The Fives Beach Hotel And Residences

The Fives Beach Hotel And Residences
4.014.014.014.014.01
4.01 based on 121 reviews
#26 of 131 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (30)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

2022 November stay

, Mundare, Al
2022-11-21
Check in was very easy, Reception and staff are amazing, always on top of your drinks. The whole resort is cleaned constantly. Lots of restaurants, buffets had an abundance of food so everyone should have been able to find something. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff amazing, Raul Lazcono Baves was the best. The manager of time shares Xavier was amazing, he helped answer our questions everyday and went over and beyond with service. Estnoel raga band was amazing evening entertainment but 1 hr was
The weak points
I always done the spa everytime I went to a resort but the prices were more than 3x what I pay at home so I just booked for when I get back home. Lost cable afor over two days and internet was wonky at best. Evening entertainment was not 25% ok
Certified

Needs Improvements

, Markham, ON
2022-10-03
We visited this resort for a wedding in 2019 when it was under 'Karisma' since it is now under a different management, noticed some construction and repair works underway. experienced some issues with the room which were taken care of. all the wait staff and service staff were very polite and helpful. Some restaurants were not in service could be due to off season. Some management staff need to take accountability / improvement in culture within the team. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Customer Service is very good from all that serve and maintain the rooms. Food was good, shows/activities well arranged and organised. On the whole would rate them Good but needs improvement. Some management went out of their way to make us comfortable.
The weak points
Certain management staff need to be accountable to their promise to clients, if not, then the expectations lack, which we experienced. We were allocated a room in the building where the lounge chairs were not for hotel guests. Alcohol/Beers were regular.
Certified

Great return trip

, Toronto, ON
2022-09-01
This was an amazing trip! We had visited this resort 7 years ago when it was named Azul Fives and had a great experience. 7 years later, it was just as amazing, and even more so.
Starting at check-in, service is personable and focused on guest satisfaction. Room keys are via wristband which is a great feature - you never worry about having your key with you. We were assigned the 2 bedroom penthouse with private roof access which included a jacuzzi tub, swinging bed, outdoor kitchen, dining and couch areas. Our only small disappointment was that the 2nd bedroom was located with separate access from a shared hallway so for our daughters to come into the shared kitchen/living/dining area they had to leave their room and use the same wristband to unlock our door. It's not one large space with 2 bedrooms (however, in another respect, this is a good feature!). The master room however is enormous. Full kitchen, dining table for 6, living area with couch and sling chair and separate bedroom which is closed off via barn door; king bed with his/her closets with ample storage; double sink vanity and separate doors for toilet and shower area with rain shower. Toiletries are premium. We were provided pillow options and room scent (however we never noticed the room being scented with what we picked).
Dining is gourmet and various options; Mexican/Italian/Thai/Japanese/Mediterranean/French and buffet options. We never went to the buffet/international - why go when you have full a la carte options? They also have beach stations where you could get burgers, pizza and ceviche/seafood fare. We had butler service which took care of all our reservations. Food and service is excellent.
The pools are great. There are 2 parallel pools that run through half the property that provide tons of space and don't feel crowded. There is also an infinity pool down by the beach which is busier and knows as the activity pool.
The beach is the real let down but not really the fault of the property. There are seaweed issues all along that stretch fronting all the resorts on that beach. They are working constantly to clean it but just can't keep up. It was enough that we did not venture down and swim.
The property is more long and narrow so a bit of walking to get from the room location down to the beach. They do have golf carts and you can scan in at certain points to "call" them but they do come at least every 10-15 minutes as they are on a loop. We enjoyed the walk across the bridges through the "jungle" area which link the rooms to the beach area. You could walk pretty much anywhere within 10 minutes so not bad at all. Just to keep in mind if you have any mobility issues. Elevators within buildings though, so no issues there.
Overall, it was a fantastic vacation with great service and amenities. For the price paid, it was an amazing deal and so good that we are considering going again next month!
I would highly recommend this property. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Large, elegant, spacious rooms; no issues with free wifi; service is on point; food/dining is gourmet and varied; grounds are beautiful and you can see monkeys and coatis frequently.
The weak points
The beach is not usable in my opinion. Seaweed was just too overwhelming. Daily activities could be a bit more prominent.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
You can see them sanitizing tables between patrons and sanitizer offered on check in.
Certified

Awesome Experience

, Toronto, ON
2022-05-16
We as a family of 5 loved the resort! Food was amazing, staff was kind, efficient and not pushy. Infinity pool and beach area is beautiful. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Everything was perfect. Only point I wish was different is the beach, seaweed is there even though staff work hard to keep it clean. Highly recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Everything
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Best fitness minded resort !

, Dartmouth, NS
2022-04-12
My friend and I are both into fitness and we're so happy that this resort has a fully equipped gym plus brings in pro instructors from Canada.

We did yoga daily with Kate and aqua with Cheryl. Because of the amazing food we loved having pro instructors to work out with!

Restaurants are amazing. Staff goes over and above and we need to thank Paulina for always checking in to make sure all was good.

We are going back in September when pro instructor Cheryl is there. This is a huge added bonus for fitness addicts like us.

We are pool people too and loved the adult pool for food and vibe !!

Thank you Fives. See you soon ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Fitness and food
The weak points
None

Lots To Love At The Fives

, Penetanguishene, ON
2021-12-23
Our family of 3 had a wonderful time at The Fives. So many pools and restaurants to choose from, whether you like to chill or get a bit wild it was easy to find your ideal vibe. The grounds are incredible, so immaculate with nature walks and friendly animals (monkeys, pig, coatis, etc,). Beach is rocky and spa service selling too frequent (but never pressured). We had a wonderful time and would return here again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing selection of pools, restaurants and pop-up food options, beautiful grounds (including monkeys, nature walks, cenotes), great staff and services. Easy to find your ideal vibe here.
The weak points
Beach is quite small and rocky, pretty intense selling for the spas, concierge service is great until you say no to the time share session then their tune changes. Weddings and special events can close off some restaurant options.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff practices and resort cleanliness were absolutely amazing. Guests on the other hand, not so much.
Certified

Beautiful resort, amazing staff

, Grimsby, ON
2021-12-06
We went to The Fives during Covid and were extremely impressed with the professionalism and hard working staff. Even outdoors, they were masked at all time and worked hard to keep everything sanitized. We upgraded to a swim out in villa 17 which was lovely, quiet and had lots of sun. Food was great as were drinks and service. We tried all restaurants and were very happy. I have major food sensitivities and they set me up with a "Whats App" where I could request specific foods delivered to our room as well as pre-order special meals at each sit down restaurant. This was extremely helpful! The only downfalls were I expected lounge chairs on the balconies so I could lay out and read my books but most rooms only offered a small table and chairs. Without a theatre, entertainment was limited and there was nothing clear to post activities (we missed out on the Market night as there was nothing to announce this, other than asking the concierge directly, we didn't know about the Mexican festival night, any yoga, etc.) At the end of our stay we went into a resort bathroom and noticed a small posting there with some activities but since we usually just used our room bathrooms, there was no way of knowing this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff was friendly. Wildlife was awesome. (wild monkeys, pig, lizards, agouti, and coati can be seen regularly) Resort was beautiful and clean. Food was good
The weak points
No loungers on many balconies. Not much for entertainment and nothing to announce activities (no apps or weekly notice provided in room, no daily activity board,etc)
Certified

Horrible Service

, Woodbridge, ON
2019-07-02
From the moment we checked in the front desk was pushing to have us upgrade. After a few days, we gave in and decided we would try a sky room, what a mistake. Transferring from one room to another was a nightmare. Complete lack of information, and zero consistency in their information. They hung up on us twice, we had to go in person, and that wasn't much better. We had the same issues with some of the restaurants, they just didnt open certain days and most of the staff had no idea why. You have to reserve 2 days in advance for most of the restaurants, if you are out on an excursion, then you loose out. I would never go back. The only good thing I can say is the food was delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good Food
The weak points
Horrible service. Lack of communication within the Staff and to the clients. would not recommend. Room was dirty. Small beach. Internet kept cutting out while I was working
Certified

Had a really nice family vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2019-05-14
We had a really nice time. There were quite a few pools to lounge in and the infinity pool was beautiful with a great view. The food at Arezza, Sea Orchid, Mestizo, the carts, the beach burger bar were all highlights. So good!

There were events in the Plaza every night which was nice.

The ambiance of the resort and staff were great too.

By the 3rd day there were a lot of mosquitoes and I had lots of bites.

Our room in particular had a lot of A/C issues and they were never truly resolved, also it had a resultant musty smell. In contrast our friends suite that we travelled with was VERY nice!

There were some communication issues between the Concierge and the spa staff that had to be sorted out.

Also there was a pool person who would take towels and put away chairs at 3:30 to 4 pm!! I thought that was weird.

Overall we would definitely return to this resort, we had a lovely time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the pool, the night activities, workout center, the spa, the concierge, the staff, the ambiance, the resort, the smoothie bar, the kids center, the beach gazebo. - The facilities were excellent.
The weak points
The room had issues with air conditioning and it did have a smell, communication between the concierge and other hotel staff, there were quite a few mosquitos.
Certified

Our First Mexico Trip

, St Catharines, ON
2019-03-14
From arrival to departure we really enjoyed the resort. We had our 2yr old son with us and most facilities are set up well for young families. Special events like the beach bbq didn't offer kid friendly food or high chairs however other meal options are available. Restaurant booking system is challenging, you need to be quick. However food presentation is top notch, food quality is awesome and restaurant interior decors are spot on. Pools are clean and kid friendly, everywhere is well maintained. 2 weeks went quickly, we would not hesitate to go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food options are excellent in both the restaurants and room service. Most staff are very friendly and helpful. Loved the swim up bars. Lots of patio lounge chairs.
The weak points
Beach was mediocre, lots of seaweed. One particular female attendant at the poolside beach towel hut was very unhelpful, any request beyond getting a towel clearly interrupted her gadget time. Surprising anomaly overall.
Certified

Would Not Go Back

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-12
1. Overly loud music playing everywhere - pools, beach, restaurants - can't be avoided - you can't rest - often the music is rock - the bass is still pounding in my head.
2. The food quality varies greatly and never reaches "gourmet". Often no better than a three star. One lunch was "food court" quality.
3. Lines ups for breakfast and lunch - bad administration.
4. Over priced wines. See the attached wine list. $100.00 for a $25.00 bottle.
5. A small beach with one third reserved for beds costing $125.00 US a day. Unacceptable for an all inclusive resort. See attached picture. This also gives you a ungraded lunch - not proper for an 4 or 5 star rated all inclusive resort.
6. The beach is a long walk from most rooms and a very long walk from some.
7. The beach is such that non-motorized water sports can't be done.
8. Not enough lounge chairs around the interior pools. You get to walk around looking lost - and indeed you are.
9. My room overlooked the Mexican restaurant. Loud Mexican music from 10 am to 10 pm.
10. Approximately 75% of the guests have children including many babies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The accommodations and grounds are excellent but that's all.
The weak points
See review. I would not recommend. Don't expect gourmet food. Does not deserve a rating more than 3 1/2 stars.
Certified

Didn't start out too good

, St. Thomas, ON
2019-03-12
Walked into my room and it smelt musty, tried to forget about the smell, opened my patio door and it's a children's centre. I called front desk and asked for a room change. “Not til tomorrow” when I said what about the people arriving later today... is there any chance I can switch now I'm really not happy...

Unsure as to why they wouldn't move me.

So I tried to deal with it for the night by going for a quick rinse, comes to find there's no hot water in that bathroom.

Bellboy service was terrible . Next day I booked a time and waited 1.5hours post planned time. ALSO on my day of departure . They didn't show up so I lugged my luggage through the resort.

PAULINA the bartender at the pool bar between villa 15 and 16!
This awesome lady, greeted everyone with a smile, her English was good. Paulina made us feel welcome , she would have conversations not only with us but with everyone.
Always smiling &laughing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
PAULINA the bartender , always smiling, greeting everyone . Truly loves her job! Awesome lady!
The weak points
Too much seaweed
Certified

Thank you

, Lake Country, BC
2019-03-11
It's a great hotel with friendly staff members that will always try to help to make your stay comfortable, the chiefs were helpful with our specific requirements for baby food. they did their best to get everything organic ( veggies,fruits,eggs,etc...) for our infant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Time of our Lives!

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-10
The Fives Azul offered us a trip of lifetime! Everything was great from the food and drinks, to the service at the bars and restaurants. We were able to use the spa, rent a bali bed, have a romantic dinner on the beach and more! We purchased the Prestige package and will be back soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Honestly, everything!
The weak points
By no fault of the resort, it was hard to get a chair at the pool because other guests would reserve them and not return for hours. Bummer!
Certified

Good family vacation

, Oshawa, ON
2019-03-04
Well to start, the food at this resort is fantastic. Every restaurant was amazing. As was room service. The resort itself is large but I enjoyed the layout. Pools are not cold, don't believe the reviews. The bars were both fun and great places to sit and have beautiful drinks (top shelf).
Beach...just ok!
After checkout we had issues, we were given a paper card for access to the resort as the cut of our bracelets. There were 4 of us and only one card. Unless we were traveling in a pack we got harassed by security for this card. Plastic bracelets would be a better option.
Monkeys!!! Amazing and made this beautiful resort stand out from the rest.
It was a great vacation but definitely a lot of kids and not a great nightlife. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, food and monkeys
The weak points
Beach, wrong beds (1 king rather than two queens) and after checkout
Certified

Winter escape

, Woodbridge, ON
2019-02-18
We had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive. The highlight of our trip was a romantic Valentines dinner at the beach. We had an exquisite 5 course meal with stunning view, and life music entertainment. It was a night to remember!!!! The resort staff was amazing. Thank you so much !!!!! ❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Family Christmas Vacay at Fives Azul Beach Resort

, Beaconsfield, QC
2019-01-03
The Fives Azul was amazing!

We loved our third floor rooms at Villa 17 (part of a lock out from the main unit) because we had little resort guest traffic, we were close to each other and we had the inside view of the pool which made for a very quiet, relaxing, pleasant hotel experience.

The property was beautiful! The service incredible! The food was fantastic (for the most part)! Only one restaurant was a disappointment: The Sea Olive.

We went to a mezcal tasting, scuba diving, jet skiing, etc. Swimming at the beach was loads of fun because of the breakwater out front. You could practically surf on it!

The property is nicely arranged and spread out. There are different restaurants located around the property, a spa, shops, swim up bars, "jungle walk" where we saw spider monkeys, capybaras, numerous birds and a peccary.

All in all, I would go back and I would highly recommend the resort. It was very good value for the money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Variety of good restaurants. Animators, especially, Erik! Overall friendliness and helpfulness of staff.
The weak points
Sea Olive Restaurant needs some work. The food was OK, but they are not sure for what they are striving. Sailboats were out of service.
Certified

Ricahrd's Review of Fives Azul

, Ottawa, ON
2018-12-31
This resort was amazing. The restaurants served great tasting food, (put on 5 pounds) and the staff were very friendly. I highly recommend this resort to others. The place is clean, and the rooms have ample room to have a restful vacation. The bars staff are generous with the drinks and the beach is fantastic. They also have a break barrier that helps reduce the size of waves coming in and there is sand in the water so you aren't cutting your feet on the rocks when you get into the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff, great price. You really feel that you are at a resort. This is a fantastic place and I will come back for another stay
The weak points
I wished that the disco started earlier in the evening before 11:00 pm. But that wasn't that big a of a deal. This place is very impressive and beautiful
Certified

We enjoyed out vacation at the Azul Fives

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-24
We had a truly lovely time on our vacation at the Azul Fives. Our room was amazing! The whole place is spotlessly clean! Because I only drink wine, it was really important to me and pleasantly surprising that their house wine was wonderful! The restaurants and food were spectacular! The entertainment was not what we were expecting but we really enjoyed it. The pools were perfect - when you felt like being part of the action, the main pool was the place to be. When you felt like chilling out, the other pools were perfectly relaxing. The staff was very attentive and polite. A great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous Food and something that is very rare - the wine is lovely! The room is amazing!
The weak points
We should have booked an Adults Only resort. It's perfect for families but not when you want to get away from crying babies - our mistake.
Certified

Spring vacation

, Red Deer County, AB
2017-05-15
Wow! This holiday was the best ever. So clean and so accommodating. The food was a 10 at all meals everyday. We definitely are going back to this one and the others they have at other places. The only complaint we had was there was not a full length mirror. Would highly recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Top Notch

, Milton, ON
2017-05-01
Gorgeous resort, excellent service and lots to do. Food options were fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Azul The Fives

, Oakville, ON
2017-04-20
The hotel and the food are remarkable. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. The only downfall is the beach itself. It is rocky and there was so much seaweed that it had to be disposed of in large pits. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and the grounds
The weak points
The beach. Rocky and full of seaweed
Certified

Overall it was amazing

, Milton, ON
2017-03-14
Like I said in the title, overall this place is amazing.90% of the experience was mind blowingly incredible and if you don't want to read my whole review then the TLDR is you should visit here.

I'll just share what happened and then my perception of that event and let you draw your own conclusions. Some things may not bother you that bothered me and vice versa.

This was my families first time in Mexico and our first time at an all-inclusive resort. I didn't feel hungry once on the trip and we often were eating only because the restaurant near the beach was going to close and we didn't want to risk getting hungry later. The food is amazing. The portions can be a bit small but that's actually a good thing because you can try a lot of different things and not get too full.

We were travelling with another family. Each family booked their own room. When we arrived at the resort there were three pedestal tables where they were checking people in. Someone approached us and took us to one of the desks in the lobby and started going through our check in pamphlet. Our friends were checked in at the pedestal tables. We had both booked ground floor rooms with swim up pool access and a jacuzzi and our travel agent had requested specific buildings for us if possible and also that our rooms be close together. However, they were overbooked and could not meet either of those requests.

My family was upgraded to a sky suite. It was very nice and had the Jacuzzi outside with our own private terrace that included several chairs, a large half moon lounge chair, and a BBQ (which we didn't need because we we're on the all-inclusive plan). The first thing I didn't like about this was that they didn't tell us about the upgrade. It almost seemed like they were trying to hide it from us. When checking in they just handed over a sheet and said "please sign this". That is the sheet that said something to the effect of "please acknowledge that even though you booked a one bedroom Jacuzzi ground floor suite we don't have any available so we're giving you a one bedroom sky suite and you are okay with it.". I found that a little deceptive but overall I didn't care. Our room was beautiful and really we spent most of our time in the pools or at the beach.

If you book a room with a Jacuzzi and you're expecting a hot tub, it's not. It's just a bathtub with jets. You need to fill it yourself and the water for the Jacuzzi didn't get anywhere near as hot as the shower water did. The pools were warmer and most had seats with jets.

Two other things that were less than awesome about our room were the water smell and the inconsistent restocking of our fridge. The first two days our water smelled very bad. Like dirty water from the swamp. I asked another couple that I saw in our building about it and they said they noticed the same thing and called and it was fixed. Sure enough the next shower I took smelled fine. However a day later the smell returned. This time I called and they sent someone to our room. He verified the water smelled bad and said something about chlorine being needed and within 20 minutes all should be okay. Whatever he did worked because about 30 minutes later the bad smell was gone and our water was fine for the rest of trip. Of course we didn't drink the tap water. We only used it for showers and filling up the Jacuzzi. Included in the all-inclusive plan is the stocking of your fridge with water, pop, beer, and snacks. However, some days they didn't restock it at all. Other days they would stock the water but nothing else. Some days they restocked the snacks, some days they didn't. It was hit and miss. Not really a big deal but the kids were disappointed on the days they didn't get the chips.

The restaurants at the resort are great. Like I said above, the food is very good. Our favorite restaurants were the Thai, the Italian, the French Bistro, and the Flavours breakfast buffet. I found it odd that they all had options that were not included in the all-inclusive plan. To me all-inclusive means it includes everything, but apparently not. If you want a steak or lobster tail, that's extra.

Every morning, just outside of the Flavours buffet, the nicest lady, Maria, would be making tacos. She made the tortillas fresh and they were the best tasting tacos we've ever had. It's weird to eat regular tacos at breakfast the first time but you get over it when you taste them.

The only really negative part of our experience actually stems from this all-inclusive but we have extras that you must pay for philosophy. The Thai restaurant has these really cool outdoor tables that look like large bird cages. They're called pagodas. Our group requested to sit in one of these for our last night's dinner. We were told that in order for that to happen each family must either order a lobster tail or a bottle of wine from the not-included-in-the-all-inclusive wine list. We had no problem with that. We arranged extras ahead of time and received a reservation confirmation that had pagoda table printed and highlighted on it. Now, it was Saturday night and the Thai restaurant moves all their tables outside every Saturday. If we had just wanted to sit outside we wouldn't have had to spend the extra or make a reservation, we could have just shown up. However, my daughter really wanted to sit in the pagodas. When we arrived they sat us at a regular table. We explained that we had not only reserved a pagoda but were forced to pay extra for the privilege. This is where things got bad. The young lady who was seating us got her manager and he handled the situation horribly. First he told us that we didn't reserve a pagoda. We showed him the reservation confirmation with pagoda table highlighted and then he said it was because our group was too big and wouldn't fit. We pointed out that we were literally standing in front of a pagoda with the exact same group size as us sitting in it. Then he said the problem was that the concierge made the reservation for 8 people, not seven, so his staff prepared a table for 8 because 8 people could not fit in a pagoda, the max was 7. He told us that this was OUR fault even though 1) there were always only 7 people in our group and 2) we didn't make the reservation in the computer ourselves, it was the concierge. He refused to do anything about it. Also, even though he said the table was made for 8 that was also a lie. There were only 7 place settings at our table which to me indicated they knew full well how many people were in our group. My friend asked the manager outright to just admit they made a mistake and apologize and we would drop the issue and the manager just stared at him and shook his head no. He refused to apologize. He refused to acknowledge that the resort made any mistake. He blamed US for the mistake. I was shocked. I did not expect that kind of rudeness and arrogance from someone at a high end resort, or anyone working in customer service really. I asked to speak to the manager's manager and thankfully this is where things got much better. The food and beverage manager, for the whole resort I presume, came and saw us and after I explained everything that happened and emphasized that the biggest problem was the restaurant manager's refusal to acknowledge a mistake and apologize he was very apologetic. He was absolutely wonderful. We explained that we just wanted to cancel the extras we had ordered because we weren't getting what we were promised and we wanted to continue with our meal from there. He agreed to cancel the wine and the lobster, then he brought us two free bottles of wine (from the pay extra wine list), after we ate our appetizers he came back and had us moved to a pagoda as well. I would have liked to have had the lobster had I known we would end up in the pagoda after all. However by this point I had already ordered an alternate entree. Unlike a restaurant in Canada or the U.S., providing the lobster for free was not option. He genuinely wanted to make us happy and went beyond our expectations at that point. His name was Hector and he deserves an award for outstanding customer service.

With the exception of that one restaurant manager the entire staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. They almost all smile and say hello (hola) when passing you. They are very attentive to your needs and any small issues, like the water smell, are handled quickly.

The resort even has a team of people who are dedicated to make sure you have fun. Ingrid, Marie Claire, and Chuck were always playing volleyball with people, having contests, and just generally having a great time. Even if you weren't partaking in the activity they were doing you were forced to smile at the fun they were creating. We chatted with Marie Claire several times and she was genuinely friendly and eager to talk. She seemed like a perfect fit for her job.

The resort itself is beautiful. There are lots of pools that are very quiet and provide a great place to relax without any crowds. They have hammocks you can lay in and take a nap. Swim up bars at several of the pools. There are iguanas and other small lizards running around and monkeys will often come up to the boardwalk area near the shops.

You don't need reservations at any of the restaurants and they won't take them unless you're a member or like us want a pagoda and are prepared to pay extra for it. For the most part we were seated very quickly when arriving at the restaurants. The Italian restaurant seems to be the most popular and we were quoted a 20 minute wait when we arrived. However, we were sat much quicker than that.

The resort is also close to several cool attractions. We had a rental car and zipped up the road to the Croc Zoo and into the smaller town of Puerto Morales. We also drove out to Tulum and Xel-Ha which were both amazing. Xel-Ha is an all day adventure and well worth the price of admission.

You don't need a rental car but it was a nice luxury to have because it meant we didn't need to sit on the bus and wait while other resorts guests were picked up. We got to the airport and our other destinations very quickly thanks to the rental car.

Once you're off the resort almost everything is negotiable. We never paid full asking price for anything. There was always a deal to be made.

We generally felt very safe. The resort was incredibly safe. When we travelled to Playa there was a large and very noticeable police presence. It was odd to see them with automatic weapons but you easily ignored them and went about your business.

One thing to be wary of if you're in Playa or some other place is the aggressive sales people. Make eye contact for even a second and they're all over you to come into their stores and look. The resort had one night were people setup tables to sell things along the boardwalk and those people were fairly aggressive as well. The shops on the resort were very easy going, however, they were higher priced than the off-resort stores and less willing to deal.

One "scam" that a member of our group fell for was the "Hey, do you remember me? I work at your resort" scam. Our group member was tricked into going into this person's "father's" shop and we all went and even drank the tequila we were given. It wasn't until we all talked about it later that we realized our friend had been tricked when we were talking about it. It was a little unsettling to think about because we could have easily been in danger, especially accepting a drink like that. However, at the time we all believed our one friend really did recognize the person and in the end we were in no real harm, they just wanted us in their store to try and sell to us.

I know this is an incredibly long review but I wanted to include as much as I could and hopefully help another first-timer in some way. We had just that one experience of poor customer service and it was quickly rectified. There were a few small annoyances but at the end of the day we were in paradise for a week and none of them really mattered.

Should you go? Yes! Will we go again? Yes! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food!
The weak points
Rude staff member
Certified

First impression

, Newcastle, ON
2017-02-12
This is the first time we have visited an AZUL property.
Impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean facility friendly staff
The weak points
bathroom poorly laid out. No place to hand clothing when showering
Certified

Fantastic Hotel

, Kitchener, ON
2017-02-07
I have nothing but good things to say about this property. They were consistently clean in all the rooms, bathrooms, restaurants and grounds. All the staff would say hello if you were to walk by. Any time you would enter a restaurant - the staff would ask you if you were allergic to anything and would give you some hand sanitizer.

The food...THE FOOD! It was absolutely incredible. I never once went to the buffet as there was no need to. Everything was made to order.

The beach was okay. It definitely wasn't my favourite but it did the job. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service and cleanliness
The weak points
Beach. Again not the worst but not my favourite
Pro

Fabulous!!

, Kitchener, ON
2016-10-21
Really enjoyed our recent stay at Azul Fives Hotel. The staff were nothing short of amazing. Very helpful and friendly..especially the Pool Butler's Alex, Gaby, Roberto, Edgar and Antonio. Alex,in particular, took very good care of us. The food was great and drinks top-shelf. My favourite restaurant was the Sushi. The resort is immaculately kept. All in all a very pleasant stay. I will return one day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,food,staff friendliness,cleanliness
The weak points
Entrance presentation,
Certified

Exceptional Service; Great Resort

, Claremont, ON
2016-08-28
Exceptional service - employees are very happy - they deliver exceptional service. In particular, Alvaro (Chief Concierge), Alexandros (Restaurant Mgr), Yahara (Restaurant Mgr), Bernardo (Server at Flavors) and Martin (Server at Brasserie. Rooms are very nice, clean and spacious (Suite). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees are amazing; Suites are spacious and well appointed.
The weak points
Spa doesn't have hot water; Hot water issues in Rooms (fixed immediately).
Certified

Better for some, than for others

, Gatineau, QC
2016-01-28
Definitely worthy of the "Gourmet" title, but extra charges for selected seafood items is inconsistent with competing 5 star establishments.
Except for one Front desk staff, all working level staffs were outstanding. Some managers could use some leadership and communications training. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Except for construction next door, which won't last forever, Grounds and pools are visually very appealing. Food is great. Included wine is best among peers.
The weak points
Consistent pricing scheme based in USD for all activities, and shopping, has turned what used to be a very affordable Mexican vacation into a US based vacation taken slightly further south. The "recommended" field is mandatory. Interpret as "suitable".
Certified

Mexico vaction

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-01-26
Bad weather during our stay, but hotel well kept,abundance of eating places for small and large amounts of food.
Room service free anytime during day
They do cater to a lot of weddings so we suffered a bit ,
Well spoken English staff
Entertain,net staff works hard to please
Could use a night entertainment spot for larger shows and night lounging [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, quiet ,excellent pools,great food, friendly service,well maintained
The weak points
Not enough nightly entertainment They cater to weddings a lot more
Certified

Amazing Week!

2016-01-26
I have nothing negative to say about my stay whatsoever. The food, the beds, the beach were all perfect. There were a loud group of wedding crew, we called to reception and they handled the partiers immediately. Everything was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022