Grand Oasis Tulum

Grand Oasis Tulum
3.603.603.603.603.60
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (23)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Grand Oasis Tulum

, Regina, SK
2019-03-10
Overall Grand Oasis Tulum resort met our vacation needs. Our first warm holiday with our 5 year old twins. Pay the little bit extra to get the ocean front room as it was on ground level and steps away from beach side pool and beach. Would not recommend people to stay in the Grand Tulum Lite. Never seen the rooms but no action. Honestly we walked there every evening before we had supper just to get some exercise...beautiful walk but that facility looks like it has been deserted. Tables are set in the restaurant but there is no staff to be seen. Rooms were clean. We had one lengthy power outage but felt the resort recovered well. We were still able to eat at the restaurants that evening and the grounds were cleaned up quite quickly after a wind storm the following warm. Apparently power goes off quite frequently when the winds get up due to aging infrastructure. Would not recommend this for a adult group or adults only unless all you want to do is relax. Not much for activity or night life. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxed, Kid friendly, Quaint, Friendly, Awesome Coffee Shop and Easy to get around.
The weak points
Power outages, Food Variety, Staff are amazing but lacking - the staff looked exhausted, Evening Entertainment was just OK, two beds pushed together so we all had to sleep together.
Certified

Poor food and service

, Thornhill, ON
2019-02-08
only buffet to eat pass 5 pm, no BBQ food, everything cooked or fried, and they shut down everything at 11:00 pm even the lights [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
food, lack of entertainment, cheap 3 star service on food
Certified

Wonderful Family Vacation

, Stittsville, ON
2019-02-07
We had a great family trip. Kids had a blast at the Kids Zone. The whole family enjoyed the beach and resort grounds. Everything was well kept and the nightly entertainment some nights was pretty awesome and unique. The coffee bar was great along with the sushi bar. Service was friendly, overall a 4-5 star experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Intimate and quaint. Safe and Clean. Great for Kids.
The weak points
Buffet selection could have more variety, as it was quite repetitive over the course of the week. Bathroom needs serious updating. Outdoor pool snack bar has lots of potential for more use and variety, pizza oven visible but out of use. Small gift shop.
Certified

Grand Oasis Tulum

, saint philippe, QC
2018-04-24
Had an excellent vacation from check in to check out. Was upgraded to Adults only section and was really worth it. This included 2 other restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everyone was friendly. Nice room with lower level balcony with spa. Excellent food and service considering all the the courses offered. Loved that the beach was close to the chairs and enjoyable swimming. Free snorkeling was offered.
The weak points
Seaweed on the beach but the staff worked hard daily to clean. The ocean was clear and beautiful! Pools were small so if you are a pool person this is not the place. I love the beach so it was perfect.
Certified

Grand oasis tulum

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-14
For the price expected more,only one (1) snack bar ,front line ( service desk,bartenders very difficult to understand poor english skills) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean
Certified

Grand Oasis Tulum

, Oakville, ON
2017-02-04
Great experience! Beautiful place, I would go back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach, beautiful kid area, beautiful adult area, gorgeous beach full of fish, free snorkelling tours, good activities at the kids club, very well divided, adult and kid areas, healthy food choices
The weak points
no free wifi, the bathroom was not up to date, a few broken things, smoking everywhere at the beach, log waits for the buffet and many times the restaurants had no availability at 4pm which was the time to make the derivation, long lines for drinks.
Certified

A true oasis

, Vancouver, BC
2017-01-31
My family's experience at the Grand Oasis Tulum was fantastic. I have nothing negative to say. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The buffet offered a great variety of both Mexican and other kinds of foods. It was very fresh and delicious. We were very impressed. The Sarape Mexican restaurant was also excellent. The waiters there were wonderful and the food was also delicious. The rooms were clean and comfortable. My son used the Kids Club and we were impressed with how well organized they were and how friendly and engaging the staff was. Spike, Brenda and Ilse were wonderful. Noeli at the coffee and me shop was delightful and made delicious coffee drinks. The beach is one of the best along this area of the riviera. The snorkelling was great. So many colourful fish. Reef is just a short distance from shore. AKumal bay is only a 5 minutes away where you can see the sea turtles. We would definately return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing. Very friendly, helpful and hardworking. In particular, the waiters at the buffet, staff at Kids Club, barista at the coffee shop were all wonderful. The food was so fresh, diverse and delicious. The buffet and Sarape were excellen
Certified

Horrible!

, Toronto, ON
2017-01-28
Not clean, horrible service, no air conditioning in room, poor food. would never go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Go somewhere else

, Calgary, AB
2016-12-09
Most staff were great. However, the front desk staff had extremely poor customer service. Half our vacation was lost to switching rooms and being treated poorly by front desk. The hotel has many issues in their rooms with maintenance, i.e. connecting rooms do not have doors that can lock, leaking air conditioners, significant mold. The location and snorkeling is great. Food is similar quality to what you will find in an all inclusive. The kids pool had good facilities. However, there are many other hotels you can go to in Akumal for similar pricing that does not have such poor customer service and you will have better rooms. Would suggest Bahia Principe Tulum, Akumal bay Beach or Secrets instead. Also, we found the Iberostar Paraiso to be very good but it is a bit further from Akumal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location and snorkelling
The weak points
very poor customer service. Many rooms are not maintained (leaks, mold, non working air conditioners, doors that do not lock etc.
Certified

GREAT FAMILY VACATION

, Langley, BC
2016-04-11
very good. staff very friendly. great food. rooms are very clean. beach is wonderful ! great snorkelling. even saw a black stingray !! lots of nice colourful fish. swimming pools great for kids too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff very friendly, location is close to many excursions, beautiful beach, very clean, excellent food.
The weak points
Mexico is humid- didn't realize this- our clothes seemed damp most of the time when we took them from our drawers. they clean so much, that you have to watch out for slippery floors
Certified

Resort conflicts with airline/travel agency

, Ottawa, ON
2016-02-24
Nice resort, well maintained. Numerous uniform Lifestyle Vacations staff walk around and try to engage you in their membership to Lifestyle Vacations. We participated, definitely a time share and was very "scam like". This was very suspicious and we were turned off. All other aspects of the resort was very good. beach was nice sand, but water shore was rocky and coral, not nice for walking in the water. Lot of fish. Danger of sea urchins, black sea urchin, long-spined sea urchin, very dangerous. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice resort, pools, chairs, beach. Friendly servers.
The weak points
No warning on the beach about the sea urchins or the coral, very poor communications about safety. Our pickup vehicle was late, no communication available with travel agent/airline, we will not fly with this airline ever again.
Certified

Smokers Paradise

, Carp, ON
2015-02-12
We had great expectations of this hotel due to the good reviews on Trip Advisor, however soon after arrival we began to have second thoughts. Firstly the Front Desk/Reception did not direct us to the proper area for check-in. We had booked and paid for the Sian Kaan Room which included several privileges and extras, or, so we thought! As we were early our room wasn't ready, this was fine, we were quite prepared to wait until the posted 3pm check in. Right off the bat, the front desk tried to charge us for a safety deposit box and internet service which were included as part of our extras. They showed us a map of the resort and then spent several minutes explaining to us all about the nightly shows they had, never mind where the restaurants are and which ones we could go to. Then, out of the blue, the telephone rang, which she answered. When she got off the phone, she started servicing other customers, never to return! The room was not ready until 4.30pm, when shown to the room it was smelling very strongly of air freshener which made me immediately suspicious. My instinct was right, about an hour later the room smelled like we had just smoked a packet of cigarettes. I spoke to reception who told me it was a non smoking room, in fact the whole building was non-smoking.

We went to see the concierge regarding this problem she said that they would look into it. The next morning we went for our 11.00am welcome meeting which was shown on our card from our tour operator, to be told by the tour operator's reps the meeting was at 9.30am. Who got it wrong?? Not us!! Apparently the tour operator reps told us it was the hotel!! In the end, no welcome meeting.

As each day went by, the smoking problem became worse, our room smelled disgusting. The hotel offered us a room change, not what we had booked or paid for, in fact a big down grade with no offer of compensation. We refused as we knew from the cleaning staff that there was a room vacant down the hall, the same as we had paid for. By midweek we were completely smoked out. I went back to the concierge and asked to change rooms as we had found out there was a room the same becoming vacant. Again to be told that was not possible as there was none vacant and if we wanted a room change our room had to be packed and vacated immediately. We were leaving for an excursion trip we had booked within 5 minutes, the concierge said that if we wanted a different room we had to miss our trip! This was not happening.

The next afternoon at about 5pm we were smoked out, I managed to see from outside someone on the 3rd floor smoking, we called the concierge and reported this. Again we'll look into it was the reply. At 11pm that night we were smoked out again, I took the law into my own hands and went door knocking....The culprits had no idea (why would they) that they had caused so much misery and said that they were leaving tomorrow.

Tomorrow came (day 6 of our vacation) and the smoking issue got resolved, not by the hotel staff or management, but by the culprits checking out. It was nice breathing fresh air in the room for a change. Again, or so we thought! Later that day, a pungent sewer smell started which resonated in the room for the rest of our vacation.

A few times each day, we spoke with the concierge, pleading for action on the smoking. We also asked to see the hotel manager. The response was that the manager was either not in, or unavailable.

In Mexico it is illegal to smoke indoors. However, there are no restrictions in the resort on any outdoor patio, around a pool, in any corridor, or on the beach. If you are a non-smoker, you will only escape the smoke inside a restaurant or in the lobby. Note, if you want to get to the non-smoking restaurant or the non-smoking lobby, best to run fast, hold your nose and not breathe. Everywhere else is open season. If you are a smoker, this resort is the closest thing to paradise. The resort makes absolutely no accommodation for non-smokers.

The rooms...we met many couples that had to change rooms for a multitude of reasons. Smoking, sewer smell, A/C issues, noise, flooded bathrooms, etc...for us, initially, our 46 inch television was not working, but we got a working 32 inch by the end of the day. If you care about the environment and saving water, taking a shower was always fast as the water was, at best, lukewarm. The word on the resort was that there was a direct pipeline of water from the swimming pools. An FYI, the swimming pools are truly beautiful at this resort, but we never saw anyone swimming in them over the whole week. Why? Ice cold water. Security wise, our safe in the room was not bolted down to anything. Yes, you read that correctly! We also heard of several people having items stolen from their rooms.

The beach...over the first few days, we saw several people with injuries, ie casts, bandages and the like. As the week went on, we saw paramedics come to the resort twice for injuries. The sea can be rough, is rocky in places and has many spiny creatures to step on. If this scares you from going in the sea, choose the pools, but remember to pack a wet suit. If you still opt for the beach and want a beach chair, make sure to set your alarm clock for 7am to be up to find a chair to that already does not have a towel on it, otherwise you will be shut out.

Vultures...not a bird problem here, but the Lifestyle timeshare salespeople. In most places, no means no. Not here.

Internet service...if it is included in your package, you won't have to pay the $30 US fee for five days of use, and it is only good for one device. When working, the speeds are fast. However, we noticed that the internet was mostly down, and on the few times when it was up, we could not get a signal inside the room.

With all of this, this resort has a lot of potential. You won't go hungry. The food is decent in most of the restaurants.
Apart from the ghost-like management should you run into a problem, there are many staff members that went above and beyond. Hipolita and Cesar at the beach, Mayra at the dive centre, Ezekiel in Italian restaurant, Miguel in the Steakhouse and Alfredo in the Sarape Restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and restaurants.
The weak points
Service from front of house staff.
Certified

HOTEL RERVIEW

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-27
GRAND OASIS TULUM - had great service in the restaurant and in the Customer Service Rep wondering around the foyer. Most staff went above and beyond. The front desk supervisor (Isabelle)was terrible, she was rude and made little efforts to service the issues that we had with the rooms. The rooms were old, and the AC did not work well, which made for some uncomfortable sleeping arrangements. I am still wondering why 2 beds were pushed together for 4 people.Beach was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, and great service.
The weak points
Everything was extra... the lock for the room safe, the snorkeling was for 16 and over which was not disclosed, there was very little in the way of water activities, and the yoga and other activities were not advertised well. Could use some improvements.
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Halifax, NS
2014-04-11
My wife and I had a very enjoyable experience at the Grand Oasis Tulum. Having read a number of negative reviews we were a bit apprehensive but all went well. The staff, food, beach, excursions were all excellent. It is a calm resort not a party resort which is what we wanted. No disappointments what so ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort is small in comparison to others but that is the charm of the Grand Oasis Tulum. There were several negative reviews written but we did not experience any negatives with this resort. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous at all times.
The weak points
More a la carte restaurants would be nice but having said that the food was excellent.
Certified

Grand Oasis Tulum-Beauitful!!!!

, Beechville, NS
2013-04-15
The hotel was beautiful,rooms great,the roof top balcony w/ bar and jacuzzies was really nice. Beach very nice, the hotel is directly on the beach. The pools where nice, it is a small to mid size resort. 20mins to Tulum and 30 minutes to Playa de carmen. Take the local shuttles, much cheaper. The staff very nice and helpful. My partner and I didnt care for the buffet food, But we heard the resturants were really good, we did a a lot of travelling outside the resort so we did not eat at any of them. If you look at pictures we had an ocean front room, but no balcony or the windows didnt open, but still very nice. They have balconies with pool view and maybe some ocean view too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort , rooms, friendly staff,Beach, bathroom
The weak points
Buffet, entertaintment
Certified

Great place

, Dugald, MB
2013-04-02
Absolutely not one complaint about this place. We stayed on the grand side, which I recommend then you can enjoy the other great areas you see in the photos. If it was up to me I would tell the resort to do away with the 2 tier resort system and just have it all access, then maybe the areas would been used and enjoyed by more people. Great beach great staff great food. No theft issues or shady things. Sometimes the room tap or shower had a tendency to go cold or too hot. One night we didn't shower cause we never got hot water back. Although its a piss offm minor issue and no place will be perfect. Also, I wish places didn't charge you for use of the room safe or WiFi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, cleanliness, free booze
The weak points
No night life after 12. And even then that is the sports bar. Then it closes at 12 unannounced. The seperation off oasis or grand paying travelers. Shoul d all be one price
Certified

Very Pleasantly Surprised

, Steinbach, MB
2013-02-09
We travelled with 2 other couples and when we booked the trip in late December we understood that it was a bit of a gamble because the Grand Oasis Tulum was only "re-opening" on January 4th, 2013 so there were many unknowns. As the month of January progressed, we became quite alarmed at the negative reviews on Trip Advisor for the adjoining Oasis Tulum (there wasn't a separate category on Trip Advisor for the Grand Oasis Tulum). We had booked Gardenview Rooms, but were given beautiful Oceanview Rooms and gold bracelets (we still aren't sure why, but we guess that it was because we actually booked the Grand Oasis Tulum rather than upgrading from the regular Oasis - just a guess). As VIP (gold bracelet) Grand Oasis customers, we were treated like royalty: special area in the breakfast buffet seating (mimosas, smoked salmon, fresh berries, etc.), an amazing lobby with an espresso bar, infinity pool, rooftop beds and cooling pools, free wifi, access to some different ala cartes than the Oasis customers - ate at La Careyes 3 times (twice for dinner and once for lunch) - so yummy!! The rooftop beds and cooling pools were a favorite spot for our group. The resort has excellent service and wonderful staff - Guadelope (server), Hipolita (server), Ricardo (bartender), Liberato (bartender), Marianna (omelet station), Noe (waiter at La Careyes) to name a few. The rooms were gorgeous, beds very comfortable (pillow top), and the beach was fantastic - protected from the crashing waves by the coral reef, so calm for snorkeling. The resort is a short 45 minute walk or 2 minute collectivo ride to fantastic snorkeling in Akumal Bay (sea turtles, fish & sting rays). They were still working on some aspects of the resort, but we viewed our stay as a "soft opening" and were very pleased indeed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful small resort, top notch service and access to special features for Grand Oasis customers.
The weak points
Need more beach chairs and better towel service.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021