Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal

Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal
4.074.074.074.074.07
4.07 based on 402 reviews
#22 of 131 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (152)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Excellent

, Smith Falls, ON
2022-11-23
We were well taken care of on this vacation. The entertainment (Wow! Circus, music, dancers), activities, food and staff were awesome on every level. I danced until my knees hurt, every chance I got. Celebrated a couple of birthdays, staff went up and above to make them very special. Speciality coffee fire show a plus. Japanese Restaurant al a cart, out of this world, yummy and entertaining. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
People worked very hard to ensure we had an amazing stay, on all levels. Bravo!
The weak points
Maintenance as mentioned above.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean. I did not feel threatened by covid anywhere. Staff wore masks, but I really did not feel it to be necessary especially outside.
Certified

Paradise is real

, Burlington, ON
2022-09-02
It was our first time travelling with my wife. I was so scared because all my co-workers in Canada said Mexico was a dangerous country. It went upside down after experiencing it. All the people are nice and we had a problem with the actual tourist people! You can see the genuine kindness of the people working in Bahia Principe, and they treat us like a king and queen! Such a lovely experience, and please, Canadians, do not be scared of Mexico. I've met people who speak English to nothing where we only communicate with body language. They still do help to the best of their ability. They are helpful, genuine, and legit people. Treat them nice and it will come back to you 100% guaranteed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
If you are staying longer than 4 days, i'd advise to get some xcursion. Xcaret, Senses and Xplore! OMG you can't miss these!
The weak points
When we were there, the ocean aren't that clean. However, the pool are huge and super clean and you can visit all the resort!
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Super sanitized, our room is cleaned every day,
Certified

Accessible and friendly

, Troy, ON
2022-05-14
I went to Luxury Akumal looking for accessibility (ramps, service, accommodations). They put us in first floor room in a building with a ramp, our room was right by it. The mobility scooter fit and there was more than enough space as well to maneuver it inside. We paid for a higher rate room so we were put in adults only section. First floor rooms everywhere are accessible. I asked for a bath chair and they provided one as well. The ramps are all over the hotel although not visibly marked, they are a bit steep so one has to go down slowly or up at full speed, I recommend going with someone able to help just in case, although staff were happy to help anytime. Guest services was in charge of rides for us and they were excellent. Guest services/used for be butler service said they have a special wheelchair to bring people inside of the ocean which I think it's amazing ! We didn't need it but I know many people who would benefit from this.

The hotel also caters to different diets and food allergies, we told the guest services and they gave us a letter to give to the waiters and they got the chef at every meal to let us know what was safe to eat or offered to make us something separate. Just make sure to double check your food as there is always human error.
They had gluten free food corner (called low gluten) and the vegetarian corned also had gluten free items. The waitstaff was wonderful and very attentive as well. I'm very pleased sure the hotel and its services. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Accessibility friendly Food Allergy/specific diet friendly Great customer service Staff constantly cleaning beach of seaweed brought it. We went during high season for this.
The weak points
Handicap ramps are steep and not labeled but able to ask for help. Should have handicap sign on huts with loungers to have those reserved like they do for tables in the restaurants.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks in all restaurants. All staff wear masks. Constant cleaning in all hotel areas.
Certified

Less variety of food at lobby's & snackbar

, Delta , BC
2022-05-05
Been at Baha'i principe akumal 5 times now & brought groups of friends with me every year since 2015 . Was not very Happy or satisfied this time ) room mattress was so uncomfortable ( I slept so bad tossing & turning & had back problems every morning I woke up & food wasn't as good as other times I came [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very nice & great staff
The weak points
Services & food
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Ok
Certified

Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal

, Collingwood, ON
2022-04-24
We spent a week at Akumal and loved every minute of it. The service was exceptional and they acted as if they were genuinely happy to have you there. The restaurants had amazing meals. The buffet was good too. The only downside was the rocky beach. Be sure to take water shoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Exceptional service.
The weak points
A bit disorganized with paperwork for checkin and checkout and the excursions.
Certified

Relaxing holiday

, Halifax, NS
2022-04-12
Check in was fast. Our room was ready and was not deficient in anything. It was well serviced everyday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I was always able to find a chair at the beach without have to reserve it at day break. The beach bar was usually pretty quick to get a drink. Water/lemonade was self serve. Buffet & restaurants have great food.
The weak points
At check out time, the hotel shuttle did not come to our room to pick us up at the prearranged time.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks. Guests were required to wear masks at the buffet and restaurants.
Certified

Grand bahi akumal

, Ridgeway, ON
2022-02-28
First I will say this was my 11 trip to the Bahi principe group of resorts in the Mayan. Despite the COVID issues the resort was pretty open with protocols in place to keep guests safe. Masking was required in certain areas along with a glove requirement in the buffets.
Our rooms lacked small extras that are usually available, no small bottles of alcohol in fridge but beer and pop , no reason.
My biggest complaint was the people next door and the excessive noise early morning for four days in a row. Our calls to the front desk did nothing to deter them. After fours days we were ready to insist they either remove them or relocate us to another room. Efforts from the resort fell on deaf ears. After four days their vacation was over. But it is apparent that the resort has little or no desire to take action.
The resort is great and otherwise we enjoyed our stay. Food excellent, rooms comfortable and activities great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Good food
The weak points
Dealing with unruly rooms. Excessive noise
Certified

Bahia Principe Akumal

, Cambridge, ON
2022-02-23
The resort was beautiful the adults section a r [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Adult only section was excellent the beach area and infinity pool area awesome. The restaurants in all resorts ( ala carte) exceptional cleanliness top notch. Staff professional and dedicated.Buffets great quality and variety.
The weak points
The rooms and bathrooms could be updated
Certified

Vacation ends in horrifying tragedy

, Nepean, ON
2022-02-16
We stayed at the Bahia Principe Luxury Akumal resort. The first few days were relaxing. That all suddenly ended when I was exiting my shower and the hinge of the glass door gave way and the door shattered, showering me with broken glass shards. I suffered dozens of bloody cuts all over my body from the shoulders down and one very deep slice on my ankle. So much blood and glass everywhere! The ordeal was terrifying, painful and traumatising, and entirely caused by the glass shower door dangerously failing during normal use. The resort did almost nothing to help or compensate me. They sent a first-aider, who admitted I needed stitches, but they did not want me to see the onsite doctor. I was not given a wheelchair, crutches, cane or any personal walking assistance. I was barely able to walk for several days and I was still bleeding and limping painfully for the remainder of my stay and in considerable pain which I had to treat with pain killers and bandages at my own expense. I could not go in the pool or ocean or engage in any of the resort activities I had travelled there to enjoy. During the following week I repeatedly tried to talk to management and see a doctor, all of which they refused and ignored. I was told I would have to take it up with the resort company's customer service department when I got home. I have done this, but they have ignored all my efforts to contact them. No response at all.
Unbelievably callous and irresponsible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Nice grounds and beach area.
The weak points
Room was dangerous and not properly maintained. Medical emergency handled poorly. No elevator service, even for accident victim. Callous lack of communication and dishonest management.

Family Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-21
We stayed at Akumal, and the hotel was so good. Beautiful beach. Great management, great food, awesome entertainment.
Not much of a choice of room. Took a long time for check in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, good food, friendly personnel, easy transportation between hotels. nice entertainment and nightly shows, good room service.
The weak points
The juices weren't freshly made. water added to drinks especially of get mixed with juice. not good Wi-Fi.
Certified

Jeff Carter's review

, Ennismore, ON
2019-11-29
This is not what i expect out of a 5 star resort. Given the other places i have been, it is a 4 at best. Would not recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is great, pools were nice.
The weak points
Constant smell of sewage all over the grounds service was really slow Rooms are really dated A la carte restaurants were booked, never had any availability food was average at best wifi was awful
Certified

Relaxing Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-04
The Bahia Akumal was very nice. It was a huge complex of 4 hotels all of
which we were able to visit as we were staying in the Akumal. The trolly transit system was very efficient. The beach was long and wide-great for long walks. Lots of pools throughout the property along with palapas,sun beds and tents. The restaurants were really nice with a good variety of food. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The bed was extremely comfortable with a huge pillow top mattress. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Luxury Grand Bahia Principe Akumal had a really nice atmosphere. It was very spacious and lush . The complex had a wonderful shopping and entertainment area that served all 4 hotels.
The weak points
I don't think the orange juice was real!
Certified

2 week vacation in akumal portion

, Hillcrest Mines, AB
2019-03-10
absolutely awesome -- not one complaint [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food-pools not overly crowded-rooms clean-any request dealt with quickly
The weak points
none
Certified

Very nice vacation

, London, ON
2019-02-16
This resort is very picturesque. Beautiful landscape and pools. Good variety of nightly entertainment throughout the resort complex. Grab a tram and go wherever you want. Loved the wildlife. Lots of iguanas. The rooms are a nice size. We were in 8222 adult only building facing the ocean. Best view. Beautiful sunrise while having coffee on balcony each morning. Mostly ate at the buffets throughout the resort complex. Food choices were good, but were lacking vegan options. Couldn't find a veggie burger anywhere. Staff were very friendly and eager to please. Staying at this resort got you into Coba, Tulum and Si an kaan. The lobby at Coba was very enjoyable because of the bar and live entertainment there nightly. Overall a great place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very beautiful resort. Immaculate grounds. Trams always available to take you back to your room or to the other hotels within the complex. Great friendly staff.
The weak points
Not enough variety of vegan/vegetarian food available. Items at buffet labeled vegan but had cheese, meat or fish in them. Vegan means no animal products used.
Certified

Bahia Principe Akumal

, Montréal, QC
2018-07-31
We visited the Bahia Principe resorts in Mexico so many times we stopped counting. Our first visit dates from the days when the Tulum hotel was the only one built. We visited the Akumal hotel during the first years of operation, same for the Coba. We loved this resort so much we didn't hesitate to plan our wedding in the Akumal section with family and friends… We were so happy to come back this summer to the Akumal hotel with the kids to spend quality family time as well as to refresh their memories, despite the high cost of a luxury resort (Don Pablo Collection).
However, it will be our last visit. We can't accept the position of the resort and his shareholder Pinero Group. It's now day 5. There were virtually no shady spots. The main pool (around 300 sunbeds) has only 15 umbrellas. People get up at the crack of dawn and run literally down to the pool to reserve sun beds with towels. Every morning (starting 6 Am), the guests are disputing the few parasols available. We tried without a parasol but the kids suffered burns. We now have to wait until late afternoon or to use the other pools of the resort (parasols at Tulum hotel are fixed in the ground).
We contacted the customer services, the manager and the director of the hotel. They all confirmed the situation and can't improve it. The umbrellas are on order since April and must come from Spain!!! Strange… It seems they use the same excuse (lack of umbrellas due to a storm) for months… Any decent true 5* hotel would have an umbrella for every 2 sun loungers. This is an easy fix.
The Pinero group saves money on the backs of the customers. Their advertising motto is “we are family”. Sorry guys don't be my family if you don't care about my kids' wellness. We now sadly realize that Pinero Group's primary purpose is to cut costs at the expense of customers.
If you have been in the same situation, please make some noise. They have the feeling of being untouchable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge hotel
The weak points
No consideration for guestd

Perfect vacation

, Richmond, BC
2018-02-16
We want to thank all stuff in hotel who helped us to feel comfortable and safe. Beautiful resort , good food with lots of variety for all tastes.
We like very much all shows. Beach was constantly cleaned by hardworking staff. Special thanks to Doctor Martinez who helped me with some medical problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not amazing

, Westlock, AB
2018-01-20
Would not go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice a la carts
The weak points
bad slow service Uncomfortable beds Freezing pools and bad weather Terrible buffet
Certified

Vacation

, Montréal, QC
2017-11-08
Just returned from a 10 day .wonderful place fantastic service beautiful golf course great food. Really nothing to complain about, all the staff are very accommodating making sure that you are very comfortable and well served. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Dont trust their airport transport/ Front desk is

, Calgary, AB
2017-04-13
Sadly. I have to review this hotel.
The transportation provided by the hotel is a joke. The front desk has no decision making at all. From the moment I arrived they got mad at me cause I didn't print my reservation? Really? It took them 3 minutes to find it in the system with my name. And there is no manager around to make any important decision If you have to take the transportation provided by this resort I strongly recommend you to TRIPLE check the times. They screw me over and almost missed my flight back.
My flight was scheduled for 145 am and they confused and book my pick up for 1000 am in the same day. 8 hrs later then my departure . As you can imagine I was desperate and try talking .with the front desk= they said they don't del with that they didn't even try . Talked to public relations.= the same. No options, they tried just to find by a reason to no make themselves responsables They make me feel like it was my fault even though the transportation company confirmed before they will come that night at 10 pm.
I called Bahia principe customer service over the phone. They advised to take a cab so I don't miss my flight and after that to complain to get a refund. I had to take a cab dropping some people off at the hotel. I just made it
I sent my email the next day to complain.
And 2 weeks later I receive a final email
DENIED!! They said if I can't have a receipt (that cab drivers can't even have in Mexico) they won't give me a refund. The estimated trip from the hotel to the airport is April 140 dlls the cab driver because he saw my wife crying end it up in 80 dlls . I ask for the 80 and they say no.
I sent an email back asking to reconsider. And let them know I was a truthful guest and I even married in the same hotel last year. Provided my name and all wedding info. They answer back. DOUBLE DENIED.
My advise to all of you. If you need a perfect holiday without worrying about anything at all... GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL.
I can't trust them anymore and unfortunately I won't be back to the resort I got married. SAD BUT TRUE.
Thanks Bahia principe . For ruining such a beautiful memory of my wedding.! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Inside the Hotel not front desk
The weak points
No manager available , poor customer service at the front desk. public relations can't help outside tours

Friends Vacation

, Algonquin Highlands, ON
2017-03-18
Travelled in a group of 12 friends to the beautiful Luxury Gran Bahia Principe Akumal! Our stay, from start to finish was incredible. The food was amazing - we had 5 a la cartes and loved them all! The room - Villa 59 - was close to the Don Pablo section and easy to get to the beach and pool. Lots of trolleys to get you quickly where you needed to go. Drivers were always polite and happy to take you for a ride. We travelled over to Bahia Principe Tulum as well for a little karaoke fun and shopping. Our room was a ground floor and was really lovely. Bed was comfy and lots of pillow choices if you required. (They did seem to clean it a bit late in the day but it is a huge resort so no big deal for us). We spent most of our time at the beach and had wait service as well as a central bar. Beach was long and you really got a work out walking through the deep white sand. Water was clear and lots of fish to see. We didn't take any excursions preferring to stay at the beach, but there were lots to choice from. We loved our trip to Akumal and would definitely return. Staff were friendly and always accommodating. Weather was perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach, drinks, staff, beautiful resort!
The weak points
none

Luxury grande Bahia Príncipe Akumal

, London, ON
2017-02-18
Akumal was a part of a huge interconnected resort. I recommend Akumal because it gives you full access to Coba and Tulum(they don't have access to Akumal so Akumal is not as crowded)
They have fantastic nightly entertainment. We especially like Micheal Jackson! The kids club was well organized with plenty of activities around the resort and the kids loved it!
Buffet was excellent with great themes every
night.
Lots of pools and nice clean beach. Swimming area is marked off to protect the reef.
Shuttle services to get you around is great but be prepared to do a lot of walking! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Excellent buffet options -Clean beach -kids club well organized and fun -Wait staff on the beach -Clean rooms/stocked mini bar daily
The weak points
Huge grounds so it's slightly confusing when you first arrive Recommend taking a tour on arrival so you don't miss out on any of the activities and areas that you have access to.
Certified

Fantastic vacation!

, Langley, BC
2017-02-10
This was our first visit to Mexico and our first all-inclusive. We had taken cruises before but we wanted something different this time. It was a struggle to choose - the vast number of resorts is overwhelming. We chose right.
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal was beautiful. The resort and room were extremely clean, the people were super friendly and helpful. The buffet had a selection that would satisfy anyone and everything we tried was amazing. We ate at 3 different ala carte restaurants, Dolce Vita (Akumal), Maiko (Sian Ka'an), and Tequila. All three were fantastic. The service was perfect and the food was spectacular, particularly at Maiko.
The beaches were beautiful. We stayed in the adults only Villa 83 and it was close to the adults only pool and buffet. The room was spotless and the minibar was filled up everyday without fail. The bars were all good, although it took a while for me to find one that could make a Caesar!
There were always beach chairs and palapas available so it never felt like there were as many people there as there really were! The onsite transportation was frequent and handy if you didn't feel like walking. If I had one complaint only, it was that the bed was very hard. Otherwise, a perfect holiday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beaches were beautiful - Food was fantastic, both buffet and ala carte - Super clean everywhere - Very friendly staff, very helpful in every aspect
The weak points
My only complaint was the hard mattress. Everything else was beyond expectations!
Certified

Can't wait to return

, Vancouver, BC
2016-08-11
Fantastic vacation from the time we arrived until we sadly had to leave. All staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was fast and we were assigned our own Butler who helped us to our room. The room was clean and luxurious. We never used our Butler's services again, but we knew that he could easily be contacted if we needed his help. We often ate at the buffet which was fine, but found the a la carte restaurants to be excellent. Reservations can be made online which was easier than with hotel staff. The beach was beautiful and we were always able to find a chair in a shady spot, although we sat at the area for adults only. We rarely used the swimming pools and never saw a place to sit poolside. The beach was right beside the pool area so we could have swam at either and lounge on the beach. It was easy to travel around the resort on the shuttles. You never had to wait that long for one and the drivers were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Lots to do. Relaxing. Easy to get around. Beautiful beaches.
The weak points
Bed could have been more comfortable. Buffet food not very hot.
Certified

Bahia Principe Akumal.

, Kitchener, ON
2016-08-01
Impeccably clean resort, super friendly staff, very tasty and always fresh foods, desserts and fruits.Brand name liqours.The best vacation ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, Airdrie, AB
2016-05-16
Was our first time there but certainly will not be our last. Staff was friendly and helpful room was always neat and tidy. The food was amazing lots of stuff to see and do . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was a strong point in my opinion
Certified

Amazing

, Beaumont, AB
2016-03-17
I have been to many all inclusives and by far this was the best. The rooms were immaculate, grounds immaculate , the staff very friendly and the food choices were excellent. The most impressive is that you could use the amenities at the 3 neighbouring hotels from the pools to the food and able to go to the nightly entertainment where you wanted. My family and I will definitely be returning along with extended family as well. I highly recommend staying here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Facilities , restaurant choices , pool choices
The weak points
None in my mind
Certified

Awesome resort!

, Esterhazy, SK
2016-03-11
We really liked the Akumal because of it's proximity to the beach & because it gave us access to almost all of the restaurants & facilities. the food was excellent, the beach & pools were awesome & all of the staff we encountered were friendly & helpful. We would definitely stay there again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort was great! The staff were all friendly, accommodations were clean & comfortable, buffet & restaurants were all above average - overall a wonderful experience!
Certified

People made this resort a heaven

, London, ON
2015-09-15
HOLA! the people working in this resort were just awesome, caring, devoted and friendly.
They took good care of us. The hot and muggy weather was no match to what this resort had to offer. The facilities and services were stupendous. The only flip side is the travel agent's bus service from resort to cancun airport could have been better.
We were treated like guests all along. This review is for Akumal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, caring staff, humble workers, customer friendly and focussed
The weak points
travel agent transportation to and from cancun left room for improvement. It could be better coordinated .

Wonderful resort, we had a great time!

, Montreal, QC
2015-08-18
The hotel was very nice, the staff was very friendly and always there to accommodate you, always with a smile on their face! The pools are very nice: there is the activities pool, which had music all the time, but very surprisingly was full of kids as well, and the pool with a bar in it, which had very low music but was very nice! There are also a couple of other pools, one with Jacuzzis, great to relax! The beach of Akumal is really nice. There is a stage in the water where shows take place, and there are always activities in the morning. You can take some bread with you and feed the fish, go in the morning cause in the afternoon it gets crowded and you might miss them! The resort is big but not too big to be tiring. There are shuttles that pass every 15 minutes but we were not very close to the lobby/pools/beach and it would only take us 10-15 minutes by foot to get to our destination. The walks were nice because everything around you is beautiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is AMAZING, very friendly and ALWAYS smiling. They work so hard in the burning sun all day, and they do everything to make you happy.
The weak points
Room service is very bad. Sometimes the food wouldn't show up and at one point they did not pick the leftover tray up (you put it outside of your room and call them). Racoons devoured the leftovers and made a mess (including spread out number twos).
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Scarborough, ON
2015-03-07
This s a beautiful resort that is well taken care of. The beach is vast with different sections available. The sand is a bit rough as it seems to be a combination of shells and fine coral but water socks/shoes will solve this problem if you have sensitive feet. There are plenty of palapas and lounges to go around, though many people did reserve early in the morning around 8 am. Make sure to bring your snorkel gear as the beach is bordered by coral reefs with many tropical fish to view and swim amongst.

The food is brilliant with so much variety. You can access the other three properties and their restaurants so eating at the buffets never became boring. We also tried five a la carte restaurants, the Mexican Tequila and Japanese Mikado being our favourites. If you choose to eat at Arlequin I would suggest the filet mignon and the salmon at Tequila.

The service is impeccable, the staff are all so friendly and most of them speak adequate English. Housekeeping visited our rooms twice, always leaving fresh towels and turn down service. The mini bar is included and restocked daily (however we found if we needed extras the staff provided).

Check-in and check-out were a breeze and efficient. This is a huge resort with multiple sections to explore but the trolleys are frequent. They are a bit confusing but just ask the drivers and they will tell you where you need to go.

If you shop at the Hacienda make sure you bargain with the vendors for pricing (never settle for paying the listed price). We heard the Thursday Mexican night was a waste of time and money so we didn't go. We didn't visit the discotheque either. The hotel is quite south so be prepared for a bus ride of about an hour and half from the hotel.

We will be visiting this hotel again next year with our family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service were excellent at this hotel. The beach was beautiful with the added bonus of the coral reef.
The weak points
We had a couple of minor issues with our bathroom but they were fixed in a timely manner.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022