The Grand At Moon Palace

The Grand At Moon Palace
4.294.294.294.294.29
4.29 based on 17 reviews
#65 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (16)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

The grand at MP

, London, ON
2020-02-04
We had an amazing holiday. Will definitely go back soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was amazing Grounds and facilities very well kept Food very good and lots of variety So many activities to do Short drive from airport
The weak points
Double beds. Plenty of room for 2 queens or even 1 queen and 1 double. Draft beer at pools and restaurants/buffett limited need more variety. Room wasn't ready until after our check in time Excursions RC options were limited. Expensive without
Certified

My horrible week in mexico

, Toronto, ON
2019-07-17
Igot sick immediately the moment i got there because of food and dirty bar glasses and unsanitary staff.Had to see my doctor as soon as i got home so i could get percriptions to kill my viruses i contracted from the resort.Over paid for a horrible experience.HIDDEN CHARGES THAT NOBODY TOLD US ABOUT FOR THE RESORT CREDITS AND SITTING WITH A TIME SHARE REP. WAS THE WORST EXPERIENCE TRYING TO SOAK $400,000 OUT OF ME FOR FUTURE VACATIONS SO I COULD GET 2 TICKETS FOR FREE TO A EXCURSION [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
nobody knew the english language
Certified

Love the grand moon palace!!!!

, Red Deer, AB
2019-03-09
We have been two years in a row to the Grand Moon Palace (close to Cancun) now and we absolutely love the place. We love that it is such a big resort so we get tons of walking in and the restaurants and buffets are fantastic. The food and service is the main reason we will continue to come back. There are a huge variety of restaurants and food choices and everyone we came across gave us wonderful service. We especially love Aldo in the grand buffet. We love all the pools and swim up bars as well plus there is a large variety of things to do at the resort (mini golf , bowling, water sports, spin in the pool). There are nightly shows as well. The rooms we nice especially the patios We will continue to go back to this wonderful resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the bar tenders at the first pool in the swim up Bar Gamaliel David Angel They took such great care of us the whole time we were there and gave us great service and humor
Certified

Wow Factor

, Killaloe, ON
2019-02-01
If you ever have extra cash to spend on a great trip this I'd the place you should go to. The pools, food, drinks, rooms and of the course the staff were all amazing. This place is the Wow factor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, drinks, rooms are all the top notch.
The weak points
No culture in the hotel. The Grand Buffet was very loud. The chairs in the whole place are so noisy to move.
Certified

Grand Moon Palace with 20 friends

, London, HA
2019-01-27
This is our second year going with a big group including 9 kids. The service is excellent, good is amazing and the entertainment wonderful. 5 stars for everything. There is always something to do at Thai resort. It's worth every penny and we will always go back. The grounds are so clean and cares for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food ,cleanliness
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Lacombe, AB
2019-01-16
We travelled to The Grand at Moon Palace with our two pre-teen kids. This resort truly is "Grand". There are too many good things to list but here are some of our favourites: big beautiful rooms, great food with tons of selection, amazing service, beautiful buildings and grounds, lots of nice sitting areas, smaller pools with different environments for the different types of guests, etc, etc. The list of things that we loved and exceeded our expectations is very, very long. Too long to list them all.

The list of things that could've been better is very short, so I'll list them all here:

1) The ocean was ok, but not great (murky). There was a small amount of seaweed that we thought was smelly, but I swam way out past that and the water was still very murky. I dove to the bottom and brought back some sand to show the kids what was down there, and the clean beautiful sand (from the ocean bottom) was incredibly smelly (rotten egg smell). I've been to lots of beaches and this was something I've never seen before. Overall this did not affect our happiness with the resort, because we went away from the resort for snorkelling. I'm only mentioning it in case you're looking for a resort with crystal clear blue water. Not this one. In contrast, the setup on the beach was beautiful, if you just want to sit on the beach, listen to the waves, and soak up the sun, then no problem here. There were lots of beautiful sitting areas, beach chairs and even hammocks.

2) The heated pools could not keep up with the traffic and got quite murky. The two pools that were heated were kept to a beautiful temperature. But, that meant that they saw lots of traffic, and the water got murkier and murkier while we were there.

3) If you are sensitive to perfumes, this would be not a great choice. The scent in the lobby was so thick you could taste it. Also most areas of the resort are perfumed with the same scent.

4) The last minor comment is the cleanliness. This one's is all about what you compare it to. Compared to the two other Carribean resorts we've been to, it was immaculate. Compared to here at home, it still left some things to be desired. Ie. Cutlery and dinnerware sometimes had dishwasher residue, staff touched food with hands etc, room cleaning was good, but could've been better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service. Food. Rooms. Golf carts (so you don't have to walk everywhere). Pools. Restaurants. Waterpark/playroom/wired lounge. Security/safety. Different pool/beach environments for different types of guests.
The weak points
Ocean. Pool cleanliness. Perfumes/scents. Room cleanliness was ok. Not quite as good as the rest of the experience. Food handling practices were ok, but again, not quite in line with the rest of the experience.
Certified

Good experience but could of been better

, Bradford, ON
2019-01-05
It was pleasant. They really try to go above expectation. Food is somewhat good. Not across but good. Just don't go to la cantina at the main building. It sucks real bad. New years eve I like many got sick. I'm sitting at a doctors office as we speak as I'm carrying some sort of bug I got there. They obviously did not cook the food properly that night. Customer service was great. Inquire about Ventura park as he main slides were down. Restaurants are always fill so try to book first thing in am or you are stuck with the buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service at the offer late night sandwich stop. Absolutely crazy good.
The weak points
Housekeeping kept on forgetting stuff every day Sold me on the waterpark. Too bad my tweans could not use it.
Certified

Our stay

, Ingonish Beach, NS
2018-04-25
We very much enjoyed our stay here. The Grand is by far the best place we have been to and we travel frequently. Services and shows are incredible. Food is pretty good and the 24 hour room service is a great added bonus. We travelled after spring break which was great as we were here during spring break a other time and it is filled with impatient people. The workers are great and during the busy time it is the US spring break vacationers that can ruin it for everyone. The resort is amazing so do not listen to reviews about wait times and slow service becaue that is from extremely self centered arrogant travellers who believe they are better then everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Magno and Nico and the entertainment team are amazing. Shows were great. Clean facility.
The weak points
Buffets could be better at times
Certified

The best place

, Komoka, ON
2018-02-22
The resort was amazing . Service was impeccable!! People were very friendly . The rooms clean and beautiful !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best vacation so far !!!
The weak points
Nothing to complain !!!
Certified

Grand at Moon Palace - January 2018

, Cumberland, ON
2018-02-06
Hotel facilities, food and staff were great! Service not always very quick or attentive. Membership sales team and Vacation planners were not very friendly nor helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, excellent accommodations, lots of things to do!
The weak points
Check-in and room assignments were a nightmare. Wasted 4 hours sorting out room assignments based on what was booked. Membership sales team were very aggressive and relentless - wouldn't take no for an answer.
Certified

A family vacation like no other!

, Alliston, HA
2018-02-02
We could not have been more happy with our stay at the grande at moon palace!
This resort has something for everyone in the family.
Our youngest children aged 2 and 3 loved the pools, and the amazing play places for them. Slides, a mini kids village with a mini grocery store, school and theatre. The ball play area, with amazing cause and effect toys.
Our older boys aged 8 and 10 loved the wave rider...what an experience! The arcade, teen lounge, flow in the dark mini put, laser games, bumper cars, wave pool and lazy river kept the boys more than occupied and happy!
Wifi throughout the resort, like any where and everywhere allowed us parents to actually enjoy our food at the amazing restaurants... while our kids used their tablets ( I know... I know)
Our room had a huge jacuzzi tub... that our kids loved filling up and turning the jets on every day after all the fun in the water!
The entire resort was stunning, washrooms in the lobby were magnificent!
Room service included was perfect on rainy nights and nights when the kids wanted a little snack before our dinner reservations.
This vacation was everything we could have dreamed of!
I'd highly recommend this resort and we would love to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our Trip July 2017

, Georgetown, ON
2017-07-29
It was an amazing hotel. For the most part the people are helpful and the restaurants and rooms are beautiful. Only issue we had was our child slipped on some water on the floor and went down pretty hard but no one seemed to be concerned with one of the waiters attempting to make a joke [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness. Majority of the staff were really good and helpful. Always wanted to know what they could to do help us.
The weak points
More Golf Carts needed. Beach improvements at Moon Palace.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021