Catalonia Riviera Maya And Yucatan Beach

Catalonia Riviera Maya And Yucatan Beach
3.813.813.813.813.81
3.81 based on 16 reviews
#37 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (9)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Happy guest

, Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, QC
2020-12-24
I was very happy to have chosen this resort. Traveled alone and during Covid.
Everyone was friendly, whether it was staff or guests, everyone made sure everyone was included in activities. Of course there were some restrictions due to Covid but no one seemed to mind or complain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Cleanliness was outstanding I.e. Beach chairs got disinfected every day... The friendliness and willing to help of the staff...wow! Staff... basically everything was very good!
The weak points
Well weak points, traveling during Covid of course all services not available but that's expected ...A bit too many locals during the weekend, That's about it

Management did not care

, Carnwood, HA
2020-03-22
The hotel itself was good. Pretty good food. Nice staff. Except when my wife asked to speak with the manager. We were leaving early due to the coronavirus. To be safe. My wife had worked 3 jobs for 7 months to buy this trip as a gift for my birthday. We also upgraded when we got there. Since they already had our money, we just wanted a voucher for a day or 2 for a room. Smart if they would have because we would come back and tell ppl about their kindness and bring in more ppl. But this did not happen. They sent her to the counter where you make dinner reservations where she was met with indifference on her request and was told the manager would call and leave a message. He never even called to say "Sorry there is nothing we can do" as a courtesy. Very disappointed about this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room cleanliness. Many bilingual workers.
The weak points
Uncaring manager
Certified

Ten Days at the Catalonia

, Barrie, ON
2020-03-05
We had a wonderful time. The food assortment was fantastic, the hotel staff were all great. The nightly shows were good but too confined in the small theater space. It would have been nice to see a show outside.
The only complaint we had was that the beach was too rocky and not long or big enough. We were squished together by sun chairs at all times.
Great Marina area easy to walk to and enjoy the entertainment there.
Overall great time. Thanks Catalonia, we will see you again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was great, service was amazing
The weak points
beach too small, entertainment outside of small theater would have been nice too.
Certified

Catalonia Riviera Maya

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-02
This was a first "all-inclusive" holiday for us, so there was a bit of a learning curve in terms of figuring out the etiquette of tipping. (We chose to tip all drivers, guides, bar, buffet and restaurant servers and room attendants). As things worked for us, we probably spent less than half our vacation on the resort, given we wanted to explore the area and spent many of our days away on excursions. There was a mix of families, spring break students and retirees on the resort - not an issue and we did not experience any out-of-control partiers.

We arrived late on the first day and due to unforeseen circumstances, we were given a queen-bed room and moved the following day (about 3 pm) to our king room. It kind of took the wind out of arriving and feeling settled but in the end, we appreciated the second room and it was worth the effort of re-packing and moving.

Buffet fare was very plentiful and lots of variety - probably our best meals were in the smaller of the two buffets, it just seemed a bit quieter at times. Of the 4 other restaurants, we sampled the Japanese one was the most entertaining! The Italian and the Mexican ones needed some flair - the decor and the music didn't seem to suit the theme. We did not see any shows or evening entertainment, so booked late dinners to fill our time.

We used the spa for a hydro-therapy session: steam room, sauna and pool with high-pressure massage faucets. My husband wasn't crazy for the hot/ cold plunges, but I found it relaxing and an enjoyable to pass an hour or so.

Bikes were booked quickly and the golf carts were available, but for a fee.

For those who depart later in the day the resort does allow you to stash your bags and enjoy the resort until your pick up time. We checked out at noon and had access to a courtesy room to freshen up before our shuttle to the airport. Unfortunately, we were misinformed that the access was only for 30 minutes and because the front desk released another family an additional key - we were caught off guard by the fact that our door was opened by people we didn't know and we were faced with several very irate guests! It was a very unsettling and confrontational incident at the end of an otherwise lovely week.

All in all, it was a fine resort. We learned that we are not necessarily all-inclusive travellers - we did not necessarily make the best use of all the amenities at Catalonia despite the offerings. It is a very friendly, clean and accessible resort - well worth the consideration if you are looking for a quieter, semi-active retreat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is friendly and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and clean. Our room was quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed the balcony-view.
The weak points
The courtesy room procedures could be improved with a little clarification for guests and a strict policy of issuing one key at a time for this kind of room and service.
Certified

Riviera maya

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-13
Excellent!!! Wonderful staff!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools grounds beautiful. Staff amazing
The weak points
Add soft ice cream!
Certified

Not terrible but won't be going back

, New Westminster, BC
2020-01-05
The resort itself is beautiful. The beach is amazing and so warm. Enjoyed the daily activities at the pool and the theatre shows. 90% of the staff, are great. Very welcoming, friendly..

What we didn't appreciate was, the one lady at the front desk who was so extremely ignore! I asked who we talk to about, having cervasa everyday day put in our mini fridge. Not only did she, shake her head while, shaking her fingers, she was very harsh in speaking to you me saying, only the privileged get that.

We had a bad leaking in our bathroom coming from, the light fixture over the toilet. When I went to let the front desk know, it was the same ignorant lady, who then rolled her eyes at me. Their fix was to lifting up the toilet seat!

There's a bridge in the middle of the resort that people slipping on, on a daily basis. We watched several people hurt themselves. You can't tell me that, they can't have that bridge safe proofed. It's ridiculous. I slipped and fell within, an hour of being there. Bad enough, it looked like I had 2 kneecaps.

We got taken advantage of by our travel guides. Told, we could absolutely not buy anything from the markets that are inside, chichen Itza, it was illegal. Well, needless to say, it's not!!

Had our excursion to the cenotes, cut In half. Was NOT told we didn't not have to fill out the paperwork for our Mayan birth certificate if we didn't want to buy them. We filled it out and was told inside the built, we HAD TO buy it because it was already made. B.S!

There was also construction going on, sometimes it started at 6am!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Decent holiday

, Richmond Hill, ON
2020-01-05
The hotel was nice enough. In need of some updating for sure. Big disappointment in what they claimed were ‘privileged' suite amenities, that did not come to fruition. Only bonus of the privileged suite is the private restaurant.
The entertainment staff were amazing - just wish the resort would have music playing at the pool through the day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks were great. Staff were great. Well kept property. Food was great.
The weak points
Complicated to navigate the resort. Needs updating. Music during the day. Better utilization of the beach bar for evening festivities.
Certified

You Should Know

, Parksville, BC
2019-12-30
I arrived late to find that my hotel room door just pushed open. Front desk refused to give me a different room. The door did not latch or lock, the room has been freshly oil painted that day, but no windows could be opened for fresh air. They refused to move me for days, until a Spanish speaking person helped me. Then came two cases of food poisoning. The only thing worthwhile was the SPA. Front desk refused to call the doctor, even when I hadn't eaten or gotten out of my room for two days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The spa has excellent facilities to clear your muscles of long held tension, or clear your cold. The massage therapists are exceptional. The gym is clean and looks into the forest through glass walls. It is an oasis away from awful disco music all day.
The weak points
If you want food poisoning this is the place to go. They do not like tourists who do not speak Spanish. There were more locals that travellers. The building are falling apart. Ceiling chunks fall at night, doors that don't lock, toilets overflowing.
Certified

Fabulous Relaxation Spot

, Stoney Creek, ON
2019-06-16
Overall a great stay. Would definitely return. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing! Special shout out to Justino at the pool bar! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, very well-organized for check-in and check-out. All the staff were very warm and welcoming, overall everything was a strong point.
The weak points
The only weak pt I could say was the algae that was in the water. Unless you had access to the private beach side where they cleared all the algae daily, you could not swim in the water. There are loads of pools available to compensate for this though.
Certified

Amazing!

, Williams Lake, BC
2019-03-14
We upgraded when we arrived without even looking at our original room and our room was outstanding! The staff of the resort were the friendliest, sweetest people and made our entire stay! I will be back! Thank you for everything!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly staff
Certified

Lack of facilities other than swimming pool

, Richmond, BC
2019-03-12
Advertised that there are archery, but only open 3 hours once a week.
Advertised there is gym, but only open till 8pm.
Game room only open after 5pm.
Advertised there is kayaking, but there were only 3 kayaks shared by guests in 2 hotels. Only allow same day booking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good restaurant service. 2 A-la-carte restaurants were good, I.e. Jap and grill.
The weak points
Old hotel room, ran out of hot water 2 nights out of our 5 nights stay. Room make-up staff will not work when they see any phone or lab top in room, even after you are in the room and ask them to proceed. Had to call front desk to talk to cleaning staff
Certified

Great Family Holidays!!

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2015-03-25
An excellent place to go with family. And also have an excellent kids club staff to care for children while parents enjoy as a couple. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Attention, Food, Guest Service, Kids Club.
The weak points
Front Desk

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021