Barcelo Maya Colonial

Barcelo Maya Colonial
4.234.234.234.234.23
4.23 based on 252 reviews
#67 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (38)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Barcelo maya colonial

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-22
I traveled with my wife and 3 boys (7,9.10) to this resort. We loved it here, the pools were great and warm! Lots of space. The kids water park was a hit with the boys. The beach was amazing lots if beach chairs, and always a spot to sit, no need to reserve a chair in the morning. Drinks were delicious! Food was good lots of variety at the buffet as well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location Awesome beach Big pools Delicious drinks
The weak points
Not having wifi throughout the hotel and only certain hours Having to pay extra for the bowling, arcade games at the sports bar
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-26
Dear Nicolas, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Colonial hotel for your vacation in La Riviera Maya, as well as dedicating part of your time to valuing your experience with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the all-inclusive meal plan, which allows our guests to enjoy our bars and restaurants throughout the day, as well as the day and night entertainment program. We appreciate your support in the guest satisfaction survey, which will be sent 48 - 72 hours after your check out to your email, to help us keep improving and make the stay at the Barceló hotels an unforgettable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards

Great relaxing stay

, Box 1271, AB
2020-01-28
There is so much to share about this beautiful resort that I don't even know where to begin!
We stayed in the colonial section in a standard room with no premium perks, but for us, we saw no real difference other than wifi in room and free room service. We had no desire to eat in our room however we did pay extra to have the wifi for 7 out of our 10 day stay.
Our room was perfect in location and size for us. Very clean and well stocked daily.
With the stay at 1, play at 4, our options for activities was endless!! The resort is massive, clean and everything is so very accessible. There is no reason at all to leave the resort other than to explore ruins and cenotes. There are 6 beautiful cenotes across the road and ruins are just a 20 minute ride in either a taxi or van. Check in was smooth and quick. We found our building and room right away and were able to eat dinner within 30 minutes of arriving. This is a perfect resort for families and couples. Having never stayed at a large resort before this stay was a perfect first time experience. We will definitely visit this resort again and bring our grandchildren!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, food options, very clean and an endless selection of activities.
The weak points
Extra costs for some activities and liquor time restrictions
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-26
Dear Tamara, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Maya Colonial hotel for your vacation in La Riviera Maya, as well as dedicating part of your time to valuing your experience with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the all-inclusive meal plan, which allows our guests to enjoy our bars and restaurants throughout the day, as well as the day and night entertainment program. We appreciate your support in the guest satisfaction survey, which will be sent 48 - 72 hours after your check out to your email, to help us keep improving and make the stay at the Barceló hotels an unforgettable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards

Excellent Stay!

, Brighton, ON
2019-04-09
Our stay was incredible. Each staff member we encountered was wonderful! Everyone did all they could to ensure we had a great time. The facilities were all clean. The beach and pools are all great. The a la carte resaurants were wonderful. We had a great time and appreciate all the effort that your hard working staff put into their jobs every day. From the landscapers to the chefs, and customer service reps, everyone deserves a very hearty thank you from us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. They were amazing. Loved the sea turtles at the beach. Hotel room was big and comfortable. A la carte restaurants were very good. Lobby staff was also very helpful. Great job by all.
The weak points
Room did have a musty odour but it did not change my positive outlook overall. We brought some anti humidity things with us that helped a little. Also the snack grill was a little weak in selection. Very minor compared to all the great points.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-22
Dear Shawn, first of all we want to thank you for having chosen Barceló Maya Colonial to enjoy your holidays and for having taken part of your time in assessing and commenting your stay with us. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards

First, and definitely not last, time!

, Langley, BC
2019-03-28
We've stayed at many resorts throughout the Mayan, and decided to try a new one after 3 stays at our previous resort. We were given the wrong room configuration (no fault of Barcelo), and it was fixed immediately. The resort is amazing! Being in the Colonial section, we were really central to it all, but even if you are in the Beach section, it's not a far walk (less than 10 minutes between the two) The food is flavourful with lots of options, staff are so friendly, and there are lots of chairs around the pool and at the beach. The resort was full (or close to it) when we were there but it never felt crowded. The one disappointment was the Premium Level, which we upgraded to. It didn't feel like good value for the money in terms of the room, which felt like a standard room. Our toilet didn't flush properly and the hair dryer broke (they fixed it the same day.) Our mini-fridge wasn't stocked when we arrived, and they didn't re-stock it with beer daily. However, these were small disappointments - we fell in love with the resort and were sad to leave. We will definitely be back, and soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff! Antonia made our stay memorable with her smile around the pool every morning. Food was great (buffet and a la carte), lots of options.
The weak points
People still throw a towel across chairs to reserve them, I wish they wouldn't allow this. Premium level perks were nice, but could be better. Mini-fridge wasn't re-stocked with beer daily.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-22
Dear Meghan, first of all we want to thank you for having chosen Barceló Maya Colonial to enjoy your holidays and for having taken part of your time in assessing and commenting your stay with us. It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards

Great Resort but Had Difficulties with Management

, Paris, ON
2019-02-26
The Positive:

I all honesty, we loved this resort. Lots to do and the food was wonderful. The staff themselves were wonderful and the ability to hop on a bus and visit the adjoining resorts was a bonus. I also dive, so anyone looking for a great dive resort, this is one of them for sure. Leave from a boat right from the resort.

The Negative:

The only major issue was front desk management. We had a heck of a time with them. We came with friends who only came because we asked them to. Those friends ran into issues with their rooms being a floor apart. Their kids are 8 and 10...that did not work out. Trying to resolve the issue was a disaster on the managements part. They seemed more interested in saving a few dollars than making the issue right. Blame was bounced around instead of solved. We were told to stay out of it very rudely when we had told them we were part of the group. Honestly the worst experience with management we've had at any resort...too bad to because the resort was amazing and the other staff were wonderful. Our friends will never go back and we are still debating.

It takes a lot for me to complain (usually just brush it off) but this was that bad.

Maybe just issues when booking multiple rooms but be flexible when you see two rooms with friends and especially children involved. The experience was worse than I can articulate in this review.

Lastly, only free internet at certain times in certain locations...big pain unless you pay for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely resort with great food and so much to do for the whole family!
The weak points
Front Desk Management was very poor and No free internet throughout the resort (Certain locations at certain times)
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-04-22
Dear Cedric, first of all we want to thank you for having chosen Barceló Maya Colonial to enjoy your holidays and for having taken part of your time in assessing and commenting your stay with us. Our staff's professional service is a point of pride for us and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area at the front desk, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team for information and further revision. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards

Wonderful holiday

, Aldergrove, BC
2018-02-24
The hotel is clean and cool. The staff do there best to help in English. Some staff speak very little English but are still extremely friendly and try to help or will get someone to help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was very well planned and laid out. Food, service and personal are all awesome.
The weak points
no free wifi except between 10:00 - 13:00 or 15:00 - 18:00 at specific locations.
Certified

Barcelo resort

, Port Carling, ON
2018-02-02
Excellent holiday at your hotel. Attended a beautiful wedding there . This resort is very clean and well maintained. Would absolutely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort
Certified

Vacation Time

, Courtice, ON
2017-10-02
Hotel was as expected. We upgraded to the Premium Level for obvious reasons and benefits. The front desk didn't have that info - so we moved rooms on day 2. They handled it like pros....pretty seamless. Pools are awesome. Drinks were good. Food was 'okay' in the snack buffets. Captain Morgan's Bar and Grill was a good find for lunch.

Restaurants were spectacular. The hotel does need to revisit their 'formal' dress code. I followed the guidelines only to see people in jeans and sandals sitting beside me. I think if they just make the change to dress sandals like the other resorts - all good. Would like to see 'dress shorts and collared shirts' be the norm.

Excellent stay....will be back for a third time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools and recent upgrades. Gym and Spa was awesome
The weak points
Buffet food got tired on day three. Unless you ordered your custom food from the station....non of the food was really hot. Good...but some improvement could be made.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Colonial

, Dieppe, NB
2017-04-17
I would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Total awesome trip

, Orleans, ON
2017-03-27
One stop shop. Has everything you need right at the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Barcelo Maya Colonial

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-02-22
From start to finish our stay at the Barcelo was a dream vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
always found a beach chair. Lots of sun, but shade available if needed in the form of palm trees or lying on a hammock under a canopy.
The weak points
Would prefer more access to wifi. Some of the shows were too loud to hear what the announcers were saying.
Certified

Wedding February 14, 2017

, Mclure, BC
2017-02-20
We just got home from staying at the Barcelo Maya Colonial hotel in the Mayan Riviera. We got married on February 14, 2017. Valentines Day. From the very first day we arrived we loved it. The hotel was perfect. The staff was always accommodating. I recommend getting the upgrade to premium. It was worth every penny. The service is amazing. Our wedding was so beautiful and the perfect wedding in paradise. It was exactly the way we imagined it, thanks to our wedding coordinator Abraham Amezquita. He was so friendly and just positive energy always flowing from this him. I can't say enough about this guy. He went above and beyond. Everything we asked for he would do. Even going to cancun on his day off to pick up things for us. We were wanting the perfect day and thanks to Abraham our dream wedding came to life.
Thank you again Abraham and I recommend This hotel to anyone and Abraham as a wedding coordinator.
Troy and Caitlin. T&C. Feb. 14/17 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Always great

, White City, SK
2017-01-19
same as the last 3 times here, the resort is well run and managed. Lots of chairs on the beach, lots of availability at the a-la-cartes, lots of food on the buffet. Couldn't ask for much more. Only complaint is other events happening at the resort we were not made aware of that shut down some restaurants and part of the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, tacos, bars
The weak points
lobby bars
Certified

Mexico 2017

, Glenboro, MB
2017-01-13
We were quite happy with our stay. A little trouble getting the sheets for the cot the night we got in ,but we are in Mexico [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was good and hotel was clean.our son really liked the surf rider
The weak points
Didn't know what entertainment was goingaround the complex. Also when out at pool or beach had to put on shirt and shoes to go and eat lunch.
Certified

My mervellous hollidayof 2016

, Mirabel, QC
2016-12-14
Barcelo Colonial was a verry good choice by my travel agency.Few years ago i went to the Maya beach and it was mervellous to. I like the formula of that resort of five hotels side by side.I had try almost the different buffets and restorants. Meals are good and offered sometimes nices surprises.
The sites are very nice, with matures trees and I assure you that wherever you go all is clean. You have also rapid acces by walk the fabulous beach of Maya hotel.
I'll tried catamaran on the sea and be sure it was a terrific experience with the big waves.
The most important part of my trip was the presence of gentel personnel spoke in spanish and english. I had a nice friendship with few of them. At an advise, I suggest you to learn few words in spanish...like What is your name and my name is. This will make a real difference with your trip.
I'll discuss with persons around the world and the experience was realy instructive.

You ask me...do you recommand the Barcelo resort...and the answer will be always...sure, sure and sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personnel with an open attitude and all the sites are clean wherever you go.
The weak points
Temperature of prepared dishes in the buffets had advantage to be a little bit hire or add microwaves for persons like hot food.
Certified

Awesome resort!

, Winfield, AB
2016-11-19
Amazing feel! Kind welcoming staff! Scenery is beyond perfect, not to mention the food! OMG the food:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This was our third time at the maya colonial. Staff are amazing. Some know us by name and remember us from previous years. Makes for a homecoming feel. Amazing:)
Certified

Beautiful beach & pool

, Zephyr, ON
2016-04-12
Food - dinner buffet not so good.
lunch @ the beach was okay.
breakfast was good.
Ala Carte's were excellent!
Room - Clean.
Hotel- Clean and beautiful
Beach- Beautiful
Pool - Awesome
Swim up bar service was very slow and not always good drinks.
Lobby - service @ the desk was slow and not accomodating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and pool
The weak points
Lobby service was poor. Slow and not helpful.
Certified

Great Week at the Barcelo Maya Colonial

, Edmonton, AB
2016-02-05
The Barcelo is a large resort. We stayed at the Colonial, but could eat or play at any of the four Barcelo resorts connected(except the Palace) The Resort is immaculate. The Buffet was very good, and the a la carte's were quite good. The beach has no artifical barriers which was why we chose this resort. It is long and has some rock and some sandy areas. You can snorkel at your own resort or just play in the water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, cleanliness, food
The weak points
a large resort
Certified

Good Time

, London, ON
2016-01-10
Had a good time the first week in January 2016. Met some fun people and other then one day the weather was great. Resort is well maintained and the pools and ocean were beautiful.

Water shoes make good sense as getting past the first few feet can be a challenge without them.

Food was excellent. So much so that I doubt we will ever travel elsewhere as Cuba or Dominican Republic don't even come close.

Check in was ridiculous but that is our only complaint.

Highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, grounds, pools and staff
The weak points
Check in took forever. Two different line ups. One to check in and then one to get your keys at 3 pm.
Certified

Beautiful and friendly resort

, Hamilton, ON
2015-12-21
This was our second time staying at the Barcelo Maya Colonial, and we were just as satisfied as the first time. The resort is beautiful and clean, and the staff is helpful and friendly. The beach is great, and the water warm and clear. Bonus: new loungers this year.

The resort also offers lots of activities, including a variety of water sports, as well as tennis, basketball, beach volleyball, and mini-golf. The snorkelling is good, and there are good diving locations nearby. Lots to do--or not to do, if that's your preference.

We had a regular room, which is nice, but it was icy cold when we arrived. We couldn't get the air conditioning low enough, so we turned it off and were very comfortable temperature-wise. But then, the room was very humid--our clothes felt damp all week. When we did turn on the air conditioning one evening, it leaked. We'd like to see this issue addressed.

Our biggest complaint, though, was the music. They had one Christmas album (Kenny G!) that they played over and over and over in the buffet restaurant and one other that was piped through the speakers outside. The music nearly drove us crazy. Fortunately, we couldn't hear the music when we were on the beach or in our room.

The drive from the airport takes between an hour and an hour and forty-five minutes, depending on how many other stops you have to make. The drive is a fair trade-off, though, for a resort that is well away from the cities. Except for the odd partier and fighting couple, the resort is quiet and relaxing with no high-rises in sight--great for people wanting a rest and for families.

In the big scheme of things, the complaints we had were minor. It's a stunning resort--paradise--and we would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- good food, especially in the a la carte restaurants - resort is very clean - the pools and beach are well kept - beautiful location
The weak points
- not enough vegetarian options (vegans would have a difficult time) - air conditioning too cold, room overly humid - the music!
Certified

Relaxing vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2014-06-23
It was our first time in Mexico and in a "mega resort". We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful resort. There are 5 resorts in that location ( one was under complete renovation). Facilities are shared so there is outstanding choice of activities. A week is way to short to see all events and to participate in all activities. We have not left the resort at all but we were not bored. There was always something to do. We spend our day on the beach. The beach is well organised and it has rocky and sandy areas. It is good for snorkeling. In the evenings, sea turtles and sting rays come to the beach and people gather to see them in the shalow water.
Overall, the resort exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are very clean and spacious. The buildings are in the jungle /swamp areas so there is plenty of wild life. Staff is great. Entertainment is superior. Food choice is great. Plenty of fresh fruit.
The weak points
Beer- Only Corona available. Sometimes Corona dark. The red wine is disgusting - practically undrikable.
Certified

Wonderful week

, Dartmouth, NS
2014-04-02
We had a relaxing week at Barcelo Maya Colonial. The grounds were beautiful, and the beach area was great, for swimming and long walks. Food was very good, especially in the a la cartes. Staff were helpful and friendly. Evening entertainment wasn't the best, except in the piano bar, but we don't go to it much anyway. We would go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches! Long, wide, clean white sand beaches. Food was very good. Grounds well kept. Spacious pool area. Beautiful decor in all resorts. Lots of activities on offer.
The weak points
We were on the ground floor, and an occasional centipede (large!) managed to creep in. Yuk! Wifi is extra, about $7.00 a day.
Certified

We love the Barcelo Maya except for...

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-25
This was our 4th time at the Barceló Maya. We love the walks on the beach,
absolutely amazing! The food was excellent even at the buffet's. The house red and white wine were horrible! And we suspected that some of the alcohol wasn't what the bottle indicated. There is a new "swim with the dolphins" pool that needs to be dismantled. When they weren't forced to entertain those poor animals just floated. Animals shouldn't be treated like that! We may not go back for this reason alone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is wonderful. The food is awesome. And the staff very friendly and accommodating.
The weak points
The house wines were absolutely horrible. The new swim with the dolphin pool needs to be destroyed and the dolphins released.
Certified

Barcelo Maya Colonial

, London, ON
2014-03-13
The hotel was beautiful. Grounds are very well kept and staff was very friendly, always said hello.
Great pool and beach area. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful grounds
The weak points
Buffet . Would have liked to see fresher fruit.
Certified

Great vacation

, Oromocto, NB
2014-03-13
Great spot for a relaxing time. Good value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic beach. Huge Pools. Plenty of beach chairs available. Snorkeling. Kayak. Sailing. Food was good too.
The weak points
Restaurant booking was difficult and limited. My kids had to change rooms halfway through the week because of bad smell ( chemical and moldy). However, our room was clean and so was their second one. Going off resort and excursions are pricy.
Certified

Barcelo Maya - great stay, good value

, Surrey, BC
2014-03-11
Spent Mar 2-9, 2014, at the Colonial and the Palace (moved to be w others from my group).

Loved the property and the beach and pools. Great kids club at the Palace if you have kids between 4-11ish..

Would highly recommend this resort especially if you are already comfortable with the Mexican all inclusive style of vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, pools
The weak points
Long walk to the disco from the Palace (but they have a shuttle)
Certified

February 2014 trip

, Ponoka, AB
2014-02-28
Over all the trip was good. I have been to this resort twice previously and I have to say that is is getting pretty run down. The tub had several rust spots in it and just over all wear on tear on furniture etc. I asked for a second floor or higher room, but was declined as they said none were available. I don't like being on the ground floor due to insects and bugs etc and we did experience a mouse outside our door and a large worm that got into our room under the door. Our iron was covered with a melted plastic coating and it took us 3 times at the reception desk to get a replacement. A bit of a language barrier. Food was good, but not great. The specialty restaurants were very good. Beach is very nice. Never a lack of lawn chairs, always somewhere to sit. Service in the buffets was excellent. Staff are friendly and try very hard to please. I have to say in this case the hotel was below my expectation as it was better on my two previous visits. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff were great.
The weak points
Room is old. Cleanliness not up to my standard.
Certified

Nice beaches poor buffet selection

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-21
Overall beaches are beautiful here and resort is very clean. Had to ask three times for a new working alarm clock, kept telling me it would be resolved and didn't get resolved until I pressed hard at reception. Buffet food selection was poor and always jammed up. Night shows were average at best. Service was ok by wait staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches are beautiful
The weak points
Issues took to long to resolve. Had to ask multiple times for a new working alarm clock. A la carte time selection very poor
Certified

Still a great resort

, Guelph, ON
2014-02-02
We've been here before (many times throughout the complex) Overall great resort. Colonial/Tropical beach has improved, Beach/Caribe beach has deteriorated a bit. Take water shoes. Staff is great and always available. Highly recommended, but don't really differentiate inside the complex. Tropical, Colonial, Caribe, Beach - take the best deal you can. One thing, we have always done our breakfasts and buffets at he Caribe/Beach because they are open-air. The Beach side has now been enclosed and the Caribe will be this year. The complex has added a Dolphin show - the interactive part is not included. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pretty much everything (and lots of hammocks!)
The weak points
nothing that concern anyone.
Certified

Still great!

, Brampton, ON
2014-01-14
We have stayed at the Barcelo Maya Beach, Caribe, Colonial and Tropical a total of 18 times since 2002. We keep going back because we know exactly what to expect and it is our favorite place to relax and be pampered. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach for snorkelling. Lots to see including sea turtles, sting rays, barracuda.. lion fish, squid and every tropical fish imaginable. Food is amazing and the a la carte restaurants are great.
The weak points
Some staff have a hard time understanding complex requests in English but if you keep the requests simple you get what you need. Other guests spoil the ambience with drunken shouting in the middle of the night as the sounds echo down the long corridors.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021