Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya

Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya
3.963.963.963.963.96
3.96 based on 572 reviews
#28 of 131 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (151)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not a 4.5 star

, Edmonton, AB
2022-12-05
The food was a big disappointment almost everything was undercooked at the buffet and at the La carte the food was average . The other thing that was bothersome was the attitude of the people working there they seemed angry and totally not happy and did I not want to help you or be bothered . The buffet had cockroaches and when we had breakfast every morning there was still good on the floor under the chairs from the the night before and be careful watch out for the golf carts if your not careful you will get run over big big big disappointment but hey keep drowning all the negative reviews on travel sites it appears to be working [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach and pools
The weak points
FOOD is absolutely terrible and the attitude of the 80% of staff is brutal
Certified

Our stay

, Surrey, BC
2022-07-20
This hotel was massive, & there was something for everyone at this resort. From the wonderful and friendly staff, to the numerous options available for feasting, not to mention the coffee shop & ice cream bar. The wildlife & the pools were amazing. I have been to Mexico 8 times and I would say this resort is definitely my top 3. From drinking, eating, relaxing and clubbing all available at the resort, we always had something to do & never had to leave. Our concierge Julia & Alejandro were great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff, massive resort definitely 5 stars, will go back for sure
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Definitely clean & we felt safe.
Certified

Perfect Vacation!

, Stoney Creek, ON
2022-06-15
My wife and I absolutely enjoyed everything.
The service is the best.
The food is excellent.
The room is very clean and spacious.
The Spa experience is out of this world. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Not as good as we had hoped

, Calgary, AB
2022-04-15
We were excited to go to this resort and had booked 2 rooms for our family, requesting 2 rooms on an upper floor (to avoid noise) but could not get that upon arrival. The reviews were rated ‘good' but we soon found out that our ground floor room was on the way to & from the disco so we were woken every night around 2 am! Also we discovered that unless you were at the restaurant by opening, several food items were gone and had to wait a long time for them to be refilled (bacon, milk etc). Also on several occasions the rooms were not cleaned up to 8 hours after leaving and we had to wait to have them cleaned, or make the beds yourselves! Complaints were rarely addressed. Things like this make it tough to recommend this hotel but it wasn't all bad but nowhere near what we had hoped for, given what we'd paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The weather and the pools.
The weak points
As mentioned. The noise, the response to requests, the quality and quantity of food if arriving late for the buffets.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The staff did their best to ensure that the Covid measures were in place although not enforced in any way.
Certified

Absolutely exceptional experience - going back

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-03-31
This is an exceptional property. We will be returning. We have had the good fortune of staying at several 4.5 - 5 star all-in resorts over the years. Our stays in Mexico, Dominican Republic, and Cuba have all been okay, with some being better than others. This resort rates as one of the best. It's all of a 4.5 - 5 star. The size of the property could hold 2-18 hole golf courses. My wife and I love to walk. We were able to do this easily without ever leaving the property. What seems like many km of well-maintained paths make for easy walking (or jogging) through a lush jungle-like environment. Even at 946 rooms, at no point did we feel crowded on this property. The beach is nice but not a "walkable" one. Much of the shoreline is rocky, however, that makes for some excellent snorkeling right on site. Even with that, there are still some very good spots for swimming. Seaweed can be an issue on windy (red flag) days but staff are on it - constantly cleaning up. Overall, the property is very well kept and operated exceptionally. The staff go out of their way to make your experience a good one. Waitstaff, beach staff, groundskeepers, housekeepers - all very friendly and accomodating. A 20 - 50 peso tip on occasion is (not required but) very appreciated. With 28 bars and restaurants on-site, we didn't stand in line anywhere to get a drink or a plate of food during our stay. As Canadians, I think we have a true appreciation for how hard these folks work to keep this a beautiful location. I don't think anyone could find much to complain about here. We certainly didn't. Enjoy a stay at the Grand Sirenis Riveria Maya. You won't be dissappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Resort size - massive - never crowded Exceptional Staff - kind, friendly, hard-working Room size & Cleanliness - large & very well kept Quality of service - excellent
The weak points
Distance from Cancun airport - 90 minutes (but worth the trip) Beaches can be weedy depending upon wind and time of year (staff are constantly cleaning up) Distance to shopping and nightlife can be far (if you're into that)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Entire property was always being cleaned. No issues here whatsoever.

Wonderful, large resort property

, Coquitlam, BC
2022-03-30
As a travel agent I pay specific attention to details to see how my clients will be treated at a resort. Grand Sirenis RM has been a great rate for our clients lately, I decided to come down and check it out first hand.
A full 10 days over spring break (we have a 17 year old) is typically very busy and although they were at almost FULL capacity in the resort, it never felt overly crowded. With 2 pools full of action and another pool with a more serene quiet vibe, there was no shortage of fun. I must give a shout out to the entire entertainment team, those kids work hard all day keeping guests entertained. We especially want to thank Alejandro, Fernando and Alam for always being full of smiles and energy!!
The Dolphin Discovery on site is wonderful for those who want to swim with the dolphins or watch the complimentary daily performance by these incredibly social and loveable creatures.
Chille took us on a morning bike tour (the free bikes are old, no gears and back pedal brakes but they worked) throughout the property which he was full of knowledge and poked fun with us throughout the entire hour. My husband and I also took advantage of a couple games of early morning tennis (which I think I actually like now after my first time) we spent time doing archery and there was some playful gun fun to be had.
If you are a serious beach lover this may not be enough for you, we would have liked to be able to walk for miles but they are far down the riviera maya (which is great for no peddlars) but the walk was not very long. I quite enjoyed the beauty of the bay, lots of frolicking in the water, they worked hard daily on the seaweed but it still exists. Caught a beautiful sunrise. As is with every resort, you need to get up early to put towels on chairs at the beach or the pool or you won't have any shade. You need to be out there before 7:30 or you are out of luck. Frustrating but there is no way around it, it is how people roll. The plus side is that is when you find a quiet moment to be thankful or meditate or nap in an ocean breeze.
I am a food lover, the buffets were fine, always love my avacado toast with 2 eggs freshly made in the am.
The specialty restaurants, with the exception of the steak house (I am picky, it was not good, we ordered NYsteak, rib eye and short rib, they were tough and more fat/marbling that you couldn't chew through) although I heard others in earshot here and there who raved about it, maybe we just had a bad batch that evening the others were great. The Brazilian is an experience, especially if you are a meat lover, the Italian was very cheesy rich but oh so tasty and the service was fabulous, of course my families favourite is the Tepanyaki, always full of laughter with others at the table, our chef and the food was good.
Our phone in the room never worked, even though I asked about it a couple of times as we needed to correspond with a local tour we had booked. Front desk got his supervisor for me to use his personal phone so that was a nice touch.
The pull out couch turns into a king size bed which looks great but I would suggest extra padding as it was hard as a rock which my 17 year old wasn't super happy about. I also requested my 2 double beds to be made into one King size which didn't happen, my husband didn't mind though *starfish sleeper*. We all made it through 10 days (I personally slept like a rock!)
The SKYBAR was a favourite, the band would play, people would dance and it is all open to the sky. We hit the disco once just to say I had seen it, it opens at 11:30, a decent walk from the main area, if you time it right you can catch a cart ride to/from. Full of young and fun adults dancing the night away and the odd few old folks like us!
Large property, would not recommend if you have issues walking, we liked getting our steps in daily.
I will continue to sell this property to my clients as the overall experience was really great. Thank you Grand Sirenis! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Large resort, pools were great fun, staff were fabulous, the beach was a great spot to watch the sunrise or read a book or play in the bay. Chocolate Martinis YUM!
The weak points
No long strolls on the beach.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
all staff wore a mask, the masks at the buffet were kind of hokey(bring your own), hand sanitizer provided, they give you a glove when in the buffet to serve yourself.
Certified

Beautiful location for a great family vacation

, Aldergrove, BC
2022-03-29
Great location, beautiful grounds, clean, most staff are friendly. The only staff I wasn't impressed with was the check in/out staff and the concierge's. The entertainment staff was fantastic! The cleaners do a great job.
Pools and swim up bars are great and the beach is beautiful. My favourite place to eat is lunch at the taco bar on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Entertainment staff, rooms and grounds staff, sky bar,pools
The weak points
Sun beds and loungers at the pools and beach. Not enough of them.
Certified

Such an awesome place for your vacation get away.

, Calgary, AB
2022-02-12
We loved this resort. The pools, beaches and lazy river were amazing. The room we had was the JR Suite. It was very spacious and comfortable. The rain drop shower was an added bonus. The shower and jacuzzi tub was big enough for 2. The staff was top notch and very friendly. Always available to meet your needs. We loved the food. My GF is a Celiac, and there was always food for her to eat. The foods were all clearly marked with what allergens it contained. We had 4 al a carte restaurants. Brazil, Mediterranean, Mexican, and Texan Steakhouse. The first 3 were very delicious but we were not impressed by the steakhouse. We had a ribeye and TBone steak. Both were thin cuts and very tough, plus could have use a real steak knife. Definitely not like the steak back home. The Brazilian was one of our favorites. You definitely wont go hungry there. Other than that Steakhouse, the food was very good in both the buffet and restaurants. Breakfast and lunch buffets were good. I definetly miss the fresh made omelets. They all had great selections and very fresh. The snack bar on the beach had excellent Tacos and burgers. Bars had great drink selections and service was top notch. We found they had enough beach and pool side lounge chairs and anytime of the day. So no need to be out there early. Every day we were at the pool or beach by 11am and always found a spot. This may be because of covid as resort wasnt too crowded. The PCR test was an easy process and we got our results back in about 22 hours. They had promised 48 hours. All in all this is a top notch resort and has all the amenities you will need. We would definitely come back to this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, atmosphere, pools and lazy river
The weak points
Food at the steakhouse, could have used some dresser drawers in the rooms to unpack
Certified

Stayed Jan 14-28, 2022

, Medicine Hat, AB
2022-01-30
From the airport, it took 2.5 hours to get to the resort. There was a delay waiting for a couple of passengers of more than 45 min. That was a long day. The resort has a lot to do. We really enjoyed the coffee place and the candles lit in the evening with music. The night shows were just ok but we really liked Michael Jackson. We had really friendly concierge staff.
We did have an incident of my husband fainting twice after a full day in the sun. We called for the doctor to make sure his vitals were ok. My son, in the end, had to ask her to do the vitals after, as she was finished the assessment.. More concerning was to collect the money from us, which was crazy expensive for what we got.
The food at the buffet was pretty good. We would like to see more sushi. We tried the Japanese twice and it was good. Tried the Italian and Steakhouse and they were just ok.
Overall, it was a great stay. Because it was so far from the airport, not sure when we will come again. If the price is right, we will be back for a third time.
Thank you very much.
. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The grounds are beautiful along with the wildlife. The staff are amazing and always there to serve you. We enjoyed our stay. My husband didn't like the coffee beans at the coffee house as it had a bad after taste.
The weak points
The housekeeping was not consistent. Two times, we didn't receive the appropriate towels. We left tips. One day out of two weeks, we had a great cleaning with towel art.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Did not sanitize any of tables in the lounges after use. PCR test on site was great! Staff made sure masks were being worn.
Certified

Great resort, but unresponsive management

, Ottawa, ON
2021-12-28
It was our fourth time here, so, obviously, we really like this resort. While the COVID context had an obvious impact on staffing and supply, they managed to provide a service that was not too far from what we were used to. The resort's natural features are the same great ones. There are some good snorkel places within the resort (water shoes suggested for flexibility) and the pathways through their ecological area offer the opportunity to observe many plans and reasonably wild animals.

Be careful, however, when walking along these path, as they can cause serious accidents. They are made of slabs of concrete and edged with rough stones. Over the years, the roots of some of the adjacent trees have raised a few of the slabs (maybe 5 or six of them) with up to three inches one one side. In low light it is very easy to miss these trip points and face a very hard fall. One of our group had a hand broken and a significant forehead cut, and in our two weeks there we have seen a few other similar accidents (at least another broken hand).

We submitted an accident report, so have a few of the other unlucky victims, but nothing was done to make those paths safer. We checked again with the management and we were told that a construction company was contacted to repair those paths. And I hope that will be done in some future. Until then, people will keep falling. I asked them why didn't they put some markers or garbage containers (the resort is full of them) on the most raised slabs (again, there are just a few) and they said "thanks, what a great idea" ... but didn't do anything. I placed myself one garbage container on the most raised slab (that has the blood of at least two people still on it), but their inability to take immediate measures to make the resort safer was a great disappointment to us.

FYI, the services offered by the "Hospiten" hospital in Playa Del Carmen where great. Dealing with the broken arm and the forehead cut (both in the resort and at the hospital) costed us some 2200 USD. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Natural features (snorkeling, ecological areas), facilities, services. Great resort overall.
The weak points
The management wasn't able to address promptly some obvious accident hazards. Also, not for people with limited mobility.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
I believe they did all they could ... it's the non-compliant tourists that may cause problems.
Certified

Excellent Christmas Time COVID trip

, Huntsville, ON
2021-12-25
Excellent experience, great staff that were very accommodating and extremely helpful. Beautiful location within short distance for many tours and excursions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Accommodating and kind staff.
The weak points
Buffet could be a bit repetitive but had a good selection and being able to try out the a la carte restaurants and coffee shops helped to balance.
Certified

Not a 5 stars resort for sure

, Calgary, AB
2021-11-16
Hotel is severely understaffed.
Arrival: almost no information was given during check in. Just a map of the hotel. Did not offer bell boy service. Hotel is huge so we had no idea where to go.
Room: first 2 night had to sleep on a double bed which is not big enough for 2 people. Room smelled of damp. Thermostat was not working and it was very cold inside. Shower was plugged. Took them 4 hours and us going to reception 2 times to fix the plug and sewage on the floor. No bathrobe and slippers even though it was advertised. Next room was better with king bed but smelled like sewage all the time. Rooms look much better on the pictures then in reality.
Restaurants: buffet was ok, Italian restaurant was bad food and service wise, Steak house was nice, Tomas was an amazing waiter. First several days AC were on everywhere, very cold and uncomfortable temperature set up.
Swimming pools are ok, just chilly water. Lazy river fun for kids.
Beach did not have enough lounge chairs, had to be there at 7am to reserve some. Great place for snorkeling off shore.
Grounds: huge resort, nice areas of preserved nature, cool animal around
PRC test: was not mentioned on the website that they take US cash only. Result came next evening.
Check out: took long time to deliver suitcases to lobby, bus had to wait for us for at least 15 min. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Fun vacation

, Regina, SK
2020-03-03
The hotel was very nice and the rooms And grounds where clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the lazy river and the beach party was a ton of fun. The pools were very nice.
The weak points
They kept trying to get us to go to the free breakfast even though we said no. The booze was not very good.
Certified

Nice Rooms Nice Resort

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
Had a wonderful time at the resort. The buffet was always good with lots of choices. The staff of the resort are very friendly and excellent in their service. Good shows every night! You can find anything you need. Theme restaurants a good choice but would not recommend the French Restaurant as you pay extra, the food was over cooked and not a good standard. However the staff were fantastic. Lots of pools and the beach was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was excellent in all areas. Rooms clean and stocked with lots of bottled water. Shows were great. Lots of pools to go to. Great buffet and beverages to drink.
The weak points
Lots of walking. Resort is huge so walking is a problem if you have any issues with mobility. You have to rent a mobility unit outside of the resort. The French Restaurant is not worth the extra money. The food was over cooked.
Certified

Could use an update

, Camrose, AB
2020-02-22
On the most part our experience was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The noise from wild cats woke us every night, very annoying! The prices of merchandise sold on the resort are quite expensive!
Certified

Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa

, Chilliwack, BC
2020-02-21
This was our first time at a all inclusive resort and we were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the food options and spacious property with the natural environment. We especially enjoyed the lazy river. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly,clean, good food, nice size rooms, never felt crowded
The weak points
one negative experience with waiter at steakhouse, cold food arrived one and a half hours after ordering. need more clothes storage in rooms
Certified

Great holiday

, Camrose, AB
2020-02-20
Nicely maintained, very clean rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Stay was excellent

, Spruce Grove, AB
2020-02-16
We enjoyed our stay very much. Super friendly staff, lots of things to do including the pool, beach, lazy river and night time theater entertainment. Everyday at the pool there was an activity. Some more based for adults like beer drinking competitions.(super fun). Lots of greenery and animals living right on the resort which was nice to see everyday. Overall enjoyed this resort very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Concierge service was top notch, very friendly and polite, staff were very efficient in everything they did. The room was very nice and big. Resort had everything you wanted including a dolphin exhibit.
The weak points
LONG walk to the room. The resort is so big, so it takes a long time to get anywhere, especially to eat. Small complaint though
Certified

Our Stay

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-23
The food did not change much and seemed to be a lot of the same day after day. Certain popular dishes would run out fast and take a long time to be refilled. The service was lacking and not friendly unless you put a gratuity down upon sitting, then service was good. An example of bad service is one day we had an excursion in the early AM. The breakfast did not start prior to us having to leave. Upon walking past the restaurant I saw the doors wide open and lots of staff setting up the buffet that was to open in about a half hour. I walked in and nobody said a word upon walking in. I went a grabbed two portion cereal boxes from the buffet and proceeded to walk away. At this time a guy said, heh, what are you doing we are not open yet. I said we have an excursion and just taking a couple cereal. He said put that back, you cant take that as we are not open. I argued and said it is just a couple dry cereal and is this not all inclusive. He forced me to place the boxes down and then literally escorted me out and upon this he began yelling in Spanish at another employee, I assume about leaving the door open. The nightly shows were very short and lame compared to other resorts we have stayed at. (20 minutes about) The service on the beach was poor. Would often take your order and then come back with a tray of drinks and not come to us and would chase her down and ask for ours, she would say ok, I will get for you. (Forgetful or not organized) Room, toilet would not flush well and had to be played with to flush every time. Upon arrival front desk agent said the shuttle comes around every 3-5 minutes to get you around the large resort. Not even close. We usually walked around as waited 20 minutes or more and none came. Upon mentioning this to the front desk our frustration with the shuttle service, we were told by this agent that it should come every 15-20 minutes. On two occasions we found shuttles parked at the front and asked for a ride to our room, we were told no, this is for check ins only. We responded, but you have no check ins here at all. They would not give us a ride. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cant think of any
The weak points
Service Food Entertainment
Certified

Fantastic Experience

, Regina, SK
2020-01-22
Our check in was efficiently handled by the front desk and we proceeded with the bell staff on a cart to our room. It was clean, spacious but furnishings could use some updating. We had a king bed, Jacuzzi tub, shower, toilet (with a phone in that room!) and single sink.
The buffet was outstanding! They offered all manor of meats, fish, vegetarian and gluten free options. The desserts were lovely to look at and light not heavy. The serving staff was very attentive and whisked our used dishes away almost immediately. We especially appreciated Alberto at the breakfast sitting.
The three a la carte Restaurants we visited were OK but not outstanding.
We enjoyed the professionalism of the entertainment. The singers, dancers, and musicians were highly skilled.
The beaches and pools were maintained to a high level, despite the windy conditions. We enjoyed the lazy river and having a quiet pool away from the noise of the swim-up bar/activities pool.
There were no line-ups for any food or activities because the hotel was not at capacity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, location of room, lazy river, roomy beach. Concierge staff was very helpful and cheerful.
The weak points
Noisy lobby, smoking just outside the lobby and theatre. Not the best location for that. Concierge was too aggressive trying to sell the "Ultimate Club" breakfast information session.
Certified

Grand Sirenis remains an excellent choice in 2020

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-11
The resort grounds, bars and restaurants, rooms (large, with jetted tubs and personal safe) and service (incl. free resort-wide WiFi) are excellent. The disco is far away in an isolated location and deserted. There is a Dolphin Discovery facility on the property which is new but has a too small tank for the 4 animals kept there permanently. It looks rather like a containment pool and does not appear to be a comfortable emulator of a natural habitat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Compared to 2012 the grounds have more mature vegetation and improved signs marking numerous interpretive trails (to the south, toward the disco). The restaurants provide excellent food and efficient service. Nice live music is offered after the shows.
The weak points
The cove where the rocky beach is has less alive corals and smaller variety of fish species vs 2012. The rooms have heavy smell of mold and fungi unless the air conditioning and a fan are constantly working.
Certified

Grand Sirenis Rivera maya

, Lake Errock, BC
2020-01-09
The hotel was beautiful. The staff not very knowledgeable about the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The buffet was horrible. Worst food I've had in any of the other all inclusives I've stayed in.
Certified

Grand sirenis

, Devon, AB
2020-01-02
Had a great time. Food was amazing and the people were great. Definitely will be returning [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Atmosphere, people and location
Certified

Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya, Mexico

, Komoka, ON
2019-12-09
We had an awesome time. Friendly and helpful staff, great accommodations with lots to do or NOT....several options were always available. The BD Travel was also helpful with our excursions.
The only recommendation would be to have more beach lounges. The pools all had several, there were no issues there, but the beach not so much. We eventually found lounges, so this was not a huge issue, just a recommendation. We will definitely recommend Grand Sirenis to our friends and family and will definitely look for this hotel chain for future travel. GREAT VACATION !!! thank you !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Really nice time

, Vancouver, BC
2019-12-06
The Grand Sirenes was a nice resort. Clean , friendly staff, decent food. It's carved from the jungle which means lots of interesting wild life. There were loud & quiet swimming pools. I really enjoyed my time there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Natural setting
The weak points
Food sitting in water
Certified

Gorgeous large vacation destination.

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-02
I loved this resort overall. I chose this one because it is a massive resort with so many choices of pools and food choices. I was not disappointed in either one. It was my first 10 day stay. If this resort had shuttles that ran in a regular pattern, instead of sporadically all over the place, it would be perfect. There is too much catering to the “bought in” clients. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort has many different great food choices and beach or pool choices.
The weak points
This resort is massive so for people with physical disabilities it is too large to walk where you want to go. The shuttle service is sporadic and we had to have the concierge always call for one but wound up walking back.
Certified

5 STARS FROM ME

, Brampton, ON
2019-11-28
I've been to this resort more than a few times for a reason it provides clarity relaxation and friendly faces the staff are incredible the hospitality is unbeatable I really can't find any fault with the place I will be returning May 19th as it is the only place that I come back a changed person from it's a positive upbeat place and I choose to spend my money in that location Grand sirenis [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They care about the animals and that's a very STRONG POINT they have respect for all guests and cater to your every need the staff has an upbeat positive attitude every day wearing smiles on their faces at all times even if they had troubles
The weak points
Way too many children an adult only section would make this better....kids taking over the lazy river with out a tube is annoying kids coloring at your feet in he buffets is extremely hard to deal with I'd like to be in an adult only section ....
Certified

Great location, Great service

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-24
This resort covers a lot of property, they have shuttles if needed.
This staff couldn't do enough for you, always friendly and greeting us with a smile!
All rooms are large and well setup, room Maid service was excellent.
Nice pools, always found a chair, were good bar service at the pools.
Beach was decent, not massive but clean.
The A la Cartes we visited were the steak house and Brazilian, both were good, on a 7 day stay you get 3, we couldn't book the 3rd because they were all full.
The Buffets were OK, our only negative was the food was only warm all the time, not hot.
We booked the tour to Tulum Mayan Ruins, only 40 minutes from the resort and the only Mayun ruin on the Ocean, not as big as some but very interesting
Overall good value and a pleasant vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, Great service
The weak points
Buffet food was OK
Certified

June/July Stay at Grand Sirenis

, Ottawa, ON
2019-07-04
Transfer to hotel went smoothly, as did check in. Rooms weren't ready yet, so off to buffet for a late lunch. We were in Chac, which was very close to both the pool and the sports area.

Pool areas were nice, and the bar staff was reasonably quick, both at the swim up bars and the dry bars.

If this is a return visit, and you get a gold wristband, remember to ask the towel guy for the BIG gold and blue towels. Much nicer. Only found that out on the 4th day.

The map/brochure for the resort has a number of walking and biking tours mentioned. To get those, see the Sports people (Especially Miguel - he is awesome), and sign up for the bike tour the day before. The bike tour is fairly leisurely paced, and includes the walking tours. Miguel explained what we were seeing, and gave plenty of time to take pictures as we went. The turtle hatchery is great to see working, especially with the amount of seaweed on the beaches impeding the turtle breeding cycle.

Don't miss out on archery if you're 12 and up. Great amounts of fun.

This biggest downfall of the trip was the beach. The seaweed was pretty bad, but not due to their efforts to clean it up, which went on non-stop while we were there. Currents shifted for a few days, and the waters were pretty good then, but much of the time it was brown soup. With one exception - the small sheltered snorkeling area to the left of the small ruin - while there was some seaweed in there, it was clear enough that we swam in there to see the fish every day. There is a large school of big fish (maybe a foot long), that, along with a bunch of yellow and black striped fish, will circle you constantly when you're in there.

The evening shows were better than I'd expected. If you get there early to get a good seat, you'll be watching the kids dance around on stage in an attempt to get balloons, candy or t-shirts. Don't miss Lion King. Was quite surprised to see a bunch of kids from the kids club in costume during it. Very cute.

We went off resort for a tour to Chichen-Itza and a couple cenotes. That was a long day, but well worth it.

Wrapping things up, checkout went smoothly. If you've got outstanding amounts owing, they suggest you clear your account the evening before. We left out luggage in the room, did the final checkout and grabbed breakfast - by time we were done, our bags were at the front, and it was just a short wait for the shuttle to the airport.

This is our second trip to Mexico, and our second stay at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. Overall, it met our expectations and then some. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Highlight of stay had to be Miguel at the sports area. Very patient, great advice, and has hooked my kids (and me) on archery.
The weak points
Buffet got repetitive despite the theme nights. Kids "mini Disco" before the main evening shows was a reason to show up as close to 9 as possible, despite risk of not getting a block of seats.
Certified

One helluva trip

, Edmonton, AB
2019-05-17
Overall the resort was really good. The food was good too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment was THUMBS UP
The weak points
Need to exoand the sitting arrangment at sky bar
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022