Krystal Vallarta

Krystal Vallarta
3.303.303.303.303.30
3.30 based on 60 reviews
#20 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (28)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Low review

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-12
A lot of things need to be improved at this hotel.
No comfortable chairs on balcony, lobby. Bar in lobby doesn't open until 3 pm , no where to get coffee or water once buffet is closed. Not many staff understand or speak English. Towels were old and badly frayed. Not enough activities to do and needs a comfortable outdoor seating area. Would not recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Middle of the road

, Halkirk, AB
2020-03-11
We were expecting more from a 4 star. For the most part everything was "OK", not bad, but not great. We did not use the ala carte restaurants but heard very mixed reviews about them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, they were great. Resort was kept very clean. Easy to navigate around. Beautiful view of the bay. The Falconer did well to keep the pigeons away from the Velas restaurant.
The weak points
Didn't have a full array of bath towels, face cloths, etc in the room ever. Buffet was weak on selection but ok. noisy partyers at times in the hall. Bad undertow no life rings around. Nonstop harassment from peddlers on the beach.
Certified

Awesome stay

, Grande Cache, AB
2020-03-10
Our stay at the Krystal was awesome. Although the air conditioner didn't put out in main room the one in bedroom worked great. The staff (all of them) is happy friendly and always willing to help. We will stay here again and recommend it to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Krtstak Vallarta

, Winnipeg, HA
2020-03-02
All the employees were wonderful and helpful - starting with the Bell Hop as soon as we entered the resort, the front desk, all the managers we met. Service can not be better anywhere! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everyone that works there - helpful, pleasant, caring. I've never experienced better service and care!
The weak points
no dresser in the bedroom and lots of stairs with few railings. Very difficult for people with walking issues to climb all the stairs.
Certified

NOT A 4 STAR RESORT

, Regina, SK
2020-02-18
The weather was great and was in the presence of great company. Didn't care for the resort. Food horrible, poor service and unfriendly staff. No servers around the pool. Won't go back. Definitely not a 4 star resort. Even pictures on website is not how it looks now. Place is getting rundown. Tiles in pool were falling off and loungers were broken and not enough loungers or umbrellas [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New high rise tower has nice modern rooms and beds were comfortable. Great view. But very noisy, hollow doors so not sound proof.
The weak points
food terrible, poor selection, same items, have to ask for bacon, jam & French fries as weren't on buffet. 1 bartender always lined up . Ran out of clean glasses so just rinsed dirty ones under tap. Rooms not soundproof could hear people talk & snore
Certified

Good location

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-29
Overall the resort is clean for the most part, the beach is also very nice. Our stay had a few issues. There was a convention that took place a few days after our arrival and all the attention was directed to the people who attended the convention. The people who were already were there including us were treated as second best. Our bar at the pool was closed and our eating area was also closed so the resort could staff the private area for the convention guests at the front of the resort. A lot of guests were very upset at this including us, we paid good money as well for our stay at the resort. There was another very small bar at the front in the lobby but this bar is not well stocked and all the furniture was removed for the convention people to use in a private area, therefore we sat on the steps. They apparently have wifi on the resort but you have to be in the main lobby to use it. There was another day were it rained a lot but that was mother nature. However when we had sewage coming up from the floor drain, the resort did not come and clean and sanitize right away so we had to leave and sit with another couple in their room. Even after the rain had stopped they only cleaned up the sewage water with towels and never did bring a mop and cleaner, we had to endure the smell of sewage all night. Puerto Vallarta is very nice and I will return to the area, just not at the Krystal Vallarta. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
overall clean
The weak points
customer service not so good. under staffed in lobby
Certified

Krystal Vallarta

, Ashcroft, BC
2020-01-26
the rooms and resort/beaches were very clean! Staff was friendly. Rooms and building certainly need some repair done, tubs and sinks could certainly be replaced!
we could barely open our balcony sliding door! We were disappointed to have no fridge .However the eating places were very close so not a big concern, but would have been nice to have a fridge to keep our water cold. the food was not bad but very little variety, it was the same all week. We would choose another resort for our next visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean and friendly staff
The weak points
could use some updating- rusty holes in the tub, sliding door very hard to open. No fridge and the food- same all week
Certified

Find a different resort!!

, Regina, SK
2020-01-12
We didn't enjoy our stay here and ended up switching as soon as possible. (Paying way extra to do so) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club is great. My daughter actually wanted to spend most of her time there. They did crafts and had a nice play area inside and outside. Breakfast was decent. They had fried eggs,and omelettes. Staff were hardworking and friendly.
The weak points
Food awful, crappy locks on doors, huge resort lots of walking,smoking allowed everywhere,Even in kid areas, Mold in rooms, pigeons EVERYWHERE in eating area
Certified

NOT GOOD

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-12
This resort somehow says it is a 4/5. More like a 2.5. They did not have a reservation for us upon arrival, took three rooms to find one that was clean and had things in working order. The food is comparable with Cuba (so not good). There is nothing to be done past 8 or 9 pm. There is no service poolside or on the beach, the bar doesn't even open until 11. Took four days for the manager to connect with us and all she had to offer was more terrible food. Will NEVER recommend this resort. The price for this resort should be half of what was paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There are no strong points. Too much needs to be done to bring this resort up to a 4/5.
The weak points
Food, cleanliness, bar service, entertainment, the list is long
Certified

Not all inclusive at all!

, Langley, BC
2019-12-23
It just disappoints me as we decided to spend our 2019 yearend holiday here at Krystal Vallarta Hotel. Knowing Mexico for all-inclusive meals and drinks, unfortunately not! You have to pay for your bottled water for 20 pesos whereas you don't have any drink selection in your fridge. If you want a drink, you have to go to the bar. I expect something more. Food was crap, no variation, mostly mexican food. So, I conclude go somewhere else. It says 4 star hotel but I honestly rate this lower than that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Krystal Vallarta

, West Kelowna, BC
2019-02-21
My only complaint was being unable to get a beach hut as people got up early, put their towels on the chairs, and then left them vacant for half the time while they went shopping or whatever. Don't know how they could control this except to maybe add more huts! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good friendly service, rooms although much in need of updating, were very clean. All the staff in all areas were very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Much the same food every night, but I found something good to eat at every meal, I did not expect steak and lobster at the good price of an all inclusive resort.
Certified

Puerto Vallarta Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-01-31
We had a great time at Krystal Vallarta. The room was clean, shower had sufficient hot water, and the toilet worked. Maid service was great too! The staff was friendly and willing to help in anyway possible. Waiters and bartenders were fantastic. Entertainment coordinator at the pool tried his very best to get people involved, but perhaps he could have catered more to the different age groups when it came to music selection. We found the aquamarine entertainment centre acoustics to be poor however. The band playing music sounded like they were playing in a gym. We also feel that better evening entertainment programs could be organized. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, clean, everything in working order, location, affordable, helpful excursion staff
The weak points
food variety, security or supervision to pool during late hours, some patrons I feel were disorderly for resort relaxation purposes at pool or at entertainment centre. Security could have toned down some people to acknldge relaxing tourists at times.
Certified

Nice stay overall

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-23
Staff was good, room was ok ( but not a 4 stars room or hotel !!! ) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location
The weak points
A/c very noisy, can't swim in the beach , too dangerous, it seems like the food is the same every day,
Certified

Charming resort in a great location!

, Regina, SK
2018-02-19
Having read so many terrible reviews I felt somewhat nervous about choosing this resort, but I think it depends on personality and expectations. My wife and I are not bothered by a crack in a countertop or rusty hinges on a bathroom door. We stayed at this resort from Jan28-Feb4 2018. We were in an oceanfront room on the third floor. Our porter, Gabino, was so friendly and helpful! He took us right into our room and showed us how the safe works and where everything was. He greeted us by name every time he saw us, and hugged us goodbye on the day we left. We found all the staff very friendly, especially if you make the effort to greet them, you can see their faces light up! Our room had a fridge to keep our water cold. The water temperature and pressure were great! The bed was comfortable enough and we had a variety of pillow firmness (great as I like a firm pillow but my wife likes them squishy and soft). The A/C in our room worked very well and we could set the temperature ourselves. The balcony had 2 chairs and a little table – we sat out there during down time and watched the sunsets from there, too. The resort is very charming - like a hacienda! While it is in a busy area, once you pass from the main street into the resort it's very peaceful. The paths that lead throughout are pavers with inlaid stones in a pretty pattern. You pass villas, hacienda-style buildings, and fountains throughout. They have a new waterslide and pool for kids which is next to a new infinity pool surrounded by palm trees. We found this to be a quiet area. It's located where the hot tubs used to be. On the other side of the oceanfront building is another pool (that one was louder). Then the open-air restaurant, then another pool (which was also quieter). Rafael, one of the entertainment staff, sought us out at the quiet pool to make sure we were enjoying our stay and to let us know about the events being held at the louder pool. He was so friendly! If you sit by the pools, the vendors who stroll up and down the beach all day will stroll by and whistle or call out what they're selling, but a simple “No thank you” sufficed. If you sit on the beach, the vendors can come right up to you (but this is true for all the resorts). The staff were working hard to freshen things up (painting the walls and trim in the hallways, for example) and the grounds were beautifully kept. The bartenders work so hard! They had jugs of iced water on the counter so you could fill up your water bottle. We only ate in the buffet restaurant (didn't make use of the a la cartes). We loved the food! There was always a good variety and the meats were so tender! In the mornings there was an egg station where you could get omelets or fried eggs. There was fresh fruit and salad, breads, cooked vegetables, meats. There were also traditional Mexican dishes in big clay pots. The servers in the restaurant were quick with coffee in the morning and refill your beverages as you run out. There was live music on 4 occasions while we were there and couples got up to dance. The resort is a straightforward walk to the marina (and the marina is across from a mall, a Walmart, and a Sam's club). In the opposite direction is a straightforward but somewhat long walk to the Malecon (took us 45 minutes or so, at a lazy pace). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, view, staff, food, pools
The weak points
nothing - we will come back to this resort for sure!
Certified

Awesome

, Outlook, SK
2018-01-20
Wonderful stay here! Staff, food, bar and beach was excellent! The pool was lovely and the music was nice. Very authentic and family oriented. Our room was comfortable and the balcony was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great location

, Cedarvale, BC
2017-02-09
We loved it, nice room with amazing ocean view and balcony, friendly and helpful staff and beautiful beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness,
The weak points
all 3 treadmills in gym were out of order entire time
Certified

Nnbbbbn

2015-03-24
hotel was ok

buffet was crap

limited access to other restaurants so had most meals outside at added cost [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
most
Certified

Holiday

, Vancouver, BC
2013-11-14
This hotel was mostley Mexican families and Mexican food with college students on the week ends for party time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service and staff
The weak points
food selection Trying to sell you into their time share and trips
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Edmonton, AB
2013-09-19
The hotel is old and it was ok, but not a 4 star, the food was alright but the staff were confused with the all inclusive. Its not a all inclusive. Would not recommand [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
no strong points
The weak points
lack of communications
Certified

Great value

, Norquay, SK
2013-03-28
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. Despite it being an older resort it was spotless and the service was great. Beach was wonderful. Food fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No complaints about this vacation.
The weak points
No frills Resort.
Certified

Krystal Puerto Vallarta

, Radium Hot Springs, BC
2013-02-07
very nice hotel but not a All Inclusive
Vacation place,only one working Bar not even a Lobby bar ($)and every day the same food, no evening progam, but the service around is very good,only Hotel maybe excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
150
The weak points
150
Certified

Happy Customer

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-03-13
The hotel was as expected. Nice room.
Good service. There was some construction going on. It did not disturb us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Comfortable lounge chairs. Very clean. The special restaurants were very good.
The weak points
The buffet food was tasty but it did not keep as hot as I would like it to. The special entertainment was poor compared to other hotels we have stayed in.
Certified

Krystal Vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2011-03-01
Hotel was very welcoming... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was wonderful....nice and clean . The food was ok.... except the first few days when it wasnt busy not a lot of selection
The weak points
The disco music was a bit too loud
Certified

Not good experience

, Mitchell, ON
2011-02-27
This hotel is not an all inclusive resort as such, I have never been to an all inclusive such as this, we had a mini bar that was locked and you had to pay, any and all drinks and meals, snacks etc had to be signed for every time, actually it was a stressful holiday not knowing what was included what you were going to get nailed for upon check-out, they could not even find our paper record upon check out and just told me that all was okay, I had left a credit card on file upon check in at their request, so until I get my bill I am still not sure if it will have any charges on it. I would not stay at that resort again. When we were shown to our room it was very musty and no balcony or patio just a window that opened, I have asthma so I spent the 1st night sitting on the chair with the window open, when I explained I could not stay in that room due to health reasons, they said in order to get a better room I had to pay for an upgrade which I did otherwise I would have ended up in emerge at the local hospital, when we spoke to other canadians staying there, they had same area rooms but had a nice patio or balcony and they were only two people, we had 3 in a small room with no ventilation. I was not impressed, I contacted the local rep there and she said after the third day she could put us back into one of the other rooms so we did not have to pay for the upgrade, by this time we were settled in our room and we did not want to spend our entire vacation playing musical rooms. It was not a relaxing holiday by any means. Granted the place was kept spotless and the grounds were very nice. Any othe time I have been to an all inclusive you get your room and from then on out the fridge is restocked and you can go get food and drinks as often as you like stress free.
The buffet was always the same and the food was only just slightly warm, I could not even pop in to get a banana without signing for it. We ended up eating at local restaurants that cost us money just to get something different, we even ordered room service in order to get a hot meal. No I would not book their again, at other local hotels nearby we asked if anyone had to sign for meals and drinks and they all said no they had an all inclusive, we did not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
kept spotless and very clean grounds were beautiful
The weak points
not all inclusive really stressful having to sign for every little thing
Certified

Krystal Vallarta was great !

, Kincardine, ON
2011-02-14
We had a wonderful experience at the Krystal. We love the area and have been there before.The close proximity to plazas, malls, marina, bull fight, and the circus were all a plus. We even walked the beach into the city's boardwalk one day. The staff cannot do enough for you, and if there is any problems, one quick call to the front desk and the problem is quickly fixed.
We enjoyed our stay immensely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was very clean. The bathrooms were always immaculate. the location was an asset since we loved to go into the heart of the city.
The weak points
We found the waiters concentrated all their efforts on the paying guests even though we tipped regularly. The resort is open to the public and the cruise ship guests/workers came for the day when docked.
Certified

Two week vacationers

, Burnaby, BC
2011-02-14
I expected this place to be only all-inclusive but it has all different plans. Some of the units are owners some are time-share and some are hotels.Some units were definitely not 4 star unless you were in the new tower. over all the place is nice and huge for walking around but there were only two nights that had any entertainment.There are plenty of pools for all and 6 huge hot-tubs.It is handy for the buses and for shopping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location
The weak points
Rooms below expectation
Certified

Would definitely go back!!!!!

, Cooms, BC
2011-02-07
Great location, great pools, our standard room was very stark, no coffee maker, no balcony, but our very large windows opened onto the gardens and pool. The "all inclusive" did not include everything so you have to be careful and ask if things are included. The staff were excellent, very obliging and helpful and they did a great job looking after us. Overall I would stay there again and probably will go back next year. Great value for our buck. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff
The weak points
Our room, would upgrade next time
Certified

Would like to have been able to stay here

, Qualicum Beach, AB
2010-11-23
We booked this hotel but 3 days prior to departure were notified that we were being moved, for some unknown reason! to the Holiday Inn which was supposed to be comparable. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!! We walked down to the Krystal Vallarta and truly felt like we had be "Taken" when we saw where we should have been staying as to where we had been put. I am positive it WOULD HAVE BEEN A MUCH MORE ENJOYABLE PLACE, but will not know until another time, maybe [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location
The weak points
Didn't get to see a room, even
Certified

Would not return there

, Brampton, ON
2010-09-04
The hotel was very clean but the people were not very informative at all. The front desk could not answer any of your questions. The waiters were more concerned about their tip and not you and if you were not tipping you was last on there to do list. There was no activites to do, I asked several times, nothing for my kid to do, even though the resort said they were kids entertaining. No agent to get onfo from, no tour agent (she was never there but her office said she is there all the time). The tours were better than the resort. Overall will not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
to much to mention
Certified

Great Hotel

, Montreal, QC
2010-08-22
We like it very much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff
The weak points
No shows at night
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021