Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal

Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
4.064.064.064.064.06
4.06 based on 389 reviews
#27 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (97)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Family Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-21
We stayed at Akumal, and the hotel was so good. Beautiful beach. Great management, great food, awesome entertainment.
Not much of a choice of room. Took a long time for check in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, good food, friendly personnel, easy transportation between hotels. nice entertainment and nightly shows, good room service.
The weak points
The juices weren't freshly made. water added to drinks especially of get mixed with juice. not good Wi-Fi.
Certified

Jeff Carter's review

, Ennismore, ON
2019-11-29
This is not what i expect out of a 5 star resort. Given the other places i have been, it is a 4 at best. Would not recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is great, pools were nice.
The weak points
Constant smell of sewage all over the grounds service was really slow Rooms are really dated A la carte restaurants were booked, never had any availability food was average at best wifi was awful
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-04
The Bahia Akumal was very nice. It was a huge complex of 4 hotels all of
which we were able to visit as we were staying in the Akumal. The trolly transit system was very efficient. The beach was long and wide-great for long walks. Lots of pools throughout the property along with palapas,sun beds and tents. The restaurants were really nice with a good variety of food. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable with a huge pillow top mattress. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Luxury Grand Bahia Principe Akumal had a really nice atmosphere. It was very spacious and lush . The complex had a wonderful shopping and entertainment area that served all 4 hotels.
The weak points
I don't think the orange juice was real!
Certified

2 week vacation in akumal portion

, Hillcrest Mines, AB
2019-03-10
absolutely awesome -- not one complaint [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food-pools not overly crowded-rooms clean-any request dealt with quickly
The weak points
none
Certified

Very nice vacation

, London, ON
2019-02-16
This resort is very picturesque. Beautiful landscape and pools. Good variety of nightly entertainment throughout the resort complex. Grab a tram and go wherever you want. Loved the wildlife. Lots of iguanas. The rooms are a nice size. We were in 8222 adult only building facing the ocean. Best view. Beautiful sunrise while having coffee on balcony each morning. Mostly ate at the buffets throughout the resort complex. Food choices were good, but were lacking vegan options. Couldn't find a veggie burger anywhere. Staff were very friendly and eager to please. Staying at this resort got you into Coba, Tulum and Si an kaan. The lobby at Coba was very enjoyable because of the bar and live entertainment there nightly. Overall a great place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very beautiful resort. Immaculate grounds. Trams always available to take you back to your room or to the other hotels within the complex. Great friendly staff.
The weak points
Not enough variety of vegan/vegetarian food available. Items at buffet labeled vegan but had cheese, meat or fish in them. Vegan means no animal products used.
Certified

Bahia Principe Akumal

, Montréal, QC
2018-07-31
We visited the Bahia Principe resorts in Mexico so many times we stopped counting. Our first visit dates from the days when the Tulum hotel was the only one built. We visited the Akumal hotel during the first years of operation, same for the Coba. We loved this resort so much we didn't hesitate to plan our wedding in the Akumal section with family and friends… We were so happy to come back this summer to the Akumal hotel with the kids to spend quality family time as well as to refresh their memories, despite the high cost of a luxury resort (Don Pablo Collection).
However, it will be our last visit. We can't accept the position of the resort and his shareholder Pinero Group. It's now day 5. There were virtually no shady spots. The main pool (around 300 sunbeds) has only 15 umbrellas. People get up at the crack of dawn and run literally down to the pool to reserve sun beds with towels. Every morning (starting 6 Am), the guests are disputing the few parasols available. We tried without a parasol but the kids suffered burns. We now have to wait until late afternoon or to use the other pools of the resort (parasols at Tulum hotel are fixed in the ground).
We contacted the customer services, the manager and the director of the hotel. They all confirmed the situation and can't improve it. The umbrellas are on order since April and must come from Spain!!! Strange… It seems they use the same excuse (lack of umbrellas due to a storm) for months… Any decent true 5* hotel would have an umbrella for every 2 sun loungers. This is an easy fix.
The Pinero group saves money on the backs of the customers. Their advertising motto is “we are family”. Sorry guys don't be my family if you don't care about my kids' wellness. We now sadly realize that Pinero Group's primary purpose is to cut costs at the expense of customers.
If you have been in the same situation, please make some noise. They have the feeling of being untouchable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge hotel
The weak points
No consideration for guestd

Perfect vacation

, Richmond, BC
2018-02-16
We want to thank all stuff in hotel who helped us to feel comfortable and safe. Beautiful resort , good food with lots of variety for all tastes.
We like very much all shows. Beach was constantly cleaned by hardworking staff. Special thanks to Doctor Martinez who helped me with some medical problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not amazing

, Westlock, AB
2018-01-20
Would not go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice a la carts
The weak points
bad slow service Uncomfortable beds Freezing pools and bad weather Terrible buffet
Certified

Vacation

, Montréal, QC
2017-11-08
Just returned from a 10 day .wonderful place fantastic service beautiful golf course great food. Really nothing to complain about, all the staff are very accommodating making sure that you are very comfortable and well served. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dont trust their airport transport/ Front desk is

, Calgary, AB
2017-04-13
Sadly. I have to review this hotel.
The transportation provided by the hotel is a joke. The front desk has no decision making at all. From the moment I arrived they got mad at me cause I didn't print my reservation? Really? It took them 3 minutes to find it in the system with my name. And there is no manager around to make any important decision If you have to take the transportation provided by this resort I strongly recommend you to TRIPLE check the times. They screw me over and almost missed my flight back.
My flight was scheduled for 145 am and they confused and book my pick up for 1000 am in the same day. 8 hrs later then my departure . As you can imagine I was desperate and try talking .with the front desk= they said they don't del with that they didn't even try . Talked to public relations.= the same. No options, they tried just to find by a reason to no make themselves responsables They make me feel like it was my fault even though the transportation company confirmed before they will come that night at 10 pm.
I called Bahia principe customer service over the phone. They advised to take a cab so I don't miss my flight and after that to complain to get a refund. I had to take a cab dropping some people off at the hotel. I just made it
I sent my email the next day to complain.
And 2 weeks later I receive a final email
DENIED!! They said if I can't have a receipt (that cab drivers can't even have in Mexico) they won't give me a refund. The estimated trip from the hotel to the airport is April 140 dlls the cab driver because he saw my wife crying end it up in 80 dlls . I ask for the 80 and they say no.
I sent an email back asking to reconsider. And let them know I was a truthful guest and I even married in the same hotel last year. Provided my name and all wedding info. They answer back. DOUBLE DENIED.
My advise to all of you. If you need a perfect holiday without worrying about anything at all... GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL.
I can't trust them anymore and unfortunately I won't be back to the resort I got married. SAD BUT TRUE.
Thanks Bahia principe . For ruining such a beautiful memory of my wedding.! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Inside the Hotel not front desk
The weak points
No manager available , poor customer service at the front desk. public relations can't help outside tours

Friends Vacation

, Algonquin Highlands, ON
2017-03-18
Travelled in a group of 12 friends to the beautiful Luxury Gran Bahia Principe Akumal! Our stay, from start to finish was incredible. The food was amazing - we had 5 a la cartes and loved them all! The room - Villa 59 - was close to the Don Pablo section and easy to get to the beach and pool. Lots of trolleys to get you quickly where you needed to go. Drivers were always polite and happy to take you for a ride. We travelled over to Bahia Principe Tulum as well for a little karaoke fun and shopping. Our room was a ground floor and was really lovely. Bed was comfy and lots of pillow choices if you required. (They did seem to clean it a bit late in the day but it is a huge resort so no big deal for us). We spent most of our time at the beach and had wait service as well as a central bar. Beach was long and you really got a work out walking through the deep white sand. Water was clear and lots of fish to see. We didn't take any excursions preferring to stay at the beach, but there were lots to choice from. We loved our trip to Akumal and would definitely return. Staff were friendly and always accommodating. Weather was perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach, drinks, staff, beautiful resort!
The weak points
none

Luxury grande Bahia Príncipe Akumal

, London, ON
2017-02-18
Akumal was a part of a huge interconnected resort. I recommend Akumal because it gives you full access to Coba and Tulum(they don't have access to Akumal so Akumal is not as crowded)
They have fantastic nightly entertainment. We especially like Micheal Jackson! The kids club was well organized with plenty of activities around the resort and the kids loved it!
Buffet was excellent with great themes every
night.
Lots of pools and nice clean beach. Swimming area is marked off to protect the reef.
Shuttle services to get you around is great but be prepared to do a lot of walking! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Excellent buffet options -Clean beach -kids club well organized and fun -Wait staff on the beach -Clean rooms/stocked mini bar daily
The weak points
Huge grounds so it's slightly confusing when you first arrive Recommend taking a tour on arrival so you don't miss out on any of the activities and areas that you have access to.
Certified

Fantastic vacation!

, Langley, BC
2017-02-10
This was our first visit to Mexico and our first all-inclusive. We had taken cruises before but we wanted something different this time. It was a struggle to choose - the vast number of resorts is overwhelming. We chose right.
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal was beautiful. The resort and room were extremely clean, the people were super friendly and helpful. The buffet had a selection that would satisfy anyone and everything we tried was amazing. We ate at 3 different ala carte restaurants, Dolce Vita (Akumal), Maiko (Sian Ka'an), and Tequila. All three were fantastic. The service was perfect and the food was spectacular, particularly at Maiko.
The beaches were beautiful. We stayed in the adults only Villa 83 and it was close to the adults only pool and buffet. The room was spotless and the minibar was filled up everyday without fail. The bars were all good, although it took a while for me to find one that could make a Caesar!
There were always beach chairs and palapas available so it never felt like there were as many people there as there really were! The onsite transportation was frequent and handy if you didn't feel like walking. If I had one complaint only, it was that the bed was very hard. Otherwise, a perfect holiday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beaches were beautiful - Food was fantastic, both buffet and ala carte - Super clean everywhere - Very friendly staff, very helpful in every aspect
The weak points
My only complaint was the hard mattress. Everything else was beyond expectations!
Certified

Can't wait to return

, Vancouver, BC
2016-08-11
Fantastic vacation from the time we arrived until we sadly had to leave. All staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and we were assigned our own Butler who helped us to our room. The room was clean and luxurious. We never used our Butler's services again, but we knew that he could easily be contacted if we needed his help. We often ate at the buffet which was fine, but found the a la carte restaurants to be excellent. Reservations can be made online which was easier than with hotel staff. The beach was beautiful and we were always able to find a chair in a shady spot, although we sat at the area for adults only. We rarely used the swimming pools and never saw a place to sit poolside. The beach was right beside the pool area so we could have swam at either and lounge on the beach. It was easy to travel around the resort on the shuttles. You never had to wait that long for one and the drivers were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Lots to do. Relaxing. Easy to get around. Beautiful beaches.
The weak points
Bed could have been more comfortable. Buffet food not very hot.
Certified

Bahia Principe Akumal.

, Kitchener, ON
2016-08-01
Impeccably clean resort, super friendly staff, very tasty and always fresh foods, desserts and fruits.Brand name liqours.The best vacation ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Airdrie, AB
2016-05-16
Was our first time there but certainly will not be our last. Staff was friendly and helpful room was always neat and tidy. The food was amazing lots of stuff to see and do . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was a strong point in my opinion
Certified

Amazing

, Beaumont, AB
2016-03-17
I have been to many all inclusives and by far this was the best. The rooms were immaculate, grounds immaculate , the staff very friendly and the food choices were excellent. The most impressive is that you could use the amenities at the 3 neighbouring hotels from the pools to the food and able to go to the nightly entertainment where you wanted. My family and I will definitely be returning along with extended family as well. I highly recommend staying here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facilities , restaurant choices , pool choices
The weak points
None in my mind
Certified

Awesome resort!

, Esterhazy, SK
2016-03-11
We really liked the Akumal because of it's proximity to the beach & because it gave us access to almost all of the restaurants & facilities. the food was excellent, the beach & pools were awesome & all of the staff we encountered were friendly & helpful. We would definitely stay there again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort was great! The staff were all friendly, accommodations were clean & comfortable, buffet & restaurants were all above average - overall a wonderful experience!
Certified

People made this resort a heaven

, London, ON
2015-09-15
HOLA! the people working in this resort were just awesome, caring, devoted and friendly.
They took good care of us. The hot and muggy weather was no match to what this resort had to offer. The facilities and services were stupendous. The only flip side is the travel agent's bus service from resort to cancun airport could have been better.
We were treated like guests all along. This review is for Akumal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, caring staff, humble workers, customer friendly and focussed
The weak points
travel agent transportation to and from cancun left room for improvement. It could be better coordinated .

Wonderful resort, we had a great time!

, Montreal, QC
2015-08-18
The hotel was very nice, the staff was very friendly and always there to accommodate you, always with a smile on their face! The pools are very nice: there is the activities pool, which had music all the time, but very surprisingly was full of kids as well, and the pool with a bar in it, which had very low music but was very nice! There are also a couple of other pools, one with Jacuzzis, great to relax! The beach of Akumal is really nice. There is a stage in the water where shows take place, and there are always activities in the morning. You can take some bread with you and feed the fish, go in the morning cause in the afternoon it gets crowded and you might miss them! The resort is big but not too big to be tiring. There are shuttles that pass every 15 minutes but we were not very close to the lobby/pools/beach and it would only take us 10-15 minutes by foot to get to our destination. The walks were nice because everything around you is beautiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is AMAZING, very friendly and ALWAYS smiling. They work so hard in the burning sun all day, and they do everything to make you happy.
The weak points
Room service is very bad. Sometimes the food wouldn't show up and at one point they did not pick the leftover tray up (you put it outside of your room and call them). Racoons devoured the leftovers and made a mess (including spread out number twos).
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Scarborough, ON
2015-03-07
This s a beautiful resort that is well taken care of. The beach is vast with different sections available. The sand is a bit rough as it seems to be a combination of shells and fine coral but water socks/shoes will solve this problem if you have sensitive feet. There are plenty of palapas and lounges to go around, though many people did reserve early in the morning around 8 am. Make sure to bring your snorkel gear as the beach is bordered by coral reefs with many tropical fish to view and swim amongst.

The food is brilliant with so much variety. You can access the other three properties and their restaurants so eating at the buffets never became boring. We also tried five a la carte restaurants, the Mexican Tequila and Japanese Mikado being our favourites. If you choose to eat at Arlequin I would suggest the filet mignon and the salmon at Tequila.

The service is impeccable, the staff are all so friendly and most of them speak adequate English. Housekeeping visited our rooms twice, always leaving fresh towels and turn down service. The mini bar is included and restocked daily (however we found if we needed extras the staff provided).

Check-in and check-out were a breeze and efficient. This is a huge resort with multiple sections to explore but the trolleys are frequent. They are a bit confusing but just ask the drivers and they will tell you where you need to go.

If you shop at the Hacienda make sure you bargain with the vendors for pricing (never settle for paying the listed price). We heard the Thursday Mexican night was a waste of time and money so we didn't go. We didn't visit the discotheque either. The hotel is quite south so be prepared for a bus ride of about an hour and half from the hotel.

We will be visiting this hotel again next year with our family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service were excellent at this hotel. The beach was beautiful with the added bonus of the coral reef.
The weak points
We had a couple of minor issues with our bathroom but they were fixed in a timely manner.
Certified

Last minute getaway

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-09
Beautiful resort with access to all Bahia facilities. It was last minute decision and no regrets whatsoever. We'll definitely be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was almost perfect!
The weak points
An hour and a half bus ride from airport
Certified

Grand bahia principle Akuma very poor

, Trenton, ON
2014-09-29
I took the upgrade to the "royal golden" package and the day after arrival had the main pool closed, two of the bars closest to me closed. Constant construction made the trip a horrible experience. By three days into my week stay found a large influx of visitors made the staff scramble to keep up and the quality of everything including the food to suffer. And the beds were absolutely horrible I spent half my stay sleeping on the couch in the room! I will not be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, location, location
The weak points
Beds, staff, ongoing construction and closure of many of the amenities made the trip the only one in my life to be happy to see end. And I travel a lot.. have been to Mexico many times and only went based on reviews I read about the property. but not mine
Certified

My view

, Scarborough, ON
2014-09-22
Hope this helps....this was our 3rd time at this resort. The first 2 times were great that's what took us back and this time we took our 2 children 7 & 10 years. This trip was ok not great the service was not as welcoming as before as the staff seemed as if they were always rushing. The room was good, air condition worked fine, water hot and cold was fine, toilet flushed ok, maid service was fine. Lots of insects but normal for this time of year and in a room on the lower level. I called and requested the room sprayed and they did so it was ok. The food was ok, lots of choices, we did not do any of the a la carte this trip as the kids are picky eaters but the previous trips the a la carte was fine. The beach was fantastic and the pools were amazing. The bar service was good. At the buffet the waiting staff was ok 2 we found was outstanding ( Diego & Jaime). We only had one encounter with the most rude person I have ever meet in all my vacationing ( Leonardo) and we just did not sit at his table anymore. I do hope that he gets his just desserts . We booked in the royal golden section but was given a room that was not in that section but given all the privileges, did not like this as it was dishonest. They were people with green bracelets in the same villa and the golden section bracelets are yellow. The room was villa 80 and it was too far from the beach and pool, more forest around with mosquito's. We managed but did request a room on the 2 nod or 3 rd level and one would think being our 3rd time at the same resort they would have tried to fulfil the request instead we were given the bottom floor. All in all the kids had fun and we enjoyed watching them have fun. If I ever go back to Mexico I will try the Moon Palace instead. I think Grand Bahia needs to improve on customer service especially how they are becoming a luxury hotel as of Nov 1st. The shoes were not any good. They need to find the Michael Jackson they had 2 years ago as the new one did not do him any justice. The best of the week was the 70's and 80's show. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,Pools
The weak points
Customer service at reception and in restaurant. The shows very poor.
Certified

Wonderful stay

, Oshawa, ON
2014-09-08
Very nice resort , good service , good food and excellent location . Very professional staff . Nothing to complain about . Can't wait to go back . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food . Location . Very good , professional staff
The weak points
Need more English speaking personnel .
Certified

Bahia Principe Akumal

, Maple, ON
2014-08-27
Excellent resort, very clean. Great beach. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great family resort. Can visit the Tulum and Coba sections as well so lots of fun. Lots to do.
The weak points
No free internet. Beach a little rocky but very clear water and lots of fish. Very fun.
Certified

Never Bored!

, Sudbury, ON
2014-07-18
Royal Golden Upgrade is worth it! Recommend building 66, beachfront room.
Great service and good food in the various buffets and a la cartes.
Big resort but you can take trains to the rest of the Grand Bahia Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were excellent!
The weak points
The Seafood a la carte
Certified

Beware of Upgrades

, Terrace, BC
2014-04-25
We booked and paid for our vacation last November. We specifically requested that we be close to the beach and as we were travelling with another couple for a wedding and we wanted to be close to everyone. When we arrived it was to find out that the hotel had been severely over booked and they were going to upgrade us to the adults only section known as Saiin Kaan. Generally upgrades are supposed to be a good thing.... We were across the highway and along way from the beach. There was trams that we took to the other hotels and beaches. Majority of our time was spent on these trams, In our opinion this was not an upgrade it was just to cover their butts because they had over booked. Instead of having a view of the beach we had a view of a dried up river bed. The staff is very friendly and the beach was great. Luckily we had a gold band so we could go to all the hotels on this resort so were able to attend the wedding and visit with everyone but were unable to have our grand daughter stay with us in our room because we were in an adult only section. Two out of the three of the a la carte restaurants were not very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff and beaches
The weak points
Overbooked resort and no easy access to beaces from the adult only part of resort.
Certified

Ba'hia principe akumal April 2014

, Toronto, ON
2014-04-07
Grounds and gardens in excellent condition and pleasing. Waterfront adequate. Pools good. Staff excellent. Frequent sightings of wildlife pleasant and enjoyable Overall experience very pleasant and relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quality of grounds and gardens. Friendliness and willingness of stuff. Ease of access to facilities. Frequent views of wildlife.
The weak points
From room 6512 and neighboring, we heard boom boom from loudspeaker beside pool from noon until 10
Certified

Good time!

, Vanier, ON
2014-03-21
We had a good time, lots of walking but the carts came by a lot and if you smile a lot you get better service it seems. :) I will have to say the golden royal package was pointless, unless the rooms are different than the others. The housecoat was for a size 0 and we asked for 2 beds and got one, we were supposed to get a direct ride to hotel and didn't, which was fine but when I think of it we paid the extra $200 for a mickey of tequila which we never drank. The resort itself is huge and I was surprised with the entertainment, some nights were really good! The beach was nice, but rocky, the pool side is hard to get a chair that someone hasn't claimed via a towel. Towels should be taken away after 2 hours it really takes the fun out of it. I would go back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The carts were great and most the staff were too. Loved the bathroom setup in our room.
The weak points
The front desk for the royal golden could have been more helpful, he barely spoke English. The golden royal package seemed pointless really. The internet should have a daily rate to buy more time. The app that was advertised never worked.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021