Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.494.494.494.494.49
4.49 based on 49 reviews
#48 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (17)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

10 Stars!

, Kawartha Lakes, ON
2020-03-24
As a travel agent, I've had the pleasure of staying at MANY resorts throughout the Caribbean and beyond. Secrets Maroma is by far, my # 1 Choice of all time. From the minute you arrive at the property, the serenity and the beauty amazes you. The staff are professionals and enjoy what they do. The food is amazing (better than most cruise ships I've been on) and the activities, amenities ... everything...is a definite 5 Star PLUS! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing variety of restaurants with equally amazing staff; clean, well manicured properties; well maintained grounds, rooms, everything
The weak points
They need to rethink their selections of house wines, especially the white, as it's not the top shelf wines that it should be.

At the top of my list~

, Kawartha Lakes, ON
2019-12-02
From the minute we were picked up by private transfer from the airport to the minutes we were returned, it was sheer paradise x 10!
I have visited MANY 5 Star resorts throughout Mexico and many Sandals Resorts as well. I will return to Secrets Maroma in a heartbeat. The staff, managements, and everyone in between exceed our expectations. The fantastic selection of restaurants were an added bonus and I must admit that the Oceana Restaurant was our favourite. The beach cabanas are an absolute must - the beach area was clean, the beverage service was top notch....nothing to complain about here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is the perfect size - not too big and not too small. The building, the lobby and the grounds are immaculate. I was more than impressed.
The weak points
The only weak point I found was that there were only 2 house wine selections ... a chardonnay and sauvignon blanc ... neither suited my taste buds. There was a wine list, however, it was an additional cost that I didn't want to incur.
Pro

Dec 15-22 2017

, Deux Montagne, QC
2017-12-28
Secrets Maroma Mexico [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is who really make this place special. They are all wonderful and the bathrooms are so clean always. The food is amazing.
The weak points
My jet tub was not working due to a wiring problem. This was a huge disappointment.. The place is looking a bit tired but still nice. Had to ask for slippers etc.
Certified

Beautiful Beach

, Whitby, ON
2016-03-04
A beautiful spot for adults only. Very romantic. We had a swim out room which we did not use. The rooms that swim out are shaded and we wanted to be in the sun. Lots of chairs by the pool and on the beautiful beach. Lots of extra costs for new years eve. A pricey resort that wants to ask you for more money if you want good wine etc.....disappointing. Food was amazing. Staff are very friendly. The spa is very over priced. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and Beach are amazing

Secrets Maroma Dec 2015

, Regina, SK
2016-02-24
Visited Secrets Maroma for five nights and wish it was longer. This is my new favorite resort. From the time we drove up to the resort and valet took our car, were given mimosas and cool towels upon arriving and escorted to the check-in desk until the time we had to leave, it was amazing. Our room was not ready when we first arrived, but were given a pager and off we went exploring. It wasn't even an hour and our pager went off. Amazing accommodations, I was in awe at our first glimpse in our room. We had partial oceanview, room was close to the lobby so was quite a distance away from the ocean. It never bothered us, as it was still a fantastic view of the resort grounds and a good central location. Service was impeccable. Spa and gym were both great facilities. Enjoyed many meals and drinks. Would not hesitate to come back. I cannot see anyone having a bad experience here, seems impossible. You can do as much as you want or as little as you want. They always had activities going on. Thanks Secrets! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service Beach Rooms Pool Activities
The weak points
None
Pro

....from a 60-year-old couple's perspective...

, Okotoks, AB
2015-01-18
Overall it was a pleasant experience. Loved the swim out room, especially when the common pools and beach were crowded. The staff tried hard and most were efficient. Some had trouble with English. Restaurants were very good. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. Did not appreciate the 'time share' hard sell as soon as we checked in - after travelling for 12 hours and no chance to go to our rooms! Definitely started the holiday off on the wrong foot and left a bitter taste. We ignored their follow up calls and pleas to meet with them. Very young crowd. Loud around pool and bars so not soothing for quieter folks. Smoking was a huge factor as it was not monitored unfortunately. We had to move several times to get away from it and could not take in the wonderful entertainment in the theatre due to smoking. Noise & smoking were the two major faults in our opinion. We were in Bldg 20 so it was perfect for us as it was the farthest away from any action so it was quite peaceful and private on our patio. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
WiFi was excellent, even on the beach. Entertainment was very good. Staff was great. Room service was excellent as was beach service. Each building had its own concierge who was most helpful.
The weak points
Theatre area allowed smoking so we missed most of the shows which were excellent. Smoking is permitted almost everywhere, including cigars!! We had to keep moving, either on beach or on restaurant patios to avoid the smell. Private beach cabanas too noisy
Certified

Maroma Secrets Cancun Mexico

, Canora , SK
2014-09-05
It was absolutely beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accomodations, service, food, view
The weak points
Distance to travel for outside tours.
Certified

Amazing

, Rosenort, MB
2014-06-02
A amazing place for couples! Doubt it can be beaten! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff. For sure the entertainment staff.
The weak points
Nothing really.
Certified

Secrets Maroma

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-17
Secrets Maroma has a spectacular beach, the grounds and pools are beautiful, and the hotel is very nice. The staff was great with helping with pool or beach seating. The Mexican,French, Asian, Italian restaurants were wonderful. The negatives were the double beds (we were told they were Queen size), the frustrating safe in the room, the lack of between meal snacks by the beach, one hot tub open only a few hours a day, and the daily sales pitches to other Secrets hotels! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is spectacular, the water views are amazing. The room was great, except for the beds! Beautiful grounds!
The weak points
We were given an upgrade from an ocean view with a king bed...to a ocean view with two double beds! Are there any king beds? Heard others wondering too! No between meal restaurants close to the beach, entertainment was not great. Hated sales pitches!
Certified

Secrets Maroma

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-19
This is our second time to Secrets Maroma and it is as perfect as the first time. The resort is on the best beach in Mexico and this luxury resort is everything you would want in a great holiday. We will be back next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, wonderful pools, great food and presentation, great staff, wonderful décor and rooms
The weak points
maybe the shows but they are free and it's not Vegas so what more do you want?
Certified

Anniversary stay

, Omemee Rr1, ON
2013-10-23
We had great weather and the beach is to die for. Good service and food. It is a very beautiful place with immaculately kept grounds.
The hotel has no elaborate entrance way to lobby and is far in off main highway.
Had to ask for everything that was suppose to be included in anniversary pkg. when we arrived. Rooms were not made up until late afternoon. Has too many stairs up to main lobby which are very steep. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and their service is what makes this hotel. The best beach ever. Food was great.
The weak points
Too many mosquitos or no se ems in and outside of hotel. Shows so so. Resort is a little over rated. Have had great service and food else were for less money.
Certified

Beyond expections

, Burlington, ON
2013-05-01
Great place...food...beach...pool...staff...room...entertainment...spa [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- staff - beach/pool - food - entertainment
The weak points
- people that hoard floats in the pool
Certified

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-25
Great resort, good staff,beautiful beach and pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, great pool and beach, friendly and helpful staff. Great pool and beach chairs.
The weak points
None
Certified

Wonderful resort

, Orleans Ottawa, ON
2013-02-11
We found the resort to be beautiful and the service excellent. The rooms are well appointed and I would say that all the 3rd and 4th floors have an ocean view.
The meals at the al a cart restaurants are small which suited my husband and I just fine, after all, there is no shortage of food throughout the day.
A couple of nights a week they show current movies at their open air theater which we enjoyed.
There are plenty of poolside chairs and on the beach as well.
The beach is beautiful and suitable for long walks.
Preferred Club has in room WiFi which is what we would expect from this class of hotel.
We have been to plenty all inclusive resorts throughout Mexico and the Dominican Republic and I would put this one at the top. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service is excellent. Rooms are well appointed and clean.
The weak points
Water pressure for bath or showers was low. This is the only resort we have seen so many seaguls being a nusance around the pool. This is likely due to people eating lunch poolside.
Certified

Best resort ever!!!

, Oakville, ON
2013-01-28
This resort was the best we've ever stayed at. From amazing rooms, food, service and beach!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, you will not be disappointed!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything about this resort, from not having to make reservations to any of the a la carte retaurants, to not having to pick up towels for the beach or pool cause they are already placed on the lounge chairs for you!
The weak points
Having to go home :(
Certified

Secrets Maroma

, Mississauga, ON
2013-01-15
This is my favourite resort in the Mayan Riviera. The resort is beautiful. The beach is long and although the water was rough for most of the time, there are no rocks etc. Preferred club is worth the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, great staff, beautiful pools, and wonderful preferred service
The weak points
Portofino restaurant was too dark. Waiters provided you with flashlights to read the menu and to see your food.
Certified

Best trip ever!!

, Markham, ON
2012-12-26
Best trip ever! Amazing hotel will go back in a heart beat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best trip ever!!!
The weak points
None
Certified

Awesome week at Secrets!!!

, Calgary, AB
2012-12-15
We have travelled quite a bit to all-inclusives and this one was the best by far. The difference really was the people at Secrets Maroma. I can truly say that we did not have one bad experience with the service and the people really genuinely wanted you to have a great experience.

The hotel, the beach and the food where great. I would go back in a heart beat.

One word of caution - Secrets is part of the AMResorts group and selling some loyalty system whether it be a loyalty card or timeshare (not sure which because we did not partake). They will offer you a resort credit to sit through a 1 1/2 hour "no pressure" presentation. From what I have heard from others it is "high pressure" and not worth the stress on a holiday, so I would avoid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, people, people and great service Great food and restaurants Great entertainment staff (not pushy and lots of fun) Great beach, lots of loungers, towels Very relaxing and worry-free holiday
The weak points
Only bad thing we heard about was the AM resorts loyatly program hard sell
Certified

Best Service Ever!

, Sudbury, ON
2012-11-10
I struggled with a review title because everything about this vacation was amazing. Room, food, facilities, white sand beach, entertainment, etc. but the service was perfection! I would consider my husband and I to be travel snobs for sure. We work very hard so we spend a lot of time trying to find places we will feel pampered and surrounded by luxury. Secrets Maroma did not disappoint at all! From our personal Concierge Roberto, to our beach Concierge, Daniel, our every whim was taken care of every minute of our stay. One morning I told Gretel, the hostess in the World Cafe, that we liked a lot of cream in our coffee and from that day on she would bring a large container of cream to our table as soon as we arrived. We were in the preferred club, on the fourth floor with a beautiful view of the ocean; our room was clean and luxurious, they will personalize your mini-bar with whatever you prefer; they have 24 hour room service with an excellent full service menu; the drinks are top-notch; all of the lounge chairs have thick cushions (this is big for me) and towels are placed on the chairs so there is no looking for towels and there are plenty of chairs. We rented a private cabana for the week which was always set with fresh linens, cool drinks and lunch served right to us. How can anyone possibly complain about that?
The only little thing that we would change is the fact that the bathroom and more specifically the toilet, have only a glass swinging door. This can take a bit of the romance out of the situation but we accommodated each other by stepping out on to the balcony when privacy was needed.
Oh, I mustn't forget the spa!! I've been to some magnificent spas but this was at the top! Even my husband enjoyed it (one day, I lost him and had to send an attendant to find him. He had fallen asleep in their relaxation room...haha) and with the preferred club you get to enjoy the hydro-therapy facilities every day. We would go the gym in the morning and then saunter over to the spa for a refreshing dip in the cold plunge pool, into the sauna, rinse and repeat. Fabulous! Overall, we would go back in a heartbeat for relaxation and pampering. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, Beach, Room, view, Service!
The weak points
Bathroom door, internet service was a bit weak.
Certified

Secrets Maroma - Simply Amazing!

, Sudbury, ON
2012-03-14
Absolutely the most incredible holiday and resort I've been to yet! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I will be going back! The staff was simply incredible, knowledgeable, and catered to our every request before we even knew we needed something. And the food was simply amazing.
The weak points
I had to leave!
Certified

Great Relaxing getaway

, Toronto, ON
2011-09-24
We researched for a fantastic beach, great food and good service and we were not disappointed. The ceviche available at the sea side grill for lunch was amazing and I wish I could have it now. All our dinners were of high quality and delicious. We splurged on a bottle of fine Mexican wine at Portofino's and it compares well with the best wines of the world. We rented the beach bed everyday and felt it was worth the extra cost for the service provided since we spent the day at the beach. We went to relax on a great beach and not leave the resort our batteries are now recharged. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food and service was all excellent and compares well with Sandals in our eyes.
The weak points
very minor point but the gym is not open 24 hours and I'm an early riser
Certified

Paradise! Paradise!

, Oshawa, ON
2011-08-29
This resort totally lived up to our expectations, from the moment we arrived until we sadly departed. Wonderful!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, grounds and staff were all awesome.
The weak points
Nothing.
Certified

Best Service I have ever received...

, Heidelberg, ON
2011-04-19
We were floored by the level of service you receive at this hotel from drinks made the way you like it, to staff who take the time to get to know you, to lunch served right to your chair or bed on the beach. It was the most beautiful and relaxing experience I have ever had! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms were great, service beyond anything I have ever experienced (they even serve you lunch to your chairs!), wonderful beach, excellent fitness classes and spa facilities, beds and comfortable chairs on the beach and by the pool.
The weak points
Unless you want the coupons for the spa don't agree to see the person at check-in for the coupons. They try to push time-shares on you.
Certified

Absolutely Fantastic!

, Waubaushene, ON
2011-03-22
Had a great time at the Hotel. Everyone and everything there was amazing. Only thing that sucked was they allowed a group of 75 Xerox employees go for a 3-day corporate drunkfest function. Kinda dampered the Honeymoon mood, and it sucked not getting a chair @ the pool or beach for those 3 days. Otherwise, amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food unbelievable. Beach unbelievable. Scuba/water sports unbelievable.
The weak points
Windy every day. Lack of seats around the pool and beach when at full capacity.
Certified

Secrets Maroma

, Blairmore, AB
2011-02-28
The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is excellent. We had one of our bags left on the van from the airport. The staff went beyond to find it and have it returned to us. Well done Roberto (concierge bldg 25. We bought an ocean view room in the preferred club. We were in building 25 3rd floor. The view is obstructed by trees. We upgraded to the honeymoon suite beach front swim up. Expensive but well worth it. Room is gorgeous and your own pool is great. Finding a chair at the main pool is a challenge, you need to get up early. In general we found the food to be sub par for the cost of the trip. Exceptions would be the Seaside Grill for lunch and Himitsu for dinner. We also had a good dinner at the Oceana. Otherwise we found the food bland and not up to par for the caliber of the resort. This is our 4th consecutive trip to the Mayan Riviera. We will return but most likely not to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was excellent, we upgraded to the honeymoon suite beach front swim up, excellent! The Grill for lunch was excellent. Food great!
The weak points
After the grill food is sub par. Had two really nice dinners, otherwise was a bit of a disappointment.
Certified

Perfect Winter Escape

, Toronto, ON
2011-01-27
Didn't want to leave! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and hospitality of staff, tranquil setting, great rooms, romantic, adults only, romance
The weak points
entertainment
Certified

Excellent Resort for Couples

, Brampton, ON
2010-10-05
Secrets Maroma is by far the best Resort I have been to. The Food, the Beach, the Property, and the People service was far beyond my expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach, Pools,Spa, People Service
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Wonderful honeymooners resort

, Milton, ON
2010-08-22
Stayed for one week on honeymoon. Location is beautiful. Beaches are outstanding, very attentive staff. The food is topnotch. Defintely recommended for couples and honeymooners. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the service, the food and beverages.
The weak points
Few if any.
Certified

Secrets Maroma Vacation

, Waterloo, ON
2010-04-03
excellent facility,outstanding customer service,fantastic beach,flawless vacation once again at Secrets Maroma [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent beach and outstanding pool service,cool towels on arrival
The weak points
late pickup
Certified

Secrets Maroma Beach

, Carvel, AB
2010-01-29
Excellent resort, amazing beach and wonderful service. Will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was amazing, clean/new resort with amazing service.
The weak points
None
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021