Iberostar Grand Paraiso

Iberostar Grand Paraiso
4.724.724.724.724.72
4.72 based on 66 reviews
#42 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (12)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Amazing time at Grand Paraiso!

, Orleans, ON
2019-08-25
The experience was fantastic, from service to food, to beautiful rooms. Everything was perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

May Vacation

, Sainte Anne De Bellevue, QC
2016-05-19
LOVED IT!

Will be recommending to friends and Family [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, over all GREAT Resort
The weak points
Buffet was very good but restaurants were so so.
Certified

Iberostar Grand Paraiso Hotel

, Montreal, QC
2016-01-10
Our second time there; and hopefully not our last.
The hotel is stunning, the food is of high quality and this time it was even more spectacular because of all the Christmas decor. Christmas lights shining on the entire property was unbelievably beautiful and serene. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleansingness of the property; floors always shining and clean. Quality of food was top. We can get use to the butler service! Great to have.
The weak points
The internet is not easily accessible from everywhere. They should invest in stronger antennas. That is the weakest point for this hotel considering the cost is quite expensive.
Certified

Adults Only Opulence Defined

, Stonewall, MB
2014-04-05
"Grand" is aptly named as everything about it in size and service are over the top. It was our first time there and met many repeat customers. The staff is outstanding - always smiling, and very quick to serve and spoil you - their words! Evening live entertainment showcased local talent and was varied (Beatles, Boogie Nights, Magician, Pool party with Latin music and staff teaching dancing) as well as amazing costume changes and dancers! Daytime offered a tranquility pool and hot tubs with many romantic shelters or quiet chaises for reading or mending. The main pool had an ocean view where pool games, water aerobics, & volleyball were dispersed plus a swim up bar was found. The main pool was MY favourite place to spend the day. There was an indoor spa with all the regular amenities - the juice bar, spinning bikes, gym and amazing spa pool and 2 hot tubs were no charge but services did. The pool had features of hydrotherapy - push a button and a water massage would pound on your shoulders (depending on the pressure you like) or your feet, or full body. Besides this resort, being a guest of the Grand gives you access to the 4 other resorts and their amenities but they all have kids. We walked the beach and popped into their pools, lazy river, bars, restaurants and shows. There is also a mini mall, hospital, golf course (2 rounds included) and huge spa - all in walking distance in a gated neighbourhood. We were never out of things to do - NO excursions required. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service,entertainment, spa pool, food, huge & immaculate facility and grounds, access to entire Iberostar complex of 5 resorts, championship golf course
The weak points
Bicycles needed a little maintenance, personally - more lively music at main pool. BUT not everyone likes a party atmosphere.
Certified

Great hotel and friendly staff

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-06
The hotel is excellent and we had a great time. Riviera Maya is gorgeous and have a lot to do in and outside of the resort. The staff is friendly and the room exceeded our expectations.
However we had some issues along the stay:
We booked our trip 6 months before and, when we arrived, they didn't put us in the king size bedroom as requested when we purchased the package. Also, the couch and cushions in the balcony were very dusty, and clearly it wasn't cleaned for a while - couldn't enjoy much as I'm allergic to dust.
We had an early flight to catch on the way back and we requested breakfast to be delivered prior to our departure; however, it has never been delivered. Also, the bell man never showed up to help with our luggage - he called us on the night before to schedule the time.
Regarding the breakfast, I called the room service 30 minutes prior to my departure and the attendant said he would expedite our breakfast. Never happened!
We complaint to the one of the reception staff and he didn't seem care. Not even apologize for the inconvenience - it's a shame.
It was very disappointing at the end of our trip, as it is expected the minimum to be done from a hotel at this caliber. We paid a lot to go through a bit of unnecessary stress. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Comfort, friendly staff, butler, size of the room
The weak points
Lack of cleanliness in the balcony couch and cushions, receptionist didn't seem to care when we complaint about not having breakfast delivered as requested nor bell man help with luggage
Certified

Awesome!!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-11-04
Excellent choice for a travel destination. It lived up to its expectations and some more. The only comment I would have as a constructive feedback for the resort would be to improve menu and service time for room service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything
The weak points
Room Service
Certified

Amazing Vacation - 2nd Time!

, Toronto, ON
2013-10-16
Everything about this property is first class -- from the warm welcome at the front desk to the amazing staff throughout the resort. The food was excellent with lots of choices in several on-site restaurants. Whether relaxing by the pool in our private cabana or on the soft white beach, the smiling staff were quietly attentive and always seemed to appear with a cold drink or ice cream bar before you knew you wanted one! Rooms were lovely with marble floors throughout, a large bathroom with jetted tub and a private deck - and our own butler. This was our second time at the Grand and we look forward to returning next spring! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Beautiful hotel and gardens -Thai inspired indoor pool, spa and fully equipped gym -Amazing food - well prepared and great selection -Warm, personable staff -Beautiful beach - great for long walks!
The weak points
no towel animals ;) [thank goodness] in other words, no weak points
Certified

Very nice holiday

, Breslau, ON
2013-09-16
Great food, really nice staff that will do anything to make you happy. Nice resort, avoid rainy season though!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, nice resort, really nice people
The weak points
some touchups and repairs/roof leaks
Certified

Wonderful beach vacation

, Toronto, ON
2013-07-23
We were in the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for one week. Superb experience. Best hotel we have ever been to. Beach is beautiful but there are a few rocky areas that you have to navigate around a bit. No big deal tho. Food was excellent, huge buffet too. the buffet can get a bit boring after 2-3 days so make sure to book the fine restaurants right after check in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Stunning upper class hotel, very good food, good drinks, nice beach. Access to all hotels in resort. Upgraded to ocean view room at check-in which was worth it.
The weak points
All ATM's seemed to be empty which made it very inconvenient to buy something at the main pharmacy that does not accept credit cards.
Certified

, Langley, BC
2013-05-09
we upgraded to an oceanfront suite and had a wonderful view from the 3rd floor. The service and food were outstanding,lots of top shelf booze available. Immaculate grounds, Iberostar really looks after their properties. Beach and water were super. Staff go out of their way to look after everyone.The beach area, although awesome, needs some more lounges, there were never enough. Wifi needs an upgrade, it was only available in the lobby or near the concierge computers during the day. not an inexpensive resort but worth it if you feel like spending the money.in the top handful of A/I's in this area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and food/alcohol, beach location
The weak points
outdated internet access, towel games
Certified

Great vacation

, Ile Perrot, QC
2013-04-01
Great place for a relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outstanding personnel, great food, very relaxing place.
The weak points
None worth mentioning.
Certified

The Best

, Oak Bay, NB
2013-02-04
Without a doubt the best 5 star resort I've ever stayed at, have been to various destinations in the Carribean 14 times in the last 9 years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything
The weak points
None
Certified

Lovely resort

, London, ON
2013-01-16
Absolutely beautiful resort with excellent service and amenities. The room was lovely, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and the food was just great. I can't say enough about how great this place was! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful resort with wonderful amenities and staff
The weak points
can't think of any!
Certified

Great

, North York, ON
2012-08-27
Great, best resort yet.
You pay more but you get much more
Recomend for those that like the extras [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food
The weak points
Wifi is limited to certain common areas
Certified

Not quite as good as 2009 but still the best

, Surrey, BC
2012-07-19
Service, food,and amenities are top notch but prefer more selection in food. After a week, I'm ready for something different. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Butler service, ocean front suite, top shelf food and drink, excellent spa, visually stunning
The weak points
More restaurant food selection. This time there was a cost for tennis lessons
Certified

Great Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2012-04-24
The hotel was absolutely beautiful, We travel alot, and have been to many places in mexico and by far this has been the nicest! Private transport to the hotel from the airport(was soo nice), hotel room clean and well kept. Bathrooms lovely and LARGE! Extra perks in the room were nice (robes, slippers, wine all the time)...
Service was impecable! Waiters at the beach and pool were attentive. LOVED that beer was served in all original bottles.....and top shelf liquor provided. Beach was AMAZING!!! (we are beach people) with large beds to sunbath on rather than just chairs!
Buffet got old...not alot of selection, but what can u do. Only decent a la carte we went to was Japanese (very good). We ordered room service EVERY day for breakfast and it was great to relax in the am.....
Overall...this was the perfect vacation!! Our favorite and most relaxing so far. Every need u could want or ask for is taken care of. Pure luxury :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, unsurpassed service!! Love the fact that all beer/drinks are served in original bottles, and top shelve liquor
The weak points
Not alot of selections on food in the buffet....egg makers in the am are SOOO slow
Certified

Great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-11
An excellent hotel with service to match. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Food was excellent, accommodations were beautiful, facilities were well maintained; hated to leave [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beverages, services, overall character and charm.
The weak points
Tipping a bit of a pain with difficulty accessing US funds/money exchange at front desk.
Certified

Excellent hotel

, Gibsons, BC
2012-04-10
Excellent resort, beach beautiful, secluded,food,staff like Eduardo,Olivia,Veronica are really nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent resort, beach beautiful, secluded,food,
The weak points
Hotel needs a WIFI access in the Ocean front rooms.You can't use Ipads with cable.
Certified

Paradise found

, Fredericton, NB
2012-03-26
This is an amazing resort and worth paying extra for. The rooms on the beach are identical inside to all other rooms, so you are paying extra for the view only. Being in a oceanfront room gets you on the beach but far from the restaurants, so there is a trade-off. The food is excellent and all of the staff works hard and is very friendly.
I would highly recommend this resort and will go back. It is the best of several we have stayed at over the past 8 years by far. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms are immaculate, and the main building in the resort, bidg. 72 is beautiful. The staff are all friendly and as helpful as they can be with their sometimes limited English. The food was great and you can book restaurant reservations in advance.
The weak points
Too bad they did not have wirless Internet in the rooms. Those with IPADs most go to the lobby to connect. This is a big resort so expect to do some walking, but the beauty if it makes up for this.
Certified

Grand Paraiso

, Ile Perrot, QC
2012-03-25
The staff and cleanliness are excellent! The entertainment crew is awesome as well as all waiters and waitresses we met. Whether you tip or not makes no difference to the way they treat you. Quality of construction of the hotel is beautiful but cement is cracking alot especially on the balconys railings. But the resort is awesome and well worth the trip. Oceanfront is incredible, even better if you are on second or third floors. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional staff, food was above average, not a big party resort, quiet and luxurious.
The weak points
The beach is beautiful but many rocky areas, if you walk north the beaches are nicer but its a 30 minute walk.
Certified

Grand Experience

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-25
Nicest 5 star resort that I have been to in the Caribbean. Extreme attention to detail, excellent service. Very spacious property. I highly recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Excellent service. Everyone is very friendly and professional. - Beautiful hotel and grounds (much nicer than the photos). - Hotel room is clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathroom has spa-like feel. - Food is excellent for a resort.
The weak points
- Limited available seatings for the restaurants even though we booked the restaurants on our first day at the resort.
Certified

Iberostare Grand Mexico

, Orleans, ON
2012-02-22
Beautiful Hotel. Service was excellent. Wine and fruit basket in room. Bar fridge stocked daily. Butler or concierge always asking if we had everything we needed. Food was good with a wide variety at the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Property is well kept and service is excellent.
The weak points
Beautiful pool, but a shame it was too cool to take advantage of. WiFi only available at the front desk area.
Certified

Ain't it just grand

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-20
We stayed at ibero grand for 2 weeks feb4 to feb 18 2012 The resort is breathtakingly beautiful the pool huge no jocking for room at all. Pool beds ample out of the 14 days we got a covered cabanna pool side bed everyday and no we did not creep down in the dark we got it at 830 am when we went for breakfast each day.We have travel twice a year and been to this area of mexico 8 times but we found at this resort the staff where AMAZING they stood out above all other all inclusives we been too. We where in a oceanfront room week one and oceanfront corner jacuzzi suite week two both the tops. Our butlers in both these buildings where so nice atentive and so genuinally helpful. The food was really good tons of variety, can't complain about anything in any of the restaurants. Since we where there for two weeks we tried some of the restaurants in the adjoining hotels that are included and really once you have seen them and ate at them you realize just to stay at your own hotel. The beach we are big walkers and we walked an hour in either direction, we felt safe although of course some beach ares are not that clean once you pass your resort. PS. while doing this I fell on some rocks in the ocean and broke my arm so I had a cast the whole second week. My fault, but my experience was great when i got back our buttler got me an ice pack and after several jours I choose to see the hotel onsight DR. who told me he was sure it was broken he did this with no charge he bandaged me up made the appropriate calls and paper work called me a cab and we where on are way to Cancun hospital where the cab driver stayed with us then took us to pharmacy and back to hotel. What a event but the hotel took care of that well beyond what we thought they would. please go to this hotel you will not be dissappointed we loved it all even the last week with the full cast on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything
The weak points
internet access
Certified

Outstanding!

, Thornhill, ON
2012-01-15
My wife and I, mid 50's, do travel extensively throughout the world. This was a beach holiday, booked and researched through the internet. It more than met our expectations for food, service, location, cleanliness. Entertainment was as good as cruise ships if not better. Food much better than ships and choice of standard wines and spirits was very large and brand names. Great beach, numerous activities throughout day. Love to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, cleanliness, grounds, beach, activities
The weak points
Wireless Internet only in lobby
Certified

Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

, Surrey, BC
2012-01-13
This hotel was given an award for the best all-inclusive hotel in the world and deserves it. Fantastic in every way. Five Butterflies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food. Always changing food at the buffet. We were there for two weeks and only ate two meals in restaurants. All the rest were in the buffets and because the food was everchanging we never grew tired of it.
The weak points
Hotel was awesome. All activities involving Sun Wing were horrible.
Certified

Best all inclusive I've been too.

, Toronto, ON
2011-12-25
The hotel was amazing. Had no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing resort. The staff were excellent. Couldn't have asked them for more.
The weak points
Wireless internet everywhere would be ideal...instead of just in the lobby and by the conceige desk.
Certified

AS EXPECTED...

, Richmond Hill, ON
2011-11-27
Excellent as usual, no disappointments whatsoever... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service
The weak points
None
Certified

LOVE IT

, Toronto, ON
2011-09-03
For sure, its a 5 STARS HOTEL. The beach front is not the Best, but everything else will make up for it. We LOVE IT. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
5 Stars in every thing
The weak points
No weak point
Certified

A lovely 2 Weeks

, Calgary, AB
2011-04-26
A fabulous resort that was a pleasure to be at for 14 days. Many Many good points and a few weaknesses but all in all Fantastic. Great staff, great food, exceptionally clean. A few faults but not really worth mentioning. This is a couples resort though, travelled alone but met lots of great people. I will go back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing, they couldn't be any better. Luis, Henri, Jessica, Mar, Eduardo the list goes on and on. Star Friends were a blast both for sports and the shows. Would definitely recommend this resort.
The weak points
No Wifi in a resort like this was ridiculous, reservations for the ala cartes were a bit of a pain not sure if they were short of staff. Wine list could definitely be better, very drinkable but for another $5 a bottle the quality would go up ten fold
Certified

AMAZING ( But some things you should know)

, Oakville, ON
2011-04-14
First off... this place is beautiful and the food is AMAZING!!! I would absolutely recommend this place to everyone I know.
However, there are a few things you need to know before going to this hotel.
#1: The concierge/Butler service is absolutely useless, so don't expect much from them. They are pretty much a middle man for all your requests and will "pass the buck" most of the time.
#2: You can make reservations at the A la Carte restaurants on the website... you MUST do this prior to your trip or do not expect to get in (But, we never had a reservation. We just told them the concierge were supposed to book it but didn't. We got in every time).
#3: IMPORTANT: The water in the buffets is tap water!! All the water going into the hotel is filtered, but it is not filtered as much as bottled water. My Husband got sick. The Restaurants will give you bottled water, but the buffets serve you water from a silver jug. DON'T drink it!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
AMAZING food and drinks. The staff is extremely friendly and NEVER expects a tip (even though we tipped occasionally). The entire resort is a well oiled machine.
The weak points
Concierge/butler service is useless. The bathrooms are clean but need to be redone.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021