Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites And Spa

Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites And Spa
4.274.274.274.274.27
4.27 based on 275 reviews
#7 of 131 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (68)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

All good but the service

, Stony Plain, AB
2022-11-17
Great place, great food, but housekeeping couldn't bring replacement items after taking. For example, robes, coffee, mugs, glasses, and beach towels. Getting new ones was a total nightmare. Lots of grumpy staff, with the exception of a few who were awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food, drinks, layout, swimouts
The weak points
Poor Service, not the greatest beach, store was super expensive
Certified

My review

, Trail, BC
2022-11-16
Very positive I have no negative comments. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Good vacation

, Toronto, ON
2022-10-17
Nice hotel with good services and wonderful staff (Maritza from reception very helpful) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
food, grounds, staff
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2022-10-19
Dear Tuca, We appreciate your feedback about your stay. We are very happy to read that we met your expectations. We hope to see you in a near future. Kind regards.

Great food and rooms

, Reddeer, AB
2022-10-15
The hotel is well appointed, lots of great places to eat, the foam party was adults only for sure. Bartenders were friendly and rooms were beautiful, this was great value for the money. The seaweed at the beach is disappointing and prohibits long beach walks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
swim out suite was beautiful with great bar service, food was good lots of variety, the resort was very clean and beautiful
The weak points
beach has horrible seaweed, have to use the beach towel from your room and take the wet towel back to your room each day if you dont want to be charged.
Certified
Hotel reply, staff, on 2022-10-19
Dear Gary, We want to thank you for let us know your opinion. We have taken note about the weak points, the feedback is very important for us to improve. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards.

My ten day honeymoon stay @ Yucatan Princess

, Red Deer, AB
2022-10-04
There was good and bad with this hotel. Folks like Bryan in the buffet made it a pleasure to be at the hotel. The fellow running the foam party made my wife feel uncomfortable asking multiple times to join the twerk contest then calling us boring for turning him down. If you are not a huge drinker this may not be the place for you as they have no decaf coffee at the bars in the evening time and really push drinking. The lunch buffet was mostly terrible with the single day exception when princess management was dining at the hotel. You could get a decent steak at dinner but the meat served at lunch was of poor quality and basically inedible. The staff with the exception of the main entertainment lead was pleasant & made the stay enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Meat options for dinner, lots of pool chairs and places to sit and relax, friendly staff for the most part, good variety of alcoholic beverages, fantastic caffeinated beverages, clean rooms - comfortable beds
The weak points
Creepy entertainment lead, underwhelming fitness gym, terrible meat at lunch buffet.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
I would prefer to see your staffs smiling faces. Having them all wearing masks while the guests don't has a feeling of discrimination. There is no need for staff to be masked.
Certified

Review of Stay

, Fonthill, ON
2022-05-03
This resort was absolutely beautiful.
The grounds were well kept, clean and stunning. The food at the buffet was great and I always found they had a wide variety of food at every meal.
The sports park was great and loved going to yoga/pilates every morning.
Very beautiful and relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Nice Stay

, Saint Albert, AB
2022-04-28
The resort was great. Many staff went out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable including Bryan in the buffet, Isreal with bell service, Maria at the main bar in the evenings, and bartenders Colli and Hebereto. Rooms are spacious and well appointed except for the double sinks that were a bit small and crowded. The resort is clean, with many amenities. Be patient with pool towels! They will get switched out with housekeeping. Definitely get a swim out room, and upgrade...that way you are in the quieter building close to everything.

All in all it was a great stay, but I am not sure we will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The a la carte restaurants are excellent! Rooms and resort were very clean. Certain staff were fabulous.
The weak points
No outdoor dining. No ocean views. Rooms are starting to look shabby. The beach was terrible.
Certified

Platinum Yucatan Princess

, Ottawa, ON
2022-04-03
We were quite impressed with the Hotel it is clean, staff is very friendly, I would return and recommend it. The beach was clean but they had problems with Algae in the water this year. best to stick with the pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great atmosphere, clean and friendly staff.The entertainment was also quite impressive.We did enjoy having the connection to the other Hotels that is a great asset.
The weak points
I would recommend a few more different shops to the Hotel
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very Good they kept and followed the rules.
Certified

Platinum Yucatan princess resort

, Gladstone, MB
2022-03-27
Our experience was very good at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great accommodation. Good food. Good amenities. Staff was great.
The weak points
Very disappointed in the beach water. The beach itself was great but the seaweed and rocks in the water made it so we didn't enter the water. The waigo ribeye steak at Skylights was definitely not worth the money.
Certified

Platinum Yucatan Princess Mexico

, Calgary, AB
2022-03-17
This was a great resort. Very nice rooms and great room cleaning service. Asked for more towels and we received them. A variety of food options with great servers. We were there when they were starting to open up totally from COVID rules and the staff did a great job with less staff and only a few things not open (ie towel hut by the pool) Lots of activities for you to do if you want to get involved. Would be nice if there was a sports bar but you can go to the sports bar in the connecting hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

My vacation trip

, Calgary, AB
2022-03-17
The hotel was great, was greeted when I got their. The rooms were amazing. The staff were all friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
The only thing missing was a sports bar
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff were always wearing their masks.
Certified

Great resort with a lot of restricted hours

, Vancouver, BC
2022-01-04
We made a 7 day trip to this resort.

We started the experience with the wrong room booked for us by the resort, followed by another room that already had occupants when we entered with the bell boy. 3rd room we finally entered had a very smelly bed, and we had to pay to upgrade to another room.

After all that and once we got the 4th room, the resort itself was great and had good shows and access to nearby resorts, which was fantastic. The performances were entertaining, and the food in most of the restaurants was perfect. Service and staff were excellent at this resort.

The resort had a lot of restrictions around hours at each restaurant; for example, we had specific times to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, which was in a 3-4 hour timeframe that made it very difficult to time with excursions and activities done outside of the resort. Room service took between 45 minutes to 1.5 hours to get anything, including when we just ordered water. We had to go out to Playa Del Carmen most of the nights to eat because the overnight/room service food was very poor.

PCR testing was cumbersome because we had to Schedule the PCR test 24 hours before. PCR tests could not be scheduled ahead of time for some reason and this made it difficult to plan excursions or tours in those two days. We did not know the time of our PCR testing the following day after scheduling.

Beaches did not have barriers to prevent coarse sediment from washing up ashore and was disgusting to see and walk on or go for a swim at the beach. We skipped swimming at the beach to go for the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- Great food - Amazing staff and very hospitable - Calm and Relaxing designs - Access to other Princess Resort which makes the whole experience great due to large access - Hotel and Area was nice and felt safe with the presence of security
The weak points
- Restricted hours for restaurants - Room cleanliness and the number of towels were minimally replaced and/or not replaced at all - Scheduling, Management & Planning around PCR tests were unnecessary in that we had to be there 24 hours before
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks and recommended masks when we are indoors. Tables were sanitized after diners left; however, we did not see chairs and seats sanitized at all.
Certified

Platinum Yucatan Princess - average at best

, Calgary, AB
2022-01-03
a) The beach is very rocky - people do not go into the ocean because it is too difficult to walk in
b) Food is promoted as excellent but is just average
c) Very difficult to find and get towels for pool/beach - common guest issue
d) Only 1 bar open after 5:30 (all other bars close much too early)

Would not recommend as a higher end all-adult resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
staff and cleanliness
The weak points
Beach, food quality,
Certified

Staff is great

, Richard, BC
2022-01-01
Staff was great Food just ok. But didn't expect much. Pool too loud for me to much of a party place I would not return was not what I was looking for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Quality resort with dated rooms

, Montréal, QC
2022-01-01
This resort is good value for the money but lacks the luxury that I would expect from a 5-star resort.

The room is in pretty rough shape. There are stains on the floor in multiple locations and on the couch. Furniture is worn and ratty with threads coming off the beds and the linens. The beds are surprisingly uncomfortable and the thermostat cannot be set below 22C, which was very warm for me and overall made sleeping difficult. I feel like these beds are well past their expiration date. For a 5 star resort, pretty inexcusable.

The minibar only stocks two beers and some sodas. There is an extra charge if you want more beer. There are no snacks available in the room at all. There is 24hr room service but it is pretty lame as the menu is very limited.

Overall the dining options here are excellent. There are 4 restaurants that do not require a reservation and the dress code just requires long pants and closed shoes. The food is excellent. If you don't want to do any of the restaurants, there is always the buffet option which has no dress code and is available all day. The buffet is outstanding and I mostly stuck with that. There is a huge variety and they change stuff every day. I've been to a few resorts where you get bored with the buffet after a few days, but not so at this resort. You could honestly do the buffet for every meal and never eat the same thing twice. But then there are the 4 restaurants on top of that, plus two fancier restaurants that require a reservation which I did not try.

On top of all that, they will occasionally set up little food stations throughout the resort. For example, a barbecue beside the main pool where they offer hamburgers, fries, wings, nachos, etc. Or a crepe station outside the main plaza. At first I thought this was just random but on my last day I noticed that the schedule they give you when you check in has two sides, and on the other side it tells you when and where these food stations will be set up. Check it out!

One of the things you will see on the map they give you is a “bbq” by the bar on the beach. This is pretty disappointing however as it is just a few sandwiches on a warmer, not a proper barbecue that is available every day. The actual bbq that they set up is awesome, but it's only occasionally. Again, check the schedule.

Speaking of the beach, it's pretty small and limited, which doesn't bother me too much but if you're someone who likes a large, expansive beach with lots to do, this isn't it. It's a fairly narrow strip where you can lounge but that's about it. Most disappointing to me was that the WiFi does not extend to the beach so if you want to listen to music or something you'll have to download everything ahead of time.

You do have access to wifi throughout the resort as part of your package. It is alright. It loses internet fairly often and doesn't extend to the beach, which is my main complaint. An easy way for this resort to get a “quick win” would be to install an extender to allow wifi access from the beach.

There is staff on the beach and by the pools to bring you drinks while you lounge, but they come by very infrequently. Other than the room, this is the biggest knock against this resort being a 5 star resort. It is not a big problem to have to get up and get drinks yourself, as there are bars everywhere, but most five star resorts have better service than this one. It might be as much as two hours before you'll see anyone coming by to take drink orders, and it is strangely difficult to get their attention when they do. Even leaving a big tip does not really improve matters.

If you are a beer drinker, I hope you like Dos Equis because that is literally all they have. It is typical at these resorts to not have many options but usually there's at least two! As I am not a big fan of Dos Equis I mostly stuck to cocktails which at least were pretty good. The bars are otherwise typical for a Mexican resort, nothing special. I would have really liked for Sol to be on tap or at least one other choice but Dos Equis.

As far as activities go it is pretty standard fare. One party pool with music blasting and silly games every hour or so and a couple other quiet pools. There are shows that take place in the evening but the main show at 10pm is inside the theatre. I didn't partake in a lot of the shows because I didn't really want to spend much time indoors due to COVID but it seemed like something worth checking out in a different time. There is a disco which again looked great but I avoided this time around for the same reason.

As far as the COVID tests go, I had seen a lot of negative reviews of this experience so I was nervous about it, but it was a breeze. My flight out was on a Thursday. On Monday I talked to the concierge and was able to make an appointment for Tuesday. On Tuesday I showed up to the spot right beside the theatre, gave my information and got a swab. I was in and out in less than 10 minutes. My results were emailed to me on Wednesday evening. I flew out the next day, no problem.

A few things to know: the appointment is a “Mexican appointment.” There was actually nobody there when I showed up at the scheduled time, but half an hour later I was able to come back and get it done, no big deal. It was $90US for the PCR test which seemed high to me but given the convenience of it all I'm not going to complain. I had to pay cash because the debit machine wasn't working, and I had to bring my passport. So bear that in mind.

Also, it's worth knowing that my test results weren't emailed to me until 9PM, so don't panic if it is getting late in the day and you don't have them yet. As I was walking around the resort I encountered several people getting and reacting to their results at this time so it's common to not get them until 9-10Pm the day after the test.

Overall I would say it's a pretty good resort, with a lot of excellent dining options and quality entertainment, but just lacking a bit in some of the luxury that I have come to expect from a 5 star resort. In particular, the beds which were very uncomfortable, the ratty and worn furniture, the minimal minibar and limited room service menu, and the poolside drinks service which was not at the same level of other resorts I've been to.

I wouldn't mind coming back after the pandemic to take part in more of the activities, especially if they upgrade the rooms! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food and dining options. The buffet, and the outdoor bbq stations they set up occasionally. Good nighttime entertainment with the plaza, the theatre and the disco. Very convenient on site COVID testing.
The weak points
Rooms are very dated. Lots of stains and threads coming loose. Beds are uncomfortable. Thermostat does not go below 22C. Minibar and room service extremely limited. Poolside drinks service very infrequent and not very proactive.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Perfectly fine. No problem with any of the measures.
Certified

Overview

, Chilliwack, BC
2021-12-20
Best restaurant AROMA. TAO the sushi should be made FRESH every day: not refrigerated for a second or third day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Landscaping, gardens excellent
The weak points
Two elevators (EDIFICO2) For the first three days one elevator not always working. The second elevator not working at all? The beach itself great but no swimming because of many rocks.
Certified

Another great stay with the Princess

, Calgary, AB
2021-11-11
It was almost exactly 2 years since our last stay here because of COVID, we were met by Christian as our transport van door opened with a huge smile and a "you came back" we also remembered Christian, he had been a great friend and help to us on our previous stay, and was equally friendly and helpful this time. We loved our stay, the swim up room was great as it allowed us to isolate from the groups in the community pools [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food at the buffet was equally as good as the speciality restaurants, we enjoyed the reopening of the Rodeo Grill, the best thing about this resort is the excellent staff, we were made welcome everywhere we went, we saw most of the shows, fabulous!
The weak points
The stores are empty because of the high costs
Certified

Adults only resort with a modern design

, Regina, SK
2020-03-16
Part of a 3 hotel grouping on the same property and this resort is an adults only. Ali looked after us with a smile and after checking in took us on a cart ride to our room and our vacation began. We had booked a swim-out room (building 2 near the main pool) based on reviews of others - it was nice because it was main floor and easy access to the bathroom, but the pool was unheated and usually took until mid afternoon before it was a decent temp to swim or hang around in. Next time, if we return, we are going to save a pile of money and not opt for this.
It was nice that all the restaurants didn't require reservations other than Tao Tepanyaki, but some showed better than others. Tried to get into the Rodeo Grill one night and were told it was a 20 minute wait and to just go get a drink inside at the bar. The barman was too busy washing glasses and chatting with a chica to even acknowledge us, so after 5 minutes we left.
Aroma was a nice choice - shows that you don't need tons of food to fill you up and it was nice to have a leisurely sit down meal. La Brushetta left us disappointed with the menu and the fish was second rate to what Aroma served. The Yucatan Buffet was always busy, but getting your breakfast to your table while it was still hot was a challenge. Eggs are cooked in one area (and these guys are not up to the speed that is required when you have a lot of guests), bacon is in another place and toast is across the room, and orange juice and fruit in another direction. Thursday night is lobster night and the half tails drenched in butter were super tasty. We had the tepanyaki twice - the show is the same everywhere in Mexico, but the food was delicious - good job Luis.
Lunches were not the best unless you wandered the buffet or went to the beach grill for wings and fries. The burgers were huge, but were precooked steakettes and warmed up on the grill when you ordered one - not my first choice. Rodeo had sandwiches and salads, - if you like a small ciabatta bun with one slice of ham, a half slice of cheese and some wilty lettuce - then you would love this place at noon.
As others have said before, the sand is nice, but if you want to go in the ocean, walk down the beach to the sister resorts - hardly any rocks and water as warm as a bathtub, and while you are there, take a stroll though the grounds, have a nice charcoal cooked burger near the pool. Twice they cooked near the main pool and it was a delicious treat of fresh grilled pollo, carne and cerdo hot off the grill.
All in all it was a decent resort - nothing over the top - the staff always said Hola when passing by, but you really dont get to know them like we have at smaller venues - its just not as friendly (to us anyways), other than our All Star team member Horacio - this guy was always smiling and made sure to come by and shake our hand, give us both a hug and made sure we were not lacking for anything - good job by the resorts newest rookie :) - Gracias Amigo! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bright, clean with nicely kept grounds and no reservation dining other than Tao Tepanyaki. Large rooms, and not a horrible mattress.
The weak points
Sidewalks around the pools were narrow and did not have any handrails or guards - could see someone taking an unintended swim.Staff were friendly but never got to know many.
Certified

Nice!

, Burnaby, BC
2020-03-09
Fantastic stay. Hotel well kept, service was excellent, frienly, efficient. The food was varied and of good quality. Many restaurants a la carte, yet; all included with the exception of one. Local beers, spanish wines. Nightly entertainment good, outstanding Michael Jackson show in the theater. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The beach was not the best, but 100 meters south was nice. More shuttle frequencies be nice.
Certified

5 night getawat

, York, HA
2020-03-09
Had a relaxing break at this pristine hotel. Restaurants and food choices including the buffet were excellent. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed was super comfortable. Enjoyed walking over to the sister resorts for coffee or cocktails on the terrace. The beach had plenty of lounges and palapas although if you walked north the sand was nicer less rocks. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. We felt the disco should have been in an area away from the rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness and staff
The weak points
Inconsistent cocktails from bar to bar. Not sure the upgrade to the platinum side was worth it, aside from the better room location everything is the same.
Certified

NO REPONSE

, Lacombe, AB
2020-02-14
DUE TO THEFT FROM OUR ROOM I WOULD SUGGEST NOT TO STAY AT THIS RESORT. HOTEL HAS NOT ADDRESSED OUR PROBLEM [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
WE HAD ARTICLES STOLEN FROM OUR RO0M HAVE CONTACTED THE RESORT WITH NO RESULTS
Certified

An overall great time.

, Thornhill, ON
2020-02-14
We just spent a week at this hotel and the property is clean, beautiful, the rooms are 5 star and a swim-up room is a must. Entertainment in the evening is excellent though I was a little confused as to why it started at 10pm. The staff is very friendly, especially Bryan in the Yucatan restaurant and extremely accommodating. The people who greet you when you arrive at the front are very helpful at all times and treat you like royalty. The pool is great, enough lounges to go around and great entertainment poolside all day long, which you can participate in or enjoy from a distance. A huge negative is that they allow smoking on the property which is pretty disgusting as most resorts we've been to don't. The food in the a la carte restaurants is mediocre at best and the buffet is well below that.The breakfast is good but avoid the lunch and dinner buffet except on Thursday night when they have lobster tails and other great seafood. The Bruschetta Italian restaurant and the Tao Japanese restaurants are definitely worth going to, the others not so much. The show preparing the food in the Tao is fantastic. The other negative, if you are beach people as we are not, is that I've actually never seen a worse beach than at this resort anywhere I have ever travelled. It is full of seaweed as is the water in front of the beach and nobody does anything about it. It is not possible to enjoy the beach at this resort if you are so inclined. Most resorts that have a seaweed problem have a crew that get rid of it first thing in the morning, this resort just ignores it. To be fair, off in the distance, about 200 metres, the beach looks better, wider and little in the way of seaweed but farther from the resort. Having said all this, overall we had a great time and would recommend this resort highly as long as you know what you will get. I also understand that everybody's expectations for food vary and many people I spoke to were quite satisfied with it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees, grounds, service, rooms, pool area, entertainment, overall atmosphere
The weak points
Food, beach, smoking on property
Certified

Would never return

, Windsor, ON
2019-12-26
Just came back from one week at this resort. The staff on all levels was absolutely amazing. Everyone spoke English, and their smiles were so welcoming. Entertainment in the theatre each night was excellent, and also the Fire Show, and other night time entertainment. Great variety of drinks. There was not much to do on the Platinum Side, and almost too quiet. Buffet was not good most days, but did offer one night of Lobster. Room was ok. Bathroom was a horrible appearance. Minimal restaurants offered. We had to go to Grand Sunset Princess several times to eat as our food was not great. Rooms were cleaned fairly good. Many nights were so quiet. Wifi was not the greatest [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Customer Service. The staff were very attentive and friendly, and their smiles were contagious. The staff offered us another swim up suite that the pools were much warmer. Loved the nighttime entertainment in the theatre. Minimal seaweed
The weak points
The buffet was hit and miss. Some days good, and some days not. The swim up pools on the one side of the Platinum suites in this pic were freezing as they never got sun.
Certified

Great stay but needs some improvements

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-21
We had a really great stay at this resort, the room and resort were very clean. The food was really good, not many choices but what you got was excellent, don't recommend the buffet other than for breakfast. The rodeo grill was our favourite, and room service or beach grill for lunch. I would only recommend booking a swim out room, the beach area wasn't great in our area so you may have to go to the kids side, however they did do a good job controlling the seaweed in our area. The service was incredible when you got it, the staff was amazing but felt very understaffed. We were really disappointed that there was only one beach volleyball court for all 3 resorts so it was hard to play. Drinks at our resort was really good, had a lot of top shelf options. I also felt that they didn't take in to consideration that when you book an all adult resort you don't want to go to an all ages resort for a lot of the options they claim to have.
We have traveled a lot to Mexico and I would rank this resort in our top 3 if you get a swim out room near the main pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing, food was excellent and loved our swim out room (#3018) and very clean!
The weak points
Understaffed, too dependant on sister resorts, would have liked more consideration being we booked adult not kids.
Certified

Great place

, Nipawin, SK
2019-12-06
Had a great experience would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Always a quiet place to get away. Always some sort of entertainment going on also. The staff is great, plenty of drink options and great food.
The weak points
The beach is just ok.
Certified

Great

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-03
All good. buffet could be better I will come back to this one for sure( my last name is wrong on this link. should be Jung, not Chung) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms, pools, all others
The weak points
buffet could be better
Certified

Great

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-03
all good. willcome back for sure soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool!!! best ever
The weak points
buffet... not greatest but alright
Certified

Great

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-03
Thid was my second stay this year and it was better this time. food quality has been improved. pools are so good!. shows are not that great as facility is smaller than others. but there are other options in other hotels too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
rooms, pools, beach, all good. and imporved since last time
The weak points
buffet food quality could be better. other than that all good!

My Review

, Edmonton, AB
2019-11-29
Great resort and amazing staff. Excellent drinks and amazing food.
You can tell that the cleaning staff actually change the bedding and clean the room.
For being an adults only resort it was a lot calmer than I had figured it would be. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was great; the best out of any resort I have stayed at.
The weak points
Buildings were over air conditioned.
Certified

July 2019 stay

, Montréal, QC
2019-07-21
Honestly very disappointing, food was really disappointing, turn down service only one night our entire stay, drinks are not the best... They are very pushy about massages. Get ready to be asked min 5 times a day. The list goes on.

Would definitely not rate this a 5 star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds are nice.
The weak points
Service, food, overall experience
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022