grounds were superb and beautifully kept.
We exercise and are always wishing resort fitness centres had more, however it was suitable enough. Yoga at the spa with a local man was awesome - a bit more difficult than we are used to but wow what a guy!
We did not do any excursions as have been to this area before and simply wanted to relax.
This is not a young persons party place (although there were a few and that seemed to bother others) Pool side activies were minimal and the activity staff seemed suitable for this type of resort. Not a lot of loud pool music thankfully - a couple of afternoons they had guitarist around the main pool and that was wonderful. Could hear from our beach location.
Overall this was the perfect vacation for us to recharge and get away from the madness and commercialization of the holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Basmati restaurant, Barcelona buffet grounds & lay out of resort, quiet relaxation, cleanliness, friendly welcoming staff
The weak points
no dinner buffet-average quality at a la cartes attended-except Basmati wish there was a coffee bar-early am especially (530-6) As most people are lazy and don't take their towels-we were dissapointed staff wasnt collecting them from abandoned chairs
Certified

Aug 8

, Kitchener, ON
2014-08-15
The hotel was very nice but way too quiet for us. We expected to be peaceful but not totally no life. Foods were very good but the service was too long. They didn't have buffet open for dinner, only a la carte and it took 2 hours and up for each meal. It would be nice if they would offer free
shuttle to Playa Del Carmen like a lot of hotels do. They have very nice spa but the price for per day
use is too expensive. The beach was a
disappointment, a lot of seaweeds. The room was very clean. This resort is not for us for sure, we want to be away from kids but not from activities. It's good for couples who just want their total quiet time with no music or entertainment. We had great time overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
Entertainment
Certified

Excellence Riviera Maya

, Edmonton, AB
2014-04-10
I was at this resort two years ago and i noticed improvements from the last time i was there last. there was more than enough beach beds and chairs and if you wanted to spend some quiet time you had a pick of pools to relax at. the beach was amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we were able to find beach chairs or beds around the pool and beach each time we went out
The weak points
the entertainment during the daytime was lacking. i staid at a resort that the entertainment staff was contstantly running activities and games for the guests
Certified

Awesome hotel

, Newmarket, ON
2014-03-26
This hotel was a complete pleasure. The rooms and grounds were immaculate, the staff were friendly and attentive (with the exception of only one grumpy bartender which we ignored after the second day). The food was terrific in all the al a carte restaurants.
Beach was so-so but the pools more than made up for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel ambience, pools, showers, restaurants
The weak points
Beach was "okay".
Certified

Great hotel

, Thompson, MB
2014-03-22
This was a return visit for us we have been to several Mexico and one Cuba location. Food is amazing, rooms are luxurious, staff very helpful and friendly, no upgrade necessary. Entertainment great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food,rooms,ammenities
The weak points
Not recommended for singles, more suitable for couples
Certified

A 5 resort!

, Orleans, ON
2014-03-13
Picky travellers choose this awesome resort. You will be pampered with a smile! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Friendly staff always there to help you, greet you. Wonderful latin musicians! No bracelets and no restaurant réservations! Great place to relax. 20 minutes from airport.
The weak points
Small beach. Have to get up early to save a shady spot at the beach.
Certified

Excellence is Excellent

, London, ON
2014-02-28
This resort is everything that it is built up to be. Excellence in every category of resort expectations. All little problems were handled effiently and warmly. They even went as far to open a room for us to let all Canadians enjoy the Olympic semi and gold medal hockey games..with bar priviledges...at 6 am. Staff and Room were more than above standard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff really went out of their way to accommodate you in every area. Special dinners and events all week long. Restaurants did their best to seat you in timely fashion, pools and activities were great.
The weak points
There were a few unwarranted rules at the buffet restaurant and at the spa activities center. Beach sand great but water not so good. All specialty restaurants not open every evening. Spa prices were excessive in nature.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021