Sheraton Buganvilias Resort

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort
4.054.054.054.054.05
4.05 based on 82 reviews
#4 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (14)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Mexico 2020

, Stony Mountain, MB
2020-03-08
I would say overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. The food was very good they had a good variety, if anything they could stand to jazz up the salad selection. The drinks were incredible, in the bar and restaurant area the drinks were served in nice glassware and always garnished with fruit.There was not enough a la cart restaurants. There was never mention that you had to pay for the oriental restaurant and the Starbuck coffee shop. That would have been nice to know. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We could have done without the constant bugging about timeshare that got to be tiresome. Our room was ok, we stayed in the clubroom on the 22 floor. The view was amazing, the bed was extremely comfortable it was also very quiet. The down side was we payed an extra $200.00 each to be in the adult only and we got very little for that money. There was turn the bed down service which is no big deal but then they only left one chocolate on the pillow, hello there are two people in the room. The fridge was stocked everyday with water, soft drinks and one beer. We asked about it and they said that was what you got, hello there are two people in the room. Two robes and one pair of slippers. They did offer a private lounge that you could go for breakfast and coffee. We were really disappointed in what we got for the extra $200.00 each. Totally not worth it!! A big thank you to Jonathon that worked in the lounge, he found my husbands wallet returned it nothing was missing. Good to know there are still honest people out there. The grounds of the hotel were kept very nice and alway clean. We love the beach and this was a big disappointment, it was very rocky with very little sand. It was had to walk on so we didn't go for many walks on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location to the Malecon. Food and drinks were good.
The weak points
Beach, one beer in the fridge per day,
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-02
The Sheraton Buganvillas is definitely grand hotel. Located close to the malacon and to local great restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I was totally satisfied with my experience at the Sheraton. The staff, amenities, food, beverages and exceptional services. Excellent.
Certified

Luxury resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-16
From the surroundings to the atmosphere to the staff and first rate dining at this hotel, you couldn't ask for anything more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, lovely, outfitted with all amenities (Starbucks in the lobby), ATM, food is delicious, quiet after 11:00 pm, close to downtown; concierge LuLu is amazing
The weak points
the beach is not great, sand gravelly and hard to walk on since it shifts, and there's a slope to the water
Certified

Good except for the bed bugs

, North Vancouver, BC
2019-01-31
everything was awesome...food excellent , service and friendly staff , nice pool and beach , grreat location...then the BED BUGS attacked us...hundreds of bites on our legs...and it was not mosquitoes as we saw none and were 20 floors up.
It was noted but we did not see any changes , we stripped the sheets , and slept on mattress and still got bitten. Seems house keeping did not care or ???? I think they have a serious problem that needs attention. we wont return until we hear the problem has been addressed and taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful resort excellent service

, Regina, SK
2018-02-11
Excellent service, friendly staff, English speaking. Bars, lounge and servers all excellent. Beer in cans (not on tap) so this was a nice surprise as we were told to bring our own cooler cups (which we didn't end up using at all). Room was good, not the best. The window did open and that was glorious! Air conditioning worked great. Drank the water from tap, no problems. Small bar fridge was not very cold at all and had one 1 beer in it. Food was excellent. Entertainment provided was fun! Resort is walking distance to the Malicon and old downtown(we walked down and back 3 times) Marina is short taxi ride away, and so in mall for shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service by everyone. Very welcoming, all staff were fluent in English. Pool servers were very good.
The weak points
Hotel room needed a second suitcase rack. Sink area was small. As first time all-inclusive users not really knowing how it all works, some type of orientation would have been helpful. Many people reserve beach/pool chairs early in morning.
Certified

Fantastic

, Aurora, ON
2017-12-14
Always a great stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, comfortable and location Food always fresh a good.
The weak points
A little renovation happening
Certified

We will be back

, Vancouver, ON
2017-04-26
This hotel is amazing! The pools are wonderful for young children, the views are incredible and the services is out-of-this-world! The unlimited rooms service is our favourite feature!Can't beat the location either. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, Views, Service, location
The weak points
Older hotel
Certified

January 2016

, Vernon, BC
2016-02-16
Good hotel close to lots of amenities. Overall food quality good although buffet a little small (lack of variety) for a resort this size. Only notable observation is that overall staff not overly motivated and service pretty haphazard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Repeat stay and would come back again

2016-02-02
This was our second year at the Sheraton and we loved it just as much the second time. The staff are amazing, rooms are nice and clean, pool is immaculate, and the proximity to downtown is perfect for those who wanna get off the resort and see some local culture. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is a short walk to the Malecon, close to everything you wanna see & do.
The weak points
The beach is rocky (they were doing a huge project to repair that when I was just there)
Certified

Loved it

, Morinville, AB
2016-01-19
Great location, awesome staff, customer service second to none! Good food, very clean rooms [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and location
The weak points
Not a good beach
Certified

Beautiful Hotel grounds

, Richmond, BC
2015-12-26
This hotel has amazing hospitality, especially Viviana and Ubaldo.

The food was good, the buffet had nice options, but the sit down dining seemed to be very small portions (6 prawns for a dinner main).

The rooms were very nice, quite a good size, nice sink area and bathroom. The a/c worked well too. Bed was comfortable.

Overall I like this hotel and would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service staff, nice rooms, beautiful pool and grounds.
The weak points
Sit down dining had few options and food quality, although tasty, was just OK.
Certified

Great Location, very rocky beach.

, St. Paul, AB
2015-04-19
Good:
Room was clean, room service was very promt and effecient. Found the rooms to be a little sterile and lacking any local flavour.

Service at the lobby bar and poolside bar was great (except ONE guy at the lobby bar who refused to mix us a pina colada with some orange juice).

We tried all three on-site restaurants and found the Italian one lacking. The Mexican one was OK and the Seafood one was amazing.

The pool was great, and the daily activities were fun. Sometimes finding a lounger was a challenge.

Huge shout out the kind older gentleman with the Canadian wife from Quebec (we didn't catch your name) who was stationed in the info booth at the street entrance to the hotel. He gave us great and HONEST advice about where to go shopping and which tours were worth our money. No sales pitch!

Also, we had a massage at the parlour across the street from the hotel which was quite good (getting one at the hotel would have cost 2-3 times what we paid).

Bad:
My biggest complaint about the hotel was being grabbed by a "vacation club" sales rep as soon as we set down our luggage. At first she misled us to believe she was giving us a hotel orientation. Once we made it clear we were not interested in purchasing a time share she let us go, but we found several other staff members would not take "no" so easily.

The bed was a little hard and uncomfortable. The pillows were useless.

Overall:
The vacation was good, however I would not return simply because I hated the heat and the feeling that every interaction with a local was about getting us to spend money or tip.

If this is your first time going to Peurto Vallarta be cautious about buying anything from the tequila vendors near the Malecon. They are horribly overpriced and more interested in getting you a "deal" on your tequila as long as you'll do a time share presentation. Our kind gentleman who we didn't get the name of sent us to a tequila warehouse that charged me $13 usd for the bottle I wanted instead of $160 usd that two of the Malecon vendors tried to charge me.

Also don't take the taxis, the busses are way less money and service near the hotel is frequent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As we said great location, very clean. Buses stop right by the hotel making transport easy. Security always present!
The weak points
Did not accomomidate our request for a quiet out of the way room. Some of the staff didn't seem happy. "Vacation Club" people.
Certified

Winter Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2015-03-19
Overall we enjoyed our vacation. One thing we didn't like was the beach in front of the hotel, it was sand and pebble and you had to cross the pebbles to get to the ocean. Doesn't sound like a major problem, but it was an inconvenience and prevented us accessing the beach as often as we would have liked. The hotel food was excellent. The buffet service was a bit hit and miss, but I think this was possibly because the hotel may have been short-staffed and not yet geared up for as many people as were staying there. We booked the club level room and the bed was very comfortable but the room was 'simple'. There was a coffee maker, but the length of the power cord meant that you had to use it on the floor as there wasn't a table that could be used to accommodate it. We had a great ocean view from the room. The male singer in the piano bar was pretty good, so we'd spend the end of the evening in there; would have been better if he could have entertained from 9pm rather than 10pm.The downtown area of Puerta Vallarta is in walking distance of the hotel so we would often walk along the beach(which was sandier away from our hotel) to get there, and we liked downtown very much. The taxi from the airport cost $250(Pesos), but only cost $120(Pesos) back to the airport, so although the taxis are cheap, it's worth checking the cost with the taxi driver before accepting the ride. We would go back to Puerta Vallarta but would stay in a hotel which had sandy beaches in front of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent. Location very good. Ocean view perfect. Piano bar male singer was good.
The weak points
Beach was 'pebbly'. Room was basic, apart from the bed.
Certified

Puerto Vallarta

, Ottawa, ON
2015-01-25
This hotel is exceptional. We enjoyed it immensely. The staff go out of their way to serve you. It was clean and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, the food, the staff
The weak points
The beach is rocky compared to other hotels we have been to
Certified

Great, quiet resort

, Steinbach, MB
2015-01-18
Hotel is very nice, no night time entertainment and right now the beach is very rocky and unusable from a hurricane. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel staff is fantastic and will go above and beyond to make your stay memorable.
The weak points
The Sheraton advertises 4-5 a la carte restaurants, but they only run 1 or 2 a night and don't alternate through all of them. The resort is also a convention centre so for 3 days of my week vacation we had 800 Mexican ice cream store owners :s
Certified

Nice location close to downtown

, St Albert, AB
2015-01-06
We for the most part enjoyed our stay. The location is walking distance to the malecon or just a cheap cab ride away. You can't wk the beach here , as its separate from other hotels by rock walls. Spa services are very expensive but if u walk across the street theres a massage place that's very good and cheep. Concierge at the hotel are awesome and knowledgable. Stay away from the excursion desk! They try to upsell you unless you go to one of those ridiculous time share events that wastes your entire morning. We got our excursions online and the concierge printed out tickets off, and got a better deal. The pool here is not very big, but the hotels not too crowded so it worked out. The entertainment crew aren't nearly as upbeat as some other resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bar services, concierge, and location
The weak points
Hard to get poolside service unless u go to the bar yourself. Free internet only avail in lobby. The ala carte restaraunts are brutal, the buffet is just ok, breakfasts are best.
Certified

PV - Best Place in Mexico

, New Westminster, BC
2014-04-12
Great location close to downtown. The pool was fabulous. Lots of choice for food outlets. WiFi is poor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All inclusive
The weak points
Noice from The convention centre at night
Certified

Nice place

, St Lazare, QC
2014-03-15
Overall meets a 4* for an all inclusive in Mexico [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff / Some of the live Music was good
The weak points
Ambiance in lobby bar was poor / Food is good but inconsistant / pestersome timeshare reps / Conference event sound system competing with pool music was annoying.. we had to leave the resort that day
Certified

SHERATON BUGANVILIAS RESORT

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-06
Two week stay. Except for a serious bout of food poisoning (confirmed because another guest not travelling with us had the identical experience) the stay was very good. Improvements would be a better lobby bar, clear the beach of rocks, earlier opening for the pool bar, better food selection in the buffet and more clearly translated menus in the specialty restaurants [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good to excellent service. Cleanliness exceptional. Very good location.
The weak points
While the food quality for the most part was good the variety/selection was limited in comparison to other 4-5* resorts I've been to. Specialty restaurant menus poorly translate. Difficult to know what you were actually getting. Entrees had no sides.
Certified

Donais vacation

, Regina, SK
2014-03-04
All was good. Bar closed too early. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and crew. Very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Bar closed too early.
Certified

Sheraton Buganviliaqs

, Regina, SK
2014-03-02
The Sheraton was exceptional - the room was great with super beds and good housekeeping; the food was delicious and the workers were very obliging. The grounds were very neatly kept and the pool area was most enjoyable. The only thing that needs fixing is the wifi service - could not get it in the room which would have been wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong point of the hotel were the staff, the cleaniness and the good food.
The weak points
The weak point was the wifi service - not good at all.
Certified

GOOD VALUE, GOOD LOCATION

, Burnaby, BC
2014-02-25
It's and older hotel with it's faults, but considering the money for an all inclusive, I certainly didn't go hungry and the access to adult beverages was pretty good ! Overall we had a good experience, good service from the staff make all the difference, bring tip money to show your appreciation, works for me. We had to ask for some basic things like a hair dryer and bath robes, but the bed was comfortable and clean. We had wide ranging experiences food wise, in the restaurants & buffet, ranging from good to bad, but mostly mediocre. Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, the AC makes lots of noise, and the occasional partier could be heard from our room. We spent most our days out on excursions, the hotel was a good starting point with cabs waiting in queue, every time we wanted to go out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good if your not really fussy and like to drink and eat.
The weak points
Beach is a rock and sand mixture, big waves most the time, experienced ocean swimmers only, not for the kids.
Certified

Typical large hotel

, Baie D,Urfe, QC
2014-02-23
great place but beach and food not an asset [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great building & people
The weak points
food variety&quality No beach no entertainment(just one event)
Certified

Service and Food are excellent

, Ottawa, ON
2014-02-19
Great hotel however rooms may be disapointing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Superb service and great food
The weak points
Rooms without balcony
Certified

Sheraton Buganvilias Resort Impressions

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-17
It is a very nice and clean hotel with the most courteous staff, excellent food served in 3 different restaurants, beautiful large clean swimming pool and all resort style amenities. It is close to the town. Mexican Fiesta on Thursdays is extraordinary amusing and professionally performed with involvement of audience. The only shortcoming: inability to swim in the ocean because of rocky and unsafe beach due to undertows and wild waves. A special attraction : a whale mother with baby spotted 50 metres from the beach in front of the hotel. Evaluation of hotel and our vacation: beyond expectation. We'd like to go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above!
The weak points
Intrusive time-share wendors both at the airport and in the hotel.Lack of the accessible ocean beach.
Certified

:)

, Surrey, BC
2014-02-13
Overall it was great hotel and I think a good value for the all inclusive price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was clean and the staff was polite.
The weak points
The day time food was good but I was not overly impressed with the dinners. I did not appreciate being offered things and then being consistently asked to view a time share presentation to receive them.
Certified

A good solid property

, Beaumont, AB
2014-02-11
We had a lovely stay. The location is ideal for exploring Puerto Vallarta on foot. The grounds and pool were very nice with a warm, clean pool. The beach was nicer than expected and we spent a lot of time swimming in the ocean. The rooms were fine- clean, but nothing fancy. The service started out spotty, but vastly improved once we commented on it. The food, for us, was strictly ok. We are not all-inclusive lovers and we still are not. I would grow very weary of the food if we had eaten every meal there. As it was, we enjoyed breakfast and sometimes lunch and then went off site for dinner every night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
superb location, beautiful pool, nice beach
The weak points
the food wasn't the best, service spotty at times
Certified

Puerto Vallarta Mexico

2014-01-26
I would rate our hotel as expected. It is rated as a five star resort and I would say it lived up to that. It is clean good location Front counter staff helpful and friendly. The bell boys I would say gave us the most help with advise and service. The house keeping staff were good but could pay a little more attention to detail as our towels and soap were in short supply. But the food was a big disappointment it was always cold even being in those warming ovens. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As I said in my opening remarks Front counter and Bell staff were the strong points
The weak points
The food was our biggest disappointment. Lack of entertainment.
Certified

Highly Recommended

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-01-26
Beyond expectation: convenient location, friendly staff (except some of the receptionists), great ocean view, excellent food. I would go there again in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food selection and staff service
The weak points
1.Front desk staff should smile more and respond to customers' word of "thank you". 2.Need to improve efficiency when it's busy in some restaurants.
Certified

Great

, Red Deer, AB
2014-01-23
Rooms are clean and comfortable .
Food is excellent , drinks are good!
All staff treated us very very well!
Time share people are a pain but just be polite
And say no and they get the hint! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Timeshare salesmen !!!!!
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021