Buenaventura Grand Hotel And Great Moments

Buenaventura Grand Hotel And Great Moments
3.903.903.903.903.90
3.90 based on 91 reviews
#6 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (2)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Buenaventure Gran

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-03
Smiles and friendliness are the mandate of this resort from both guests and staff. I first came in around 2006 and the Buenaventura has been my choice ever since when going to PV. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff goes beyond in helping with any concern. Meals were most enjoyable. If presentation is important to you attend the special dinners offered. This is the ideal place for everyone both young and older.
The weak points
Some of the young male servers need some additional training.
Certified

Buenaventura Grand Hotel review

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-12
Wonderful location, great food and service! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was wonderful - dining room, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff were all excellent. Lovely room - even the 'run of the house' view had a nice patio. Great location, many things within walking distance.Food was great.
The weak points
Room was a little musty - could be normal for a rainy period, but the scent permeated my clothes. The beach is hard to swim at - I loved it, but the rip tide and rocky beach meant not many people were swimming.
Certified

Staff

, Vancouver, BC
2019-12-23
I'd like to say that Dahlia, Fausto, Omar and Eduardo were, as always, going over and above to make our vacation fantastic!!! Thanks all!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I loved the renovator our room. Of course, as I said above, all the staff at the resort are top notch. This was one of our better stays. Loved all the music at night. Especially Omar's band and Scarlet's.
The weak points
The pillows. They are not very good. They stay too full like a hard balloon. My only complaint.
Certified

Quaint Resort and worth the price

, Mount Albert, ON
2019-03-24
The resort is quiet, small, friendly, safe and worth the price we paid. It was clean, the staff was friendly and it was a 5 minute walk to be right in the heart of the PV boardwalk and main attractions of the city. The beach was clean, the rooms were nothing to brag about (but for the price we paid we just fine). Unfortunately bottled water was hard to come by with a ration of 2 bottles per family per day (and also needed to be used for brushing teeth not just for drinking) 2 bottles was not enough for a family of 4. It was hard to get additional bottles of water from the front desk (where we were sent every time we asked for more) and it ended up being way less of a hassle just to buy our own off the resort. I found that a bit of a pain everyday since we were at an all inclusive resort - however it DID NOT ruin our trip by any means, just be aware you may need more bottled water than what you are provided. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small, quiet, relaxing, friendly, safe and great price for budget travellers. Food was excellent, variety was excellent. No complaints.
The weak points
Resort evening entertainment is low attendance since close to boardwalk nightlife-so many walk there instead of hanging out at the resort. Bottled water rations are tight (but places to buy are plentiful) Public beach = lots of sellers on beach all day
Certified

A great location!

, Winnipeg, Ma
2018-04-16
The hotel is wonderful with a very friendly, respectful, and helpful staff. The food was delicious for all three meals of the day. Even though the room was a bit on the small side, it was extremely clean with a very comfortable bed and a huge in-room security box. We were a bit apprehensive when we got off the shuttle directly onto a very busy street, but it turned out to be an absolutely ideal location. We were within walking distance of the downtown area. There were several shops, boutiques, and stores of all kinds within minutes of the hotel. Usually, we would not consider returning to the same vacation hotel as we enjoy variety and trying something new each time, but this was really an enjoyable place and we would definitely consider returning in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Its location, food, and staff.
The weak points
The beach is essentially non-existant with many rocks, strong winds, and likely a powerful undertow. It also had no bathtub in the bathroom.
Certified

Buenaventura Grand

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-21
I have been to many AI resorts in Puerto Vallarta and I have to say this one tops them all! Right from day one to the last day the service & food was amazing. The resort is very clean. The rooms are exactly as pictured & the cleaning staff do an awesome job. The service that Eduardo & Oscar provide cannot be beaten. The food manager (I don't recall his name) was constantly checking & ensuring everything was being maintained & also acknowledging the guests too. Another nice feature is buses or taxis are literally a step outside the front door & the melacon is a close walk for those who dont like distances. I highly recommend this resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location & service
Certified

Great hotel and awesome staff

, Sherwood Park , AB
2018-03-10
The hotel was in a great location for shopping and seeing the local area. It was very clean and the staff were al friendly and helpful.
This is the smallest resort I have stayed in but this was made up by the quiet and friendly atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was great and the staff amazing.
The weak points
Not all rooms have balcony's and the street side can be loud. The bars did close early however with the lobby bar closing at 10.
Certified

Great friendly resort, great location!

, Kelowna, BC
2018-02-13
This is our 5th stay at this hotel in 7 yrs and it just keeps getting better! We were very impressed with the hotel improvements, our room was nice and we were happy to get a balcony this time. The king size bed was very comfortable and perfectly made each day and our room was super clean. The food is even better this year than last year, my husband kept commenting on how fresh the bread, buns and pastries were. Outstanding service from Dahlia cooking our morning eggs,. Outstanding service from Ricardo Gonzalez in Fruitas y Flores and sunset grill. Outstanding service from Angel Villegas in Fruitas. Outstanding service from Leticia in Fruitas and Sunset Grill. Outstanding service from the beach waiters Fausto and Eduardo. We caught a tuna and the hotel chef cooked it for us, very good! We were treated very nice by all staff, everyone is very friendly. We are happy to keep coming to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food is much improved from last year. We are very happy with high quality service from the employees. The bed is very comfortable.
The weak points
The bathrooms for the bar/beach near Shakti Spa need to be looked after more often. Several times there was no soap or toilet paper and the one door doesn't lock or close.
Certified

Relaxed and Spoiled

, Langley, BC
2016-08-19
Starting with our arrival until the very minute we boarded our departure bus, all of the staff were so wonderful and treated us very well. Service everywhere was spectacular. The food was superb in all restaurants. I would return to this resort in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff always smiling and helpful. Food was far better than expected. Very well maintained.
The weak points
Bathroom shower area could use refreshing.
Certified

Great vacation

, Airdrie, AB
2015-02-08
Overall this is a great place to stay. Last year we came to this hotel and we came back again this year. It's clean and the staff is great. The only thing I don't care for is the food at the buffet, but not everyone likes mexican food. It has a central location so you can walk around and shop at all the little shops. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is great. Lovely beach and nice restaurants.
The weak points
Too many vendors on the beach. Inconsistant service.
Certified

Vallarta experiance

, Regina, SK
2015-01-20
Good location to experience the Malecon and downtown Vallarta [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
hotel somewhat dated
Certified

Puerto Vallarta - Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-19
Excellent staff and service. An older hotel, but clean and friendly. Best resort food we've had. Highly recommend this hotel for its location and uber friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service and staff we're excellent. Highly recommend this hotel for its location and staff service. An easy walk into town and around. Pool, beach, restaurants all easily accessible. Food was consistently good and plentiful.
The weak points
Not the best of beaches for walking. But pleasant enough. WIFI was inconsistent, but not a major setback. Be prepared for the beach vendors.
Certified

Type of room

, Burnaby, BC
2014-12-15
There are two types of people who stay in this hotel happy ones and not so happy if you're not so happy you got a bad room and you write a bad report if you got a good room you end up writing a pretty good report [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are great
The weak points
The food. A lot of the rooms need to be updated
Certified

Return Guest

, Calgary, AB
2014-11-18
This is my 3rd vacation at the Buenaventura; clearly I like it. The hotel is clean and the staff are awesome. The food isn't 5 star but I don't go to PV for the food. Breakfast is always great and there is plenty of fresh fruit. Internet access needs to be improved. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All of the staff are wonderful; everyone goes out of thier way to be helpful. I have never had a single bad interaction with anyone and they remember repeat guests. It's nice to get that excited "Welcome back"!
The weak points
Internet access is intermittant.
Certified

My trip

, Quesnel, BC
2014-04-07
We had a few problems with the air conditioner,not as cool as we would like. The hotel is getting a little run down and needs a few improvements, but the staff makes up for the down falls of the hotel they are all wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff they have got a great bunch of people working at this hotel.All very friendly and always willing to help with a smile on their face.I just love the people their that is why we keep going back to this hotel every year.
The weak points
The only thing that would be nice is a few more English speaking channels on the tv. it is nice to unwind in the evening by watching a little tv.Also the washrooms outside at the pool could use some fixing up.
Certified

Buenventure Grand Hotel and Spa

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-28
Location is what I love about the hotel. You come out the door and can easily walk to the beautiful malacon and to Old Town. Many good eating places around if you choose not to eat at the hotel. The food was awesome. We love the omelette lady, the yoga instructor and George, the water aqua classes. I would come back without blinking my eyes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, food and the service provided. Also the activities.
The weak points
had to request water more than once for the room
Certified

Feb 2-9, 2014

, Victoria, BC
2014-02-11
Buenaventura Grand [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Minimal WiFi in rooms.
Certified

Great Vacation Spot

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-10
Spent 2 fabulous weeks at this resort. Building is older but very clean. Ocean view room with balcony was awesome for seeing the sunsets. The staff were fantastic. The Lorelei is in a premium location, with less than 5 minute walk to the Malecon and close to all of the shops and restaurants in Old Town. Very safe and secure and would definitely consider returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location and outstanding service.
The weak points
Buffet is a bit repetitive.
Certified

Disappointed Stay

, Carvel, AB
2013-12-03
Very disappointing and well below expectations on our second trip to this location. Much different experience than a year ago. The resort seems to have gone into a different direction catering to the party crowd. Not as advertised as a spa and relaxing atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location is close to downtown & easy walk. Staff are excellent & very friendly.
The weak points
2nd stay at this hotel. Was not pleasurable as there seems to be a huge shift in clientelle. Large group (80 )of young adults giving a "March Break" feel in November.Very disappointed with noise,drinking,fighting. Will not be returning.
Certified

Buenventure Grand Hotel and Spa

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-21
This was our second year to go back to this Hotel. It is really a great place. The staff are very attentative and friendly. The food is very good. Our room was very clean and we never went without anything. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Walk out the door and you are almost on the Malacon. It is great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, location, cleanliness
The weak points
need to improve their lattes
Certified

May not go back !

, Langley, BC
2013-11-20
We have stayed at this hotel many times and have loved it however this time it wasn't that great. Room changes are all charged now .. I guess the deluxe room is actually the crappy room.. We were on the older side of hotel .. Room smelled musty.. Taps dropped ., doors squeaked. Food is usually better than most other allinclusives we have stayed at but was not good at all .. And hardly any choices.. We were not told that 100 plus kids would be staying there for a soccer tournament so pools. Beach , everywhere was inundated with kids running around .. Even up and down the halls ....oh, and the wifi no lomger works in the tooms, never had an issue before but now nothing in rooms... only at the pool and lonby and was slow ...,, the good thing about the hotel is that the staff are awesome .,, waiters and bartenders treated us like family .. Special thanks to Gustavo, Daniel, Jorge, migel. And Eduardo ...they would be the only reason I would go back at this point .... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love the staff
The weak points
Hotel and rooms
Certified

Buenaventura Grand Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2013-04-20
Friendly Staff, Reasonable variation of food choices. Rooms clean. Very willing to please you. Will return for the eleventh time!! The food is substantial. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
For me friendly staff
The weak points
more activities
Certified

Awesome

, Vanderhoos, BC
2013-03-18
Everything was great in this Hotel. We have no complains whatsoever. Food is awesome , staff is soo friendly , location to the Malecon is really close. Beach is nice. Rooms are clean and bright.Everybody is doing their best to make your stay comfortable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food,Hotel, Staff
The weak points
NONE
Certified

February 2013

, Victoria, BC
2013-02-26
Great location, close to downtown. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location.
The weak points
Poor variety of food.
Certified

Love this hotel but not the changes

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-02-12
We've visited this resort 11 times. However they are making changes and we are not too happy. They are making this hotel geared more for families. The service, food and staff still work very hard and tend to your every wim. However, some small but slight changes are very noticable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, food
The weak points
Bathroom amenities.
Certified

No Comfort

, Lumby, BC
2013-02-08
No coffee in room for three days, no face clothes, or bath mat for most of our stay (and when we complained they knocked at our door at 10:30 AT NIGHT !!! Did not get wake up call when requested. Maid got to personal with our stuff. Did not get the premium package as we paid for. Only loungers and hard bar stools to sit on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Frendily Staff, close to down town, clean, safe, food.
The weak points
no comfort, no comfort, no comfort.
Certified

NIce trip

, Port Moody, BC
2013-02-06
It was nice trip by Sunwing. BuenaVentura is an older hotel but maintained very well. Street rooms are annoying but we got a room inside the complex - partial ocean view and it was really nice. The hotel has moisture smell if you turn on the air-conditioning ??!! The staff at the hotel was awesome - they were really doing their best for us. Activities were organized nicely by Jorge and Mauricius - the only suggestion would be to have some kind of fun, at least music, after 10pm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, cleanliness
The weak points
Air-coditioning smell
Certified

Buenaventura

, Saskatoon, SK
2013-02-05
While the staff were generally friendly and helpful (except at the front desk), there were many little things that need to be addressed such as not having a safety deposit lock for 3 days, not having any coffee for the rooms, running out of dark rum (at all the bars)for a day at a time. the location is great, but I don't think I would recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the location, the friendly staff
The weak points
The food, the liquor, small amenities such as no available lock for the safety deposit box, not being able to get change at the desk, lack of coffee.
Certified

Buenaventura

, Calgary, AB
2013-02-02
Staff out standing, seating around pool bar very uncomfortable, no tables or chairs provided. This will be a deciding factor as to whether or not we will return to this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were outstanding and the service that we received was exceptional
The weak points
No tables and chairs in the evening at the pool bar, the bar stools at the bar were extremely uncomfortable. This would actually be a deciding factor as to whether or not we would return to this hotel.plus lack of nightly entertainment
Certified

Great Location, Friendly Staff

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-23
This was my second stay at the Buenaventura and I would not hesitate to go back for a third time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is amazing, very friendly staff, great food.
The weak points
Hoped for a balcony, didn't get one.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021