Catalonia Riviera Maya And Yucatan Beach

Catalonia Riviera Maya And Yucatan Beach
4.174.174.174.174.17
4.17 based on 60 reviews
#15 of 128 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (78)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

My best vacation ever

, Thunder Bay, ON
2022-04-24
The hotel is amazing. I return to this property because the staff is the best. At the arrival the bellboys and the receptionists offer to me the best welcome ever. I'm be in one of the best rooms in the resorts. Thank you to the front desk and the Manager Amaury, they are really friendly always. The room was clean all the stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Front desk Bellboys Housekeeping
The weak points
Nothing

The waiters and workers are great.

, Grand Falls , NB
2022-04-19
We want to say thank you to Hector at guess service for the service we received from him,for unplaisant circumstance that happened to us and trying to make it better. Karol at the entertaiment who always had a smile and all those working with her.All the personal was very pleasant and always ready to serve you.Be sure to lock all your personal belongings in the safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food was good, rooms were clean and the ground outside very well maintained.The waiters and personal were great
The weak points
never towels in our room,had to call. The beach is non existant. we arrived march 30,2022 and the small place that you could do snorkeling was full of seaweeds. For someone who wants to go at the beach there is non and you cannot walk on the beach.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Going in the restaurants always had personal checking that people had their mask on.
Certified

Thank you for the hospitality

, Burnaby, BC
2022-04-08
Amazing experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Angelo made us feel very welcome! Thank you Angelo for all the time you spent with us

Disappointed

, Campbell River, BC
2022-03-26
Very happy to be in Mexico, disappointed with many aspects of our hotel stay.
My personal property was damaged by a rodent let into our room by the housekeeping staff. My blanket was used by this rodent as it's bathroom. It chewed and damaged my expensive leather sandals. The management of the hotel was not willing to compensate me for the cost of my damaged property. VERY UNHAPPY!
Our room was suppose to have 2 queen beds and an ocean view, it had one king bed, ground floor and a view of the grounds. The patio door did not operate properly. For several days it did not open, a safety concern in the event of an emergency. After several requests and 3 days, maintenance tried to fix the door. For the remainder of our stay, sometimes the door would lock and stay locked, mostly it would not remain locked ( another safety concern as we were ground level)
The beach was a huge disappointment and unusable. There was so much seaweed on the sand and in the water. The smell of the seaweed was offensive. For Exclusive guests there was a better beach and access to ocean. The seaweed was removed daily.
There were not enough lounge chairs near the pool to accommodate the number of guests. Get up early ( before 7am) to place your towels on a chair (reserve) or you won't have anywhere to sit for the day.
Buffet had many options and the food was good/decent. The ala carte restaurants were fully booked the first week of our stay. We were not able to use all of the ala carte meals provided with our booking. The Japanese restaurant and burgers (upstairs) were our favorites.
Staff working around the resort were friendly.
Internet/wifi was free but very poor and slow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Housekeeping, Food and Beverage staff, Entertainment/Activities staff were very friendly. Grounds were nicely maintained. Overall hotel cleanliness was good. Japanese (ala carte) restaurant was great!
The weak points
Management unwilling to compensate (replace or pay for) for damage to personal property. Concierge and Front desk staff not helpful. Beach for non-exclusive guest was not useable due to seaweed coverage. Ala Carte options fully booked
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks at all times. Hand sanitizer was able in most common areas. Signs posted asking guests to wear masks and maintain social distancing.
Certified

Very nice

, Calgary, AB
2022-03-17
the Hotel was nice the staff was very good the food was very good . Would I go back yes but I would probably up grade my room next time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff ,food, and the pool areas
The weak points
room could be updated
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean
Certified

Feb 21-26 Stay at the Catalonia Riviera Maya

, Saskatoon, SK
2022-02-28
I went with my girffriend and it was an amazing experience. Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff were amazing. The food was amazing, the pools, the beaches. All amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff were the best. The ocean view was amazing.
The weak points
nothing to write about it. all good.
Certified

Truly a wonderful place

, Toronto, ON
2022-02-24
The resort is beautifully designed, not too opulent, just right! There are many options for activities or simply basking in the sun, good community spirit, and an indulgent menu. The entire resort is maintained to a very high standard by staff who seemingly work all hours, are attentive, courteous, patient and caring. The gardens are beautiful and the birds start singing at the crack of dawn. Disco closes at 11:00pm every night, place is generally quiet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Local staff are absolutely the best
The weak points
Too much food and drink - can be toned down to align with our environmental footprint.
Certified

Great resort

, Regina, SK
2022-02-17
I absolutely loved this resort. One of the best ones I've been too. I loved the staff, everyone was super nice and The bartenders were constantly bringing us drinks which was awesome lol. Loved it. Will definitely be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Awesome place

, Vernon, BC
2022-02-01
We are having the best time, wonderful staff, resort is beautiful and very clean. Entertainment is great, pool and beach area is wonderful. Plenty of beach chairs, food options are great including buffet. And of course lot of premium quality drinks to chose from. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Lot of food options, cleanliness, lot of beach chairs, wonderful staff

Beautiful Grounds

, Nanaimo, BC
2021-12-22
Overall this is a beautiful resort for pools, beach, restaurants and service.
Amazing service and staff, everyone was wonderful.
Loved the privileged benefits
Restaurant and service were great
Awesome Entertainment group
Loved the Mexican Fiesta Saturday Night Pool Party
Great Pools and Beach Area.
Puerto Adventuras was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing service and staff. Loved the privileged benefits Restaurant and service were great Awesome Entertainment group Loved the Mexican Fiesta Saturday Night Pool Party Great Pools and Beach Area. Puerto Adventuras was lovely.
The weak points
The accommodation / rooms are terrible, make sure you request a newly renovated room, they are very nice. Missed having an outdoor evening lounge area. The evening lounge area is inside in a brightly lit packed area.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Not sure how they clean all the plastic glasses that keep going around. Take a togo mug.
Certified

Home away from home

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2021-12-20
The hotel is a true 4 star, but with 5 star employees! Ridiculously clean, grounds well maintained, excellent service by all! Wifi is spotty sometimes (Mexico) Food choices are aplenty! 5 pools, many bars. Beach is a snorkelers paradise, like swimming in an aquarium!
Price value is 5 star! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The employees! Startng with Amaury (manager)who always made a pointto say hello each day and ask if I needed anything! Rene from entertainment Rosa(Rosalie) and Oscar from lobby bar Angelina and Guadalupe from buffet. If I can name all I would
The weak points
TV channels (lol)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Gloves available at buffet Masks enforced Continually disinfecting

Mexico adventures!

, Abbotsford, BC
2021-12-17
An absolutely amazing time at this Hotel, the staff was so friendly, especially the entertainment team! They were so fun and really boosted the energy of the resort! Always fun games and events going on, it really made for an active, entertaining experience! I miss the team already, as they really made an effort to connect with the guests! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
All the people of the entertainment team The Japanese restaurant
The weak points
Not being able to stay longer

Fantastic Holiday

, Airdrie, AB
2021-12-15
We had an absolutely wonderful experience and we will 100% be returning to the resort. Jeremias our waiter was one of the nicest guy we have ever met, knowledgeable about the resort and the general area we were staying in Puerto Aventura and could answer any questions we had. The food in the buffet was just very, very good and cooked to perfection. All the staff were incredible from the grounds keepers to the ladies that cleaned the rooms. Bloved restaurant was great. We didn't make to a lot of the other restaurants so no comments. We will be highly recommending the Catalonia and PA to everyone we know. Thank you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Easy Covid testing that was setup for the guests , the staff were knowledgeable and very good
The weak points
Not a real big deal but , The only weak point we may have had is the money exchange couldn't break a lot of the money as we requested smaller bills like 50.00 and she never had any which was ok as we just went to reception and got them there.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Perfect we had no fear lots of sanitizers and the staff would ask you to put on your masks if you forgot. Perfect and most people would oblige.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-12-22
Dear Richard, thank you very much for allowing us to know about your experience. We are pleased with your kind recommendation and love to read that you enjoyed the service and the property in general. Jeremias will be informed of your kind recognition, in advance, thank you very much for the confidence in mentioning him. On the other hand, we understand the weak point and, although we are a different business, we will verify what we can do to provide a better service. We are grateful for your visit, hope you come back soon and continue enjoying the riches of the Riviera Maya. Best regards, Social Media.

Catalonia Riviera Maya and Yucatan Beach

, Delta , BC
2021-12-06
On arrival everything was set up even though we arrived at 11:45 pm. Room was fantastic and quiet. Amoury greeted us the next morning and help us around the resort. Very out going and full of positive advice. Resturants are all great with choices that would not make anyone not eat the same thing twice. Pools and the ocean where great we snorkelled everyday which fish in the bay. Carlos was the best bartender and delivered drinks to our chairs over looking the ocean. You can't go wrong here. Walking distance to Puerto Adventures for dolphins, shopping, Marina and sightseeing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff go out of there way to make your holiday great
The weak points
Distance from the airport but worth it
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All-ways cleaning and sanitary around pools, food areas and common areas
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-12-14
Dear Rob & Nancy, thank you for giving us the opportunity to know the impression you take home of our accommodation offer. We cannot express how delighted we are to understand that your expectations have been met. This type of result is what we are aiming to achieve, so we will continue to work as a team to accomplish it. Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to be your accommodation. We hope you will come back soon. Best regards, Social Media.

Vacation 2021

, Delta , BC
2021-12-03
Excellent holiday! Staff are super! Everything you want you can get! Rooms are comfortable and cleaned very well. Food in the elcarte restaurants is excellent. Pools are clean, and lots of activities to do. Carlos at beach bar is wonderful. The rooms manager Amaury is perfectly wonderful and full of great information about anything you need to know! Highly recommend staying here! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff excellent! Everything is perfect!
The weak points
Italian restaurant not as great as others.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-12-14
Dear Rob, thank you very much for your kind recommendation! We are very happy to know that your experience has been positive. We will share with Amaury and Carlos your kind recognition, for sure they will feel very satisfied to know that their great work has been fundamental to achieving this incredible experience. Furthermore, we hope you will return very soon, it will be a pleasure to have you home again. Best regards, Social Media.

Five times at this hotel

, Thunder Bay, ON
2021-11-30
Great food, amazing staff, clean rooms. The bellboys are great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Thank you Fabian, Yamely, Luis, Amaury, the live music band.

First trip in 2 and a half years!

, Pierrefonds, QC
2021-11-18
First time in Mexico! Food at the Catalonia is very good. Great selection at the buffet and quite a few a la carte. Japanese was my favorite. I upgraded to a premium room, what a difference! Standard rooms need updates. Covid precautions well respected by attentive and polite staff. Thank you Amaury for your advice and attention! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great time at Catalonia Resort

, Richmond Hill, ON
2021-11-16
This is my first vacation for last two years!
Catalonia Riviera Maya I'd exceed my expectation compare to price and quality of the service you get. All people are very hardworking and accommodate your request quickly. I would recommend to upgrade to ”Privilege” level. I love paddle board. Thanks for delicious food in beLoved restaurant. Special thanks Amaury for taking great photo! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
I needed internet in my room for work. Reception people changed my room to right one!
The weak points
It would be great to have dedicated area for yoga with wooden floor!

Our Vaccation

, Rd, ON
2021-10-29
Well we just got back from a great vacation at Catalonia everything went well. Checking in at the front desk was a breeze very polite and helpfully people Our room was beautiful the grounds are kept very nice and all staff was outstanding Amaury Gomez is a very nice man and helpful in any questions you have It is a lovely hotel and would suggest it to anyone Book Now [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Relaxing in our 2nd home

, Rd, ON
2021-10-24
Hello we have been coming to this resort for 14 years and have been here 24 times in that time. Why you ask let me tell you right from the beginning when we arrived the people at the front desk are very polite helpful and very fast at getting you booked in and getting you to your beautiful room
The grounds are kept up with beautiful care and the beach is well maintained they are all very hard workers
The bartenders are excellent service is good and they always are smiling .
In the restaurants the food is very good and the waiters and waitress are so kind
Never have we had a problem here
We have also met alot of the higher up staff such as Enrique Cuba and Amaury Gomez who are always around to do help you for what ever you need or to answer any of your questions
We travel here every October and May and would highly recommend this beautiful resort any time of the year
So don't wait book now and enjoy yourself at a wonderful resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service cleanliness of the rooms ALL staff and in general a wonderful place to vacation
The weak points
Nothing

Vacations

, Stoney Creek, ON
2021-09-11
People are very kind, the food is excellent, that is why I keep coming back, Betty from guest service is also very helpful and kind [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The people, staff
The weak points
Granrantee that is always sunshine

Guest Services

, Richmond, BC
2021-09-02
Betty at guest services was the utmost patient, calm, helpful, advisor i have ever dealt with. She booked all our dinner reservations with a smile on even though we kept switching them around. She also was very kind to arrange our pcr test and go the extra mile to make sure it was alligned with our flight departure. I really appreciate the kindness and patience she has. Deff will be returning here!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Everything was lovely

Nice Resort

, Ottawa, ON
2021-09-01
It was lovely. The staff are marvellous. The food was often cold. The beach has too many rocks along the waterline. The staff do great cleaning up the seaweed. There are people who come in to do covid tests for the trip home. It felt safe with sanitizer, masks and distancing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, safety, covid test
The weak points
Food, beach
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Fantastic and safe. Masks, sanitizer and testing.
Certified

Happy guest

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2020-12-24
I was very happy to have chosen this resort. Traveled alone and during Covid.
Everyone was friendly, whether it was staff or guests, everyone made sure everyone was included in activities. Of course there were some restrictions due to Covid but no one seemed to mind or complain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Cleanliness was outstanding I.e. Beach chairs got disinfected every day... The friendliness and willing to help of the staff...wow! Staff... basically everything was very good!
The weak points
Well weak points, traveling during Covid of course all services not available but that's expected ...A bit too many locals during the weekend, That's about it

Management did not care

, Carnwood, HA
2020-03-22
The hotel itself was good. Pretty good food. Nice staff. Except when my wife asked to speak with the manager. We were leaving early due to the coronavirus. To be safe. My wife had worked 3 jobs for 7 months to buy this trip as a gift for my birthday. We also upgraded when we got there. Since they already had our money, we just wanted a voucher for a day or 2 for a room. Smart if they would have because we would come back and tell ppl about their kindness and bring in more ppl. But this did not happen. They sent her to the counter where you make dinner reservations where she was met with indifference on her request and was told the manager would call and leave a message. He never even called to say "Sorry there is nothing we can do" as a courtesy. Very disappointed about this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room cleanliness. Many bilingual workers.
The weak points
Uncaring manager
Certified

Ten Days at the Catalonia

, Barrie, ON
2020-03-05
We had a wonderful time. The food assortment was fantastic, the hotel staff were all great. The nightly shows were good but too confined in the small theater space. It would have been nice to see a show outside.
The only complaint we had was that the beach was too rocky and not long or big enough. We were squished together by sun chairs at all times.
Great Marina area easy to walk to and enjoy the entertainment there.
Overall great time. Thanks Catalonia, we will see you again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was great, service was amazing
The weak points
beach too small, entertainment outside of small theater would have been nice too.
Certified

Catalonia Riviera Maya

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-02
This was a first "all-inclusive" holiday for us, so there was a bit of a learning curve in terms of figuring out the etiquette of tipping. (We chose to tip all drivers, guides, bar, buffet and restaurant servers and room attendants). As things worked for us, we probably spent less than half our vacation on the resort, given we wanted to explore the area and spent many of our days away on excursions. There was a mix of families, spring break students and retirees on the resort - not an issue and we did not experience any out-of-control partiers.

We arrived late on the first day and due to unforeseen circumstances, we were given a queen-bed room and moved the following day (about 3 pm) to our king room. It kind of took the wind out of arriving and feeling settled but in the end, we appreciated the second room and it was worth the effort of re-packing and moving.

Buffet fare was very plentiful and lots of variety - probably our best meals were in the smaller of the two buffets, it just seemed a bit quieter at times. Of the 4 other restaurants, we sampled the Japanese one was the most entertaining! The Italian and the Mexican ones needed some flair - the decor and the music didn't seem to suit the theme. We did not see any shows or evening entertainment, so booked late dinners to fill our time.

We used the spa for a hydro-therapy session: steam room, sauna and pool with high-pressure massage faucets. My husband wasn't crazy for the hot/ cold plunges, but I found it relaxing and an enjoyable to pass an hour or so.

Bikes were booked quickly and the golf carts were available, but for a fee.

For those who depart later in the day the resort does allow you to stash your bags and enjoy the resort until your pick up time. We checked out at noon and had access to a courtesy room to freshen up before our shuttle to the airport. Unfortunately, we were misinformed that the access was only for 30 minutes and because the front desk released another family an additional key - we were caught off guard by the fact that our door was opened by people we didn't know and we were faced with several very irate guests! It was a very unsettling and confrontational incident at the end of an otherwise lovely week.

All in all, it was a fine resort. We learned that we are not necessarily all-inclusive travellers - we did not necessarily make the best use of all the amenities at Catalonia despite the offerings. It is a very friendly, clean and accessible resort - well worth the consideration if you are looking for a quieter, semi-active retreat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is friendly and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and clean. Our room was quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed the balcony-view.
The weak points
The courtesy room procedures could be improved with a little clarification for guests and a strict policy of issuing one key at a time for this kind of room and service.
Certified

Riviera maya

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-13
Excellent!!! Wonderful staff!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools grounds beautiful. Staff amazing
The weak points
Add soft ice cream!
Certified

Not terrible but won't be going back

, New Westminster, BC
2020-01-05
The resort itself is beautiful. The beach is amazing and so warm. Enjoyed the daily activities at the pool and the theatre shows. 90% of the staff, are great. Very welcoming, friendly..

What we didn't appreciate was, the one lady at the front desk who was so extremely ignore! I asked who we talk to about, having cervasa everyday day put in our mini fridge. Not only did she, shake her head while, shaking her fingers, she was very harsh in speaking to you me saying, only the privileged get that.

We had a bad leaking in our bathroom coming from, the light fixture over the toilet. When I went to let the front desk know, it was the same ignorant lady, who then rolled her eyes at me. Their fix was to lifting up the toilet seat!

There's a bridge in the middle of the resort that people slipping on, on a daily basis. We watched several people hurt themselves. You can't tell me that, they can't have that bridge safe proofed. It's ridiculous. I slipped and fell within, an hour of being there. Bad enough, it looked like I had 2 kneecaps.

We got taken advantage of by our travel guides. Told, we could absolutely not buy anything from the markets that are inside, chichen Itza, it was illegal. Well, needless to say, it's not!!

Had our excursion to the cenotes, cut In half. Was NOT told we didn't not have to fill out the paperwork for our Mayan birth certificate if we didn't want to buy them. We filled it out and was told inside the built, we HAD TO buy it because it was already made. B.S!

There was also construction going on, sometimes it started at 6am!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Decent holiday

, Richmond Hill, ON
2020-01-05
The hotel was nice enough. In need of some updating for sure. Big disappointment in what they claimed were ‘privileged' suite amenities, that did not come to fruition. Only bonus of the privileged suite is the private restaurant.
The entertainment staff were amazing - just wish the resort would have music playing at the pool through the day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks were great. Staff were great. Well kept property. Food was great.
The weak points
Complicated to navigate the resort. Needs updating. Music during the day. Better utilization of the beach bar for evening festivities.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022