Riu Playacar

Riu Playacar
4.084.084.084.084.08
4.08 based on 137 reviews
#25 of 120 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (28)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Rui PLAYACAR

, Windsor, ON
2020-02-26
Well maintained grounds, public areas, pools and rooms. Friendly , courteous service. Food excellent. Excellent value for money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptionally clean, excellent food with large variety. Pleasant staff. Service wonderful. Beach very clean.
The weak points
Humidity causing somewhat damp bed sheets even though air on. No musty smells though.
Certified

Good value but not a 5*

, Surrey, BC
2020-02-04
Great location, beach and pools. Staff are very friendly but seem understaffed. Room is functional, but bed is hard. Very good entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice size and location with great beach and pools. Staff are very good. Buffet's are very good but struggle to keep supplied and hot.
The weak points
Specialty restaurants are not special with virtually no service. Seems understaffed
Certified

Excellent beach and entertainment, poor CustomerS

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-01
it was our 3rd RIU in Riviera Maya. The beach was perfect as in all RIUs.
Animators were great, the evening shows were very good.
The food was not bad but worse than in RIU Yucatan or Palace RM.

One of the sinks sewage was leaking and was repaired after our complaint.
Magnet contactor on the balcony door was broken and never fixed so the air conditioner did not turn on sometimes. Toilet flashing was not good and needs 2-3 times.
My wife was once food poisoned and vomited 3 times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent beach, very good shows and great animators
The weak points
Bad room quality
Certified

Overall Not that Great

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-26
Not very impressed with this resort. If I had nothing to compare to it may have been nice, but when compared to other resorts I've stayed at, it is not that great. Still had a good vacation, but the place needs some work 9mostly the rooms and the food). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Looks Nice. Great staff. Nice beach and pools. Some nice restaurants ( a la carte)
The weak points
Room worn out, needs repairs. Bed like cement. Not very baby/toddler friendly. Main buffet is not that good.
Certified

Great family vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-14
Overall great resort. We had issues when we checked in as the room assigned (6114) had a bad paint odor and we had an infant with us so requested to be moved the next day. The second room was fine. Food is good quality and lots of variety and vegetarian options. A couple theme nights but most of the food was predictable day to day. Mexican night was by far the best. The other restaurants were all good but we didn't try the Chinese as people mentioned it wasn't very good beforehand. Beech is excellent not a lot of shade but we always managed to find spots under a tree. Pools were great kids had a lot of fun. Rooms are a bit dated but overall clean and no issues. Would recommend and would return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beech, food, service is excellent, most areas renovated
The weak points
The rooms and pillows need updating
Certified

Fantastic vacation!

, St. Albert, AB
2018-12-12
Returned from RIU Playacar December 7th and we couldn't be happier with our stay. The hotel is clean, food and drinks are awesome with lots of choices. The beach is beautiful, tons of loungers and plenty of shade. The pools are nice although we don't go to Playacar for the pools. Pool bar is great, excellent service. Live music was a nice touch in the evenings before the shows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

AVOID! Worst experience ever. Cockroaches, violent

, Ottawa, ON
2018-10-17
AVOID!! We chose to stay at Riu Playacar with most of our international wedding guests, despite it's higher pricing for our wedding days due to previous good experiences with the chain.

I noted during our reservation that this booking was for our wedding, so I was a little surprised to find we were not congratulated when we arrived or treated special in any way - words are free. My surprise soon turned to bewilderment when we discovered the hotel had put the brides parents room next to ours. This is despite the booking stating "We are staying for the night of our wedding", clearly there is a disconnect in the attention to detail or common sense here, no bride wants to spend her wedding night in a room next to her parents.

We had to spend 1 of our days moving room, wasting our time and creating more stress at what is already a stressful time. Unfortunately, the poor experience did not end there. After finally moving to our new room, we were getting ready to go out when my wife screamed due to finding a cockroach in the shower. I also had found one in the sink at the previous room but kept it quiet because I did not want to get her worried about bugs and hygiene in the hotel we are paying a small fortune to stay in.

Between the hotels mistake and the wedding planning we hardly had a chance to eat but when we did we were disappointed to find the buffet food was average, where Riu usually has such an amazing buffet. This combined with a general rudeness from staff which made you feel as though any question or request was painful for them is something we have never experienced at Riu or any other hotel before.

85% of our 50 guests were staying at the hotel, so we arranged transport to pick up the group from there. 6 of our guests who were not staying waited in the lobby with the rest of the group that did stay at the hotel. The playacar hotel was so short sighted and rude they said our guests could not wait in the lobby and will need to wait outside, seemingly not understanding the purpose of a lobby. We also had issues with the hotel trying to refuse to let our transport enter because of this.

The final straw and worst experience of all was when on our wedding night, one of our friends who was not staying at the hotel asked to use the toilet in the lobby while he waited for us. He was not only told he could not use the toilet but was told he would have to leave since he was not staying. I witnessed the security guard physically push him, he then pushed back and the security guard fell over. Security then physically threw our friend out of the building narrowly missing me the groom, I calmed my friend down who was ready to get physical back and reassured him I had seen the assault and would address it from here. He then left in the peaceful manner in which he had arrived.

I did not choose Riu for average food, lack of attention to detail or cockroaches in rooms. I did not choose to pay your ridiculous prices per night to stay at your hotel chain so it could assault my guests over using a bathroom. I did not choose Riu so it could do everything possible to make my wedding more difficult and stressful.

I not only feel defrauded because I did not get what I paid for but I also feel you took what was supposed to be one of the most special nights of mine and my wives lives away from us. I felt it was fair to give Riu a chance to respond before we share this with our social media followers and ask our wedding guests to do the same.

I sent this complaint to Riu Playacar almost 1 month ago, I received a response acknowledging my complaint but there has still been no response or action taken. I will now making sure everyone knows Riu Playacar ruined our wedding accomodation, assaulted our friend and is a disgusting hotel, which brings shame to the Riu name. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Yucatan Holiday

, West Kelowna, HA
2018-02-26
The whole resort was exceptionally clean and the grounds were well manicured. The customer service was excellent. There were a good variety of food choices. The beer selection was only limited to one and the wine choices were minimal. Mexico is not known for its wine. The room was good size. The bathroom design was not well thought out for its size. Small sinks very little storage for toiletries. They could of had more towel racks so you could dry things out in this moist climate. Walk in shower no tub poor shower head. The beds were passable but not that comfortable. The wifi the beach the pool the service was excellent and made up for the deficiencies. There was a lack of staff that could speak English. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location. Customer service.
The weak points
Lack of English spoken. Design of room.
Certified

RIU Playacar has high Standards!

, Dartmouth, NS
2017-02-25
We had such a wonderful experience at the Riu Playacar. Everthing was perfect! Since we have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts in the past, I would rate this hotel 4 1/2 stars.

Hotel Highlights

- Front Desk Agents were helpful and attentive. Our check-in went smoothly and a welcome drink was given to us. Since our room was not ready (check-in time is at 3 pm), our luggage was stored.
- The lobby is immaculate and modern. Activities are organized early evening in that area: Latin band, casino night, games, dance lessons, etc. It is nice to hang out there before deciding where to have dinner.
- Location: Located in the Playacar gated community, it is safe and conveniently located, 25 minute walk from Playa del Carmen.
- Beach = perfection. Long stretch of sandy beach with immaculate ocean water. You can borrow kayaks and boogie boards on site and rent other equipment. There is a bartender that comes with a tray of various drinks. Lots of loungers and shade available.
- Restaurants: The à la carte restaurants do not require reservations, so you can walk in! The Italian is also opened for lunch at 12:30; if you are looking for a quiet meal in air conditioning, keep that in mind. The Japanese is a buffet style, which is great. It offers a wide range of items such as sushi, Chinese food, etc. It is not difficult to obtain a table there. The Steakhouse (same location has the Mexican, which we have not tried) was delicious and is quite popular, overlooking the pool and beach. Be prepared to be full when you exit! This is where we received the best service. The two buffets (one by the lobby and one by the pool) offer a wide range of items that can please everyone.
- Pools: They have one quiet pool, the activity pool and the swim up bar Las Olas. A nice addition are the pool loungers and the tables in the swim up bar. The pools close at 8pm which is great. You can also get a massage by the beach.
- Activities: a wide range of activities are organized throughout the day: stretching, aqua-exercise, rifle shooting, darts, bingo, zumba, ping pong, BBQ by the beach. Once a week, they have a pool foam party with water balloon fight and a beach party with a live band and coconut drinks. I recommend them both, they are a lot of fun. Zumba on the beach is the best... A suggestion for the hotel: always have Zumba by the beach as it is the best location!
- Bars: We enjoyed having a drink at the lounge bar La Cumbia before dinner, it's quiet before the shows. The bartenders do a great job. The lobby bar Anana is opened 24 hours a day and offers snacks such as fruit, Danishes, and hot dogs/hamburgers you can warm up in the microwave. The pool bar has tables where you can chill and also offers nacho chips and pop corn.
- Room: clean, modern, with a table and chairs inside and outside on the balcony, lots of storage, double sink, hair dryer, and complimentary safe. Large shower, mini fridge restocked every 2nd day, and with the famous RIU liquor dispensers. The maid leaves Hershey kisses chocolates and animals made of towels. By the end of the week we have a full zoo in our room!
- The resort is impeccable and the gardens are immaculate.
- Free WiFi in the lobby and pool areas.
- It only takes 5 minutes or less to walk from the lobby to the beach.
- Free access to the RIU Yucutan and RIU Tequila, except for dinner.
- Amazing sunrise!
- All employees do a really good job, they work really hard to please the guests. We tipped our entire stay, which is appreciated.

How RIU could reach 5 Star

- Offer free bike rentals at the RIU Tequila. Why charge your guests $6USD for a half day?
- Have to order drink service at tables at the Plaza, lobby, and pools/beach areas.
- Offer a full bar service at the buffet and at the à la carte restaurants (not just beer and wine).
- Upgrade the buffet warm up/heat lamp system to ensure that food is kept at a warmer temperature.
- When a guest makes a special room request upon booking (i.e. 2nd floor on the courtyard side), attempt to accommodate their request, and if the request cannot be granted, acknowledge their request at check in.
- Offer Room Service
- Rectify the subtle sewage smell at the Plaza and in the guestrooms.

Thank you RIU for this outstanding stay; we certainly will recommend your hotel and would return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Just Alright

, Sherwood Park , AB
2016-01-18
Beach is wonderful. Staff are great, evening entertainment was quite good, and pool area was quite clean. BUT rooms were small with a funny layout with the washroom. And the rooms were damp; beds the worst, damp, musty and had a strong musty smell. Became uncomfortable to sleep with this as you woke up smelling like this. If you sat on the beds, you were damp after as well. Food seemed fresh and there was a selection, but still IS NOT that good (soup and bread was my staple). DO NOT EAT at Jade a la carte, got quite ill and bedridden for the next day. Red wine is not, not good. After a couple days, you can't even make yourself drink it anymore (not many options for non-sugar drinks other than beer). The price of our pkg dropped after we booked, this MAYBE worth a good sale price, but certainly was NOT worth what we paid. We will try a RIU again, but most certainly not this one. There is too much selection available to make this one worth staying at again. Sorry. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU Playacar

, Niagara Falls, ON
2015-02-10
Excellent hotel. Great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was amazing. Great location. We felt very welcomed and safe. Well organized with activities. Food was excellent. Resort was well laid out and easily accessible to all amenities.
The weak points
There are 3 levels in the room pods with no elevators so if unable to do stairs request a ground level room.
Certified

Our Trip

, St. Paul, AB
2014-11-28
Although dated and not up the usual Riu hotel standards we found that the rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The beach was one of the better ones that we have seen and the room we had was one of only two or three others that had an ocean view. The food was great and had a good variety at all meals especially at the evening dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and meals & cleanliness
The weak points
Rooms need to be upgraded
Certified

Great trip

, North York, ON
2014-06-10
The first couple of days it rained and then after that the weather was nice. The hotel staff, pool, beaches and food were great. The hotel is located in a gated area made up of hotels, houses and condos called Playacar. The location is a short cab ride away from Playa del Carmen which is like a mini Clifton hill in Niagara Falls with souvenir shops, stores and restaurants. Hotel is also close to Xplor, Xcaret and Rio Secreto. Only negative was that the hotel staff wanted to leave our bags in the lobby and not locked up while waiting for someone to bring them to our room. We decided to bring the bags to our room ourselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, beach, pool and location
The weak points
Hotel decor compared to other Riu properties nearby (Tequila and Yucatan) looks dated.
Certified

Running away from

, Calgary, AB
2014-06-04
I enjoyed staying at the Riu Playacar. It is was nice small resort with all of it's amenities near by. From a décor perspective the resort is starting to show it's age, but even as such it was clean and fairly well maintained. I would definitely stay there again if the price was right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The size of the resort was ideal as it did not feel over crowded.
The weak points
Having a proper sized queen or king bed would have been ideal as opposed to having two doubles pushed together. I do not remember this being an option in booking. Thank goodness no one was lost between them!
Certified

Great hotel all around

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-10
The hotel was awesome. Great food, good people, especially Aaron at the front desk,and the beach and quality of drinks were wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, drinks, beach, accommodations, location
The weak points
None that I can think of
Certified

Love Mexico

, North Agusta, ON
2014-02-06
I absolutely love this area in mexico. The hotel has a Mexican feel, it is a shame it will be torn down and redone to look like a vegas hotel this summer. Wish the riu would keep the countries culture in mind. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location is the best part. 20mins walk to town, beach is excellent.
The weak points
the food was repetitive. No big change
Certified

Riu Playacar -Playa del Carmen, Mexico

, Belle Ewart, ON
2014-02-02
The room, beach & pool were great.
All meals were buffet style,but very good.
The staff were genuinely pleasant .
The entertainment was just OK.
We'd definitely go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach.
The weak points
Entertainment
Certified

I would definitely return

, Oshawa, ON
2013-12-19
pleasantly surprised after reading previous reviews [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small enough that you get to know the staff, never waited for drinks at bar
The weak points
trip from airport on the bus was long as we were the last to be dropped off, on the return we were in a van which was much more enjoyable and a quarter of the time.
Certified

Riu Playacar

, Riverview, NB
2013-06-26
Way better than Cuba & we had great excursions also.....Great food, good people & staff, great beach, & just an overall great experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to beach, great food, nice people & staff, safe & secure
The weak points
Couldn't have the a la cartes at other Riu hotel where friends were staying
Certified

Mediocre resort

, Owen Sound, ON
2013-06-02
We were disappointed upon arrival when the front desk staff asked the couple in front of us what type of room they would like. When we asked if we had a choice of room we were told no and that we would have to wait until 3 pm for check-in when our room would be ready. As we arrived at 11 am the front desk told us to leave our luggage unattended in the front lobby and to go down to the beach buffet for some lunch. We were told that a secure room to lock our luggage in was not available. We ended up lugging our suitcase down to the buffet. Our initial impression of the grounds was that visually it was clean. The whole resort had a damp and musty smell as we walked the grounds. Our room was in the green building at the front. We ended up lugging our suitcases up the stairs to the third floor as the front desk didn't offer to get anybody to bring our luggage to the room. The room was mouldy/musty smelling. The mini bar was not fully stocked and some of the pop bottles had already been opened. The bed was hard and the sheets were rough like sandpaper. We could never get the ac to get the room cold enough. It ran so much that it started to drip and created puddles on the floor at the front door. We asked for a matress pad the following day and were told that none would be available until the following day so we had to sleep on a hard bed with lumpy pillows for 2 days. Our bed sheets were only changed 2 times for our entire stay. The pillow cases were not changed for the entire week and our mini bar was only restocked once. We constantly had to ask the front desk for bottles of water daily because of this. The buffet was okay but the selection was limited to the same items for 7 days and we soon grew tired of the food. The buffets are not very allergy friendly for those with food intolerances. You are also out of luck if you need a late night snack as food was not always available in the early morning hours. This resort reuses the plastic cups that they serve drinks in. We were a little disturbed one afternoon when we saw one of the bartenders rinsing used plastic cups in the bar sink by hand and putting them back in the pile to reuse without properly washing and sanitizing them. The beach was okay but very narrow. The water was warm but it we didn't find it as nice as the waters in Cuba and the Mediterranean. The nightly entertainment was limited to the same dance troupe doing the same dances wearing different costumes every night. We ended up at this resort to attend a friend's wedding ceremony. We tried overlook the bad and made the best of our vacation. We would not return to the Riu Playacar as we have been to many other resorts elsewhere which we found to be much nicer with better service and more friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is small enough that it is easy to find other members of your party
The weak points
Limited dining options, unfriendly staff, slow service, musty smelling resort, musty smelling rooms
Certified

Riu Placar

, Dawson Creek, AB
2013-05-20
enjoyable, friendly, quiet, great beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location, close to 5th ave. Shopping across the street, quiet resort, clean and comfortable.
The weak points
no elevators to rooms
Certified

Riu Playacar

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-04-22
We found the hotel to be very clean and just the right size. The staff was friendly and very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A small resort, this is what we like, the location was good. We were able to use other Riu venues. The beach was excellent, the staff was helpful, the quality and selection of food was very good. We always had beach towels and chairs.
The weak points
The hotel was a little far from the airport.
Certified

Wonderful time at the Riu Playacar

, Oshawa, ON
2013-04-17
My spouse and I just returned from a week vacation at the Riu Playacar. We arrived in the evening and we were the only ones checking in so check in was quick and easy. We also received the room and building that we had requested which was a nice surprise.
The beach and ocean at this resort is fantastic. We have been to Punta Cana several times and the crystal clean water and sandy bottom beats Punta Cana hands down. The waves in the ocean were a fun addition to swimming in the ocean. Another plus for this beach is that no matter what time you arrived, there was always an abundance of chairs. The towel game is not necessary at this resort!!
We found the food fairly good, better than in the DR or Cuba.
The resort size was perfect for us and if one wanted more night life, the Tequila was next door.
The rooms were clean and spacious.
We really have no complaints about this resort other than an excursion we booked that went terribly wrong, but that of course is an issue with our tour operator.
We would love to return to this resort, however, we were told it was being torn down next year to rebuild something bigger. That is a shame! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the ocean were spectacular. The small size of the resort was perfect for us.
The weak points
really none to speak of
Certified

As expected

, Chomedey Laval, QC
2013-03-04
been ther before and nothing has changed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
smaller resort, easy to get around, and not to roudy at night
The weak points
food and choice of it, always the same, and the coffee is lousy
Certified

Good vacation nice resort

, Victoria, BC
2013-01-27
Beautiful beach and location great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and close to playa del Carmen
The weak points
90 minutes per day of limited Internet is ridiculous for a 5 star
Certified

GOOD 4 STAR RESORT

, London, ON
2013-01-23
Good 4* resort, not near a 5*. Food and drinks as expected at a 4* resort.
Service in buffet and restaurants not so good. We saw servers drinking beer and talking to each other when they should have been serving guests. We do tip every meal, but not for poor service.
We (2 adults) stayed for 2 wks for $3200. thought the price was alittle high for a 4*resort.
Service at the bars was always good and staff very friendly.
Be careful if you walk over to the RIU TEQUILA, sister hotel that they invite you to go to use the sports bar, disco and pools etc. There is a racoon type of animal that roams around and it BITES! We saw it happen! Around the pools it knocks over drinks sitting on tables and takes food out of kids hands. They also can get into beach bags that are closed.
RIU PLAYACAR doesn't have these rodants at their resort. Just information if you go over to the TEQUILA.
Welcome to email us for more info:
XFB973@gmail.com [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Playa Del Carmen, within walking distance. Beach is great and clean. Bars are great.
The weak points
Restaurant servers are unattentive to guests.
Certified

Definitely not a 5 star resort

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-14
The only nice thing was the beach and workers. Besides that not worth the money or trip. Food was below standard from the little variety there was to choose from. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach
The weak points
Rooms and food
Certified

Would recomend resort

, Ajax, ON
2013-01-14
we had a very good time we would go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the grounds and cleandness of resort
The weak points
some staff could be more friendly
Certified

Good

, St Catherine, ON
2013-01-09
great time good hotel, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff is friendly, the beaches were beautiful
The weak points
our king size bed was two beds pushed together,
Certified

Riu Playacar Nov 2012

, St Catharines, ON
2012-11-20
This was our second trip to this hotel and it did not let us down. The staff is amazing and cannot do enough for you! They never stop cleaning, and the grounds and the rooms reflect this. An amazing location and a great holiday once again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location, beach, cleanliness, food selection and quality.
The weak points
The rooms are a little outdated, but everything is still in good shape and not disappointing.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021