Grand Riviera Princess All Suites

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites
4.084.084.084.084.08
4.08 based on 493 reviews
#23 of 128 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (77)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Mixed feelings

, Taber, AB
2022-06-17
We stayed in a Laguna Villa. The suite was great, except for the extremely large and hard pillows. The staff was superb, especially those around our private Villa pool (the concierge and bartenders). The concierge was very helpful in booking our restaurants and getting us anything we requested.

We chose not to use the beach because of chance of cutting our feet on the rocks, but we ate breakfast at the Chill Out restaurant on the beach every day. The food there was wonderful. Not so much at the other restaurants. The buffets were lukewarm, and since I have medical problems with pepper/s in any form, I could not find much to eat. We both felt ill during our stay, and so were careful to avoid anything that might be contaminated (seafood, fresh fruits/vegetables, etc.). That really limited my choices.

Part of our package was to include a free massage, hydrotherapy experience, and facial/exfoliation treatment. We received the massage (it was great!), but did not receive any of the others. Most of the people that we met there did. There seemed to be some inconsistency in what each group received as perks.

We met wonderful people, and other than for the food, pillows, and rocky beach, I would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff, Laguna Villa experience
The weak points
Food
Certified

Room for improvement

, Vancouver, BC
2022-05-29
Large resort that can be confusing to navigate given the fact that there are two distinct properties in the complex, and the site is essentially symmetrical.
Road leading up to the resort is quite unappealing (high concrete wall with barbed wire at top).
Resort app need work e.g. there was no explanation about the evening entertainment.
Too many people at the morning buffets which left the place a bit messy. Would advise them to have a coffee station too.
Overall site needs better care and maintenance in line with a 5-star offering.
Good variety of food at specialty restaurants but could have been better quality.
Resort shops prices are very inflated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Resort grounds were nice, with nice landscaping and wildlife. Friendly staff everywhere. Drinks were decent. Taco stand was above average. Nice to see different wildlife around resort e.g. monkeys, iguanas, coatis, cats. Felt quite safe.
The weak points
Poor management of seaweed on beach. Room maintenance was below average (loose fixtures, shower didn't drain). Poor information provided at check-in. Food in specialty restaurants was just okay. Lacked flavor and not in line with a 5-star resort.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Noticed hand sanitizer in various places. No mask mandates in place. Buffet did not offer any protection at all. Recommend having servers dishing out the food instead.
Certified

Wonderful stay

, Brantford, Canada, ON
2022-05-02
A beautiful hotel with well maintained grounds. We stayed in the Villa Laguna Suites and it is a spectacular room. Like a mini apartment with a beautiful, unique outdoor shower. The walk in closet kept us so organized. The fridge was well stocked.
The private pool, concierge and bar for guests in this section was a nice touch and Karla was extremely gracious and helpful. We had a massage courtesy of our room choice and it was a marvellous experience.
The beach was quite a distance but we were close to the lobby, restaurants, buffets and shops. We would do the Villa Laguna Suites section again.
The A La Cartes were very good. Our favourites were Mamma Mia, La Vaqueria and La Hacienda. No problem with bookings whatsoever.
The sargassum was plentiful on the beach but that is nature and the time of year. We still swam and loved it!
Reception and all associated with that were efficient and special shout out to Abraham for his attention to us when we arrived.
Our housekeeper was very good and never interfered with our day or schedule. Loved the wildlife except we couldn't find those elusive monkeys at all.
We had the best vacation and absolutely everything was just as we had hoped. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The grounds. Villa Laguna Suites. Staff working hard. A La Cartes attention to detail. Availability of food for daytime near pools (burger and tacos) Activities everywhere. Something for everyone.
The weak points
More staff needed in pool bars. Big line ups. Wifi was temperamental.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Inconsistent as some places took temperature and others didn't. Masks in indoor spaces was nicely enforced.
Certified

NOT A GOOD STAY

, Brampton, ON
2022-04-22
NOT HAPPY WITH THE STAY. AFTER CGECKED IN .. NODOBY SHOWED ME WHERE THE ROOM WAS .. TOOK 45 MINUTES TO LOCATE MY ROOM , MISSED THE DINNER AT 11. SLEPT EMPTY STOMACH. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
LOCATION IN GOOD, NOT HAPPY WITH MY STAY. PRICE VS QUALITY NOT GOOD. NOT A GOOD WELCOME WHEN I ENTERED. NOBODY SHOWED ME WHERE MY ROOM WAS . I HAD TO SPEND 45 MINUTES TO LOCATE THE ROOM AND MISSED THE DINNER AT 11. SLEPT EMPTY STOMACH .
The weak points
LOCATION IN GOOD, NOT HAPPY WITH MY STAY. PRICE VS QUALITY NOT GOOD. NOT A GOOD WELCOME WHEN I ENTERED. NOBODY SHOWED ME WHERE MY ROOM WAS . I HAD TO SPEND 45 MINUTES TO LOCATE THE ROOM AND MISSED THE DINNER AT 11
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
GOOD
Certified

Week vacation

, Beaver Bank, NS
2022-04-03
We had a great week vacation. The resort was lovely and very big. Lots of different places to hang out, many different pools and buffet/ restaurants. The workers work really hard to allow travellers to have a good vacation. They weren't overly interactive with visitors but always friendly. The only complaints sometimes you waited 15-20 mins at times for a drink and the beach at times had a lot of seaweed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Super Nice

, Powell River, BC
2022-03-17
Great staff beautiful Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Spotless pools, great staff, beautiful grounds.
The weak points
Food was lacking 5 star quality, zero seafood. No late night eateries when ya had too many. Maybe because of covid cutbacks. Extra charges for room service.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean.
Certified

No came back

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-03-09
Nice place but bad customer service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beautiful facilities
The weak points
The lack of employees is notorious, the waiters run all the time because they can't keep up, in my case there was an error in my reservation it was listed as canceled and I had a very bad time without anyone apologizing for the error
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
good
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess

, Acton, ON
2022-03-06
Overall it was a wonderful experience. The grounds and beach are beautiful. The staff are very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Loved the wildlife with the Couti, Agouti, birds, monkeys and cats.
The resort is beautiful but it was too big, everything was far away. The rooms need updating to what the rest of the resort represents. I definitely recommend upgrading to Platinum for a better experience. Overall it was a great trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach, great stores within the resort, beautiful and clean grounds, helpful staff.
The weak points
Resort is too big, furniture in rooms were starting to deteriorate, food was ok but not the greatest.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Covid measures were to standards
Certified

Overall happy with Grand Riviera Princess All Suit

, Calgary, AB
2021-12-31
I would like to thank all the staff as they were generally very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Grand Riviera Platinum and felt the extra expense was well worth the cost for the services and amenities they provided. The premises was well cared for, clean and staff seemed to follow Covid-19 safety precautions. All in all I would give the resort an eight out of ten with some recommendations and comments:
- morning buffet at the Snack Riviera was always understaffed. May I suggest hiring bus people to clean and reset the tables.
- the stores pulled the scam of not having enough pesos to give back as change and therefor asked you to by a lighter or candy instead. This way to increase your sales is embarrassing for you and a con. Is it worth it to your reputation to be known for trying to rip off your clients?
- On registering at the Platinum, they didn't really supply us with an abundant amount of information explaining what was available, they just told to download the app and get information from that. We seemed to always have to be asking questions to find out more about what was included and how to get it. App was very hard to download and had to go to the concierge to do it and sign us in. This comment as well cam from many people we talked to during our stay.
- We ordered on separate nights four bottles of higher end wine from the wine menu. The cork broke on every bottle of wine when the waiter was trying to open them. Red wine was kept in the fridge and wines were obviously not stored on their sides as corks were dried and fell apart. The attempt to decant the cold red wine into a chilled glass water jug was just embarrassing to watch.
- There is a Scuba Diving training sign by the pool but only saw someone there one day of the eight we were there. How about including in the sign how to register for it.
- I understand it was Christmas time and staff need to celebrate as well. But if services are not going to be offered in full, clients should be informed before hand. I.e.: bar beach service, pool side service and buffet breakfast service.
- If some of the restaurants and services are no longer available due to Covid, that should be mentioned on your website.
- Your restaurants have "themes", follow through on that. The Italian restaurant; play Italian music, have candles on the table, have Italian art on the walls, ensure that the whole menu reflects Italian, even dessert. French restaurant; ensure the whole menu reflects French cuisine, appropriate music, candles on tables and art reflecting the theme. Oriental restaurant; food was good but include oriental music and art work to pull the theme together.
I want to again thank you, as we did enjoy our stay and the above points were minor annoyances and personnel recommendations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Beautifull place but ...

, St Donat De Montcalm, QC
2021-12-10
Beautifull place Very clean Nice Room but the bath is old need to be change this is not a 5 stars hôtel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautyfull place very clean ,nice room, good room service , waiters are very friendly Nice pools Nice Beach good restaurants services
The weak points
Nice room but the bath was old and yellow, the buffet is not diverse always the same foods no shrimps and a lot of frieds foods , the shows are not very good ... the beach is clean but kind of dangerous at certaine point ,the free wifi is slow not stable
Certified

Vacation at Grand Riviera Princess

, Clearwater, MB
2021-12-08
We had a great time at the resort. All the staff worked incredibly hard to make things go smoothly and were so friendly. We upgraded to the platinum suites which was perfect. The beach was great, did not even go into a pool. Bernie on the golf cart is a sweet man and cared for us well, always had a smile (under his mask) and welcome when he saw us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Check in was supposed to be a private check in with welcome drink, did not get this service. It was an extremely long process, and this was disappointing, having paid more for platinum. Also, the seafood restaurant was closed, sadly. More staff needed.
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess in Playa del Carmen

, Kanata, ON
2021-11-23
We were hoping for a 5 start experience but certainly didn't experience one! Although the grounds were lovely (pools, walking paths) and our room was large, spacious and clean, the service was not near where it should be. I would add that this may be due to Covid and NOT the workers present.....they did the best they could. The resort appeared very short staffed (especially bars) as we waited in line sometimes more than 30 minutes at the beach bar. Buffet restaurant and specialty restaurants were mediocre at best, including service and food. (once again could be due to Covid). Food in buffets was never hot, sometimes cold, and some restaurant areas were in a sad state of disrepair (Mexican restaurant, La Hacienda, had a water leak in the ceiling so bad the water was pooling in large areas on the floor and the drywall ceiling was falling down. Often waited several minutes for utensils and drinks. Not an issue at a 3 star resort but certainly shouldn't be an issue at a 5 star resort! The internet access was absolutely atrocious. You have to buy the premium package or remain on roaming if you want any service. During Covid when booking PCR, antigen or other tests is a must...as is accessing trips and tours. On a positive note our walk out swim up room was large and cozy...and the AC certainly worked! Value for price was not great in our opinion. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, pools are large, plentiful and clean. The beach area is quite nice (compared to other Playa del Carmen resorts); our room was large spacious and clean.
The weak points
Facilities are dated and falling into disrepair. Food in restaurants were ok but not great. Line ups at bars were horrendous (especially at beach side bar)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks were supposed to be used anytime indoors. This was adhered to when entering restaurants but seldom enforced afterwards. Hand santizer is readily available throughout resort. When booking tours from resorts dont expect anyone to wear a mask.
Certified

Never Again!!

, Penticton , BC
2020-03-14
This was our 1st ever vacation outside of Canada.
We arrived later in the evening 10:00ish, tobe taken to our room that hadn't been turned over/cleaned after last guests. Bedding was stained and filthy!! Called manager who sent hskg to change bedding, room was to be cleaned next day.
We ordered room service after long travel we were very hungry. 45 minutes later food arrived nacho soggy ,all food ice cold and horrible couldn't stomach. Charged for room service. Manager was made aware and shown.
Long story short, Never again!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice resort

, Pierrerfonds , QC
2020-03-05
It was a very nice resort over all. Kind of boring for kids, not much fun activities around the pool or resort. I am not sure what they offer in Family club but it didn't look anything different. Not recommended for seniors. Lots of walking. Buffet food was very repetitive. Restaurant booking wasn't that easy either. Most nights were booked. The shows were really nice. Staff were super nice and polite. Excellent service at restaurants , and front desk. Beach was super nice but certain areas have rocks, so you may want to go in with water shoes. No seaweed. The resort next to princess had lots of seaweed when we walked , but luckily there was hardly any seaweed at Princess section. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our riviera princess experience

, Port De Grave, NL
2020-02-03
This was my second stay at the hotel.
We were disappointed to see that we booked the Riviera side but were given a room in the sunset side, far from the pool and beach. Also the junior suite there isn't as nice as the rooms closer to the pools and beach. We upgraded for a hefty fee to get a better location and somewhat better room.
There were far too many children on the resort, at the restaurants, shows and sports bar. We will look for an adult's only next time.
The staff were wonderful as were the shows and food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, shows and staff
The weak points
No area for adults only, not even one restaurant where adults could enjoy a meal without constant crying. Also rooms need some attention such as the couch being full of stains and linens smelling sour.
Certified

Average

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-20
Would not come back. We did not get our money worth [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Staff was not friendly. No hot water in courtesy bathroom when checking out
Certified

Great Resort!

, North York, ON
2019-12-14
This hotel was great. I wish we had proper Mexican food or even tex mex. Just the boyfriend and I went, it was decent. The beach should be separated from princess family and riviera princess. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1 A lot of Canadians ❤️ 2 All hotel staff aided in providing a terrific vacation- friendly, helpful and approachable 3 Clean everything on resort 4 Good food 5 Large resort, lots to do. 6 Beautiful landscaping
The weak points
Barely any authentic Mexican food at buffets
Certified

This place is amazing!

, Surrey, BC
2019-11-26
We had a great time at this resort! The people, food, beach, room, atmosphere and service were above and beyond. You can eat at the a la cartes evernight if you want. The French restaurant was outstanding and the Italian was equally great! The only negative was we were there for two weeks and the shows seemed to be the same the following week. The band on the Saturday night in the plaza was so much fun. There is truly something for everyone here. There wasn't any snorkelling off the beach but they could take you to a reef for about $30 per person. I totally recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was really good!
The weak points
The show seemed to be the same the second week as the first week but they were great but we didn't need to see them twice
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Calgary, AB
2019-11-18
Very relaxing vacation for my family. I like the lay out of this hotel. It is easy to find my way and a lot of difference choices of activities. Good for couples, families and seniors. The restaurants are good quality and good services. We love their French cuisine very much. I am highly recommended and will come again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand vacation

, Dorchester, ON
2019-05-26
the resort is beautiful and really clean. The grounds are keep so beautifully. the rooms and bathrooms are a great size. had a great time, but they need to have more things to do during the day. It was 32 - 35 degrees Celsius everyday so you can only stay in the sun so long before getting burnt. I put on lots of sunscreen but still got burnt. The beach was gross, there is smelly sea weed all along the beach and in the water. the smell is pretty bad, it smells like dead fish. Good thing they have lots of pools, The food is mediocre. Check-in is really slow stood in line for 40 minutes. The dinner reservation line was a long wait stood there for over an hour. They only seem to have one person working any desk in the hotel, so you always had to wait in line for long periods of time in really hot weather. There are only 2 shops in the resort, a jewelry store and a souvenir shop with some clothing for sale. The entertainment was okay, some good dancing and beautiful costumes. The air conditioning worked really well for a cool good nights sleep. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful grounds and resort, great size rooms.
The weak points
food is so so and entertainment is so so
Certified

Trip to mexico

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-10
I was very impressed with everything. Never been to Mexico so was happy it was a good experiences were very close to beach and restaurant and shuttle as I use a walker so we're happy we were close to everything [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very helpful and friendly Shuttle drivers very helpful. Loved the buffet
The weak points
Well took us a while to figure out the towel thing at the beach. Like getting up early to put towels on the seats lol
Certified

Holiday Experience

, Mclennan, AB
2019-03-10
The hotel was amazing, with friendly outgoing staff to assist if needed. There were multiple pools (adult as well as kids) on the premises so none were over crowded. I found the beach area to be disappointing from our previous trips to mexico as there was quite a bit of sea weed washed up on the beach every morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess

, Tottenham, ON
2019-03-07
I found the resort to be too big. Lots of people and lots of walking to get around.
Staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great.
The weak points
The resort was too big.
Certified

Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-30
Our vacation started Dec 9/2018, we were warmly welcomed at the Main Lobby. We had purchased the Platinum package so we were quickly escorted to our area! The entire check in process was exceptional! We enjoyed the staff, the property and the people we met during the most relaxing week we've ever had! Shout out especially to Connie and Camon at the Platinum Lobby!!! They were simply the best! We have travelled many places on the Caribbean and Pacific side and this has been our favourite thus far, would 100% return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the grounds were immaculate kept! Beds very comfortable and cleaning staff did a great job daily! A la carte restaurants fabulous and servers very pleasant! Staff on the beach always remember your favourite drinks!
The weak points
Very rocky water front! You really need water shoes!!!
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Review - Dec '18

, Mississauga, ON
2018-12-25
Great experience, friendly staff, beautiful resort and well-maintained rooms [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good, but a 24 hour buffet would have been nice
The weak points
The transit was very sparse and we found it was faster to walk from end to end than to wait
Certified

Great beach

, West Kelowna, BC
2018-12-23
Overall a great resort, however I doubt that I would return due to amount of young families and the mediocre food in the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, great staff with excellent service, beautiful hotel and rooms. Speciality restaurants are great. Lots of chairs and shade around the pool and the beach.
The weak points
Food was mediocre and could be hotter in the buffet . Many families with young kids. The plastic mattress cover was uncomfortable. I assume they have this due to the many children. The lack of control over quests with queuing at bars and restaurants.
Certified

Mexico

, Hinton, AB
2018-10-22
Had a great time at the resort
Spent lots of time in the pools
Took our 1 year old GD she had lots of fun at the kids pool and doing crafts girls there are amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Riviera Princess Platinum

, Collingwood, ON
2018-08-05
Overall, a wonderful experience at the resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staffs at the platinum lounge and pool were attentive, always have the welcoming smiles and courteous...great job guys!!!
The weak points
The steaks at The Vaqueria (main building) was a disappointment
Certified

True 5-star experience

, Burnaby, BC
2018-06-25
We stayed two weeks during which time hurricane Bud hit the opposite (Pacific) coast, which meant a lot of wind, lightning and rain during our stay. Talk about busy staff as they worked so hard at sweeping the water and storm debris from the walkways to keep them safe to name but one task all the while continuing to deliver the top notch service one expects from a 5 star complex. The closest I can come to a negative have to do with the occasional idiots who figure that just because you can drink until you're wasted it doesn't mean you should or the lady who asked for directions to one of the restaurants and after given the option of the shuttle service that runs every 5 minutes or an 8 minute walk rudely responded "well, I'm not going to walk in these shoes". So yes, there are a lot of suites and they are spread out horizontally as opposed to vertically as is the case with some resorts which means it can take a few minutes to walk the extensive and immaculately kept grounds which I saw as a huge plus and an excuse for those extra dinner treats I indulged in, or just take the shuttle service. And yes, there is seaweed constantly washed up onto the beach...a constant issue all along the coastline for miles in both directions. This resort has machinery to rake up the weed which it seems to employ several times each day. My point is that I have read negative reviews on both the seaweed and the 10 minute walk to the beach to which I say "seriously?!" We enjoyed a quiet room, restful sleeps, great food, super service, fun volleyball (my thing), great scuba diving (from the water sports hut at the beach), and overall a super experience. Also, because there are so many pools and specialty areas the resort caters to a wide variety of tastes. Ah, another thing people complain about is that guests save chairs with their towels. Uh, they post pool rules that you cannot save chairs with towels or by any other means, so just put the towel aside and have a seat instead of being put off by someone having neglected to return their towel. By the way, it is not "cute" feeding the coatis. These are wild animals that get along just fine without white flour buns and the like. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great grounds, good food, good service, quiet rooms (ours at least), nice beach.
The weak points
The volley balls should be better quality (you get what you pay for), more signs about not feeding the wildlife, perhaps worded "parents...you know how bad it is to feed the wildlife, so make sure you set a good example to our children"
Certified

Resort experience

, Fall River, NS
2018-04-03
The grounds at this resort are beautiful. Issues we had were people were allowed to save pool and beach beds in shade early in the morning and not use them all day. Too many mongoose at beach grill grabbing food from plates. Too many sellers allowed on beach. Wasn't relaxing. Drinks way too sweet. Food was great. Room was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful property, nice room and great food
The weak points
Beds too hard, people saved beach and pool chairs, drinks too sweet. Too many sellers at beach and too many mongoose at beach grill
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022