Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa
3.783.783.783.783.78
3.78 based on 9 reviews
#25 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Better than expected

, Belair, MB
2014-03-19
Prior reviews made me hesitant to book here but we were pleasantly surprised. Definitely a 4 star ! Great food..fancy cocktails..cold beer . ..3 very nice pools. ..good entertainment and friendly staff..Room was nicer than expected...not super modern but still nice, with modern kitchenette , flat screen t.v. and very nice marble shower. A few negatives...beach was small and over crowded.
Wifi was $12.00 per day. Had to sign a bill for all meals; even a bottle of water, even though we were all inclusive. ..that was annoying! Shortage of cabanas at quiet pool and other guests would hog those available by putting towells out early. All said we would likely return if the price was right . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
super clean...great food..nice pools
The weak points
Beach..cost of wifi..always having to sign for meals even water
Certified

Great resort with great staff

, Victoria, BC
2013-12-29
We had a great experience overall. The food was excellent, as we were on an all inclusive we ate there every night. The staff was extremely friendly and the servers were eager to serve you by the pool. If you go here talk to Fransisco the pool and beachside server, as he made our trip. Lots of activities such as boccie ball, shuffle board, volleyball, ping pong and water aerobics everyday. Yes you had to sign for everything, but opening a tab for the entire day (with the same server) made this a non issue. No swim up bar again was a non issue because of the poolside service. Entertainment from night to night was a little repetitive but we enjoyed it every night none the less. Everything was very clean and pretty well updated. Overall we had a great stay and were extremely happy with everything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches were great with no rocks, service was amazing, food quality was amazing. Loved it here
The weak points
Keep in mind it not an all all-inclusive so you have to sign for everything (opening a tab made this so we did not mind), and if you had to pay, the food looked a little expensive but was very very good
Certified

Best Holiday Ever

, Innisfail, AB
2013-03-10
Very impressed. Everything was as good as it could be. The staff were very friendly and at your beck and call at all times. The bed was nice and soft. The food was great as were the drinks. Our room was spacious and spotless at all times. We will be going back again. The only drawback was having to sign for everything, but you get used to that real quick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The central location of the hotel
The weak points
None
Certified

Great place on the BEACH!

, Abbotsford, BC
2012-04-20
Had a GREAT time! the people were awesome!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was great! we will return!
The weak points
Never really had any weak points! Oh i remember, sometimes dinner was served later than 5pm.
Certified

Villa Del Palmar

, Courtenay, BC
2011-11-14
We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. This was the first time we stayed as all-inclusive. The only downside to this was having to sign for everything we ate or drank and the staff in some restaurants expecting a tip to be added even though they were supposed to be included in the price. That being said, the pool side servers were excellent. Very friendly and prompt with everything. They were well-deserved in extra tips. Very clean hotel and a good location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location. Close to bus routes and shopping centres. Very clean hotel.
The weak points
Being requested to pay an extra $3.50 US per day per room to tip staff who do not get tips directly. Although this charge can be disputed and removed from your bill, it shouldn't be added in the first place.
Certified

Timeshare Pressure!

, Chestermere, AB
2010-09-26
This hotel is a Mexican owned resort thus their Timeshare sales tactics are fairly shady and non-stop. As soon as you arrive you are greeted with what you think are the hotel concierge… but in fact they are Timeshare sales people welcoming you to the resort, giving you directions, Puerto Vallarta information and a clever sales pitch to schedule a so called "90 minute Timeshare presentation". It was extremely high pressure and sets a bad tone all before you check into your room. Over the next day or so we received a couple calls to our room from these sales people asking to schedule the "90 minute presentation" to which we repeatedly declined.

We did talk to several people who did go. They all said it was a nightmare and in all cases it took most of the day and was a high-pressure tag teem sales pitch. Needless to say we are glad we didn't go.

We went during low season (end of Aug) so only one restaurant was open and all meals were à la carte… no buffet. Nonetheless, the food was very good especially if you choose more Mexican style dishes. Order the "Mexican Breakfast"… you won't be disappointed. Also, the wait staff is excellent, very courteous, friendly and out going. Anyone not associated with the Timeshare presentation were wonderful and did everything they could to make your stay a fun relaxing time.

The only other issue and we believe it again had something to do with low season… was hot water. Throughout the week it got less and less until the last two days there was none at all. We believe they were shutting down some boilers for maintenance. Several other people also complained to which they got it resolved, but unfortunately we were not so lucky.

Although we ultimately had a great vacation, most of that was due to Puerto Vallarta and not the hotel itself to which I would rate as a 3 star. We most likely won't be staying here again. But if you're looking for a "budget conscious" hotel with a great location, decent pool and friendly wait staff this place could be for you. Just be prepared - this is a Mexican resort and little things will happen (like no hot water). You just have to look past it, order a Piña Colada and go for a swim : ) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and à la carte Food.
The weak points
Timeshare sales tactics are fairly shady and non-stop.
Certified

Great Holiday!

, Winnipeg, MB
2010-02-01
We had a large room, that was kept very clean. We loved the swans made out of our towels each day. The pool staff were very helpful, but it was annoying that people would go out and reserve loungers early in the morning and not show up until after lunch. Had no trouble with timeshare people and we didn t have to argue about the tip charge as it never showed up on our bill. Overall we really enjoyed it and would come back to stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large clean room, nice beach.
The weak points
Bed a little soft for our liking
Certified

Ok

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-17
Nice and quiet. Kitchenette, close to shopping.

Beware of time share presentations (this hotel is time share). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and quiet.
The weak points
Beware of time share presentations
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021