Costa Club Punta Arena

Costa Club Punta Arena
3.113.113.113.113.11
3.11 based on 83 reviews
#22 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (25)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Underwhelmed

, Montréal, QC
2020-02-07
For the same money, you can do better. You have a huge hotel under construction blocking the view to the ocean. As has been pointed out before the place is very noisy. I should add that I am hard of hearing but even with my hearing aid off I found it too loud. I had no idea that the locals are deaf and had to turn up the volume to max and don't hear that the equalizer is not adjusted. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well located - 15 minutes to the center or 5 minutes by bus. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is ok just the brown liquid they call coffee is terrible. I switched to tea.
The weak points
Rooms and public areas are very spartan and lag any kind of atmosphere, coziness or charm.
Certified

Decent Place!!!

, Calgary, AB
2019-04-04
My daughters and I had a great week here they are 7 and 10. Yes they are building a hotel or a condo right beside, and yes it is noisy during the days, but Puerto Vallarta is a noisy, busy vibrant town and being so close to the Malecon, you should expect traffic noise and lots of people. But, for us, that is what made it so great, we could walk the beach to the Malecon or the street and eat at some of the most amazing restaurants and explore Puerto Vallarta. If you want a quiet, relaxing vacation, then this place is not for you, but if you want to go have a blast exploring PV and playing in the waves at the beach, or swimming in the pools, and they do have an adult only pool, then this place is perfect. The rooms were immaculately kept clean, as were the grounds, and the staff, mostly, were super friendly. It was a cheap way to spend a week in Mexico with my girls and show them all PV had to offer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, friendly staff, clean grounds. Very close to the Malecon.
The weak points
Only one restaurant that didn't allow kids under 12, the Buffet had no gluten free options readily available, you had to ask and sometimes you got understood and the meal was plain. So of the staff were jerks at the bar, making fun of guests etc.
Certified

Winter blues

, Whitby, ON
2019-02-04
great pricing for this hotel, its what i expect from a 3 star hotel, the service at the the restaurant is superb.thank you to Pablo,, Ernesto,Ignacio and Gabriella,, great staff. the food was not extravagant but it was very comforting. as for the drinks, i suggest that they should have some international brands , not only local brands but the local mexican wine at the Costa Vita a la carte restaurant was excellent.The only downfall is the beach area, too much rocks and undertow , not good for the kids, we rented a car a found a gem/hidden beach about 30 mins north of hotel.we will definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pleasant Vacation

, Shawnigan Lake, BC
2018-06-01
The staff Ernesto and Arturo were awesome!
They were helpful,courteous, friendly, and professional. The maid staff were great Also! There was always a new towel art waiting for us upon returning to our room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly attentive helpful staff. Interacting with iguanas was fantastic!
The weak points
Pool temperature was a little chillier than we like.
Certified

Costa Club:No Place Like Home

, Grand Forks, BC
2016-02-24
We always enjoy staying at Costa Club and are happy to see the new improvements. The staff are top notch. Keep up the good work and we will see you next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good value for money

, Toronto, ON
2016-01-31
A low budget resort , friendly staff ,good food and clean accomanations .
If you don't mind vacationing with mostly Mexician families and some loud voices , then this place is for you .
I plan on returning on my next vacation . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff , clean accomanations and good food
The weak points
Not for singles if you don't like lots of families and loud voices
Certified

COSTA CLUB IN 2016

, Scarborough, ON
2016-01-18
We enjoyed good food, entertainment.met fellow Canadians [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness, spacious room, good food (dinners and snacks) good entertainment
The weak points
none
Certified

Old but awesome

, Vegreville, AB
2013-04-03
The hotel is on older side but very well maintained and very clean. Location is perfect as you are in walking distance to just about everywhere you may want to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and food were great.
The weak points
The beach chairs were not enough.
Certified

Bad Experience

, Sexsmith, AB
2013-03-15
Room was very nice, everything was clean, grounds kept very clean. Found the food to be terrible, got food poisoning on the 3rd day, was laid up for next 2...never touched he food on resort after that...(if your idea of good mexican food is cut-up hotdogs served with breakfast lunch and dinner then this is the place for you!)
We were in a 2 bedroom suite at the end of the grounds and the only place the wifi would work at all for us was on the deck..not real convenient. On the weekend the place was full of a bunch of mexican teen dance groups, so the pool area was basicall unaccessable for the weekend.
And no fault of this resort, but right next door every single morning at excactly 8 AM sharp the jackhammers started and never quit all day...
The a-la carte restraunt was actually quite good, but only open 3 days a week...
Beds were like sleeping on the tile floor, as we started taking turns sleeping on the couch to save our backs...
Oh and as for the all-inclusive drinks, the mixed drinks were prepared well, but the bartenders mostly did not speak english, so if you ordered anything out of the ordinary you could be getting anything, and getting a small plastic cup of beer poured out of a bigger bottle was not quite what i was expecting....
I would not recommend this resort to anyone I know.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms and grounds, staff were good.
The weak points
Food,beds, wifi coverage,
Certified

Good value and close to downtown

, Vancouver, BC
2013-03-06
Hard to find anthing to complain about. Food, drink, service, staff are all top notch. The resort does have a surreal feel to it. It's dwarfed on the west side by a half-built luxury hotel that was abandoned 6 years ago. Rumours swirl about a narco-trafficer owner. On the east side, the former Getaway Club is being demolished. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It's a really good 2.5 star hotel. Food and drink is fine. Staff is terrific, especially bartender Joto Isabel who kept us well-lubricated and laughng for the whole week. Nice stretch of beach.
The weak points
The only negative thing about our stay had nothing to do with Costa Club itself. Right next door the most hideous eyesore in all of PV is currently being demolished - this the former Getaway Club. In other words, lots of drilling and concrete dust.
Certified

Costa Club

, Victoria, BC
2013-02-12
Really nice place to stay, close to all amenities the town can offer.
Not too posh, clean, well maintained place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice, clean, friendly, close to town, good food.
The weak points
might need better furniture, or newer TV
Certified

Will go back to this hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-02-10
We had good experience at the hotel, the staf is friendlie it is and older hotel but it is clean and a good location [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendlie staff
The weak points
It needs some upgrade
Certified

Good Holiday for the price paid

, Saskatoon, SK
2013-01-24
This was our fourth time at the resort. It is great for a week getaway. We have met so many people at this resort, that have come for many years.Staff and toursists, all make you feel so welcome.Food is good and speciality restaurant is great. The resort is a good value for the price we paid.We were happy with our unit and had a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food , and the returning tourists.
The weak points
The music is too loud around the pool.The rooms could be updated.
Certified

Costa Club

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-12-27
basic 2.5 star the bar and restaurant cleaning staff was very good catered to us .Could use with some upgrades to the suite and some painting. Outside and pool area clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
had a patio, you could smoke on premises not as advertised in brocher
The weak points
no internet access, no refund for locker rental, too many time share reps at front desk , beach to manny peddlers
Certified

Good food, hope you like kids.

, Vegreville, AB
2012-03-29
Arriving in the middle of the night wouldnt have been so bad if we could have had at least a cup of coffee on arrival. No refreshments at all is pretty bad. Then to be awakened 4 hrs later with a welcoming phone call was adding insult to injury. Night club music around the pool is not satisfactory when small children are playing and parents who do not supervise their children make it hard for people to enjoy their meals in the dining room. Food was good and excellent in the al la cart. Definatly not enough seating on the beach. Even when pointing this out to staff, nothing was done about it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food.
The weak points
Music, children not attended to.
Certified

Good 3 star resort

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-19
Over all this is a good 3 star resort.It was clean the food was ok but for the price I payed I have no complaints.Weather at this time of the year was perfect.Would not pay more than 8 hundred per week to stay here, better resorts up the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
OK pool area,friendly staff,
The weak points
Not directly on the beach,
Certified

HHHMMM what can I say !!!

, Brampton, ON
2012-03-14
I have stayed here before but this time I was really disappointed. Food was left to be desired. They booked the last weekend with 3 cheerleader teams and these kids were so in considerate of other guests. The last three days all we could smell was the smell of fecies though out the resort and our room. To find out that the sewage system broke down and they started to fix it the last three days we were there. The room had to have all the doors and windows open all day and night to keep the smell out of the room. Other then that we enjoyed ourselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cost
The weak points
Everything else
Certified

Costa club

, Avonlea, SK
2012-03-14
Was beyond expectations, I would classify this hotel as a three star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was mucho bien, most of the staff was excellent, everything thing was very clean. Would definitely return.
The weak points
The toilet seat was broken, there was not enough chairs around the pool and beach.Some of the chairs were broken. Not enough staff at the pool bar.
Certified

Wonderful staff!

, Williams Lake, BC
2012-03-12
We enjoyed many of the activities. All the staff was very friendly, efficient and attentive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Abandoned building blocking view but also blocking wind which isn't a bad thing.
Certified

Never Again

, Stoney Plain, AB
2012-03-06
On arrival, toilet seat broken, bugs in night table, no hot water, one chair for balcony, beds are old and hard, pillows are worse, small cold pool. It is all self service! Breakfast was the only food I could eat. Spend the extra money unless you don't care where you stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There aren't any.
The weak points
Beds, food, maintenance,
Certified

Hola Mexico

, Port Mcnicoll, ON
2012-03-05
This little resort was truly a pleasure to stay at. Our room was attended to daily. The staff were amazing, so friendly. Just minutes away from the Malecon if you wanted a change of scenery away from the resort. We were fortunate that we had family down there staying on their sailboat so we got to enjoy time out on the water where we saw whales and dolphins. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We really enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. It was a truly relaxing vacation.
The weak points
The bar closes down at 10 but it's a quick walk to town where everything is so reasonably priced.
Certified

Evaluation of stay at costa club

, Scarborough, ON
2012-02-13
The location is ideal for healthy holiday because municipal stadium is nearby. It takes only 22 minutes to malecon (hotel rosita). shopping at River Cuale and Otas is an exciting experience.

Hotel food is excellent. It has enough local flavour for foreigners to discover. The restaurants and snack bar are given 4 star status by us.

The workers at the hotel are very friendly. We give them 5 star status.

The beach is average.

This year is our second year at Costa Club. In 2011, we complained that there was no unsweetened milk. We thought of bringing our own milk powder. This year,however, unsweetened milk is available.

We highly recommend Costa Club Punta Arena in Puerto Vallarta to sun seekers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Puerto Vallarta is the safest city in Mexico. Friends tell me they are afraid of Violence. This City is as safe as in 1989 when I visited with my wife and children. The other strong point is that English service is available at the catholic church.
The weak points
I think the Canadian public think that Puerto Vallarta is like another Mexican City. I take pains to point out that it is not like Acapulco, etc.
Certified

Good value for the price

, Regina, SK
2012-02-13
except for check-in...we arrived early morning at 530 and had to sleep at the pool for 7 hrs before they had a room ready for us.....they werent extremely willing to rectify either...and the HIGH SCHOOL grad party that was still going on poolside [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
mid point to malecon and walmart locations..reasonable price..better room than expected..
The weak points
poor internet...food quality..no hot water...everything shuts down at 10 pm
Certified

The worst Hotel ever

, Edmonton, AB
2012-02-10
This was our fourth times staying at this hotel. In the past everything was just fine. This time under new management, the drinks were watered down, the room were terrible all falling apart. The majority of the staff were terrible. The maid knocked at our door every morning at 08:00 am so she can clean our room. Some days they were no towels or soaps. Overhall terrible hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
Condition of the rooms and staff
Certified

It's not fancy, it was clean & staff were super

, Victoria, BC
2012-02-05
I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. Super clean and friendly/helpful staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are friendly and super helpful.
The weak points
Would have been nice to have some access to computers at the resort, although, Office Max is just down the street
Certified

Mexican hot spot

, Grande Prairie, AB
2012-02-01
i have to say I am not disapointed. The first night was quick to check in and out. beds are hard but they are beds i personally like soft beds but my husband liked the bed. we had gone to store and a little pricey but ok, the beach was nice and right off of the hotel. bathroom needs to be cleaned a little better but was clean. clean sheets,but we didnt stay in our room other then to sleep. Food was great and staff in the eating area were great, quick and helpful. front desk staff was ok. but beware of time share people!wifi is free in lobby ( most 5 star hotels we visited charged people 200 pesos) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ac in room, good food, perfect for people who like to experiance mexico and not always in hotel room, close to stores,great for people who want to drink and relax. love the ducks there
The weak points
need key card in slot to work lights, a little dirty,not for people who stay in hotel lots, steped in puke off of bus, older then pictures show
Certified

Not bad

, Grande Prairie, AB
2012-01-24
We arrived expecting the worst but were pleasantly surprised. For sure the hotel is tired, bad shower heads, dreary dining room, but the staff was great and the food was good. Sushi was a nice touch and the breakfast man was willing to cook up just about anything you need.
The beach is not so great there but the location so close to the Melacon is great. Bus stop is close so it was very convenient.
It would be nice if they turned down the pool volumne but that is just me. There needs to be more tables around the pool too, but this just causes a lot more meeting of the ones who have one. I thought the bar closing at 10 would be a problem but really it just kept things under control. The Mega is just down the street.
Three stars would be a stretch but for the money it is great for those of us who aren't there much anyway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and staff
The weak points
Maintenance and upgrades
Certified

Wouldn't reccommend

, Langley, BC
2012-01-21
We actually checked out after one night. It was adequate, but the toilet ran and no access to the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None really
The weak points
Service level
Certified

Great Location and Staff 3.5 Star Overall

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-18
Stayed at the hotel Costa Club January 1 through January 16, 2012. The resort itself. I would rate three star overall. The beverages served were all of good quality, whether alcoholic or not. The food for the most part, was quite good, some items were excellent; others looked very strange, but tasted generally fine. The shows in the resort held daily, Monday through Saturday from 8 PM to 9 PM. Were all top quality, and my group. Really enjoyed them. Sunday night is movie night, it is a Hollywood movie shown in the Spanish with English subtitles.
I found all the resort workers to be generally happy with their jobs and friendly to the guests. Resort consists of three and four-storey buildings with no elevators. The beach is a short walk from all units, a couple of minutes at most. The resort has access directly on the beach.
Yes, the resort is showing some age being built in the 1980s. But for the price and location it is fine.
There is a security gate to access and leave the resort and was manned 24 hours a day, at night, they close the beach gate about one hour after sunset to keep people from going to the beach as its pitch black, and to keep people coming from the beach onto the resort property after the sun is down.
The area itself is only about two blocks from the Sheraton Hotel, and we found it to be used generally safe to walk alone or in a group at all hours. Just stay on the main roadway sidewalks and you will be fine.
There were the beach walkers selling their items every day on the beach, if you told them, you were not interested at all they left you alone and did not continue to hassle you.
The Hotel is currently surrounded on three sides by buildings that are being renovated, or stopped in the building process, and thus look dead from the hotel itself. There is a new resort called Dreams being built about two blocks away. When this opens there will be another thousand rooms or so added to the area.
A store called Mega, is a block away, and is similar to a Wal-Mart with a grocery store at better prices.
We enjoyed a stay at this resort and would return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Geeat location , staff friendly, different show every night included.
The weak points
Poor internet, people coming back from the nightclub parties at 3-4 AM and making noise in the hallways on the way to their rooms.
Certified

3 Star Resort , 5 Star Staff and Shows

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-18
Stayed at the hotel Costa Club January 1 through January 16, 2012. The resort itself. I would rate three star overall. The beverages served were all of good quality, whether alcoholic or not. The food for the most part, was quite good, some items were excellent; others looked very strange, but tasted generally fine. The shows in the resort held daily, Monday through Saturday from 8 PM to 9 PM. Were all top quality, and my group. Really enjoyed them. Sunday night is movie night, it is a Hollywood movie shown in the Spanish with English subtitles.
I found all the resort workers to be generally happy with their jobs and friendly to the guests. Resort consists of three and four-storey buildings with no elevators. The beach is a short walk from all units, a couple of minutes at most. The resort has access directly on the beach.
Yes, the resort is showing some age being built in the 1980s. But for the price and location it is fine.
There is a security gate to access and leave the resort and was manned 24 hours a day, at night, they close the beach gate about one hour after sunset to keep people from going to the beach as its pitch black, and to keep people coming from the beach onto the resort property after the sun is down.
The area itself is only about two blocks from the Sheraton Hotel, and we found it to be used generally safe to walk alone or in a group at all hours. Just stay on the main roadway sidewalks and you will be fine.
There were the beach walkers selling their items every day on the beach, if you told them, you were not interested at all they left you alone and did not continue to hassle you.
The Hotel is currently surrounded on three sides by buildings that are being renovated, or stopped in the building process, and thus look dead from the hotel itself. There is a new resort called Dreams being built about two blocks away. When this opens there will be another thousand rooms or so added to the area.
A store called Mega, is a block away, and is similar to a Wal-Mart with a grocery store at better prices.
We enjoyed a stay at this resort and would return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location .
The weak points
Internet was very poor, only worked in the hotel lobby and even then was very slow. I went to the MEGA store to use their internet which was top quality.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021