Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
3.483.483.483.483.48
3.48 based on 25 reviews
#28 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (19)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Had a great time!

, Clive, AB
2020-03-11
Great place. The people were very friendly and when tipped (they rely on tips) they go above and beyond. The staff probably kn my opinion made the experience! Beautiful place tho and I recommend visiting. I will be going back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Holiday

, Prince George , BC
2020-01-28
It was good, one exception do not dirty towels or you will be charged for cleaning, so do not use them for anything that stains them, fellow spilt coffee in room and wiped it up, and was charged for this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wishing we could have stayed longer.

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-29
We had a wonderful experience at the Plaza Pelicanos Grand. When we arrived I asked for an ocean view room although I had not paid for one. I was told there were none but they could move us the next morning. Well we had a great room 1247 with an ocean view.
The food was always outstanding and the service was always quick and friendly. Special thanks to Mario in events who made the activities so enjoyable with his humour and enthusiasm.
We love the intimate feel of this small resort and would definitely come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, activities, small resort so easy to find and get to everything
The weak points
Press you for time share. Bathroom was in need of renovation and smelled of sewer.
Certified

Not the 4 star resort I anticipated

, Airdrie, AB
2018-01-30
I will not go back to this hotel. I actually decided to goto this hotel rather than the sister Pelicanos based on the reviews that the sister Pelicanos had no balconies. Paid more money to stay at the grand beach and had no balcony. I was very disappointed as when I booked my ticket I specifically requested one...and had my travel agent also send an email requesting one. This is the first time since 2003 that I have not had a balcony in my room. I requested one at the front desk...and the front desk said it would be a 3 day wait. She was rude -/ the food was terrible and not hot. The beach was perfect - sandy and clean. Pool and entire resort very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach (best one in Puerto Vallarta) very clean...easy to find table in buffet restaurant to eat and easy to find chairs beside the pool
The weak points
food was lukewarm and terrible - no variety - room had no balcony, staff (with the exception of one bar waiter and the games/rec people and the bellboys) were rude / the 2 bars were incovientently located far for access
Certified

Hotel review

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-02-28
this is a very good smaller hotel with great staff good location and I enjoyed myself very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bitter Sweet

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2014-03-23
The staff in the restaurant and pool area are fantastic and attentive. Front desk staff are OK. Pool was good but only one and a small kids pool. Beach is short and tide often reaches the wall leaving little or no sand. Currents are the strongest I've ever experienced. Room was ok but had a strong smell of mold, discovered it was coming from the AC vent. Food was excellent until we got travellers diarrhea then nothing was appealing. We don't know what caused the TD but we know of 8 other people sick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff/crew, food was all dated and covered with plastic wrap, very clean, nice infinity pool, nice grounds, close to shops and restaurants and Old Puerto Vallarto
The weak points
Small beach, only pool bar and one 8 stories up on roof. No night club or shows. Played bingo by the pool.
Certified

GREAT LITTLE HOTEL

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-11
GOOD FOOD, LOCATION, GREAT STAFF, CLEAN ROOMS, GOOD VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY....NOT TOO MUCH BEACH BUT ALL HOTELS IN THAT AREA ARE THE SAME AS TO AMOUNT OF BEACH
THERE IS [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SEE REVIEW
The weak points
VERY LITTLE BEACH
Certified

Relaxing Week

, Becancour, QC
2014-02-10
We had a great week it was very relaxing,clean and close to everything! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff Luis at pool bar was awesome we got great service during our stay and its very close to downtown so you don't have to stay at the resort there is lots to see.
The weak points
Buffet wasn't great very very small and not much variety.After hours there is only taco's everyday samething but oh well!
Certified

Manager

, Penticton , BC
2013-12-15
everything was good except a few evening show were boring [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was great
The weak points
internet bad bad bad this must get better
Certified

A disappointment.

, Burnaby, BC
2013-03-26
This hotel was a disappointment. The food was below par- one buffet and a restaurant you had to make reservations at for dinner (if and when it was open). It's a timeshare hotel, so if you are a part of the timeshare you'll get a nice room in the new part of the hotel. If you're staying as part of the hotel, which we were, you'll be in the old side where half the lights are burnt out, very noisy hallways and rooms, and facing the back street. We found the front staff to be very curt and unhelpful with us, while the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restuarant staff were very friendly.
The weak points
We were very disappointed with this hotel. The food especially was awful. There was no internet. We were given two bottles of water and had to buy additional. Our room had a ladder into it from the ground and they wouldn't switch us out of.
Certified

Kids loved it!

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-03-20
Small and basic but clean and comfortable. The staff were lovely and kept us busy with fun activities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Clean, comfortable. Nice pool. Good little kids pool. Good shows every night and nice and early too - 8.30pm.
The weak points
When on the beach the view back at the hotel is an ugly wall! A bit noisy at night for those of us going to bed at 10pm.
Certified

Fantastic place, great price, excellent staff

, Victoria, BC
2013-03-11
We chose this resort because of the combination of cost, location, star rating, and reviews, and we were not disappointed.

There were two things that appeared to make this resort different from many that surround it - the size, and the ethnicity of the guests.

This resort is not as large as some of the other beachfront options, but we found that the size was a benefit. While you might have more anonymity at a larger resort, we got a chance to mingle with familiar guests and get to know the staff. The environment was consistently relaxed and personal.

The resort also advertises to locals, so there were many Hispanic guests in addition to the standard white North American visitors. While some other reviewers have complained about this fact, we found it to be a differentiating factor, but not one that impacted the level of enjoyment of the stay in any way.

The rooms were not "modern" in their decor, but they were clean and bright with fully functioning amenities, often spacious patios, and a great AC unit. The food was varied, and by all inclusive standards was excellent - especially when considering the inclusion of the a la carte dining option. The grounds were lovely and well maintained, and we never had much trouble securing poolside chairs or a beach-front bed to lounge on.

All in all, I couldn't recommend another resort for a better combination of price, location, and experience. We didn't want to leave once our stay had come to an end, and we'll definitely return at the soonest possible opportunity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, size, inclusions, food, and overall quality for the cost
The weak points
Small beach
Certified

Plaza Pelicanos

, Sorrento, BC
2013-03-06
The staff are welcoming, however, the beach is horrible and the food was well below expectations for a "4" star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rating on this hotel is not correct....
The weak points
Beach and food poor
Certified

Enjoyable

, Desoronto, ON
2013-02-04
We really enjoyed this hotel. It was small and very friendly. I wouldn't necessarily say it is 4star though. We have stayed at other resorts in Puerto Vallarta that were 4star. It was clean, fun, friendly and had some really good qualities. There is a sky lounge bar at the top of the resort which was amazing. It has an incredible view.The food was good but not a huge variety. The staff was amazing. Not much of a beach though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. It was a quieter resort. The sky lounge was beautiful.
The weak points
We would have liked a few more options in the buffet. But the food that was offered was good...
Certified

Nice budget hotel

, Regina, SK
2012-02-20
The staff has done a wonderful job with what they have. Food in normal buffet style with breakfast being the best. The "single" alacart restaurant did a good job. Unfortunately hotel is very busy with locals on weekends so prepare to wait those days, the rest of the week is ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The serving staff is still doing an excellent job with what they have. The hotel is still a decent budget priced place with quick access to the buses so you can check out the sites.
The weak points
Has been downsized to include only the Grand side, no access to anything else. So there are less people but now only one alacart restaurant . The hotels books lots of locals on weekends so the hotel becomes very busy, hey everyone needs a holiday.
Certified

Awesome vaction

, Kanata, ON
2012-01-31
I don't know where to start or how to express it, other than all was fantastic [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather, people and location were absolutly perfect. Could not ask for anything better.
The weak points
was not a great beach at this resort, but only had to walk a hundred yards either direction for great beaches
Certified

Plaza Pelicanos Grand

, Craven, SK
2011-02-28
I would not rate this hotel higher than 3 stars. The staff were very friendly and eager to please however the timing for cleaning the decks was not appropriate and should have been done earlier in the day. The food was not very good the first week but did improve in the second week. Very clean rooms and premises. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and cleanliness of the premises
The weak points
food and beach
Certified

Not a 4 star~but still nice

, Niagara Falls, ON
2011-02-16
We have stayed many times, but this year was a little disappointing. we were not supposed to go to the club part,(but we went, because we know all the staff, and had to see them) since they have erected a huge time share hotel between the properties. That being said, we now only have 1 pool, 1 bar, internet was not available until the second last day we were there, as the door was locked accept to time sharers.Housekeeping was not the best but I blame the establishment not the employees. No wash clothes, bath mats and hand towels too many days to count. The coffee maker was in the room, but they wanted us to pay 20 pesos (2$) for each coffee packege, only considered complimentary the first day. Again we knew enough people to get it, but I got tired of chasing something everyday. The people who work there are awesome, always friendly and helpful, location of resort is perfect for getting to and from everywhere, weather is always great, the beach is the worst on the strip, but the pool is great, and they do have 2 hot tubs available on the roof, which has a beautiful sight of the city, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Quaint low rise, staff are great. location can't be beat
The weak points
room necessities
Certified

Not displeased but disappointed

, Calgary, AB
2011-01-19
there is no access to the Grand as it is called in the package. the only thing available to me was in the club section. Speaking with people who had been here before there was a time when you could access the grand section but not anymore. The club section is a 2 to 3 star at best when compared to some Riu and Bahia resorts. No balconies to relax on. Sitting area on first floor rooms only. When I booked this vacation package, I could have booked into Riu Jalisco for the same money, however I had never been to puerto Vallarta and the Riu was in Nuevo which is farther out. So I took whatI could. The food was good but no real variety. The desserts were very limited. The room was all right but not at all furnished with anything of good taste very plain jane. I would think of a Circle 8 or a Travelodge after being here. Staff nice. Night shows mediocre. Would not reccommend for a special vacation. Cater to Mexican Nationals who perhaps don't know a comparison between a 2 star and a 4 or 5 star. Once compare prices and don't be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, employees try hard
The weak points
food, room, no internet room yet, no fitness area, very minimal in all aspects, high single supplement charge
Certified

Great Vacation

, Regina, SK
2011-01-11
Probably the high point of this vacation were the people. Puerto Vallarta was full of friendly, happy people and Pelicanos was no exception. They quickly welcome you and take you in as part of a family.
The food was great and in abundance. It seemed non-stop. From the snack bar to the buffet to the more "upscale" restaurant on site.
It was a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere but, yet entertaining. We never really found anything redundant as it seemed they tried to keep doing something a little different each day.
Our room was quite pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. I don't see how anyone could be disappointed staying here.
(Note that there is also a Pelicano's Club which is not the same as Pelicano's Grand. Our stay was with the Grand and it is well worth any extra money over the Club stay.) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the people. Atmosphere. Food.
The weak points
I suppose that I was expecting a little more out of the beach.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021