Grand Sunset Princess All Suites And Spa

Grand Sunset Princess All Suites And Spa
4.184.184.184.184.18
4.18 based on 1797 reviews
#13 of 128 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (597)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful property but rude service

, Waterloo, ON
2022-05-11
I have stayed at this resort several time (at least five). In the past, I found the service to be excellent and always received a very warm reception.
I had not returned to the resort since COVID and was extremely disappointed with the customer service. The reception staff were very rude when I tried to explain I had visited the resort several times and had received some upgrades due to my repeat status in the past. The interactions with the hotel/front desk staff were very unpleasant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful property
The weak points
Very poor customer service!
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Well done
Certified

FANTASTIC PLACE

, Surrey, BC
2022-04-29
Loved our stay!
The size was fantastic, location was amazing and facilities were great. We loved it, would come back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Mexico Trip was great

, Guelph, ON
2022-04-24
Greeting and staff excellent
Beach overwhelmed by sea vegetation washing up
Food not as good as I remember [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Hotel staff great swim up suite highly recommended neon dancer show was good
The weak points
Beach very bad Evening entertainment a bit weak
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
fine
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess all Suited and Spa

, Calgary, AB
2022-04-16
One week in April at this hotel was a pleasant experience, with some weak points as mentioned below.
Thank you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful hotel grounds, comfortable rooms, restaurants, entertaining, nice warm pools.
The weak points
Lack of pool/beach chairs, they had to be "reserved" at 5 am to secure spots, some chairs were dirty, need to be cleaned more; music playing around the main restaurants during the whole night was disturbing sleep; seeweed not cleaned daily
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Satisfactory
Certified

Amazing

, Fitzroy Harbour, ON
2022-03-03
This was our first trip down south and our first all inclusive, and let me tell you, this resort did not disappoint! We had a swim out room and it was clean and well equipped. The whole resort was clean. The buffets were good overall. The a la carte restaurants we went to (Miso Teppanyaki and La Vacqueria) were amazing.

I would highly recommend this resort and will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very clean, friendly staff, decent buffets.
The weak points
Dinner buffet food was ok but could have been a bit better - breakfast and lunch were great.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess Comments

, Edmonton, AB
2021-11-20
This is a resort that is large and requires a "lot" of walking. Be prepared to put in a bunch of steps. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful, clean, nice rooms and the staff were great!
The weak points
Tons of walking, only one bar after 10, no other nightlife, lineups everywhere, only ok food and some shortages. Nice beach but some rocks so bring water shoes.
Certified

Great holiday

, 108 Mile Ranch, BC
2021-11-18
2nd time at this hotel, very clean, food is good, staff are very hard working and accommodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, fun atmosphere. Friendly staff
The weak points
food lines were initially quite long, resort opened 2nd dinner area then it was very good. Think resort is just fully reopening after the last 2 years of restricted travel.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
covid procedures followed by stall and most guests.
Certified

FIRST AND LAST

, Chateauguay, QC
2021-11-10
Do not really know where to begin… we felt assured when we got to our room and saw a small white sign on the handle of the door which read. Disinfected room. Which clearly was not the case. There were fingerprints all over the glass tops on the bureaus and tables and not to mention bare footprints on the ageing marble floors. The bath on the patio was used… but looked clean until you touched the sides and felt the filth. My room offered a safe which was totally unbolted from it's intended place in the closet. We asked to have our room changed and were denied immediately. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The bar staff at the Platinum. Pedro was his name. Great guy
The weak points
Hotel was falling apart and buffets were not to my expectations for this class of hotel. I did not like the joining room option with this room 5223. I felt I had to whisper to have a private conversation. All in all a horrible experience.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very poor sanitation of room
Certified

Great resort

, Neepawa, MB
2020-03-16
Nice, modern and comfortable rooms and beds [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great service and food
The weak points
wifi in the room signal could be better
Certified

Platinum Guest

, Calgary, HA
2020-03-10
Overall wonderful the location of our room and services were excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great room close to everything we needed
The weak points
Cold shower 3 days in a row we had asked a few times before finally getting an answer half way through our stay hard to get communication
Certified

Excellent resort!

, Moncton, NB
2020-03-07
I went alone to celebrate winning my battle with cancer. I was looking to relax and just read for a week. Even though it was March break, I was still able to find peace and solitude on this huge resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The beach is public so be prepared to be asked every 20 mins if you want a massage, cigars, silver, hats, sunglasses
Certified

Beautiful place to kick back and relax

, Ponoka, AB
2020-02-28
We really enjoyed our stay at Grand Sunset Princess. The grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly, the beach is gorgeous. We upgraded to the platinum suite and the biggest perk about that was that you have access to a designated area on the beach. The loungers are a little further apart and more comfortable that the other ones. Having access to a separate pool and lounge was nice too, as they had a bar in there that was never busy with a little snack buffet and a big stack of towels.
The walk to the main plaza takes about 8 to 10 minutes, which we really enjoyed. The ground are beautiful and to be honest after mostly laying at the beach a little walking was great. There is also a shuttle available every 15 minutes.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, (Mexicans have amazing work ethics if you ask me) and always had a smile on their face.
The food at the various buffets was tasty and there was lots to choose from. We enjoy trying lots of different food and there was something new every day to try. As far as the a la carte restaurant goes I would highly recommend the Miso cooking show. Very entertaining and delicious. The others that we tried were okay, but not amazing, but we did not try them all.
There is also a little snack buffet at the beach bar and an amazing grill with fresh tacos every day at the pool (that was my favorite!).
I would go there again in a heart beat.
My only disappointment were the cocktails. Everything tasted like aspartame to me, but that might just be me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, very clean and well kept grounds, decent food
The weak points
Cocktails were not the best, front reception staff was the least friendly, everyone else was great, I wish there would be no Wifi. A lot of the guests seemed to always be on their phones.
Certified

Vacation

, Killaloe, ON
2020-02-23
Two week winter getaway,enjoyed all,wonderful staff,superior accommodations, clean rooms and grounds,thumbs up to all,surely would recommend to anyone for a wonderful relaxing vacation!!! Thx to all !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing and enjoyable

, Parkland County, AB
2020-02-20
Had a great time at the resort. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good, some of the buffet could be hotter. Enjoyed the pools and beaches. Great place to relax. Is located somewhat central to attractions
Will recommend ti family and friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Personal experience at the Grand Sunset Princess.

, Airdrie, AB
2020-02-13
Overall a good hotel with a good experience, however,
when we booked the vacation, we were unaware that this was a “timeshare “ type of hotel.
So, we did not appreciate the many times we were approached by sales people trying to sell us the timeshare.
Upon check in was the first time we got fooled in to the various sales tricks used. The hotel representative after we checked in, guided us to one guy who was supposed to show us to the room, he was as we found out, the first person trying to convince us to attend a sales meeting to buy in to the timeshare. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, nice layout, friendly and helpful staff. Food was mostly quite good.
The weak points
Unaware this was a timeshare hotel, so did not appreciate the several approaches by sales people throughout the entire vacation.
Certified

Sunset experience

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-30
Generally the resort is like any other 4-5 star type with friendly and helpful staff and food amenities. We had a great time during our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good with the various themes as well as some of the Ala Carte restaurants. Waiting staff were very polite and always ready to serve.
The weak points
We found the rooms were not adequately lit and we had to actually use our cellphone light to look for our clothes in our bag. We also feel that the housekeeping staff could improve cleaning and maintaining supplies in the room.
Certified

Laguna Villa

, Windsor, ON
2020-01-20
The most amazing trip we have had. They were very helpful and courteous. The whole resort was gorgeous, we saw monkies, turtles and even an alligator. Food was fantastic the service was amazing and friendly. We met alot of Canadians on this vacation and made new friends. The shows were great the spa treatment was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The whole layout is beautiful, day or night the lighting at night is beautiful.
Certified

Excellent voyage!

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-20
Nous avons voyagé du 10 janvier au 17 janvier 2020.
Un excellent voyage a recommander tout simplement. C'était ma 2ième visite a cet hotel. 1 fois au Grand Sunset et cette fois dans le Kids club.

Wow tout est propre! Conçu pour les enfants, la bouffe était EXCELLENTE! Personne de nous 5 ont été malade.

Resto a la carte coup de coeur (Mama Mia et la fondue) Miam

Pas besoin d'apporter une poussette, ils en prête!
De l'ombre partout.. Petit train pour se promener dans le site, les piscines excellente, service excellent. J'y retourne pour sur!

Parmi tout mes voyages, c'est mon top 1
et les autres ont aussi dit que c'est le plus bel hotel parmi tout leur voyages. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, propreté, bouffe, facilité pour les enfants. Les spectacles! Endroit relaxe!
The weak points
J'ai pas vu d'endroit ou dancer..

Grand Princess Sunset Review.

, Surrey, BC
2020-01-19
Hotel was excellent with very well appointed rooms and easy access to beach and all pools. Staff were incredible and worked very hard to make our stay memorable. Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was very clean, all of the service staff and personnel were courteous and kind and worked very hard to satisfy our every need. The food was excellent with healthy choices.
The weak points
Of the 3 alternate dining choices we chose the steak house, the italian and the japanese. The steak and chicken ordered by my wife and I were not up to par, we could not eat this food. The other two dining choices were excellent.
Certified

Good Stay

, Chilliwack, MB
2020-01-18
Enjoyed the hotel, staff friendly and courteous. Service was good in all the facilities, pools, room etc. The only issue we had was the food in the steak house La Vequeria, steaks not very good, meat both steaks and chicken was cold. Also more elevators would have been nice in the buildings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
255
The weak points
225
Certified

Overall a Great experience

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2019-12-19
WE loved our platinum suite stay. The staff in the platinum lounge were the BEST! And they made BEST drinks in the entire resort! And pool staff serving us were amazing! (Lupita, Jesus, and I don't remember all their names) sorry :)
This was our second visit, and I was disappointed we did not get the ocean view like we did before. And they did change our room from a double to the requested ‘king' for my husband and I!
The resort staff are kind and very accommodating! We were a little disappointed with La Fleur restaurant, our apps were cold, the squash blossom soup was great, but my steak was cold, and my husbands chicken was full of tiny bones, almost choked once. (Our previous visit, it was our favourite restaurant) We did tell our waitress, but she didn't understand.
The Japanese restaurant I had requested was the grill were the chef cooks your food in front of you, (like we had on previous visit), instead they booked us at Japanese and had menu and did not enjoy it at all.
The buffet for breakfast and lunch in platinum area was great first two days, then ran very low on fruit like bananas, and I was surprised there was not one mango in sight, but people were selling them on the beach? And we import our mangos from Mexico.!? All in all, it was a nice trip. Don't know if we will go back, we might try another resort. They do have the Best rooms as compared to four other resorts we've been to in the Riviera Maya. Our concierge Gloria was amazing, sweetest lady ever!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Vacation 2019

, Perth Road, ON
2019-12-08
Had an amazing time at Grand Sunset Princess. Weather cooperated the entire time. Staff were all courteous and accommodating. Need to mention Hugo and Fausto at the breakfast and lunch buffets. They knew drink preferences after the first day and as soon as they seated us, our drinks were there a short time later.

I highly recommend paying the extra for the Platinum upgrade.

Will definitely be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-great service -excellent staff -great accommodations
Certified

Great Vacation Resort

, Whites Lake, NS
2019-05-15
We loved it here. Rooms were very nice. Food was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of pools so there will always be a chair. A little of everything for entertainment. Excellent quality for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Family Vacation

, Torbay, NL
2019-05-14
The hotel is very clean and well maintained. It's a large hotel with lots of dining options and different pool areas. We really enjoyed our swim-out room. The only downside was the beach was full of seaweed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool areas
The weak points
Beach full of smelly seaweed.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess

, Petty Harbour, NL
2019-05-10
Rooms were exceptionally nice .. the swim up ability was also great, as were the pools. WiFi was terrible .. food was terrible .. could not swallow the beer and the beach was worse then terrible. The seaweed is nature but zero effort into cleaning it up and the rocks made it hard to get in and out. Once in it was extremely shallow as well so hard to do more then soak a bit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms were off the charts .. nicest I have stayed in anywhere on vacation. The swim up balcony's were great and all the pools were nice. Sports Bar was also very nice and had a very tasty philly steak sandwhich.
The weak points
Food, wifi, drinks and beach were nothing short of terrible.
Certified

Grand princess sunset

, Placentia, NL
2019-05-05
Just returned from 7 days at this resort......this was our 3rd vacation at this resort.......loved our time in Mexico and always do.....although this time was a little difficult due to health issues . We were given a room in the number seven building and on 3rd floor , with no access to elevator , on Riviera side .......not a good choice ......however ,we enjoyed our vacation as always and hated to leave . Waking up everyday to laughter and sunshine makes everyone want to stay......A special shout out to " LIPITA " on the beach.....she kept us hydrated especially my son ......once she bought us a drink , the next time she knew without asking us what we wanted ....beautiful Lipita , so happy and cheerful all the time .......I was so happy to see her on our way out the morning we were leaving , she was so complimentary to us ......overall Grand Sunset has left us with great memories and look forward to returning again ( lol,but only if we get a better location ) ...how could we not return !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Grand Sunset Princess

, Halifax, NS
2019-04-24
We booked a junior suite and the room was beautiful and spacious, we were on the 3rd floor and had a nice balcony as well. Our room was tidied every day by the amazing cleaning staff. The resort is so big and there is so much to do there you almost need more than a week to take it all in! There were lots of fun activities and shows from morning to night for all ages. It was a really great experience and I will definitely be going again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly, warm and welcoming staff. Lots of great food and drink options. Beautiful rooms, the grounds were kept very clean and tidy. Lots of things to do, whether you wanted to have a more quiet, relaxing day or have a more party kind of day.
The weak points
The only weak point is I found that sometimes people would try to sell things too hard. Like spa services, if you said no you weren't interested sometimes the sales people wouldn't accept the first no.
Certified

Grand Sunset Princess - Great Vacation!

, West Kelowna, BC
2019-04-05
We really enjoyed our stay! The resort is huge! We enjoy that because there is always a lot to do, no shortage of lounge chairs and no line ups at the buffets.

Check in and Check out were seamless.

If you are not a fan of animals, this place will not be for you. There are coaties, monkeys, agoutis, deer, crocodiles, turtles and more! We enjoyed all of them.

The resort is so large that you will do a lot of walking. That did not bother us but we heard complaints from other guests. The restaurants are good! We felt that the best were the Japanese (both teppanaki and Japanese) as well as the steakhouse. You can always find something at the buffet but it is not the best.

There is a taco stand close to the beach everyday at lunch and closer to the lobby, you will find a hamburger and hot dog stand.

The entertainment was great! Not every show was top notch but we especially enjoyed Grease and the Rock Show! Very well done!

You need to get up early (6am) to save a cabana by the pool or even a palapa by the beach. The water is nice and warm and the waves are not especially high. If you want to body surf, not the best beach for that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks were yummy, shows were well done, and restaurants were nice.
Certified

Great place for extended vacations!!

, Lashburn, SK
2019-04-01
Had an amazing vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great environment, tons to do, lots of privacy available, spacious rooms, lots of bars
The weak points
Food repeats each week in the buffet.
Certified

Spring Break 2019

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-29
I loved everything about this hotel, the food was awesome, the pools are everywhere as well as the pool bars, the beach is beautiful and the animacion team is a lot of fun. There were many ala cartes to choose from and the ones we went to were very good. The resort was very clean and we especially liked the kitty cats, the coatis and the spider monkeys. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the pools, the pool bars, the beach, the beach bar, the animacion team, the cleanliness of the resort. EXCELLENT PLACE!
The weak points
I didn't like how we were hounded the first 2 days to go to timeshare area for a "free breakfast"
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022