Dreams Tulum Resort And Spa

Dreams Tulum Resort And Spa
4.224.224.224.224.22
4.22 based on 76 reviews
#73 of 122 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Riviera Maya
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Decent but not exactly “unlimited luxury”

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-27
We were recently there for the wedding of some friends and had an absolutely wonderful time but we think it might be more likely due to the group we were with rather than the resort itself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was beautiful, the resort was relatively clean, One or two employees were great. Coco coffee bar was good.
The weak points
Staff were not very friendly and mostly unhelpful, not many good food options and the buffet was lacking a bit. Bar service was super slow and not very friendly. Nothing really felt luxury about it.
Certified

Beautiful vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-27
Our family and friends stayed there the 3rd week of December. It was great experience, clean, comfortable rooms, service and staff were very nice, fast and attentive.
We did not like beach because the swimming area was too small and rocky.
The long pool would be good if it was deeper.
Food was great and very fresh.
Overall we enjoyed staying there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, good service, not too crowded, clean, beautiful garden, very green, lots of shade.
The weak points
Very small and rocky swim area on the beach.
Certified

Our first time at Dreams Tulum

, Edmonton, AB
2018-03-28
Overall nice clean facility, enjoyed the stay.

We liked:
- facility very clean
- service staff very friendly
- great and fast airport transfer service

There were few shortcomings requiring improvements, mainly:
- Disappointed in the beach - corral covering the sea bed. Had to use swimming pool instead.
- Wi-Fi connection is too slow
- Bathroom had a broken grab bar in the tub
- The room thermostat not allowed to change temperature in the room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- facility very clean - service staff very friendly - great and fast airport transfer service
The weak points
- Not a great beach for swimming on account of corral rocks covering the sea bed at the beach. If you like swimming in the sea like us, this is not the place to go, had to break one of our cardinal rules not to use swimming pool so we ended up using the
Certified

Excellent holiday

, Grande Prairie, AB
2017-04-24
The staff at this resort are AMAZING. They were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The food was delicious and the a la cartes provide many options for dining. The resort was beautifully maintained and clean, but the beaches could have used a bit of work (seaweed issue at this time of year). Many excellent activities were available for children, and many of the night time shows were excellent for everyone. I would recommend this Dreams resort to anyone - we will definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff, clean, excellent food, variety of activities, some of the night shows were spectacular
The weak points
The beaches could use some work, the beds were doubles (4 person occupancy) and the WIFI was very weak.
Certified

Konstantin Mil kov

, Toronto, ON
2016-12-10
excellent resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good management
The weak points
n.a.
Certified

Dreams tulum mexico

, Kamloops, BC
2016-12-01
First time at an all inclusive ( I usually cruise or take the road less traveled ) FANTASTIC STAFF !! Great Beach's , Fabulous Food & Drinks . No hot water to shower it was less than luke warm for the whole time I was there , the SR staff at front desk did not get the the problem fixed or give me a discount or even a Free hot tub soak at the spa it was like they didn't CARE . Good thing I'm Canadian & use to the cold . Iwas told it would be fixed but it never was , I just gave up asking because I felt like I was talking to a hand [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleaning staff, restaurant staff, beach staff
The weak points
front desk staff
Certified

Wonderful Family Vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2013-11-13
Wonderful vacation despite the inconsisent weather. Hotel is clean, well maintained, staff is very friendly and accomodating. Drinks and bar service is top notch. Food was fantastic! Wish we could have stayed longer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazingly nice and accomodating staff. You can't walk past anyone without them greeting you. The room was very clean and modern, it was made up twice a day with new towels, clean toilet and freshly made bed. Food was awesome overall.
The weak points
Wifi was at a charge of $60US per week, which made us have a media free week and turned out great. Breakfast was the weakest meal of the day, lunches and dinners were always a hit.
Certified

Great times

, Fernie, AB
2013-10-07
Had a really great time wasn't long enough [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendlyness
The weak points
none
Certified

Not what I thought

, County Of Gp No 1, AB
2013-04-30
We know of two families who stayed at this resort in the past 2 years, and they both had such great things to say about Dreams Tulum. When we arrived at the resort, they did not have a king bed room so my husband and I had to stay in a room with two single beds. The housekeeping was extremely inconsistent. Some days we would get hand towels, some days we didn't. The bathroom ammenities were just okay (bring your own hair conditioner as they don't supply it for you!). The rooms in general need an update - - old, rusted faucets, toilets, etc. The AC only works in a few areas (the lobby, gym, Coco Cafe are a few areas to avoid in the heat). Even the AC in the room wasn't enough to keep our room cool. Food was okay but nothing spectaular. If you want internet, you have to pay $10/hour USD. The one good thing I have to say is about the nightly entertainment. The was a lot of variety which was nice to see. Because of all of the negative things I experienced at this resort, I will not be returning to another Dream hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment
The weak points
Food Consitency (I would order the same drink and get something different every time). State of hotel rooms.
Certified

This resort really is a dream!

, Calgary, AB
2013-03-11
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The staff is amazing and go above and beyond to accomodate you. Super clean, large rooms. Beach, restaurants and food are all excellent.
We will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service is excellent. I have food allergies (celiac) and they did everything to accomodate me.
The weak points
I can't think of anything I would consider a weakness
Certified

Sue

, Portland, ON
2013-03-06
What a wonderful vacation! The service was excellent and the food was very good.
Beyond expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was extraordinary.
The weak points
Rocks in the water at the beach. Very long drive from cancun airport.
Certified

Somewhat disappointed

, Kanata, ON
2013-01-22
The staff were friendly, but not too many spoke fluent English. Pools were good, food good except that we got food poisoning at the Japanese restaurant. The rooms were ok but the bed was so hard and uncomfortable. There was no disco and sports bar like listed on the website. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-good food overall -Nice beach
The weak points
-uncomfortable beds -no sports bar or tv's to watch sports on the grounds except in room but only select channels -internet was very slow and not in room like expected
Certified

Second time as good or better than the first!

, Brantford, ON
2013-01-20
We travelled to Dreams Tulum with our daughter and son in law and their 4 month old son. This is our second time to this resort and was excellent as before. Yes, it is a long way from the airport, but this shouldn't come as a surprise if you read your travel brochures. And really, the location is perfect. You can walk on the beach in either direction with no other resorts on top of you. We had a very special check in as we were returning guests, the rooms were as requested and the hotel had our daughters room set up for the baby. Food was so good! The Asian was my favorite this time, but it was a tough decision as all the restaurants were great. We went early and had no problems with waiting. The staff there are so pleasant and outgoing. I can't say enough about how we were treated. The rooms were cleaned promply and had turn down service every night.Thanks Dreams for another great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were outstanding.The food was exceptional.
The weak points
really can't think of any.
Certified

Wedding in Mexico

, Calgary, AB
2012-07-04
Enjoyed the facility, clean and well appointed. Staff were extremely well trained and treated us very well. Food was excellent. Location is too far away from the airport and other towns. Having to pay for WiFi is unacceptable when considering the price of the rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were extremely attentive and cordial.The rooms were well appointed and the facility was clean.
The weak points
The location is too far from the airport and the major towns. The water is difficult to enjoy because of the rocks. For the price...it is unacceptable to have to pay for wifi.
Certified

Awesome

, Pembroke, ON
2012-06-20
Great wedding nice people good food beach is rocky [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome resort
The weak points
Bad beach
Certified

Great stay

, Bedford, NS
2012-03-20
Everything was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff were amazing. very nice room . loved the hammock!
The weak points
none to report
Certified

March 1, 2012

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-10
We just got back from this hotel. We are not very picky and don't care about luxury, but we were a bit disappointed. I think this place is over rated. This hotel is nothing special, our room was pretty worn out. Food variety wasn't great. This is not a five star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very attentive and friendly
The weak points
Worn out rooms
Certified

Better than expected

, Brantford, ON
2012-01-19
By the time we were ready to leave, I was very nervous about our choice in resorts due to reading "trip advisor" reviews. What I found was a great resort. Yes, it was a couple of hours by the time you get there from Cancun, but you should know that before you book, unless you can't read.We had a smooth and friendly check in and our suite was clean and roomy. We did see some mosquitos...you are visiting a humid, jungle environment...Great bar staff and if you ask for premium and tip a bit (these people work hard and long hours so deserve it)you will get it with a smile.And since you are on vacation, who cares about internet...which you can use for a small fee in the Coco Lounge. I seemed to have survived without my "crackberry" for a week.Go to Dreams, treat the people with respect and be friendly and you will have a great vacation!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Jr. Suite was great, food was excellent at the a la cartes we tried, staff very friendly and helpful, no complaints whatsoever!
The weak points
Some updating could be done.Some wooden flooring needs work in the Buffet Restaurant. Humidity and wood don't mix well.
Certified

Great Place

, Barrie, ON
2012-01-02
Great food, great service, room service excellent.
A lot of people used and raved about the kids program.
Two big pools and great beach.
Water at beach was a little rocky, swimming in pool preferred, also usual lack of chairs.
Nice not having to wear wristbands or keep towel cards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, pool.
The weak points
2 hrs from airport, not enough chairs, ocean not great to swim in.
Certified

Dreams Tulum

, Swift Current, SK
2012-01-02
We had a good experience overall. We booked for 5 adults as a family. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were good however one room on the main level smelt musty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly, great variety of food, great beach area, smaller resort for intimate more quiet experience
The weak points
We booked to be together, 3 rooms and we were in separate buildings a distance apart. Hotel amenities listed did not exist eg. ipod dock. Our room smelt musty and bathtub water was just warm not hot
Certified

Great trip unfortunate ending

, Regina, SK
2011-12-25
The resort lived up to expectation with afew expectaions. The buffet is subpar.The resturants made up for it though with a far better dining experince. The beach is not good for watersports. Very shallow coral taht could easily scape you up in rough conditions Did most of my snockelling and kiteboarding of resort which could get expensive because the average taxi ride was 20$ US one way to just about anywhere we wanted to go. Finally 4 hr before checkout while jogging on the beach just south of the resort my husband was bit by a dog that ran out from some buildings and chased him. Hes safe and sound at home now doing his second round of rabies vacinations as a precaution [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bueatiful resort We love the main building were the lobby was located
The weak points
poor quality of beach for water sports
Certified

Absolutely Amazing!

, Oshawa, ON
2011-07-22
The staff are incredible and the resort has everything that you could ask for! I've never been happier. The beach is beautiful, but the water was a bit rough, but other than that ... no complaints here! The food was unbelievably good and fresh all the time. If you want to get treated like a king and queen, this is where you want to be!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff, great service and beautiful and clean resort and location
The weak points
beach was rocky
Certified

Mother & Daughter Vacation

, Innisfil, ON
2011-06-10
We enjoyed our stay very much. It was perfect for us. Activities staff were terrific and we participated in many events and enjoyed their personalities. Grounds on the resort were beautifully kept. Entertainment was enjoyable too! Restaurants were outstanding! We did a couple of side trips and those were good also (Tulum ruins, snorkeling, Xel-ha). Well worth it. Spa day was quite a good experience too. It was a little quiet for my daughter, but the activities staff kept her entertained. They were respectful and fun to hang out with. Girls our pool (billards) games were fun too. Great time. Memorable trip. Audrey & Kassandra from Toronto, Canada [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was top notch.
The weak points
Beach below the waterline had rocks/coral due to the hurricane some years ago (2005?) Otherwise a lovely beach.
Certified

VERY CONFORTABLE HOLIDAY

, Montreal, QC
2011-04-15
GOOD EVERYTHING I WOULD GO BACK IN THAT HOTEL FOOD WAS SPECIAL. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD AND STAFF
The weak points
INTERNET AND SEE ACCES
Certified

Dreams Tulum

, Newmarket, ON
2011-03-27
Nice Room
Good Food
Great Lap pool, unfortunately was used by children.
Lousy beach
Really liked that we didn't have to wear bracelets. Too many weddings, aprox. 2/day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
listed above
The weak points
listed above
Certified

Mostly very good!!

, Sudbury, ON
2011-03-18
Our week at Dreams Tulum was very pleasant. We found the food good and the service excellent. The hotel is a nice size with everything easily accessible. The room (Junior Suite) was clean and quite roomy. The only draw backs we found with this resort was the bus ride from the airport was too long (over 2hrs) and your confined to a small area to swim in the ocean due to rocks. However the beach itself was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel and grounds are well kept. The food and servise was good. The beach area was well maintained.
The weak points
We had trouble with the hot water in our room. It took about five minutes for the hot water to run. Swimming in the ocean was poor due to too many rocks. The bus ride to the hotel took too long over 2 hrs.
Certified

Mediocre hotel

, Vancouver, BC
2011-02-28
The staff at Dreams Tulum was wonderful! Overall, they were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained.

We were disappointed with the room we were assigned....it was small and very unimpressive so we paid for an upgrade. The upgraded room was much nicer and more spacious, but housekeeping was just average. Many days we would return from the beach and our room would still not have been cleaned.

The food was generally wonderful, however, the Seaside Grill was a very big disappointment! We ate there twice (figuring we would give them a chance to redeem themselves) and regretted both visits. On both occasions they had run out of the menu items we wanted and tried to cover things up by serving us very sad excuses for alternatives.

The location of the hotel was quite simply too far away from everything. It was expensive to go anywhere off the resort....

I had a lovely vacation at Dreams Tulum, but I don't think I will ever return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was wonderful! Friendly and helpful! Food was overall very good!
The weak points
The Seaside Grill was a big disappointment. Late in the week they ran out of half of the menu items and tried to cover it up with sad alternatives. The beach was rocky and not suitable for swimming or snorkeling. Too far away from everything!
Certified

Beautiful vacation!

, Calgary, AB
2011-02-27
Went for a friend's wedding. Everything was perfect. Only complaint is the 3 hour drive from the airport due to all the stops at other hotels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are wonderful, food is incredible (especially breakfast and the Italian restaurant)
The weak points
3 hour drive to hotel with sunquest and a lot of coral in the water
Certified

Great Resort

, Fort St James, BC
2011-02-16
Nice layout of garden view basic rooms. The food was good, the restaurants wonderful. Great for families - kid friendly. Pool areas were good, the ocean access not so good - too rocky. Garden room area prone to bighting bugs. (take repellent). Entertainment so so. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants, cleanliness, basic room location/layout, pool areas.
The weak points
Ocean access too rocky.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Drumbo, ON
2011-02-08
The best vacation we have had. Received a room upgrade for an excellent price. Service and food was exceptional [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and service
The weak points
Can not think of any bad points
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021