Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya

Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya
3.963.963.963.963.96
3.96 based on 555 reviews
#29 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (101)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Fun vacation

, Regina, SK
2020-03-03
The hotel was very nice and the rooms And grounds where clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the lazy river and the beach party was a ton of fun. The pools were very nice.
The weak points
They kept trying to get us to go to the free breakfast even though we said no. The booze was not very good.
Certified

Nice Rooms Nice Resort

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
Had a wonderful time at the resort. The buffet was always good with lots of choices. The staff of the resort are very friendly and excellent in their service. Good shows every night! You can find anything you need. Theme restaurants a good choice but would not recommend the French Restaurant as you pay extra, the food was over cooked and not a good standard. However the staff were fantastic. Lots of pools and the beach was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was excellent in all areas. Rooms clean and stocked with lots of bottled water. Shows were great. Lots of pools to go to. Great buffet and beverages to drink.
The weak points
Lots of walking. Resort is huge so walking is a problem if you have any issues with mobility. You have to rent a mobility unit outside of the resort. The French Restaurant is not worth the extra money. The food was over cooked.
Certified

Could use an update

, Camrose, AB
2020-02-22
On the most part our experience was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The noise from wild cats woke us every night, very annoying! The prices of merchandise sold on the resort are quite expensive!
Certified

Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa

, Chilliwack, BC
2020-02-21
This was our first time at a all inclusive resort and we were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the food options and spacious property with the natural environment. We especially enjoyed the lazy river. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly,clean, good food, nice size rooms, never felt crowded
The weak points
one negative experience with waiter at steakhouse, cold food arrived one and a half hours after ordering. need more clothes storage in rooms
Certified

Great holiday

, Camrose, AB
2020-02-20
Nicely maintained, very clean rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Stay was excellent

, Spruce Grove, AB
2020-02-16
We enjoyed our stay very much. Super friendly staff, lots of things to do including the pool, beach, lazy river and night time theater entertainment. Everyday at the pool there was an activity. Some more based for adults like beer drinking competitions.(super fun). Lots of greenery and animals living right on the resort which was nice to see everyday. Overall enjoyed this resort very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Concierge service was top notch, very friendly and polite, staff were very efficient in everything they did. The room was very nice and big. Resort had everything you wanted including a dolphin exhibit.
The weak points
LONG walk to the room. The resort is so big, so it takes a long time to get anywhere, especially to eat. Small complaint though
Certified

Our Stay

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-23
The food did not change much and seemed to be a lot of the same day after day. Certain popular dishes would run out fast and take a long time to be refilled. The service was lacking and not friendly unless you put a gratuity down upon sitting, then service was good. An example of bad service is one day we had an excursion in the early AM. The breakfast did not start prior to us having to leave. Upon walking past the restaurant I saw the doors wide open and lots of staff setting up the buffet that was to open in about a half hour. I walked in and nobody said a word upon walking in. I went a grabbed two portion cereal boxes from the buffet and proceeded to walk away. At this time a guy said, heh, what are you doing we are not open yet. I said we have an excursion and just taking a couple cereal. He said put that back, you cant take that as we are not open. I argued and said it is just a couple dry cereal and is this not all inclusive. He forced me to place the boxes down and then literally escorted me out and upon this he began yelling in Spanish at another employee, I assume about leaving the door open. The nightly shows were very short and lame compared to other resorts we have stayed at. (20 minutes about) The service on the beach was poor. Would often take your order and then come back with a tray of drinks and not come to us and would chase her down and ask for ours, she would say ok, I will get for you. (Forgetful or not organized) Room, toilet would not flush well and had to be played with to flush every time. Upon arrival front desk agent said the shuttle comes around every 3-5 minutes to get you around the large resort. Not even close. We usually walked around as waited 20 minutes or more and none came. Upon mentioning this to the front desk our frustration with the shuttle service, we were told by this agent that it should come every 15-20 minutes. On two occasions we found shuttles parked at the front and asked for a ride to our room, we were told no, this is for check ins only. We responded, but you have no check ins here at all. They would not give us a ride. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cant think of any
The weak points
Service Food Entertainment
Certified

Fantastic Experience

, Regina, SK
2020-01-22
Our check in was efficiently handled by the front desk and we proceeded with the bell staff on a cart to our room. It was clean, spacious but furnishings could use some updating. We had a king bed, Jacuzzi tub, shower, toilet (with a phone in that room!) and single sink.
The buffet was outstanding! They offered all manor of meats, fish, vegetarian and gluten free options. The desserts were lovely to look at and light not heavy. The serving staff was very attentive and whisked our used dishes away almost immediately. We especially appreciated Alberto at the breakfast sitting.
The three a la carte Restaurants we visited were OK but not outstanding.
We enjoyed the professionalism of the entertainment. The singers, dancers, and musicians were highly skilled.
The beaches and pools were maintained to a high level, despite the windy conditions. We enjoyed the lazy river and having a quiet pool away from the noise of the swim-up bar/activities pool.
There were no line-ups for any food or activities because the hotel was not at capacity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, location of room, lazy river, roomy beach. Concierge staff was very helpful and cheerful.
The weak points
Noisy lobby, smoking just outside the lobby and theatre. Not the best location for that. Concierge was too aggressive trying to sell the "Ultimate Club" breakfast information session.
Certified

Grand Sirenis remains an excellent choice in 2020

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-11
The resort grounds, bars and restaurants, rooms (large, with jetted tubs and personal safe) and service (incl. free resort-wide WiFi) are excellent. The disco is far away in an isolated location and deserted. There is a Dolphin Discovery facility on the property which is new but has a too small tank for the 4 animals kept there permanently. It looks rather like a containment pool and does not appear to be a comfortable emulator of a natural habitat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Compared to 2012 the grounds have more mature vegetation and improved signs marking numerous interpretive trails (to the south, toward the disco). The restaurants provide excellent food and efficient service. Nice live music is offered after the shows.
The weak points
The cove where the rocky beach is has less alive corals and smaller variety of fish species vs 2012. The rooms have heavy smell of mold and fungi unless the air conditioning and a fan are constantly working.
Certified

Grand Sirenis Rivera maya

, Lake Errock, BC
2020-01-09
The hotel was beautiful. The staff not very knowledgeable about the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The buffet was horrible. Worst food I've had in any of the other all inclusives I've stayed in.
Certified

Grand sirenis

, Devon, AB
2020-01-02
Had a great time. Food was amazing and the people were great. Definitely will be returning [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Atmosphere, people and location
Certified

Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya, Mexico

, Komoka, ON
2019-12-09
We had an awesome time. Friendly and helpful staff, great accommodations with lots to do or NOT....several options were always available. The BD Travel was also helpful with our excursions.
The only recommendation would be to have more beach lounges. The pools all had several, there were no issues there, but the beach not so much. We eventually found lounges, so this was not a huge issue, just a recommendation. We will definitely recommend Grand Sirenis to our friends and family and will definitely look for this hotel chain for future travel. GREAT VACATION !!! thank you !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Really nice time

, Vancouver, BC
2019-12-06
The Grand Sirenes was a nice resort. Clean , friendly staff, decent food. It's carved from the jungle which means lots of interesting wild life. There were loud & quiet swimming pools. I really enjoyed my time there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Natural setting
The weak points
Food sitting in water
Certified

Gorgeous large vacation destination.

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-02
I loved this resort overall. I chose this one because it is a massive resort with so many choices of pools and food choices. I was not disappointed in either one. It was my first 10 day stay. If this resort had shuttles that ran in a regular pattern, instead of sporadically all over the place, it would be perfect. There is too much catering to the “bought in” clients. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort has many different great food choices and beach or pool choices.
The weak points
This resort is massive so for people with physical disabilities it is too large to walk where you want to go. The shuttle service is sporadic and we had to have the concierge always call for one but wound up walking back.
Certified

5 STARS FROM ME

, Brampton, ON
2019-11-28
I've been to this resort more than a few times for a reason it provides clarity relaxation and friendly faces the staff are incredible the hospitality is unbeatable I really can't find any fault with the place I will be returning May 19th as it is the only place that I come back a changed person from it's a positive upbeat place and I choose to spend my money in that location Grand sirenis [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They care about the animals and that's a very STRONG POINT they have respect for all guests and cater to your every need the staff has an upbeat positive attitude every day wearing smiles on their faces at all times even if they had troubles
The weak points
Way too many children an adult only section would make this better....kids taking over the lazy river with out a tube is annoying kids coloring at your feet in he buffets is extremely hard to deal with I'd like to be in an adult only section ....
Certified

Great location, Great service

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-24
This resort covers a lot of property, they have shuttles if needed.
This staff couldn't do enough for you, always friendly and greeting us with a smile!
All rooms are large and well setup, room Maid service was excellent.
Nice pools, always found a chair, were good bar service at the pools.
Beach was decent, not massive but clean.
The A la Cartes we visited were the steak house and Brazilian, both were good, on a 7 day stay you get 3, we couldn't book the 3rd because they were all full.
The Buffets were OK, our only negative was the food was only warm all the time, not hot.
We booked the tour to Tulum Mayan Ruins, only 40 minutes from the resort and the only Mayun ruin on the Ocean, not as big as some but very interesting
Overall good value and a pleasant vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, Great service
The weak points
Buffet food was OK
Certified

June/July Stay at Grand Sirenis

, Ottawa, ON
2019-07-04
Transfer to hotel went smoothly, as did check in. Rooms weren't ready yet, so off to buffet for a late lunch. We were in Chac, which was very close to both the pool and the sports area.

Pool areas were nice, and the bar staff was reasonably quick, both at the swim up bars and the dry bars.

If this is a return visit, and you get a gold wristband, remember to ask the towel guy for the BIG gold and blue towels. Much nicer. Only found that out on the 4th day.

The map/brochure for the resort has a number of walking and biking tours mentioned. To get those, see the Sports people (Especially Miguel - he is awesome), and sign up for the bike tour the day before. The bike tour is fairly leisurely paced, and includes the walking tours. Miguel explained what we were seeing, and gave plenty of time to take pictures as we went. The turtle hatchery is great to see working, especially with the amount of seaweed on the beaches impeding the turtle breeding cycle.

Don't miss out on archery if you're 12 and up. Great amounts of fun.

This biggest downfall of the trip was the beach. The seaweed was pretty bad, but not due to their efforts to clean it up, which went on non-stop while we were there. Currents shifted for a few days, and the waters were pretty good then, but much of the time it was brown soup. With one exception - the small sheltered snorkeling area to the left of the small ruin - while there was some seaweed in there, it was clear enough that we swam in there to see the fish every day. There is a large school of big fish (maybe a foot long), that, along with a bunch of yellow and black striped fish, will circle you constantly when you're in there.

The evening shows were better than I'd expected. If you get there early to get a good seat, you'll be watching the kids dance around on stage in an attempt to get balloons, candy or t-shirts. Don't miss Lion King. Was quite surprised to see a bunch of kids from the kids club in costume during it. Very cute.

We went off resort for a tour to Chichen-Itza and a couple cenotes. That was a long day, but well worth it.

Wrapping things up, checkout went smoothly. If you've got outstanding amounts owing, they suggest you clear your account the evening before. We left out luggage in the room, did the final checkout and grabbed breakfast - by time we were done, our bags were at the front, and it was just a short wait for the shuttle to the airport.

This is our second trip to Mexico, and our second stay at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya. Overall, it met our expectations and then some. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Highlight of stay had to be Miguel at the sports area. Very patient, great advice, and has hooked my kids (and me) on archery.
The weak points
Buffet got repetitive despite the theme nights. Kids "mini Disco" before the main evening shows was a reason to show up as close to 9 as possible, despite risk of not getting a block of seats.
Certified

One helluva trip

, Edmonton, AB
2019-05-17
Overall the resort was really good. The food was good too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment was THUMBS UP
The weak points
Need to exoand the sitting arrangment at sky bar
Certified

A large, busy hotel.

, Sidney, BC
2019-04-03
We enjoyed our week at the resort, even though It was much larger than we expected, and there were more people than we wanted to be around for our holiday. We were misled by our travel agent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff.
The weak points
Not much of a beach to walk on. Again, misled by our travel agent. What appeared on the hotel map as beach, was actually rock.
Certified

Felt like just a number

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-03-18
The resort is big and it's very beautiful don't get me wrong but I had an issue with my room there was a blood stains on my sheets which I didn't notice till early in the morning it wasn't for me it was the first night that I stayed there and I just felt like when I went to voice my concern that they didn't really do much they still charge me for the first night that I stayed in a room that they absolutely but they did refund me for the other four other than that they didn't do anything else which to me just made me feel like I was just a number they didn't give me any complementary this Or that !
So kinda put s damper on my vacation!
When I went from sleeping in a king size bed to sleep in and two doubles and yeah the rooms were kinda just meh! Nothing fancy at all.
Also the view in my second room was better than the “ocean front” that I paid extra for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, amazing beach , lots of staff around all the time if you needed food or drinks.
The weak points
Lots of walking , distance from the pools to the beach , felt like I didn't matter when I came to complain about my situation
Certified

Relaxing Getaway

, Winkler, MB
2019-03-15
My husband and I enjoyed our week here thoroughly. Staff was very friendly and atmosphere was great. Food was average resort food and can get repetitive, but we always found something we enjoyed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, pools, friendly staff, lots to do from snorkeling to yoga.
The weak points
Didn't enjoy the food at the Mexican evening restaurant and the beach can be rocky but the staff works hard to keep the sea weed cleaned up.
Certified

Martin family's excellent vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-02
Very nice spot. Recommended for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of pool space. Plenty of bars, easy to get drinks. Large grounds to wander around. Great spot to snorkel. Great staff. You'll love lazy river. Close to tourist sites like xel ha and xcaret. On site dolphin experience. Wild animals like monkeys
The weak points
Far from Cancun airport (90 to 120 minute bus ride). We had struggles with wifi. Beach is quite rough and rocky; consider water shoes.
Certified

Met Expectations

, Arnprior , ON
2019-02-05
Very Clean and spacious rooms. The Grounds are extremely well kept. Food and Beverage were excellent for Breakfast, Lunch, and dinners. Highly engaged staff. The concierge program was great. The activities available were well suited to the area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms Food program Great staff Great Grounds.
The weak points
NA
Certified

A WONDERFUL WEEK

, Windsor, ON
2019-02-03
Points to our favourite staff, our Concierge, Miguel and Luis, and my friend Chico from last year....our food waiters Miguel Deara, Diego Diaz, Eddie and Thomas, our favourite Bartender Quino at the Bar Meccal and his staff. The bar staff at the pool near our building AKAM... and to our room maid for the week, all went above and beyond for us.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort is very clean and well maintained, food is plentiful and something for everyone, staff is friendly and helpful...LOVE the Lazy River and the Ice cream shop....the rooms are updated and large and clean...
The weak points
Limited beach and rocky, but the pools make up for it...
Certified

Worst experience of my life

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2019-01-01
Worst experience in my life for all inclusive hotel at Grand Sirenis, Riviera Maya! Hotel rooms are not cleaned, broken toilets, red ants in the room; worst food quality. Staff only serves if you show tip... main lobby does not have any snack bar!! No welcome drink or welcome staff at reception on arrival! Golf cart guys are hard to find for lift, so get ready to walk & walk for every meal.
Worst Beach ever, has rocks beds up to 10 ft to cross before you enter the ocean! Every single day, some one cut open the feet with rocks while going to ocean! So be careful!!
Charged us 170 US$ for checking out at 6pm rather than 3 Pm; 6 PM check out was agreed by the morning shift supervisor but he did not pass on the message to day time supervisor and we end up paying 170US$.
Peoples lineup in from of buffet door to enter for breakfast lunch and dinner.
Concierge are sitting in every block, but they have no authority to help you, but they are there to sell all inclusive vacations direct offered by Grand Sirenis hotel.
In nutshell everyone is trying to rip you off and you will waste money and time to go to this hotel!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
???
The weak points
Need management change! Good menu Change and above all mentality of hospitality needs to be implemented

Amazing resort, but ...

, Ottawa, ON
2018-12-27
To put things in context, my extended family has been in a winter Caribbean vacation each year, for the last 21 years (30 vacations). Usually we choose an all-inclusive, 4 stars resort belonging to one of the large, well known, international resort chains. Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya is one of only two such resorts we visited multiple times - 4 times myself and 7 times total for my extended family ... so we really like it.

It is an excellent all-inclusive resort, with an architecture we like, with an amazing combination of "manicured" and wild (protected) natural areas, which allows many wild species of animals and birds to be observed (and, recently, one or two families of cats). "Regular food" was always of high quality and with a lot of variation. The thematic restaurants (as well as the coffee and ice cream "shops", and the Sports bar) offer that "something extra" that is nice to have, especially in a 14 days stay.

One nice thing is that while there are two "active" pools, with lots of entertainment, there also is a quite large "quiet" pool, so people that don't particularly enjoy the sea can have a good choice. In terms of activity choices, I have to add the "Rio Lente" and the sports area, both of which seem to be enjoyed by a good number of tourists. The beach has a number of small golfs, and has both natural an artificial shadow. It has good sand on all the "public" areas, but in some places the sand layer is quite thin, on top of a rocky substrate (you can't really build sand castles there). There also is a pretty long "natural" (protected) beach area, without any artificial shadow, bars or services (sometimes used by turtles to set their eggs), that people looking for some kind of natural solitude can enjoy.

With all this said, our favorite part of this resort (by far) is the sea, that offer amazing snorkeling opportunities. We have seen many species of fish, a few stingrays, a few turtles, among the live coral. Having all this every day (when the water is clear), without leaving the resort, is, for us, the best kind of "all-inclusive" we can hope for. The sea also offers pretty large areas of "sand only", where people can swim and have "sea fun" without the fear of hitting some rock. One note, for first time visitors, is that when entering the water there is a region of 2-3 meters with coral fragments that can be unpleasant to walk on. If the water is clear, one can easily sea the "sand alleys" that can be used to comfortably enter the water. If, however, the water is agitated in your first few days, water shoes will allow anyone to enter the water without discomfort.

And now, the "but ..."

One of the features we have noticed during our past visits was that the whole design of the resort is quite "disabled friendly": there are elevators (that work), ramps and stairless access paths for the whole resort. Also, we have seen a large number of "golf cart" type of people movers, that can take people all over the resort. Note that for able people, walking from one end of the resort (dolphin show) to the other end (the chapel) takes less than 30 minutes, and the walk between various "usual" points of interest takes less than 10 minutes. With this in mind, we decided to take with us the elder members of our family, some of them with significant mobility problems.

At the resort, we have hit significant "cart" issues: first of all, the "black" carts are meant only for the current or prospective "premium travelers" (people that buy some kind of Sirenis time sharing) and are not allowed to serve "regular tourists" (disabled or not); second, the number of "regular carts" seemed way smaller than in other years, and they have their priorities (taking newly arrived tourists and their luggage to their rooms seems to be significantly more important than helping tourists with disabilities move around the resort); third, while one can ask for such a cart by phone from the room or the reception area, there is NO WAY to ask for a cart if you are at the beach (the beach bars do not have a phone or a radio to contact anybody). The result of this combination of factors was that sometimes we had to wait 40 to 60 minutes for a cart, even if the able members of our group have made a number of trips and requests from the reception area.

I have complained about this situation to the reception manager, to our travel agency rep, and to the "premium travelers" office, everybody acknowledged that disabled travelers should get the highest priority on ANY type of cart, they promised that they would report the issue "higher", but nothing was done during our two weeks stay.

So, until the Sirenis management takes the needs of the disabled people seriously, you shouldn't bring here anybody that can't properly handle the equivalent of a 10-15 minutes able person walk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Something for everybody, excellent snorkeling opportunities
The weak points
The Sirenis' attitude towards disabled people should definitely change!
Certified

Serenis Holiday

, Maple Ridge, BC
2018-11-21
Staff were friendly and accommodating. We did find that the more you tip however, the better the service but this didn't extend to the housekeeping. Despite leaving some funds on our pillow, we would often return to find that the tabletops inside hadn't been wiped down.
These hotel is situated among a tropical surrounding which was nice and the grounds were kept up very well. Three disappointments however: 1) The food was okay but often cold in the buffet area. We stayed 9 nights and were able to register for 5 Dinners which we expected to be served ala carte only to find ourselves up at the Salad Bar in each of the Restaurants helping ourselves. A bit of a disappointment given that we were expecting a fine dining experience and a departure from the daily buffet setting. 2) The kids pool area seemed to be undergoing renovations however, we never saw any workers there? As a result, we had to battle our way through the jumping, splashing and various items being thrown back and fourth on our way up to the pool's bars only to find that there were children occupying a great number of the seats there.-- We are not children haters but we do feel that there were far too many and that they prevented a number of people from enjoying a leisurely swim or so many of the crowd told us. 3) Despite being told that we would not encounter Time Shares there, we found ourselves besieged by requests that we take a tour of the properties (only to find out from some that it was a 2 1/2 hour tour with buy, buy, buy the properties afterwards. We simply have better things to do while on holiday than to be pressed to join 'Membership'!!! All in all, we've rated this experience to be a 4 out of 10 and I believe we will return to the Bochello for our future holidays, restful (Adult) pool area's and fine dining experiences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms
The weak points
NO ADULT pool area's!!! Fine dining (Not), ala carte means that your entire meal is served to you and that you aren't requested to go up to the Salad Bar!
Certified

Vacation at Grand Sirenis

, Toronto, ON
2018-06-10
We were very impressed with the resort.
We would like to mention few names for their outstanding service: Guadalupe at the beach bar, Isabel, Marcelino, Darinel, Carlos from Tulum restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hard working staff, clean resort, good food and drinks, diverse wild life, great for snorkeling, a lot of sunbeds on the beach.
The weak points
when we were checking out at 5:30am the snack bars were closed.
Certified

Family Vacation Spring Break, Riviera Maya

, North Vancouver, BC
2018-03-24
We were instantly impressed, the hotel and resort is very clean and well maintained. Room was newly renovated, large & bright ac kept nice and cool, beds super comfy, bathroom large -great shower and jacuzzi tub. Good maid service- we did tip maid daily.
Loved the pool areas -lots of shady spots to choose and option of activities at the livelier main pool or we often chose to hang out at the quieter pool which is also huge and closer to beach and lazy river for the kids to keep busy.
Snorkeling at the beach was great when calm several days it was too choppy and visibility was poor so I advise to go when calm. They put up red flag if it's too rough. Our last day snorkeling conditions were no good at resort so we paid for the snorkeling trip that took us from hotel to Akumal (15 minute by boat) and glad we did as it was super clear and shallow snorkelling.
Kids swam with dolphins at resort and it was great value, and an awesome experience for them. If you book 3 or more persons you get a special deal.
Food was good, some things typical for buffet and repetative but we could always find good options and variety to please all. Booked the Japanese restaurant which is difficult to get into as its very popular but so good, teppanyaki style chef performs a bit if a show as he cooks for you.
Kids loved lazy river and going to ice cream parlour, the coffee/tea house was good too. Lots of wildlife to see around resort.
Would return to this hotel again it was a great resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, comfortable rooms. Nice pools, lots of activities to keep you busy, always found a lounge chair available around pool or at beach, lots of shady spots. Good food.
The weak points
Sometimes service a bit slow, sometimes line long for omelette bar at breakfast. Lots of walking sometimes uneven paving (tripping hazard for our kids) bathroom floor can be slick when wet. Activities only offered at one time a day.
Certified

Good Experience at this resort

, Surrey, BC
2018-03-20
Beach close and good for snorkelling .lots of fish,wear beach shoes for rocks. Friendly and helpful staff. Very nice rooms .Buffet average. Nice touch, the on site free dolphin show.l Nightly shows to end the days . Disco to far a walk from main room area. Bathrooms do not have vent fans, found this odd, not that big a deal , but sometimes needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021