Ocean Riviera Paradise

Ocean Riviera Paradise
4.084.084.084.084.08
4.08 based on 205 reviews
#24 of 129 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (113)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Hôtel resort

, Mont Royal, QC
2022-05-07
I am disappointed about the beaches. It had a lot of rocks and seeweed. Checkin took one hour . Pay extra tax money arrival. I am not coming back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The foods are good and room is very clean and comfortable.
The weak points
The entertainment is bad. No much show presentation in the theatre. The buffets are almost the same everyday. No seafood provided in the buffet and restaurant à la carte. The beaches had too much seeweed and rocks. Wait one hour checkin, pay extra money
Certified

Recent stay at Ocean Riveria Paradise

, Stewiacke, NS
2022-04-19
You can tell from the service received that the Hotel had too few staff to handle the number of guests. I sent a note to the Management staff half way through our stay and the wait in the restaurants improved. Front desk staff were extremely unfriendly and the check-in time was almost 1 hour. Also, their free shopping trips have a catch to them. Don't go on one [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff in Restaurants were friendly and attentive but there was a long wait to get into all restaurants, especially the Coffee Shop.
The weak points
Short staffed for the number of guests the Resorts had. Front desk staff were slow and not friendly at all. One day they forgot to clean our room, asked 3 times and only got clean towels at 9:30 pm
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Covid-19 measures were all met
Certified

Fun time but accommodations could have been better

, Ottawa, ON
2022-04-04
The hotel property overall was beautiful. The staff was helpful and the kids club team were very friendly with my son. My son loved the water park and the pool party.

Unfortunately our room wasn't what I was expecting. When we arrived in our room it smelled like mildew and it was very humid. The sheets and towels were very damp. I was told I would need to request a dehumidifier. The dehumidifier helped however I had to call or go to the front desk several times a day to have the dehumidifier emptied. I reported that the dehumidifier was leaking even when it was empty and on the last night housekeeping acknowledged that the dehumidifier was in fact broken, which resulted in my sons running shoes being soaked because of the floor being wet all of the time. I was aware of the humidity in advance but it would have been nice if the dehumidifier was already running in the room when we arrived.

We ordered a pizza and club sandwich from room service. Unfortunately the bread from the sandwich and the pizza crust were stale and we did not end up finishing our meal. At the buffet we reported multiple food allergies (peanuts, tree nuts, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds) and were offered assistance when choosing our meals. The manager asked what foods my son likes to eat and I mentioned cheese burgers to which the manager brought us over to the table only to find that the buns had sesame seeds on them. This is an indication to me that the manager is unaware of which allergens are present in foods.

I attempted to schedule our C-19 test when we arrived but was told appointments weren't necessary but testing started at 9:00 am. At 8:45am I arrived at the room where testing was taking place to find that there was already a long line up. The person responsible for administering the test did not arrive until 9:30am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff was really nice, the property was beautiful and clean. My son enjoyed kids club and all of the daily/nightly activities. The buffet food was pretty good. The drinks were good
The weak points
The dehumidifier in our room was broken so the floor was wet all of the time. It was difficult to reach the front desk by phone; I walked over almost every time. The room service food wasn't good
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Our temperature was taken on arrival and in the buffet several times a day. Hand sanitizer was readily available all over the property. Gloves were provided for use in the buffet as well.
Certified

A fun family vacation

, North Vancouver, BC
2022-03-30
Our family of 5 were well accommodated in a Daisy Junior Suite. We loved our ground floor yard and proximity to the kids pool/spray park. The food was good and overall the aesthetics were beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Variety of pools, bars and restaurants. Beautiful Aesthetics. Some ground floor rooms have a little yard (or swim up balcony). Something for all ages. Stunning beach views. Beach front pool and buffet. Kids pool and spray park. Park space for animals.
The weak points
Ocean waves rough for swimming. The beachside pool makes up for it though! Slow service. Be prepared to wait in lines everywhere. Limited shows/entertainment. Long walk from 1 end of the resort to the other. Not good for anyone with mobility issues.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks required in all food areas - even the poolside crepe bar! Hand sanitizer and gloves used to self serve at buffet.
Certified

Great place

, Surrey, BC
2022-03-19
This place is awesome, food, service, staff! We were in privilege so we had a separate restaurant, room service menu and could make reservations at the ala carts. We went during march break which I will never do again, way too busy, had to get up by 8am if you wanted a chair by the pool or beach. We had an infant with us so we needed shade. Lines ups at the ala carts were huge, at least an hour wait, glad we had privilege. Food was very good even at the buffet. Lots of walking, lots of different places to eat and swim, room service excellent. Beach had some rocky spots [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food was some if the best I'd had at an all inclusive
The weak points
Chair saving, and air conditioning was not the best
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Tables were cleared promptly, resort itself looked well maintained
Certified

Not the best experience

, Calgary, AB
2022-03-19
We have been to Mexico many times and were really excited to try this hotel for our sons first vacation. We were very disappointed when we arrived at the lack of staff and options available. I don't like to leave negative reviews and have been hesitant when reading them from others because there is always something to complain about, however I felt I would try and save someone the headache of coming to this resort.

FOOD - The same foods were served at the buffet every single day, and were often empty. The hotel was fully booked during our stay and one buffet for a resort this size at full capacity was not sufficient. There were no snack bars open besides a place to get crepes (for lunch?). A la cartes are normally a nice treat but at this resort the food was comparable to that at the buffet, maybe worse. The pasta at the Italian was dry and flavourless. The pasta at the buffet was better. There were line ups everywhere and the staff working the pool bars and front desk were not very friendly. We got sick from the food that was available. Our mini fridge was stocked twice during our week long vacation and I had to wait 4 hours one day trying to get them to bring bottled water to our room.

AMENTITIES - The bowling alley setup is a joke. You have to be there at 5 pm and it is first come first served. There were only 2 lanes open and I tried to ask if there was a time limit before someone else got a turn but it sounded like you just have to wait until someone was finished. Again, for a resort this size they should have a better system including time limits until someone else gets a turn. You should also be able to book in for the bowling alley so you can enjoy it at least once during your vacation. We did not get to use it and this was something we were excited to do here.

The childrens pool was good and the kids seemed to enjoy it. The water slides don't have any water pressure and the kids were having to scoot themselves down.

We thought we would be able to take our little guy indoors to the kids club and play with him to get him out of the heat but they were never open and it says on the door exclusively for 4-10 years old. In the pictures advertised it looked like babies could go as well but apparently not!

In the pictures of the resort it looks like there are lots of beach chairs available right at the beach, however they are back quite a ways and only a very small section, so good luck getting a seat at the beach unless you are up at 6 am to go set out a towel. And be careful doing that because we had people move our towels and when we asked them why they said “because we had people do it to us yesterday and we wanted to sit here.” [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The cleaning staff are awesome and doing a great job of cleaning the rooms. Many of them don't speak English but are friendlier than the staff in other areas of the resort that do. The drinks are really good and they make the best margaritas.
The weak points
Food. Service. Activities/Restaurants advertised were not open. Hugely understaffed. They should not have booked the hotel at full capacity if they did not have the staff to appropriately accommodate their guests.
Certified

Would not recommend this Resort

, Yellowhead County, AB
2022-03-13
This hotel is not a 4.5 star it is a 2 at best. The buffet was the same thing everyday whether it was breakfast lunch or supper. The house keeping staff literally wouldn't replenish water, coffee or fridge items unless asked to and this is something that SHOULD be done without asking! The bar staff was always amazing, very hard to get into any of the other restaurants without having to wait in line for hours. The cleanliness of the grounds was horrible, used dirty masks everywhere. There should be afterhours staff picking garbage and dirty cups up prior to guests waking in the morning. Everything cost more to enjoy, if you aren't signed up to be Privileged then you are like the bottom of the barrel. Was told going to Mexico would be cheaper but in the end my husband and I could have gone to Hawaii, ate at good restaurants every night, had clean resorts for the same amount. Super disappointed and we are far from "highend" people but this was bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Bartenders, WiFi and the Spa.
The weak points
Everything else.
Certified

Greaat Resort - Horrible Spa

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-12
I stayed 4 days at this resort. The staff was mostly great. They were either extremely helpful, welcoming and happy.. about 10% were absolutely miserable ! Rooms were Great and very clean. Housekeeping sometimes only came in to pick up dirty towels and collect tip ( That may have been due to Covid)
THE SPA WAS HORRIBLE! Rate was high, but we were promised high quality service. The massage was "eh" head massage consisted of twirling fingers around hair, body scrub was a rub down with a rough towel for 2 minutes and Express Facial was a clay mask you had on during the massage

Food was a bit bland considering it is Mexico - I expected some flavour, but still not horrible. Japanese restaurant was amazing, Steakhouse is not worth it, half of us couldn't even eat the meal they served.
Monkey Sanctuary on Site was a huge bonus! so amazing to watch.

We ended up getting incredible massages on the beach for $35US for 1 hour by people that were advertising on the beach ( not with the Resort - I highly recommend instead of the On Site Spa) They can be reached at 529841388261

Overall I enjoyed my stay... but If I go back, it would be for the Monkeys! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
MONKEYS & CREPES !!
The weak points
Rocky Beach
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
They did a great job
Certified

Great Value for the price

, Windsor, ON
2022-03-11
Travelling was myself and my mother both for the 1st time since Covid 19. We took the chance to finally just go and try it out and we are so glad we did. Check in was not the best first impression as the room was not ready at like like they told me it would be and that upset me as we had been travelling and up since 3am. We just wanted a room to get freshened up in and change. I made a fuss and eventually got a room but it took some time. Our bags were brought to us by the bellman and once they arrived we were able to start to enjoy our vacation. I also had to call front desk to get someone to come fix out safe as it kept giving an error code and wouldn't lock. A tech came out quickly and had to eventually go get a new one since that one was not repairable. The buffet was our least favorite but we always found something. The restaurants were soooo good. No reservations required except for 1. We were able to try them all and all were fantastic. I am a beach person and this beach out of the 25 resorts I have travelled to was probably my least favorite but I still enjoyed it. It was fairly rocky and rough. The flag was yellow or red the entire week. The beach was narrow and not a lot of chairs for guests to enjoy so we did the pool more on this vacation. We tried all pools for the week and enjoyed the pool with the entertainment and music the best. If you wanted adults only, kids pool, quiet or music you had all that to choose from. The night shows got better and better each day into the trip. We really enjoyed the fire and the light ones at the end of the week. The piano and the live music ones were enjoyable as well. My mom really liked that the resort had a wide range of guests ages. It wasn't filled with just spring breakers which she didn't enjoy on previous vacations. There was lots of families, couples and seniors. We both would most def go back to this resort if the price was right. We got an incredible deal for what the resort offered. The resort is quite large so it is a lot of walking but there is a tram to catch that will bring you from one end to the other, although we always just walked. We did have an issue with check out with a charge on our bill that took some time to get resolved but did end up getting taken off. We upgraded one day for lunch to a seafood lunch with a huge platter or fresh fish. It was 900 peso which we were in total agreeance with. We tried to book it on night for dinner and showed up at our reso time and the restaurant was closed and in darkness, we were upset about this but just went to one of the other restaurants to eat for free anyways. The next day I wanted to try and get to the bottom of what happened and to try and rebook. we rebooked for the following day at lunch instead. Come check out time they tried to charge us for both times even though we only ended up having it the one time. It was frustrating but eventually got resolved and we weren't charged, but it was an $60 usd that they were trying to make us pay for. The buffet did temperature checks on every person that dined and the staff on the resort wore masks the entire time. I never saw a staff member without the mask the entire week. Guests also had to wear a mask to enter a restaurant and could remove once seated and in the lobby you have to as well. All in all the week was fantastic and the resort has lots to offer. I would book this resort in a heart beat for the right price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The value for what the resort offered
The weak points
Beach, buffet and check in process
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
excellent !! we felt safe the entire week.
Certified

Fun stay

, Lethbridge, AB
2022-03-04
Pool bar was awesome. Me and my son had an amazing time. Only thing I would improve is breakfast. Only one restaurant open for the resort in the morning and it get busy. Asking for a drink doesn't mean you will get one. Didn't even get water until we were done eating so we started bringing our own from the room. Don't always get to eat what you want as some trays are empty and they can't replace them for 20 minutes. Also I wish something could be done about people wasting food, filling up a whole plate full and eating not even a quarter of it. The food that is thrown in the garbage could probably feed a thousand people every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff are friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The person looking after transportation was extremely rude and sounded like he didn't want to deal with anyone. Somebody who absolutely did not want to be there. He destroyed my whole last day.
Certified

Great considering COVID challenges

, Edmonton, AB
2022-02-08
We had a swim out room in the Privilege area. The bed was comfortable, and we chose our pillows from the pillow menu. The butler service was nice. The pool staff served us at our swim out, which was a bonus. In the Privilege area, we had use of the Privilege Lounge restaurant. All of the restaurants were excellent. The Spider Monkeys, Coati's and cats were adorable and fun to watch. The resort did their best to provide excellent entertainment, but due to government COVID restrictions, some of it wasn't as good as I had hoped. Due to COVID restrictions, the piano and sports bar were closed, as was the disco. However, the live music and performances outside in the main square were great. We rented a hookah on our last night. That was a nice touch. All of the wait staff were amazing. The QR code to scan for all of the menus and services was very well done. We mainly used “What'sApp” to get in touch with our butler. We only went to the beach once, as it was busier than the Privilege pool. But the beach was clean, no seaweed to be found. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Restaurants and Privilege pool
The weak points
No piano or sports bar due to COVID restrictions
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff were masked and wait staff wore shields too. Sanitizer available everywhere. Limited capacity in restaurants. All guests must wear masks when indoors, unless seated to eat & drink.
Certified

Would Not Come Here Again

, Ryley, AB
2022-01-26
The hotel is not well maintained, the decor is out-dated, and the hotel is over-run with coatis. The floors outside of our room was constantly covered with coati excrement.
Our room was very cold. We had issues with the plumbing - particularly a broken shower in our first room. We had several complaints and it took them 2.5 days to switch us to a new room two doors down. Thermostat was broken, set at 18 degrees Celsius, remote for our tv didn't work, shower was spraying water across our bathroom floor, and the locks on our patio door did not work.
They recommended an upgrade to an adults only area when we arrived. We paid an additional $560 US per room for this upgrade, and we're so excited to have a swim-out room for the very first time. The swim out pool was so cold we could not use it. I asked for 2.5 days please move us to one that gets some sun so we can swim out there - they refused, said we had already signed for the room and paid for the upgrade, so too bad. All of the swim up pools are cold according to them. It was not only the poor quality but also the poor customer service that made this place disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
There were monkeys in the trees at the resorts that I could feed bananas to in the morning.
The weak points
Broken shower Broken patio door locks (on a ground level room) Broken thermostat Broken remote Freezing swim out pool Really poor customer service *Kids slide in park broken. No safety measures to ensure they didn't fall through the slide.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Nothing special. They sat us at a table that said we can't sit there due to Covid several times.
Certified

Won't go back

, St Albert, AB
2021-11-29
Customer service was lacking, especially at front desk and in restaurants. Just being polite and friendly would be a good start. The pools were nice. There should be more golf carts going to beach and back, it is a long walk. Service filling up mini fridge in room was horrible. 5 people staying in a room And we received 1 cookie. Snacks should be replenished and plentiful. Don't believe it necessary to use pool cards. Food is average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pools are nice
The weak points
Service at front desk, restaurant service, and guest services
Certified

Very racist

, Toronto, AB
2021-11-25
My experience was very disturbing once I arrive at the location they were giving us the cold shoulder is the worst room available The receptionist was very racist the restaurants treats Black people like second class citizens my experience at this resort was horrible there was a lot of Scamman when it comes to your COVID-19 test [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I will not be going back to that resort ever again
The weak points
The bathroom was disgusting they were not fresh towels the balcony was dirty and the property was filthy
Certified

Do not go...you will be very disappointed.

, Brossard, QC
2020-11-04
If you like to be spoiled and professional employees are something you are looking for, the Ocean Rivera Paradise is not the hotel that you want to choose. There are long waiting lines in order to get a coffee or something to drink. At the buffet, it's the same thing. There is only one employee to serve you. They should have several but that is not the case. If you want to make a call outside of the hotel, you have to go through the operator. I waited 40 minutes and no one responded. I tried the front desk and guest services but no reply. I spent 65 minutes trying to get though for nothing, I couldn't make the call. It's a good thing that I paid for the "Privilege Service". I can't even imagine the service that someone without privilege service would receive. I wanted to eat in my room, I tried the hotel application to place my order and the application didn't even work. They told me to place my order by telephone; I called and was told that there was no room service. Why pay for a privilege service if it don't exist? Just to have a different bracelet. That's the only reason.
If your room is in the privilege section that is far from the lobby and you need help with your luggage because it is raining, do not ask the bellboy to drive you to the lobby because he can only takes the suitcase. WOW...what service! Finally, there is no beach at the hotel, the storms have destroyed them. The pools are also dirty and in very bad condition. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Everything you want in a resort!

, Halifax, NS
2020-03-15
Lovely modern facility. We were pleasantly surprised by the ice cream shop and the cafe with lattes and macchiatos and delicious pastries, particularly in the mornings.
The Eden swim up junior suite was spacious and clean but a slight musty smell. We called the front desk and they had a dehumidifier brought up immediately, which solved the problem. The Eden pool is very popular for young and old but if you like peace and quiet, the privilege area might be better, as the Eden pool is a busy, happening place.
We found the restaurants quite good, especially Sakura and Blue Moon but the waiting time can be lengthy and Sakura is by reservation only. Unfortunately, the only time you can make a reservation is at 9 AM and it must be done the morning of, no advance reservations. The lineup is long, so be prepared to be there for 8 AM if you want a 6 PM seating.
If you have mobility issues, one concern is location of the restaurants. Since the shuttle only comes once every 10 to 15 minutes, we often ended up walking and my foot bothered me most of the week. My suggestion would be during peak (evening meals) times that 2 shuttles be running. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would give it a 4.5 out of 5. I did find the replacement cost of a pool towel (if you should lose it) a little ridiculous at $100. We would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a vacation place with lots of activities right on the resort. They even have bowling lanes open from 3 PM until 11 PM, I believe, and there is sort of a sanctuary for monkeys and those animals that look like a cross between an anteater, a monkey, and a raccoon. They are really quite cute! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to do in a modern facility,
The weak points
More hand sanitizers should be at every restaurant and bar and the hostess should greet everyone with a “hello” and a mandatory squirt of sanitizer, especially during this time with the Corona virus.
Certified

Excellent Resort!

, Melville, SK
2020-03-09
This resort has a great layout! We stayed in the Daisy section on ground level which faced the water park. It was ideal for our little kiddo. The ground level rooms also have sun beds off of the patio which was a huge plus for us and we could walk right out to the pool. Food was amazing, even the buffets were great and had great selection ( and I am not a buffet person). The resort is right by Playa which is another perk. Room was very clean and nice. Very well maintained grounds. Loved the cenote and mangrove that goes through the grounds, there were many animals including tonnes of monkeys. There is plenty to do, and you can walk the beautiful beach for miles. The fresh smoothie bar on the beach is sooo good and the crepe bistro is a must! Our only thing that ruined part of out trip, was halfway through out little guy caught Hand foot and mouth (which is very common in toddlers and can be caught literally anywhere!). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for kids and families! Excellent food!
The weak points
Our toddler caught hand foot and mouth disease (which can be caught anywhere and is common) but definitely put a damper on the end of our trip.
Certified

Great Place to Stay

, Regina, SK
2020-03-08
We had an awesome time at this resort. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There are plenty of options to eat with only one restaurant that requires a reservation. There is plenty of beach to lay back but swimming in the ocean is not ideal as there is seaweed/rocks. No need to worry though as there is a pool at the beach and plenty of other pools to lounge around at. There is a casino/sports bar/karaoke/bowling/entertainment shows to keep you busy as you want at night. There is also tennis courts/ batting cage and a nice gym for those who want to stay more active. Because of the size of the resort you have a really nice jogging/walking trail. You can also go for a long walk along the beach. The rooms themselves were average but they were clean. The housekeeping staff did a good job cleaning the rooms. There is a lot to do for everyone including the mobility impaired- a shuttle runs around the resort to transport you with stops along the way. There is a wildlife area that features monkeys and I believe coati (Mexican raccoons), [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Service, Pools, Entertainment, Wild Life, Size
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Barrie, ON
2020-03-04
We had a blast. We enjoyed it.
The resort is pretty amazing.
Over all really great resort. My husband and I are even considering returning to it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing service Really good food Lots of fun activities Amazing shows, mexican Night. Love the wildlife
The weak points
Walk in a la cartes are a bit of a wait, it is what it is. Wifi is a little slow They would approach you re: timeshare at check in, but we didnt feel harassed about it.
Certified

My worst vacation yet!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-17
The service here is terrible. Don't bother upgrading to a swim up room! The sun is only on the pool until noon. Than you're in the shade. And even if you're ok with that, you're so far away from the pool, and not one person comes to take a drink order. Half the time our fridge wasn't re filled. We ended up spending $65 US on 2 bubba cups there just so we could go to one of the bars to get them filled with water so we had something to drink!
Our sliding door didn't lock, I had to ask for it to be fixed 5 times with several people. The first night we had to jam the door shut with sticks so we could go to sleep! We were there for our honeymoon, and they were aware of this. What a joke. None of the perks for honeymooners happened except a disgusting breakfast that was delivered to the room on the wrong day!!
Speaking of which, I have had better food in Cuba. My husband and I were both starving all week long. The only decent restaurants there were Route 66 (closed 2 nights we were there) and the Sakura.
When I finally had enough and went to the lobby to complain to guest services about everything that we were upset about, he point blank told me if you don't like it than don't come back here. So guess what. We won't be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is new looks nice
The weak points
Food service. Swim up rooms are a joke
Certified

Poor hygiene standards

, London, ON
2020-02-07
I would not stay here again. The hygiene standards at dining room were poor- unwashed grapes adjacent to cold cuts, bugs in lettuce, which was not cut up. Dishes left empty at various food stations were not replenished. No napkin to cover bread loaves while cutting and no hand sanitizers. When it comes to slicing meat they have no clue so beef and steaks in general were like rubber. Booked a poolside room, which hotel refused to acknowledge, giving us a “garden view room” with a
disgustingly filthy sun bed. Coati and raccoons running rampant over pool area and climbing onto tables. There are signs advising not to feed animals but staff do not enforce them. Anything but basic drinks, e.g. specialty coffees are extra charge. Sun beds by pool are invariably “reserved” by 8 am with many being left unoccupied until late afternoon. The other issue was lack of standards with respect to dress code at a la carte, with people in ripped jeans, tank tops etc. when dress code recommended dress shirt, long pants or Bermuda shorts etc,
If you are looking for an H10 the Ocean Turquesa is far better and the staff there were amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach
The weak points
Indifferent service, no replenishment at buffet, lousy steaks at a lacarte

Best resort ever

, Gatineau, QC
2020-01-22
Amazing pools and beach
I will return for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Ocean Riviera Paradise - 7/10

, Mississauga, ON
2019-12-31
The Hotel is new and has all the basic amenities down path. There are 6-7 pools so there is always space and pools are kept clean. There is no need to pay for Privileges' rooms as standard rooms almost are better situated for pools and get almost the same service for Privileges'. The Hotel staff needs a boost of some sort to assist better and communicate better to their clients. The shows at night were not that great. You are better off eating at restaurants than Buffet. The quality of the food at Buffet was not great. For vegetarians, it will be a struggle to find a proper meal. This hotel should not be selected for its Beach area. Beach has lots of seaweeds and rocks. if you are not careful about the rocks, you will definitely hurt your self. Be aware of wild life at the resort, if you are not fan of monkeys and lizards, this is not a place for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel was clean, had so many pools, walk way is really nice. Really nice Mike's Coffee Shop, good selection of restaurants. Really nice Waterpark for the kids, Gym, and Tennis ground
The weak points
Overpriced Spa, Not good selection of food for vegetarians, Staff is not that helpful and communicative, If you don't tip, the service is not there. Beach area was not clean, had lots of rocks and seaweeds in the water.
Certified

Relaxing Vacation

, Moncton, NB
2019-12-28
Our family enjoyed our stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sales pressure to upgrade as soon as we walked in was quite annoying but after that Service was great!
The weak points
Lacked evening family activities - shows were quite late. Rocky beach.
Certified

Septic smell and poor service

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-12-13
The hotel smells like toilet. You won't be able to get the room you originally booked, the hotel is over crowded, staff are tired, nonresponsive and rude. They give more attention to spanish local Mexican. Canadians are no really welcomed there. The food is not good we got food poisoned. They do construction while people are in the room. We couldn't sleep due to excessive paint smell that was done in the room next door. Beach was not clean compared to other hotels. We checked out 4 days early and went to hyatt that's how bad this hotel was. It's a two star hotel good for cheap and poor people who don't understand quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rude staff
The weak points
Where do I begin. To summ it up if you are not local you are not welcomed there. Bathroom leaked. Ac did not work. Chemical smell from construction. Hotel smells bad at night.
Certified

Phenomenal Trip

, Coldbrook, NS
2019-05-27
My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Rivera paradise this past month with some very close friends for our annual winter vacation. Having been to Mexico previously we were certain of what to expect, good food, good service, and good drinks. Mexico has never disappointed us. We decided to go with the privilege upgrade which we have never done before and we were very happy that we did. Private check in was very fast and easy with no line up. It took only 15 mins to check in or time enough for the bartender to make us two rounds of drinks, Awesome! The privilege lounge was a nice place to go for a quiet dinner and drinks with excellent food and staff. The roof top bar at the privilege lounge was particularly nice in the evening for a night cap. We enjoyed the beach very much, we spent every day on the beach from 8:00 am until supper soaking up the 32 degree heat with a nice sea breeze. Our server “Judith” absolutely made our days on the beach relaxing and fun. She always knew exactly when to come by to check in on us and the beer, drinks, and tequila were spot on and ice cold every time. I have seen lots of hard working people in my day but Judith was the next level. She never stopped moving and always did it with a big beautiful smile! Most times she knew what we were going to order before we even asked. Also our butler Edwardo was extremely helpful getting us booked into all the restaurants and had great recommendations about what to try and the best times to book. Typically we ate breakfast at the Mexican restaurant buffet rather than the main buffet because it was closer to our room. Both were similar in terms of food varieties and quality was excellent. Favorites for me was the smoked Salmon, fresh fruit, and pastries. Of course no morning is complete without coffee and Mexico has some of the best, hands down. Rosa often waited on us in the morning and she always got us primed for our day. Coffee and mimosas. Like the lovely Judith at the beach your cup never had a chance to get empty. Rosa was the cream in our coffee each morning. Often we would see her working at the beachside buffet at lunchtime with the same drive from the morning carrying through. The Fresh pizza at the beach was yummy with many different options. Guaranteed to find a pizza you would like. Overall this trip exceeded our expectation and we have already talked about going back with our friends and family. The employees working the resort made our stay exceptional and pleasant. Special thanks to Edwardo our butler, Rosa the cream in our morning coffee, and the Queen of the beach “Judith the Smile”. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Okay hotel. Don't expect too much

, Saint-Laurent, Qu
2019-03-06
We arrived and requested extra beach towel card. They said one per person until made up excuse of bad back. Room ceiling was leaking with mold starting to form. Took 4 visits to lobby to get it partially fixed (they painted over the mold and disconnected the roof hot tub).
All restaurants were under -staffed, so that there were line ups at all times even when many tables were empty. The food was okay for a hotel, nothing worth mentioning. The grounds are a nice blend between concrete and jungle. Definitely not enough beach for the size of the hotel since it was difficult to find chairs or even space on the beach for chairs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, location, scenery, amenities. Great wifi
The weak points
Under-staffed, incomprehensible restaurant schedules, too many beach vendors, very stingy with towels, restaurant decors all similar (no creativity).
Certified

Ocean Riveria Paradise

, Halifax, NS
2019-03-04
It's a nice place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Layout of the resort. Loved the wide promenade running through the center from the lobby to the beach. Great to have a jogging path. Several pools, including one by the beach. Rooms are spacious and clean and have balconies. Shops on the resort.
The weak points
Service in the buffet was spotty. They should have specific staff busing tables. Concrete brick on the outer perimeter jogging path is a hazard due to uneven and loose bricks. I fell twice; sustained several cuts and a chipped tooth.
Certified

Stay in Ocean Riviera Paradise

, Red Deer, AB
2019-03-03
In general, not a bad experience.
Food was fair, the property of room and washroom was excellent, the gift shop was too expensive and they were calculating pesos and Can $ as they want to get the much profit possible. Staff was not all the time friendly, sometimes they were harsh and they were dealing with us in a rude way, especially Amaranto and the restaurant on the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room are clean, the service room did a great job maintaining the room proper and clean, the washrooms are also very clean, very well maintained
The weak points
The staff was sometimes rude and harsh when dealing with us. The manager of Amaranto was rude when telling us not to take the food out of the restaurant due to a medical issue with my daughter, he was dealing with us as thieves stealing food from him.
Certified

Ocean Riviera Paradise - a great stay!

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-28
Excellent experience. Quick check in. We had requested 2 queen beds and were put into the Privilege room to accommodate our request. Everyone was very friendly. Food was great. Loved the Steak Restaurant. Buffet was also good with lots of variety. They also take food allergies seriously.

Lots of pools and activities for all ages. Foam party was awesome and kids loved it.

We really loved the coffee shop and ice cream parlour. They were daily stops for us.

The beach was okay. Water was choppy and lots of seaweed.

Unfortunately, I experienced a medical emergency. The staff were amazing and went through the whole resort to find my wife and let her know. They continued to follow up with us to see how we were doing. They even had balloons in the room upon my return from hospital.

This is a resort we would consider going to again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly attentive staff Great pools and activities Good food Ice cream parlour Coffee Shop
The weak points
Beach - lots of seaweed. Kids did not want to be on the beach for this reason.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022