Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa

Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
3.413.413.413.413.41
3.41 based on 296 reviews
#18 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (65)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Sunscape met expectations

, Calgary, Al
2020-12-30
Generally enjoyed our experience. I was happy to see that the resort wasn't overcrowded and that, in large part, it was a safe, clean, and fun environment. We experienced fantastic service from the concierge (Fernando) and UVC (Esteban) staff that made our experience that much better. The property could certainly do with some updates and renovations. The sporting facilities (tennis, basketball, mini-golf) were in particularly poor shape and the main lobby should have ramp access. That said, fairly good value for the price you pay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Fantastic concierge staff (Fernando, Esteban) Great coffee (Patricia) Largely what you'd expect for a 4-star resort in the area Not crowded
The weak points
Lots of selling happening (vacation club, beach vendors) Not a lot happening, activities wise Balcony door had no lock Generally could do with some updates/renovations - need ramp access in the main lobby
Certified

Stay at sunscape

, Chestermere, AB
2020-11-30
great week except we paid for up graded room and did not receive one [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
paid for upgraded room and did not get one
Certified

Great Resort

, Regina, SK
2020-03-17
We had a wonderful holiday the staff was great! Restaurants were well run and the room was very comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was friendly and very efficient.
Certified

Fabulous Resort

, Coquitlam, BC
2020-02-12
We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The resort is in a great location, is on a beautiful stretch of beach and we had a great view of the ocean from our room. It isn't a fancy resort but is very clean, well maintained and great staff. There is lots of activities to join in if you wish or you can just enjoy sitting at the pool or beach. The food was excellent and loved the fact we didn't need to book the A La Carte restaurants in advance!

We were a party of eight and everyone of us agreed we would definitely return to Sunscape for another vacation!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, the beach and the food.
The weak points
The hotel is a bit tired, could use a bit of updating.
Certified

January 2020

, Ladysmith, BC
2020-01-19
Certain staff where pleasant. One women wouldn't leave us alone. She was asking us to go to a meeting to talk about a membership. She needed the points/credits. We would actually hid from her. Said no many times but she just didn't get it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Roger the pool concierge was awesome very helpful.
The weak points
Shower didn't work after second day. Food was sub par. Nothing to do at the resort after dinner. We actually left resort to eat on a few occasions. We left after the third day.
Certified

Family fun

, Pincher Creek, AB
2019-11-11
Nice small resort, there really is one buffet to eat from for most meals. Food selection is smaller but picky eater could eat well still.
Too many vendors on the beach (but a simple no gracias usually did the trick)
Beach toys are available for use! Make sure you go paddle board- we had fun playing the crazy games with entertainment, beach volley ball, the staff goes above and beyond! Be sure to tip- these guys make $5/ day or so!!
Beds were comfy, small room with beautiful views (a bit of a musty smell, but we were not in there long!)
Kiddy pool could use a good scrub!! Kids had fun in the pool, on the beach (kids under 12 can't use paddle board/kayaks!! FYI- daughter was bummed)
Marcos in the entertainment staff,
Omar down at the beach bar
Anahi in the resteraunt
And the delish banana bread!
(Super hot tiles and sand during the mid afternoon hours) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sunscapes Puerto Vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2019-11-10
Enjoyed every aspect of this resort, the room was nice and big, resort was really clean, and always something to find at the buffet.

The cons were we felt the booze was watered down, and there were lots of kids(not really a con but still something to know).
One lady was really pushy for us to go to another resort for a timeshare opportunity. We were very happy we didn't go after talking with other canadians that did.

All in all we would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
3/5 food 5/5 cleanliness 4/5 room
The weak points
1/5 alcohol
Certified

Good Value

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-04-29
The overall experience was good. Nice beach great staff 2 very good alacarte venues and decent buffet. Very nice pool for kids and adults, this is a smaller resort so everything is close at hand. Another feature we liked is the alacarte restaurants are available any night , no reservations first come first served. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is amazing, we did not get one single bad vibe everyone seems happy to be working there, kudos to management for creating what is obviously a great environment for their employees. Everywhere you look people are constantly cleaning.
The weak points
The resort is in bad need of a good updating , I imagine when they do their rates will go up.
Certified

Sunscape PV

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-04-29
Ok
The restaurant staff were quite good but they too should be more conversant in English. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good was good Sometimes even excellent. Not the same every day.
The weak points
Staff should speak better English since the largest part of the visitors are English speaking. Also purchased internet service should be for whole stay not just 5 days.
Certified

Was just ok

, Onoway, AB
2019-04-28
we were greeted immediately, given a welcome drink, and check in was smooth. This was all good. We went to eat as a family and were disappointed with the Mexican rest. The room next to us, we found out after that people live at this hotel, they were so loud leaving at 11 and coming back at 5 am it woke us all up. The pool side staff was amazing. There was 2 stagettes and stags at the resort which left for very foul conversations being had around the kids constantly. Though I know this is not the hotels fault, allowing them to throw cups full of water back and forth to each other in the pool all day as a game, was their fault. The pool staff tried to stop it but they complained to a manager and they were allowed. Could not relax in the pool. Wish the shows were more interactive and that there was more to do through the day. Beautiful rooms with ocean view, rooms very spacious, but I did have to call 3x for our shower not draining and flooding the room. I tried to share more photos but they kept giving an error. Good resort for singles, couples, and people without small kids. Due to it being so close to town and airport it was a young 25-30ish crowd. Food did get better but was repetitive due to not many options. Italian was good, buffet was ok, Mexican was better the second time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool staff was great, all staff tried their best to make the stay relaxing.
The weak points
Shower did not drain and we had to ask 4 x for a cot because the couch was supposed to be a pull out and was not. Travelling with two teen boys.
Certified

Family Vacation

, Battleford, SK
2019-02-07
We travelled November 14-21st with our 4 year old daughter and also my Sisters family of 5 which includes a 6, 9 & 10 year old.
Do not expect 5 star service and you will be fine. I would say expect 3.5*
They need more staff so that you can get better service.
Do not fall for the Timeshare offers.

SUNCLUB INFO
We were SUNCLUB which gave us access to the Sunclub lounge where you can connect to WIFI, use computers, have snacks and get premium liquors.
You also get to check in & out at the lounge.
The snacks were hit and miss but if you can catch them bringing in the food fresh--the sandwiches were amazing. Grab some before you head to airport.
Sunclub also got a special seating on the beach and by the pool, they do ask for your room number to make sure you are sun club.
Your mini-bar does get restocked daily which is awesome.
You also have access to Room service which has specific items you can order.
TIP--Bring up your own baileys to your room and store in your fridge for morning coffee. Go to the coffee cafe and get a coffee cup to put it in.
To me the sunclub was worth it--just use everything that comes with it.

The resort coupons are a waste of time, they are trying to push their timeshare program so don't fall for it.

ROOMS
We had a BAYVIEW JUNIOR SUITE (624sqFT) on the 17th floor it was huge. The view was beautiful. 2 double beds and a living room area with a big pull out couch.
ROOMS 1732 & 1733 right by the elevators--Yes sometimes you can hear people talking but it was nice to be right at the elevator.
There is not much space to put luggage is the only downfall.
Our room was kept so clean, the maid even put out balloons one day for our daughter.

FOOD
DA Marios A LA CARTE was really good. We only went once but now wish we went more. Kids 8 only. The best food at the resort.
Doors open at 7pm so make sure to get there at 6:45pm if you want a seat first.
There is always a line up and You will get a beeper to wait for a table.

Seaside Grill A La Carte
We went twice and both times were a fail.
1st time they forgot about us and took an hour to get our meal-it was good food but horrible service.
2nd time took them 45mins and our ribs were cold so we just went to the buffet.

BUFFET--was decent something for everyone.

Tiki Taco--Just did breakfast here not supper.
Good breakfast because quieter--Bacon not good.

Cafe Coco-They only let you take 2 things per person and not good. Jello for kids though

Barefoot Grill-- The pool Grill--Nachos, burgers, hotdogs, fries, Wings all very good

KIDS CLUB
My daughter and niece loved the kids club. You sign your kids in, no adults other then the kids club workers are allowed in the kids club which is nice. They have video cameras where you can see what is happening.
You get a cellphone incase the kids want to get a hold of you.
They will take the kids for lunch & supper if they are there during those hours.
Around 3PM each day they do a dance for the whole pool area. So cute.
HUGE Shoot out to the GIRLS they work hard and all day.

TEEN CLUB--they should change the age to atleast 11 & up.
my nephews are 9 & 10 and the kids club is too young for them and the Teens club they couldn't get in because its 12-17. We didn't see anyone in the teens club.

BEACH
Huge beach and water was swimable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bayview jr suite so nice & huge, Kids Club Amazing
The weak points
Need more staff, A la carte Seaside Grill,
Pro

Stay at Sunscape and Reflects (Krystal)

, Vancouver, BC
2019-01-07
Overall the hotel at Sunscape was good. Hotel was a little old, but overall clean. Staff were friendly and quick to respond, but need better communications. The New Year's event was not communicated well. Long line ups for registration (buy a bottle of wine to reserve a table). Food was good.

Reflects (Krystal) - they provide a promotion to move to a "higher grade" hotel for two nights for free (we didn't ask, they approached us with the offer). We accepted on the condition we got the same room / view - didn't get the same view (pool vs ocean as promised). Reflects (Krystal) Hotel was a nicer / newer hotel, but the food as subpar, the wifi was spotty. Hotel staff were friendly, but very slow in response. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sunscape - responsive staff - decent Italian restaurant - close to amenities outside of resort Reflects (Krystal) - newer hotel - free wifi included everywhere
The weak points
Sunscape - older hotel - free wifi only in lobby area Reflects (Krystal) - spotty wifi - slow response from staff - food was subpar
Certified

Had a great holiday

, Calgary, AB
2018-11-27
I think the hotel was great, the people are amazing. We were supposed to have a king size bed but we got two double beds, which are so tiny for two people to sleep in. I didn't like the fact that the bar fridge was never restocked. The food in the buffet wasn't that good. I loved the omelette station and the pool side grill, except for the fact that there was always a huge line up. I also didn't like that they didn't serve any bottled or cans of beer, unless you upgrade to the sun club. Limits what people can drink if they only drink beer. They also only had one elevator working the whole time I was there, which made for long waits for the elevators. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
If your not up by 8 good luck getting a chair by the beach or pool because everyone reserves them.
Certified

Never again

, Kelowna, BC
2018-11-11
Room we were put in was not what we booked. Had 3 rooms the safes in 2 did not work were not fixed after 2 complaints to front desk manager Miquel. Finanlly moved our rooms and put my 80 year old mother in a room with air conditioner that was not working. They knew this as friends had been moved from this room. I have a list of complaints. Bottom line there are much better choices in PV [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff excluding management were wonderful
The weak points
Management team. No entertainment or activities. Food choices at buffet became repitive after a few days.
Certified

Customer Service

, Vancouver, BC
2018-11-07
Me and my Girlfriend stayed here for 10 nights and i cant tell you enough about how welcome we felt, aswell as how easy everything was made! First off we stayed in room 1836 which had a very large private deck boasting an incredible view of the bay aswell as an amazing view of the city. Secondly the hospitality of the people working at sunscape pv was amazing compaired to that of other resorts we have been to and lastly the food was very good aswell. All and all i would come back forsure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing rooms for a great rate Great food aswell as options Tons of activity's Amazing staff
The weak points
Very busy on the weekend due to locals Restraunts should be open longer
Certified

Vacation

, Glencoe, ON
2018-03-29
It was a nice room. But the food was the same everyday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BeUtiful pools and beach
The weak points
Didn't get service when we sat done for meals.
Certified

Sunscape Puerto Vallarta

, Vernon, BC
2018-03-14
I had a great time - good food and friendly bartenders, they work hard!
Staff was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Two staff members on the Entertainment/Hospitality Team were exceptional: Stephania Eterravan and Angel Hernandez
The weak points
Hard to find bottled water. Bars did not always have it.
Certified

Reading Week Getaway

, London, ON
2018-03-05
Overall we had a great time at Sunscape. Great location just being 10 minutes from airport and so close to the town of Puerto Vallarta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We loved the fact it was a small resort and everything was so easy accessible and close. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Lots of beach to walk on.
The weak points
Only downside was the rooms were a little “tired” and could use a re-do, however they were always cleaned “amazingly”. And didn't spend much time in the rooms anyway.
Certified

My sunscape experience

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-11
Upon arrival at 230pm had to wait in a holding room for 45 mins for someone to come get me when my room was ready. My ocean view room you needed to hang off the balcony to see otherwise your view was a 26 floor story building next door. Went down to the pool and picked up my towel, when was ready to back to my room after was stopped at the elevator by a lil hotel security man who said towels were not permitted in the room j could get another the next day at 830am, however the next morn I went down for breakfast and more then half the pool chairs were already reserved with towels and belongings and all the beach chairs the same?? If you didn't get down to claim ur chair before 8 am you were not getting one. Not enough pool area chairs for the amount of guests at the resort. No smoking signs everywhere with ashtrays beside them yet people smoked right at their pool chairs regardless of who was sitting around
Them. Food was the same for lunch and dinner so if you don't enjoy eating the same thing every day you'll have to leave the resort and find a restaurant. It is a good place for seniors as the average age at this resort was easily 60 . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room and resort was very clean.
The weak points
Oceanview room = 26storey high rise next door. Can't bring ur pool towel to the room however every morn by 7am half the chairs are reserved with people's towels they brought to their rooms??? Food same all meals no variety. Music starts blaring at 830am
Certified

Sunscape March 2017

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2017-03-11
Travelled as a couple from Feb 28 to Mar 7. Hotel was very clean and room was nice. Water in the pool was very cold but once you got in it was all right. The food at the buffet was exactly the same thing each day. Service in the buffet restaurant was not great. Some days we would not get offered a drink before we were done our meal. Also, I stood in line our last day for a quesadilla and Dianna the cook handed out quesadillas to three different people who came to the line after me forcing me to wait over half and hour for mine. I ended up getting frustrated and leaving without one. Overall our trip was good but I would not return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, location
The weak points
Repetitive buffet, service
Certified

Sunscape pv

, Chilliwack, BC
2017-02-18
The hotel is ok. You sign a paper saying no saving of chairs and people do anyway. Head rule to enforce but frustrating to have no spots to sit outside yet lots of reserved chairs. The glasses for drinks are not throw away cups but plastic which is a nice touch. Our room didn't get cleaned until 4-5pm. Too late when you want to get ready for an evening in town. Service wasn't consistent, one day fantastic and the next not so much. I may or may not go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hospitality suite to use the day of check out. The bar glasses are not throw away. If you find someone that has the Internet password excellent wifi.
The weak points
Room cleaning too late. Service not consistent, tipping more or less didn't seem to matter
Certified

The best honeymoon!

, Odessa, SK
2017-01-29
We absolutely loved our stay at sunscape! From the beach to the bar, the pool, buffet and of course the al a carte. We had the best time. We loved Phillipe and Caesar in the Italian al a carte. They treated us like royalty. We will be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Mandatory

, Edmonton, AB
2016-02-29
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool area was very good. Beach area was nice. Could have used some more chairs and umbrellas. Room was an average room but clean. Minibar was not refilled and shower leaked all over the bathroom floor.Problems with room safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Holiday inn resort

, Toronto, ON
2015-08-05
THE HOTEL NEEDS RENOVATION. THE PERSONNEL PEOPLE WERE FRIENDLY AND POLITE.THE BIG PROBLEM TO SEA CAUSE THE RIVER WHICH EXHORTED TO BRING DIRTY WATER AND GARBAGE INTO THE SEA. IT IS ALSO WEIRD THAT THE BAR IS OPEN FROM 11.00AM AND CLOSED TO 06.00PM, SO IF YOU PLANNING TO STAY UNTIL 8.30PM AT THE POOL YOU HAVE TO GO INSIDE THE HOTEL TO GET THE DRINK. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FRIENDLY STAFF, OK BEACH, CLOSE TO WALMART,SORIANA STORES AND BANKS,SAFE HOTEL.
The weak points
DIRTY SEA, POOR CHOICE OF FOOD,WORKING HOURS FOR BARS AT THE POOLS ARE NOT ENOUGH, NO AIR CONDITION IN ELEVATORS,
Certified

Best bang for your buck

, Princeton, BC
2015-04-29
excellent staff, great rooms(best bed ever), good food, great beach, great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff
The weak points
rooms facing pool a little noisy, maybe more variety at buffet.
Certified

Good value for the money

, Maple Ridge, BC
2015-01-19
Had a great time, beds were soft and comfortable, food OK always found something on the buffet that we liked and some nights everything was good. Great beach and pool area. Drinks were very good. Service sometimes slow in the buffet but overall no complaints. Entertainment on Friday night fiesta was a Mariachi band, 6 violins, 2 trumpets and 3 guitars, the girl singer was amazing, their performance was highlight of the trip. We found this place at a last minute deal and were pleasantly surprised definitely would recommend and will be going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
For the price we got excellent value. Great location, food OK, entertainment, Mexican fiesta night the mariachi bands girl singer was amazing. Beds were soft and comfortable first time in Mexico that we did not have a cement bed. Definitely stay again.
The weak points
Some mornings no hot water until after 8 am.
Certified

Puerto vallarta holiday inn resort

2015-01-11
i have stayed here before, and in my opinion has gone downhill a bit. i found maids did not go out of there way to do anything over and above, when leaving them monetary gifts. also, was not impressed that bar fridges were removed from rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good location
The weak points
should put bar fridges back into rooms
Certified

Beyond expectations

, Port Alberni, Br
2014-12-26
Great location on a beautiful beach, handy to bus routes and attractions, good rooms and food. Good bang for the buck. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach and location, good service and food.
The weak points
Poor internet, construction activity. Older property showing signs of wear. Heavy disco noise from nearby hotels.
Certified

Good hotel

, Po Box 5743 Squamish, BC
2014-06-02
Was all we wanted even though music was not to our taste and at times too loud
Good for outdoor sports [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good attentive staff around for wheelchairs. Could not have been better. Service was very good even around the pool and beach area.
The weak points
Music was a little too loud at times and the only access to the beach was steps which could prove a little awkward for people not able to manage steps.
Certified

Going down hill

, Vancouver, BC
2014-04-19
We have stayed here 5 times, the first 2 years it was very good,food was not bad, lots of choices and very helpfull staff. Housekeeping ok. Very hard to get a chair on the beach with a cover unless your go down to the beach about 7am or earlier and take turns watching your chairs.

The last few years the food has become very bad, breakfast omelette station is excellent, just do not understand even when we arrive right at opening time nothing is warm breakfast lunch or dinner is always very cold except for the soup , but some taste ok. We ended up going out a few times as the restaurant buffet was closed 3 nights out of seven due to Holiday events. We knew the restauarent is always closed on Friday nights due to outside Feista but the other two evening they should have warned us about before booking. They closed the waffle station and no cereal most mornings and no more carving station like beef etc at dinner. They hide the bacon in the kitchen at breakfast so you need to beg your waiter to get you some, it used to be part of the buffet.
Unless you love lots of noise and kids and line ups do not go the week leading to Easter. For couples better time is in Feb or early March.

Do not pick this Hotel if you need internet, Out of 7 days we only got the free internet to work 2 times, most days we walked down the street to Starbucks who had free internet conection and very fast. We even tried sitting close to lobby and still either to slow or not connecting at all.

Do not expect consistant housekeeping, one day you will get 2 large, 2 hand towels and a facecloth and bathmat, then the next couple of days you have onle 2 towels and nothing else, One day they left us almost nothing, I had to call them 4 times every hour from noon on and finally at 5 pm the supervisor arrived with some towels and shampoo so we could get ready for dinner.

Most staff our very nice, specially some of the waiters, specially if you tip good, the front desk staff always very nice, and we love the location as so close to the Casinos we enjoy at night but next year we will probably try a differnent hotel. I can no longer recomment this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location not near downtown but close to Casinos which we like, pool and beach. Often see dolphins and whales early in the morning
The weak points
Internet very bad, food, housekeeping
Certified
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021