Hilton Playa Del Carmen

Hilton Playa Del Carmen
4.474.474.474.474.47
4.47 based on 116 reviews
#51 of 121 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (9)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Good resort, but there is room for improvement

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-20
The resort is clean and the rooms are very nice. The restaurants have great food and great service - except Pelicanos, where no one knows what customer service means. I saying this as we went one day for lunch and after we were offered a table, no one came for 20 minutes to ask us what we would like to eat (there was no buffet option) until we stood up to leave. Only then one of the servers came towards our table. If the restaurant would have been full or half full, we would have understood the waiting time, but it was not the case. The pool by Kalamata restaurant was most of the days unheated. They finally heated it only after numerous requests and only when I asked on of the senior managers to look into this. The staff is nice, professional and welcoming (again, except the staff at the Pelicanos restaurant). The staff at the reception desk also needs more training, as they often were dealing with the guests like they were bothered when were asked questions. In a job like this, when they are the first point of contact for the guests, they should be more enthusiastic and more professional when communicating with the resort's guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, the majority of the staff are customer-service oriented; the resort is clean and the rooms are nice.
The weak points
The Pelicanos restaurant's staff - no customer-service. Very cold water in the pool by the Kalamata restaurant. The staff at the reception desks - unprofessional.
Certified

Solid Resort

, Buffalo, NY
2020-03-02
Everything, except the temperature of the pools was nice. Nice but not exceptional. Check-in was fairly easy, but no cold or hot towels and no welcoming drink. The room was very nice and everything worked great. I preferred a room overlooking the pool but couldn't get one, so we were in a section overlooking the lawn and other rooms. We could see the ocean to the side.

The entertainment was just OK. All of the performances were off the main lobby and it was hard to see if you were on the floor level behind anyone. This is where most of the seats are located. I missed not having any more intimate entertainment, like a guitarist/singer or a piano bar.

The restaurants were all very good.

The ocean was good for body surfing and playing in the waves but not for swimming as it was usually windy and a bit rough.

The pools were fairly cold. It was nice for doing laps, but not so nice for wading around. This has not changed since we were there 5 years ago. I guess they don't have a system for heating the pool.

It was hard to get a chair by the pool as the best spots are taken by rental cabanas and the rest are subject to the early morning towel game.

The gym was very nice. All fairly new Life Fitness equipment. Instructors on site to provide guidance. Good job Juan. There are lots of steppers and ellipticals but no exercise bikes. They do have spinning bikes that were very nice but they kept the room where they were located locked after 4 pm even though the gym is open to 10 pm. Not sure who they were trying to protect them from??

Lots of activities during the day at the pool that would appeal to younger people.

Room was not stocked with wine or spirits except 1 oz bottles that you had to pay for. Boo! They did provide plenty of soda and beer in the room for free. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and rooms.
The weak points
Cold pool and mediocre entertainment.
Certified

Best Place to Stay

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-07
Everything about this place was great. The staff is friendly and welcoming and always there to help. This is probably the best run hotel I've ever been at. The way arrivals and departures to and from the hotel are organized is impressive. The food was excellent and there is lots of choice. I know where I'll be heading the next time that I come to Playa del Carmen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hilton Playa De Carmen

, Whitby, ON
2020-01-17
Hilton Playa De Carmen [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing

, Greenfield Park, QC
2019-07-08
We love our trip, the staffs are so amazing, sweet and so genuinely helpful, theyre always happy to help us, i love the effort that they put and to make people happy, all the staffs worked really hard from decorations, rooms, service, restaurants and more. We appreciate alot, restaurants are clean and nice. The pool is amazing, the beach is okay alot of seaweed but it not you guys fault. Thank you for everything!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hilton playa del carmen

, Surrey, BC
2019-05-16
This resort was very nice .. Service was great all around . Rooms were decent although the beds were quite uncomfortable. The mini bar wasn't great at all ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools are great
The weak points
Mini bar was pathetic
Certified

Amazing trip!!

, Rusagonis, NB
2019-02-22
We've been on a few trips and I can say without a doubt this would be the nicest hotel/resort we've been to yet. The hotel and rooms are beautiful. The service was wonderful, staff were always very friendly. The hotel was very clean. Food was amazing!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

No benefit to HH members

, White Rock, BC
2019-01-17
The grounds, room, staff and food were fantastic. But there have been many changes since Hilton bought this resort and none of them positive. I largely chose it as I am a HH gold member. That gets you exactly nowhere at this Hilton - no complimentary upgrade (unless you book thru them), no points, nothing.

My room smelled strongly of chemicals to the point of giving me a headache. I asked the cleaning staff to discontinue this.

When I was leaving the bellboy put my luggage into someone else's vehicle, which was only noticed by me just in time.

Frankly, one can do better at this price point. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Royal Playa Del Carmen

, Victoria, BC
2018-10-10
Fantastic food and no shortage of activities. We had a blast, great location and staff went above and beyond [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and activities
The weak points
None!
Certified

Best Playa Del Carmen has to offer

, North York, ON
2018-05-21
Second stay at The Royal Playa Del Carmen and planning to return again. Amazing resort: spectacularly maintained grounds, great food selections, fantastic rooms and the best staff. Always a perfect vacation.
The beach is not the best but everything else makes up for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, rooms, restaurants, location, beautiful resort
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Amazing

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-04-08
Food was excellent
Staff were very attentive
Grounds were clean
Very luxurious [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our Vaccation at The Royal

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-24
We had a great time great place great weather [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great place for vacation Friendly staff Great food Definitely going to come back
The weak points
None
Certified

Excellent experience

, Brampton, ON
2018-01-08
A beautiful hotel which is kept clean through out. The rooms are very spacious.The service is excellent, they pay attention to any little detail just to accommodate you so you will have a great holiday. There is a great atmosphere through out. Enough restaurants to choose from and all serve great food and no reservations are necessary, neither is there a limit of how many specialized restaurants you can go to during your stay. Great beach and great waves. Despite the fact it's a public beach, you do not get bothered by any sales people trying to sell you something. Pool and beach are very relaxing. What is nice as well is that it's situated in a town. Just a few steps and you are on fifth avenue enjoying local bars and restaurants as well boutiques and great stores open till 11 o'clock at night for a great shopping experience. I highly recommend this hotel and looking forward to return to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A beautiful hotel, very spacious rooms, excellent service, clean, food is good, entertainment is good, great atmosphere through out and located right in town for great shopping.
Certified

This is not the hotel it used to be-really bad now

, Airdrie, AB
2017-12-14
We have been coming to the Royal for over 6 years and loved it so much we bought their Real members plan for $95,000. We arrived yesterday and the Royal forgot to send the car we paid for to pick us up. They kept us on hold for 45 min at our long distance expense ($300.00) due to Mexico roaming. We get here and they tried to put us in the worst end of the hotel-facing the street-basically overflow even though it is half full. Next they moved us to a room so small you couldn't move. If you're a member use your weeks elsewhere-the hotel has fallen on hard times. The service is non existent and the food very poor quality [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Paradise!

, Calgary, AB
2016-05-31
It was wonderful. Beautiful resort, fantastic location, delicious food, wonderful experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, weather, location, pools, grounds, staff, beverages, room, beach
The weak points
not far down the beach past another resort, there is a large accumulation of decaying seaweed that gives off a foul odor. Could not be seen or smelled from our resort but did affect the resort next door which is a sister resort of the one we were staying
Certified

Paradise

, Portuguese Cove, NS
2015-04-22
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal! When we arrived after a long milk run from the airport the front desk was so welcoming and a pleasure to deal with all of our problems disappeared. We received our welcome glass of Champagne and were escorted up to our suite. Wow amazing! Large and spacious and the best view! We were on the 4th floor and had a view of the resort and the beautiful turquoise ocean ! The staff were amazing all week we never wanted for anything. Breakfast, lunch and Dinner were all a la carte. The beach was beautiful, perfect weather the entire time we stayed. there was some seaweed some days but the resort did their best to clean it up. Always a full sun chair or covered chairs available. The resort is perfect for exploring the city of Playa del Carmen, you are only 1 block away from 5th Ave. We got up early each morning, had breakfast at Pelicanos on the beach and went for morning stroll in Playa Del Carmen when the streets are quiet, but shops are just opening. The coffee shop was a treat, like having starbucks at your fingertips. Manuel on the beach never left us wanting for drinks. Everything was really top notch. You will definitely enjoy your stay. We went in early April and we did get a bit of a deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Room Quality, Staff, Beach, restaurants.
The weak points
I got a cold while visiting and it was hard to find cold medication, Luckily someone told us about Walmart then I was good.
Certified

Looking forward to returning!

, Whitby, ON
2015-01-15
The location, the service, the food, the staff and the resort will make this one of your favourite places to stay when you visit beautiful Mexico. We loved it and are already looking forward to going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location to everything so that you do not have to book an excursion to get out & do something. Resort restaurants offer such a variety & the food was fantastic! The service was incredible plus, it was easy to tell the staff have fun working together.
The weak points
Folks staying on the far side (private pool rm) side of the resort may find the current construction troubling but, only if you stay inside your room during the daytime. At your pool or anywhere else at the resort you won't hear it at all.
Certified

Almost but not quite

, Montreal, QC
2014-01-28
food and service great, though with exception of Pelicanos restaurants lack ambiance. Beach is also quite nice

But...and its a huge but.... the late evening shows catered more to a geriatrics ward than we had in mind. Quite pathetic. And no Mariachi music at all. Disappointing.
Also, as soon as you get there they'll try to get you to sign on to some supposed Real Club deal . They'll provide you no literature and no time to think it over. Forceful.Don't buy. It's a SCAM. Don't take my word on it. Google it up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, beach
The weak points
shows at the old folks residence my mom's at are more exciting than the yawners provided at the Real. And no Mariachi..not one..not even on the beaches. restaurants lack ambiance, and don't get sucked into the SCAM
Certified

Royal Playa del Carm, Mexico

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-06
Excellent, would highly recommend for those looking at a town vacation with very good beach, excellent food a, accomodations and service. IF you prefer a beach resort, solitude, jungle setting, do not consider and YES there is construction adjacent to the property [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location 5th ave PDC, service, accom, food
The weak points
hustle bustle of PDC (not resort)vendors on 5th ave aggressive but tolerable,COST of beers and food at the airport and off resort. AC Rouge, no meals, music, movies
Certified

Super week!

, Karnataka, ON
2013-12-03
The hotel service and staff were all fabulous! I would go back in a heart beat. Hope I get to repeat this trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fabulous, great presentation and lots of gluten free options!
The weak points
Too many blankets in room, need more palapas on the beach.
Certified

Overall okay

, Grand Falls , NB
2013-11-11
Only one bad thing to say about this place is that if you don't demand the room you paid for, they will take advantage of you and give you a way cheaper room. Do not accept any other room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and drinks were very good
The weak points
Reception desk was very poor service, they will not give you the room you've paid for unless you demand it
Certified

Great Trip

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-11-10
This was our 4th visit to this hotel over the past 6 years, we got a very good price this time and booked it right away. The Royal PDC is a true 5 star resort in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is amazing, rooms are great food is excellent, pool is awesome and loved walking the beach for hours, also the wi-fi worked everywhere on the resort.
The weak points
Construction going on next door.
Certified

Costly, but worth the money.

, Brampton, ON
2013-09-03
We spend 7 days at ROYAL PLAYA DEL CARMEN and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Although we spent 2k per person (too much for this resort from what I heard from others there) we enjoyed our stay.

The beach was rocky, you had to walk down a little bit to get to the better area.

I would definitely go back, but not at the same price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Pros: Food/Restauraunts Service by staff Rooms/Room Service
The weak points
The Cons: Beach (was too rocky at some places) You need to walk further down to get to the soft sand The resort attempted to sell timeshare and we spend about 3 hours resort sales staff on this. They are not upfront and sort of misguide.
Certified

Royal Playa de Carmen

, Red Deer, AB
2013-07-07
Very nice hotel. Staff were excellent, they went out of their way to ensure we were happy. The facilities and room are beautiful and absolutely spotless. Definitely a five star resort. We will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location and beautiful rooms.
The weak points
The buffets could have had more selection.
Certified

Wonderful

, St Jean Sur Richelieu, QC
2013-04-10
The service was 'above expectation'. The location is gorgeous and everything was great. I loved the room, bed is very comfortable. I had a beachview room and the view was great. Expect some rocks if you go swim. Internet access in my room was not great but was very quick elsewhere on the site. I was not expecting or demanding a lot.. it got the job done, I'm still thankful it was provided. The food was so great I would return just for that! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service is completely amazing
The weak points
I don't really have something to say. Experience was great all the way through.
Certified

Royal Playa Del Carmen

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-03-03
Definitely luxurious - dining experience every night - great variety - [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly & courteous service - food incredible
The weak points
currency exchange needs to be reviewed - would not break up American money - could only buy peso's When I tried to buy $10 us with a $20 bill, they refused - all or nothing policy -
Certified

Great Hotel

, St.Lambert, QC
2012-04-30
All most everything about this hotel was great. It is our 2nd time. My complaints are the restaurant Spice was very hot to eat there. There was no air condition and no fans to circulate the air. Also, Maria's we had two very tuff steaks.
The pool does not have enough shady areas. If you like the sun all day it is the place to sit. Beach is great (it has shade), and the ladies serving the drinks at the beach were very polite and nice. Staff was great everywhere. Overall the holiday was a very good one. We will go back again. Going in April is very hot, but if you like heat it is the place to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, the services. Everyone was friendly, polite and helpful from the time we arrived until the time we left.
The weak points
Spice restaurant very hot to eat there. The meat served at Maria's was tuff. Bar stools at Pelican's bar were not very safe and small. The pool does not have enough shady areas to stay there all day.
Certified

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-05
Spent one week in March at this fabulous resort. Food was very good, great selection and staff would go out of their way to accommodate dietary restrictions. Beautiful room close to beach and pool and restaurants were also a very short walk. We felt very safe here. The shopping on 5th avenue was a block away, so we walked there every evening after our meal. The staff treat you very well and they will accomodate any request you may have. We would definately return to this resort some time in the future. The only issues we had was internet access was very slow as I had difficulty sending and receiving e mails and on the last day, they de-magnetized our room keys at noon, as we tried to get into our room for our luggage at 5 minutes past noon and had to call the front desk. Not sure why they did that as we told them our transfer was for 12:30 pick up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, spotlessly clean, all very friendly and helpful staff that go out of their way to accomodate any request you may have.
The weak points
Poor internet access.
Certified

Royal Treatment

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-03-05
After hours of research, this hotel was found & stood above all the rest in the Mayan. Everything is included, internet,specialty coffee maker & a full bar of premium alcohols. The location is perfect aw well - right in Playa, on the beach yet only 1 block from 5th Ave. The room is excellent for couples who wake at different times because you can actually close the bedroom off from the kitchen & entertaining room. Also 2 bathrooms came in handy when my stomach was upset from swallowing sea water while snorkling! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
truely all inclusive
The weak points
Jurks that set out towels on chairs for the entire day yet only use it briefly. Then you go to the pool or to get towels & there are no towels left & no chairs around the pool. This behavior should be stopped!
Certified

Great vacation in Playa del Carmen

, Ottawa, ON
2012-02-20
Our trip no.6 in PDC...best service and best food we ever had! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Services was the best after 6 trips to Playa del Carmen. Food was 100%
The weak points
No jazz bar or soft music on beach. Need imported beer.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021