Iberostar Selection Paraiso Maya Suites

Iberostar Selection Paraiso Maya Suites
4.444.444.444.444.44
4.44 based on 79 reviews
#55 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (23)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Iberostar selection Paraiso Maya

, Richmond, BC
2019-11-16
Nice hotel, well managed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, staff are helpful, nice pool and beach. Well designed resort
The weak points
Food is ok but not the best
Certified

Iberostar Maya

, Vancouver, BC
2019-11-12
Nice hotel rooms oversized. Food good, all restaurants themed. Good choice of a la carte but service in reservation only restaurants slow.
Staff very accommodating and friendly.
Resort very spread out. Great kids hotel 5 and up. Golf carts will move you around if needed. Number of small maintenance issues but all rectified quickly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lobby bar, beach
The weak points
Distance to Playa del Carmen, shuttle and taxi costs, price of spa services, golf not included. Very isolated
Certified

1 week fabulous stay at the amazing Riveira Maya

, Toronto, ON
2017-08-29
An amazing week made very memorable by the wonderful staff. The food was very good at all the restaurants we ate at. The nightly entertainment was great. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and the layout is lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The whole experience was awesome. The staff, from check-in to check-out were very willing and happy to help. The team at the restaurants as well as the conceirge and the cleaning staff bent over backwards to ensure we had a positive memorable stay
Certified

Winter Escape

, Victoria, BC
2016-12-19
Last minute escape to Maya Riviera. This resort is HUGE, active, vibrant and diverse. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The location is good as you can easily go and get to off resort adventures. Weather was ideal and the sun was revitalizing. Plenty to eat, drink and participate in although no where to go outdoors that was quieter and removed from the vibe. Lovely get away---MIGHT return with family....probably not as a single again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing and never stop moving. They were always very welcoming and friendly even when dealing with less than ideal visitors. The spa is wonderful! Plenty of activities to keep busy.
The weak points
Some areas are pretty dog eared with broken tiles, rotten wood, etc. A lot of water is wasted while waiting for warm water in the room. There is no designated "adult" or quieter zone. The robes at the spa are ridiculously small!!
Certified

Great Vacation!

, Maple Ridge, BC
2016-07-17
We have returned to the Iberostar Paraiso Maya six times now. We absolutely love it. The service is excellent. The food is fantastic. The hotel is kept very clean. Family friendly with lots of activities for all ages. Will be returning and recommend it to everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Designed to entertain the whole family.
The weak points
Casino wasn't open yet when we were there.
Pro

Fun holiday at Maya

, Dinsmore, SK
2014-12-30
We really enjoyed this resort, as we have stayed at several Iberostars and found all of them equally quality resorts. We would recommend staying at the higher level Iberostar if financially feasible as the extras are well worth it. The check in was very easy and fast. Nice to get to our room quickly after a long day of travelling.
We were in building 61 which is closer to the beach and the pool with the beach bar. We mostly went to the beach as we enjoy the waves, sand and walks on the beach. A couple days it was really windy so later in the afternoon we moved up to the pools. There are many choices of where to go, but we chose the quiet pool outside building 63 as some of our party was here as well. The beach volleyball, zumba classes, yoga, archery etc were going on everyday if you are looking for activities. Unfortunately, you have to do the towel game if you want a palapa and lounges for your group. We often went around 7:30 to reserve our spot and have coffee on the beach before going for breakfast. I should mention there are vendors on the beach during the day, but they leave you alone if you say "no thanks".
We ate at the Lindo buffer, Maya buffet, and a la cartes Steakhouse, French, and Seafood. We really enjoyed the buffet shared by the Steakhouse and Seafood restaurants. The food on the main buffets was average but we always found the vegetables and grilled selections were good.
We did not go to the shows at night, as a couple times we attempted but were not impressed. The big snake lobby bar was a good meeting place but was fairly echoing and hard to visit in the evenings. We enjoyed the coffee bar and loved the lattes etc. We often sat at the little outdoor patio outside the coffee shop.
One of our party golfed three times and was impressed by the course. It is good value esp if you bring your clubs.
We walked to the shopping mall and browsed around for something to do. It is a quaint little place that some go for tacos and ice cream in the specialty shops.
Our rooms were lovely, we lucked out with adjoining rooms for our party of five. The rooms were spacious and fine for our group. The first couple nights we had fresh towels, and extra bar service with our turn down, but this was not consistent throughout the week.
We found all the staff very pleasant, helpful, and committed to their work. It made our stay very nice. This is a spread out resort, but easy to get the layout with the other adjoining Iberostars. The staff was very consistent about watching for appropriate wristbands and often turned individuals away if they were wanting services in the wrong resorts.
This resort is located close to the airport so it is a short 30 min transfer there and back. We liked that.
Overall, we were glad we made this resort choice and would recommend it to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, layout of resort, beach, staff were all good points.
The weak points
Beds were a little hard. Food was probably more average than excellent....not bad but not exceptional.
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

, Coquitlam, BC
2014-12-10
Excellent...best place we have been in the Mayan. Super clean, excellent staff. We have been in 4 other resorts and there is no comparison. Amazing pyramid bar and golf course, gardens and architecture. This resort has everything except adult only. Four golf vacations here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful large property with great gardens and space to jog, great beach, amazing pyramid bar ,quiet pools, excellent golf course,shopping center .Feels like Hawaii. Excellent service. fourth time here. Only place my husband doesn't get sick in Mexico
The weak points
Not adult only
Certified

Crowded Experience

, Regina, SK
2014-01-17
Great for those travelers who want to be amongst many many people... way too many people over holiday season because of the 5 resorts side by side under 1 chain. Couldn't swim in ocean - way too rough and debris washing up on shore. Even though it was supposed to be all inclusive many staff still expect to be tipped. This has to be the worst all-inclusive resort we've been to. Steakhouse at Maya was good, and always had kids finger food to choose from buffet. International drinks were not served at all restaurants as indicated even when you asked for brands. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Swim up bar and wave pool bar good but long waits. Lazy river was never cleaned so it always had bugs/bees, leaves floating in it. Rooms were alway made nicely, however they would forget to replace towels or restock toilet paper. Pools were great and spent most of our time there. If traveling from West coast to Cancun expect it to be pitch black by 5:30pm local time... something I didn't consider before booking. My advice is to go after peak season and not before Mid-December due to crowds and rain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, Steakhouse and Lobby bar.
The weak points
Too many people at resort(s), expected tipping, Beach, lack of toiletries and towels.
Certified

Good vacation for the whole family

, Gatineau, QC
2013-12-13
I traveled with my wife and two boys (2 & 6 years old) from December 1st to December 8th, in building 62, room 6267. This was our first time at the Maya, and overall it was a great vacation and it is a great place to vacation with young kids. The weather was mainly sunny with one day of more cloudy periods and a shower in the afternoon. The temperature was around 28-30 all week.
Check-in : No issues whatsoever, it was not a busy week which was a good thing. We arrived at the resort at around 11am and there was nobody waiting to check-in, so it was done in a matter of minutes. They offered us a welcoming drink and gave us a map of the resort and explained a few things and that was it, the room was ready on arrival, so a bell boy brought us and our bags to our room. I had e-mailed the resort about 1 week before our arrival requesting building 62, top floor, with a king size bed, a crib and a Murphy bed for my oldest one. Everything was as requested in the room, so it was a good start to our vacation. We had chosen building 62, as it looked like it was the most central location as I knew we were going to be all over the place, and it turnout to be a good location for us.
Room: The room was very spacious, no problem for the four of us, even with the addition of the crib and extra bed. It had a nice size balcony, with a sitting hammock a small table, two chairs and a small pull out racks to hang some clothes on. The room itself consist of a sitting area, with a sofa, a desk a small table and two chairs, and then there is a step up to the bed area. We had a king size bed, and in front of it there is the decent size TV sitting in a TV cabinet that you can close; it has also a DVD player. Most of the channels are obviously in Spanish, there were a few English one and a French one, but I didn't really spend much time watching the TV. The bathroom is also very convenient, with a separate Jacuzzi tub, shower stall, a double vanity and a hair dryer. At the room entrance, there is a closet where you can hang some clothes and where the safe (good size) is located. There was also an iron and ironing board in the closest, with the addition of an Iberostar umbrella and two Iberostar bathrobes. The air-conditioning was probably the best we ever had in a resort, it worked great and kept the room at a cool temp without being too noisy. There is also a door that you can close separating the room with the entrance/bathroom area. At first glance, the room looks great, but there are a few negative points. The room is in need of a good make over, as it is starting to show its age. There is no way I would have started the Jacuzzi with the way the jets nozzle were looking, the bottom portion of the shower door wasn't closing properly either, even with someone pushing it from the outside, which resulted in water getting on the floor each time unless you had a few towels on the floor outside the door. The shower head itself, was pretty bad looking and leaking on every side. The furniture was also showing its age and a new coat of paint would not be a bad idea either. The bed was not as bad as I was expecting from reading other reviews, it is hard, but it wasn't bad. The patio door was not locking when we first came into the room, we told our concierge and a guy came in and fixed it in about 10 minutes, that was very good service. There were also a lot of tiny bugs running around, mostly in the bathroom area, they probably can't do much about them, but they started to get annoying after a few days, and you have to be careful as we left a toothpaste tube on the counter and the next time I opened up the cap, it had like 30 of those tiny buggers into it (we usually kept everything in a close plastic container). A lot of small details, but when you add them up, for a resort that is promoting itself as a 5 stars and for the prize it selling, I was expecting better accommodation.
Wifi: Free Wifi is available, you need to ask your concierge for the username/password, and it is somewhat flaky. Depending on where we were situated in the room, we either had no reception or some decent one usually around the bed area if you weren't moving too much (that was with an Ipad). In the lobby area, the signal was somewhat better, but don't except a lightning fast connection. It was also down for almost two full days all over the resort.
Beach: The beach area is great, nice sand, the water was warm and it has a bar and a bbq area that starts cooking food around noon. There is also service on the beach itself and there are quite a lot of palapas. Like I've mentioned, the resort wasn't full, so we usually had no problem finding a decent spot around 9h00 in the morning at the beach, but people were playing the towel game unfortunately. So, it's probably another story when it's full. The wave were pretty rough(red flags), except for one day we had a yellow one and it was great as my younger kid was able to enjoy more of the beach, he was a bit scared of the big waves the other days. We still had fun in the waves with the oldest one, but it was too bad we didn't have more yellow flags days during the week. For people who like walking the beach, no problem here as you can walk on either side of the beach for a long time. There are some vendors walking along the beach, but they were not annoying.
Bars/Entertainment: On the Maya side, you have the lobby bar(snake bar) and also ¬there is what is called the music bar, where you have a big screen TV and a few smaller ones in the corners of the room. I've never seen anyone playing music in it, but they were showing sporting events, NFL on Sunday, College football, NHL, soccer, etc. The place was mostly empty most of the nights I went to check it out, too bad because it's a nice looking bar it also has a pool table. Saturday night, at least there were probably 15 people watching the college football game. There is also the “disco” bar that opens at 11pm, it's in the shopping centre area and for the life of me I can't understand why they choose to design it around a Star Wars theme. You're on the Riviera Maya, I was expecting a bit more of something with a Mexican flavor, but it's all paint in black, with Dart Vader and other Star Wars figures all over the place. I didn't go at night, so I don't know how busy it got. The other bars were not too busy, but they usually had live entertainment at the snake bar at night until around 11pm. I didn't find any promotion for it, but it was pretty cool, even if there were only about 10-15 people at a time at the bar. It was definitely not a party place the week I was there. They mostly seem to advertise for the nightly shows at theatre, which did get pretty crowded, but it's just not my thing as I found most of those shows boring. The theater is located on the Lindo side of the resort at the adult show starts at 9h30pm.
Shopping Centre: This is a pretty nice area that I wish the resort would promote/exploit more. It has store all around the central area and also 3 places you can grab some food. A taco place, a crepe/ice cream bar and later at night the hamburger shop. You can also get some drink at the taco place and there a cigar bar. It's also the location of the carrousel, which was a big hit with my kids; we ended up there every night after lunch. They also have live performance on some nights; I didn't see any promotion of them anywhere on the resort, that's too bad. What I've seen on different night: Mariachi band, Traditional Maya night (pretty cool), two guys (keyboard/electric guitar) playing some oldies American music and on some other night, nothing. The place was not very busy and I'm sure if they would promote it more they would get more people to check it out. There is also a small church which has a service once a week, but I can't remember if it was on Sunday's or Saturday's.
Vendors: In the Lindo lobby, every other night there is a row of vendors that sells all kind of stuff. They seemed to be the same one all week and most of the stuff they are selling can be purchase cheaper at the Shopping Centre, but they will bargain.
Pools: For the kids, they have the pool at the kid's club and just beside it, the pool at the pirate ship/water park area which was a big it we my kids, the water park shuts down at 5 pm and I believe it starts around 10 am. You also have the main pool with a pool bar and on top of it; there is an excellent ice cream bar. There is also a separate sports pool and another pool that is beside the main pool but closer to the beach. There is also the lazy river, which is very lazy as you really have to push your way around it to move. There is also the wave pool, which operates on specific time, so if you want to enjoy it, you need to ask for the time it is actually being run. It's also nice for the kids when it's not running, since it pretty shallow for the most part. There is also two “private” pools on the Maya side, beside building 60 and 63, they are usually pretty quiet. Being a Maya guest, you also have access to the wet area of the Spa that is situated in the Shopping Centre area; we unfortunately didn't have a chance to check it out.
Service: Overall the staff was great everywhere. We had good to great service at the buffet, a la carte, at the bars and almost always with a smile! One of the strong points of staying in the Maya side is having a concierge at every building. You can asked them pretty much anything and they will have an answer for you and you can exchange your towels with them and book you're a la carte reservations. That was very useful, I'm still not sure of the hours they are working, but I've seen some at their desk as early as 7h30 in the morning and as late as 10h at night. You can also ask any concierge, not just the one working at your building. Most of the staff we encountered spoke good to very good English, there was a few people with a more limited knowledge of it, but we could always managed to understand each other.
Buffets/ A la carte: As you have access to any restaurants at the del/Mar, Beach, Lindo and Maya resorts, you obviously have a lot of choices; we pretty much stayed on our side of the resort for the week. In the morning you either go to the El Tapatio(7 am-11h30am) buffet or the Marina(6 am-10am) on the Maya side, we did both and ended up mostly and the Marina as we found it had a few more options and better service. You can also order some food from a limited menu for breakfast. For lunch, we ate all week at the El Tapatio buffet, and you can also get some food at the beach bbq area or at the buffet on the Lindo side of the resort. Like any buffets, the food is pretty good, but at the end of the week, it gets a bit repetitive, but I don't have any complains about the food or service. For lunch, the main buffet is at the Marina restaurant and it has a good selection of main dishes and a great selection of dessert. We had reservation every night at an a la carte, we ate at the El Tapatio( Mexican ), Marina(Seafood), Steakhouse(twice), Medditerean(Lindo side), Cajun(Lindo side) and the last one was at the Geisha(Japanese). So, if you have a reservation at either the Marina or the Steakhouse, you have actually access to the main food and dessert buffet, which was great with the kids. I would go back to any of them, except the Japanese one, as I didn't find it very good. With the kids, it was not the best seating arrangement, and we would not do it again. The food pretty much tasted all the same and wasn't that good. The chef that we had was pretty bad, I'll give him that he was pretty funny, but almost every trick he tried, he missed them more than once and usually ended up given up on them. My only other issue is that they could use more high chairs at the restaurants, as one night they were out and that wasn't the greatest to have my 2 year old in a regular chair. And I know other people had the same issues, as they are available at every restaurant, but they have a limited number of them. They don't required long pants for the men, except at the gourmet (French) restaurant. The times available for the reservations were 6h, 7h, 8h, 8h30 and 9h.
Grounds: It's a pretty big resort, but walking it is not that bad. It does take a day to get familiarise with the layout of where everything is situated and the shortest paths to take to get from point A to B. You can always ask for a ride with a golf cart, which my kids absolutely loved! Either by asking your concierge, the lobby bell boys and at the shopping centre there is usually a bell boy around that can call a cart for you. Waiting time is usually around 5 minutes or less, which is pretty good. One of the guy's told us that they usually have some kind of train/trolley that goes around the resort, but it was broken and being fixed during our stay. The grounds are beautifully kept, and are very different going from one resort to another. The Beach/Del Mar section has more of a “jungle” feeling and animals running around everywhere, it's worth a visit. It was nice to have all the restaurants with air-conditioning on the Maya and Lindo side, and in the lobby areas.
Maid/cleaning: It started ok, I had to ask the concierge every morning to remind them to come before 1pm, as the kid was having a nap at that time. They did an ok job cleaning the room, and I had asked not to put pop in the fridge but extra water bottles instead. That worked for the first 2-3 days, but then one day, they had already clean up the room in the morning and then they came back at around 6pm when we were leaving for lunch, then is started going strange afterward. The next day they never came to clean up the room or refresh the fridge, so by the end of the day we were running low on water and we asked the concierge to bring some water to the room and I asked why they didn't clean up the room during the day. He wasn't sure but said that they stopped cleaning a 5pm, but he would have water brought to our room, I didn't mind about the room, just the water. We came back at the room around 9pm, the room had been cleaned, but nothing in the fridge. So, again I asked the concierge about getting water, he was also confused by the fact that they had cleaned up the room(very quickly I must add), but he did managed to finally have somebody bringing me some water bottles. Then, the next day somebody came at around 10pm at our room to ask if we needed water or fresh towels, even if they already had come up and refresh the fridge and did the room, so I was a bit confused at the end of our stay on how they proceed. Anyways, for the most part, it was ok, but not great.
Last notes: Overall, we had a very positive experience at the Maya and it was a very fun week for all of us. The big question is would I go back? With the kids, we would definitely go back, but just me and my wife, probably not unless the price would be a real bargain. A last word of advice, if you don't want to be around babies/children, this is definitely not the place for you, as they were everywhere in a week without any school holidays that I know of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and service, concierge in every building, beach, pools, bars, food, kids friendly, grounds.
The weak points
Rooms are getting old, maid service, WiFi performance
Certified

IBEROSTAR PARAISO MAYA GREAT!!!

, Hamilton, ON
2013-11-11
Greatresort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Workers,Hospitality,Scenery
The weak points
Room Service availability/times, brightness of lights in room bathrooms
Certified

Best Vacation Ever

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-06
We cannot wait to get back as we felt so welcomed everywhere we went on the resort and we have so much more to see and do that we have not done [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the amenities that are available around the resort
The weak points
None
Certified

Vacation experience

, Surrey, BC
2013-10-17
Enjoyed this resort. Impressed with the size and ammenities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality & variety of alcohol, food rooms/suites, pools & beach
The weak points
none come to mind
Certified

Perfect Holiday!

, Highriver, AB
2013-09-12
After making it through the flood that hit our hometown in June, we needed a break. This resort provided all that we needed. We spent most of our time at the pool, at the spa, or on the beach - though there were plenty of activities and excursions offered. It was magnificent! Everywhere we went, we were met by smiling staff members who were willing to meet any needs that we had. The concierge in our unit was incredibly helpful. We were able to see the baby turtles and a midnight viewing of the adult turtle. It was a once in a lifetime experience! We came back relaxed, tanned, and ready to take on all the challenges we have ahead! We would go back in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Undoubtedly, the most outstanding part of this resort is the staff. They are friendly, ensure that any requests are met, and it is clear they enjoy what they do! I also loved that there is something for everyone at this resort!
The weak points
I honestly don't have any complaints.
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

, Calgary, AB
2013-03-19
First time at an all inclusive and it was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort and beach are great. Service great also
The weak points
The food was ok not great
Certified

Spectacular grounds, service & beach

, Bowmanville, ON
2013-02-01
Everything was top notch. The grounds were stunning. The beach and pools areas were beautiful. The service was the best we ever experienced. Great vacation. Can't wait to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service beach grounds pool food
The weak points
Hard bed. Wifi on at lobby
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-21
Nice resort, great service, very well maintained. We were always able to find loungers by the pool and beach. Some of the a la carte restaurants were very good, others were just OK. Room service is pretty quick, but a limited menu. Concierge service in each building is convenient for booking restaurants and finding out about activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, rooms, cleanliness, friendly staff, not crowded around the pool, unlimited a la carte reservations.
The weak points
Beaches not great for long walks, but otherwise good.
Certified

Great resort

, Edmonton, AB
2012-12-24
This was our first stay at the Iberostar, but our fourth trip to the Mayan Riviera. Overall I would say the Iberostar is a great choice for a resort. It is a big multi-property resort which gives lots of restaurant choices and lots to do and see. Check-in was very smooth and quick, we had a junior suite and it was spacious and clean, with cute 'towel creatures' left on the bed by housekeeping each day, sometimes with fresh flowers. The pool area is huge and they have a great entertainment crew putting on lots of pool activities during the day to keep people busy. The beach is great too, no rocky parts that we found. The staff was excellent, very friendly and accomodating at all times. The nightly entertainment was usually pretty good as well. Also, this resort is just a short 20-30 minute bus ride from the Cancun airport, which is a huge plus for us.

They also have a pretty large 'shopping mall' on the property with shops for souvenirs and a couple more small eateries. There's a taco place, a crepe/ice cream place and a burger bar that we were completely unaware of until our last day, they should really advertise them more.

Also the spa is excellent. They have four different hot tubs, therapeutic showers, a steam room, a sauna, and a big salt water pool with fountain-style massagers, a great way to wind down the day.

Now for the downside. To get a chair under an umbrella on the beach, plan on being at the beach to reserve your chairs at or even before 8am... we like to sleep in, so needless to say, no umbrellas for us and we did end up burning despite all the lotion. I will say there were always plenty of chairs by the pool, but we're beach people ourselves.

Next, this is a VERY family-oriented resort, which is great IF you have kids. Two of the other three times we've stayed in the Mayan Riviera we stayed at 'all-ages' resorts, until now we had never seen a resort so overrun by small children. I can see why though, they have great kids' play areas, activities and they just really cater to kids, so this is not a bad thing, however if you are going on a couples' vacation and just want some peace, quiet, and R&R - you'll want to reconsider. We would have stayed at the Iberostar Grand (which is the adults-only property) from the get-go, however it is substantially more expensive and outside of what we wanted to spend. Our first morning we were awoken at 7am to the sound of the small child next door to us yelling, singing and running around until 8:30am. The walls are extemely thin. After that we asked to be moved and the staff gladly accomodated us (they also provided the option of upgrading to the adults-only property for an additional $700 - again, out of our budget).

The bed in our room was one of the hardest I've ever layed on. I had a terrible sleep the first night and woke up sore all over. I'd read this in reviews before we went and knew to request a "bed topper" from the concierge, once that was added the bed was fine.

I'd probably rank the Iberostar food to be the lowest of the three resorts we've stayed at. I'd read the poor food comments in other reviews and they are definitely on point. Its not terrible though, just not great. The buffets double as the a la carte restaurants at night, so you don't feel like you're at a fancy restaurant, and we found the food served to us to be of lack luster buffet-quality. Another disappointment for us was the lack of soft ice cream machines at the buffets. Instead they let you scoop your own ice cream, however all it took for me was seeing a small child stick his hand directly into the ice cream, then into his mouth, then back into the ice cream, to know I would not be having ice cream from there. Luckily for us they have two other places on the resort where you can have non-contaminated ice cream served to you.

All in all, I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a fun family vacation. Every resort has its pros and cons, Iberostar still has more pros than cons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family-oriented resort Excellent spa facility Friendly staff
The weak points
Food not the best Hard mattresses Shortage of beach umbrellas
Certified

Iberostar Paraiso Maya

, Ajax, ON
2012-05-14
excellent service, beautiful grounds, great food at the al le carte restaurants [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent customer service; any time we had a small issue they would bend over backwards to resolve, the bar and waitress service at the nightly shows was great, kids loved the wave pool, shows were top notch
The weak points
no inclusive water sports at the beach, gratuities should be included similar to Sandals
Certified

Beautiful Resort & Excellent Value!

, Etobicoke, ON
2011-09-20
This was our second time at the IPM, Early September is considered the 'low season' and we got a great deal, (about 50% less than prices in March). Excellent food, beautiful beach and pool area, imaculately kept gardens, and very friendly, personable staff, and delicious mango ice cream :) Maya guests have unlimited acess to the Spa whirlpools & showers, and all specialty restaurants in the other four hotels (except the Grand). Evening shows were fun and if you like to dance, the Galaxy Club plays the latest top 40. Comfortable rooms have double sinks, clean comfortable beds, and maids leave fun towel animals and fresh flowers each day. Check out the other hotels in the complex, it's a great walk and you'll see all kinds of interesting wildlife and birds (flamingos in the Beach Hotel lobby!). We'll definately book again next spring! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, amazing pool, lazy river and kids wave pool, great selection of foods and specialty restaurants, fun nightclub and well equipped gym. Maya is wheelchair accessible (elevators,pool ramps,restaurants, even a wooden beach platform).
The weak points
Hotel could do a better job advertising the big special events (nightly shows, beach party, shopping centre events) easily done on stategicaly placed info boards and tent cards on restaurant tables.
Certified

Nice trip

, Montreal, Qu
2011-09-12
The hotel is aged but well maintained. The staff is very kind and helpful. The beach is the most beautiful beach of the area. The room are comfortable and clean. This is not a brand new hotel so you can expect some wear and tear but overall it is well kept. The food from the buffet and the restaurants was not the greatest. Im not sure whether is was due to the fact that it wasn't peak season... Perhaps. Go to the Lindo buffet near the lobby for the best buffet. Lots of walking. lots and lots. which is a good exercise considering the fact that we dont do much most of the day ah!ah! One major downside that is unavoidable is the beach vendors selling their crappy stuff. Very annoying. I travelled with my mother and our intend was to rest and this is what we did. Not a place for party thats for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach
The weak points
the food
Certified

5 star hotel

, Markham, ON
2011-07-20
This hotel was 5 star. The selection of food was wide and good quality. It has plenty of activities including a shopping centre with a carousel and ice cream and crepe store. The entire resort was kept very clean and we were upgraded to a suite which we really appreciated as there were 4 of us in one room. We loved the wave pool but the lazy river was a bit boring but still a nice option. We liked that the resort was large so there was plenty of lounge chairs and no lineups for the buffet. Specialty restaurants need to be booked in advance but we still had a good selection available. The steak house and seafood restaurant were amazing. Staff are all very polite and service was efficient. Loved this vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel was terrific. The buffet had a wide selection. We only tried 3 of the specialty restaurants of which 2 had amazing food. The wave pool was amazing. The beach was beautiful. The rooms are spacious and kept very clean.
The weak points
The resort is very big so there is considerable walking to get from place to place. There are many mosquitoes at dusk. The Japanese restaurant was a bit disappointing the food was way too salty. The performance by the chef was entertaining though.
Certified

An Excellent Choice

, Markham, ON
2011-06-27
We love this hotel as it has everything. Good for family and kids and adults like us without children. The room assigned to us was so easy accessible to everywhere. We got some rainy days but able to avoid getting wet coz the paths are well shaded and covered. We can have a-la-car dinner every evening where most of the resort only offer 3 times for the week. Foods are good and have many varity. We will bring in friends next time. The beach is nice but very wavy, we had fun with the wave splash though. Hopefully it is just weather related and if the sea is calm, we can do snorkelling and see fishes. The environment is well decorated and we took so many nice pictures. We booked the last minute and the price is worthy coz we saved almost $400 compare to the regular price. June is the best time to go. It is beyond our expectattion overall. Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It has everything for a simple but luxuary relaxing holiday to spend
The weak points
The Spa, shopping centre and gym are located a bit far, not too convinence
Certified

2 Adults, 2 kids

, Georgetown, ON
2011-06-19
Had a great time at this resort, kids loved the wave pool and lazy river. Room was nice but bathroom was showing signs of wear. Staff were good, beach was beautiful and food at buffet was very good, the a la carte's were just okay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food at buffet was good, staff were friendly and resort was good
The weak points
The bathroom was showing some signs of wear, overall room was good.
Certified

Mexican R&R

, Pincher Creek, AB
2011-06-07
Staff and facilities were fantastic! Beautiful beach with fabulous weather! Would recommend to anyone. Always greeted with a warm smile and a friendly Hola.Wish there was high end booze at the swim up bar but that was minor. The entertainment was great. No complaints at all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness of the staff along with how clean everything was kept were important for me. Great facilities and plan on going back in the near future.
The weak points
None
Certified

Definitely 5 Star

, Edmonton, AB
2011-05-02
Hotel, staff, meals .... all excellent. Would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel with excellent, caring staff. Grounds, pools, beach ... all amazing.
The weak points
Pool side lounge chairs being reserved despite rules stating otherwise.
Certified

Great Experience

, North York, ON
2011-04-24
The hotel was great. Clean, well maintained, food was ok, I would not consider it as a five star but as a four star hotel. The rooms could use renovation and refreshing. Staff was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Grounds - Service - Cleanliness - Great for kids - Entertainment
The weak points
- Rooms need renovation - Not worth the $$ paid - Food just ok
Certified

Overall mostly good

, Thompson, MB
2011-04-03
We (family of 4 with 2 teenage boys) booked 14 days in March 2011. The location is 30 minutes from Cancun which was very nice. Check in was extremely slow, the front desk is very different from other hotels/resorts with respect to this resort having check in tables, regardless we have travelled extensively and this resort's check in process was very slow ( about 1 hour). We had requested 3rd floor rooms when we booked the resort in October 2010 and again reminded the resort 2 weeks prior to check in via email and did not have them the first day we arrived however moved the next day. We waited about 4 hours after we arrived for our rooms to be ready.

Rooms: We stayed in a junior suite, the room was spacious as were the bathrooms (double sinks, a separate shower area and a separate tub). The hair dryers look like a vacuum cleaner and are useless to dry or style hair. The furniture in the rooms are well worn and could use updating as could the mattresses' (we like a hard mattress and these mattresses' were very hard).
The resort has a concierge in each block of rooms which was wonderful. The concierge booked all a la carte's, tennis courts, spa treatments etc as well as any room/housekeeping issues. The concierge was there till about 10 or 11 at night and this process worked well.
Food: the buffets were not impressive at all, very limited. The Maya does not have it's own buffet at dinner - just the a la cartes, we tried the Lindo, The Beach and the Del Mar buffets and they were all "okay". No seafood on any of the buffets, I did inquire about this and the response was to have seafood you book at the seafood restaurant. We did eat at the seafood and again the choices where limited and sparse for seafood. The a la carte were overall good with the French Gourmet and the Japanese at the Maya being excellent. There was room service available 24 hours which was good. There is also a shopping mall across the streets that had a crepe bar, tapas bar and a hamburger joint. My husband and oldest son ate at the hamburger joint one night before bed and had food poisoning for two days.
Beach: beautiful. However you must get up a 6 in the morning to reserve your chairs. Bars/washrooms/food set up well across the beach to accommodate without having to walk to far.
Pool: spacious but again you must get up at 6 to reserve chairs. I have never stayed at a resort that was so short on beach and pool loungers, we were up early every morning and most of the chairs were "reserved" with towels by 7 in the morning, we had a few days our towels went missing on the beach and one day someone put our stuff that was on the lounger on the ground and took the lounger while we were having lunch. The staff at the towel hut were understanding and did replace our towels for us.
Service: maid service was good however getting water and coffee was hit and miss, most days we did not have our coffee and water replaced and had to call for it. The waiters/waitresses were fantastic everywhere as were the bartenders (especially Jorge and Hose in the snake pit lounge and Mary and Jackie on the beach).
Gym: we were there 14 days and tried daily to use the treadmills (between 6 and 9 a.m.)with no success, we ran outside instead. The fitness center is very busy as it does accommodate all four resorts (I am unsure if it also services the Grand).
Entertainment: The night entertainment was excellent, very well done. Loved the courtyard entertainment at the shopping mall early each evening (local bands).
Overall the resort stay was good, for a two week vacation the size of this resort was perfect. Beautiful "jungle" areas around the resort, for the size of the resort getting around was good and the walking was nice.
Check Out: Any charges (spa etc) were paid upon check out, check out was fairly reasonable - we were not asked how our stay was, very curt.
We had friends stay at the Lindo the last week of our stay. They were not eating much as they found the food unsatisfactory and the a la cartes they booked at not impressive either. We told them about the French Gourmet and invited them to join us (as they stated upon check in they were told they had access to all the a la cartes at the Maya)as we had a reservation that evening for 4 and one of our sons did not want to go - therefore I would check with the concierge to add one more seat to the reservation. The concierge stated that the Lindo guests could not access that restaurant unless they paid $20 US each. I explained what they were told upon check in, that the information they were given was apparently incorrect(the concierge stated they could eat at any a la carte except the French Gourmet), also their poor experience with the food at the Lindo and that we were both from Canada however lived 8 hours away from each other and it would be nice to have one very nice meal together. She checked with her manager who stated no. I even told the manager the decision would affect whether or not we returned and recommended this resort and the manager would not allow our friends to eat there unless they paid the $20. I also know from travelling to many other chains such as the Riu and Sandals, that exceptions are made. My husband and I could get day passes to stay at the Iberostar Grand Resort all day (at no extra cost) but they would not allow the 2 Lindo guests to eat supper with us at the French Gourmet at the Maya. I am a loyal Riu Class Member and Sandals Select Member, it is for management decisions such as this one I will remain with the chains who "go that extra step" and not the ones who refuse to meet with you in person however use their employees to hide behind. (The manager would not meet with me). I will say the concierge who acted as the "go between" was very professional and courteous to deal with. I further stated that the adult group of 10 we usually travel with stayed at the grand the week we first arrived at the Maya (we could not stay there as the Grand is adult only)and each year we all travel together as well as individually, that there is a potential of losing 14 couples as well as family vacations yearly, the manager had no regard for repeat business, therefore for this reason alone I will not return to this resort, there are many wonderful aspects to this resort but I base my business and recommendations on customer service and the leadership at this resort does not. However the support staff were very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Mexican Beach. Great service staff and scenery.
The weak points
The food was not impressive. The management lead was not customer service based. A manager should meet with customers when a request is made.
Certified

Beautiful and so much to do

, Toronto, ON
2011-03-29
The air travel from Toronto is only 4 hours, but the transfer to the hotel took over an hour despite it being only about 20 minutes away. A lot of time was spent waiting on the transfer bus at the airport because they pick up a full greyhound load at a time to go to several of the resorts. The immigration process at the mexican airport is also longer than places like Punta Cana. The way back is also a serious time stealer. We left the hotel at 5:45a.m. (and there were already others on the bus from other hotels) for a 9:25a.m. flight. Brutal, compared to places that we have been before like Punta Cana.
The hotels in the Iberostar complex are beautifully built and landscaped. So much incredible detail is put into every square foot. Very impressive. The Lindo and the Maya share exactly the same amenities, so book which ever one is cheaper.
We asked for a room closer to the beach than we were originally offered and they accommodated us. So ask for what you want, you might get it. Our rooms had either 2 double beds or 1 king. No bed bugs. Hard beds good for bad backs. Got bugged by a few tiny millipedes and mosquitoes in the room, which is comforting to see because it means the massive amounts of pesticide used regularly have not killed everything yet, so maybe I won't die because I got caught behind the fumigation golf cart one night as it smoked the resort when I was walking back from the spa...
Maid service was excellent.
Lots of towels. Jacuzzi and shower had lots of hot water with good water pressure. Robes provided. A/C only goes down to 71 degrees F, but you can keep the ceiling fans on to be more comfortable. Concierges in every building who will make reservations for you for a la carte restaurants or tennis, etc. We didn't use them because we are not used to having a butler in real life.
There's 24 room service, which we also didn't use, because we wanted to eat in bulk at the buffet.
Tennis is free with good racquets and balls. There are lights at night, but if you don't wear repellent, you will get eaten alive. Best time to play is 6a.m.-8a.m. or 3p.m. - 6p.m..
Excellent gym facilities with yoga and exercise classes. All the fit people can be found here. Not I. Many activities - wave pool which turns on every hour with a siren that calls all children to come running like cockroaches to sugar; lazy river with inner tubes (watch adults try to get into the inner tubes, very entertaining if you're not the adult trying to get in the inner tube), kids club, volleyball, bocci ball, air rifle, archery, dancing, etc.. Wifi in the lobby and main bar - people bring their ipads 'n pods.
There are coatis on site (they look like what you would get if you mated a raccoon with a monkey). People were feeding them constantly despite signs in 4 languages saying "PLEAESE DO NOT FEED the coatis". Those people obviously spoke a 5th language. Bring your camera though because they are funny-looking, bordering on cute. And in the same area (on the way to the beach), you'll see birds with incredible blue wings, and I mean blue.
Beach is beautiful whitish sand and turquoise water with waves all week, sometimes fun, sometimes battering, (hang on to your bikini!)...but still fun. Wear water shoes and look for where the most people are frolicking- that way you can avoid the many rocks in the water (punta cana beaches are better because of this, but once you find the safe spots here, it's all good).
Lifeguards on duty during the day do a good job of keeping people from being darwinian and going out too far. Saw them actually do a rescue, so they are definitely on the ball.
Not too many beach vendors, very low key and not disturbing at all.
Lots of chairs and huts for shade. I got up at 6a.m. and got a primo location, mostly because of the 2 hour time difference from Toronto rather than the fear of not getting a hut.
No trouble exchanging towels during the day.
Bar service on the beach and snacks - sausages, hamburgers, fries, salads. If you go to the other hotels (which you have access to), they have other goodies like chicken wings, corn on the cob, etc.
Definitely be on the beach for the beach party where the head chef and his crew make a giant pan of paella which is delicious. They will let you put on the chef's hat so you can get a picture of yourself shoveling the tons of rice, chicken and shrimp as it cooks. This is followed by a mechanical bull riding contest on the beach, if you are interested in looking like a flailing idiot.
Food was okay, sometimes good, sometimes really good. Not as tasty as dominican food, but they had some excellent cheeses, and spanish night had some great seafood.
Ice cream bar was a hit with the kids (as was the chocolate fountain one night)...the soft-serve ice cream in the restaurant (El Tapatio) and the ice cream bar near the pool added 7lbs to my frame, or maybe it was the cheese...
or the amazingly crisp bacon at breakfast...
There's a juice bar at the wave pool - carrot, celery, apple...they even reluctantly juiced a beet for me. Dirty Monkeys with real bananas and milk. Whole milk. Yum.
Service is unbelievable. Staff are always trying to ensure you are being taken care of. The training they must give their staff should be franchised and brought to Toronto.
Top shelf booze - but you have to ask for it. They apparently have Grey Goose under the counter, but you'll get the Absolut vodka if you don't know any better. If you're a 20year old spring breaker that will drink melon shooters and think that's cool, you'll get the local no-name booze. And you deserve it.
The spa...an unexpected surprise. Free accesss to the water services for adults. Steam room - ooh. Sauna - aah. Hot and cold pools that have jets that make you feel like you're backing up against a fire hose - ooh, aah. Turn the corner near the showers and see the coolest pool ever. If I had a few million dollars...this spa would be at my house. You can get massages, etc. if you have money to spend, but we were happy with the fire hose treatment. Watch out for the chromotherapy shower - its starts out nice and hot and just when you settle into the feeling of bliss...it goes frigid...but before you can react and jump out...it goes back to nice and hot...and you relax again...then it goes frigid...then hot...like this for 5 minutes. Supposed to be good for you. Funny for anyone watching your facial expressions the first time you're in it. (Just kidding, they can't see you).
There's golf - didn't try it.
There's a mini-tren that is supposed to help you get around the massive resort - never seemed to figure out its schedule, so we used our mini-legs. There are shows at night- didn't see them.
There was a wedding on the beach - beautiful, but I wouldn't do a wedding here unless you want 50 sunburned, half-naked strangers staring at you while you try to say your vows while your veil keeps blowing in your face and choking you. (Mental note - do not wear a veil on a windy beach even if it is your wedding.)
We spent more than we usually do on this holiday, but we got what we paid for, that's for sure. Unfortunately, one of the kids had to pay adult rate because you can't have 1 adult and 2 kids in a room (well, you can, but one of the kids has to pay the adult rate - whatever).
We previously avoided Mexico due to hotels exploding and fear of getting hit by drug cartel gunfire by accident, but we would definitely come back to this resort again. Did I mention the yummy blue cheese?
Oh yeah - one of us got Montezuma's revenge on the last day -nothing Immodium, bananas and white rice couldn't hold together. No one else in our group got sick though...so it might have been a consequence of eating too much blue cheese... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
price, beach, facilities -( tennnis, spa, wave pool, etc.), service, blue cheese, bacon, juice bar, name brand booze.
The weak points
airport transfer, rocks in water, buffet food in general
Certified

MAYA Review

, Sutton West, ON
2011-03-27
Beautiful Hotel, Food was Great, Room was great, absolutely no complaints. Would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and spacious rooms.
The weak points
Had to buy boogie boards as it was too wavy for anything else.
Certified

1st trip to Cancun

, Coquitlam, BC
2011-03-27
It was great. To save some money book your local tour thru internet. The guys at hotel charge full price(Chichen Itza - reg $99, I paid $53). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
variety of activities for family
The weak points
business service - no printing service, buffet was almost same everyday....
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021