Riu Palace Mexico

Riu Palace Mexico
4.514.514.514.514.51
4.51 based on 162 reviews
#48 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (39)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Beautiful Resort

, Ajax, ON
2020-03-14
This was our 3rd visit here in the past 11 months. The service here is the best of any RIU Palace. Besides the fantastic buffet, you can go to all the restaurants as many times as you like and reservations are not required. The beach is really nice and raked every morning, including around all loungers and right to the waters edge. We love the location as Playacar feels very safe and you can walk into 5th Avenue or taxi ride is only $8. The resort grounds are beautiful and clean, there is always staff cleaning and grooming. The rooms are very nice, some people may want more privacy in the bathroom, but that is not a concern for us. Overall, this is a fantastic place to go if you want a low key, quality vacation in Mexico. If you want a hopping place, go next door to the Yucatan or across the street to the Tequila. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and staff, cleanliness, food quality and choices, location, never feels full as there is lots of room even when at capacity.
The weak points
None for us, but those wanting lots of entertainment will need to cross the street and go to RIU Tequila.
Certified

Great place with Excellent Service

, Ajax, ON
2019-05-01
This hotel is all about service. The quality of the food is top notch on the buffet and the restaurants. They have top quality drinks as well. Everyone here is very friendly and they go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. No standing in line for a drink, just sit down somewhere and you will be immediately served. The entertainment was great as well, we love live music and there was plenty to satisfy our tastes. For anyone who complains about the few minor things here, they may be hard to please. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is top notch, food is great with plenty of choices, grounds are beautiful, location is perfect with nice proximity to local shopping and other RIU resorts.
The weak points
Very few weak points. No washroom close to beach. The toilet stall in the room is very small. There was a lot of seaweed, but they worked tirelessly to keep on top of it.
Certified

Xmas at Riu Palace Mexico

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-14
Although the review is about the Riu Palace Mexico, the picture on the left is that of the Riu Palace Riviera Maya which is one km to the North far enough that we did not visit it. Both hotels are on the same wide sandy beach. The Riu Playacar is a few minutes away in between the two. The Palace has very attractive clean look although nothing Mexican about it. The alley leading to the wide sandy beach is wide and well maintained. You do not feel closed in. One day we walked to the modern shopping mall in Playa Del Carmen. It was a nice pleasant walk past hotels (including the Riu Palace Riviera Maya) and villas and into the shopping district and the ferry dock to Cozumel passing by a small historic church and a nearby park with local bands playing. We spent Christmas at the Riu Palace Mexico. The food was great. The hotel grounds, rooms and public spaces, bars, restaurants are all very attractive if you did not mind the bright white and modern look. It initially did not appeal to my wife but she ended loving its elegance. Great coffee everywhere. As mentioned in the strong points the food and evening entertainment was very much to our liking. Access to the nearby Riu properties was a real plus. After the second day, the winds picked up and it became challenging to swim distance in the ocean (playing in the wave was always fine). Scuba diving outings were cancelled. The Palace has many pools but none are ideals for length swimming. However the nearby Riu Playacar has two large pools where we ended up going each morning the last few days of our stay and where we also went for aquafitness. It is just a few minutes walk along the beach. But we came back to our beach with many lawn chairs and enough palm trees to have some shade. The winds brought seaweed unto the beach but staff collected it and it was not a major issue. Entertainment during the day was just enough to give us daily yoga and zumba classes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good food. Fruits and seafood plentiful, both things that we love. The beach is superb and wide. The staff worked hard to please. The evening entertainment was of high quality. Access to nearby Riu properties was a real plus.
The weak points
The gym although very good with a pleasant view of the grounds was relatively small for the size of the hotel.
Certified

Great vacation

, Pointe Claire, QC
2018-04-13
Hotel definitely deserves a 5 Star rating. Staff from front desk to maintenance worker, bar personnel etc. all friendly and available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The buffet had a good variety and was excellent, making a difficult decision to go to a la carte for fear of missing out on surprises at the buffet. Although we did go to 2 a la carte and were not disappointed.
The weak points
Still looking!!!
Certified

Awesome. Simply..........

, Markham, ON
2017-08-02
Truly a very nice property.
Nicely located in Playacar and not far from lively 5th Ave.in Playa Del Carmen.
Very clean, from the lobby to the beach.
Landscaping and water fountains are very well maintained.
Check-in was very quick and the staff were very friendly..
Food choices were good.Drinks at the bars were very adequate.
House keeping and room service were excellent.
But above all, the staff everywhere were great. Very friendly and hardworking to help your stay a great one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fantastic Riu Palace Mexico!

, Burlington, ON
2016-10-28
Great hotel, amazing restaurants , food , fantastic beach - entertainment not so much fun, not much too do in the evenings as in most of Riu Palace hotels [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants, beach , clean
The weak points
Entertainment

Beautiful resort.

, Markham, ON
2016-06-27
Beautiful resort.Nice room.Good landscaping. Very good beach. Clear blue water. Hats off to all the hard working men and women who help to make your stay a very good one.
However, this resort lack some five star elements.Quality of wine.Choice of beer.Food was average.
Not sure if you pay less you get less.
High season vs low season prices.
However, this was definitely good value for the money we paid and would still recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

I survived this place

, Toronto, ON
2016-06-05
The cons:

This hotel felt like a 3-star hotel to me. So, prepare your mind and expect a 3-star hotel. I was in utter shock when I got into my room and there was a very strong moldy smell, and the room was so damp. My clothes were damp, and paper was damp.
When I went to reception to request another room, the Front desk clerk was rude. I believe that as a valued guest I must be treated with respect.
Eventually I got another room, but it was not the best room. Lucky for me I was with family so I could stay in their room and we spent time in another hotel too. I was not here the full seven days.
A note to the traveller: Shampoo and soap is terrible. Best if you bring your own.

The Pros:

The service at the restaurant was excellent and the food was so delicious, and I'm a picky eater, yet everything was perfect. The servers were very polite and always had a beautiful smile on their face. Every dinning room was perfect and the best was the 24-hour snack bar.
The people cleaning your room were very nice too, and did everything with a smile.
The grounds of the hotel are fantastic and the beach is perfect.

Note: If you have breathing problems, be careful. On two different days I woke up in the middle of the night and could not breathe. Luckily I had my inhaler with me. Something in the air blocked my airways, it was kind of scary.

Stayed April 2016, travelled with family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The architectural beauty of the hotel, and size. The beach was perfect.
The weak points
The bad smell in the rooms and the damp feeling.

Riu Palace Mexico

, Hilton, NY
2016-03-01
Great vacation. Beautiful hotel. Food and drinks were awesome. Staff could not do enough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, drinks
The weak points
décor was not my style, poor internet
Certified

Excellente Supreme

, Regina, SK
2015-02-28
This hotel was incredible and we would recommend it to anyone. The service was excellent and the staff were always pleasant and wanted to please. Very clean facilities. The food at the buffet was so good that we did not feel the need to try an ala carte although we heard they were excellent as well. When you getting prime rib or lobster on the buffet we were always anxious to see what was on the menu each evening.

The pool area is removed from the suites so that it was always quiet at bedtime. Excellent idea.

Lounge chairs were always available on the beach. No need to be on the beach before sunrise to get a chair and we were there in February during peak season. Very nice!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above comments
The weak points
None
Certified

RIU Palce Mexico

, Peterborough, ON
2014-11-27
Beautiful new modern resort, very clean and typical of the new RIU look (modern, efficient, pink & purple colors). The hotel does not have that old-world charm, character or personality of some other Caribbean hotels. The beach and food are excellent. Wine options disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach (white sand, no stones or coral; The food quality & selection; Location - can walk to Playa del Carmen.
The weak points
The wine was not very palatable and no opportunity to purchase a better quality wine; The toilet compartment in the room is too small.
Certified

Riu palace Mexico

, Oakville, ON
2014-11-17
Hotel was nice and clean, food was the best I have ever had in all inclusive! Beach is very impressive. Not the best place if you have young children, activities are non existent for them! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
Staff friendliness
Certified

Riu Palace Mexico

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-14
The hotel was beautiful and very clean. Liked the contemporary look of the hotel as well. There was every amenity that one would require for the week. Service, food and drinks were exceptional and always available. The 24 hour lounge in the lobby was an added bonus for getting an early morning coffee or late night glass of wine. Would like to try other Riu Palace hotels now after visiting the Riu Palace Mexico. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, quality of everything and service provided by staff.
The weak points
No washrooms on the beach and bar service on the beach was slow and sporadic.
Certified

Not for teens too boring

, Kanata, ON
2014-03-15
We had a nice week at the Palace but bringing teenagers here is a mistake. There is nothing geared for them. This is for couples and adults, not that there is anything wrong with it but we went on march break with teens and it was an expensive mistake. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach
The weak points
Too quiet the entertainment is what brings this down. It needs to liven up.
Certified

First vacation

, Cambridge, ON
2014-03-10
Riu palace mexico was a wonderful hotel. The staff were friendly the moment we arrived. They take care of their hotel grounds, from early in the morning until the sun goes down at night.
Food was great, the buffet had something different every night, the a la carte were good but would of like more interaction with the staff.
Nighty entertainment was average, live music every night for 2 hrs was good to sit, have a couple of drinks to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel cleaniness, staff, food
The weak points
Due to the humilty, it made everything feel damp and smelly
Certified

RIU PALACE RIVIERA MAYA

, Montreal, QC
2014-02-19
Please take note that we had changed our reservations from Palace Mexico to the Palace Riviera Maya and couldn't have been more pleased. All our expectations were met and in most cases surpassed. The one thing that was a little off putting was that there was no minimum dress code for the dinner meal. I don't think that it would be too much to expect that guests wear appropriate clothing e.g. men to wear pants and not shorts and t-shirts and not appear that they have just returned from a day at the beach.
The hotel and all the staff that we had encountered were top flight and friendly. We tend to travel frequently and intend to return for another stay in the not too distant future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort and staff quite frankly were beyond our expectations especially the hotel staff throughout the entire complex.
The weak points
Lack of a dress code and in some instances the quality of the food.
Certified

Vacation at Rui Palace

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-27
Just returned from a week at the Riu Palace Mexico .... and what a great week it was. The hotel is beautiful and the location is amazing. This is by far the best hotel in Playacar (way better than the other Riu's). Playacar is a gorgeous gated community that is very safe. You can walk from the hotel into Playa Del Carmen in 20 mins down a pretty street or along the beach. The food was great & we never got sick. The beach is stunning and goes on for miles. The hotel is spotless & the staff are fantastic ... always smiling and will get you anything you need. I would highly reccomend this hotel & would go back in a heart beat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, beach, food
The weak points
need to make reservations for a la carte restaurants
Certified

Great Beach no water shoes needed

, Brantford, ON
2014-01-23
very modern, excellent friendly staff,
food is fresh but a bit boring
small resort with limited entertainment but you are allowed to go to all other Riu resorts in the area.
overall we had a great time and I am an ocean loverin that regard it was perfect for me. the hotel itself lacks the mexcican spirit at keast for me.
I found the bed quite comfortable the blankets were horrible though.
Everything is extremely clean.
Our toilet, shower and bathtub were plugged but half an hour soneone came and fixed it so no big deal.things do happen its how they are taken care off thats important . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food fresh but bland entertainment
Certified

Great Vacation

, Kitchener, ON
2013-12-17
All round a fantastic resort. From the service staff to the rooms and the amazing food, we had a wonderful vacation. Thank you Riu:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the food.
The weak points
Dampness in the rooms.
Certified

RuinPalace Hotel Mexico

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-12-08
As we drove into the driveway of the Rui Mexico we liked what we saw. Once we came in contact with the staff we became immediately impressed. They were friendly not phony and very efficient and well-trained. The hotel itself is excellent clean well-kept and easy to like. The beach or what can you say it's absolutely exceptional and was enjoyed for many hours. It was a pleasurable experience to stay at the Rui Mexico [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, food variety.
The weak points
Hotel layout. Needs an additional elevator at each end do the hotel
Certified

Would definately go again

, Lansdowne, ON
2013-12-06
The Resort was wonderful. Staff, beach, food was fantastic. Constantly cleaning and doing all the little things to make your stay exceptional. Rooms were clean and spacious. Some people complain about the humidity - go to Arizona not the tropics if you want dry. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, service, beach
The weak points
Internet could be stronger but no real problems.
Certified

Top Notch

, Cornwall, ON
2013-11-05
Great resort. Loved the new style of this property.
Was realy nice to have the option to use other Riu resorts in the area. It gave us good variety.
The food was excellent!!! All meals.
Good friendly service all over.
We appriciatted the acknowledgement from the front desk as repeat guest and for our special occasion. They were always reminding us what they could do to make our vacation the best it could be.
AMAZING beach. One of the best we have ever seen.
Another big plus is that Playa Del Carmen is so close. Its within walking distance of this resort.
We loved Riu Palace Mexico. Four thumbs up!
We would love to return. Enjoy! We did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and proximity to Playa Del Carmen
The weak points
Bar and washroom needed at the beach
Certified

RIY Palace Mexico

, Brampton, ON
2013-10-25
wonderful vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was fantastic
The weak points
musty smell in room
Certified

AMAZING TRIP!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-10-23
Just got back from Riu Palace Mexico for a 7 day vacation. I went with my boyfriend who was very skeptical about going to an all inclusive. We both had a fantastic time and he won't stop raving about it! Food was GREAT even for the picky eaters (like me) drinks were great, I've never seen staff work SO hard at the resort to keep it clean. This resort exceeded expectations. The rooms were spotless as was the rest of the resort. Snack bar, coffee bar, all restaurants and buffets were amazing. Pool beautiful and the beach was like no other I've ever stayed at. We took walks up the beach and down the street and checked out all other Riu's and peeked into other resorts, if you are trying to decide there is NO question or comparison go to the Palace Mexico! I cannot stress this enough if you are looking for a great time, room, food go here do not settle for the rest even if it's a cheaper price, you will get a cheaper vacation TRUST ME. If you are on vacation Coco Bongo is a must see and all other clubs are so much fun, very safe and the people are great!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLEANLINESS, rooms, great food, staff works so hard, lots of choice, big resort, beautiful beach
The weak points
Not much nightlife and the disco at Tequila is GROSS, but going downtown is a short cab ride and GREAT time.
Certified

Just returned.

, Oakville, ON
2013-10-20
Beautiful beach. Well maintained. Attentive service all areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and grounds. Good overall service.
The weak points
Room damp. Smell of mould however provided a filter which assisted in the reduction of the odour.
Certified

IF YOU WANT TO BREAK YOUR NECK GO THERE !!!!!

, Toronto, ON
2013-10-11
We were there in October 2013.
Problem#1
LACK OF SECURITY AT NIGHT
We have seen locals swimming in the pool after 9pm.
Where is security or management?
Problem #2
The water in the shower did not drain in a timely manner so you are standing in water.
Problem#3
The entire floor in the room was wet at all times. As if the tiles would be sweating.
No matter what the thermostat setting!
We had to cover the floor with towels and blankets. We were slipping on the floor.
After we left the room for two hours and set the thermostat on max cool the room had a bad odor when you opened the door.
All our clothes had a moldy smell. Our passports were warped.
I mentioned it at the front desk. I was told the entire management is aware of the situation.
I talked to others on the resort and they had similar experiences.
Before I left for the resort I was reading that other people had similar experiences.
It is like a two star Cuban resort
DO NOT BELIEVE ME. I JUST WANT YOU TO GO THROUGH WHAT WE WENT THROUGH. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,Staff
The weak points
As described above
Certified

Treated us like Royalty.

, St Catharines, ON
2013-09-30
The trip from start to finish was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and comfortable.
The weak points
Calls from front desk to ask us if we needed anything.
Certified

Late August 2013

, Toronto, ON
2013-09-09
Beautiful hotel with excellent service at all hours. truly a 24hr all inclusive [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beach Friendly Staff Excellent Service Clear water with lots of (friendly) fish. Great food
The weak points
Some renovations still underway (but you are on the beach during the day and not in your room, so this was ok). Excessive rain showed some weak spots to renovation (didnt bother us that much).
Certified

Fantastic hotel

, Maple, ON
2013-07-29
truly 5 star resort, amazing service, beautiful rooms, beach is clean and no weeds, rooms get cleaned few times a day. will be back. really worth the money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything is fantastic at this hotel
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

GREAT VACATION

, Richmondhill, ON
2013-06-10
The hotel was beautiful and very modern. The staff were FRIENDLY, ATTENTIVE and overall AMAZING. The food was incredible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were amazing, the food was great, the room size was great. The decor of the hotel was beautiful.
The weak points
Room had a bit of a mildew smell. There was no king size bed, nice effort to put 2 queen beds together, but not easy to sleep in. A little disappointed that the hotel was too booked to offer late checkout, our flight was at 8pm in the evening.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021