Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort And Spa

Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort And Spa
3.923.923.923.923.92
3.92 based on 515 reviews
#32 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (134)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Good times at the Yucatan

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-05
First time at a Catalonia resort. Enjoyed the smaller size resort and close proximity to the adjacent Mayan resort and its amenities , as well as the beach. We tried all the restaurants except beloved as it was excluded from non- privileged members. Enjoyed good friendly service throughout in mostly good English. Food was all good to excellent, typical of other 4 stars. Good cleanliness.Typical hotel room a bit older but clean. Had two doubles instead of a king but they were both comfortable. Puerto Adventurous area seemed safe and secure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were happy with the food quality, in the al la cartes. Buffets also good. Staff friendly. typical draft beer and mid-range liquor. Short walk to marina and shops.Great shows most nights in nice theater.no beach venders. quiet area, good breakwater
The weak points
Over an hour from the airport. no beer or liquor or soft drinks in room fridge unless privileged. No bar opens till 11 am. some wear and tear but well kept grounds overall.
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan Mexico

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-19
Overall it was a lovely resort. Great staff, always there to meet your needs. Roberto on Yucatan side always made sure your glass was full even if you didn't drink alcohol. The sausage wagon and crepe shack was a great idea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaners always cleaning pools, nice beach. Great staff
The weak points
I really didn't find any.
Certified

Amasing, wonderfull and beautifull

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2019-06-04
excellent service, excellent food , very nice entertainment. we were there for 1 week. everything was wonderfull. I loved beach in this resort. on other hotels were lots of seaweeds, but this resort has wonderful beach no seaweeds.Food, drinks were very nice .We will defiantly go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent service, nice rooms, beautiful view from rooms
The weak points
pillows were a little hard, but I didn't bother to ask them to change it for us. I am sure they would of done for us. Everything was so good that I didn't bother with pillows, slept without pillow
Certified

Not really privileged just be glad your not sl

, Ancaster, ON
2018-02-01
We liked this resort but I have been to the maya an
d Yucatan and had an amazing time at the maya in Nov 2016.I couldn't wait to get back but it was a let down that's for sure . First they didn't have a superior ocean front room which is what we booked,They tried to upgrade us to a suite with no view of the ocean at all I wasn't taking that so about an hour later they gave us a simple ocean front room.Nothing special at all but we could see the ocean then I almost wiped out on the bathroom floor in the middle of the night . There was water everywhere and the toilet
T had to be taken off and the seal replaced and told not to use for another 40 min after being hours without.ugh!.Then the power went out and they had to go to the main switch outside our room Of I was right in the middle of blow drying my hair Come on! Walked by a beautiful room with a four poster bed with mosquito netting looked beautiful I guess we weren't privileged enough The first time I went the privileged beach area and bar was really cool this time it was somewhere in the corner never really found it. tables were all full many mornings and didn't get to sit at a privileged table Anyways we started to feel as if we should just be privileged to be there Why promise something that they over book Both of our neighbour's have awful stories to tell to get an Oceanview room Look it was an OK holiday but nothing near the luxurious way my daughter and I felt the same time The buffets were wonderful just a little cold even though it's 24 outside.%he shows we went to were great.I came out of the spa with a worse kink in my neck than the one I went in with The head holders are uncomfortable My husband was laughing because who leaves a spa worse than they went in Had to go buy Tylenol in the Yucatan stire,We went to do archery and we're told we had 5 min because they had to go do another task. Don't you usually account for this and have somebody else replace them It says open from 11 to whatever My husband got to shoot 3 arrows and he was told that's it .,I don't know what to say except we wont be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food ,nice people
The weak points
Do not offer what you can't produce!,,,,,felt cheated not our fault you can't hold up to your promises booked in Nov to ensure our superior Oceanview room superior being the main point trip #1 amazed trip#2 felt like an underprivileged couple
Certified

Do not upgrade to Privilege !!

, Stittsville, ON
2018-01-05
We arrived Dec 26, took forever once we landed in Cancun at 4:30 did not get to the hotel until 7:00 that was a circus show !! Beautiful resort ! We had PAID EXTRA to be upgraded to Privilege the only thing that gets you that is access to all the restaurants other then the buffet which was NOT good, same food EVERY day!! and cold !! NO food available between breakfast, lunch and dinner, other then a crepe hut, don't like them myself and got mixed reviews from others, and they had the Mexican hot dog stand opened for maybe an hour mid morning, the guy was NOT friendly ! Free visit to the Hydrotherapy pool which was amazing ! The room, not that nice for what we paid for this trip ! Ocean View yes, but the only one bar that's open late was right below us and VERY noisy !! Drinks VERY watered down, I DO NOT drink but decided what the heck were on holidays, I had 5 drinks in about 1 1/2 hours felt NOTHING !! that's how we knew they were watered down ! Through ppl we met, found out the pool bar at the middle pool, the guys were awesome and you got a good drink, also ask for a top up of Malibu rum went great with most fru fru drinks. Entertainment not that good, and not informative at all as to what was happening, other then some of the cast going around doing a little demo, but if you didn't see it your SOL !! We were suppose to have turn down service, I could care less for this but the 4th night we went to our room at 8:00pm there was a guy in our room using the phone and would not acknowledge us at all, once off the phone he motioned if we wanted to have turn down service (couldn't speak english) I said no please leave, told the concierge and she looked in to it but of course couldn't find anything out, we had read on a review that a couple weeks before us a couple of people had stuff stolen from their safes and they CAN get into your safe, eg; you forget your code call and they come with a cheat sheet showing how to bypass and get into the safe and the guy who was in our room had this with him !! FYI every time you use the safe, take a pic of what's in it and strategically place things in so only you know and the pic !! otherwise its your word against them !! All week our bathroom would have water lines throughout the tile and as the week progressed more water apparent to the point we had to put towels down all over the floor !! finally on the 5th day we woke up to water out into our front door and opened the door it was about 1.5" outside our door,I went to let the front desk know (She's NOT friendly) and she said she would send maintenance, fine ! Went had breakfast came straight back to the room the maid was mopping up the floor and had cleaned so I went to the front desk and asked if maintenance had been (knowing full well they hadn't) and she said no I will call and I said don't bother the maids mopped all the water up they won't be able to see where it all was... I requested another room for what we paid !! She said none available we have a lot of vacationers arriving and I said what the /!#* do you think I am !! I told her if either one of us slips and falls in the middle of the night will they refund us the medical expenses and spa treatments.... She found us another room 2 doors down and had our first room rented out the next day !! WOW ... If you decide to go to this resort do not set your standards high and DO NOT up grade to privilege save your money .... one more thing New Years OMG, charged ppl $100 US per person on the beach, roped off so ppl who didn't pay couldn't get in but could stand around and listen to the music/DJ, you got a top hat or tierra, horn blower, bottle of champagne per 6 at table YEP that was it, and it didn't start till 10:30pm and a bag of red grapes that represented the 12 months of the year to bring good luck OMG it was a JOKE !! This event should have been available for ALL the paying guests !!! BIG DISAPPOINTMENT but the weather was awesome... THANK GOD [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ocean, beach, pools, privileged restaurants..... The ocean was amazing , there were some rockey areas but you just had to look for the cleared areas to walk through to get out further and lots of nice snorkeling, kayaking, weight boarding. Beach great
The weak points
food, entertainment, rooms, service... I have stayed at other resorts and this one is not worth the Privilege upgrade and for the extra money spent. You will not gain weight at this resort so don't worry about that, gym was ok not well maintained but ok
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan Beach

, Calgary, AB
2017-04-12
My overall experience is positive because it's a beautiful place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and the programs were excellent! The staff is super friendly and caring. The Japanese and Italian restaurants are very delicious.
The weak points
The Yucatan side has very small and uncomfortable beds. We stayed at the Mayan side once and the beds were more comfortable.
Certified

Mexican Vacation

, Broad Cove, NS
2017-03-12
Had a excellent vacation at this resort. No negatives. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent visit

, Grand-Barachois, NB
2017-03-04
This was our third visit to this resort so we knew exactly what to expect and again, we were not disappointed. It's a smaller resort, which we love yet still has enough a la carte restaurants so that we never get bored with the variety of the food. The staff here is excellent and many are the same as my first visit over 4 years ago. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small resort, good snorkeling, excellent service
The weak points
Far from the airport, internet is slow
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Beausejour, ON
2017-02-01
We had an amazing experience at this resort. As we were returning guests, the staff seemed to go out of their way to make sure we had a good experience. Victoria at the guest services desk was super. David, one of the waiters was always asking, "Is everything OK?" Rooms are clean. Food is awesome. Activity staff work very hard to make sure everyone is happy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent atmosphere. Awesome food. Great staff.
The weak points
Can't really think of any weak points
Certified

Great place

, Airdrie, AB
2016-12-24
The best hotel, with great staff and food. The beach is great the water is blue as blue. lots to do and see. Food is great also, lots of choices for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff are excellent, food is great. great place for walks at night. very safe
The weak points
there are no weak points
Certified

My stay at the Catalonia Yucatan

, Berkeley, ON
2016-04-18
I absolutely enjoyed my stay in this resort and would highly recommend it. The compound, Puerto Adventura is exceptionally clean and safe and has wonderful activities such as fishing excursions and the dolphin experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and service were exceptional. The location is great. Lots of local activities
The weak points
The beach is a little rocky, but offset by the snorkeling right off the sand
Certified

James Fehr

, Winkler, MB
2016-03-31
Everything was great except for one lady trying to sell time shares was a little mean, it was not Alicia, she was very nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Trip To Mexico

, Mississauga, ON
2016-02-29
The service at the hotel was great. I would recommend this place to, my friends. Really easy going people, and answered all your questions. Good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love the place was gated, and safe too walk around at night. The hostesses, and the staff was great.
The weak points
The beach could be a little better.
Certified

Our recent experience

, Medicine Hat, AB
2016-02-20
We had a great experience at this hotel! We were there from February 10th to the 17th. The food and service was excellent. Grounds and buildings were very clean. The beach was well kept up as were the pool areas. Staff was always ready to help you out when needed. We would definitely go back here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food variety was abundant. The a la cartes offered a good variety as did the daily buffets. No reservations needs for a la cartes. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
The weak points
The nightly entertainment wasn't what we were used at a resort. There was a lack of.
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan Beach

, London, ON
2016-01-30
Great place. The resort is small so you can navigate the place easily. The room was good -clean, fresh water every day. Our a/c stopped working one night and they fixed it immediately.The food was great -good variety in the buffets and the a la carte restaurants were really good (except for the Mexican one which neither of us cared for). Downside is the beach is small and there are rocks in the water for most of the swimming area.
We never had issues with getting chairs either by the pool or on the beach.
We could have done without the constant pestering to come to a time share meeting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, good food, good variety.
The weak points
Time share pestering, the beach was not great.
Certified

Mar. 28 - Apr. 4 - Vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2015-04-06
The airline should have supplied a meal as it was during dinner time and we were starving upon arrival with no where to eat. We woke up to beautiful weather and wonderful food. The vacation improved drastically once we were fed. The service was great, most staff remembered our names for the week, it is a smaller resort and I feel we received better service because of that. The weather was outstanding and there were plenty of tourist attractions to keep busy. There is a privileged section ... for the cost and size of resort all guests should have full access ... then just room upgrades optional. We didn't get an alarm clock as we were not privileged... that seems extreme. It was lots of families and couples over 30yrs old ... exclusive adult areas would be nice to get away from the children. The beach was unfortunately a mess and not very big... also you can't walk along the beach past different resorts, we were stuck in our one little area. Everything was clean and the food was amazing. I would recommend this for sure, the only real disappointment was the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for families and older couples, smaller but more attentive. All Packages should be privileged - no separation
The weak points
Flight should include a meal ... we were starving upon arrival with no where to eat as it was too late. The beach was small and under repair. Walking for miles on a beach coast is not an option at this resort. Big disappointment.
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan

, Westbank, BC
2015-03-09
It was awesome! Clean, good food, beautiful beach. We would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Layout of resort, beach.
The weak points
Beach rocky in areas, seaweed
Certified

Fabulous Vacation

, Alliston, ON
2015-03-01
Very good property, we were very comfortable. Quite small even considering you share with Catalonia Riviera Maya. Beautiful pools although pools aren't our thing. Very friendly, staff and there are a lot. Restaurants all very good....they are your best bet. Buffets definitely good, but the 8 restaurants really break up the monotony.
Lots to do. It's in a nice area called Puerto Aventuras which is a gated neighbourhood. You can ride bikes and walk in the area to local restaurants, bars and shops that surround a marina and dolphin park where you can watch people swimming with the dolphins. The only reason we wouldn't return would be because there are so many other places to try. The beach wasn't awesome but did not affect our enjoyment whatsoever! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, very well kept and maintained. Excellent service. Beautiful property and building designs. Very nice decor. Very comfortable. Awesome lagoon! Lots of restaurants.
The weak points
The beach is rocky and steep and small. A third of it is a boardwalk, another third is for privileged guests (very few) and the other third packed with everybody else on a very steep slope. We spent out time at lagoon. Resort was full so really crowded!
Certified

Honeymoon!

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-02-11
We had a great time at this resort! Great food and lots of beach umbrellas and areas to sit. The staff were very friendly and the resort is very clean. We stayed in the Privileged area and it was worth the money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food! 2 buffets, 5 restaurants. Always lounge chairs on beach or by the pools.
The weak points
Our oceanview room was more of a partial oceanview. Not a lot of beach.
Certified

Great family experience

2015-02-07
We had a great family experience here. Very laid back and relaxing. Staff was awesome Rooms were clean and we really enjoyed the food, there was something for everyone. Enjoyed going for walks through the gated community, going to the marina you never knew what you would see, we saw a stingray and loads of other fish. Not a huge beach but great for snorkelling . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great family vacation!! Staff was great very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean. Food was great something for everyone. Enjoyed going for walks through the gated community.
The weak points
Beach was small but great for snorkelling.
Certified

Vacation

2015-01-26
We paid extra $ for a n oceanview room on the second floor.When checking in we were told we were unable to have this location because they had no record of it on the reservation. They said they will give us a better room ,which ended up being bottom floor right beside the swim up bar pool,noisey also had a gecko and a big black beetle?? .not impressed! For that reason we always ask for a 2nd floor.The room was kept clean and we did leave a tip each day.On the second last day it never got cleaned.The resort is nice, and friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is nice and kept clean,location and size are great, good staff, not hassled by any sales people.
The weak points
poor wi fi, not placing you in the location we asked for.
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-01-07
Weather was great. Staff friendly. Lagoon and reef were great for snorkelling and kayaking. Beach was so rocky we couldn't use it. Hotel room had double beds that were hard as rock. Pillows too fat resulting in neck spasms - not able to access thinner pillow because we were not 'privileged'. Ended up sleeping on my travel neck support pillow all week. Huge emphasis on class division at resort (privileged vs not) - pressure to upgrade (more $) once you are at resort to receive better service and comfort. Buffet restaurants closed early after breakfast and lunch. A la carte restaurants had long line ups and mediocre food - except Tappas restaurant which was excellent. Neighbouring marina and shops were a nice place to walk around and shop, view dolphins, etc. No activities for teenagers. Bathroom in our room had no bathtub and an open shower so the entire floor got soaked when showering. No sitting area in our room. Balcony door was broken. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lagoon and reef were very nice. Neighbouring marina and shops were lovely. Entertainment staff at the resort very good.
The weak points
Beach was rocky. Beds were small and hard as rocks. Strong emphasis on class division (privileged vs. not) at the resort. No bathtub in bathroom. Food mediocre. Long waits at check in, check out, and at a la carte restaurants. No activities for teens.
Certified

Awesome Break

, St.Albert, AB
2014-12-19
Excellent service. Went Privileged this time and loved the little extras .Fifth stay at this resort... still all the smiles and good memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location for me is the best. I travel colectivo and have no issues getting around. great for a night walk in this area as well.
The weak points
None
Certified

Great Vacation

2014-12-14
Very pleasant and relaxing week [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds , pools and very good food in the al a cartes with no reservations needed.
The weak points
Beach not on the ocean.
Certified

Beach or No Beach... That is the question

, spruce grove, Al
2014-11-29
There is no beach. Lots of rocks along the waterfront, so unless you want to go to the beach on an excursion you won't spend much time there. The ocean is very rough, so not a lot of opportunity to swim.

Not a lot of food variety. I ate eggshells on more than one occasion. The resort was majority older couples and honeymooners. There was not a lot for entertainment at night, and if the weather isn't great, there is really nothing to do at all. I would recommend it if all you want to do on your vacation is get drunk and lay by the pool.

It is located in a complex close to the marina if you are looking to swim with the dolphins or do some shopping. It is a 20 minute drive from Playa Del Carmen and the ferry to Cozumel.

We were given misinformation by our tour representative on the first day about amenities and package inclusions. The hotel will try to get you to upgrade, but it is not worth the extra $$$. You don't miss out on anything.

This was not my first trip to Mexico, and there are much better destinations and resorts than this one. Spend the extra and find a place that suits your needs. Don't just settle because it's a "good price." [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Close to Playa Del Carmen / marina
The weak points
No beach Not many activities / boring Provided misinformation Upgrade offered not worth it
Certified

One of the worst which have I stayed at in Mexico

, Edmonton, Al
2014-09-30
The bad reviews regarding the 4th floor room and the elevator not working, became my reality. We were in a corner room no daylight and overlooked the children's playground (great if you are traveling with children we were two adults). I went to the front desk on the day of our arrival and was told by the desk clerk that I need to address these issue with our tour agency, he also went on to say that he had worked at other resorts along the Mayan Riviera and agreed that this was not a very good resort. The following day when I spoke to the tour agent she asked me if I had a print-out of my inclusion (which many were absent in our room), she then explained that we had not chosen the "plus" option, this option had not been available and it was lumped in with the gardenview inclusions. Since this was of no help I went back to the front desk and when I asked to be away from the playground they moved us the 2nd day of our 7 day trip to a room closer to the swimming pools,restaurants and daylight but still on the 4th floor.
Generally the staff in these resorts staff greet visitors with an "ola", perhaps in a day maybe 2 to 3 would greet us, the rest would ignore us.

The a la carte restaurants were good with great service. The buffets were terrible, poor selection, tasteless and hit and miss when it came to service.
The bartenders were okay, some were exceptional.
With our 7 day stay we had our room made up only 4 times and the floor was swept once. My daughter thought the towel characters were great.
The porters were great and there was a lady who worked at the front desk who was really nice and helpful.
I will definitely avoid using the tour agency in the future. Needless to say I will not be returning to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bartenders were friendly in general, Porters were fantastic and the a la cartes were good with fantastic service.
The weak points
Poor customer service, staff not very happy and showed in attitude, buffet food tasteless with poor selection.
Certified

All inclusive – except for what isn't included.

, Edmonton, AB
2014-07-16
My daughter and I stayed at Catalonia Yucatan for a week and we pretty much completely enjoyed our stay. The resort met the expectations we had from reading the reviews. The staff was efficient and pleasant, the food was good, and there were many available upgrades if you were interested. In fact, other than a room with a bed, a TV, and a bathroom, pretty much everything else was an upgrade, like $3 a day for the safe, and a room upgrade was needed if you wanted an alarm clock or a fridge. They had about 4 different levels of room upgrades you could purchase, ranging from $15 per person, per day, up to $50 per person, per day. We skipped them all and we don't feel we suffered for it.

One major fail at this resort is the price of things in their gift shop-resort stores. For example, a bottle of sunscreen will set you back about $40 (that is NOT a misprint...$40!), a bottle of aloe gel about $24, and a 180 gram bag of chips is about $8. The prices are outrageous. Not surprisingly, there is no lineup at the cash registers in their stores. I can't imagine their sales figures are very good. A lot of people went into Playa Del Carmen and bought whatever they needed there. There is also a supermarket just back on the highway, which is a short walk or bike ride from the resort, and even though people said things were still pricey, they were far less expensive there. Just make sure you don't forget to pack whatever you'll need for your stay.

A few things to be aware of at this resort:
- the elevator in our wing was out of order all 8 days we were there. It was no big deal for us, even though we were on the 4th floor, since using the stairs was a good way to burn off some of the good food we ate. I got the impression it has been out of order for a LONG time.
- the buffets and snack bar could replenish their food trays a lot better. It wasn't unusual to find a number of empty trays at any given time.
- they don't use a reservation system for the ala carte restaurants, it's first come-first served. This can lead to disappointment if you aren't there early.
- the main beach is good, but water shoes are a must. It's rocky all the way out. On a positive note, the snorkeling there is pretty decent because of the rocks.
- they have free wifi in the resort, and the wifi connections are strong. However, their internet connection speeds are terrible. Pictures were painfully slow to download, and as my daughter learned, don't even bother with anything containing video. This shouldn't be a big deal...you're on vacation! In fact, I wish she had left her tablet at home.

The bottom line for us was yes, we'd go back to this resort – as long as the price was right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See main review
The weak points
See main review
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2014-04-18
Excellent service, staff very friendly and always smiling, makes you feel very welcome and comfortable. Very clean rooms and grounds. Very good food. Good snorkeling. Check-in service a little slow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff and service. Great variety of restaurants and bars for a smaller resort. Very clean overall. Lovely and well maintained resort grounds. Good snorkeling.
The weak points
Check-in service a bit slow. No room service unless upgraded to a privileged room at extra cost. Some of the older rooms could use some renovations but still maintained in very clean condition.
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2014-04-18
Excellent service, staff very friendly and always smiling, makes you feel very welcome and comfortable. Clean rooms and grounds. Very good food. Good snorkeling. Check-in service a little slow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and staff. Cleanliness. Resort grounds including beach very beautiful. Good selection of restaurants and bars. Good snorkeling
The weak points
Slow check-in. Some older rooms could use some renovations but still very clean. No room service unless upgraded to a privileged room at extra expense.
Certified

Catalonia Yucatan

, Dartmouth, NS
2014-04-15
The resort was very good. I would recommend it for families because of the activities it offered. The check in was not as good as I expected. It was quite a wait to check in at the end of a very long day. They really need more people to handle the busy periods. The buffet food was not very good and I was really disappointed with it unfortunately.
The lagoon was fantastic. There were many fish to look at and I felt completely safe allowing my young daughter to swim and explore in it. The resort was well equipped, there was lots to do and the staff were great and always very friendly. The location was good. Very close to excursion activities which was very nice at the end of a long outing. It is in a very safe gated community with other activities to enjoy at your own leisure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, activities and location
The weak points
Food
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021